"Shake Down" Spacious Newly Renovated Gulf Front Great Views
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact manager
- Pets allowed:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Book now for discount before peak rental season begins!
Rare near-Gulf-front property on the number one beach in the United States (as determined by "Dr. Beach") with breathtaking views of both the Gulf and the bay. The home sits about 50 yards from the beach, with a short walk (about 50 yards) between two other homes to the surf on a wooden boardwalk. One of the closer homes just got relocated (moving elsewhere to higher ground) so the view just got even better!
"Shake Down" gets its name from the charming shake siding on the home. The home has been newly painted and renovated and boasts a light, airy decor with lots of windows. The views are unbelievable, the house totally comfortable. Book early before all the availability is gone. You will want to be just steps from the crystal waters off the pristine St. Joe Peninsula, home of St. Joe State Park and the best nature trails, scalloping, fishing, wildlife viewing, canoeing, kayaking, snorkling, biking, motor boating and other activities in the "Forgotten Coast," which is also close to the nearby historic Apalachicola (fine dining, antiques, boutiques and market shopping) and Panama City and Mexico City (for those with a wilder side). Great golf is minutes away in Port St. Joe.
The features and amenities of Shake Down include:
* Ground Level: Large driveway, underneath parking, and outside shower. Boardwalk to the beach.
* First Level: Newly renovated, full kitchen (open to living and dining areas), master bedroom and bath with a TV (with integrated dvd/vcr) and Jacuzzi tub. Tiled flooring throughout the cathedral ceiling living area. Living area has two sofas (one a queen-size sleeper), many comfortable chairs and tables, and French doors leading out onto an open deck with a great view of the ocean. Living area has a TV with integrated dvd and vcr players and stereo. Screened porch and charcoal grill.
* Second Level: Bedroom with two sets of bunk beds (will sleep four). Bedroom with a queen-size bed and TV. Full bath. Open sun deck with gorgeous views of both the Gulf and bay.
* Home is professionally managed by the area's largest and most respected management company (complete with maintenance staff and housekeeping). FREE WIRELESS INTERNET AND LONG DISTANCE CALLS! Beautiful screen porch.
Leave the city stress behind and enjoy the serenity of Shake Down on the Cape!
Keywords: Oceanfront House
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome
- Pets Considered
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 8
- Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds (4)
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Clothes Dryer
- Covered Parking
- Linens Provided
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Washing Machine
- Air Conditioning
- CD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Free Long Distance
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
Location & View
- Basketball Court
- Water Skiing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Live Theater
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
- Miniature Golf
- dolphin watching and much more!
ReviewsWrite a review
Awesome views, great location, but Frat House conditions
Awesome views, great location, but Frat House conditions
Perfect location & beach access, but re: the house, I'm not sure where to start. The furniture, carpets & floors didn't appear clean when we walked in. The furniture & carpets required a cleaning company to come steam clean during our stay. Silverware was old, falling apart & gross. It needed to be replaced and was. Kitchen was not cleaned well before our stay. There were stains, food particles, and dried food on the counters & the grout on the tile counter was nasty & awful. There were broken knives in the droor, plus the coffee maker was broken too. I picked up a nasty case of athletes foot on 8 of my toes, which was surprising as I forgot to put on shoes once during a short trip from the bedroom to the kitchen. 15 paces without something covering my feet - I couldn't believe it. My feet bothered me the entire week. None of the linens were very comfortable & felt clean. The lack of comfortable deck furniture was diappointing too - just a bunch of random plastic chairs. There was food left in the cabinent from a previous renter above the microwave. The property needs to be sanitized. It's an older home, which we didn't mind, but the fact the home wasn't cleaned thouroghly really added to our apprehension staying there. Walking up to the door and seeing the blinds were broken & cut up gave me that 'oh no' feeling. We had friends that rented places that were newer & better kept for the same amount of $. Overall we were disappointed with the property, but loved the location.
- Guest Athlete's Feet
- Date of stay 04/01/11
- Review Submitted 04/12/11
Recommended for: Pet owners.
Owner response: This is a darn shame. We always receive very favorable reviews, but this review apparently resulted from our decision to deviate from policy and rent to underage minors (who apparently left the place in disarray), and then having a local cleaning company (we live in Delaware) fail to properly do their job (for which they are paid handsomely each week). As a result, we fired our cleaning company and immediately took curative measures: new blinds (and actually entirely new French doors to the patio and outside with new blinds on them), new coffee maker, new silverware (and other utensils), etc. I would appreciate all renters to email me immediately with comments and a full report so that in the future, any problems are immediately addressed and do not linger. We sincerely apologize for this. We really want this place to be the "Wow" rental it has been. I have a management company monitor the property and their website has many reviews of this place--all extremely positive. I can send you that list of reviews. .... It is now a year later and so I am updating this. We have had numerous satisfied renters. We replaced all the furniture and silverware, etc. Please check our listing on other sites (e.g., Pristine Properties) for a list of favorable reviews.
July 2010 Stay at Shakedown
July 2010 Stay at Shakedown
We stayed here for a week in July 2010. As the other review said, the location was ideal -- steps to the beach and yet, the BP was also very near for a gallon of milk, beer, whatever. The views of the beach were great also, as was the outdoor shower and the deck that faced the beach. The home was full of light, and had an open feeling to it, and the kitchen was large and bright. My disappoint though was the following - wanted a screened porch, because the bugs are bad at night; there was a screened porch, but it had a large tear in one of the screens and the deck / porch furniture was dollar store quality and minimal. There was no TV in the master bedroom as advertised, and I called the rental company, left a message, but no response. The TV in the bunk bedroom also did not work. The living room furniture has seen better days. Overall for the price, this is a decent rental, but with a few improvements, it could easily go from an okay rental to a WOW rental.
- Guest Matty
- Date of stay 07/25/10
- Review Submitted 01/13/11
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Peak season (summer, holidays and breaks): $2200/week (not including fees) Spring and Fall: discounts of 25-35%. Winter: 45% discount. Monthly rentals (we get a lot of these) also discounted. Discount for early bookings, e.g., received in May for fall or winter. Pets accepted with $150 extra fee Call/email for dates/availability and last minute deals.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Call the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Year Purchased: 2003
About: I still remember my childhood days frolicking in the surf with my dogs. This is the best beach where I can do that freely.
Why Other Cape San Blas Properties:
I chose this house to buy because it is directly across from the Bp station and convenience store. There are obviously many beach properties, but few that offer the freedom to walk to purchase some ice cream, sundries, reading materials or even beer, rather than getting into the car. This facilitates the easygoing spirit I enjoy so much on the Cape.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
It is such a short walk to the beach (or the store)! The screen porch provides the perfect respite from any nightime creatures!
- Primary: (302) 622-7160
- Secondary: (302) 897-7886 (Delaware, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
enjoy the view from the deck or screened porch
full kitchen open to dining and living areas!
Rest easy in queen master or in separate queen room or 4-bunk room!
Breezy loft, CD and VHS capability and free wireless and long distance calls!
Dine here or in full screen porch (that has its own table and chairs)
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2004.
Date last modified - Thursday, May 23, 2013