Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The "Johanna"

Unique House Boat in Amsterdam Centre, Near the 'Magere Brug' [#370082] | View Property

Amsterdam
House Boat, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
€195/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    • Guest CousinFun (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 10/10/13
    • Review Submitted 11/04/13
    I don't even know if we have anything to add after all the other reviews. But I will re-iterate that they are all true! Our stay began with a warm welcome from the owners who gave us the run-down on the place and on visiting Amsterdam. We visited the nearby store and stocked up on StroopWaffel and Dutch beers, then we hit the streets. We were able to walk everywhere. And though there are soo many great restaurants to eat at in Amsterdam that we couldn't even make a dent on our list of options, on the last night we chose to eat in because we wanted to spend some more time on the Johanna. We got to sleep in the cupboard bed and if there wasn't so much to see I think I could have slept the whole weekend in there. So my only wish was that we were able to stay longer. This is a great little place to stay for two couples or a small family!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Patty! I hope we see you again for a longer stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Dream Come True!

    A Dream Come True!

    • Guest Liz and Lizzy (Southeastern Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 09/18/13
    • Review Submitted 10/12/13
    From our very first visit to Amsterdam over a decade ago, I wished to 'live' on a houseboat for a few days. It never crossed my mind that one could rent a houseboat; it would be years before I thought to search out a houseboat rental... Once I found that indeed there were houseboats to rent and that there existed a wide variety of options, I choose the Johanna. This houseboat had absolutely everything on my wishlist- the most important being a true 'condo' feel- as our 7-year-old son would be with us on this particular visit. We encountered not one inconvenience out of the ordinary and were perfectly comfortable with all amenities, the location of the houseboat and the basic supplies available. A few of my favorite things: The wheelhouse- great for a few perfect moments of peace, the over-sized tub- great for little ones who need a bit of relaxation of their own to ward off the pre-bedtime grouchies, the full kitchen, the comfort of sleeping accommodations and great heating for the cooler nights. The houseboat is extremely clean and well-kept. There are no odors left behind by previous guests. You will feel cozy and comfortable every night; the variety of lighting lends exactly what is required for both romance or, in my case, completing homework I had to bring along while on vacation. Plenty of closet space (real closets!) and extra bedding add to your convenience. We were greeted warmly, the owners were available for questions, everything we needed to know about what to expect living on the houseboat was provided and did I mention how warmly we were greeted? There is a small store very nearby for basics; we loved the chicken sausage- a wonderful little perk for the American breakfast we never seem to crave unless were not actually in America! Close to the tram, with a Geocahce seemingly placed just for our pleasure and an outside seating area- one of the best stays we've had thus far! I recommend a trip to Izakaya if you're so inclined as well as to Naan Naam. This houseboat was so comfortable we've already booked for next year; it may have placed Amsterdam as a yearly vacation destination rather than one of whim. If you're looking for a first-time houseboat experience I'd suggest you choose one which is recommended as highly as I recommend the Johanna. As a seasoned traveler, it is a rare occasion that finds me so delighted with a sight unseen booking!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Liz and see you next year in August!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great boat, great location!

    Great boat, great location!

    • Guest Annie D.
    • Date of stay 09/11/13
    • Review Submitted 01/09/14
    I booked this boat having stayed on other floating houses in Amsterdam (not all houses on the canals are actual boats) and loved the experience. Sometimes, you could feel the boat moving very slowly in a almost imperceptible rocking motion and that was a really cool feeling! It rained quite a bit when we were there, and the view from the skylights was beautiful no matter the weather. If you buy a tram ticket for your stay, you can jump right onto trams a block away to hit almost any spot in the whole city. You'll be close to some great markets (Waterlooplein is one of my favorites) and can hop on and off of the trams to get wherever you need to go. If you prefer walking, it is a gorgeous walk across the Amstel to the heart of the city. We felt safe, secure, and close to everything. The noise level was very low, yet you are close, but not too close to the excitement. You can sit in the old steering area for a cup of coffee that you made at "home". We saved a ton of money by buying groceries from the local store and cooking meals in the lovely kitchen. Buy a bottle of wine, some pasta and cheese, and you've got a meal for (depending on the price of the wine!) 30 Euro! Don't underestimate how great it is to have control over your food and drink while away from home. There is also a washer and dryer on the boat, very welcome after traveling (plane, train, bus boat, tram) and living out of suitcases for two weeks away from home. We truly felt like we lived in Amsterdam for a week and we will be back, if not on this boat, then on another. If you are not sure about renting this, don't hesitate, I can only imagine how fun it would be for kids to stay on the boat. It is plenty big for a family, and luxurious for two. The owner is very lovely and will answer any questions you have, they leave instructions on how to operate everything on the boat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your response Annie and see you again! Liesbeth

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Experience

    Amazing Experience

    • Guest klingk (St. Paul, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/24/13
    • Review Submitted 05/09/13
    We were first-time travelers to Amsterdam- a family of five- with 3 children 11, 9 and 5. We had such a memorable time in Amsterdam thanks to the wonderful accommodations on the Johanna and the location of this fantastic houseboat! Despite the cold and wind of our trip- the experience of the houseboat and all its charm- we had a fantastic vacation- and one that our children will never forget. We were delighted with the professionalism and hospitality of the owner Liesbeth who greeted us on arrival and warmly welcomed us to the Johanna. From the moment we e-mailed about its availability to the night before we left the boat, Liesbeth answered e-mails quickly and offered fantastic info above and beyond other rentals we have stayed at previously. She was an absolute pleasure to work with- and we definitely hope to return soon The houseboat is spacious, with all the comforts of home and more. The pictures do not do it justice-- it is gorgeous and light and had fun nooks and crannies to explore!The location is fabulous- we walked to almost everything and were within blocks of the trolley for other sites that were a little farther away. We did not want to leave!! It was a magical trip- and living on the Johanna was a big part of the experience in this great city! Thank you for sharing your beautiful boat with others! We hope to meet again!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We hope so too Katie! See you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Unique experience

    Unique experience

    • Guest Rachel F.
    • Date of stay 11/01/12
    • Review Submitted 11/04/12
    What a wonderful place to spend your first visit to Amsterdam - a short distance to museums/shops/restaurants, yet remarkably peaceful at night. I was really not prepared for how wonderful this houseboat would be. The houseboat is very cosy. The kitchen and bathroom are both very well equipped and the bedrooms and living areas are very comfortable. All appliances appear brand new. All spotlessly clean. Would love to come back and spend more time onboard. As for eating out, there are some extremely good restaurants to suit most budgets. Most restaurants though appear to be busy, so best to book, if possible, to avoid disappointment. As for getting around - we walked everywhere - even our son managed it (with a little coaxing from a sweet every so often). In better weather we would hire bikes, although we were told it was very dangerous. I think it might be safer being on a bike, rather than being a pedestrian - watch out! Amsterdam is a lovely place just to wander around both during the day and at night. Did not appear at all threatening. Public transport is very cheap compared to the UK (no surprise there then). The people of Amsterdam are very friendly and welcoming and fortunately, for us, do not appear to be fed up with tourists asking questions. There are some lovely shops and they certainly have a keen eye for design. Next time I think I would consider driving, so I could do some serious shopping. Would definitely come back to the Johanna. Thank you very much for having us.

    Owner response: Thanks Rachel and see you again! Liesbeth

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fabulous Stay

    Fabulous Stay

    • Guest Bjorn (San Rafael, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/17/12
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    Had a fabulous stay on the Johanna for the following reasons: 1. Hip but quiet neighborhood. Near Amsterdam University, shops, bars, cafes, restaurants, etc. 2. Loved Utrechtstraat just past the Magere bridge. Great shops and restaurants - very hip! 3. The boat was very comfy - full size bathtub, full size shower stall, full size kitchen 4. Food stores (incl. organic) in the next block. We bought cold cuts & cheese & had dinner on deck 5. Loved feeding the ducks & swans that came right to the boat 6. The boat is big! 85 + feet!! 7. We loved the Hermitage Museum 1.5 blocks away. A smaller museum w/o the crowds, but really good! 8. From the boat you can walk anywhere!!! 9. You feel like a local!!! No hotel at any price would give you that experience 10.. Just wonderful!!!! PS: The map of the area on this site is deceiving. Everything is much, much closer than you think PS2: If you want to fit in in Amsterdam, dress up. Specially if you are over 40 PS3: Watch out for the bikes!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your special review Bjorn in 10 points, likes the ten comm endmants, for each finger one! And indeed "Watch out for the bikes!!!" or better, if I allways say to our guets: "If you want to rent a bike (just on the corner), be very carefull, because of the narrow streets specillaly along the canals". Liesbeth

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Place to Stay in Amstedam

    Great Place to Stay in Amstedam

    • Guest Jean and Tom (Grapevine, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 weeks aboard the Johanna. A canal boat has to be THE way to experience living in Amsterdam. The boat is spacious, light and airy and is situated in a great neighborhood close to everything. We walked everywhere. The accommodations are first rate with a very well equipped kitchen and bath room and a lovely large bedroom. We shopped locally for food and cooked many meals. The kitchen is well laid out and has every updated appliance we needed and more. The full sized washer and dryer were great for our 2 week stay.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are glad that the Johanna has been a Great Place to stay for your 2 weeks holliday in Amsterdam and the Netherlands. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you aboard. Liesbeth & IJjo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Amsterdam accomodation

    Amazing Amsterdam accomodation

    • Guest Kathleen B.
    • Date of stay 06/26/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    I can't say enough good things about our stay at the Johanna! It's so roomy and clean and had a very spacious feel! Our daughter loved the bunk she slept in under the wheel room. It was fun. Our room, at the other end of the houseboat, was roomy and comfortable. The place is fully equipped with very nice features in the kitchen. Great espresso machine! The only issue we had was that the door at the rear of the boat would not lock easily. We just used the door at the front. The location is really great. We felt very safe walking around at night and it's close enough to great restaurants that you can walk to easily. It's really close to lovely bridges and a large canal, so it was fun to see the boats and activity. It was not too far from the university, so it has a young, active feel to the area. Lots of bicyclists! It's great! We visited another part of Amsterdam where we considered staying (around Hazenstraat and Elandsstrat) and we were glad we stayed where we did. It felt very safe and comfortable. If you find bread in a store, save some for the ducks. They love it! We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

    Owner response: Thanks for the review Kathleen! The door at the rear of the boat is fixed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • High quality Amsterdam houseboat

    High quality Amsterdam houseboat

    • Guest Pat (WA Australia)
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 06/20/12
    First class accommodation and equipment. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your review! Liesbeth

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Rundherum perfekt

    Rundherum perfekt

    • Guest Haselpurz (Berlin, Germany)
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    Wir waren mit zwei Teenagern auf dem Boot, das in Wirklichkeit noch schöner ist als auf den Fotos und mit allem Komfort und liebvollen Details ausgestattet ist, um sich wohlzufühlen. Besonders das gemütliche Bett "im Schrank"- keine Sorge- mit zwei sehr großen Söhnen (1,86m und 2,02m), die genügend Platz hatten- ist es überhaupt nicht beengt!- war heiß begehrt und am liebsten wären wir gar nicht von Bord gegangen. Aber auch die Umgebung ist natürlich sehenswert und die Lage genau richtig. Man kann alles zu Fuß machen. Wir kommen bestimmt wieder- vielen Dank für alles!

    Owner response: Herzlichen Dank Katrin und Familie. Und gerne Aufwiedersehen! Liesbeth

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • living's easy on a houseboat

    living's easy on a houseboat

    • Guest Wilma H.
    • Date of stay 04/02/12
    • Review Submitted 04/07/12
    The boat Johanna was the perfect place for our stay in Amsterdam! We enjoyed three wonderfully cosy nights, sleeping in the next day, grabbing fresh bread from markets nearby and returning to the boat to prepare a superb self-made lunch/breakfast in the fully furnished kitchen.When the evening sun shines through the beautiful Prinsengracht and warms the upper-terrace-deck of the houseboat, be sure to take a drink outside and soak up this unique atmosphere. With more than enough room for 4 grown-ups Johanna is the most original and recommendable place to choose as home for your perfect stay in Amsterdam!

    Owner response: Thanks Wilma for your review, we are glad that you have had a perfect stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fully furnished, wonderfully comfortable, surprisingly quiet, and a super cool experience!

    Fully furnished, wonderfully comfortable, surprisingly quiet, and a super cool experience!

    • Guest John (Glasgow, UK)
    • Date of stay 02/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/09/12
    I am hesitant to post my review for this property because I don't want more people to find out how fantastic it is! I have already tried to book it for another date, but it has been booked! We simply loved staying on the Johanna! We were a little worried that it might get cold since we were there in winter (the canals had recently been frozen), but it was always warm and comfortable inside. It is a little bit of a walk from the city center and it is on the other side of the city from the Jordaan area, but the area is quiet and it is not an unpleasant walk away from anything. Amsterdam is an amazing city to walk around in so we had no problem with this. Everything on the boat is new and in perfect working order. There is a wonderful full kitchen with all new appliances and the amount of furnishings throughout make it feel very welcoming and comfortable. We never felt like we were missing anything at all. I can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks John and till the next time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Ein Bijou

    Ein Bijou

    • Guest Luca L.
    • Date of stay 01/04/12
    • Review Submitted 01/12/12
    Es waren vier fantastische Tage und Nächte auf der Johanna und ich möchte mich an dieser Stelle nochmals bei Lisbeth und Ijjo für ihren herzlichen und unkomplizierten Umgang bedanken. Es gibt absolut nichts zu bemängeln. Das Boot ist eine schwimmende Suite und besonders in der kalten Jahreszeit ein willkommenes und sehr gemütliches Refugium vor Wind und Wetter. Die Küche lässt auch für ambitionierte Köche nichts zu wünschen offen, der Wohnraum ist sehr gemütlich und es schläft sich hervorragend - wie in einer Wiege. Von Stereoanlage inkl. Iphone-Docking-Station über Geschirrspühler, Waschmaschiene und Tumbler ist jeder erdenkliche Luxus vorhanden. Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, Museen und Stadtzentrum sind zu Fuss zu erreichen und eine Metro-Station ist gleich um die Ecke. Fantastisch und gerne wieder!

    Owner response: Herzlichen Dank Luca und Freunden! Gerne auf Wiedersehen, Liesbeth und IJjo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great fun

    Great fun

    • Guest Bruce (Colby KS USA)
    • Date of stay 12/27/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    We had a short 3-day stay (thanks for accommodating us). We were surprised how spacious the boat was. The location is quiet but it's very close to the Hermitage and shops near the Amstel. In fact we were pleasantly surprised how easy it is to walk most anywhere in inner Amsterdam. This is so much more fun than a hotel. A rental house would have worked well, but a genuine houseboat must be THE way to visit Amsterdam.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was a great pleasure to accomodate you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Place to Stay in Amsterdam!

    Best Place to Stay in Amsterdam!

    • Guest Suzanne M.
    • Date of stay 10/07/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    My family of four stayed on this houseboat while visiting Amsterdam in October. The houseboat is a fantastic way to experience Amsterdam. The boat itself is very clean and was as promised. The interior of the boat is practically brand new. The boat is very large and easily accommodated my family of four. The location is wonderful and very easy to navigate around the city. The owners are wonderful and made us feel so welcome. I would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. My kids especially loved it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Nice to welcome you again Suzi with your family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • An Excellent Location for Everything Amsterdam!!

    An Excellent Location for Everything Amsterdam!!

    • Guest Todd (Virginia, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/21/11
    • Review Submitted 10/01/11
    My wife and I stayed her with two others for 3 nights. It was absolutely the best place to stay to really discover Amsterdam. From the morning tea that we had on the front of the boat every morning to the perfectly sized kitchen for cooking locally sourced foods, we could not have asked for anything better. The owners are great people and really have created such a nice place! I would definitely stay again and definitely recommend this place to others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: Thank you Todd for your nice recommendation. See you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best place to stay

    Best place to stay

    • Guest LoraT (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/31/11
    • Review Submitted 09/20/11
    My family and I stayed in the boat for three days while touring Amsterdam and it was an amazing place to stay in. Very spacious, the owners were very helpful and kind people. The boat had an amazing view and was very comfortable easily fits 4 people. The interior of the boat is practically new. I will deffently recommend this place to friends and other who will be visiting amsterdam.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much Lora for your review. Liesbeth Deen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]