Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The views after a night of snowfall should not be missed!

Luxurious, Historic Lodge, Panoramic Views, Walk to Town, Spa [#376844] | View Property

Idyllwild
Lodge, 4 Bedrooms + Other ;Seasonal Outdoor bed, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
$295 - $395/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • San Jack and Relaxation

    San Jack and Relaxation

    • Guest Games and Hiking group
    • Date of stay 04/04/14
    • Review Submitted 04/10/14
    Great cabin for 8-10 people to enjoy the outdoors, get away from the city, and relax. We loved the cabin - and especially the hot tub! Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great week-end get-away

    Great week-end get-away

    • Guest jackie M.
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/11/14
    The owner was very accommodating. The Lodge was well stocked and personal touches were wonderful. We will come back in the spring to enjoy the Jacuzzi, beautiful deck and barbeque as the whether didn't permit this visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • beautiful home on a quiet mountain

    beautiful home on a quiet mountain

    • Guest KIM S.
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 01/27/14
    We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful home with everything you could possibly need. I loved the BIG porch with the antique accents and the beautiful wood door. Upon entering, I fell even more in love. I love everything about this home. Its charm & décor are perfect. Fresh flowers in "every" room (even the bathrooms) was a very nice touch and of course the homemade banana bread was soooo good and a very nice, special touch. My family had a great time. We enjoyed star gazing in the Jacuzzi at night, the video library, the music system, the fire place, the bar and the big cozy family room. My grandkids enjoyed the books. We also enjoyed the short drive to the Nature Center where we had a great time on the "easy" nature trail. And walking to the town was very nice too. We are looking forward to enjoying this home again next year. From the moment I booked this home, I knew it would be a great trip. Ida is wonderful to work with. Responds quickly and answers all questions. Thank you Ida for a great "family" trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Girls Weekend

    Amazing Girls Weekend

    • Guest Katie W.
    • Date of stay 01/10/14
    • Review Submitted 01/16/14
    We traveled to Idyllwild to get away from it all and have some good girl time and had no idea really that this home would be so perfect. I loved when we walked in and Ida had music playing with fresh flowers everywhere. It was clean and welcoming. The deck is so gorgeous and fully equipped with table and chairs. The kitchen had EVERYTHING we needed and more. Ida was more than sweet and helpful. We really couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our time. We had such a glorious weekend here and we will definitely be back!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family get together

    Family get together

    • Guest Deena W. (Yuma)
    • Date of stay 01/02/14
    • Review Submitted 01/09/14
    Ida was lovely and we had fun running into her all around town. The cabin was beautiful. The Christmas decorations inside and out were fun. I've rented lots of places and this was the best accommodation regarding amenities....everything we could have possibly needed was provided. The location was great...we walked to town and explored the village. We fell I love with the blue jays...they made mornings exciting...we left them a gift..a huge nut and seed block....so they won't have to steal the squirrels nuts for awhile!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • truth in advertising

    truth in advertising

    • Guest Joanne L.
    • Date of stay 12/31/13
    • Review Submitted 01/05/14
    Except for the lack of snow (outside of anyone's control) the house and its amenities were exactly as expected. The extra touches from the owner - homebaked treats and oranges for juicing - were very nice.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect winter weekend getaway!

    Perfect winter weekend getaway!

    • Guest Kimberly D.
    • Date of stay 12/06/13
    • Review Submitted 12/27/13
    Celebrated a friends 30th birthday with a group of friends. The home was perfect for us - spacious, well stocked, beautiful fireplace, and walking distance to town. Ida was great and very helpful! We had everything we needed... Absolutely no complaints :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Oceanside family

    Oceanside family

    • Guest Karol (Oceanside, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/26/13
    • Review Submitted 12/10/13
    The lodge is large and lovely. Ida's hospitality is beyond compare. The rooms were comfortable and the master suite exquisite. There is abundant kitchen utensils and pots and pans. We had a fabulous time! We really had fun with the bar!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The perfect getaway for a weekend with friends

    The perfect getaway for a weekend with friends

    • Guest Jordan V.
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 11/25/13
    A group of 10 of us (5 couples) stayed at Casa de Luz for a weekend to celebrate a birthday. It could not have been a more perfect setting. From the fresh baked loaves of banana bread, to the fresh squeezed orange juice, to the plush robes in each room, we felt pampered from start to finish. Ida thought of everything; she even left a birthday gift! Highlights include a wet bar stocked with any type of glass or utensil you may need, a kitchen perfect for cooking big meals for a large group, a lovely spa with a great view, and the roaring fire. We will definitely be returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Girls' Getaway in Idyllwild

    Wonderful Girls' Getaway in Idyllwild

    • Guest Jessica (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/06/13
    Our group of ladies had a fantastic time staying at Ida's lovely home in Idyllwild! The house was beautiful and spacious, and there were a number of little touches that made us feel extra welcome, like the muffins and fresh flowers. We had a blast soaking in the hot tub and walking into town. It was the perfect place for us. Ida is extremely organized and welcoming, and it was an absolute pleasure to stay in her home. I'd definitely recommend it!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Special Home

    A Special Home

    • Guest Linda N.
    • Date of stay 09/14/13
    • Review Submitted 09/20/13
    We adored this home - it's choc full of character and personal TLC amenities by Ida. Walk to town, sleep out under the stars, soak in the hot tub, fresh squeezed OJ and fresh baked bread for brekkie, those things and more make for a get away to remember, with a smile.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Place!!

    Amazing Place!!

    • Guest DS (Orange, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/30/13
    • Review Submitted 09/23/13
    My family stayed here for the weekend of my son's wedding, everything was perfect! There were many cabins to choose from in Idyllwild, I feel so fortunate to have chosen this one. Ida was most gracious, with her delicious, homemade banana bread loaves and oranges with the juicer! We actually juiced the oranges which were great to have in the morning with the bread! The cabin was beautiful and had EVERYTHING you could possibly want! We even forgot some items on our departure and Ida personally returned them to us. Don't waste your time looking at all the other cabins, choose this one...you will love it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Rental with the most gracious host

    Beautiful Rental with the most gracious host

    • Guest Susan M.
    • Date of stay 08/14/13
    • Review Submitted 08/23/13
    When we arrived Ida had beautiful, soothing music playing on the huge TV sets in the living room and bedroom. Not to mentioned the famous loaves of banana bread in the kitchen. It was so beautiful to walk in to the house. Ida greeted me at the door to make sure everything was in order...and it was. I hated to bring in all our food and luggage to mess the place up! The house it very spacious with plenty of room for all us (3 kids and 5 adults). The kitchen has every dish, utensil and pan necessary for any cooking I wanted to do. Our local bar doesn't have as many wine glasses as Ida! We stayed there last year and really enjoyed it too. The jacuzzi is also great....big and spacious and set at 102 degrees the whole time we were there. There is a huge beautiful deck with lots of comfy chairs and tables and a nice dining set on the back porch. Good cellphone and internet connections too. My only complaint was the heat. We came in the dead of summer. It was about 88 degrees outside. The upstairs bedrooms were quite misrable day and night even with the fans Ida supplies. They only seemed to blow more hot air. The downstairs bedrooms were fine...once I discovered (on the 3rd night) the direction of the ceiling fans needed to be reversed for summer use. The livingroom was OK...mostly since we were gone most of the day but it was also hot and the fans were not much help...she does however have quite a few fans so you have to give her credit. I doubt think there are many mountain rentals with air conditioning. As long as you aren't staying in the heat of the summer...I would give it a "10". I would also like to mention Idyllwild Pizza...OMG...one of the best pizzas we ever had. We got the gourmet chicken and veggie pizza...twice! It was outstanding.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place to Enjoy Idyllwild

    Great Place to Enjoy Idyllwild

    • Guest Pop-up Princess (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 05/28/13
    • Review Submitted 06/07/13
    We had a large family group for a week staying at this wonderful lodge. The owner went out of her way to welcome us as noted in earlier reviews with fresh baked breads, oranges for juicing and little surprises for our youngsters. We enjoyed the wrap around deck and outdoor setting. It is an easy walk to the center of town and a short drive to the nature center. The kitchen has every device you could possibly want for cooking. We used the gas grill to make some great meals as well. The refrigerator had a built-in ice dispenser which was very handy. The stove offered convection baking. Driveway afforded lots of parking for our vehicles. This is truly a gem.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation Home

    Great Vacation Home

    • Guest Irina (Oceanside, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 04/25/13
    We (8 friends and family) stayed in the house for three nights in April. The house is beautiful, clean, well maintained, full of supplies, utensils, linens. Ida (the owner) was very accomodating and responsive to all our additional requests. Baskets with delicious baked goods and fresh oranges were definitely a sweet touch. Location of the house is very convenient with a short walk to the town and close to all main hiking trails. I would highy recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay

    Great stay

    • Guest JK (Los Angeles, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/19/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    This was a very nice rental with a wonderful and helpful owner. We'd originally booked for three nights but added a fourth to get ahead of a large snowstorm coming in. Ida easily made the adjustments for us, and helped get us prepared for the storm with shovels, ice salts, and even boots for our young son. Inside, the house is very clean, well stocked, and maintained. Everything you might need is there. There's even a basket full of delicious baked good and fresh oranges provided for you. The jacuzzi is a huge plus. Town is also a short walk or drive away, and all the information about restaurants and shops and hiking is provided for you. Definitely a great way to get out of LA. Would happily come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gorgeous Welcoming Cabin!

    Gorgeous Welcoming Cabin!

    • Guest jen (los angeles)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/06/13
    I have rented quite a few mountain cabins and this was the most beautiful I have ever stayed in. Worth every penny! Immaculate, beautiful, a well appointed gourmet kitchen, luxurious master suite, beautiful linens and towels, basically a 5 star hotel with a homey ambiance. The owner Ida is so sweet and gives you a choice of home baked goods waiting for you when you arrive along with enough oranges to squeeze a lot of fresh orange juice to brighten your stay. The jacuzzi is on when you arrive. Basically I felt welcomed, accommodated, and taken care of. Ida even suggested a top notch restaurant for my birthday dinner. Don't miss this lovely cabin!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome cabin for a perfect getaway!

    Awesome cabin for a perfect getaway!

    • Guest Stan151 (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    This cabin is newly remodeled, very clean, cozy and a great place to take a vacation in the mountains. We've been to Idyllwild several times and this has been one of the best properties we've rented. The owner is very friendly and helpful and communication was a breeze. I highly recommend this cabin - you will love it! We'll be back, too!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Happy New Year Experience!

    Happy New Year Experience!

    • Guest Avofarm (Fallbrook)
    • Date of stay 12/30/12
    • Review Submitted 01/04/13
    We rang in the New Year at this cozy cabin home this year! Seven adults (siblings & spouses) gathered to reunite and enjoy the wonderful village of Idyllwild. Ida greeted us at the front door to give us the tour. There were fresh flowers, as promised, plus a surprise fruit basket and YUMMY breads in the kitchen. We arranged for Ida's CHEF husband to prepare a wonderful meal for us the first night...it was a HIGHLIGHT! Every course was exceptional, plus it gave us the opportunity to simply settle in, relax and reconnect with each other. The kitchen was well stocked with all the basics - and then some - for cooking for ourselves over the next few days; plus, all the appliances and utensils we needed. The beds are high quality for comfortable sleeping. And the fireplace & wet bar made for a cozy, great room ambiance. The snow fell for us on the first night, too; "picture perfect" for picture taking. It's an easy breezy walk or drive to the village. To top it off, Ida is a gracious, thoughtful hostess. We highly recommend this one the next time you visit the village!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Getaway

    Family Getaway

    • Guest Ryan (San Diego, CA )
    • Date of stay 12/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    This place is amazing! We had three families with 5 kids total ranging from ages 1 to 5 and the lodge was a perfect setting for a 3 night getaway. It has all the amenities that you need to feel like you're right at home at your own cabin. The hot tub was perfect and Ida's hospitality can not be beat. Her and her charming 6 year old boy, Brody, greeted us with fresh baked cookies and wrapped presents under the tree for each of the children. Ida goes over and above to make it a relaxing, comfortable vacation. Thank you so much, it was the highlight of our 2012 Christmas season. Cheers and we'll be back to see you soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I love this place!!!

    I love this place!!!

    • Guest TallgrassPictures (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 11/27/12
    • Review Submitted 11/30/12
    Ida's cabin is amazing. From the home baked goodies when you arrive to forest views to the luxurious master suite. I'd highly recommend it to anyone who would like to relax in a beautiful setting. We will definitely be coming back. Excellent rock climbing and hiking are nearby and you can walk to town for tasty meals at Cafe Roma and Gastronome.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanksgiving Stay

    Thanksgiving Stay

    • Guest Sue (Rancho Santa Fe, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 12/03/12
    Ida's home in Idyllwild is very cozy and inviting. Ida is a wonderful hostess as you are greeted with fresh flowers in every room and home-baked goods upon your arrival. The home is generally user-friendly, the only downside being not enough counter space in the kitchen. The fireplace is huge, warming the rooms handily and providing a very homey atmosphere on cold Idyllwild nights. We awoke one morning to 3 deer right on the hillside outside the kitchen window, and saw many squirrels and lots of beautiful mountain birds. The bedrooms are comfortable and the 2 re-done bathrooms are fabulous! Naturally our family enjoyed the hot tub and stargazing. This is a wonderful place to experience Idyllwild, with the town center only a 5-minute walk away.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Simply The Best!

    Simply The Best!

    • Guest Ingrid (Lake Forest, California)
    • Date of stay 08/24/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    I have gone to Idyllwild for the past 5 years and have stayed at a few very nice cabins but this one..tops them all! Ida (the owner) goes through and personally ensures that all the right touches are in place. From fresh flowers throughout the cabin, homebaked goods, a kitchen that appears to have been stocked by Williams and Sonoma, updated tiled bathrooms, highly functional plumbing, great views (and great windows) everywhere you look--and all in a place where you feel quite secluded but can still walk in to town. It is tastefully decorated and very well kept. All I can say is .... I look forward to seeing Ida and the cabin again next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • twiga

    twiga

    • Guest twiga (Danville, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/28/12
    • Review Submitted 07/07/12
    This house is very spacious and inviting. We had great weather and used the large deck a lot. Lots of extras provided by owner: fresh flowers, baked goods and fruit. Very nice!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Stay

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest Char (San Felipe, Baja Mexico)
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/20/12
    My husband & I had a queit night before everyone started to arrived. It was delightful. Our family reunion was just great. We enjoyed the hot tub! Our grandkids had fun climbing on the rocks. The accomodations were perfect! Oh my gosh we had fresh squeezed OJ every moring- thanks for the oranges! Everything was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing your home.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Memorial Day Weekend

    Memorial Day Weekend

    • Guest Robert'sg-ma (Palm Springs, California, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    Our family had a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend at your beautiful mountain home. We felt right at home the minute we walked in. Thank you for the gifts for Addie and Max and the baked breads. Great location, very clean, just perfect.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Anniversary

    Anniversary

    • Guest 10 year honeymooners (Hemet Ca)
    • Date of stay 04/13/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    We stayed for our 10 year anniversary, they really rolled out the red carpet and did everything to make our stay wonderful!.... We were hoping for snow and got a lot of it. We will defiantly be back. The cabin was great and spacious, with breathtaking views :)

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful, relaxing mountain home

    Beautiful, relaxing mountain home

    • Guest anonymous (San Clemente, CA )
    • Date of stay 02/16/12
    • Review Submitted 02/28/12
    This house is the perfect rental! Exceptionally clean, spacious and on a beautiful piece of property. We had snow during our trip and it was incredible to look out the windows in every direction and see the hills and trees covered with snow. Plenty of room for the kids to play and have a great time. The kitchen is stocked with more than you could ever use. If you can dream it up, it's there! The heater works really well and evenly heats the entire home, which is rare (at least in the mountain homes we've rented). The showers are all new and updated and beautiful. And did I mention how clean everything is?! Ida is a dream to work with!! So sweet, attentive to every need, and goes above and beyond to make sure you are completely happy and satisfied with everything. She even had gifts for the children and fresh brownies for everyone. Her goal is to make you feel like you are staying in your own home.........and she does exactly that. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to many more stays in Ida's beautiful mountain home! Thank you so much for your hospitality Ida!! We WILL be back :)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Family Vacation

    Perfect Family Vacation

    • Guest Scott (San Diego)
    • Date of stay 12/25/11
    • Review Submitted 03/01/12
    Hoping to go back next year! Kids loved! Very easy and friendly to make arrangements. Incredible home!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place for Family and Friends!

    Great Place for Family and Friends!

    • Guest Jeanine (Santa Monica, CA )
    • Date of stay 11/22/10
    • Review Submitted 09/20/11
    I can't say enough great things about our trips to Idyllwild. From strolling around town to challenging hikes and great local restaurants (Cafe Aroma is our favorite). However, lodging can sometimes be a challenge but, NOT anymore! This house is amazing! From the moment you walk in the door you feel like you are at home, the pictures don't do the gorgeous knotty pine justice! You are also a short walk to town for dinner or you can stay home, light a fire and cook! We spent Thanksgiving here and had such a great time that we have already received an email from our older children asking if we would be going to "the house" in Idyllwild again this year! Now we love Idyllwild even more because we have a beautiful place to stay and don't forget to grab a glass of wine and finish the evening in the hot tub watching the stars! AMAZING!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Peace of mind

    Peace of mind

    • Guest Kristy (West Hollywood)
    • Date of stay 10/15/10
    • Review Submitted 11/01/11
    A great place to just get away from LA, or, I guess the heat of the valley. It's really quiet, and the nap I took on the deck was amazing! I woke up to the sound of the wind in the trees and a squirrel talking nearby. It was a little cool at night, but the house was cozy and just so peaceful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: You rock! thanks for the review

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]