Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Especially nice, comfortable and clean. Quiet. Close to Glacier and Whitefish.

Great Retreat, Five Min. to Whitefish, $650/wk,$95nt +7% Tax [#371636] | View Property

Private Homes
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft TV room, 1 Bath (Sleeps 5)
$95/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (12)

Sort by:
  • Perfect setup at a fair price!

    Perfect setup at a fair price!

    • Guest jason t.
    • Date of stay 09/17/13
    • Review Submitted 09/23/13
    The house was a perfect size for our family of 5. It could easily fit more. We slept great and cooked a ton of in-house meals. It was super clean and all of the appliances worked great! We did a ton of laundry since we had been on the road the week before. The owner is fantastic. She really cares that you have a good time and provided a ton of information for us. We had zero worries through the entire process! It is close to just about everything but is enough out of town that you have privacy. Our kids had liberty to run around the yard and ride bikes on the dirt road without feeling like we had to look out at them every 5 minutes. If you are a cyclist there are trails right behind the house in the Montana State Forest at the top of the hill, road cycling from the front door and more mountain bike trails peppered all throughout the valley. If you are a fishermen you won't have to drive far to lake or river fish. The house is 30 minutes from West Glacier as well for fantastic hiking. We hit the farmers market in Whitefish on a Tuesday evening and immediately felt like we were home. We will absolutely return again (and hopefully again)!!

    Owner response: Thank you for the great review! You found even more ways to make use of the location of the rental than I had thought of...bike trails and etc. being near-by. I am so pleased it was perfect for your vacation. Looking forward to a return visit from you, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming Retreat

    Charming Retreat

    • Guest Julie B. (Calgary, Alberta)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/21/13
    We stayed here for the May long weekend and although the weather wasn't very good it did nothing to deter our time away. The cottage is beautifully kept and well equipped. The beds were very comfy and the linens clean. We had a very relaxing time and the setting of the cottage in the woods was perfect for a peaceful break. The location just outside Whitefish was perfect. We will definitely be going back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is always rewarding to have people enjoy themselves and relax. Many thanks for your great comments! I am so glad you had a good stay. Sincerely, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Easter Getaway

    Easter Getaway

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/16/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Whitefish over our Easter Holidays. The home was clean and well maintained. It was located between the town of Whitefish and Kalispel which was convenient for both the outdoorsman and the shopper.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Many thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Whitefish and the "Deer Trail" rental. I hope it will work out for you and your family to stay again sometime. Have a great year! Sincerely, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous

    Fabulous

    • Guest Donna M. (Cape Cod)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/18/12
    The home and the hostess could not have been any more perfect. After a long,long drive (from Massachusetts) we found this to be an ideal respite. Diana even told us places to go and things to do. The home had everything a traveler could want nd then some! I would highly recommend it. Donna

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your nice review! It was great to meet you and I hope you have a safe and fun trip the rest of the way around the U.S. and back to Mass. Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful definitely recommend to others!

    Wonderful definitely recommend to others!

    • Guest Montana Bound (Scottsburg Indiana, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 10/05/12
    My husband and I stayed here for a week. The cabin was clean smelling and immaculate with so many things provided that you would not think of. The kitchen had all the necessary components to cook meals. There was a grill and a wonderful outdoor patio. Plenty of linens in the bathroom and kitchen. The owner left a large bag of coffee which my husband loved! She even had walking sticks we used for hiking. The washer and dryer was a huge benefit! It felt comfortable and very relaxing after our all day excursions. The cabin is situated so nicely to travel the surrounding communities. It was 15-20 minutes from Kalispell where we ate at the Winchester. A great steak house. 30 minutes from West Glacier and Lake McDonald. We rafted near West Glacier and rode horses and did wonderful hiking as well. We did travel West to East the whole perimeter of the park and it was fantastic. Polebride is the top western entrance of the park and there is a mercantile there who bakes and it is worth the trip! We saw a moose on those roads that same evening. Further on we went to bowman lake on a more primitive road accessible by car and the view was fantastic. Parts of Going to the sun road were closed so we took the perimeter roads through reservation lands to get to Many Glacier and Saint Mary's which was beautiful scenery but when they say watch for cattle they mean it. We got a great picture of big bessie coming right down the highway! We traveled to Hungry Horse Dam with incredible views and down to Polsen and Kerr dam also incredible. There we ate at Betty's diner with great view and food! Whitefish is less then 10 minutes from the cabin and it is a wonderful little town. We ate at Ciao Mambo which is fantastic Italian food. In the summer they have a farmers market every Wednesday night with live music and food. We ate a Yak Burrito. It was delicious! Quaint local shops that feature local artists. We cannot say enough about our stay here! The owner left their number with us if we had any questions. We would definitely recommend this cabin.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely Adorable!

    Absolutely Adorable!

    • Guest Patty (Santa Rosa, Ca)
    • Date of stay 08/21/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    My mom and I stayed for 3 nights at Diana's place on our way to North Dakota. We absolutely loved this place. After a long day of travel it was nice to drive down the road to the open meadow and see this very lovely place. The home is a very comfortable spacious 2 bedroom, 1 bath with everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The upstairs had a separate bedroom and den type area for watching TV (which we had no time to watch) with an additional twin bed. We really enjoyed having breakfast and dinner on the outdoor deck in perfect weather. Whitefish is a beautiful area and we devoted a day to explore Glacier National Park. We had the pleasure of meeting Diana, the owner, who gave us tips on things to do in the area. She was always available to answer any questions we may have had and checked on us to see how our excursions went. We would definitely stay here again. It is such a value compared to staying at a hotel and so much more comfortable and inviting. The location was very good for exploring the area. Diana, thank you for your hospitality and sharing your home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you! I appreciate your input and am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was fun to meet you both and especially neat for mother and daughter to see this beautiful country together. Have safe travels! Sincerely, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Whitefish Mt

    Whitefish Mt

    • Guest dog (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 08/05/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    This listing was perfect and our vacation to Whitefish and Glacier was also perfect and incredable. Thank you again Diana, your home was like home away from home, and your were so very helpful. Your home was clean and very well maintained. We will be sure to return in the future and have already recommened this property to friends. Thank you again and we look forward to visiting Mt again soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Just great to meet you and am glad you had a wonderful time here in Glacier and also relaxing at the Deer Trail house. Many thanks! Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent base for Whitefish/Glacier Park visit

    Excellent base for Whitefish/Glacier Park visit

    • Guest Allie (Richmond, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 08/08/12
    This house just south of Whitefish is ideally located for visiting the Glacier Park/Whitefish area. It had all the amenities, as listed, to make our week's vacation very comfortable. The house is well-stocked with everyday items, especially in the kitchen, and the owner even had a premium bag of coffee waiting for us upon arrival. It slept four very comfortably and has a single in the TV room that can accommodate a fifth person. No upstairs bathroom for the second bedroom was a little inconvenient but access to bathroom downstairs is very easy and it has a lot of room as well as a washer/dryer unit. Those staying during cold weather will appreciate the well-stocked woodpile for keeping the wood stove going nightly. The owner made a personal visit to review things to do in the area with us and left her number to answer any questions we had about our stay. This was our first visit to Montana and even though our purpose was to visit Glacier Nat Park, we found the town of Whitefish a delightful place to spend time in as well. My wife and I would definitely recommend this house to any party of four (or family of 5).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your great review. I am thrilled you enjoyed the house and had a wonderful visit to our beautiful area. So good to meet you and spend a few minutes. Thank you! Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Family Vacation Home

    Perfect Family Vacation Home

    • Guest 2goldens (Hanover, MN)
    • Date of stay 07/15/12
    • Review Submitted 07/28/12
    Our family of 5 stayed at this charming home for 6 nights in July. It was super clean, very comfortable, and had all the amenities of home. Diana was great with helping us plan our trip for hiking, rafting, fishing, etc. She had recommendations for it all. The home was very inviting to return to after a long day of hiking or activities in Glacier National Park and we enjoyed being close to Whitefish for groceries, dinner, or fun shopping. I would highly recommend this property if you are looking to visit Glacier or the Whitefish area. If we return to the area, we would definitely want to stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for you comments! You were wonderful to have as guests! So glad you enjoyed the house and area. It is my true reward to see people enjoy themselves. Sincerely, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Feels like home!!

    Feels like home!!

    • Guest Norma (Wolseley, Sask, Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    Enjoyed 4 wonderful nights in this charming home. The yard is beautifully maintained with a deck that is very kid friendly. The house is neat, clean and tastefully decorated, had comfy beds and all the amenities that were needed. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, in a great central location between Whitefish and Kalispell which made for quick trips to basically anywhere. Thank you Diana, for making our stay a wonderful experience. We would highly recommend this property

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you had a great time! Many thanks for the nice comments. Much appreciated. Looking forward to having you as a guest another time. Sincerely, Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • a gem of a place!

    a gem of a place!

    • Guest millerd (missoula)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/10/12
    house was super clean and owner was great! We will return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the nice review! I will look forward to having you as a guest again. Diana

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming cabin, wonderfully accommodating owner!

    Charming cabin, wonderfully accommodating owner!

    • Guest Mac (Salt Lake City)
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 08/10/11
    My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at this cabin. Plenty of privacy. All the amenities that we needed. Quiet neighborhood. Stars were amazing at night! Great central location to go and tour Glacier and to enjoy the restaurants in the town of Whitefish. The owner of the property took time to help us get to know the area and to tell us of the places we should go and see...Diana was VERY helpful! Thanks again for an amazing week.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]