Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

French Quarter Condo [#379892] | View Property

French Quarter
Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$119 - $364
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Great Stay in a Great City

    Great Stay in a Great City

    • Guest Sue87 (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 03/15/14
    • Review Submitted 03/28/14
    We rented this condo for 6 nights and couldn't be happier with the entire experience. The condo is exactly as advertised. The unit is clean and comfortable. The bathroom is a little tight, but it's all the space you need. The bed was very comfortable. We slept well each night. It's great to have a kitchen for making coffee and having a fridge. The balcony is awesome with 2 chairs and a table overlooking a private courtyard that contains a fountain. Perfect location! We walked everywhere in the Quarter. The unit is so close to everything, yet it's on a quiet street so you're not hearing the drunken stumblebums from Bourbon all night. There are 2 bicycles available, and we anticipated using them but ended up hoofing it everywhere instead. It was a pleasure to do business with Lewin and Cathy. They promptly replied to each of our inquiries. Completion of the paperwork went smoothly. And they refunded our security deposit as soon as they received the keys. (Having rented vrbo properties in the past, I've found that sometimes people can drag their feet when it comes to refunding the deposit.) Also, we thought we might have to leave our bags in the unit for a bit after the checkout time, and Cathy was very accommodating. Even though we didn't have to take her up on the offer, we really appreciated it. Rent this unit! Lewin and Cathy are terrific. The location is awesome. And you'll get a far better experience here -- feeling like a local and saving some cash -- than if you were to stay in a hotel.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Who knew? We fell in love with NOLA.

    Who knew? We fell in love with NOLA.

    • Guest EO (Minneapolis/St. Paul)
    • Date of stay 11/08/13
    • Review Submitted 11/27/13
    I'm not sure what our expectations were going into this trip, but WOW, we were blown away by the WONDERFUL, AMAZING, INCREDIBLE city of New Orleans. The condo is located on a lovely, but SUPER quiet residential street. The condo itself is quaint, but perfect for a New Orleans visit. I much prefer this over a hotel. There is a grocery store across the street, where we bought coffee, beer, snacks, and a bottle of champagne (the next guests were lucky as we left this for them). There is also an AMAZING restaurant on the corner, basically across the street - the name is EAT. It's delicious - I highly recommend it for breakfast (btw, they encourage BYOB as they don't serve alcohol). Bourbon is literally two blocks away! Everything in the French Quarter is accessible by foot from this lovely property. I can't wait to return to this amazing city and we most definitely will be staying here.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Highly Recommended!

    Highly Recommended!

    • Guest Amber (United States)
    • Date of stay 07/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/31/13
    We truly enjoyed our experience in NOLA thanks to our lovely accommodations and the excellent customer service we received from the owners. The condo is located within a gated community with very friendly neighbors who invited us out to dinner and gave us art from their homes. Also, it's extremely close to all of the restaurants, galleries and markets in the French Quarter. We had zero issues at this location that couldn't be resolved immediately! If we were out of supplies, we called Cathy and she sent the maid over to replenish whatever we needed. Also, it's wonderful having a little kitchen for late night snacks and lazy mornings! The best part of the condo was that everyone who has stayed there left something for the next person. We arrived and found 3 cold beers in the fridge and coffee in the cupboard. Upon leaving, we left more cooking utensils, snacks, fresh veggies and some basic food items for the next person. If every person does that, then this condo will be stacked with awesome equipment and necessities for all to enjoy :) I felt like I was staying in my own condo for the week! Many thanks to Cathy and the neighbors for being such friendly and wonderful people!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • GREAT! RECOMMENDED 100%

    GREAT! RECOMMENDED 100%

    • Guest ENormS (Kentucky)
    • Date of stay 04/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/15/13
    Property, location, and amenities exactly as described. Traditional Quarter style and character. Clean & well maintained. Lewin was responsive & accomodating. Would book again, and would recommend to friends. Quarter Grocery with Deli just accross the street, is an excellent convenience, with hot food, Po-Boys, Red Beans & Rice

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!!!

    AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!!!

    • Guest Kyle (West Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 03/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/18/13
    My wife and I stayed in this condo during our vacation to NOLA. First of all, the location could not be better. The condo is located only a block and a half from Bourbon, there is a market on the corner, and an awesome, local restaurant across the street. You may be close to Bourbon but you are far enough away that you never hear a sound. The condo is on the third floor and entered through two locked gates through a beautiful, well maintained courtyard. We always felt safe, comfortable, and at ease. We rode the train down from Memphis so we did not have to worry with parking, so I cannot say much as to available parking. The condo is beautiful and very clean. Everything is new and in great condition. Understand the condo is a little small, but who comes to New Orleans to sit in their room all day? As long as you are comfortable with the person you are staying with there is no problem. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights and we absolutely loved it. We used to stay in a hotel, but never again. They are more expensive and not as close to the action. Plus you get the feeling of living in the quarter like a local. Its great. Also, the proprietor is wonderful to do business with. He was helpful, professional, and so easy to do business with. I would stay here again without hesitation and would recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable and Convenient Accomodations

    Comfortable and Convenient Accomodations

    • Guest emk5022 (PA)
    • Date of stay 03/04/13
    • Review Submitted 03/12/13
    Great location, just a few blocks from the French Quarter. Very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay in New Orleans and will definitely return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • New Orleans' Best

    New Orleans' Best

    • Guest john (ashland,al)
    • Date of stay 02/13/13
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    I have stayed at many properties in New Orleans during the past 20 years. This condo tops them all for comfort, quiet and location. Having Doreen and her street band play just around the corner every day is an added benefit. My wife and I walked down the stairs with a cup of coffee every day and enjoyed New Orleans' finest street musician (Doreen). The apartment was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed to relax and truly have an effortless vacation. Lewin is great to work with and his photographs and descriptions accurately reflected the true condition of the property and surroundings. WE'LL BE BACK!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A fantastic condo, you'll never stay at a NOLA hotel again!

    A fantastic condo, you'll never stay at a NOLA hotel again!

    • Guest Tara D.
    • Date of stay 12/06/12
    • Review Submitted 01/31/13
    We spent six fabulous nights in New Orleans at this condo, celebrating our 10th anniversary and it was really wonderful. The condo is comfortable and clean (just as it appears in the pictures), all the amenities you need are there and most importantly, it has the absolute best location you can think of in the quarter. It's located right behind the cathedral and surrounded by excellent restaurants and there is a small and reasonably priced grocer with a fair wine selection only a few doors down. The street performers are practically on your doorstep and you are within a very short walk to anywhere you want to go. The only complaint is that the lock on the front door of the building, not the unit, was not working properly which resulted in us being locked in and locked out on a few occasions! We notified the owner, Lewin, and he responded very quickly with some suggestions on how to fix it and when that didn't work he indicated he would take care of it. A note about the owner, he was very easy to work with, always available, friendly and prompt with his responses while we corresponded over email - exactly what a renter would want and we very much appreciated it. On the day we were leaving the door was being worked on by building maintenance, so I'm sure any future guests won't experience the problem. We felt very safe and at home during our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this condo to anyone looking for a real New Orleans experience. We plan to come back soon for another visit, and will definitely be choosing this condo again.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Hot Spot in French Quarter

    Hot Spot in French Quarter

    • Guest formularacer (Las Cruces, New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 11/04/12
    • Review Submitted 11/07/12
    This is one awesome VRBO unit loctaed in the heart of the New Orleans French Quarter......quaint and quiet. This is a hidden gem. No need to stay in a hotel when you can have a 1 bedroom private condo. Just walk out of the main entrance door, turn right, walk 50 feet and you have a nice grocery market on the corner of St. Paul and Royal St. that sells sodas and wines. Also has a deli. Go out, head one block over to the "hot spot" of the French Quarter "Bourbon Street". Head over 2 streets and you're on your way to Decatur Street, world famous Cafe Du Monde and the open air French Market.. No need to search for food or restaurants. Just walk down any French Quarter street and you have so many choices. World famous Pat O'Brians bar is just around the corner. Fine art gallery's and antiques shops becken the Royal Street area. I would highly recommend this unit. Perfect for a party of 2 people. Below in the hall, alley way is an art studio that adds ambience to the unit. Lewin the owner goes beyond the call of duty to please his guests. The condo is nicely decorated with a jazz theme, and offers large flat screen TV in living area, and bedroom. Unit also has Wi-Fi service. It's about a 10 minute cab ride from the cruise terminal and about 25 minutes to the airport. We arrived by cruise ship into New orleans, and never experienced the French Quarter. This was a first and the condo rental made our vacation very special. I highly recommend this VRBO rental when traveling to NOLA. The condo unit is located on the second floor, and there are no elevators. Back bedroom door opens to a beautiful balcony and private courtyard. Bicycles are available if you want to ride around the French Quarter.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fantastic Spot!

    Fantastic Spot!

    • Guest Kavan (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 09/26/12
    • Review Submitted 10/25/12
    I rented this great place for my parents visit. Lewin was a pleasure to deal with and took wonderful care of my folks. They absolutely loved the condo...close to everything, well appointed, super clean, couldn't be better - they made me sufficiently jealous for having not made the trip! Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Live like a local!

    Live like a local!

    • Guest Sherry C. (Cape Girardeau, MO)
    • Date of stay 09/15/12
    • Review Submitted 09/23/12
    My husband and I have made many trips to New Orleans, but this one was the best by far due to this WONDERFUL condo! I wasn't sure what to expect when we arrived, but it was absolutely beautiful and the pictures are exactly what you can expect. It's spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Working with Lewin was a seamless experience and he made everything so easy that I would not hestitate to recommend this place or any of his places to my friends or family. The bedroom is so comforatable and there is a small balcony that overlooks a courtyard with a fountain. It doesn't have any chairs, but it's still big enough to stand and drink coffee in the mornings. This kitchen has everything you will need. Rouses Market is just steps from here, so you can make breakfast in the condo and take your time getting ready and really feel like you're on vacation. Even though you're in the HEART of the French Quarter, you wouldn't know it by the peaceful atmosphere here. I truly felt as though I lived in the French Quarter. I hope to be a regular here and will come back again and again. Lewin, you have a gem in this place and I want to personally thank you for sharing it with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Condo

    Beautiful Condo

    • Guest Brady (Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    The condo was beautiful and newly updated. The location could not have been more perfect. Many thanks for a fantastic trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • My new favorite place to stay!!!

    My new favorite place to stay!!!

    • Guest Guy (Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/02/12
    • Review Submitted 10/29/12
    Lewin is very organized and makes it easy to get settled in. The condo is nicely decorated and has everything needed for a lengthy stay. The location couldn't be any better, step out of the door and you are next to art stores, corner grocery, resturants and the square. I normally get comped at the casino but will from now on pass my comps just to stay here!!! Its only 10 blocks from Harrah's. Thanks again Lewin we will see you soon.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The best stay I hve ever had in New Orleans

    The best stay I hve ever had in New Orleans

    • Guest Katrina T. (Desoto, Tx USA)
    • Date of stay 07/06/12
    • Review Submitted 07/27/12
    There is something about feeling right at home when you travel. This property provides just that. Perfect location to everything. I absolutely loved this place. It almost makes me want to move to NOLA!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great apartment, well furnished, confortable, amazing location

    Great apartment, well furnished, confortable, amazing location

    • Guest Evan (Evansville, IN)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/27/12
    I think this place is really just a hidden little gem here. It's truly amazing. If it fits your needs, which I'm sure it will, you simply can't do any better. Simply the best part, is the location. Often, we find ourselves giving up amazing location for overall costs. But that's just not true here. The apartment is located just behind St Louis Cathedral. It's dead center in the middle of the French Quarter, on beautiful Royal street among the shops, art galleries, and high end eateries. One block down from Bourbon, but a completely different world. People stroll Royal street all day window shopping, or enjoying amazing buskers' entertainment. Below the apartment, in the carriageway is a small art gallery, a treat to walk through. Apartment is secured with a front gate, locked courtyard door, and locking front and back doors. Two doors to unlock from any combination of entrances, so very well secured. The courtyard is nice, comfortable and cute. Snap some fun pictures in front of the fountain in the courtyard, through the art gallery carriageway. A traditional piece of NO style living that most visitors won't be able to see. Just down the street, literally a few steps away, is a great supermarket with everything you could need, at good prices. Supermarkets are very rare in the French Quarter, in fact, that might be the only one there. I think we popped in there every evening to pick up one thing or another. Preservation Hall is just around the same corner, as are a few great places to eat including the Gumbo Shop and the Old Coffeepot (great breakfast and gumbo). The rest of the French Quarter is easy to walk into. It's all around you after all. Get the excitement of Bourbon, then walk a block back home where it's nice and quiet again. Frenchman street and the great clubs it can supply is just a few blocks away. Surrounding neighborhoods easy to walk into, and Canal street and into the CBD and Garden district are all easy to access. Apartment is nicely furnished. Everything functions well, including the full kitchen and washer and dryer set. Comfortable bed, nice living room, relatively large kitchen area. Bathroom understandably small in an older building, but not terribly cramped. Full bathtub with a shower, sink, cabinets. Plenty of room. Very quiet, very clean, even decorated nicely with local artwork and musical instruments. Bikes a plus, very bikable area.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Charm of New Orleans

    Charm of New Orleans

    • Guest MN Couple (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 02/28/12
    This truly was a great place to stay and we could not have asked for more. The unit was decorated tastefully, has all the amenities of home, and was a quiet getaway. Lewin is professional, clearly cares about his tenants and ensures you have the information you need to make the most of your stay. There is so much to do and see right out your front door and if you want to travel you are close to at least two street car lines. We certainly plan to return to New Orleans in the future and hope to stay again if available.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • This was a perfect location for easy access to French Quarter activities

    This was a perfect location for easy access to French Quarter activities

    • Guest Ellen (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 10/20/11
    • Review Submitted 10/26/11
    Our recent stay in New Orleans was enhanced with our stay in this charming unit located in the heart of the French Quarter—like living in a piece of history, but updated with all the modern conveniences. With a nice corner grocery just steps away, we stocked up on breakfast foods and snacks, since the kitchen was fully equipped. The bed was really comfortable and the unit was clean and decorated nicely and the VRBO photos well represented the unit. I loved having central air and wifi access, too. If you like biking, having the two bikes furnished by the owner, Lewin, for exploring the New Orleans neighborhoods was a plus. We had three women there and felt really safe at all times—inside or out. The unit was really quiet and on the second floor, so there is a flight of stairs to consider, but wasn't a problem for us. The balcony was charming and we enjoyed chatting with the friendly neighbors. The location was perfect for walking to the close by fabulous New Orleans sights—Jackson Square, Café du Monde, the exhibits at the Presbytere, St.Louis Cathedral, Pat O’Briens, Bourbon St., to name a few.. Great jazz and blues music were just blocks away at Preservation Hall and Frenchmen St., to say nothing of the great impromptu street musicians that played on the corner on Royal St. in the day. Art galleries, antique shopping, and all manner of artisan stores were to be found within walking distance on Royal St. Great chef restaurants were an easy walk (Bayonna, yum!) and reasonably priced breakfasts or lunches could be had at the new Camellia Grill, just a short walk away. Lewin couldn’t have made it easier to rent or get access. I’m returning here again next year for sure and bringing my sister for that trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Charming French Quarter Retreat

    Charming French Quarter Retreat

    • Guest Stan G. (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 09/30/11
    • Review Submitted 10/13/11
    Just steps in any direction from world class restaurants, jazz clubs, antiques, and fine art galleries, this Royal Street beauty is a rare find in The City That Care Forgot. Located in a gorgeous historic building, the flat has everything to soothe the senses of the most avid foodie, musician, power shopper, reveler, or history buff. With The Historic New Orleans Collections up the street and the Pontalba family's legacy to New Orleans - Jackson Square - a quick walk through Pirates Alley you are located in the epicenter of everything that gives the Big Easy her name. The well proportioned and appointed flat has a designers eye to detail and meets all the creature comforts necessary to make a great trip memorable. Thanks Lewin for sharing you sweet gem. Laissez les bon temps roulet!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Location, Location, Location!!

    Location, Location, Location!!

    • Guest ADS (Madison, MS)
    • Date of stay 09/24/11
    • Review Submitted 09/26/11
    We enjoyed the French Quarter charm and character of this condo, Exceptional convenience to the french quarter and area restaurants. This condo is perfect--it was fully equipped with everything we needed. The large flat screen tvs were perfect for watching football. The furishings are very nice and comfortable. Booking was easy and Levin was always available to answer our questions. Thanks, Levin, for sharing your place with us. We hope to return soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]