Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Lake Superior Paradise -- Hermit's Cove

You sent a message to this owner.

View of the beach at Hermit's Cove

View of the beach at Hermit's Cove View from the lake towards beach and cabin View of living area and stairs to 2nd level View of the Cove on a misty day Sauna and outdoor shower

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

Calendar

Last updated: 04/15/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3 nights
  • Internet:No
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Calumet cabin description

Located on Michigan’s Keweenaw Peninsula near Calumet, Hermit’s Cove is a beautiful sandy bay on the south east side of the peninsula. Approximately 15 miles from Lake Linden and Calumet. Nearest village (two miles) is Gay.

Rustic Cabin is fully insulated and available April through November. December--March rentals not available.

Cabin is 26 feet by 30 feet lower level with an upper level of sleeping quarters on one half and game table and couches on the other half. Downstairs master bedroom is separate from the rest of the cabin. Indoor plumbing during the spring, summer and fall season including shower.

Outdoor wood fired 'Finnleo' sauna is available for use 12 months of the year. Beautiful view of the Lake and Huron Mountains.

Main floor wood stove, with glass door, can heat entire house, but two oil filled radiators are also on hand for cold, winter days.

White sandy beach stretches across the entire bay.

Cabin has two double beds, plus three twin beds, one set of twin bunk beds and three couches (one a sofabed). Crib and playpen also included. Kitchen has refrigerator, electric stove and oven, plus fully stocked supplies. Walls feature Scandinavian Nordic White Spruce throughout for cozy northwoods and Scandinavian look. Detailed wall map of Keweenaw allows you to plan your explorations.

Please call or e-mail for more photos or for questions or visit our web link on this listing.

Keywords: Cabin

Property Type

  • 1600 sq. ft.
  • Cabin

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Children Welcome:

            crib and high-chair on premises...moreless

          • Pets Considered
          • Non Smoking Only

          Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11, Beds for 9-11

          • Bedroom 1

            ...moreless

          • Bedroom 2

            ...moreless

          • Other (See Description)

            ...moreless

          • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)...moreless

          Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Dining Area Seats:

            4...moreless

          • Kitchen
          • Refrigerator
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Coffee Maker
          • Oven
          • Stove
          • Dishes & Utensils
          • Child's Highchair
          • Dining
          • Microwave
          • Toaster
          • Pantry Items

          Amenities

          • Parking
          • Towels Provided
          • Hair Dryer
          • Living Room
          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
          • Parking Off Street
          • Iron & Board
          • Linens Provided
          • Wood Stove

          Entertainment

          • Toys
          • Stereo
          • Games
          • Books

          Pool & Spa

              • Sauna

              Outdoor Features

              • Lanai / Gazebo:

                Screened in porch near lake side...moreless

              • Deck / Patio
              • Outdoor Grill

              Theme

              • Romantic
              • Historic
              • Tourist Attractions
              • Sports & Activities
              • Away From It All
              • Adventure
              • Family
              • Budget

              Location & View

              • Mountain View:

                Views of Huron Mountains across the bay...moreless

              • Lakefront
              • Beachfront

              Car

                  • Recommended

                  Activities

                  • Cycling
                  • Wind-Surfing
                  • Hunting
                  • Fishing
                  • Mountain Biking
                  • Snorkeling/Diving
                  • Snowboarding
                  • Snowmobiling
                  • Kayaking
                  • Tennis
                  • Swimming
                  • Sailing
                  • Skiing
                  • Golf
                  • Rock Climbing
                  • Hiking
                  • Boating
                  • Sight Seeing
                  • Wildlife Viewing
                  • Restaurants
                  • Cinemas
                  • Museums
                  • Live Theater
                  • Shopping
                  • Jet Skiing
                  • Cross Country Skiing
                  • Basketball Court
                  • Surfing
                  • Sledding
                  • Fitness Center
                  • Water Skiing
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Stacy & Jeremy

                    Stacy & Jeremy

                    • Guest Stacy (Oak Creek, WI)
                    • Date of stay 10/07/11
                    • Review Submitted 08/25/12
                    We stayed here last fall and had the most amazing weekend. the fact that we lucked out and had 80's in October helped. But the house and lake front access are wonderful. We brought our dogs with us and had a fantastic weekend of relaxing and hiking. The scenery is amazing and its a great location with only a short drive to most of the UP. We are hoping to stay again in the near future.

                    Recommended for: Sightseeing, pet owners, families with young children.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Disappointing Experience and Advice for Renters

                    Disappointing Experience and Advice for Renters

                    • Guest TC Renter (Traverse City, MI)
                    • Date of stay 07/07/12
                    • Review Submitted 08/07/12
                    Beautiful property, but the interior of the cabin was very disappointing. Stud walls, raw, water-stained drywall ceiling, bare lightbulbs, and only some areas where they had made attempts to put up some tongue and groove wall covering. Extremely small bathroom. Towels pinned up to cover up piping, hoards of dead flies in the window sills, holes in the screens patched with duct tape. The screen door (the only door leading into the place) kept falling off... it didn’t quite close, so it let in lots of bugs. The kitchen linoleum was duct-taped to the rest of the floor. The master bedroom shared a wall with the 'fridge that ran like a Mack truck all night. It was certainly not clean when we arrived, so we had to do a lot of cleaning just to make the place habitable. Not at all what we'd hoped for. However - we didn't spend much time inside. It has a separate screened-in porch overlooking the lake, and a sauna (we didn't use it) on the property, and of course limitless Lake Superior. We may rent another cottage on the Keewenaw, but probably wouldn't go back to this place. If you're looking for utility, say a bunch of guys going hunting, you should by all means rent this cottage. But if you're looking for charm and a cozy spot to curl up with a book, we'd advise you to look elsewhere.

                    Recommended for: Pet owners.

                    Owner response: This was a VERY odd rental. We are disappointed we never had any communication with this couple “before”, “during” or “after” the rental. We make ourselves available! A booking agency from Lower Michigan called to book the property, but we quickly discovered it wasn’t the actual traveler calling us, but rather a booking agency. They needed to receive an $85 fee for their efforts as the ‘travel agent’. We politely declined as our summer books full and while we appreciate her call, we don’t build in booking agent fees into our cost. In the end we agreed to add an $85 pet fee to the rental cost to cover our normal weekly rate. We then compensated the agency their $85 fee. Anyway, our mistake was not talking with the end renters directly to make sure they understood the details of this property. I’m pretty sure they never saw any images of the place prior to arrival. Mainly, we like everyone to understand our bathroom is very small. There is a shower, toilet and sink all in a small 4x6’ space so it is certainly tight quarters. The reference to the towels covering piping in the bathroom is misleading. We have a full length cloth cover (not a towel) which must cover the water supply and drain on the backside of the shower so there is access each fall when it is winterized). The screen door was fixed the day after they checked out as we were not alerted to the problem during their stay. This would have alleviated their fly problems. As for the fridge, it is a GE Fridge and is only 3 years old, purchased new, so the reference to it being a Mack Truck all night long is puzzling. It was checked out and appears to be operating fine. And, regarding the cleanliness, the cleaners are there each Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and the entire place is cleaned after each rental. I do not know what wasn’t to this couple’s standards, but if anyone has an issue upon arrival we can send the cleaners back as per our contract with them. I believe this couple wanted more modern and would have suggested our newer year-round place one mile away (but also $300 more per week). Better yet, simply visit our website (linked via VRBO) and click on all the tabs to see photos of the place. The only things different from the images is the exterior which has a new deck as of May 2012 and the interior cupboards have new countertops (2011).

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                  • Perfect Keweenaw Vacation!

                    Perfect Keweenaw Vacation!

                    • Guest WausauDad (Wausau Wisconsin)
                    • Date of stay 07/14/12
                    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
                    My family and I can't say enough about Loot's Lodge - it was exactly what we wanted! The location was central enough that we could get anywhere we wanted in under an hour, yet we were very isolated. The few neighbors on the cove were very friendly - one gentleman even taught my son how to hunt for agates! The beach has great sand and the swimming on the east side of the peninsula was amazing - I grew up on the south shore and this was so much warmer - we were in the water every day for hours. Both the separate screen house and sauna by the beach were perfectly located and frequently used as well - loved having a real wood burning sauna! This was really the perfect place for our family of 5 ( plus 2 giant schnauzers who loved the lake access!). Thank you very much and we will tell others and return ourselves!

                    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing, pet owners, families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                  • Guest comment entered by owner

                    • Guest Laury and Louise
                    • Date of stay 08/26/06
                    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
                    Man, this place is plush. Expected more of a 'cabin' feel. We thoroughly relaxed after relative's wedding. Didn't go down to the lake much, but the view is awesome from the deck. No berries left. Visited Copper Harbor and Captain Don, plus a few shops. This was so relaxing and everything is here we needed. Thanks so much!

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Guest comment entered by owner

                    • Guest Craig and Crystal
                    • Date of stay 08/12/06
                    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
                    What a Superior View!! Thanks for sharing your comfortable cabin with us. the beds were all comfy. We had everything we needed for 2 adults and 4 teens. We picked blueberries on a huge bush between the steps and the river plus made a great pie. Went on a fishing trip with Captain Bill--Lucky Strike--out of Lac Labelle--caught 10 lake trout + one salmon--Yummy! Found plenty of dead wood for campfires. Went to the Gay Bar to catch the Tigers games.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Guest comment entered by owner

                    • Guest Yonny and Jim
                    • Date of stay 07/29/06
                    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
                    We very much enjoyed our second stay at the cabin and enjoyed the improvements. This is a great spot and a very comfortable vacation home. The eagle continued to be a regular visitor and the raspberries were still going strong. We recommend the easy walking trails at the Estivant Pines Sanctuary near Copper Harbor.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Guest comment entered by owner

                    • Guest Susan & George
                    • Date of stay 07/22/06
                    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
                    We loved the raspberries which were ripe--the bears* left us enough to have with half and half. Delicious! We enjoyed seeing the Bald Eagle flying back and forth. The stars were spectacular on clear nights. The weather was good--cool compared to Carolina. *We didn't actually see any bears. The cottage is very comfortable. We had everything we needed.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Guest comment entered by owner

                    • Guest David and Sarah
                    • Date of stay 07/22/06
                    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
                    We've had a wonderful week. The days were sunny and hot and the evenings were pleasant. We loved the view from the house, porch and yard! Thanks for the well equipped kitchen and extra supplies. Our kids love walking on the rocky beach and up the Tobacco River. Our favorite beach was about 25 miles up the coast at Bete Gris. It had a white sandy beach and very few other people. We had a very relaxing and wonderful family vacation here. Thanks for the lovely place and all its provisions. P.S. Thanks for your black information book. It was very helpful. The fitness center in Laurium was very good and not far away.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Guest comment entered by owner

                    • Guest Gary and Ginny
                    • Date of stay 07/08/06
                    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
                    Wonderful! This is the best stocked rental we've ever stayed in. Could have left 1/2 of our junk at home. The week was all we had hoped for including an unexpcted, but typical, Superior pre-dawn storm. She put on quite a show for us! Waves, white caps, pink clouds ahead of the front, torrential rain and over in 45 minutes. Days were long, nights cool (over 90 degrees during the afternoons) and the stars brilliant Going home relaxed and refreshed and only wish we had another week! We will be back.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Guest comment entered by owner

                    • Guest Houston's
                    • Date of stay 12/28/06
                    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
                    Came for snowmobiling. First day not much snow, but second day received about 15 inches. We had a great time. Cabin was awesome. It exceeded our expectations. Overall...great time and would definitely come back.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                   
                  Rental basis: Per property
                  Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                  Base Rate
                  3 night min stay
                  $150

                  This owner accepts: Credit cards.
                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 04/15/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                   

                  Location

                  This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

                  • Nearest Airport: Houghton County at 25 Miles
                  • Nearest Motorway: Gay Laclabelle Rd at 0.25 Miles
                  • Nearest Beach: 0 feet at Calumet
                  • Nearest Barpub: Gay at 2 Miles
                  • Nearest Ski: Mt. Bohemia at 19 Miles
                  • Nearest Golf: Calumet Golf Club at 20 Miles
                  • Nearest Restaurant: Gay Bar at 2 Miles
                   

                  Owner info


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english

                   

                  Photos

                  • View of the beach at Hermit's Cove

                    View of the beach at Hermit's Cove

                  • View of living area and stairs to 2nd level

                    View of living area and stairs to 2nd level

                  • Sauna and outdoor shower

                    Sauna and outdoor shower

                  • View from the lake towards beach and cabin

                    View from the lake towards beach and cabin

                  • View of the Cove on a misty day

                    View of the Cove on a misty day

                  VRBO #37939

                  There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                  This listing was first published here in 2004.

                  Date last modified - Wednesday, November 20, 2013

                  $150 per night (USD)
                  26

                  2 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 11

                  View calendar: Updated 04/15/14
                  Minimum stay: 3 nights
                  Dates are unavailable
                  Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                  This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                  Get an instant quote
                  Email owner

                  612-723-2398

                  Speaks: english

                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now

                  advertisement