Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Casa Verano Ocean Front [#372452] | View Property

Boca Del Rio
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
$140-165
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Lovely

    Lovely

    • Guest PHP
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 02/24/14
    This vacation rental was lovely and Jackie and Eloy were very helpful and friendly. We felt very safe and the apartment was very clean, comfortable beds, nicely decorated and kitchen was well stocked. Eloy took us out snorkelling and fishing a couple times and cooked a fantastic lunch. The setting for lunch was very rustic, which added to this experience for us. Eloy was a fantastic fishing guide also. We would definitely stay at this place again if we came back to Belize. The local people are friendly helpful happy and we really enjoyed the people and their food is fantastic.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 10 days at Casa Verano

    10 days at Casa Verano

    • Guest Ms. B (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/05/14
    • Review Submitted 02/11/14
    Casa Verano is a great place to stay! You can walk to town or rent a golf cart to get around. I recommend a golf cart so you can really explore Ambergris Caye. Miss Jackie who lives with her family on the 1st floor is friendly and helpful. There's a nice beach bar about a block's walk down the beach that even the locals say is there favorite, it was ours too :-). Casa Verano is clean and comfortable. A really great place to stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WOW! Relaxing...Awesome Location...Beautiful View!

    WOW! Relaxing...Awesome Location...Beautiful View!

    • Guest Tiffany & Rick H. (Where do you live?)
    • Date of stay 11/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/27/13
    What a FANTASTIC get away spot you have! We loved every minute and are already trying to figure out how to get back to San Pedro sooner than later! WE loved the location of this spot. We preferred staying in a home as opposed to a RESORT...we are NOT resort people...well NOT yet that is! We loved having access to bikes and we went as far as we could to one end of the island and all the way to the other end. And when we were not on bikes we were on foot. We really loved the easy access to downtown EATS. TREATS. and TOURS! We took your advice and went snorkeling at Hol Chan and then took a catamaran to Caye Caulker for lunch. We also had an opportunity to get to Mexico Rocks for a snorkel and then a beach bbq at Robles Point where we went on our own out to the reef and snorkeled. We loved coming back in the evening to your place for island made chips and homemade salsa...along with Belikin in the fridge! Of course it was pretty sweet to watch the sun come up and drink coffee out on the deck along with our GIANT cinnamon rolls we would pick up at a local bakery around the corner. To our surprise there was a Crossfit Gym(box) just down the road where we took advantage of working out one morning. We loved being in amidst of the locals. Thanks for sharing this place with us. We will definitely share this link with family and friends heading to San Pedro.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Place, Location and Neighbours

    Perfect Place, Location and Neighbours

    • Guest Christine (Victoria, BC)
    • Date of stay 11/08/13
    • Review Submitted 11/27/13
    My husband and I stayed at Casa Verano for 4 nights. We loved being right on the ocean and living above a local family. Jackie and her family were very helpful in all our tourist needs. The house was very clean, the beds comfortable and the kitchen well stocked with all your needs. There is a large store close by (Ritchies) with wonderful homemade salsa and torillas. Bobby (her brother) took us snorkelling and to see the nurse sharks and manta rays..a must for everyone. We spent a lot of time at Wet Willys just down the beach. The bar and grill is on a pier and one night there were manta rays and lots of fish swimming right below the dock. We took the water taxi over to Caye Caulker one day and enjoyed a beer at the split while watching the locals catch fish right off the pier. We thoroughly enjoyed Ambergris Caye and especially Casa Verano and would definitely recommend this lovely house to everyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome getaway

    Awesome getaway

    • Guest Steve (Cincinnati, Ohio USA)
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 06/25/13
    Perfect location. Convenient to town, but enough distance away to be nice. Facilities are perfect. Would visit again without a second thought.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise Found!!!

    Paradise Found!!!

    • Guest julie (Austin Texas)
    • Date of stay 05/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/04/13
    The photos do not really capture the beauty of Casa Verano. It was even better than the pictures or description given. We have stayed other places on Ambergis Caye and Casa Verano is our favorite by far. The location is perfect & it's not necessary to rent a golf cart if you don't want to. We rented one but rarely used it since it was so easy to walk everywhere. We were close to everything - grocery store, restaurants, beach and more. The place was extremely clean! Not sure how they managed that because between the sand & wind you would think it was a losing battle. Not here! Everything was sparkling all the time for us. We felt like royalty. The owners were more than helpful and made excellent suggestions about activites & restaurants. They were always very responsive to our questions and thought of things that had slipped our minds to ask. We loved being among the people of San Pedro. Their warmth & kindness made us feel like family. We could not have been treated any better. I cannot recommend Casa Verano enough - our stay there was a dream come true!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Experience

    Wonderful Experience

    • Guest Wanda (New Hampshire, US)
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 03/03/13
    We have just returned from our stay at Casa Verano. It was above and beyond our expectations!!! Miss Jackie, Eloy and the whole crew are so wonderful! The snorkeling, cave tubing and Myan ruins were amazing. Casa Verano is beautiful and within walking distance to everything. I highly recommend this place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • All that was advertised

    All that was advertised

    • Guest Bill (Rockaway, NJ)
    • Date of stay 12/02/12
    • Review Submitted 12/13/12
    My wife and I stayed at Casa Verano Dec. 2 to 9. Sometimes the real thing is not as good as the pictures. Not this time. It was even better than the pics. This unit was everything that was put in the description. It was clean and safe. You can walk into town without a problem (maybe 15 minutes into the center). We opted to rent a golf cart for the week so it would be easier to explore and i'm glad we did. The last time we were on Ambergris Caye we did not do this and now I see that we missed out on a lot of what the island has to offer. We are scuba divers and dove with Island divers. The divemaster lived downstairs with his folks and the rest of the Gonzales family. They were all very friendly and helpful. The next time we are on Ambergris Caye this is where we will be.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great experience

    Great experience

    • Guest Cristina (California)
    • Date of stay 10/14/12
    • Review Submitted 10/25/12
    The condo looks better than in the pictures. It is spacious, modern, quiet, and has a wonderful view. We loved it! It is close to everything and Jackie, the manager downstairs, is a very pleasant and helpful person. Her husband Eloy is a very skilled fishing guide. We went fishing with him for 6 days and caught lots of fish. We will certainly return to this place again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful

    Delightful

    • Guest mindy_gold (Dallas, TX United States)
    • Date of stay 08/30/12
    • Review Submitted 09/07/12
    Casa Verano was a great choice for housing on Ambergris Caye. Its within walking distance (10 minutes max) to all the culture and shops in San Pedro, yet its outside of town enough that its peaceful. Its right on the beach so you get to wake up to the Caribbean sun sparkling on the ocean each day. The bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom, and living room were all clean and very modern looking. My husband and I went with another couple, and we all enjoyed the private bedrooms with common areas to hangout in. The balcony is wrap-around and has nice furniture to lounge on each day. The residents below us (Miss Jackie & family) were very nice. They were always ready and excited to help us with anything. They recommended a dive shop (Island Diving - great!), called cabs, ordered and picked up food for us when we were rushed packing up the last day, and provided extra blankets, water, towels, etc. This place allows visitors to experience the real culture of the island while still relaxing. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Property 372452

    Property 372452

    • Guest PT (Gerorgetown Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/12
    Very good stay, excellant property , excellant family downstairs, very good young lady that cleans. The whole family does a great job of getting stuff for you if needed, recomending places to eat, etc and they have numerous boats and will do snorkling , fishing trips, etc. The owner is in Canada but very responsive to any questions you might have and changing reservations, etc.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Verano . . . . Ahhhh, relaxation, fun, layed back or busy, you choose!

    Casa Verano . . . . Ahhhh, relaxation, fun, layed back or busy, you choose!

    • Guest Chris and Bob (La Vernia, Texas, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/17/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    Excellent location, very clean, comfortable and safe. We stayed a full week and were not ready to leave. Miss Jackie was wonderful and knowledgeable and available to talk to and learn from as were the rest of the family . . . . we loved them! The front balcony was perfect to sit and watch the beautiful Carribean colors turn from emerald to deep blue and then to see the fishing boats and diving/snorkling boats and people visiting from all areas. The local people were all very friendly and helpful. Bobby took us fishing and then prepared a wonderful lunch for us from our catch . . . . it was delicious! Rosetti is a very sweet and kind person. She always made sure that we had clean towels and sheets during our stay and was also very helpful with information about the area. We enjoyed getting to know her and her little boy! The entire family helped make our stay special. The back balcony area has a porch swing and a hammock. I spent several hours relaxing in the hammock reading my book and enjoying the nice breeze. We kept the windows opened during the day to take advantage of the breeze and then at night the room A/C worked wonderfully! There are ceiling fans in every room making it easy to circulate the air even more. We could be lazy at the condo if we chose or we could and did walk the area and find great places to eat, have drinks, dance to live music. There are all sorts of little markets and places, large and small to find all kinds of treasures. There is a great restaurant on the lagoon side where you can watch beautiful sunsets and have a nice meal. Some people even fed fish to the tarpons . . . . they would jump up out of the water to take the fish from the hands of the people feeding them. You can rent golf carts or Casa Verano has bicycles for your use too. We really enjoy meeting the people of the places we visit so we just chose to walk, but many people bicycle or rent the golf carts. We will return again! Thank you for a great stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Verano

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Casa Verano

    • Guest James & Susan
    • Date of stay 05/06/12
    • Review Submitted 06/15/12
    Renee- We had an amazing time in Belize. you guys have such a wonderful property. relaxing on the front porch watching the reef, reading a book, having a cocktail, was awesome. the Gonzalez family and their friends are all awesome. we went fishing with bobby two days and he is a great guide and fun to be with. everyone was so helpful. i have and will recommend your house to my friends. thanks , and hope to be in touch again. cheers, jimmy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Verano

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Casa Verano

    • Guest Paul Donheffner
    • Date of stay 03/09/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    Hello Renee: Well we're back and in a state of depression. It snowed here briefly today. Went to supermarket to get groceries and was looking for the fresh bananas from the greenhouse lady....to no avail. Nothing but green bananas. To say the least, we had a lovely holiday. It was a great week. Your home away from home is fantastic. Miss Jackie took great care of us. Spent 5 half days on the water with Bobby (big Toe) snorkeling and fishing. The only way to go. We fell in love with Belize and San Pedro. Wish we had discovered it 20 years ago. Looking at real estate, don't know if it will pan out, but we could see spending much more time there. I'm retired, and wife is close.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great experience

    Great experience

    • Guest Ken & Mo (Victoria, B C)
    • Date of stay 02/22/12
    • Review Submitted 03/12/12
    The condo exceeded our expectations; it was bright, airy, very modern, clean and comfortable. It is situated above an active, extended working family who are all warm and engaging. This provided an opportunity to interact with the family and gain insight into everyday life on the caye. Eloy, the fishing guide downstairs, is top notch and will put you on to whatever fish you want to catch.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Verano

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Casa Verano

    • Guest Dave & Cindy
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 02/25/12
    Hi Renee, Our stay at Casa Verano was wonderful. I can't say enough about Jackie (and her family). Jackie is a Super person. She is a natural as a host. She was so responsive to whatever we were interested in doing-on the phone immediately setting up trips or finding me a Kindle charger to borrow from her friend since I forgot mine at Placencia. tThe thing that touched my heart was that I contracted an allergic reaction on my feet which needed medical attention on a SUNDAY! She had us in her golf cart and in to see Dr. Gonzales in what seemed like two seconds flat. Being in a different country with that kind of a health issue was scary. Then, she was determined to find an open pharmacy to fill my prescriptions when they were all closed-except the last one she checked! She was also caring and thoughtful enough to buy me some special tea for my circulation. It felt like I had a sister/mother when I needed her most. I really wanted to take her home with us because she & I would be fast friends. Her daughter-in-law is a sweet-heart,too. She cleaned for us and she & I had a talk that was special for us both, I think. Dave did a great dive with Jackie's son that he said he will never forget. Jackie's husband helped us by getting oil into our leaking golf cart. Jackie's grandson stuck his head into a cooler full of ice-water-he had a fever and I bet it felt good to him. These are just a few of the highlights we'll remember about our stay at Casa Verona. Feel free to post this review where ever people can read it because your guest-house is clean, bright, comfortable, and a very happy place to be. We wish you guys all the very best continued success with your business because you deserve it!! Feb. 25, 20l2 Cindy & Dave Rice Colorado Springs, Colorado

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Value for $, Great Location. Clean, Modern beds and Mattresses and comes with AC.

    Great Value for $, Great Location. Clean, Modern beds and Mattresses and comes with AC.

    • Guest Farrokh (United States)
    • Date of stay 10/15/11
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    We liked the location. It has A/C and is near to everything. The nearby school was not a problem at all. Price was right. We biked everywhere. Downstairs people are wonderful as well. Balconies are great as is the outdoor shower. It has new, comfortable, clean mattresses with new beds and sheets. Do It. No worries! Its Ambergris Caye - you can't go wrong for this price.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our paradise home away from home!!

    Our paradise home away from home!!

    • Guest The Ripper's (Concord, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 09/30/11
    • Review Submitted 09/30/11
    Casa Verano is the place to stay on Ambergris Caye!!  My wife and I have been coming down to AC for the last 6 years for a total of 12 times thus far.   We have stayed at many places on the island but none were as nice as Casa Verano!  We have stayed there 2 times already and getting ready for another visit next month.   The location is perfect.  Right on the beach with amazing views!   Not to mention the sun rising over the water in the morning   It is a short  walk to the grocery store and downtown San Pedro.   We bring our 2 boys with us who are 8 & 6 and Casa Verano is perfect!   Miss Jackie is the manager and lives downstairs.  She is great!  Loves to answer any questions you may have.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Would love to retire here....drinking Belkin on the balcony...paradise

    Would love to retire here....drinking Belkin on the balcony...paradise

    • Guest d4dog (Victoria, B.C)
    • Date of stay 11/06/10
    • Review Submitted 01/30/12
    In Nov/2011, stayed at Ralph & Renee's place for two wonderful weeks. I went scuba diving almost every morning and my wife relaxed and went into town. Spent our afternoons going into town to buy local food and eat at the many restaurants. Miss Jackie and her family are great to hang out with, especially on saturday evenings. Have stayed there twice in the past year and plan on going back this fall. P.S. If you love to BBQ and have a liking for fresh seafood & lobster...cannot think of a better place to be

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Love this place

    Love this place

    • Guest Bob&Gail (Philadelphia, PA. USA)
    • Date of stay 02/13/10
    • Review Submitted 10/03/11
    Have been to San Pedro many times over the last 6 years and this by far is the best place we have stayed at. Stayed here last winter and have already booked my return trip. Wonderful accommodations. Very clean and they have everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Close to stores, night life, restaurants and dive shops. Excellent Ocean views, nice and quiet area. Would not stay anywhere else. No regrets!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]