Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

"Shake Down" Spacious Newly Renovated Gulf Front Great Views

You sent a message to this manager.

enjoy the view from the deck or screened porch

enjoy the view from the deck or screened porch Breezy loft, CD and VHS capability and free wireless and long distance calls! full kitchen open to dining and living areas! Dine here or in full screen porch (that has its own table and chairs) Rest easy in queen master or in separate queen room or 4-bunk room!

Calendar

Last updated: 03/27/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:Contact manager
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Other Cape San Blas Properties house description

Book now for discount before peak rental season begins!
Rare near-Gulf-front property on the number one beach in the United States (as determined by "Dr. Beach") with breathtaking views of both the Gulf and the bay. The home sits about 50 yards from the beach, with a short walk (about 50 yards) between two other homes to the surf on a wooden boardwalk. One of the closer homes just got relocated (moving elsewhere to higher ground) so the view just got even better!

"Shake Down" gets its name from the charming shake siding on the home. The home has been newly painted and renovated and boasts a light, airy decor with lots of windows. The views are unbelievable, the house totally comfortable. Book early before all the availability is gone. You will want to be just steps from the crystal waters off the pristine St. Joe Peninsula, home of St. Joe State Park and the best nature trails, scalloping, fishing, wildlife viewing, canoeing, kayaking, snorkling, biking, motor boating and other activities in the "Forgotten Coast," which is also close to the nearby historic Apalachicola (fine dining, antiques, boutiques and market shopping) and Panama City and Mexico City (for those with a wilder side). Great golf is minutes away in Port St. Joe.

The features and amenities of Shake Down include:
* Ground Level: Large driveway, underneath parking, and outside shower. Boardwalk to the beach.
* First Level: Newly renovated, full kitchen (open to living and dining areas), master bedroom and bath with a TV (with integrated dvd/vcr) and Jacuzzi tub. Tiled flooring throughout the cathedral ceiling living area. Living area has two sofas (one a queen-size sleeper), many comfortable chairs and tables, and French doors leading out onto an open deck with a great view of the ocean. Living area has a TV with integrated dvd and vcr players and stereo. Screened porch and charcoal grill.
* Second Level: Bedroom with two sets of bunk beds (will sleep four). Bedroom with a queen-size bed and TV. Full bath. Open sun deck with gorgeous views of both the Gulf and bay.
* Home is professionally managed by the area's largest and most respected management company (complete with maintenance staff and housekeeping). FREE WIRELESS INTERNET AND LONG DISTANCE CALLS! Beautiful screen porch.

Leave the city stress behind and enjoy the serenity of Shake Down on the Cape!

Keywords: Oceanfront House

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Long-Term Renters Welcome
          • Children Welcome
          • Pets Considered
          • Non Smoking Only

          Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 8

          Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Oven
          • Freezer
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Toaster
          • Coffee Maker
          • Dishwasher
          • Kitchen
          • Ice Maker
          • Microwave
          • Refrigerator

          Amenities

          • Linens Provided
          • Air Conditioning
          • Clothes Dryer
          • Covered Parking
          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
          • Parking
          • Parking Off Street
          • Washing Machine
          • Heating

          Other Amenities

              • 3 tvs, DVD and VCR, All Cooking Utensils provided. Almost beachfront--just 50 yards on dedicated boardwalk (no streets to cross)....moreless

              Entertainment

              • Stereo
              • Television
              • Satellite / Cable
              • VCR
              • DVD Player
              • CD Player

              Communications

              • Telephone
              • Free Long Distance
              • Internet
              • Wireless Internet

              Pool & Spa

              • Jetted Tub
              • Jacuzzi

              Outdoor Features

              • Outdoor Grill
              • Deck / Patio
              • Balcony

              Theme

              • Away From It All
              • Family

              Location & View

              • Beach View:

                essentially beach front--nothing in front, and no roads to cross...moreless

              • Ocean View:

                essentially beach front--nothing in front, and no roads to cross...moreless

              • Oceanfront:

                essentially beach front--nothing in front, and no roads to cross...moreless

              Activities

              • Surf Fishing
              • Snorkeling
              • Cycling
              • Water Skiing
              • Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
              • Shuffleboard
              • Fly Fishing
              • Deepsea Fishing
              • Swimming
              • Hiking
              • Snorkeling/Diving
              • Basketball Court
              • Golf
              • Tennis
              • Sailing
              • Fishing
              • Wind-Surfing
              • Reefs
              • Churches
              • Scenic Drives
              • Horseback Riding
              • Restaurants
              • Live Theater
              • Bay/Sound
              • Cinemas
              • Walking
              • Sight Seeing
              • Horseshoes
              • Boating
              • Miniature Golf
              • Shopping
              • Bird Watching
              • Shelling
              • Wildlife Viewing

              Other Activities

                  • dolphin watching and much more!
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Great layout and access to beach

                    Great layout and access to beach

                    • Guest Barry (Dallas, Rexas)
                    • Date of stay 06/29/13
                    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
                    My family stayed here the week of 6/29/13. We were pleasantly surprised that the house is actually much closer to beach than anticipated with great views from the two decks. It has a great layout and we were very comfortable. Having a store just across the street camr in very handy. We would definitely like to return.

                    Recommended for: Pet owners, families with teenagers, families with young children.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Awesome views, great location, but Frat House conditions

                    Awesome views, great location, but Frat House conditions

                    • Guest Athlete's Feet (Atlanta, GA)
                    • Date of stay 04/01/11
                    • Review Submitted 04/12/11
                    Perfect location & beach access, but re: the house, I'm not sure where to start. The furniture, carpets & floors didn't appear clean when we walked in. The furniture & carpets required a cleaning company to come steam clean during our stay. Silverware was old, falling apart & gross. It needed to be replaced and was. Kitchen was not cleaned well before our stay. There were stains, food particles, and dried food on the counters & the grout on the tile counter was nasty & awful. There were broken knives in the droor, plus the coffee maker was broken too. I picked up a nasty case of athletes foot on 8 of my toes, which was surprising as I forgot to put on shoes once during a short trip from the bedroom to the kitchen. 15 paces without something covering my feet - I couldn't believe it. My feet bothered me the entire week. None of the linens were very comfortable & felt clean. The lack of comfortable deck furniture was diappointing too - just a bunch of random plastic chairs. There was food left in the cabinent from a previous renter above the microwave. The property needs to be sanitized. It's an older home, which we didn't mind, but the fact the home wasn't cleaned thouroghly really added to our apprehension staying there. Walking up to the door and seeing the blinds were broken & cut up gave me that 'oh no' feeling. We had friends that rented places that were newer & better kept for the same amount of $. Overall we were disappointed with the property, but loved the location.

                    Recommended for: Pet owners.

                    Manager response: This is a darn shame. We always receive very favorable reviews, but this review apparently resulted from our decision to deviate from policy and rent to underage minors (who apparently left the place in disarray), and then having a local cleaning company (we live in Delaware) fail to properly do their job (for which they are paid handsomely each week). As a result, we fired our cleaning company and immediately took curative measures: new blinds (and actually entirely new French doors to the patio and outside with new blinds on them), new coffee maker, new silverware (and other utensils), etc. I would appreciate all renters to email me immediately with comments and a full report so that in the future, any problems are immediately addressed and do not linger. We sincerely apologize for this. We really want this place to be the "Wow" rental it has been. I have a management company monitor the property and their website has many reviews of this place--all extremely positive. I can send you that list of reviews. .... It is now a year later and so I am updating this. We have had numerous satisfied renters. We replaced all the furniture and silverware, etc. Please check our listing on other sites (e.g., Pristine Properties) for a list of favorable reviews.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                  • July 2010 Stay at Shakedown

                    July 2010 Stay at Shakedown

                    • Guest Matty (Memphis, TN)
                    • Date of stay 07/25/10
                    • Review Submitted 01/13/11
                    We stayed here for a week in July 2010. As the other review said, the location was ideal -- steps to the beach and yet, the BP was also very near for a gallon of milk, beer, whatever. The views of the beach were great also, as was the outdoor shower and the deck that faced the beach. The home was full of light, and had an open feeling to it, and the kitchen was large and bright. My disappoint though was the following - wanted a screened porch, because the bugs are bad at night; there was a screened porch, but it had a large tear in one of the screens and the deck / porch furniture was dollar store quality and minimal. There was no TV in the master bedroom as advertised, and I called the rental company, left a message, but no response. The TV in the bunk bedroom also did not work. The living room furniture has seen better days. Overall for the price, this is a decent rental, but with a few improvements, it could easily go from an okay rental to a WOW rental.

                    Recommended for: Girls getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                   
                  Peak season (summer, holidays and breaks): $2200/week (not including fees)
                  Spring and Fall: discounts of 25-35%.  Winter: 45% discount.
                  Monthly rentals (we get a lot of these) also discounted.
                  Discount for early bookings, e.g., received in May for fall or winter.
                  Pets accepted with $150 extra fee
                  Call/email for dates/availability and last minute deals.
                  

                  Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.


                  This manager accepts: Credit cards.
                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 03/27/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                   

                  Location

                   

                  Manager info

                  Year Purchased: 2003

                  About: I still remember my childhood days frolicking in the surf with my dogs. This is the best beach where I can do that freely.

                  Why Other Cape San Blas Properties:
                  I chose this house to buy because it is directly across from the Bp station and convenience store. There are obviously many beach properties, but few that offer the freedom to walk to purchase some ice cream, sundries, reading materials or even beer, rather than getting into the car. This facilitates the easygoing spirit I enjoy so much on the Cape.

                  The Unique Benefits at this House:
                  It is such a short walk to the beach (or the store)! The screen porch provides the perfect respite from any nightime creatures!


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english

                   

                  Photos

                  • enjoy the view from the deck or screened porch

                    enjoy the view from the deck or screened porch

                  • full kitchen open to dining and living areas!

                    full kitchen open to dining and living areas!

                  • Rest easy in queen master or in separate queen room or 4-bunk room!

                    Rest easy in queen master or in separate queen room or 4-bunk room!

                  • Breezy loft, CD and VHS capability and free wireless and long distance calls!

                    Breezy loft, CD and VHS capability and free wireless and long distance calls!

                  • Dine here or in full screen porch (that has its own table and chairs)

                    Dine here or in full screen porch (that has its own table and chairs)

                  VRBO #38116

                  There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                  This listing was first published here in 2004.

                  Date last modified - Wednesday, April 23, 2014

                  3

                  3 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 8

                  View calendar: Updated 03/27/14
                  Manager
                  Email manager

                  (302) 622-7160

                  Speaks: english

                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now

                  advertisement