Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR

You sent a message to this owner.

Living room

Living room Master Bedroom Master Bedroom Second Bedroom Kitchen Bathroom second bedroom new tiled bathroom master bedroom diff erent view view into master and living living master Diningroom Dining

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

Calendar

Last updated: 04/14/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Brooklyn apartment description

'Cityviews' is a humongous size 2 bedroom with lots of prewar charme and fabulous views over blocks of bownstones onto the midtown Manhattan skyline . Furnished in each bedroom with a full size bed with splendor orthopedic mattrasses, the livingroom offers two futon beds in full size a comfortable recliner chair and there is a formal dining room with 8 chairs. Separate windowed kitchen is fully equipped with microwave, gasstove, fridge, coffeemaker and toaster and there is a separate windowed bathroom. Close to: Brooklyn Academy of Music, Prospect Park (zoo, horseback riding, boating) Fort Greene Park (tennis, live summer concerts) Brooklyn Children's Museum, Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn Promenade, Atlantic Mall shopping center, Stuyvesant Avenue Live Music Venues, eateries, cafes. The A train is just a one minute walk to Nostrand Ave stop, that is just two express stops (8 minutes) in to lower Manhattan. This area has been home to such Brooklyn legends as Spike Lee, Wesley Snipes, Rosie Perez, Eryka Badu, Common, and many more. All that make this a great retreat for all travellers. From JFK take the A train as well in 20 Min.

Keywords: Right off the A train Express on a treelined block with historic brownstones, cafe's and artshops, major shopping and dining just 2 blocks away, a retreat from the huzzle and buzzle and yet close to all
$170 is for 2 people sleeps 8 please add $20 per additional person, children up to 10 years of age stay free, we offer high chair and travel cod

Property Type

  • On floor 4
  • 700 sq. ft.
  • 5 story
  • Apartment

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Onsite Services

              • Housekeeper Optional

              Suitability

              • Non Smoking Only
              • Children Welcome
              • Long-Term Renters Welcome

              Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 6-10

              • Convertible bed(s)

                ...moreless

              • Bedroom 1: 1 double, 3 sleep sofa /futon, 1 baby crib

                ...moreless

              • Bedroom 2: 1 double

                ...moreless

              • Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)

              Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom

              • Bathroom 1

                ...moreless

              • Fully tiled abd windowed bathroom, with bathtub and shower, toilet and sink...moreless

              Kitchen & Dining

              • Kitchen:

                spacious windowed gourmet kitchen with espresso maker, coffeemaker, and cooking tools...moreless

              • Dining:

                formal dining room with 8 chairs...moreless

              • Cooking Utensils
              • Toaster
              • Refrigerator
              • Stove
              • Freezer
              • Dishes & Utensils
              • Child's Highchair
              • Ice Maker
              • Coffee Maker
              • Microwave

              Amenities

              • Washing Machine:

                full service laundromat across the street...moreless

              • Air Conditioning:

                in each room during summer months...moreless

              • Living Room seats 8:

                2 couches ( sleeper) 1 easy chair...moreless

              • Linens Provided:

                high quality 100% cotton linens ...moreless

              • Iron & Board
              • Babysitter
              • Parking Off Street
              • Hair Dryer

              Other Amenities

                  • very spacious with high ceilings and Manhattan views

                  Entertainment

                  • Books
                  • DVD Player
                  • Television
                  • CD Player

                  Communications

                  • Wireless Internet
                  • Internet

                  Pool & Spa

                  • Hot Tub
                  • Sauna

                  Theme

                  • Tourist Attractions
                  • Adventure
                  • Budget
                  • Family
                  • Historic

                  Car

                      • Not Necessary

                      Activities

                      • Rock Climbing
                      • Golf Privileges Optional
                      • Spelunking
                      • Surfing
                      • Tennis
                      • Swimming
                      • Sound/Bay Fishing
                      • Laundromat
                      • Hospital
                      • Groceries
                      • Basketball Court
                      • Kayaking
                      • ATM/Bank
                      • Rafting
                      • Pier Fishing
                      • Fishing
                      • Jet Skiing
                      • Ice Skating
                      • Hiking
                      • Cycling
                      • Wind-Surfing
                      • Golf
                      • Equestrian Events
                      • Sailing
                      • Roller Blading
                      • Mountain Biking
                      • Fitness Center
                      • Zoo
                      • Winery Tours
                      • Live Theater
                      • Antiquing
                      • Health/Beauty Spa
                      • Restaurants
                      • Theme Parks
                      • Cinemas
                      • Churches
                      • Botanical Garden
                      • Playground
                      • Museums
                      • Library
                      • Wildlife Viewing
                      • Shopping
                      • Scenic Drives
                      • Medical Services
                      • Massage Therapist
                      • Sight Seeing
                      • Miniature Golf
                      • Horseback Riding
                      • Walking
                      • Eco Tourism
                      • Boating
                      • Bird Watching
                      • Outlet Shopping

                      Other Activities

                          • Proximity to Manhattan 8 Min,20 min to JFK, local farmers Market, Brooklyn Museum, Botanical Garden...moreless
                           

                          Reviews

                          Write a review
                          • Lovely stay

                            Lovely stay

                            • Guest Bunk family (Germany)
                            • Date of stay 04/05/14
                            • Review Submitted 04/15/14
                            We appreciated that the apartment is close to Manhattan and allowed us to discover Brooklyn as well. Safe neighborhood where you can get everything you need. We recommend to visit prospect Park and assist to a (free) music event in the BAM (Brooklyn Acabemy of Music) - Cafe. Going to Red Hook by Ferry was Great.

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing, tourists without a car.

                            Owner response: Thank you so much Andreas and family. Brooklyn has grown and we appreciate that you took advantage of some of its magnificent offers and enjoyed its beauty. The neighborhood is great and really allows you to explore all of New York with its proximity to the Express train. Please come again anytime!

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Pleasant Apartment in a Sub-par Building.

                            Pleasant Apartment in a Sub-par Building.

                            • Guest William N. (Cottonwood, AZ)
                            • Date of stay 10/14/13
                            • Review Submitted 12/16/13
                            It is a surprise when you open the door of this unit, for based on the exterior appearances , your expectations will be quite low. The unit itself is spacious (by NYC standards) and airy. It has 2 bedrooms each with full size bed. The living room has 2 'futon' like couches that could be flattened for extra beds. The walls are original and painted in yellow and white. Pro's: 1. The beds are new. 2. The kitchen counter is new 3. The floors are wood parquet tiles. 4. The kitchen is stocked with all appliances in working order, 5. The bathroom, while small, has nice hot water, a new vanity top, but no ventilation and a tub sorely in need of a refurbishment. 6. Lamps and Art work on walls pretty nice. 7. Subway and LIRR station are within a couple block. (5 minute walk).. 8. Plenty of closet space. Iron and tiny ironing board supplied. 9. Building's other tenants were quiet and not an issue. 10. 'Super' was responsive to our needs. Con's: 1. The furniture is mainly thrift shop especially the end tables, futons, kitchen table and chairs. Small, fragile, unattractive. Futons were very uncomfortable to sit. TV. Owner needs to spend a couple thousand dollars for some decent furniture. 2. The building has a steam radiator heating system, no controls in unit, which renders the unit way to hot in the winter. The landlord suggests opening the windows to control the heat (which got up into the high 80's). That doesn't work. And, if you are not accustomed to the noise generated by metal radiators and pipes expanding, you will find this disturbs sleep. 1. There is street noise, since this is a corner building on a busy street (Nostrand and Hancock). It quiets after about 10 pm. 2. There was a pipe leak within the wall over the tub at the 4th day of our stay. Hopefully it will be fixed before you visit, since it was pretty nasty rusty looking stains in the shower. Mixed: 1. TV's worked, but they are tube TV's, not flat , with cable, not satellite. We needed some new batteries (supplied soon by the landlord) to make the remote controls work. There is no DVD player as advertised. 2. Needs a list of local restaurants, Post Office, grocery stores, drug stores, map of neighborhood, etc You never know in these type of rentals if the landlord owns the building, or just the unit. The building is a turn off, but the unit is decent. The 1 star rating is wrong, but this isn't a 5 star either. Review based on 5 prior Homeaway rentals.

                            Owner response: Hi Will thank you for your detailed Critique:) I know that this is your profession and I happen to agree to disagree with many of your outlined CONs First of all you made a mistake with your dates since you visited in November and since than the leak was long taken care of as the Super already told you when he exchanged the light bulb for you. My furniture selection was placed very carefully to my taste and all is detailed demonstrated in pictures online. Sorry to hear that is it not your taste, but I guess we cannot please all. We offer a low budget humongous space as oasis for travelers and never claim to be high end. We cater to people who want clean and nice and convenient with very good beds and easy access to transportation and parking. There is a huge window in the bathroom for ventilation, unclear why you mentioned otherwise. We do not own the building and therefore have limited power to expedite outside appearance and update of heating system. It is a prewar building that offers its personal charme and all that is part of living in NY. Thanks again and all the best, you are welcome anytime again but you will find the same side tables I promise:)

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/5

                          • Great Apartment

                            Great Apartment

                            • Guest Pam (Spain)
                            • Date of stay 10/28/13
                            • Review Submitted 11/01/13
                            We had a wonderful stay in New York. Will come back next year.

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

                            Owner response: sounds great, you are welcome back any time

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

                          • My review

                            My review

                            • Guest Christof (Germany)
                            • Date of stay 10/19/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/23/13
                            A friend of mine recommended your service. The apartment was nice, booking procedure very good, the unit as advertised, and very clean. Location great as as soon as you passed Nostrand subway station.

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, sightseeing, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

                            Owner response: I am so glad to have you back, anytime again, we love returning guests!

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

                          • Great Experience

                            Great Experience

                            • Guest Gabriel (Romania)
                            • Date of stay 10/15/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/23/13
                            A very good apartment. Cityviews is as advertised and the check in service was convenient and friendly.

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

                            Owner response: Referrals are the best, thank you so much!!!

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

                          • Great

                            Great

                            • Guest Kelly Morgan (Kansas)
                            • Date of stay 10/02/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/17/13
                            We had a great time in New York. The apartment was beautiful and comfortable. Will use this service again.

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, sightseeing, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

                            Owner response: thank you so much, please come back any time again

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

                          • Will come again

                            Will come again

                            • Guest davemason (California)
                            • Date of stay 09/10/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/17/13
                            Great neighborhood. The people are friendly and getting to Manhattan is easy. Will definitely come again.

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, sightseeing, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

                            Owner response: that is great news, we rely on customers like you, much appreciated!

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

                          • No complaints

                            No complaints

                            • Guest Matt (Rapid City, SD)
                            • Date of stay 09/10/13
                            • Review Submitted 09/17/13
                            We were probably the most difficult people to work with! We needed to book the apartment but i couldnt get my fax to work, my scanned emails werent readable, it was a mess! Luckily Petra was patient with us and we got it all figured out. I showed up at the apartment at the agreed check in time, and was promptly met at the door. Quick and easy painless check-in was finished and we were in! Of course thats when I went around the apartment with a fine-toothed comb, but I found nothing that worried me. The apartment/building are old, so of course youre going to find spots where paint is chipping, or the floor is scratched, etc. We honestly thought we were getting a great deal for a great price. The neighborhood wasnt too bad, but I doubt anyone is renting the place looking to hang out in the area! The train is a 5 minute (maybe not even 5 minute) walk away. It took around 15 minutes to get to Penn station from the stop in Brooklyn. We took a cab from Greenwich village back to the apartment one night, and I think it ran $20-25. Its a great apartment for a home base. We had no problems with electricity, pests, dirt, etc. It was nice knowing Petra was always a phone call away if needed. Hoping to book when we come back next year!

                            Recommended for: Sightseeing, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

                            Owner response: Thanks Matt, much appreciated. We work hard to provide a good value, a smooth transaction for a clean, easy, affordable, charming, comfortable and reliable experience. your honesty and satisfaction means a lot Merci, hope to have to back soon anytime:)

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/4

                          • Just as expected, excellent

                            Just as expected, excellent

                            • Guest Alegria (Brazil)
                            • Date of stay 09/03/13
                            • Review Submitted 09/14/13
                            Plenty of interesting things that we saw. Plenty of things remain to be seen. Apartment was good to stay at. We would recommend it. We will book it again for next trips. Café Dahlia and Café Le Paris Dakar were great breakfast spots and at night we enjoyed drinks at Vodou Bar all just a block away from the apartment

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, pet owners, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

                          • Stay Away!!! Absolutely HORRID!!!

                            Stay Away!!! Absolutely HORRID!!!

                            • Guest disgusted guest (Minneapolis, MN)
                            • Date of stay 08/24/13
                            • Review Submitted 09/13/13
                            The description states that it has “prewar charm” ….the building looks like it is in the middle of a war and there is absolutely no charm whatsoever! The main entrance is supposedly in the middle of being renovated however we were there for a whole week and there was no sign of any construction or renovating taking place. The stairs leading up to the apartment are steep and filthy, which would probably explain the roach problem. They have not seen a bucket of pine sol and a mop for decades. Totally disgusting! The furniture in the apartment isn’t the same that is shown in the photos. The owner states the mattresses Orthopedic. What a joke! If those are Orthopedic then I would rather sleep on the floor. The futons are not comfortable and are not the same as shown. The linens look like they were purchased at a “yard sale” 20 years ago. There were only 9 bath towels for 5 adults to use for 7 days!! How does that work? Gross! While there is a kitchen there is also a big sign above the toaster and the coffee pot that states, “Please TURN OFF ALL AC UNITS when using the toaster, coffee machine, blender and cappuccino machine.” When it is over 80 degrees outside turning off the AC to make anything in the kitchen is unacceptable. Apparently the sign needs to include hair dryers too….because the power went out on three separate occasions when we used the hair dryers. It is safe to say that the electric isn’t up to code in the apartment and plugging in AC units using the cheapest extension cords possible, seems rather unsafe. The description used to say that there were quaint cafes and shopping nearby. Also, a complete lie! Unless of course you think Dunkin Donuts and Checkers are quaint cafes. I have been fortunate enough to have traveled a lot in my life and have rented apartments in the US and abroad. I have NEVER stayed in a place like this. I expected a lot more or at least expected the description to be accurate for the price we paid. It was anything but! We actually left a day early and rented two hotel rooms in Manhattan which cost us a small fortune on such short notice, but it was worth every dime to get out of Brooklyn. I would NEVER in a million years return. The owner was completely unresponsive and could care less. She is a complete and total fraud. Whoever wrote the positive reviews prior to mine must have a really low standard of living. This place is a dump and you should stay away! Consider yourself warned!

                            Owner response: Not sure what your deal is that you are such an unhappy person and feel the need to spread such lies: we were in contact with you when you paid at arrival by check while you saw that all was as advertised. Even then you argued with your husband about other things in front of my staff. You paid less than $50 a person and there are 4 towels provided per person, yes the hallway is being painted right now and that is beyond our control, the rest is just ridiculous

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

                           
                          Rental basis: Per property
                          Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                          My Standard Rate
                          3 night min stay
                          $180
                          $1,260 $2,800

                          Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

                          * Approximate Monthly rates, actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay

                          Additional information about rental rates

                          Fees:

                          • Cleaning Fee $75 + tax
                          • Refundable Damage Deposit $400
                          • Tax Rate 8.375%

                          Notes:

                          daily and weekly price is for up to 2 people, please add $20 per night per additional person, apartment sleeps 8 people

                          monthly rent $2800 plus electric and cooking gas

                          Cleaning Fee $75 includes linen, sheets and towels

                          monthly cleaning Fee $100


                          Cancellation policy:

                          Policy available by contacting owner when booking.


                          This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
                          Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


                          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                           

                          Calendar

                          Last updated: 04/14/2014
                          Check availability
                          23 Available
                          21 Unavailable
                          22 Today
                          23 Selected dates
                           

                          Location

                          This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

                          • Nearest Airport: JFK at 10 Miles
                          • Nearest Ferry: Staten Island Ferry- South at 5 Miles
                          • Nearest Train: A, C train at Brooklyn
                          • Nearest Motorway: BQE at 2 Miles
                          • Nearest Beach: Coney Island at 8 Miles
                          • Nearest Barpub: 1 block at Brooklyn
                          • Nearest Ski: Bear Mountain at 55 Miles
                          • Nearest Golf: Dyker Beach at 2 Miles
                          • Nearest Restaurant: next corner at Brooklyn
                           

                          Owner info

                          Why the Owner Chose Brooklyn:
                          very up and coming, charming historic neighborhood, spacious apartment at a convenient location to all

                          The Unique Benefits at this Apartment:
                          quiet retreat from the huzzle and buzzle, humongeous for NY


                          Contact us

                          Speaks: english, german

                           

                          Photos

                          • Living room

                            Living room

                          • Master Bedroom

                            Master Bedroom

                          • Kitchen

                            Kitchen

                          • second bedroom

                            second bedroom

                          • master bedroom diff erent view

                            master bedroom diff erent view

                          • living

                            living

                          • Diningroom

                            Diningroom

                          • Master Bedroom

                            Master Bedroom

                          • Second Bedroom

                            Second Bedroom

                          • Bathroom

                            Bathroom

                          • new tiled bathroom

                            new tiled bathroom

                          • view into master and living

                            view into master and living

                          • master

                            master

                          • Dining

                            Dining

                          VRBO #377178

                          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                          This listing was first published here in 2011.

                          Date last modified - Tuesday, April 15, 2014

                          $180 per night (USD)
                          20

                          2 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
                          Sleeps 10

                          View calendar: Updated 04/14/14
                          Minimum stay: 3 nights
                          Dates are unavailable
                          Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                          This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                          Book It

                          Detailed Price

                          Owner
                          Email owner

                          (718) 373-2226 (New York, USA)

                          Speaks: english, german
                          This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
                          Add vacation protection services to your booking

                          Three services to protect your trip:

                          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                          Get it now