Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front view of property. Note the large deck.

Ocean View, Upscale and Spacious, Right Off Steps Beach [#382810] | View Property

Rincon
Apartment, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 2-7)
$200 - $225/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Awesome get away!

    Awesome get away!

    • Guest Annie
    • Date of stay 03/02/14
    • Review Submitted 03/08/14
    This house was perfect for my friends and I. Being a bunch of girls, we were very impressed with the house. The interior of the house is very spacious, relatively modern, and cozy. There were plenty of beach and shower towels for all of us. We had a total of nine girls and fit perfectly. Awesome location: Steps Beach is very close to the house along with surf spots such as Marias and Domes. Yes, it's on a 413 but it is in a very convienent area with a coffee shop less than half a mile up the rode. The porch was the best part. Very big and comfy. Everyone we would wake up and sit on the porch and in the afternoon watch the sunset. The family downstairs was very sweet and had an adorable dog. Always made sure the gate was shut! Overall, we had an awesome time in a wonderful beach house. My friends and I were more than pleased and Luis, the owner, was more than willing to help and accommodate my friends and I throughout our stay. Thanks again Luis! Keep up the good work!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: Agree 100%.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Such a great beach getaway location!

    Such a great beach getaway location!

    • Guest Megan D.
    • Date of stay 02/20/14
    • Review Submitted 03/09/14
    Stayed here for a week with 4 girlfriends and we had such a great time! Rincon is known for being a great surfing town, but it's also just a great quiet beach town too! The house was as great as promised in the listing, and Luis was incredibly responsive and helpful to any questions or things that came up throughout the week. We spent most of our days out--on the many beaches of Rincon, snorkeling, etc. We used the kitchen a ton--almost all breakfasts and dinners we ate at the house. The kitchen was great and the deck overlooking the ocean was amazing for meals and sunset cocktails. I would definitely stay here again and suggest this house and location to any friends looking for a beach getaway!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Agree 100%

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Not what we expected, bring earplugs.

    Not what we expected, bring earplugs.

    • Guest Rinconman (Oregon, Northwest)
    • Date of stay 01/24/14
    • Review Submitted 02/07/14
    The biggest disappointment is that the house is on the busiest road in Rincon, and because the house is all masonry and concrete, all noises are amplified and you will need earplugs if you want to sleep. There is a rental property across the street that had a noisy group of guys staying up late in the pool every night. The kitchen has everything you would need but the kitchen faucet doesn't adjust temperature. As for listing photos, the house has seen a lot of wear and tear since they were taken. The view is just a peek of the ocean, and the deck is exposed and not a pleasant place to hang out, and some deck boards are rotten and have fallen through, have not been replaced, and so watch your step or you may break an ankle. The stairs are tile and have some grime on them that makes them absolutely dangerous and slippery as ice when wet, and there is no handrail to grab on to. The gate to the parking area doesn't work so you'll be parking on the street/sidewalk. I'd look elsewhere next time.

    Owner response: It's unfortunate that the guests staying in the rental property in the front were unruly and noisy. It's incumbent on the guest , however, to request discretion from these neighbors, and if that doesn't work, call the police. Rincon , like any other town, has ordinances that require people to quiet down by a certain hour. Most guests who go to Rincon go for the weather, and would prefer an unenclosed deck , with cover if the elements , such as rain, require. The deck in the property has large roll up awnings exactly for that purpose. The deck boards mentioned by the guest have been fixed, and most guests enjoy the deck so much they have a hard time leaving it. Further, most guests love the view from the deck. The parking gate was fixed and the stairs have cement handrails on both sides. Finally, this guest actually requested to extend his stay for another day, which is inconsistent with the overall tone that his stay was unpleasant. Like the saying goes you can't please everyone 100% of the time, but I strive to do so anyways.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Surfer's Paradise

    Surfer's Paradise

    • Guest Patty M.
    • Date of stay 12/22/13
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    We are a family of 7 and have stayed here numerous times because we love the apartment and location. The view and deck are spectacular, the kitchen and amenities are wonderful. We love to surf and you are located near all the best surf Puerto Rico has to offer. Very near to Domes, Marias, Sandy Beach, etc. and a short drive to Isabella spots as well. Whether the owners brother is downstairs or someone is renting there is always someone nice and friendly in the downstairs apartment. We hope to continue to come back to this Beautiful place year after year!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I agree.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect stay, great location, amazing deck

    Perfect stay, great location, amazing deck

    • Guest L L. (New York City)
    • Date of stay 12/05/13
    • Review Submitted 12/28/13
    The apartment was upscale and spacious, just like the listing and photos. It was good weather when we were in Rincon and we didn't really need the A/C, the windows and ceiling fans were fine. I really enjoyed the large deck and made sure to have breakfast out there as many mornings as possible. We also utilized the spacious kitchen. It's mere minutes away from a few beaches, right on Route 413. There were beach chairs and most amenities for a quick trip to the beach. Very close to some good restaurants including La Copa Llena which is great for watching the sunset while having a drink. The apartment is near Step's Beach, the marina, the lighthouse and less than five minutes from the main part of town. Only two drawbacks were the wireless that did not work consistently (hard wired internet worked but I have a Mac without an ethernet plug but my friend had a PC). I reached the owner and also spoke with his brother but we never got it resolved. However, both were reachable. Also, the apartment is right on Route 413 so there is way more vehicular traffic than I expected and thus, it can be noisy. Overall a great apartment, great location, fantastic low key town. I would definitely recommend and come back again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I agree. Wireless issue was resolved- apparently a faulty router.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing house at a great location!

    Amazing house at a great location!

    • Guest Philip F. (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    The house couldn't have been in a better location. It is walking distance to a great snorkeling beach. Super super close to nice restaurants, dive shops, board rentals and more. The owner was very nice, informative, and helpful. I highly recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Agree 100 percent with review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great house and great location

    great house and great location

    • Guest rxygrl (Daytona Beach Florida)
    • Date of stay 03/29/13
    • Review Submitted 04/15/13
    We stayed here with my son in March and loved the apt from the time we walked in! It was actually as described and beautiful. The deck is great and has a grill to use while you watch the ocean and the most amazing sunsets right from the deck. The kitchen is well equipped and while the stovetop was missing the hotplate provided did just fine for us! They provide chairs and coolers and we had everything we needed. The TVS work great and the fans keep the living room cool. We enjoyed daily visits from princess the dog and the two kittens downstairs. The house is very quiet and the location was perfect. A short walk to the best snorkeling around! We will return soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Agree. Stove top is a premium Viking brand which required replacement parts be shipped from US. Should be back in place for visitors enjoyment shortly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • It was a Dream!

    It was a Dream!

    • Guest Hanna T.
    • Date of stay 03/14/13
    • Review Submitted 01/21/14
    The apartment was a dream. Honestly, we couldn't have asked for a more accommodating, spacious... did I mention beautiful property in Rincon. If your apprehensive about traveling to Rincon, be careful, you may never want to leave… Located directly off of the main road — 413 (Surfer's Road to Happiness), the property is right across the street from Steps Beach. Steps beach is one of Rincon's best snorkeling locations — definitely a most-do while your there! Once your done snorkeling at Steps, you can pick up some tasty Empañadillas from the food truck at the main alcove. The house is very centrally located. The many other popular beaches are located just minutes away from the house in either direction. We had a couple of surfers on the trip who frequented Domes (not even 5 minutes away). The house was also in very close proximity to a juice cafe, which I highly recommend as it was a frequent pit-stop of ours. The home had all of the amenities you could ask for as well as little stuff like sunscreen, coolers, and beach chairs that were a very sweet added amenity that many vacation homes don't offer. We very much enjoyed cooking meals together in the home's large kitchen. We had a pretty big crowd of 9 (sometimes more), but there was plenty of space for everyone! We had an awesome time hanging out with our friends and neighbors on the HUGE front porch. Anytime we were home — we were enjoying that porch. We set up a couple of hammocks along with the seating that was provided, spending our evenings watching the sunsets setting over the ocean and Desecheo Island. The owner was extremely helpful and quick to return emails while planning for our trip and he was incredibly accommodating. I can say that after staying at this place — as soon as I boarded my plane, I was already planning my trip back! We were extremely happy and comfortable and can't wait to return! Thank you so much Luis!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • week in Rincon

    week in Rincon

    • Guest Jane ( Minneapolis)
    • Date of stay 01/06/13
    • Review Submitted 01/15/13
    My family of 6 stayed here for a week and loved it. My children are young adults and commented on how comfortable the house was. It was conveniently located (driving distance) to the many fun beaches in Rincon. It was very clean and offered everything we wanted and more. the owner was very response to the few questions I had. I would highly recommend this home. We loved it. There was a great road side stand on the way to the beach that was the best food we tasted on the island. Try him he is terrific. Renting snorkels and surf boards just down the road at Maria's beach was cheap and easy.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Agree 100%.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation Property

    Great Vacation Property

    • Guest Joe R.
    • Date of stay 12/01/12
    • Review Submitted 12/08/12
    This is the second level of a 2-Floor house, which is completely consistent with the owner's description with the photos accurately depicting the condition, cleanliness and arrangement of the property. The property is kept clean between stays by an owner hired cleaning person. It is totally updated inclusive a modern kitchen with granite countertops, A/C units in each of the 3 BR's, fans in all rooms, wi-fi, flat screen TV's (3) and a huge deck facing the water and beautiful sunsets. The owner has equipped this living unit with every imaginable kitchen appliance and kitchen implement to make a stay feel like you are at home. In addition, the owner was extremely cooperative in answering questions and providing directions and details. I feel extremely comfortable in highly recommending this property as a vacation rental. We very much enjoyed our stay for the last week. The only complaint that we had was that our week of vacation ended much too quickly. Thanks Luis! :-)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Agree 100%.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing trip, great location, couldn't have been happier!

    Amazing trip, great location, couldn't have been happier!

    • Guest Marcos (Florida)
    • Date of stay 11/17/12
    • Review Submitted 12/11/12
    My family and I stayed here over Thanksgiving 2012 and were very happy with the entire vacation. The four of us ,spouse, son (age 7), and daughter( age 3) were pleasantly surprised by our spacious and super cool accomodations in Rincon. The condo is just as described, very spacious and well equipped for just about any occasion. The enormous lanai is perfect for lounging and taking in the sunsets. You can walk to the beach from the condo with ease and there are many dining options nearby.The owner was very helpful during the booking process and his brother was onsite during our visit to answer any questions that we had. We will be returning to Rincon soon and, look forward to staying with them again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Agree 100%.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Spacious and convenient apartment - great stay

    Spacious and convenient apartment - great stay

    • Guest opheliamaya (Brussels, Belgium)
    • Date of stay 08/10/12
    • Review Submitted 09/01/12
    We recently spent a week in Rincon and stayed at this apartment. We had a wonderful time. The property is very well maintained and clean. It is very very spacious with a great terrace from which you have a view to the street. It is equipped with fans in all rooms and air conditioning in the bedrooms. It provides plenty of towels and linens, even beach towels and cooler. The kitchen is huge and contains everything you might need. We also took advantage of the snorkeling equipment - the beach across the sea is perfect for snorkeling. On one day the water pressure went down and the cistern back-up worked perfectly. Location is perfect for sightseeing and access to the beaches. It is close to "the English Rose" where we had breakfast on several occasions. We also had dinner at "Villa Cofresi" and we really recommend it. Last but not least, the owner was a pleasure to deal with, very responsive and courteous. The owner's brother was on site to welcome us when we arrived, he was equally nice and helpful, helping us whenever we had questions, even helping us carry the suitcases to the apartment! He also called us to make sure everything was going well during our stay. We really hope we can return and stay here in the future! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Agree 100%

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest St. Louis Cardinals Fans (DC)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/23/12
    One word sums up this apartment, its location, and Rincon, in general: Perfect. Two minute walk to the closest beaches (Tres Palmas Marine Reserve and Steps Beach). Owner provides beach chairs, towels, and a small cooler. Snorkeling is great, and you can rent gear at Taino's Surf Shop or set up dives and snorkeling trips there. Nearby is a lady who lets you pick fresh mangoes that have fallen from her tree. My kids did this twice and ate them while bobbing in the ocean. The apartment itself sleeps 7, and the bedroom with the 3 twin beds is great for those who don't want to share the super-comfy queen or full beds in the other two bedrooms. From the tile floors and bathrooms to the decorations, this apartment screams BEACH VACATION! There is AC and ceiling fans in all of the bedrooms. There are ceiling fans in the great room, where you find the kitchen, living area with lots of seating, and big screen TV. No need for AC in the great room. Just throw open the windows, two sets of double doors, and turn on the fans, and the place stays remarkably cool during the day. The kitchen is a cook's kitchen with granite countertops, a five burner gas stove in a center island that seats 7 people, and nearly every kitchen utensil or small appliance you can think of (espresso, blender, coffee, toaster oven, toaster, food processor, salad spinner, knives, cocktail shaker, etc. The only thing missing, really, is a baking dish, but who wants to use the oven! Actually, we did, and it's a convection oven. Very fast.) Spend evenings and mornings out on the deck that spans the front of the apartment (pictured). There, you have two to three more living spaces: dining table, couch, chairs, and benches. You can also spray off the excess sand from the beach on the deck shower. For those who like to run, walk, or bike, downtown Rincon is about a mile and a half in one direction, and Domes Beach is about the same in the other direction. I walked every morning past pastures with cows, horses, gorgeous flamboyan trees, fruit trees, and ocean views to El Faro (the lighthouse) and Domes Beach. Also walked to town. An exercise class gathers in the town square there every morning. The ice cream place is awesome, and there's a great local art gallery, where Elke will teach you how to make seaglass jewelry during an incredibly affordable two hour class. Walk to Shipwreck and Calypso, or drive five minutes to Sandy Beach, Pool Bar, Red Flamboyan, Lazy Parrot, Banana Dang. Aguada's close, too!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: I try my best to provide a well rounded and comfortable Rincon vacation experience. Agree 100%.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great View!!!

    Great View!!!

    • Guest Zoty (Fresno, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/10/12
    • Review Submitted 06/23/12
    This apartment is beautiful. The rooms are so spacious and comfortable. The master bedroom was amazing with large windows and super comfy bed. The view out the master window is gorgeous. Is great for people who want to go to the beach during the day and have some drinks and relax in the evening. The beach around there is really nice and it is only 2 minutes away in car. The apartment did have lots of cockroaches, which is understandable since it is around a lot of vegetation; so make sure you do not leave any food outside or leave your bags in the floor. Overall I had a great experience there and will stay there again if I go back to Rincon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Better than expected!

    Better than expected!

    • Guest Kristen (Manhattan Beach, CA )
    • Date of stay 05/31/12
    • Review Submitted 06/15/12
    We just stayed here a week ago and had a great time! The house is much more spacious than the pictures even show...the bedrooms and bathrooms were really nice and upgraded. The deck was HUGE, which was a big requirement of ours...coffee on the deck in the mornings, drinks on the deck in the evenings! There was plenty of room for everyone to do their own thing or hang out together. Luis quickly responded to us when we couldn't get the DVD player to work (it worked fine, we just didn't have it on the right setting!) and checked in with us to make sure everything was OK several times. We did several day trips to other beaches which were supposedly some of the best beaches in Puerto Rico...without fail, after an hour or two one of us would say "let's go back to our beach, it's way better than this!" I truly think that Tres Palmas/Steps was the best beach around...desserted this time of year and the snorkeling was excellent. We are normally a pretty adventurous group but betweent the house and the beach...it was just too perfect to leave! My friends and I are planning a girls trip next! I left my Ipad at the house in our last rush out the door, and didn't realize it until we were back in San Juan...the owner and his housekeeper had it back to me safe and sound within the week! Thank you so much!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring break 2012

    Spring break 2012

    • Guest Kristen S. (Bothell, WA USA)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 06/06/12
    I stayed here with 2 friends April 2012. The house was beautiful and very spacious. The deck was amazing and had a great view. The kitchen had everything you could need and more. Beds were comfortable. When you read the description of the apartment it says upscale, which it is. Although when I think upscale I expected that there would be water. The whole time we were there we had intermittent water pressure, anywhere from barely a drip to ok pressure. There is also a problem with the hot water. We stayed here 6 nights and only had enough hot water for 3 showers each. Which is not good if you have long hair and have been in the ocean. We sent an email to the Luis and he did have his brother work on the water but the problem was never completely fixed. The morning we left we received an email from Luis saying that he would be fixing the water problem for future guests. Too bad for us I guess. It would have been a nice gesture to offer even $50 back to us. Before renting the property we asked Luis if there was much noise that came from the street since it is right on route 413. He said he had never had any complaints. Sorry to say there is quite a bit of noise that comes from the road. We were there during a busy weekend but even once that was over it was still loud. The place was a bit more than a few steps from the beach unless you were cutting through someone else’s property. Not that it was a far walk, but steps away is pushing it. We still had a great time. Many beautiful beaches are just a short drive away. I would recommend staying here to friends but would want them to know these things, so they would be prepared. If you are staying here you may also want to know that the driveway is at quite a slant so if you rent a car be prepared to bottom out each time you enter and exit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Rincón is notorious for its water shortage. That is why the house has a 500 gallon cistern as a backup system to guarantee adequate supply and pressure. On this occasion, construction on the property across the street cut off the water to the house after this part of the town had been without water for two days. The cistern, which had been depleted, was unable to refill because of this, causing the ensuing inconveniences. I agree, having water is priceless. This guests situation, however, was quite unique and it is unlikely to ever be duplicated.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Colby (Plymouth, NH)

    Colby (Plymouth, NH)

    • Guest Colby (Plymouth, NH)
    • Date of stay 03/18/12
    • Review Submitted 03/31/12
    My five girlfriends and I stayed at Luis's beautiful apartment for a week and we never wanted to leave! The view from the deck was amazing. It's a great location, two second walk from the beach and not too far from the center of town. It slept the 6 of us comfortably with room to spare. We don't have one single complaint and hope to return next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Agree 100%.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing, conveniently located vacation rental!

    Amazing, conveniently located vacation rental!

    • Guest J from Beantown (Marbelehead, MA 01945 USA)
    • Date of stay 03/11/12
    • Review Submitted 03/25/12
    This house was incredible! The online pictures are great, but do not do it justice. The house was clean and very spacious. I enjoyed my morning coffee and watching the sunsets from the huge outdoor deck with amazing ocean views. You could even see Desecheo Island from the deck. This vacation rental had everything you could imagine to make one's vacation comfortable and convenient, including: air conditioning in every bedroom, a huge flat screen TV and stereo system in the living room, a large flat screen TV and blue-ray disc player in the Master Bedroom, a washer and dryer, ample and comfortable furniture, a nice kitchen with plenty of appliances, a bar, a refigerated wine cooler, plenty of clean beach towels and chairs, and coolers for the beach. The location is ideal and you can easily walk to Steps Beach, The Marina, and Maria's Beach. Although this house is located on 413, it is really quiet at night. We were actually amazed how quiet it was, and no roosters in the morning :-)! I would recommend this to friends, family and co-workers without hesitation, and in fact, I already have. Luis was great and available to answer questions. He even left a complimentary bottle of wine for us! I can't wait to go back, and I hope this place will be available when I do!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Agree with review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation Location

    Perfect Vacation Location

    • Guest John in Florida (Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/29/11
    • Review Submitted 01/04/12
    My wife and I stayed with another couple at Luis' condo for New Years and were 100% happy with everything. The condo is located across the street from the beach, down the road from restaurants, great surfing, and incredible snorkeling is located just out back. The condo is very modern: granite countertops, flat screen tv's and it has all you could ask for in the kitchen. Luis was very kind in keeping in touch with us to make sure everything was going well. Overall, the property is better than advertised and my family is looking forward to our next visit to Rincon, John Pit

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Christmas Vacation

    Wonderful Christmas Vacation

    • Guest Richard (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 12/20/11
    • Review Submitted 12/31/11
    My family (5 adults) stayed here for the five days prior to Christmas and the condo was everything we expected. The photos and description posted in the vrbo listing are accurate, and Luis the landlord was very accommodating and checked in on us via phone several times to make sure we were OK. The views from the balcony were awesome, and it is a short walk to the beach. We are glad we stayed there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]