Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Debbie's Beautiful Beachfront Home, 4 Bed, 4 1/2 Bath + Pool + Jacuzzi

You sent a message to this manager.

Our home - well we like it!

Our home - well we like it! Infinity pool! - tired? try the seating built into the water both ends! Where better to sit looking at the reef with a drink or, like me, cigar in hand! View from balcony towards your private dock - hammock just in sight - see it? Sunrise from the balcony Front view! Looking through the house to the rear garden at ground level Rear view of the home from the garden Garden view towards the home of Martin and Lupe, who will look after you! A living room to relax in! Living room again! Looking into the living room from the balcony Another kitchen view Dining table, seating eight! The Den! For a good book? cable TV? or using internet for photos home? Bedroom - obviously - but look at the view from the bed! Another bedroom example - enough said?  Well there is a view to the reef. .and another bedroom - king size(or singles) this time (and a view to the reef)! Fourth bedroom - 2 x singles Bathroom example - all the bedrooms have one!

Calendar

Last updated: 04/08/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:Contact manager
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

San Pedro house description

Looking directly over the ocean to the world's second largest coral barrier reef and benefiting from the ocean breezes, our home in paradise, is just ½ mile from the reef opposite the Pescador cut (a route through the reef) and two miles from the local town of San Pedro, so it is quiet, private and secluded but also provides very quick and easy access, by boat, golfcart and bicycle, to the 'bright lights' of town with lots of restaurants, bars, coffee shops and shopping.

The house sits on a large private site, with private access, a private dock and the use of our own private infinity pool and jacuzzi as well as wonderful views from our balcony (with hammocks) and patio out to the reef just 1/2 mile away.

There are 4 double bedrooms, 4 1/2 baths, a large kitchen and living room as well as a den with library and TV (cable and internet/wifi is available). All the bedrooms and the den are air-conditioned.

Our caretakers, Martin and Lupe, live on site and are there to help you in any way they can. They both speak good English. Lupe does all the regular cleaning.


Keywords: Private house on secluded large plot with private entrance

Property Type

  • House
  • 2 story

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Pets Considered

          Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 8

          Bathrooms: 4 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Dining Area Seats:

            10...moreless

          • Cooking Utensils
          • Microwave
          • Kitchen
          • Refrigerator
          • Dishwasher
          • Toaster
          • Stove
          • Dining
          • Oven
          • Coffee Maker
          • Dishes & Utensils

          Amenities

          • Air Conditioning
          • Clothes Dryer
          • Linens Provided
          • Garage
          • Parking Off Street
          • Living Room
          • Towels Provided
          • Hair Dryer
          • Washing Machine
          • Iron & Board

          Entertainment

          • Satellite / Cable
          • DVD Player
          • Stereo
          • Television
          • Books

          Communications

          • Broadband Access
          • Wireless Internet
          • Internet
          • Telephone

          Pool & Spa

          • Private Pool
          • Hot Tub

          Outdoor Features

          • Deck / Patio
          • Balcony
          • Lawn / Garden
          • Bicycles

          Location & View

              • Beachfront:

                Looking directly out to the reef 1/2 mile away...moreless

              Car

                  • Not Necessary

                  Activities

                  • Snorkeling/Diving
                  • Kayaking
                  • Swimming
                  • Sound/Bay Fishing
                  • Jet Skiing
                  • Wind-Surfing
                  • Deepsea Fishing
                  • Fly Fishing
                  • Snorkeling
                  • Sailing
                  • Fishing
                  • Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
                  • Sight Seeing
                  • Eco Tourism
                  • Bird Watching
                  • Restaurants
                  • Health/Beauty Spa
                  • Boating
                  • ATM/Bank
                  • Groceries
                  • Massage Therapist
                  • Walking
                  • Shopping
                  • Wildlife Viewing

                  Other Activities

                      • Daily yoga retreat 8 minutes bike ride away - we go 2-3 days a week!
                       

                      Reviews

                      Write a review
                      • Best Family Vacation!

                        Best Family Vacation!

                        • Guest Jill & Michael (Dallas)
                        • Date of stay 03/08/14
                        • Review Submitted 03/26/14
                        As we pulled up to the dock upon arrival, our 10 year old daughter hugged me and said, "THANK YOU, MOMMY!! THANK YOU!!" That set the tone for our entire trip. My husband, 2 daughters (ages 10 and 7) and I had a great trip. We've stayed in quite a few VRBO houses (and co-own one as well!)--so we've seen the good and the not-so- good in our travels. We found this house to be absolutely beautiful. It is extremely well- maintained, the view is gorgeous and Martin and his wife are truly lovely people. There are so many different activities for families to do in Belize--and the house is located where you can easily do anything you'd like: arrange for a boat to take you snorkeling, jet ski, walk to the yoga retreat, swim in the beautiful pool, ride bikes down the beach or catch a water taxi into San Pedro. Some people wrote in their reviews about the inability to swim or go to the beach outside the house. That was really helpful to know and set your expectation accordingly. You are not going to walk out to the ocean and swim in front of the house--that's just not what this vacation is about. We didn't find any part of Belize to be about being on the beach and swimming. There are so many, many more fascinating ways to spend your time. And, the beauty of this house is the pool allows you to do a whole host of exhausting--yet really cool and unbelievable things during the day--and then have a relaxing swim in the evening. One thing we didn't do--but I'd like for one of the guests to try and report on for the rest of us!!--is have a cook come and prepare food at the house. There are a few good restaurants (the yoga retreat and Aji's) within walking distance--but it would be really helpful to hire someone to cook and not have to worry about it for a couple of meals. Thank you Debbie and Nick for letting our family experience the wonderful home you built. It was one of our best family vacations!

                        Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

                        Manager response: Jill We are chuffed to bits that you and your family had a wonderful time in our Belize home and that you loved it for exactly the reasons we love it too! Very glad you made it down to the yoga resort, Akbol - we love going there for the yoga out on the palapa over the gently rolling waves and for the yummy food at the bar afterwards! We are back in June ourselves and are really looking forward to it! Please come again with your friends!

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Wonderfully Relaxing!

                        Wonderfully Relaxing!

                        • Guest Richard W.
                        • Date of stay 02/28/14
                        • Review Submitted 03/08/14
                        We arrived at Debbies Beach house with the excitement of a bunch of kids on Christmas morning. Martin met us at the dock and helped us with the luggage. The house and grounds are exactly as advertised and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hot in the hot tub was not working but we did not mind. The private pool, lounge chairs and view made up for anything we could have found to complain about. We really dreaded cooking for ourselves seeing as how we are used to staying at all inclusives. The cooking was not really the issue it was the planning of what to cook that was. I recommend planning ahead and having everyone chip in a certain amount of cash towards groceries up front otherwise keeping track of who spent what gets to be a hassle. Martin and Lupe the keepers of the house and ground were extremely helpful when we called upon them but otherwise kept a very low profile. We rated this as one of our best trips mainly because of the beauty of the island and the privacy of our own little home for the week. Like any other place you can nit pick this house and the island to pieces but don't sweat the small stuff and your stay will be a whole lot more pleasant. We ate at AJI the first night just south of the house and would recommend this place. I would not recommend Capt. Morgans and I would have a drink at the Palapa Bar but I would not choose to eat there again the food was just not good but the Bananago was fantastic. Our favorite place to eat when we ate out was Warguma. The shrimp burritos were huge and very tasty and the Ceviche came in a salad bowl which our resident Ceviche lover failed to consume entirely it was that big. He said it was some of the best he's ever had. On a final note I would like to thank Martin and Lupe for their hospitality and attention to detail they are truly good people and I would want them on my staff if I had one.

                        Manager response: We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at our Belize home! It is a nuisance that the water heater for the hot tub was not working, especially as the heater was new only about 18 months ago - the trouble is that getting replacement parts for machinery always takes an age due to the shipping from the US. We are so lucky to have Martin and Lupe working for us - they are a delightful couple and, fortunately, they really enjoy living in the caretaker house we build on the plot. We rather agree with your restaurant/bar reviews. We would recommend breakfast and casual lunch at the yoga resort, Akbol, about 1 mile south of us and it is a pleasant walk or bike ride along the beach. In town you must have dinner at Wild Mangoes, one of our very favorite places to eat and/or the Blue Water Grill. Many thanks for posting and very best wishes! Debbie

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • A great house in the wrong location

                        A great house in the wrong location

                        • Guest coffeetea (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
                        • Date of stay 12/21/13
                        • Review Submitted 01/19/14
                        We rented Debbies Beach House for three weeks over Christmas 2013/2014. The house is indeed commodious but there are several problems which have more to do with location than anything else. What no one tells you is that you cannot enter the sea from the shore. Because of the reef, the shore line is full of weeds and grasses. There is a pool and a hot tub, but if you are going for the ocean experience it does not exist. You can rent boats next door and go snorkelling but that is the only way you are getting into the sea.It was the first island I have ever been on that has this problem and perhaps we should have asked. But it never occurred to us. the second is the road. Do not rent a golf cart. Pretend it is Venice and go by water taxi. You can also travel by bicycle almost the entire way to San Pedro Town. The road, what with pot holes and small lakes is nearly impassible. I almost want to charge for the physiotherapy bills against the house rental. Martin and Lupa who looked after the house were great. Lupa managed to drop my iPad and it will have to be replaced. But they are wonderful people nonetheless. We did fly to the mainland to see Mayan ruins and that was fantastic. I would not recommend this house for those who like to walk into the ocean or for those with children who love to swim in the waves. If you are people who like only to sun tan, it is great. Also for divers it is very good. For those who like a civilized lunch try Victoria House to the south or Portofino to the north. You can go by water taxi for free.

                        Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

                        Manager response: Frances Many thanks for posting! As you say the weed and grass is the price the island pays for being less than 1/2 a mile from the world's 2nd largest Barrier Reef and therefore sits, effectively, in a lagoon. Although it didn't work for you the weed and grass supports a huge amount of, particularly juvenile, marine life which helps to sustain the reef itself. Re the track, we understand there has been an exceptionally wet spell of weather in the run up to Christmas and, in these circumstances, the track suffers badly from the traffic. Once it is drier then it becomes much easier to drive to town, which is what we do on our golfcart most of the time when we are there. Interestingly the Town Council is gradually trying to improve many of the sandy roads on the island, which all suffer in sustained wet weather, and we expect them to make further efforts to improve the track north. We are sorry these factors affected your enjoyment of staying in our Belize home. Kind Regards! Debbie

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Beautiful home on a beautiful island

                        Beautiful home on a beautiful island

                        • Guest Marci B.
                        • Date of stay 11/30/13
                        • Review Submitted 01/08/14
                        We stayed at Debbie's beach house to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful relaxing week. The weather could have been warmer but we still had a lot of fun in the pool. The caretakers were nice and helpful. Although the description says there is a washer and dryer, Lupe keeps the door locked to the room so we ended up having to "tip" her for doing our wash which worked ok since we were on vacation. The house itself is lovely and in a great location. We rented golf carts to get around town. We had great food and drinks close to the house at Aji's, Capricorn, and Ak'bol. My favorite place in town was Papusa's and we had a fun time at Palapa's too. We found the locals to be pleasant, but one of the street vendors gave Mexican money as change when we were not paying close attention so be careful. There was a lot of garbage along the beach, not at Debbie's, but along the path. There was also a lot of sewage smells through out the caye which were not pleasant. Overall, this was a wonderful family vacation and I would defiantly recommend staying at this beautiful home.

                        Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, families with teenagers.

                        Manager response: Marci Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post and we are delighted that you had a good and fun week in our Belize home! We are looking forward to getting back there ourselves a little later in the year. Best wishes! Debbie

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Extract from visitors book - Friends staying

                        Guest comment entered by manager

                        Extract from visitors book - Friends staying

                        • Guest Marilyn, Lily, Persephone and Luke
                        • Date of stay 06/11/13
                        • Review Submitted 06/18/13
                        Marilyn - Thank you to Nick and Debbie for a wonderful stay in Belize - one for the memory bank!! Lily - Thank you so much for a fantastic week - this is paradise! Persephone - Can't thank you enough for having me to stay at your wonderful house - had a fantastic time! Luke - great fishing, great swimming, great snorkelling and great company - Thanks for a great holiday.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                      • Extract from our visitors book - friends staying

                        Guest comment entered by manager

                        Extract from our visitors book - friends staying

                        • Guest Gill and Keith
                        • Date of stay 06/01/13
                        • Review Submitted 06/07/13
                        A huge thanks to Debbie and Nick for their wonderful relaxing hospitality. Keith leaves as a fully fledged PADI diver and Gill as a confident snorkeler! We have enjoyed the company, the country, the beautiful home, water, boat rides, fishing and food. We now are off to the jungle then across Guatemala. With many thanks again! Gill and Keith ps couldn't leave without mentioning the rum punch - scrummy! (the rum punch recipe is in the visitors book - Debbie)

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Family Vacation

                        Family Vacation

                        • Guest Lola (Aurora, CO)
                        • Date of stay 04/20/13
                        • Review Submitted 05/31/13
                        The location of the home is wonderful with great views of the water. The caretakers Martin and Lupe were wonderful! We loved Chico and Chica and looked forward to their visits. The dock was so convenient for our pickups to go sportfishing and snorkeling at Hol Chan. Having the dive shop next door was great. Lots of places to eat and have cocktails near the house. Our favorite was Kama and recommend it to everyone. Friendly service, great food and comfy 'chairs'. We loved the pool and hot tub. There was alot of ocean grass along the water so not really a good place to swim. Can't wait to return to Belize. We would recommend the home to folks with children over age 7 and not folks with trouble walking. The circular staircase can be challenging!

                        Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, girls getaway.

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • New Water Heater! - post from Debbie, the owner

                        Guest comment entered by manager

                        New Water Heater! - post from Debbie, the owner

                        • Guest Debbie the owner
                        • Date of stay 05/16/13
                        • Review Submitted 05/16/13
                        After some problems with the gas supply to our butane water heater, referred to in a couple of reviews, we have replaced the old one with a brand new, bigger capacity, electric water heater so problem solved!

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Extract from our Visitors Book

                        Guest comment entered by manager

                        Extract from our Visitors Book

                        • Guest Lee, Barb, Diane, Lonny, Libby,Bob, Greg, Shari
                        • Date of stay 04/13/13
                        • Review Submitted 05/05/13
                        Martin and Lupe did a wonderful job. They were both very helpful and always available to answer questions. The home is beautiful and the location was awesome. Mary did a great job prior to our trip assisting with the arrangements. Chico and Chica were good watch dogs and quite entertaining. Overall our stay at your lovely home was very comfortable and relaxing. We would definitely recommend your home to others wanting to stay here in Belize. Thank you so much for opening your home to us!

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                      • Extract from our Visitors Book

                        Guest comment entered by manager

                        Extract from our Visitors Book

                        • Guest Comii, Steve + others
                        • Date of stay 03/30/13
                        • Review Submitted 05/05/13
                        Had a great time in your amazing home! Lots of wind but also lots of fun - area is amazing. Problems with hot water - caretaker and husbands worked together. We had warm showers again the day we left. Love this place and island - sorry to leave. Don't eat at White Sands!

                        Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                       
                      Rates:
                      May 1 - Nov. 14  US$ 3535.00 per week (7 nights) or $505.00 per night
                      Nov. 15 - Apr. 30 US$ 4140.00 per week (7 nights)or $590.00 per night
                      Holiday December 20-January 4 $5000.00 per week (7 nights) or $715.00 per night
                      Please add 9% hotel tax.  Four night minimum stay required. 
                      Seven night minimum stay preferred for Holiday time period
                      

                      Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.


                      This manager accepts: Credit cards.
                      Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                      Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                      Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                      Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                      Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                      Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                       

                      Calendar

                      Last updated: 04/08/2014
                      Check availability
                      23 Available
                      21 Unavailable
                      22 Today
                      23 Selected dates
                       

                      Location

                      • Nearest Beach: beach at 10 Metres
                       

                      Manager info

                      Year Purchased: 2002

                      About: We are Debbie and Nick and are English so we are a long way from our base for much of our lives. Having spent many years in offices, we love to relax by taking as much time as possible outdoors, either here in Belize, in the mountains of Europe or seeing other parts of the world. We have recently retired and are now looking forward to spending several months a year at our home here in Belize. Up-date! We spent 4 months in Belize in 2011 and we are back for another 4 months in 2012 - we cant wait to get back to the warm weather and sand between our toes! Thank you all for your 'hits' and for the many bookings while we are away in Europe - goodness VRBO is great! We are sorry that our home will not be available from 1st May to 1st September as we will be there then but it will be available from 1st September 2012 right through to mid- April 2013! Best wishes to you all and thanks for your interest!

                      Why San Pedro:
                      We, perhaps like you in the future, came on holiday to Ambergris Caye, from our base in England, and fell in love with the beautiful location, the island and its people (who’s first language is English). A few months later we returned and viewed a number of pieces of beachfront land. We chose this one because it is beautiful, close enough to town for easy access but far enough to be away from the noise and traffic. We then, over the next 2 years, built our own home on this piece of paradise at the same time as learning to scuba dive, to fish and to improve the flexibility of our 'aging' bodies by taking yoga lessons locally. Why the name? Debbie is my wife (see image above!) and she always wanted a home on a beach - so Debbie's Beach House was born! Please come and stay and form your own opinion for yourselves!

                      The Unique Benefits at this House:
                      Well where do we start?! Some days we feel like being active so we regularly go out snorkelling, scuba diving, fishing (pick-up from our private dock) and attending yoga lessons nearby. Other days we want to be social so we head into town by island ferry (from the next door dock), by golf cart or on our bicycles to go to one or several of our favourite restaurants, bars, live music shows or even shopping. Very often we just feel like doing absolutely nothing very much, so we swim in our pool, sit in our Jacuzzi looking out over the ever changing view of the sea and the reef or sit reading in one of our hammocks on the balcony with a home made rum punch in hand (recipe is in our visitors book!). The gradual effect of these combinations of activities or in-activity! on this island means, for us, that the rush and stress of our lives in a large city seem to just ‘slip away’ and we relax! Please come and try it!


                      Contact us

                      Speaks: english

                       

                      Photos

                      • Our home - well we like it!

                        Our home - well we like it!

                      • Where better to sit looking at the reef with a drink or, like me, cigar in hand!

                        Where better to sit looking at the reef with a drink or, like me, cigar in hand!

                      • Sunrise from the balcony

                        Sunrise from the balcony

                      • Looking through the house to the rear garden at ground level

                        Looking through the house to the rear garden at ground level

                      • Garden view towards the home of Martin and Lupe, who will look after you!

                        Garden view towards the home of Martin and Lupe, who will look after you!

                      • Living room again!

                        Living room again!

                      • Another kitchen view

                        Another kitchen view

                      • The Den! For a good book? cable TV? or using internet for photos home?

                        The Den! For a good book? cable TV? or using internet for photos home?

                      • Another bedroom example - enough said?  Well there is a view to the reef.

                        Another bedroom example - enough said? Well there is a view to the reef.

                      • Fourth bedroom - 2 x singles

                        Fourth bedroom - 2 x singles

                      • Infinity pool! - tired? try the seating built into the water both ends!

                        Infinity pool! - tired? try the seating built into the water both ends!

                      • View from balcony towards your private dock - hammock just in sight - see it?

                        View from balcony towards your private dock - hammock just in sight - see it?

                      • Front view!

                        Front view!

                      • Rear view of the home from the garden

                        Rear view of the home from the garden

                      • A living room to relax in!

                        A living room to relax in!

                      • Looking into the living room from the balcony

                        Looking into the living room from the balcony

                      • Dining table, seating eight!

                        Dining table, seating eight!

                      • Bedroom - obviously - but look at the view from the bed!

                        Bedroom - obviously - but look at the view from the bed!

                      • .and another bedroom - king size(or singles) this time (and a view to the reef)!

                        .and another bedroom - king size(or singles) this time (and a view to the reef)!

                      • Bathroom example - all the bedrooms have one!

                        Bathroom example - all the bedrooms have one!

                      VRBO #383248

                      There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                      This listing was first published here in 2011.

                      Date last modified - Friday, November 22, 2013

                      29

                      4 Bedroom / 4.5 Bathroom
                      Sleeps 8

                      View calendar: Updated 04/08/14
                      Manager
                      Email manager

                      +5012263077

                      Speaks: english

                      Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                      Add vacation protection services to your booking

                      Three services to protect your trip:

                      Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                      Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                      Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                      Get it now

                      advertisement