Charming 8 Bedroom Home + Coach House, Steps from the Beach!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:3 nights
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Union Pier house description
Charming 7-bedroom home + completely renovated Coach House (one bedroom and bathroom) on great wooded lot 0.4 miles from the beach ! This is the perfect get-away! Summer fun abounds- enjoy water activities on the lake, bike riding, Dine at fabulous nearby restaurants, shop in town, visit the local world class casino, parks and wineries. In the fall, visit the pumpkin patches, pick your own apples at the local orchards, watch the sun set over the lake and enjoy the rustle of the vibrant leaves. Winter is amazing as well - cozy up to the fire, ski at several nearby resorts, sled, ice skate or just revel in the winter wonderland. Warm & inviting home with large living room with wood- burning fireplace, separate dining room, eat-in kitchen, 7 spacious bedrooms (5 upstairs and 2 on the main level), 3 full baths and a powder room. Private outdoor space abounds including a great yard space, large deck, screened-in porch and hot tub. Enjoy the new all-purpose sport court (basketball court surface & hoop)! We are going for a cottage experience so there are not a lot of TV channels :) If you are a TV person, bring your ipod because we do have internet! This home + coach house can be rented on a weekly basis for $5,250 between May 15th and October 31st and $600/night for the main home & $200/night for the coach house the remainder of the year with the exception of holidays, which are available to be negotiated. Call for floor floor plan!
Keywords: house, beach, 7 bedrooms, hot tub, screened in porch, yard, coach house
- 2 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
Bedrooms: 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14, Beds for 14
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Dishes & Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Air Conditioning
- Towels Provided
- Linens Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- Living Room seats 0
- Parking Off Street
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Washing Machine
- Wood Fireplace
- The house is just a short walk away (0.4 Miles) to the private beach!
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Ski Privileges Optional
- Pier Fishing
- Basketball Court
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Horseback Riding
- Winery Tours
- Scenic Drives
- Wildlife Viewing
- Sight Seeing
- Gambling Casinos
- Book by Dec 31st and receive 5% off your weekly reservation! Located just 0.4 miles from the private beach. Dine at fabulous nearby restaurants, shop in town, visit parks and wineries, and enjoy water activities on the lake (wave runners, kayaking, paddle boards, etc). In the fall, enjoy the nearby pumpkin patches, pick your own apples at the local orchards, watch the sun set over the lake and enjoy the rustle of the vibrant leaves. Winter is amazing as well - cozy up to the fire, ski at several nearby resorts, sled, and ice skate. Take a look at the map- there are wonderful restaurants/cafes, ice cream shops, Spas, as well as the Four Winds Casino all near by :) Here are nearby Water/Sporting Rentals: Oselka's Snug Harbor: Located right on the water in New Buffalo 514 Oselka Drive New Buffalo, MI (269) 469-2600 http://www.oselkamarina.com/ Outpost Sports (Bikes, kayaks, boogie boards, skim boards) New Buffalo, MI ...moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
cozy and charming
cozy and charming
It was a great and affordable spot for our family reunion of 22 people!! lots of hang out space, cute walk to the beach (although i wouldn't advertise it as "steps" from the beach...it was about 3 blocks and then down stairs), and the seperate house was great to put all of the kids in at night. Thanks for sharing!
- Guest Kristi (mattawan, mi)
- Date of stay 08/30/13
- Review Submitted 09/06/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.
Owner response: I am sorry as I know your Grandma had trouble with the stairs going down to the beach and they were not easy for her- I am still so very glad to hear your group had a wonderful time!
A wonderful week in Union Pier
A wonderful week in Union Pier
We had a great stay at this house. It was close to the beach, very well maintained; came with a sports court, a beautiful coach house and plenty of beds. This year (as always) we went to Capn' Mike's but also added a kayak trip and visits to St Josephs and New Buffalo. The kitchen and backyard deck grill allowed us to save a lot of money on meals out. And all the games provided by the owner kept our kids busy well into the night. I would highly recommend a stay at this property.
- Guest craig (United States)
- Date of stay 08/10/13
- Review Submitted 08/22/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
The house looks very nice from the outside, nicely landscaped with recently updated patio, a fence in front and some new evergreens in back to provide separation from the house that was under construction behind. The construction was still a bit of a disappointment/eyesore while we were there. The photo of the sports court on line is an "example" not an actual photograph. Inside the main house has a nice cottage feel but no really good place for congregating our big group. There were ample sleeping accommodations and the beds were soft. Towels were provided but were to be washed by guests so bring your own towels. The one's provided smelled of mildew even after washing them when we first arrived and after washing them before we left. It was a fairly hot week and the AC at the house couldn't handle the high 80's low 90's outside temperatures - upstairs bedrooms were very hot at night and downstairs areas were warm from early afternoon to early morning the next day no matter how low you set the thermostat. Doors on upstairs bedrooms/bathrooms don't lock so people got "walked in on" while they were trying to dress or use the bathroom. Small details matter and seeing (for example) a cracked handle on the shower in the master bath and a governor on the handle that we had to fix ourselves to get hot water in the shower was a bit disappointing. Likewise, we would have liked to have been able to flip on CNN, ESPN, HGTV, etc. for a few minutes in the evening or early AM but the TV only had three channels that work. The hot tub was cleaned on Wednesday so it turns out that we had "used" spa water from the previous guests for the first part of our stay. The hot tub turns itself on and off with a mind of its own - we spent nearly an hour trying to see how it worked before checking with the owner and being told that "it's just that way." The walk to the beach was longer than we would have liked but OK if you know what you're getting into. On the carriage house, it would have been nice if there were a separate small refrigerator and a TV, again, just as small conveniences. There was no place in the carriage house to hang up or put clothes other than to keep them in our suitcases. There was a large table that could accommodate gathering our large group in the carriage house which was nice but we never used it because it felt like we were using someone's bedroom. I'm guessing a lot of similar rentals in NB/UP have similar issues.
- Guest Guest #113 (Fishers, Indiana)
- Date of stay 07/12/13
- Review Submitted 07/30/13
We had a wonderful family gathering! We used every bed too! My husband and I hosted our event so we took the coach house. It was wonderful and beautiful. It was nice to retreat at night and have a quiet cup of coffee in the morning by ourselves. We had grandchildren ranging from 10 months old to 17 years old. Everyone loved it! The basketball court, the beautiful beach and the charming home.) It was very spacious and beautifully decorated. I loved the beach because my smaller grandchildren could wade into the water at least 50 yards and it was only waist high. It was also literally a lovely 4 blocks. We are already thinking of next year!
- Guest Sue (Aurora, Il USA)
- Date of stay 06/27/13
- Review Submitted 07/01/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing.
Fantastic Weekend in an Amazing Home
Fantastic Weekend in an Amazing Home
My family and I stayed in this home for a long weekend at the end of summer before school started and it was AMAZING! The house was truly beautiful with lots of charm, modern ammenities (like all new gorgeous bathrooms and kitchen), super clean and very spacious. All the bedrooms had the most comfortable beds and fabulous linens. We all slept like rock stars. The dining room table fit all of us in one sitting and the hot tub at night was perfect! The very short walk down to the private beach was lots of fun. Our kids thought the path down to the beach was super cool and ran all the way there. We spent the entire day jumping waves and building sand castles. I highly recommend anyone looking to rent a house with Lots of bedrooms, the most comfortable beds, walking distance to a Private beach in a very quaint country environment stay here. We also got a look at the Coach House...OMG! Right out of a Pottery Barn catalogue. So So So cute. Everything brand new and stunning.
- Guest b (Chicago)
- Date of stay 08/24/12
- Review Submitted 02/27/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.
Recommended -- with a few qualifications
Recommended -- with a few qualifications
Welcome to nature! the setting of this house is stunning. Though there were homes nearby, we felt secluded and private. You are surrounded by trees. The drive up to wine country was BEAUTIFUL! You also have access to a private beach (VERY short walk away) which we didn't really get to use. We went out to the beach at night and looked at the stars. You could see the Milky Way!!! The pictures accurately representation of the space -- it's not a huge house and there are no hidden areas. What you see in the pictures is what you get. If people want to chit chat late, you will hear them. Hot tub has four bucket seats and two semi-seats. We fit 5 comfortably and 6-7 with squishing. It was not oversized but very comfortable. You can control the temp. Beds are INCREDIBLY comfortable. they provided a WONDERFUL night's sleep. This might sounds weird but the bathrooms were the best part of the trip. The water pressure was outstanding, they were immaculate, clean, etc. A few minor caveats to be aware of in advance. Knowing these will make your stay perfect: 1) The house was CRAZY cold when we got there, and the central heat took a LONG time (like, a FULL DAY) to heat up. Heat really needs to be turned a day in advance and you will not have the same problem. I was not imagining this; fourteen people were freezing and half of our trip we all tried to fix the vents. It's just slow to heat. Another note about going in Fall -- LEAVES are everywhere. Prepare to sweep the porches yourself as it was not done. Basketball court was unusable. 3) 2 OF THE BEDS ARE TRUNDLES!! The beds break down this way -- King Size Bed to the right of the dining room, Double/Trundle to the left of the dining room, the rest upstairs, including a twin with a trundle. As the trip organizer, I had people paying me with the understanding they were getting a bed but when beds weren't there, I figured I must have read the ad wrong. I felt awful. Be aware of the trundle situation and make sure it works for your party. 4) Bathrooms need curtains! You can be seen clear as day from the backyard at night. Fireplace needs handy cleaning tools so it can be swept out. 5) $300 cleaning fee but you must still empty trash cans/wash towels/strip beds... It was really no problem but we were notified of these responsibilities last-minute. 6) THERE IS NO STEREO. just an old boombox. Bring your ipod speaker. Overall, truly lovely home. Just wish we'd had a little more info in advance.
- Guest kdollarsign (Chicago)
- Date of stay 10/19/12
- Review Submitted 10/23/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, girls getaway, sightseeing.
Owner response: I am so sorry you had problems with the heat- you were our first renters this fall when the weather started to change and we never had any problems with it in the past- sorry! I am so glad you had nice stay though and thank you for your personal email expressing your interest in coming back next season. We'd love to have you!
Great Family Vacation House
Great Family Vacation House
My large family (8 adults, 8 kids) had a great time at this very comfortable house. So many things to like about it - the screened porch was a fabulous place to gather, the beds & baths were all so comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped. We loved the sport court, and made smores one night in the portable fire pit. The proximity to the beach was divine - a lovely 3 block walk to the most glorious, clear water, clean sand beach. We went every day. Activities nearby that we recommend - the St. Julian Winery offered juice tasting for our kids while we adults tried the grown-up beverages! We drove up to the beautiful Warren Dunes State Park, we went blueberry picking, and of course after we tucked the kids in, some of the adults went over to the casino. We made most of our meals in the house, but one night we went over to Redamaks, which was a real treat if you'd like a good burger and everything that goes with it...... The owner of this house made the reservation process very easy, and glady answered all of my questions. All in all, this was one of our most memorable vacations.
- Guest Dawn (Hawthorn Woods, Illinois)
- Date of stay 08/17/12
- Review Submitted 10/18/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers.
we stayed at this great house over the winter and thoroughly enjoyed it. We loved the hot tub with snow all around us, it was very nice and the wooded area around the house looked beautiful snow covered. the town is close by and the stores are charming. The house itself is very nice and in great condition. we really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this charming house to anyone who wants to get away into the country while still being close to chicago.
- Guest rick (chicago)
- Date of stay 12/17/10
- Review Submitted 10/31/11
Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway.
What a fun, relaxing vacation we had! The home is perfect, plenty of space for large groups. We had the best time hanging out at the beach which is just a short walk away from the house. We rode bikes all around town and visited the U-Pick orchards and just loved it! The spacious yard was great for outdoor activities and we especially enjoyed hanging out on the nice screened-in porch. The house was nice and clean and equipped with everything we could have needed so there was nothing to worry about. We all loved it and will definitely be planning another trip to stay there soon!
- Guest Randi (Chicago, IL)
- Date of stay 10/01/11
- Review Submitted 10/29/11
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, families with teenagers.
This home is everything you could ask for when you get away. It is clean, spacious, close to the beach, and relaxing. There is also a basketball hoop and hot tub out back, perfect for children to play. The large King bed on the first floor definitely helped me recharge my batteries. I would return to this lovely home in heartbeat.
- Guest HappyCamper (Chicago, IL)
- Date of stay 07/12/10
- Review Submitted 09/26/11
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
3 night min stay
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Cozy Living Room, great for entertaining!
House has 8 bedrooms that sleep 16 people, suitable for all ages
Steps to beach, great yard, large deck, screened-in porch and hot tub
Large King Bedroom on the first floor
Sleep comfortably in this Full bedroom
Kids can enjoy great bunk beds :)
Two twin beds!
Coach House completely renovated in 2012
Dining room right off of the eat-in kitchen, perfect for a group dinner!
Kitchen ready to be used for cooking, eat-in breakfast area attached
Spacious screened in porch overlooking the yard, hot tub off of the porch
Full Bathroom with double sinks; complete with towels, etc. Total = 3 1/2 baths
Large Queen Bed
Full bed :)
Example image of new sport court in the backyard, perfect for shooting hoops!
Renovated Coach house- wall bed, full bath, dining room, great living room space
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Friday, November 01, 2013