Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

River Front Cottage Near Estes Park, Colorado

You sent a message to this manager.

Hardwood floors, french country furnishings and designer upholstery

Hardwood floors, french country furnishings and designer upholstery Expansive master bedroom with down comforters,  featherbed and  canopy netting Living room with wifi, flat screen, comfy sofa and wood burning fireplace Romantic waterfront location, directly on the St Vrain River near Estes Park Front of our charming cottage locate on the St Vrain river. Dining area in front of the window seats 4 Cozy dining area surrounded by windows and french doors
 overlooking the river. Elegantly updated bath with antique mirrors, and chrystal chandeliers Vaulted kitchen Enjoy picnics, croquet,  badminton,  and fishing on your two acres A huge deck over looking the river to relax and enjoy your morning coffee

Calendar

Last updated: 04/18/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:1 night
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Estes Park cottage description

Imagine escaping to this magical getaway just a few feet from the rushing river in the Northwestern Colorado.

The most romantic and secluded cottage you can imagine. Plan for honeymoons, anniversaries, and special celebrations or a much needed escape from the mundane.

Enjoy your morning coffee on one of the adirondeck chairs on the deck while the river drifts by.
Beautiful grounds with over 350 feet of river frontage along 1.5 acres.
Fly Fishing, badminton or croquet are all included. Or relax and read a book in the window seat while enjoying the sounds of the hummingbirds at the many feeders on the deck

The large master bedroom has a queen bed, large armoire,a sitting area and reading nook, romantic netting above the bed for atmosphere, and a large closet . All bedroom bedding is soft down, so are the pillows and the featherbed. There is also a fold-out sofa, but the guest limit is two adults and we accept an infant or toddler or an occasional extra guest for an additional fee.

The large bathroom is awash in white tiles, features a lovely pedastal sink and a large tiled shower with high water pressure!

The Hummingbird Cottage is located about 15-20 min. from Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park off Hwy 7, and approximately 1 hour from Denver international Airport.
WE are always nearby to answer any questions or make reccomendations.
This cottage is pet and smoke fee.




















Keywords: Spectacular location located a few feet from the river and within easy driving distance of Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park.
Extremely romantic and secluded hideaway sparing no luxury.

Bask in down comforters, pillows and a featherbed with romantic canopy netting.

A cozy wood burning fireplace sets the stage for honeymoons, anniversaries and birthdays. Vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors, skylights, shabby chic furniture, french country decor a wood burning fireplace, gas BBQ and expansive deck.
Nestled in the woods directly off a paved road for easy access.
A few feet separate the home from the St Vrain River. This is a year round river which is 40 ft wide and very active and noisy. Enjoy falling to sleep with the sounds of the river in the background.
Read a book in one of the adirondeck chairs or fish directly off the back deck.

Badminton and croquet are located in the shed as are fishing poles.

Property Type

      • Cottage

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Minimum Age Limit For Renters:

            2 adults and 1 infant or small child under 2...moreless

          • Pets Not Allowed
          • Non Smoking Only

          Bedrooms: 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3, Beds for 2-3

          • Bedroom 1

            ...moreless

          • Convertible bed(s)

            ...moreless

          • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) This is a very comfortable double size fold out sealy posterpedic sofa bed....moreless

          Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Cooking Utensils
          • Refrigerator
          • Kitchen

          Amenities

          • Wood Fireplace:

            Electric base board and a Wood Fireplace wood provided...moreless

          • Parking Off Street

          Entertainment

          • Television:

            TV for DVD/Movie watching I-Pod / I-Pad dock to listen to your I-Pod...moreless

          • DVD Player

          Communications

              • Broadband Access

              Outdoor Features

              • Outdoor Grill
              • Deck / Patio

              Location & View

              • Mountain View

              Car

                  • Necessary

                  Activities

                  • Hunting Small Game
                  • Hunting
                  • Golf
                  • Mountaineering
                  • Mountain Climbing
                  • Ice Skating
                  • Freshwater Fishing
                  • Cross Country Skiing
                  • Medical Services
                  • Massage Therapist
                  • Fly Fishing
                  • Equestrian Events
                  • Cycling
                  • Rock Climbing
                  • Snowmobiling
                  • Snowboarding
                  • Fishing
                  • Hiking
                  • Mountain Biking
                  • Whitewater Rafting
                  • Roller Blading
                  • Rafting
                  • Paragliding
                  • Water Tubing
                  • Swimming
                  • Skiing
                  • Horseshoes
                  • Restaurants
                  • Winery Tours
                  • Eco Tourism
                  • Bird Watching
                  • Shopping
                  • Water Parks
                  • Churches
                  • Museums
                  • Health/Beauty Spa
                  • Theme Parks
                  • Playground
                  • Cinemas
                  • Fitness Center
                  • ATM/Bank
                  • Antiquing
                  • Laundromat
                  • Hospital
                  • Groceries
                  • Wildlife Viewing
                  • Outlet Shopping
                  • Horseback Riding
                  • Gambling Casinos
                  • Walking
                  • Sight Seeing
                  • Scenic Drives

                  Other Activities

                      • This is a great location to explore Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park from. ...moreless
                       

                      Reviews

                      Write a review
                      • Cottage

                        Cottage

                        • Guest Travis (Monument Colorado )
                        • Date of stay 08/16/13
                        • Review Submitted 09/03/13
                        We had rented the cottage as advertized as being a romantic getaway. However the situation was different than reality. 10-15 minutes from Estes Park turned into being 30 minutes and that was speed limit. We arrived on time check in @ 4 pm and it wasn't ready being told to find something to do for 30 minutes more. No propane for grill-no ventilation (screens) and no ability to open skylight that did have a screen. House across from river was occupied with workers even overnight and no curtains facing that side. It was overgrown, no flowers and the equipment was either broken or didnt exist. Broken fishing pole, no bicycles, and all other recreation equipment was just thrown in the shed. We are assuming the owner has a caretaker or property manager that needs to be accountable to ensure a checklist is followed. Thank you for asking and we are curious at the percent of returning customers. Maybe we just hit at a bad time.

                        Manager response: We are so sorry Tina did not enjoy her stay. We never heard from her while she was there or would have gone out of our way to correct all the issues she has made mention of. We have now remedied all the issues as soon as we could. Please don't assume her review is accurate, average or even true as we never advertised bicycles, always have an extra propane tank in the shed. We have so many positive reviews along with guests who return year after year for their most important occasions, such as birthdays, anniversaries and honeymoons. Pam /owner

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

                      • Tranquil retreat

                        Tranquil retreat

                        • Guest John H. (Where do you live?)
                        • Date of stay 07/20/13
                        • Review Submitted 08/20/13
                        We loved this little gem! Located on a creek, the constant sound of water was just the right prescription for two lovely days of relaxation. Charming and nicely decorated. The owner made us feel right at home. Bottle of wine waiting for us was a nice touch. .

                        Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, tourists without a car.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Honeymooners

                        Honeymooners

                        • Guest Daniel C. (Denver)
                        • Date of stay 08/01/13
                        • Review Submitted 08/11/13
                        We got married in Lyons, but didn't want to drive all the way back to Denver the night of our wedding. We rented this charming cottage and enjoyed it very much. Great for a couples getaway.

                        Recommended for: Romantic getaway.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • PROS, CONS & TIPS

                        PROS, CONS & TIPS

                        • Guest Jeff L. (Houston, Texas)
                        • Date of stay 06/17/13
                        • Review Submitted 07/22/13
                        Pros: -Amazing location right on a rushing river. -Looks like a cottage out of a magazine shoot. -Expansive views from the three french doors. -Cool fresh air. -Charming, Charming, Charming! Cons: -No AC. This is really not an issue unless you get an unseasonably warm day. The real problem is that there are not any windows or doors with screens. We left the windows open at night and were very comfortable but a lot of bugs came it. (Note to owner..The Casement windows in the bedroom at made by Hurd. You can get replacement screens for about $25 each). -Not close to Estes Park or RMNP. This could actually be a Pro if you are looking to be away from it all. The nearest town was Lyons at about 15 miles. It is a beautiful drive and so we enjoyed it. However, when we wanted to go to Estes Park we knew we would lose about 30 minutes each direction. -Minor maintenance issues. There were a few things that indicate a lack of follow-up on maintenance. I am referring to things like the matching broken Adirondack chair was just tossed in the storage shed so we only had one. The doors do not secure completely. (Issues with the French door locking pins. We could lock the doors but they were not secure). A few hours of attention would help these and other minor issues. Tips: -Leave the porch light on if you will return after dark. (It get's very dark out there). -Open the windows at night and then close them up before it starts to warm up outside. -Try the amazing breakfast place 4 miles up the road toward Estes Park. It's called Meadow Mountain Cafe. (441 Business Hwy 7 Allenspark, CO 80510) -A must eat place in Lyons is called Lyons Fork (450 Main St Lyons, CO 80540) Amazing meal and great atmosphere! -If you like Thai food, you must eat at Julie's Thai Kitchen (138 Main St Lyons, CO 80540) Overall, I would give this place 5 Stars. It provided us with an amazing retreat and we will definitely be back again soon. Jeff & Sandra, Houston TX.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

                      • Rob Faulkner

                        Rob Faulkner

                        • Guest rob f. (port byron, il)
                        • Date of stay 06/04/13
                        • Review Submitted 06/16/13
                        We enjoyed the rushing water flowing by the deck. The accomodations were above average and our overall stay was pleasant. It's quite a trek to Estes Park and RMNP from the cabin.

                        Recommended for: Age 55+.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

                      • Exceptional place

                        Guest comment entered by manager

                        Exceptional place

                        • Guest Brenda
                        • Date of stay 06/07/13
                        • Review Submitted 06/11/13
                        This little gem is a one in a million. Decorated like something out of a magazine. I spent time here by myself and felt very at ease and safe. The sounds of the river lulled me to sleep and the sounds of the hummingbirds woke me up each day.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                      • Estes Park Cabin

                        Estes Park Cabin

                        • Guest Jackson (Lincoln, NE)
                        • Date of stay 04/28/13
                        • Review Submitted 05/12/13
                        Property wasn't exactly as it was described. We were unaware of the water shortage in the area, and were very cautious on how we used water. We were greeted with a sign in the bathroom that said "if it is yellow, let it mellow". Then when reading the cabin information booklet, it said "if while you are in the shower and the water stops - here is what you need to do". We never had a problem, but like I said, we used water very sparingly. The river is a very relaxing part of the cabin, but one of the chairs on the deck needs to be fixed before someone gets hurt. We didn't use the grill, whoever had used it before us - left it a mess. Might be a good suggestion to guests that if you use it, you must clean it. Evenings were a little warm, and there were no screens for any of the windows. We found a fan to help move the air a little. Kitchen has the very basics, in it. The cabin is charming, and you feel like your walking into a magazine photo shoot. Decorated as just as described. Owner {or her personal secretary} were poor at getting our information to us regarding check in codes. We had to email, call, text,and contact VRBO before we got the needed information.

                        Manager response: We hope future guests will not take this recent entry to heart. It was posted by a "difficult to please" guest. I was available the entire time to address any concerns but was not called or emailed once to hear of any issues while he stayed at the cottage. I emailed entry instructions well in advance of his stay which may have landed in his spam folder. Most of our guests are repeat visitors and relish the opportunity to return year after year to this quaint cottage near Estes. We have been renting it nightly for over 10 years. We are experienced at making our cottage very comfortable and enjoyable. We post "use water sparingly" as the cabin is "environmentally conscious". However, It NEVER runs out of water as the well has been working continually since the 1930's when the home was built. The temperatures are not hot enough at this elevation to require air conditioners. The skylights open to allow air flow and circulation in addition of the entire west side of the home having french doors over the river which all open out for cool breezes if needed. We always go out of our way to ame our guests feel comfortable and to acquaint them with the area and things to enjoy such as restaurants and outdoor activities. Please do not take one negative entry seriously, as we have mnay which depict the cottage and experience in a much more pleasing light.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

                      • Relaxation at its peak

                        Relaxation at its peak

                        • Guest Gabe (Littleton co)
                        • Date of stay 04/12/13
                        • Review Submitted 04/16/13
                        My wife and I were celebrating our second anniversary and taking some time away before she we have our first child as she is 7 months pregnant. We are both incredibly busy which made the no cell service extremely appealing. It was incredibly relaxing to be able to sit and read by the river or make a fire at night. We were greeted by a foot of snow last morning there! I especially loved to the doors, taking up a whole wall overlooking the river, and letting the noise of tbe river as well as sunlight steeam in.The house was extremely comfortable as well as hospitable with plenty of towels laid out, a book of nearby attractions, extremely clean etc. The location of the house tucked between Estes Park and Lyons was ideal. All in all the house far superseded our expectations.

                        Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                      • Cute cabin - very cold

                        Cute cabin - very cold

                        • Guest Rebecca B.
                        • Date of stay 03/29/13
                        • Review Submitted 04/03/13
                        This cabin is very cute in a picturesque area between Lyons Colorado and Estes Park. The shabby chic decor is really fun. I would not recommend this cabin for a winter or early spring rental. We wore hats and several layers of clothes in the house most of the time. We were there during a typical spring snow storm.

                        Recommended for: Romantic getaway.

                        Manager response: I'm very sorry you were not warm and cozy in our fully insulated and wintererized cottage. Each room has two electric baseboard heaters which have a dial to turn up or down depending upon your comfort level. Additionally, we supply a cord of firewood and even leave a fresh supply of kindling for each guest. If only you had called we would have helped you in anyway we could. This is a cozy and romantic place to be in the winter and some of our guests enjoy this time of year more than any other.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                      • Humming bird cottage

                        Humming bird cottage

                        • Guest LRM (United States)
                        • Date of stay 01/18/13
                        • Review Submitted 01/23/13
                        My husband and I stayed at the humming bird cottage for two nights and it was a nice, quaint cottage with a warm fireplace. The couch is not the most comfortable but the bed is very comfortable. It was easy to find but is off a main road with no walking trails nearby. But you could easily drive to some. It was quiet and cozy. It was very nice!

                        Recommended for: Romantic getaway.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                       
                      Rental basis: Per property
                      Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                      Base Rate
                      1 night min stay
                      $165 $190
                      Fri, Sat, Sun
                      $1,190
                      Summer
                      May 1 - Aug 30
                      1 night min stay
                      $195 $220
                      Fri
                      $1,300
                      Winter
                      Nov 1 - Mar 30
                      1 night min stay
                      $110 $120
                      Fri, Sat, Sun
                      $2,790
                      * Approximate Monthly rates, actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay

                      Additional information about rental rates

                      Fees:

                      • Refundable Damage Deposit $100
                      • Cleaning $75
                      • Tax Rate 8.9%

                      Notes:

                      A cancelation fee of $35 applies to any cancellations we accept after booking


                      Cancellation policy:

                      100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.


                      This manager accepts HomeAway payments.
                      Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


                      Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                      Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                      Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                      Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                      Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                       

                      Calendar

                      Last updated: 04/18/2014
                      Check availability
                      23 Available
                      21 Unavailable
                      22 Today
                      23 Selected dates
                       

                      Location

                      • Nearest Airport: Denver International at 90 Miles
                      • Nearest Ski: Eldora Ski Resort at 18 Miles
                      • Nearest Restaurant: Fawn Brook Inn at 4 Miles
                       

                      Manager info

                      Year Purchased: 2004

                      About: I am a real estate broker close by in the wonderful town of Lyons. Come and visit me when you stay at Hummingbird Cottage on the river. I love meeting my guests and reccomending things do do in the area.

                      Why Estes Park:
                      I love this part of Colorado with all the quaint cottages and the sounds of the river. The St. Vrain Canyon leading to the cottage is one of the most beautiful in all of Colorado.

                      The Unique Benefits at this Cottage:
                      The sounds of the river outside the cottage are wonderful to go to sleep by. there are often deer, elk and fox just outside the cottage. The woodburing fireplace makes it so cozy in the winter, and the skylights which open, keep it cool.


                      Contact us

                      Speaks: english

                      Links to more information:

                       

                      Photos

                      • Hardwood floors, french country furnishings and designer upholstery

                        Hardwood floors, french country furnishings and designer upholstery

                      • Dining area in front of the window seats 4

                        Dining area in front of the window seats 4

                      • Cozy dining area surrounded by windows and french doors
 overlooking the river.

                        Cozy dining area surrounded by windows and french doors overlooking the river.

                      • Elegantly updated bath with antique mirrors, and chrystal chandeliers

                        Elegantly updated bath with antique mirrors, and chrystal chandeliers

                      • Vaulted kitchen

                        Vaulted kitchen

                      • A huge deck over looking the river to relax and enjoy your morning coffee

                        A huge deck over looking the river to relax and enjoy your morning coffee

                      • Expansive master bedroom with down comforters,  featherbed and  canopy netting

                        Expansive master bedroom with down comforters, featherbed and canopy netting

                      • Living room with wifi, flat screen, comfy sofa and wood burning fireplace

                        Living room with wifi, flat screen, comfy sofa and wood burning fireplace

                      • Romantic waterfront location, directly on the St Vrain River near Estes Park

                        Romantic waterfront location, directly on the St Vrain River near Estes Park

                      • Front of our charming cottage locate on the St Vrain river.

                        Front of our charming cottage locate on the St Vrain river.

                      • Enjoy picnics, croquet,  badminton,  and fishing on your two acres

                        Enjoy picnics, croquet, badminton, and fishing on your two acres

                      VRBO #376133

                      There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                      This listing was first published here in 2011.

                      Date last modified - Thursday, January 23, 2014

                      $110 - $220 per night (USD)
                      24

                      1 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
                      Sleeps 3

                      View calendar: Updated 04/18/14
                      Minimum stay: 1 nights
                      Dates are unavailable
                      Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                      This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                      Book It

                      Detailed Price

                      Manager
                      Email manager

                      + 3038236980

                      Speaks: english
                      This manager accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
                      Add vacation protection services to your booking

                      Three services to protect your trip:

                      Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                      Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                      Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                      Get it now