Lazy Brook Farm - Country Living Close to Smuggler's Notch
You sent a message to this manager.
- Minimum stay:Contact manager
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Underhill house description
This charming country home is nestled in the foothills of the Smuggler's Notch Ski Resort (15 min) and close to both Stowe Resort and the commercial centers of Essex and Burlington (Airport is 25 min). Relax and unwind in this peaceful and well-appointed home with very easy access off a country dirt road well-maintained during Winter. Many restaurants and businesses are nearby as well as the Smuggler's Notch ski area and yet all the allure of Vermont country living is out your front door.
The interior is filled with whimsical collectibles of all types with each bedroom having a theme: The Paint-By-Numbers Master's Suite (Queen), The Victorian Periwinkle Room (Full), The It's a Small World Globe Room (Full), The Bucking Cowboy Room (Twin).
Situated on over 18 private acres, the backyard is framed by natural forest at the property edge. In summer, the large sunny deck has chairs and tables for reading, eating, or enjoying your morning cup while taking in the gorgeous view of Vermont's highest peak, Mt. Mansfield, and listening to the sound of the babbling brook nearby. There is a grill for cooking and large yard for croquet or romping with the family dog. The large kitchen is fully equipped for those who enjoy expressing their culinary talents.
High-speed wireless internet and cell signals allows you to stay connected to the outside world. A 50" flat screen TV and a collection of rare, classic and unusual movies on DVDs even the most discriminating film aficionado would appreciate. Large comfy sofas and chairs fill the living room for relaxing after a long day of play.
Within a short drive, you will find coffee shops and bakeries, fine and casual dining, the Boyden Valley Winery, Burgess Sugar House that produces maple syrup, grocery stores, artist studios, biking and hiking trails, and of course, skiing.
Burlington, Vermont's largest city is located 35 mins away for great shopping on the Church Street Marketplace (pedestrian zone), International airport, the Flynn Theatre performance space, and Lake Champlain. Other attractions nearby: Ben and Jerry's Factory, Camel's Hump State Park, Long Trail and Appalachian Trail Hiking and Stowe Resort.
Email with questions - please check online calendar for availability - it is kept updated at all times. Submit all rental requests via this site, please, as it helps us keep track of guests in a consistent manner.
Keywords: Smuggler's Notch, Ski Resort, Skiing, Underhill, Jeffersonville, Convenient, Easy Access, Rural, Quiet, Country, Comfortable, Farmhouse, Lazy Brook Farm, Country Eclectic, Hip
- Vacation Rental
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Children Welcome
- Pets Considered
- Clothing Optional/Nude Sunbathing Nearby
- Alternative Lifestyle
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 7-8
- Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Wood Fireplace:
- Wood Stove:
- Linens Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Parking Off Street
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Music Library
- CD Player
- Video Library
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Mobile Phone
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Monument View
- Rock Climbing
- Basketball Court
- Jet Skiing
- Cross Country Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Water Skiing
- Miniature Golf
- Wildlife Viewing
- Theme Parks
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Fitness Center
- Horseback Riding
- Sight Seeing
ReviewsWrite a review
What a nightmare!!!!!
What a nightmare!!!!!
What was supposed to be a very relaxing getaway became the most undesirable surprise. When we got to the place, it smelled really bad, it was cold and filthy, the refrigerator didn’t work…it was just not a healthy place to stay. Getting to the place had been already and odyssey since it was snowing and the driveway wasn’t even clean. We called the owner, or his representative and they weren’t helpful at all. We had to go look for a hotel where to stay at 4 in the morning because we just couldn’t stand it anymore. The place was really scary. They argued that the place is supposed to be in that condition and that is the reason why it is or it was advertised as an “old country house” (seems like they change the heading…I wonder why) and told as that if we wanted a five star hotel we were in the wrong place. In short, we had to go look for a place where to stay in crowded Stowe on Christmas Eve, pay twice, and we never got our money back. Terrible place, terrible customer service!!!!!!!!! DO NOT RENT THIS PROPERTY.
- Guest Marcelita (Queens, NY)
- Date of stay 12/30/11
- Review Submitted 07/09/12
Manager response: I would like to take this opportunity to address the issues brought up in this review 1. The renter stated the house had a bad odor, this was due to the fact that the caretaker had lit the 2 wood burning stoves so the house would be warm and cozy for the renters, and when the house is closed up because the weather is bad outside this can give the house a smoky and mistakenly musty scent the house is after all 165 years old. 2. The renter stated the road and the drive were not plowed for their arrival. It was plowed earlier in the day by our neighbors and the road is the cities responsibility and it must have been clear for our caretaker to have been there mid day to clean and prep the house. Please keep in mind there was a huge snow storm that evening delaying our guests arrival until 2 AM and probably leaving a lot of snow in the drive and on the road. 3. The renter stated the house was untidy and that the refrigerator did not work. Our caretaker spent 8 hours prepping and cleaning the house and the refrigerator has never been on the blink and is in perfect operating order to this day. I would like to state that even in the pictures you can see this is not the latest and most up to date kitchen and the appliances are older and therefore not as high tech as some might want but we do not misrepresent this feature of the house, the amenities of this house are up to standards for a house of this age. 4. The renter felt she was dealt with unfairly and ignored. We clearly addressed her issues and made contact with her via phone and email to address her issues. She booked another hotel room before we even had a chance to discuss it with her, and actually never stayed in the house, by her choice. Our rental agreement clearly states a NO REFUND policy, and regardless of this we did make attempts to make a small refund to her to help ease her issues with the house. 5. we tried our best with this customer, but she just proved to have had unrealistic expectations of what an old country house should be like, they are not all owned and operated by Martha Stewart, there are pictures on the VRBO sight we ask that renters ask any questions about the house that are not clear in the pictures or description. We never try to misrepresent the condition of the house or its amenities. Country house rentals are clearly a unique experience for someone who should not expect to arrive at the Ritz Carlton. The house perfectly maintained
March 1st to Labor Day $250/per nt, $700/Fri, Sat and Sun night, $1,500 per wk Labor Day to March 1st $300/per nt, $900/Fri, Sat and Sun night, $1,800 per wk Full refund for cancellations two weeks prior to schedule arrival 50% refund for cancellations prior to 3 days of arrival, no refunds therafter.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This manager accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the manager for more information.
Year Purchased: 2008
About: Two Hollywood professionals, one a Fashion Illustrator and Instructor and the other a Wardrobe Supervisor for the movie biz, have a penchant for Vermont country charm.
Living and working in Hollywood is not what you would call reality.This farm is where we can unwind and hear ourselves think and feel. It is also where our 9 yr old Golden Dog can run free. And our neighbors have become our family. It's where our hearts belong.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
Rooms filled with Collectibles, Vast DVD library of classic and unusual films, Country living near many attractions and yet very easy access on a well maintained road.
- Primary: 802-355-5585
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
The house and front yard in Spring
The office space
The Christmas Mantel
Open concept kitchen and dining
Large open area downstairs with sofa and tv and office space
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2011.
Date last modified - Tuesday, January 15, 2013