Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Exhilarating pool!

Canary Castle Beachfront Villa, Your Seaside Retreat! [#372908ha] | View Property

Arecibo
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps up to 8 guests
$1,100/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Relaxing, spacious, beautiful and worth it!!

    Relaxing, spacious, beautiful and worth it!!

    • Guest AkbarFamily (Linden, NJ)
    • Date of stay 11/03/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    It seemed too good to be true, until we arrived and saw that it is just as lovely, if not more so, as depicted on this site. The owners Wanda & Nelson were very warm and welcoming. Made our stay easy and relaxing. Even in November, we were able to enjoy the pool and private beach. Three hammocks definitely added to the relaxation. Thank you for making it memorable. We will come again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Amazing rental, experience the real Puerto Rico!

    Amazing rental, experience the real Puerto Rico!

    • Guest Julie E.
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/10/13
    Our family had a wonderful time at Canary Castle Villa! We stayed a week and could not have been happier with the accommodations! The house is beautiful and well-maintained. The owners were welcoming and very sweet. We had everything we needed and were able to really relax and enjoy Puerto Rico. We loved the pool and outdoor spaces. It's your own private paradise. Get away from the touristy resorts and experience PR.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Amazing Second Honeymoon!

    Amazing Second Honeymoon!

    • Guest Kate M.
    • Date of stay 05/15/13
    • Review Submitted 05/24/13
    My husband and I stayed at Canary Castle for a week and didn't want to leave! We loved this house, pool and most of all the hammocks! We made sure we spent lots of time relaxing in those hammocks every day and miss them so much now that we are home. This house has everything you need and is in a very convenient location on the island where you can see all the island but not have to travel so far. An amazing restaurant (which we ate at 4 of the 7 nights) Saltire right down the road is not to be missed. It was better than we expected and the photos don't do it justice! We will be back I am sure! Wanda and Nelson were so accommodating and even checked us in late when we needed that. They were quick with e-mail responses throughout the week with questions we had. If you are looking for a private, relaxing beach vacation spot this is it! Trust me you won't want to leave.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Islote Paradise

    Islote Paradise

    • Guest Michelle G. (Miami, Florida)
    • Date of stay 03/11/13
    • Review Submitted 03/24/13
    My family of 4 adults and 2 children's (age 5 and 3) from Miami, FL loved every minute of this house. I am from Puerto Rico and came for a family member wedding enjoyed the eperience very much than staying with family. The owner Wanda and Nelson our very attentive to detail and extremely nice. The home is just as described and seen on pictures and still does no justice to it. It's breathe taking to sit on the porch of the master bedroom. The smell and sound of the waves were amazing. I jogged in the morning to the Arecibo lighthouse only 600-700 meters away. We all played in the beach and then took a swim in the pool. The beach waves our very strong and not too safe for swimming. We used the grill and spent alot of time outside in the hammocks. Our week was spectacular! My oldest son wanted to stay and actually said his good-byes to the pool. I do wish that heater was available in the pool and jacuzzi because the waters were freezing. My boys would enjoy incaments of it because they would tremble with the wind from the ocean. But that didn't stopped them from having lots of fun. I would definitely stay again at Canary Castle. Thank you again Wanda and Nelson for opening your gorgeous home to us.

    Owner response: We want to say thank you to Michelle Garson and her beautiful family so much for this great review. It makes our heart stop of emotion when we read these amazing reviews that our Guests write about Canary Castle and even about us. Well, we try to do our best to make our Guests feel comfortable and relaxed ( that' s the main house rule of Canary, we want you to relax, relax,relax ). One thing we do want to make clear is that not always the beach is rough. The week Michelle and her family stayed over, there was a cold front hitting us and the waves get high and we have lots of currents in the beach, she's right not safe for swimming at this time but right now this coming week starts what the locals call the Bonanza. The beach gets very calm and the temperature gets high and no cold winds. Again we want thank Michelle and her beautiful family for such amazing review, just wanted to clarify the doubts about thebeach, if any. Thanks, Wanda and Nelson

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • great home away from home

    great home away from home

    • Guest quiller clan (Geneva, NY)
    • Date of stay 01/09/13
    • Review Submitted 02/10/13
    Our family of 5 from NY,USA vacationed with a sister and brother-in-law from OR, USA for a week. Canary Castle provided great housing for all of us while on the island. Wanda was a helpful host, answering questions promptly and providing directions prior to our arrival. She and Nelson were there to greet us and give instructions about the house when we arrived. She was also readily accessible by phone when an issue came up during the week. We found the property to be clean and well equipped. We enjoyed the pool, the hammocks and the easy access to the beach! On this trip we enjoyed being with family, spending time on the beach, hiking in the rain forrest, visiting a coffee hacienda, and eating local PR fruits and cuisine. We were impressed by the friendliness of the locals. I would certainly recommend this place to vacationers to PR.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Canary Castle

    Canary Castle

    • Guest Mallory C.
    • Date of stay 12/26/12
    • Review Submitted 01/05/13
    My husband and I went to Canary Castle for our honeymoon in late December of 2012. We really liked the idea of staying at our own house on the beach and really experiencing the local culture. What we found in staying at Canary Castle was everything we wanted and more. We arrived late the first night and Wanda and Nelson were there to greet us. I cannot stress how kind and helpful Wanda and Nelson were during the entire stay. They were always just a phone call away for us. The actual house and area surrounding the house were amazing. It is all even better than the pictures. Everything was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The outdoor space is just amazing including the pool, multiple hammocks, outdoor eating spaces, and the outdoor kitchen as well. Did I mention the ocean is literally your backyard? We were able to enjoy many days at the house and also took quite a few day trips to various places on the island. Arecibo is a great central location. Overall, I would rate our stay as excellent. The combination of having a comfortable place to stay as well as perfect outdoor space near multiple attractions made for the perfect trip. Many thanks to Wanda and Nelson!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Place with the most amazing Ocean View

    Great Place with the most amazing Ocean View

    • Guest alex g.
    • Date of stay 12/16/12
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    Our family of four (children age 7 and 3) spent a perfect week at Canary Castle. The house is very nice and cosy and the ocean is right at your back yard. The beach is perfect for all kinds of outdoor activity (including building sandcastles) and the ocean is very good for body boarding. The owners Nelson and Wanda are very friendly and helpful people, when our children got sick they recommended a nearby doctor who was able to help us, called in advance to inform the doctor, that we were coming and called again, when we were at the doctors. You can easily go to visit the Arecibo Observatory (it is a short drive), and go see the cueva del indio (go and take a walk along the coast and you will get rewarded by a beautiful coastline). We really enjoyed our stay, best of wishes, thanks for everything Wanda & Nelson

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great weekend

    Great weekend

    • Guest Alberto C. (San Juan ,Puerto Rico)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 11/04/12
    Great weekend,this rental is really great.Everything was exactly as advertised in HomeAway .Property is right on the beach and while in the pool you can just watch the waves. In the backyard you will find the pool,jacuzzi ,barbecue,bar,restroom and plenty of patio furniture .Property is clean and properly maintained. Best of all we had six young adults all about 25 years old ,they liked the place so much they didnt leave the property a minute. We would recommend this property to friends and family.My thanks to the owners the Wanda and Nelson.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Home away from home!

    Home away from home!

    • Guest Jennifer H. (GA)
    • Date of stay 09/28/12
    • Review Submitted 10/10/12
    Wow! We had such an amazing trip! The pictures are very accurate and don't do it justice. The view was spectacular. Wanda and her husband were so kind,patient, and helpful. They met us at the house and showed us around even after we arrived so late. We loved the area and felt very safe.The house had everything we needed. All you need to bring is flip flops and a bathing suit. There is a Walmart about 15 minutes away and a CVS Pharmacy very close and easy to get to. If we weren't out sightseeing, then you could find me in the hammock, my kids in the ocean, and my husband in the pool. The ocean surf was great for my teenagers.They loved all the big waves Little ones may have a hard time playing in the surf right out in front. However, a quick walk to the right or left about 5 minutes, will leave you at a calm spot for playing in the ocean. Be sure to check out the Camuy Caves and Observatory in Arecibo. We also drove to the Rainforest, hiked to La Mina Falls and swam, then took a biobay tour under a moonlit night. That was my favorite part of the trip for sightseeing. The only thing that our family would have wished was for air-conditioning in the house...although, honestly, we didn't spend a whole lot of time inside (the kids would watch t.v. at night) and we would have wanted the hot tub to be hot. I could write a book about how much we enjoyed our vacation and how wonderful the home was. I even told Wanda, that should she ever wish to sell, I would buy it in a heart beat! I hope you and your family enjoy Canary Castle as much as we did!

    Owner response: Thank you so much Jennifer and family for the great review you just wrote. We do wanted to make it clear that we do have air conditioning in the bedrooms to sleep at night. The cost of energy is about 3 or more times than that of the states. The jacuzzi is not hot because we used to have a heater but other Guests left it running we don't exactly know for how long and the motor burned and here in PR is so hot that you really don't need it to be hot. We're very sorry for these inconveniences. We will try our best to try and take care of these issues. Thank you so, Nelson and Wanda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise in Arecibo

    Paradise in Arecibo

    • Guest Olga S.
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    This house is spectacular, plenty of space for everybody in the family, the view is breathtaking comfortable for me and my family... we were in love with this house and the neighborhood is quiet. If you want a place to relax and have privacy this is the place to stay, you will enjoy it. We are coming back here next year. The owners are very good people and they will help you on anything you need. Thank you for everything Wanda and Nelson :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful and Peaceful

    Beautiful and Peaceful

    • Guest Roxanne T. (Fort Lauderdale, FL USA)
    • Date of stay 03/15/12
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    Canary Castle is a place where everyone can have thier own space and not feel like they are on top of eachother. Plenty of restrooms and the outdoor amentities are breathe taking. My 87 year old grandmother was comfortable and able to go around the house with ease. The breeze from the ocean was so lovely. The house is in the middle of the island so we did not have to drive for hours on end to get to San Juan or Cabo Rojo, just 2 hours max. We arrived in Aguadilla Airport and found the house easily at 4am. This is a real vacation home. I would recommend this to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Getaway!

    Fantastic Getaway!

    • Guest Nicole M.
    • Date of stay 02/26/12
    • Review Submitted 03/06/12
    If you would like to get away from the tourist traps and get to know the real Puerto Rico this is the place for you! It truly is as nice as the pictures depict- even more breathtaking views of the ocean! You will not be sorry staying here. It is in a local neighborhood with great little restaurants and corner stores. If Wanda gives you suggestions on food take them! The neighbors were super nice and everyone we interacted with was very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend the lighthouse beach if you aren't used to the bigger ocean waves. It is shallow, quiet, and of course beautiful. (It's within walking distance from the backyard or a 1-2 minute drive). I cannot say enough about this house, location, and the owners. It was a fantastic vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Superb holiday

    Superb holiday

    • Guest Karin O.
    • Date of stay 01/07/12
    • Review Submitted 03/08/12
    we highly recommend this place to everyone who's looking for an exceptional holiday in a villa direct on the beach in a quiet neighbourhood. All was better than described, especially the breathtaking view over the ocean. The villa is stylishly furnished and Wanda decorated it with love. You have all amenities that makes your holiday stressless. Wanda and Nelson are providing us with lots of information. A supermarket is a 5 minutes drive away, a little supermarket with bakery is just around the corner. We loved to grill fresh fish, which we bought right from the fishermen in their habour a minute drive away on the road. Dorado and red snapper were very very delicious fresh from the grill. The beach is all only for you, no crowds, only a few friendly fishermen. The swimming in front of the villa is interesting but sometimes difficult because of the waves, but only 100m to the east you find a calmer zone where swimming is excellent if you have passed the first wave. If you want to swim in a calm zone like a pool then walk 5 minutes to the left till you reach the lighthouse. There you`ll find a beautiful swimming spot with crashing waves in front but save swimming . The location of the villa is ideal for those who want to make excursions. Some attractions are nearby like Rio Camuy caves, others are good to reach by using the motorway. Don`t miss the shopping at the premium outlets. We`ll come back, we loved Wanda and Nelson and Canary Castle. Thanks a lot for giving us a perfect holiday in your beautiful villa. Karin Ostermeyer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely beautiful and relaxing....

    Absolutely beautiful and relaxing....

    • Guest Lynn K. (-)
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 01/11/12
    Our family of 5 just recently spent a week over the holidays at "Canary Castle". We got into San Juan late in the evening but found our way there with a bit of help from the owners. The house is very welcoming and has everything needed for an enjoyable stay. The views are phenominal which invited us to take numerous family pictures. The beautiful beach is virtually steps from the back deck with zero crowds or pressure from beach peddlers. We went for a swim in the ocean each evening before supper. Our kids slept on the hammocks several nights as they were serinaded by the ocean. The area has a great deal of history and the neighborhood is beginning to be rebuilt. The neighbors are very quiet and friendly. If you pay attention to the surroundings you will catch views of iguannas in the area which are harmless. We will definetly return on our next visit. Enjoy!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • First Visit to Puerto Rico

    First Visit to Puerto Rico

    • Guest Patricia (Indiana)
    • Date of stay 04/02/11
    • Review Submitted 04/17/11
    Our family visited Canary Castle April 2-9, 2011 and we had a great visit. First, our flight was delayed (1:30am) and the rep was available regardless of how late it was. This property is in a small fishing town about 50 miles west of San Juan. It is somewhat a "diamond in the rough" in that a majority of the neighborhood was run down due to foreclosures and deaths of lifelong citizens, but it is slowly being rebuilt one house at a time. Overall, the neighbors were sweet and I feel I experienced the essence of Puerto Rico that wouldn't have otherwise been captured in the more commercial area of San Juan. A special feature was the natural wildlife. There were iguanas that come out for sun (which can be seen from the master bedroom balcony on the east side vacant property) and small lizards and crabs running for cover in the terrazzas (they are harmless). Another neat thing was the roadside food vendors that sell authentic Puerto Rican fare which is really popular with the locals. The lighthouse landmark can be seen from the house and is easy to get to. A westerly walk along the beach will bring you to some beautiful cliffs, water crashing on the rocks -- something out of Ansel Adams picture book. Canary Castle gives striking ocean views on its northern side. The sublime villa rental interior includes three covered terraces bordering a swimming pool overlooking the beach, and a beautiful blend of exotic and indigenous plants to a uniquely arched entrance leading into the ocean. Swimming is for adults - the waters were beautiful, but the currents strong. A trip to OLD San Juan was worth the trek back into San Juan. The old world Caribbean architecture of the buildings was so beautiful! We will probably make a trip back as we did not get to see the Yunque Rainforest or visit Vieques Island or Culebra Island which I would really like to see. Thank you, Wanda and Nelson!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • AMAZING!!!!

    AMAZING!!!!

    • Guest Negrita (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 01/24/11
    • Review Submitted 03/28/11
    Canary Castle is breathtakingly beautiful! The beachfront villa decorated beautifuly, clean, private and the people in the neighboorhood are really nice! I look forward to coming back to Puerto Rico this year to stay at Canary Castle again! Not to mention, the owners are very sweet.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]