Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Casa de Sophie was featured on HGTV's House Hunter's International in 2008.

Casa De Sophie: 3 Bed, 2.5 Bath with Pool and Rooftop Deck. [#379154] | View Property

Esterillos Este
Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
From $150/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful family vacation home

    Beautiful family vacation home

    • Guest Judi (Nova Scotia)
    • Date of stay 02/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/31/14
    We stayed at Casa De Sophie for a month last winter and enjoyed it so much we returned this winter for another month. The home is very clean and well maintained; in fact there have been several major renovations over the past year. We had our young grandchildren with us this year and they loved the seats in the pool. The new outdoor bathroom with shower was great after a swim in the ocean. The owner is very helpful and does care about the people who stay in his home. I would recommend this lovely home to anyone who wants to experience Costa Rica away from all the tourists. It is not far from the local attractions such as zip-lining, Rainmaker Rainforest walk and Monkey and Crocodile tours. Only a 5 minute walk to the ocean. The staff at Casa del Sol are very helpful and we were very impressed with their support for the local school. Pura Vida!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely wonderful home!

    Absolutely wonderful home!

    • Guest Lil L.
    • Date of stay 01/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    We stayed in Casa de Sophie for a full month and plan on doing it again next year. The house is wonderful, the pool is perfect and we enjoyed the area. Nice and relaxing place to be! The iguanas on the rooftops are a treasure, the landscaping is gorgeous and the house was absolutely spotless. The gardners and the pool maintenance people take care of everything and Michael is always thinking of extra things to have there. One thought that we had that would make it better would be a gas BBQ. Shhh, don't tell everyone about this treasure though. Several of us already love it and appreciate Michael sharing it with us. Michael was always available to answer questions. There are many restaurants within driving distance of the house but I would not recommend staying here without a car.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AMAZING vacation in this beautiful home!

    AMAZING vacation in this beautiful home!

    • Guest Ssquared (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 11/07/13
    • Review Submitted 11/17/13
    This home is gorgeous and so well maintained! It's perfectly situated about a block from a very quiet beach, and it's an easy drive to the nearby town of Jaco or Manuel Antonio National Park. The property manager, Shannon, was extremely helpful in helping us with all of our needs, including tour reservations. You've got everything you need at your fingertips here and it's SO much nicer than staying in any resort. Thanks Michael!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Your quite welcome Stephanie! See you next year at Casa de Sophie.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This place rocks

    This place rocks

    • Guest Jeff (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    This place is large and luxurious - I could not have asked for better accommodations. The place has cable tv, internet, in-unit laundry, a roof top deck and a great swimming pool In addition, it is situated near Jaco and Quepo and driving to either place was convenient. My wife and I and another couple stayed here. This place was large enough for everyone. I highly recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful villa! Perfect location!

    Beautiful villa! Perfect location!

    • Guest Alysse P.
    • Date of stay 04/19/13
    • Review Submitted 12/26/13
    Beautiful villa! Absolutely love the open floor plan and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the yard and pool. And what a perfect location! With only a 25 minute drive, we were able to travel to Jaco numerous times for shopping, night life, and transportation to and from our excursions. And, although Jaco has a beautiful beach, I enjoyed the more private setting offered by the beach neighboring Casa De Sophie. Being a 5 minute walk from the villa, I spent a lot of time sun bathing, shelling, and watching some of the most beautiful sunsets there. Casa De Sophie is also within driving distance of Manuel Antonio and several other must sees. My friends and I enjoyed waterfall rappelling, zip lining, and snorkeling at Tortuga Island ... all of which I highly recommend. And if you are worried about food, don't be! There is a small pantry with everything you'll need to make your own meal at the villa as well as several restaurants within walking distance from Casa De Sophie. I will definitely be back in the near future!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Casa De Spohie..does not get any better than this!!!!

    Casa De Spohie..does not get any better than this!!!!

    • Guest Minou (Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/02/13
    • Review Submitted 03/11/13
    This was our first vacation in Costa Rica and we couldn't have found a better place. Not only is the place in excellent condition, but there are so many interesting things to do in the local area. We are avid bird watchers, so each morning we were up at 6 am to watch the birds and monkeys from the rooftop deck. The weather was perfect for the whole month and we certainly appreciated the pool. The home is well equipped and the new dining table is beautiful. The owner (Michael) and all the staff were very helpful. We highly recommend Casa De Sophie and look forward to returning next winter. Pura Vita!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • All of that---and much more!

    All of that---and much more!

    • Guest Patti (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 01/23/13
    • Review Submitted 02/07/13
    I have never been to Central America....and let me tell you, THIS was a fabulous way to break me in! The pictures of this home don't do it justice! It is in stellar condition. Mike (the owner) was even going to have a brand new living room table delivered while we were there. He is so dedicated to making your stay comfortable. It's hard for me to detach from work while away, but the wifi and local land line made me feel like I didn't miss a beat...while i lay in the hammock, sunbathed on the rooftop terrace, or longed by the pool. It was heaven! If you venture out nearby, go to Hotel Del Fin. Good times, awesome owner, they even exchange cash to Colones there at the best rate and they can schedule activities (zip lining, tours, etc) for you too. Good food also. We spent 2 days in Manuel Antonio, great beach and National Park tour! You can parasail there too, at a decent rate. Eat at the Avion for fantastic seafood and sunset views. Jaco, reminded me of Venice Beach in California, if you have ever been. Characters from all walks of life and a cool, calm way of life. We barhopped there...bars don't stay open too late. You can get a good tour guide there also for Canopy Tours, ATV, and Bungee jumping, etc. The Tikos (Costa Rican's) are AMAZING, warm and hospitable people. They go the extra mile to make sure you are taken care of. I will be back!!! I'm already counting the days. Thanks, Mike! Your place is Heaven on Earth!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: I am glad you had a good time and the table came the same day you left. I will post new pictures after my trip in March. We made lots of improvements to the place since my last trip and have more improvements planned as we go.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Can't Wait to Go Back!!

    Can't Wait to Go Back!!

    • Guest SJ (Calgary, AB CANADA)
    • Date of stay 12/01/12
    • Review Submitted 02/05/13
    Great rental property that I will recommend time and again to friends and family and cannot wait to go back to. This place exceeded our expectations and was in a perfect location; close to all the Costa Rica tourist attractions when you're looking for adventure, on one of the nicest beaches I've visited in CR (and I've scoped out a couple), and just enough out of town to enjoy a very relaxed vacation. Thank you Mike for the use of your place - one of the best setups within this gated community - and very much looking forward to next time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks for your comments and your stellar review. I am glad you had a good time. You and your family are welcomed back anytime. Stay warm up there in Canada!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • COMFY BEACH HOUSE

    COMFY BEACH HOUSE

    • Guest Yari (Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 10/12/12
    • Review Submitted 10/17/12
    My closer relatives and I spent the long weekend at Sophiep´s house, it was a really nice time there. The house has everything you need to have a nice and comfy stay in a beach house, the most beautiful is the back yard where we enjoy most of our time, the pool is spectacular and the rooftop deck is really nice. Also you can go to any of the beaches that are pretty close to the community, Playa Bandera, Manuel Antonio just to mention some of the nicer beaches that are less than an hour drive. Or if you prefer Playa Bejuco right next to the community.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Amazing House to Rent!!

    Amazing House to Rent!!

    • Guest Joni (WillowSprings, IL)
    • Date of stay 08/01/12
    • Review Submitted 08/25/12
    I recently stayed at this rental property with my family. We had an amazing time. The house is very clean and has everything to offer. We loved the in-ground pool in the back yard and the privacy that it offered. We were able to walk to the private beach as well. We spent most of our time relaxing which is just what we needed!! I would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a great get-a-way that is quiet and peaceful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: Joni thanks for your stay. Next time stay longer!!! Life is too short. Pina Coladas are on me next time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • The Perfect Choice!

    The Perfect Choice!

    • Guest Karin (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 06/26/12
    • Review Submitted 08/20/12
    My family stayed at Casa de Sophie for five weeks and it was the PERFECT home for us!! Our vacation was the perfect mixture of adventure, fun, and relaxation. The home, location, beach, and community were just what we had hoped for. The house was spacious, comfortable, clean, and let in a lot of natural light. During our stay Michael had new patio doors installed. They were beautiful, sturdy and helped keep the electricity cost low. We loved having a pool in our backyard, two community pools nearby, and the beach just a short walk away. Our children, ages 6 and 4-year-old twins, enjoyed looking for monkeys, macaws, and other wildlife. The gated community was safe, which was especially important to us since we were traveling with children. Even when we ventured outside of the gated community we always felt safe, and we loved meeting so many friendly and kind locals. We quickly felt like we were part of the community. The grounds at the Costa del Sol development were gorgeous. The staff became friends to us and they went out of their way to make our vacation memorable. We rented a car for a short time and drove to the cloud forest, Arenal volcano, and Manuel Antonio Park. During the time we didn’t have a car, we found the modern buses a convenient and affordable way to get to Jaco and Parrita. Michael and the property manager Shannon were responsive and helpful with all our questions. We truly felt like they were committed to doing everything they could to make our vacation as pleasant as possible. We would highly recommend Casa de Sophie and we hope to return in the near future!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Karin, thanks so much for helping out with the installation of the new doors. I really appreciate it. I am glad you and family had a good time and hope to see you all back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • AWESOME!!!

    AWESOME!!!

    • Guest shenetta (chicago, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 06/18/12
    • Review Submitted 06/24/12
    WOW!! My husband and I really enjoyed ouselves, the property was BEAUTIFUL!! clean very well maintained loved it made the best choice to stay. The people are very friendly and very welcoming very attentive to all qustions made you feel at home. I enjoyed the nice walk to the beach in the mornings a plus that it was a short distance from the home. It was amazing to see the monkeys in the trees sitting on the rooftop we were flabbergasted never seen anything like it AMAZING!!! My husband and I are still talking about our trip we are planning to come back next year we have told all our friends I recommend this property without a doubt.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Where to start on this amazing home and location......

    Where to start on this amazing home and location......

    • Guest Jilly (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/31/12
    Costa Rica was not even on my list of vacation spots to hit with my family for an annual trip. I came across this home and it was just too good to be true. When that happens, you usually think that there has got to be something about the great price and location. Not with this home. It is perfect for families looking to stay for a short or long stay and the ad is exactly as it seems. Perfect for a relaxing vacation with a little bit of adventure mixed in taking in the Arenal Volcano, Hot Springs, and Zip Lining through the rain forest(my personal favorite). The beautiful colors and scenery was a sight to see every morning waking up, as well as the friendly iguanas and birds. Not only was my vacation relaxing and a huge success, but the owner and property manager Shannon, were always on call for anything I needed during my stay. I cannot thank them enough for giving me the opportunity to have a great vacation to enjoy in the company of my family(as well as have plenty of space so we didnt get on eachothers nerves for a week haha)! We will surely be coming back and I am already recommending the home to other family and friends. Thank you Michael!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Jill, thanks for your 5 star review! I am so glad you and your family did not get eaten by the local tribe of monekys either! Shannon said you guys were a great crew too. Take care and hope to have you all back in the near future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Great Escape

    A Great Escape

    • Guest Julie (California)
    • Date of stay 04/27/12
    • Review Submitted 05/16/12
    I had actually seen this home first on a House Hunters International episode and could hardly believe it when I found it for rent on VRBO. This beautiful home is the perfect, peaceful getaway. I went for rest and relaxation, and that's exactly what I got. It's a relatively easy drive from the airport, but the turn off for Playa Bejuco is a bit tough to find in the dark (arrived late evening). The gated community is situated just off a main road, and is quiet and secure. It's just a short walk to the beautiful, relatively secluded Playa Bejuco, and to a small grocery store with basic amenities. The house itself is very comfortable and, importantly, air conditioned. It was nice to have the pool option over going down to the beach, but you can still hear the waves while laying in the sun in the backyard. There's plenty to do within a reasonably short distance. Jaco is about 20 minutes away and Manuel Antonio maybe about 40 -- both easy drives on good roads. There are decent grocery stories in Parrita, about 15 minutes away. We loaded up on fresh produce and ate delicious mangos, papayas, and pineapple every morning for breakfast. The owner, Michael, was attentive and stayed in communication to address any concerns. He clearly cares about his home and your stay. Shannon, the onsite manager, was a gem, and offered a whole binder full of information on day trips in the area. I would most definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from the touristy hubs and have a peaceful vacation in your own little paradise.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Julie, thanks for such a nice, lengthy review! I am glad you stayed and had a good time. You and family are more than welcomed back. A side note: We are having all the doors and windows replaced with top quality Pella Glass and the pool was regrouted after you left so it looks brand new again. Take care and keep it touch.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great place for a family

    Great place for a family

    • Guest John (Indiana, United States)
    • Date of stay 01/24/12
    • Review Submitted 03/03/12
    I came here with my family for six weeks, and it has been the perfect place for us. The house itself is quite roomy and has plenty of space to spread out. We spent a lot of time in the hammock and the pool. The solar hot water for the house and the solar pump for the pool helped keep the electricity costs to a reasonable level. The beds were very comfortable and had a luxurious feel. The kitchen is adequately stocked with utensils, dishes and cookware. We especially liked the layout of the house and the natural light that filled the living area and bedrooms. It was very quiet and secure at night, and my children slept better there than they do in their own beds. We enjoyed getting to know the staff who work on the grounds, they were very friendly and trustworthy. The owner and local property manager were also very helpful from start to finish and made it a painless process. The rate is unbeatable. We found a lot of enjoyable activities in the surrounding area. As other reviewers have noted, the beach is absolutely gorgeous. Sand is fun to play in, and there are plenty of shells to find. We had a great time doing the canopy zipline, and exploring the large rocks and crashing waves in the ocean (you can see them on your drive to Jaco). We also traveled to Volcan Arenal (dormant for the last year) and enjoyed the beauty and found a free hot spring there. Jaco (30 km) is definitely a bustling tourist town with great options if you're looking for something to do. Parrita (15 km) is a local farming town with decent shopping options and a little bit better prices. I would definitely recommend this to others

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Thanks John for taking the time to post a review. I am so glad you and your family had a good time and were able to stay for an extended period. We hope to see you again next year. Michael and Diana...oh and Sophie too!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Amazing Vacation / Amazing Home to Rent!

    Amazing Vacation / Amazing Home to Rent!

    • Guest neeti a. (Illinois)
    • Date of stay 12/27/11
    • Review Submitted 01/09/12
    I can't say enough good things about Michael's home. Do not hesitate to book this condo! We went down for 1 week over New Year's 2011 and his condo was PERFECT. We thought we would make this our home base and take a lot of day-trips but no one wanted to leave the beach or the private pool! I started every morning reading on the hammock and ended every night with a dip in the pool - it was the perfect temperature. The Playa Bejuco beach (5min walk) is one of the best beaches I've ever experienced- it's so clean, no rocks, no annoying vendors trying to sell things, warm and goes on for miles! Great sunsets on the beach. Many were talking about the rip tides down there but we were careful and only went in waist-deep and didn't have any issues. The home has a well-equipped kitchen and there is a charcoal grill area (on the roof deck) but if you don't feel like cooking the hotel next to the beach (Playa Bejuco Hotel) will not disappoint. The best ceviche we ever had ($6!) and chicken curry ($8!) AND Caribbean Fish. Details: Bring your tennis racket as the complex has a great court. Plus there is security guard at the front of the complex so we felt very safe and an alarm system in the home. The grounds within the complex were so well maintained! There is a mini-market a block away for small stuff and a bigger grocery store 10 min driving in Paritta. Michael was great at answering all our questions - and Shannon (the property manager on-site) was always available for tips and reco's. The home had WI-FI which was great to check email. Day Trips: 1. We went White Water Rafting (Class 2-3 Rapids) thru Iguana Tours in Quepos - 35min drive (highly recommend) and Zip-lined in Quepos thru Titi Canopy (a bit unorganized) 2. ATV'ed in Dominical with Diamante Verde Tours (Private tour - 4 people - $85/pp) - 6 hours - the most amazing views I've ever seen. 1 hour-45 min drive from the condo. 3. Dinner at Ronny's place for the sunset in Manuel Antonio is a must. 4. Manuel Antonio beach which is just beyond Quepos was fun - my husband learned to surf - you can rent umbrellas and chairs for $5-$10/pp but it's a busy beach. Good if you wanted a day of activities (parasailing, jet skiiing, people-watching). We did Manuel Antonio National Park before the beach. Will definitely be returning to this home - it exceeded all our expectations! Feel free to email me with any questions.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Neeti, I am glad you guys had a good time! I told you that you would enjoy the beach. Hopefully you come back next year. Thanks for everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Casa De Sophie

    Casa De Sophie

    • Guest Kathy (northlake,Il. 60164)
    • Date of stay 12/01/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/12
    My family and I really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful home. In fact I have referred this home to several of my friends. Very clean. Bedrooms are larger then expected. Kitchen facilities were great, everything you need right at your fingertips! Dishes, silverwear, pots pans...the list goes on! One nice thing is the convenience of a washer and dryer! With the great built in pool nice to be able to toss bathing suits, towels etc., right in the wash ready for our next fun in the sun. Speaking of the outdoors...this home also has an amazing roof top where we were able to watch monkies in the morning while we sipped on our coffee! What an amazing experience. I highly recommend stay at this home, immaculate...........impressive!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Kathy, I am glad you enjoyed your time there. Thanks for your business and I hope you return in the near future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Peaceful Retreat

    Peaceful Retreat

    • Guest costarick (Loudonville, N.Y.)
    • Date of stay 11/06/11
    • Review Submitted 02/18/12
    Our stay at Casa De Sophie was the most relaxing trip that my wife and I had in a long time. It's so wonderful to get up early in the morning, grab a cup of coffee from the kitchen and walk upstairs to our own overlook and relax to the sounds of birds and the ocean. We even saw whiteface monkeys in the trees on the adjacent lot. Our private pool was so convenient which we used everyday. We spent most of our time relaxing in or by the pool. We also had a professional masseuse come to the house and give us massages in the overlook. Her name is Erika and she gives the best massages at very reasonable prices. The management (Shannon) is wonderful and will arrange for Erika to come to the house to give you the best massage ever. This house is wonderful and we can't wait to go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: I am so glad you guys not only had a great time but also bought in the project and I look forward to having you as neighbors in the near future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Monkeys Galore!

    Monkeys Galore!

    • Guest Kenny J (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 06/01/11
    • Review Submitted 09/24/11
    I could not believe the amount of monkeys we saw each morning in the trees of the adjacent property. The place is well located as the owner indicated. Talk about peace and quiet! The house is located about two city blocks off Playa Bejuco. The waves are very strong in Bejuco so you have to be careful swimming as there are no life guards on the beaches in CR. Jaco is the place for the night life and Bejuco is about 20 minutes away. Make sure you go cabling when there. We really had a blast and we can't wait to go back next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Glad you enjoyed it Kenny J!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/13



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]