Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

'Son of a Sailor' Beachfront with Wifi

You sent a message to this manager.

Calendar

Last updated: 02/11/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:7 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Dauphin Island house description

Beautiful beachfront home located in a gated community on Dauphin Island in Desoto Landing, offering 4 bedrooms, 4 baths, and a loft overlooking the living area. Large kitchen with breakfast bar opens up to a large family room. All bedrooms are large and beautifully decorated. Master bath offers a jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower, living room has gas fireplace for cool nights. The views from the decks face the ocean and offer breathtaking sunrises and sunsets as well as being great for sunbathing and entertaining. Imagine long walks on the beach and watching the shore birds along the way. Located next to the tennis court, playground, swimming pool, and boardwalks to the beach, this beach home is perfect for large groups. Sleeps 9-12. Mobile is located 35 minutes way, which offers shopping, museums, restaurants, historical sights, and night life. The Mississippi casinos are only an hour's drive away.

Keywords: Beautiful beachfront home located in a gated community on Dauphin Island offers, WIFI, 4 bedrooms plus loft, four baths. Large kitchen with breakfast bar opens up to large family room. Bedrooms are large, colorful and nicely decorated. Sleeps 12

Property Type

  • House
  • 2 story

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Onsite Services

              • Housekeeper Optional

              Suitability

              • Pets Not Allowed
              • Long-Term Renters Welcome
              • Children Welcome

              Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12, Beds for 12

              • Bedroom 1: 1 king

                Master with bath...moreless

              • Bedroom 2: 2 double

                Two doubles...moreless

              • Bedroom 3: 1 king

                King...moreless

              • Bedroom 4: 1 king

                King...moreless

              • Loft: 3 double, 1 twin/ single, 1 baby crib

                Loft-tri bunk w/twin,full- 2 full, baby bed, pac and play...moreless

              • 3-King size beds (1) Main level with full bath, Queen size Beds (2) Two queens with full hall bath -main level, Loft with-full bath, Baby Cribs (1), i1 twin 3 full beds....moreless

              Bathrooms: 4 Bathrooms

              • Bathroom 1: toilet, combination tub/shower, tub, shower

                Master...moreless

              • Bathroom 2: toilet, combination tub/shower, tub

                ...moreless

              • Bathroom 3: toilet, combination tub/shower, tub

                ...moreless

              • Bathroom 4: toilet, shower

                ...moreless

              Kitchen & Dining

              • Kitchen:

                microwave, dishwasher, plates, cups, dinnerware, toaster...moreless

              • Catering Available:

                contact me for a list of resturants that deliver...moreless

              • Refrigerator:

                With ice maker...moreless

              • Stove:

                Drop in oven...moreless

              • Dishwasher
              • Microwave
              • Coffee Maker

              Amenities

              • Air Conditioning:

                two units...moreless

              • Washing Machine
              • Linens Provided
              • Covered Parking
              • Clothes Dryer
              • Iron & Board
              • Towels Provided
              • Heating
              • Hair Dryer
              • Parking

              Other Amenities

                  • Kayak rentals, bike rentals, parasailing and guided boat tours , deep sea fishing are all available on the island. Auto Ferry to Gulf Shores, Outlet Shopping, Flora Bama Lounge...moreless

                  Entertainment

                  • DVD Player
                  • CD Player
                  • Satellite / Cable
                  • VCR
                  • Television
                  • Games
                  • Stereo

                  Communications

                  • Wireless Internet

                  Pool & Spa

                      • Communal Pool:

                        community pool with fence, shower...moreless

                      Outdoor Features

                      • Deck / Patio:

                        furniture bring beach chairs...moreless

                      • Tennis
                      • Golf

                      Location & View

                      • Golf Course View:

                        ajoins property Isle Dauphine 18 holes with carts...moreless

                      • Beach View
                      • Oceanfront
                      • Beachfront
                      • Ocean View

                      Car

                          • Necessary

                          Activities

                          • Swimming
                          • Wind-Surfing
                          • Fishing
                          • Jet Skiing
                          • Pier Fishing
                          • Freshwater Fishing
                          • Surf Fishing
                          • Sound/Bay Fishing
                          • Sailing
                          • Cycling
                          • Parasailing
                          • Tennis
                          • Golf
                          • Water Skiing
                          • Kayaking
                          • Surfing
                          • Deepsea Fishing
                          • Bird Watching
                          • Beachcombing
                          • Walking
                          • Eco Tourism
                          • Marina
                          • Churches
                          • Restaurants
                          • Playground
                          • ATM/Bank
                          • Shelling
                          • Laundromat
                          • Groceries
                          • Sight Seeing
                          • Wildlife Viewing
                          • Boating
                          • Shopping

                          Other Activities

                              • This home is located in a very nice gated community on the Gulf of Mexico. Next door is a pool, playground and tennis court. The Island offers beautiful white sand beaches, a Civil War era fort, Sea Lab with a place to pet sting rays, bike path that runs the length of the island, bird watching, kayaking, fishing, boating and much more! Come join in the fun! We never meet a stanger!...moreless
                               

                              Reviews

                              Write a review
                              • Aug 2013

                                Aug 2013

                                • Guest Tim (St Louis)
                                • Date of stay 08/02/13
                                • Review Submitted 08/20/13
                                Stayed here with family. The house was HUGE! Plenty of space for the cousins to hang out. The house is getting a bit dated. There is an ice maker, but it is not working. (this was disclosed) I wouldn't advise opening it as it smells like a mold factory. There is an ice maker in the freezer, but it works extremely slow. Plan on bringing bags of ice. The microwave above the stove does not work. There is one on the counter, but since the one above the stove doesn't work, there is no lights or vent fan. Something happened in Mobile, and we lost power for about 8 hours. Normally wouldn't be a problem, but there were no screens on the windows, so we couldn't open then due to the bugs. We absolutely loved the covered deck! The beach was empty! We rarely saw anyone on the beach. We saw multiple schools of dolphins several times a day, every day! Up by the boardwalk, the sand has a hint of black in it (not sure why), but it gets VERY hot. Don't leave your shoes on the boardwalk, take them on the sand with you! Kids will love that the pool and playset are right next to the house. The main place to shop for groceries is the Ship and Shore. Very expensive. Plan on stopping by the Walmart on the way onto the island (30 miles away). There aren't many restaurants on the island, but there is a great BBQ shack near the house. Overall, the house is perfect for large families and we plan on going next year.

                                Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

                                Manager response: Thank you for the review, I'm glad you liked Son of a Sailor and hope to see you back next year.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Family Vacation

                                Family Vacation

                                • Guest Family Time (Midwest)
                                • Date of stay 05/25/13
                                • Review Submitted 06/10/13
                                What a great time we had. Our family loved the house and Dauphin Island. The location is wonderful. We enjoyed being so close to the beach, playground, pool, and tennis courts. There were 9 of us and we had lots of space. The back deck was a favorite. The house was comfortable and had everything we needed. The people at Anchor Reality were great to work with, very helpful. We enjoyed the activities on the Island. Mobil is close enough if you would like more to do. Would recommend stopping at Wal Mart before going to the island. The grocery store is a little pricey. I guess the only complaint we had was having to leave Son of a Sailor and Dauphin Island. If you chose this house, hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

                                Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

                                Manager response: Thank you so much for the nice review. Looking forward to seeing you next time at Son of a Sailor.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Great vacation on DI

                                Great vacation on DI

                                • Guest Some dude up north (Milwaukee)
                                • Date of stay 03/30/13
                                • Review Submitted 05/16/13
                                We stayed over the week of Easter and had a fabulous time. Cruising over the bridge on a sunny morning was awesome for the first time on the island. Our party had three families with 7 kids ranging from 5 to 15 - kids got along and had much to do. Our group loved grilling out so we did that once a day - hit Skinner's for the seafood or Greer's for meat. We loved strolling the beach during the morning for shells and at night for crabs - kids loved making sand castles, throwing frizbees, playing soccer, flying kites, making forts and I supposed the adults had fun with it, too especially over a couple beers or drinks in hand. Good for shoreline fishing and the owner had some poles to borrow - out of state fishing licenses were very reasonable. We got into the ocean a few times along with checking out some sand bars along the south peninsula. We watched shrimp boating one night and saw numerous dolphins during the day. The adjacent pool was nice for the kids and tennis courts were nice to play on and was another outlet for the kids to burn energy. The house was pretty good and you get what you pay for - beds, facilities, kitchen all decent. The back porch was great for checking out the sunset and stars on clear nights - owner could provide more patio furniture. It was nice the Easter Bunny remembered the kids and laid eggs out off the porch for a morning egg hunt. The outlying oil rigs (later found out they were natural gas rigs) were cool to look at during the night. We ate at the Lighthouse Bakery, pretty good but pricey. JT's Sunset Grill was ok but nice eating off the docks. Taking the ferry to Ft. Morgan and Gulf Shores was like Myrtle Beach or Wisconsin Dells in my neck of the woods on 'roids but good experience. Fort Gaines was cool to go through especially with the kids. The bird sanctuary was peaceful and nice to walk around. Sea lab was nice but limited. Either take the bike path or take a drive from one end of the island to the other. One gripe is Ship N' Shore kept running out of the craft or import beers - being from Wisconsin, you get used to it when vacationing. Some decent shops to go through on the rainy day we were there. People on the island were very nice like folks from where I am from. Overall, our vacation on Dauphin Island was a fantastic experience and will be truly remembered. Hopefully, we could get back again. Oh well, back to reality. Thanks DI for the memories.

                                Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with teenagers, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing, adventure seekers.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Son of a Sailor was a winner for our family reunion!

                                Son of a Sailor was a winner for our family reunion!

                                • Guest Sharon C. (Birmingham, AL.)
                                • Date of stay 04/18/13
                                • Review Submitted 04/22/13
                                We just returned from a wonderful & relaxing stay at Son of a Sailor. After reading the reviews I was skeptical but the minute we walked thru the door we were very pleased. The home is clean, open & bright with a wall of windows in the living room. The furnishings were perfectly fine & there are nice touches in every room. If you're looking for the Ritz Carlton don't go to Dauphin Island. This beautiful home worked perfectly for our family & offered plenty of room for everyone to visit & be comfortable. The rear deck has panoramic views of the beach & the neighborhood amenities are literally right beside the home so you can watch the kids play on the playground from the rear deck or watch tennis from your front porch. It was too cold to swim on our visit but the pool is directly beside the home too. You can walk the beach and rarely see another person. Like having your own private beach! Linens were provided and were fresh and clean. Plenty of towels. The whole house was clean and welcoming. We were arriving late at night & Rhonda, the rental agent, left the lights on for us. Rhonda also did a special favor for me since we were arrive late at night and turned the A/C on earlier in the day making the house cool when we arrived so we could sleep because my family is so hot natured! I was very appreciative of her effort. You won't be disappointed in this home. The paint is a little worn in the master bath, I'm sure just from humidity, but it did not make me think the home is shabby at all. There is a large jaccuzi tub & separate shower with a bench in the master bath along with a walk in closet. Each bedroom has ceiling fans and nice closet space. The living room furniture is not brand new but it is also perfectly fine and can accommodate 10 or so if you pull in an additional chair or two which is easily done. We stay outside a lot but I like a large living room that seats the majority of us for gatherings & this home certainly had that. We ate at Islanders on the Island which was excellent. The corn and crab bisque & gumbo were outstanding! We visited the Bakery & bought pastries which were a big hit! They have bfast, lunch & baked goods. There is a WalMart when you exit I-10 & you will pass Dollar General on 193 about 30 minutes from the island which is your last stop. There's also a store on the Island that would probably have everything you might need should you forget something. Some in our group did a tour of the sea lab & enjoyed it.

                                Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with teenagers, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing, adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

                                Manager response: Thank you for such a nice review of Son of a Sailor and Dauphin Island. I'm so glad you and your family had a nice time and we hope to see you back soon. Thanks again Rhonda

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Great location, dated house

                                Great location, dated house

                                • Guest Hebard H.
                                • Date of stay 05/21/12
                                • Review Submitted 01/06/13
                                I am from Mobile and grew up with a house at Dauphin island (we sold our house last year so needed to rent last summer). Dauphin Island is a wonderful place to be in the summer time bc it is quiet and the beaches are clean! This house is in a great neighborhood and is located RIGHT next to the pool and the boardwalk to the beach. The house however could use some love! The AC was broken for the first 3 days - the repairman was quick to repsond to the complaint however he rigged it to fix it and it didnt work - so finally on day 3 he did a major repair and it worked from that point. The ice maker didnt work, the bathtub was SUPER dirty (and you pay a $200 cleaning fee), the kitchen was stocked poorly, the knives wouldnt cut anything, the beds are very uncomfortable and do not have mattress pads on them and the decor was very dated. If the owner would put a little TLC into this house it could be a great house. We did receive a discount due to the AC but I am not sure I would rent this house again.

                                Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

                                Manager response: I'm very sad that you had a bad time at Son of a Sailor. And I do remember you. First I've never charged $200.00 for a cleaning fee and I returned a lot of your money because you were miserable with the house. The ice maker in the frig has always worked, the cabinet icemaker has not been used in years and it is not advertised to be working. There is new furniture and bedding along with free WIFI and cable. Yes this is the best location for someone wanting to use the swimming pool because it is right next door, also the playgrounds, tennis courts and the private gated community is great. When homes are rented everyweek there comes a time to upgrade and the owners have done that. As far as the cleaning goes, the tub is a marble tub and does not have a smooth surface. I strive to be as clean as possible. I want to thank you for your comments and be rest assured that this is a beautiful, clean and enjoyable home. I have a two year waiting list for certain weeks of the summer and I'm thankful that those people really enjoyed there stay.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                              • Relaxing stay

                                Relaxing stay

                                • Guest DonnaGay (Chattanooga Tennessee)
                                • Date of stay 09/15/12
                                • Review Submitted 10/23/12
                                We had a wonderful time, so close to the beach and the pool. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. Although the decor may be just a bit dated it was very comfortable and clean. We had a 2 and 3 year old with us and did not have to worry about keeping things out of their reach. Wi-fi worked great, But cell phone coverage was poor (which did not bother us) and they do have a land line. This place is not for the shopaholics, although there are places to go for day trips but perfect for anyone who want to step off the Merry go round for a while.

                                Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with teenagers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

                                Manager response: Thank you so much for the nice review and were glad you stayed at Son of a Sailor. Dauphin Island is very laid back and quiet and the perfect place to relax and not worry about the crowds. Maybe you can come back and visit again real soon.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                              • Great Location

                                Great Location

                                • Guest Georgia girl (North Georgia)
                                • Date of stay 07/08/12
                                • Review Submitted 07/17/12
                                The house has a great location. Right next to pool and boardwalk to the beach. We had four couples and four children and their was room for all. We had a great time relaxing by the pool and beach or on the back porch which had a great view of the beach. One of the bathrooms is a little rough downstairs in the basement with a shower with no curtain but is nice for when you come into from the beach. The house was nice but needs some updating. There are no pics of the bedrooms...The furnishings were dated and the kitchen needs to be inventoried.

                                Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

                                Manager response: Hello and thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our island home. Our family has spent many years enjoying the beach, pool and other amenities that Desoto Landing offers and were glad to share them with you. Thank you so much for the suggestions, we will address them. I hope to see you next year and for you to tell your friends about Son of a Sailor, Desoto Landing and Dauphin Island. Thank you

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                              • Excellent Vacation

                                Excellent Vacation

                                • Guest Pat (Jefferson City, MO)
                                • Date of stay 06/09/12
                                • Review Submitted 06/25/12
                                This was a great house for our extended family vacation. We had 10 adults and 9 children ranging from 65 - 5. The children loved having the loft to themselves and the adults had the bedrooms on the mailn level. We loved the location of the house it was right next to the pool, playground and tennis courts and it was right next to the boardwalk going to the beach. We decided that we had the best house in the subdivision because of the closeness to the pool and the board walk. We didn't have to worry about crossing any roads to get the beach or pool. The only complaint that we had was that the dryer took forever to dry a load of laundry.

                                Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                               
                              Rental basis: Per property
                              Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                              Spring
                              Mar 1 - May 1, 2014
                              7 night min stay

                              $2,900
                              Early Summer
                              May 2 - May 31, 2014
                              7 night min stay

                              $3,900
                              June
                              Jun 1 - Jun 30, 2014
                              7 night min stay

                              $4,400
                              July
                              Jul 1 - Jul 31, 2014
                              7 night min stay

                              $4,400
                              August
                              Aug 1 - Aug 31, 2014
                              7 night min stay

                              $3,900
                              Fall
                              Sep 1 - Oct 4, 2014
                              7 night min stay

                              $2,200
                              Winter
                              Oct 5 - Mar 1, 2015
                              7 night min stay

                              $2,200

                              Additional information about rental rates

                              Fees:

                              • Refundable Damage Deposit $300
                              • cleaning $150
                              • Tax Rate 11%

                              Cancellation policy:

                              100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.


                              This manager accepts: Credit cards.
                              Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                              Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                              Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                               

                              Calendar

                              Last updated: 02/11/2014
                              Check availability
                              23 Available
                              21 Unavailable
                              22 Today
                              23 Selected dates
                               

                              Location

                              • Nearest Airport: Mobile Regional at 25 Miles
                              • Nearest Ferry: Dauphin Island Auto Ferry at 2 Miles
                              • Nearest Motorway: Hwy 193 at 2 Miles
                              • Nearest Beach: Dauphin Island at Dauphin Island
                              • Nearest Barpub: Pelican Pub at 2 Miles
                              • Nearest Ski: Water Sking at 2 Miles
                              • Nearest Golf: Isle Dauphine at 1 Miles
                              • Nearest Restaurant: Islanders, DI Bar B Que, Dauphin Island Bakery at 2 Miles
                               

                              Manager info


                              Contact us

                              Speaks: english

                               

                              Photos

                              VRBO #379186

                              There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                              This listing was first published here in 2011.

                              Date last modified - Monday, December 23, 2013

                              $2,200 - $4,400 per week (USD)
                              8

                              4 Bedroom / 4 Bathroom
                              Sleeps 12

                              View calendar: Updated 02/11/14
                              Minimum stay: 7 nights
                              Dates are unavailable
                              Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                              This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                              Get an instant quote
                              Email manager

                              Toll Free (877) 526-2467

                              Speaks: english

                              Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                              Add vacation protection services to your booking

                              Three services to protect your trip:

                              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                              Get it now

                              advertisement