Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The farmhouse's front porch overlooks lawns. Fenced in and safe for the kids.

Lehigh Valley Farmhouse & Farm - Four Season Getaway - 1.5 Hrs/ Nyc-1 Hr /Phill [#384029] | View Property

Allentown
Farmhouse, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5+ Baths (Sleeps 6)
$150 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (30)

Sort by:
  • Comfortable stay, charming home and great location

    Comfortable stay, charming home and great location

    • Guest Wailym (Egg Harbor, NJ)
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    The friendly owners of this home take pride in this charming farmhouse, and it shows! They were able to accommodate us within days notice. The house is clean, attractively decorated and equipped with anything you may need. The kitchen is stocked with appliances, pots and pans, bakeware....everything you would need to prepare meals. I noticed a blender, measuring cups, utensils, mixing bowls ect. The living room area with wood stove is very cozy. Plenty of fire wood was provided, Couches are comfortable and cable TV is available. Magazines and local area attraction reading was a plus! There is a small half bathroom downstairs next to kitchen. The three bedrooms upstairs are all very comfortable with warm linens, pull down shades and portable electric heaters. My sister said the king size bed was truly the best sleep ever! We were delighted to sleep in, could hear the roosters in the mornings. The bathroom was clean, nice big towels provided, plenty of hot water with multi selection shower head. I would have preferred better water pressure, but considering its a farmhouse, its understandable. The dining room is a good size to comfortably fit 6 persons. All rooms had a portable heater of some sort, which were great to take the chill out! But the homes oil heat does heat up quickly and found ourselves turning heaters off after a few mins. The surrounding farm and views are terrific, and yes we did enjoy watching the sheep! Bear creek mountain is less than 5 min drive away, about 1.5 miles. Great for us to come back after a day of skiing! Everything covered in snow looked magical and we hope a visit in the spring comes soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The farmhouse called us back.

    The farmhouse called us back.

    • Guest Roe (Brooklyn, New York)
    • Date of stay 01/10/14
    • Review Submitted 03/03/14
    Myself and four of our friends returned for the third time to this inviting farmhouse with a 360 degree view of the beautiful property it rests on. We enjoy waking up to the sounds of the roosters in the morning and looking out from all the windows onto the sheep grazing in the fields. John and Will the owners are most gracious and have maintained their property with a well-equipped kitchen, the most comfortable beds we've slept in among all the properties we've rented and they have been most accommodating in whatever our needs would be. We always enjoy our stay here and we intend to return at least once a year so that we can see it in all seasons.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming home away from home!

    Charming home away from home!

    • Guest Susan T.
    • Date of stay 12/05/13
    • Review Submitted 12/12/13
    We would highly recommend this vacation home to anyone visiting the area. The ambiance was fantastic. The hospitality of the property owners was above and beyond expectations. We felt so at home and welcome in this charming farmhouse. Excellent opportunity for family and friends to gather and enjoy the comforts of home. Thanks for sharing your property with us. We will definitely be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Chance to recharge

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Chance to recharge

    • Guest Kathryn
    • Date of stay 11/09/13
    • Review Submitted 11/14/13
    "Thank you so much for your hospitality! From the fire to the sheep to the simpleness of quiet and the time to do "nothing" it was such a lovely weekend. We all truly appreciated the chance to recharge at Hemphill Farm."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 5 1/2 week sojourn

    Guest comment entered by owner

    5 1/2 week sojourn

    • Guest Joann & Marty
    • Date of stay 10/30/13
    • Review Submitted 10/30/13
    Our 5 1/2 week sojourn is over and we are taking some great memories back home. Feeding the sheep with our granddaughters; roasting up some really fresh chicken when we had my mom over for the week; the bonfire with all my sisters on a Friday night and walks around the perimeter of Hemphill farm. The peace and quiet of sitting on the front porch and painting was an added bonus. Hope to be back in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Marathon Mamas Rock!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Marathon Mamas Rock!

    • Guest Pamela
    • Date of stay 09/07/13
    • Review Submitted 09/11/13
    We enjoyed our stay here before the Lehigh Valley Marathon! What a gorgeous location and race. We'll be back to race next year! Marathon Mamas Rock!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Can't Wait to Return!

    Can't Wait to Return!

    • Guest Margaret S. (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/28/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    We can't say enough good things about this charming farm and it's wonderful hosts! It was an amazing experience to be out in the country with wide open space all around us. John and Will were very thoughtful and helpful when we needed them. Will set up our daughter with her own big bucket of grain the first day so that she could go out and feed "her" sheep whenever she wanted. Our favorite memories from this trip are of the time we spent together as a family, spending time outside and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. Hemphill farm is a very peaceful place and we can't wait to return!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Unforgettable Writers' Retreat

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Unforgettable Writers' Retreat

    • Guest Kathleen
    • Date of stay 08/17/13
    • Review Submitted 09/05/13
    What a peaceful, pastoral week we had at Hemphill Farm! I went there with three other writers for a week's retreat and could not have been happier. We sipped coffee in the morning, watched the sheep in the pastures from the front porch, and listened to the roosters crow. The owners are particularly gracious, gave us heirloom tomatoes and fresh eggs for our breakfast in the morning and built us a fire in the front yard pit so we could gaze at it and laugh and drink wine on our last night there. We cooked dinner almost every evening and found the kitchen nicely stocked with pots, pans, mixing bowls, etc. I discovered that I was particularly productive at Hemphill Farm and managed to write ten new poems in a week. Amazing how a mere hour's drive from Philly can feel like a complete respite from urban living. Highly recommended for other writers -- no desks, but the dining room table does nicely.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Simply Awesome!

    Simply Awesome!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/30/13
    We spent three magical days at this farm and the children are already begging to go back! we just miss everything about from feeding the goats in the morning, to picking up fresh produce with Will the farmer. The greatness of this farm is also that it is near almost ...a ski resort, amusement park, Philadelphia and NYC! John the owner and Will the farmer are so sweet and available to make your stay even more enjoyable, you can not beat this! highly recommended :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The perfect getaway!

    The perfect getaway!

    • Guest Nancy S.
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    The house was clean and charming. The kids loved visiting the sheep and chickens every morning. We had everything we needed, but if we hadn't, John checked in on Monday morning to see if everything met our expectations and left his cell number with us in case we needed anything. The house was close to our family in Allentown, and of course to Philly and NYC. Sitting out on the porch every morning to drink my coffee and watch the sheep was soothing, and because it is covered, I was able to sit out there during the rain! After a long day of outings, it was nice to come back to a place that felt like home. John and Will while on the property were very unobtrusive, and (farmer) Will took some time to talk to my husband about the property and let the kids feed the sheep! Truly a wonderful wonderful place to stay...so glad to have found a place for our return trips! I would recommend this property to ANYONE!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great for birding and celebrating!

    Great for birding and celebrating!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 07/03/13
    I was a very fortunate guest of a college graduation. What a retreat ! Peaceful and quiet except of course for the many species of singing birds found on the property. Being a birder I was thrilled to hear that Hawk Mt was less than 20 miles away. Every morning I could explore the farmyard full of birds. The house was perfect and if we needed anything our gracious hosts provided happily. We cooked many meals in celebration and when it rained a tent appeared so our party was not dampened.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Farmhouse!

    Great Farmhouse!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 06/11/13
    My son was graduating from Muhlenberg College in Allentown and I was so happy to have found this farmhouse nearby. We had several people visiting from out of town and thought a house would be fun and would give us the freedom to have people over and make meals, etc. The place was perfect for our needs and more! The location is so beautiful and quiet and peaceful yet also very convenient to town. John and Will could not have been more gracious. One evening as we were getting ready to eat outside, it started to drizzle and John came out right away with a tent that covered the whole picnic table. They also provided wood for a fire for the firepit and brought out extra chairs. The beds are extremely comfortable and the house is very clean with a really well stocked kitchen. The grounds and views from the back porch are really lovely and idyllic. Waking up to the many sounds of different songbirds was wonderful. A friend, who is a Birder noted that the house is not far from a famous mountain called Hawk Mountain we noted that this would be a great place to stay for Birders watching migrations. i cannot say enough about how great John and Will are as hosts and as folks. They are easy going and fun to talk with and were very respectful of our needs. I wish I knew about this place during the 4 years our son was at college. I recommend this place to anyone even as a quiet getaway. And if you like to cook and/or grill you have everything you need!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great farmhouse

    Great farmhouse

    • Guest Michael C.
    • Date of stay 02/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    The house is very convenient. It is located about 2 minutes from Bear Creek. I will definitely stay there again. It is very clean and comfortable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome!

    Awesome!

    • Guest Yvonne T.
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 01/28/13
    This is truly the best kept secret of Bear Creek Ski Resort! Even if you don't ski, The Hemphill Farm truly feels like home away from home. We have only great things to say about the accomodations. It was my husband's 50th Birthday and we wanted a place to stay that our family could all stayed together. This was perfect and I would absolutely recommend to my friends. It was exactly what my family family needed. We created lots of memories. You will never miss the TV, your cell phones or ipads! The kitchen had everything we needed and the mud room was great for all of our ski equipment. Don't hesitate! st

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Matthew d.
    • Date of stay 01/04/13
    • Review Submitted 01/14/13
    We needed a one night stay in the area and so many places required a 2 night minimum. This fit our needs perfectly and was above and beyond what I expected. John and Will were both very kind and helped us with whatever we needed during our short stay. The place was quiet and had all the amenities one would need for a comfortable escape. Beds were comfortable, place was very clean, and we loved warming up by the wood stove!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Christmas Week 2012

    Christmas Week 2012

    • Guest Judith (Wilmington DE)
    • Date of stay 12/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/26/13
    Christmas Week - 2012 Our far-flung family has enjoyed many reunions - all wonderful as we have been lucky travelers simply anxious to spend time together. This December we spent Christmas week at Hemphill Farm. This reunion was beyond wonderful - it was perfect! Never said that before! It was both magical and comfortable. Our needs were specific but our hosts, Will and John, have a talent I believe they adapt to a wide range of specific needs without ever being intrusive. Actually, my grandchildren suspect they made it snow on Christmas Eve - they know for a fact that Santa found us by following John's special light. With one son and his family traveling from their home in Gent, Belgium, one son coming from Philadelphia and me from Wilmington, we wanted a country spot not far from city lights and air ports with possibly some winter sports close by. This spot has it all with a ski resort a mile down the road and shopping and noted restaurants nearby. But none of us wanted to leave this little Eden from the moment we looked out the window in the morning to see the lambs and goats and very exotic chickens roaming the fields to cuddling on the porch to watch the stars before bed. John drew a map of the property for the kids and many fine treasure hunting experiences followed. But always with a stop along the way to share some food pellets Will supplied for the livestock. As a bonus, and great way to keep memories alive, the kids can check the Hemphill Farm Facebook page for baby animal updates. And oh those comfy sofas! We all agreed that this is the first time we actually coveted the furniture in a rental spot. The beds are just right - everything is immaculate - and the supply of fluffy white towels is endless. I had everything I could hope for as we put the well-equipped open kitchen to good use while enjoying the fire and just being together. While the house is not huge it is designed (John and Will will say by luck and necessity) with some quiet spaces as well as communal ones so privacy is never a problem. A very magical spot!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Idyllic and Cozy Farmhouse Thanksgiving Weekend

    Idyllic and Cozy Farmhouse Thanksgiving Weekend

    • Guest Alexandra S.
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    For the Thanksgiving holiday this year, our family decided to rent the Hemphill Farm home, to provide some much-needed rest from the hectic buzz of city living and quality family time together in a beautiful country setting. When we arrived at the farm house on Wednesday evening, we knew all our hopes for the weekend would come true. Will and John were the friendliest, most welcoming, of hosts, making us feel instantly at home in their cozy, charming farm house. They gave us recommendations for local attractions, including an invigorating and breathtaking five-mile hike around the Bear Creek sky resort, and restaurants for a night out. They were accommodating and unobtrusive, giving us total privacy but there for us at a moment's notice. There were six of us in our group, and the house was perfect for the size of our party. The bedrooms were warm and cozy, and the wood burning stove in the living room made for perfect country ambiance. We didn't want for anything in the kitchen, which was fully stocked for all our culinary needs, and we were able to have our Thanksgiving feast without any hitches or hiccups. While John and Will gave us plenty of recommendations for things to do in the area, we were perfectly content spending our days at the farm, cozying up in the living room for wine and cheese, playing rousing boardgames in the dining area and taking strolls around the property, (the sheep are adorable!), when we needed some fresh air. However, the idea of coming back during the snowy season, for some skiing at Bear Creek, is wonderfully tempting. The Hemphill Farm provided the perfect Thanksgiving getaway in the country, and we would come back for another long weekend or holiday in a heart beat. Warm, welcoming and restful, the Hemphill Farm is everything we could have ever asked for, and more. We hope to be back in the future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Unique and perfectly charming farmhouse near NYC!

    Unique and perfectly charming farmhouse near NYC!

    • Guest Diana C.
    • Date of stay 11/02/12
    • Review Submitted 11/05/12
    In the wake of hurricane Sandy, we like so many New Yorker's were left without power and water. I happened upon this listing on Home Away while looking for a few nights with basic amenities after roughing it for almost a week. Being picky New Yorker's I initially did not expect too much with it being the offseason and a last minute booking, but we were blown away. The home's charm, the wonderful hosts--nothing was too much for them. We arrived after a short drive to a beautiful farmhouse, complete with every amenity that you could possibly want including a wonderful bottle of Chardonnay as a welcome gift! Needless to say, we were ecstatic with our choice. The home decor was filled with interesting treasures, beds were heaven, the entire place was spotless and the kitchen fully equipped with spices and whatnot. The house was totally private, yet if you needed anything at all--whether it was firewood for a nice warm glow with dinner or a recommendation on things to do in the area both Will and John were there and always incredibly friendly and responsive. They were the kind of people you could really get to know, and genuinely passionate about the farm which made it feel like home. I should also use this opportunity to also say that John called me just an hour after placing the initial request with home away, and I was thrilled that they were able to get power back in time while communicating about wifi and cable functionality as well. The sheep and chickens on premise were also fun to watch while enjoying the nice fall air. Anyone who is considering a hotel in this area should definitely consider the farmhouse. It is far more authentic, certainly more cozy, and a great value for its location and amenities. We spent some time in a local pub which was a ton of fun, some scuba diving at Dutch Springs about 20 minutes away, and we plan on coming back because the home is super close to the local ski resort. You cannot find a better country retreat this close to the city and we feel we have found a gem that will become somewhere fun and relaxing for us. Huge thank you to Will and John--you guys truly are the best!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Encore Visit

    Encore Visit

    • Guest Roe (Brooklyn, New York)
    • Date of stay 10/06/12
    • Review Submitted 10/09/12
    Myself, partner and friends revisited John and Will's country farmhouse for another dose of rustic charm and relaxation which is a surefire remedy for the "concrete jungle". Will greeted us and welcomed us back graciously as before with farm fresh eggs and there were a few more additions to the house to make your stay that much more pleasurable. The electric fireplace in the dining room gave a warm ambience and glow to the room and the additional seating area in the living room allowed us to be very comfortable, maybe a little too much, because all of us fell asleep at the same time while watching T.V. We had been there in February and it was especially picturesque at this time of year as we could now appreciate the landscaping of the property with the trees in varying shades of color as the backdrop for the sheep bleating in the fields. Much of the appeal of this idyllic farmhouse is that it is surronded by open spaces and the windows shedding so much light into the house. You can see the sunrise in the morning and hear the faint call of the roosters in the morning, heralding the day. We feel that John and Will genuinely enjoy their house and property and respect its beauty, and their warmth and graciousness and the feeling of family they exude to their guests fill one with a desire to return again and again. We explored the area a little further this time and encountered a few antique shops that had some great finds and a lovely area that went through East Greenville and Perkiomen Valley where we saw Ott's Garden Center which had an elaborate botanical garden on two levels to explore with a large diversity of cactus and flowering plants. It was worth the trip to see. We also saw Pennypacker Mills which was the former governor of Pennsylvania's summer home, a lovely Victorian estate and the tour was very informative and enjoyable and there are trails throughout the area to enjoy the scenery. We hope to return and stay here in every season.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lehigh Valley Farmhouse

    Lehigh Valley Farmhouse

    • Guest Alexis's mom (NY, NY)
    • Date of stay 09/27/12
    • Review Submitted 11/19/12
    As described in the listing, the Farmhouse is located very centrally to all of the amenities in the area and to both Philly and New York. The large grounds were particularly appealing to us since we were traveling with a toddler. A major highlight of staying here is meeting the owners---John and Will are absolutely wonderful. John was great about accommodating all of our logistic needs and Will was on site to greet us and to make us feel comfortable. They were both a real pleasure and made the stay as enjoyable as possible.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Who knew sheep could lower your blood pressure?

    Who knew sheep could lower your blood pressure?

    • Guest KB (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    My husband and I brought our two young kids to Hemphill Farm for Labor Day weekend and everyone loved it. John and Will are fantastic hosts. The house is comfortable and immaculate and the property is lovely and spacious and chock full of fascinating animal life. From feeding Ginger the goat to finding the chickens' secret hideaway to letting fuzzy caterpillars crawl all over us, this city family left feeling thoroughly connected to nature. And honestly, sitting on a lawn watching sheep graze is as good as or better than sitting on a beach in terms of the relaxation quotient. All in all, it was a charming, restorative getaway, and we hope we can come back soon. Thanks for a great weekend!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family visit from the UK

    Family visit from the UK

    • Guest MFM1 (Chorley, Lancashire, UK)
    • Date of stay 07/25/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    We had a fantastic three week vacation at the farmhouse visiting from the UK. It is always important for us to find quality accommodation in an attractive environment. The farmhouse lived up to our high expectations for a family of five which included children aged from 4-18! It really is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The beds were so comfortable with a guaranteed good nights sleep. The porch is terrific for gazing at the stars and fireflies on a clear night or enjoying a few glasses of wine on the comfortable chairs. Watching nature and time pass by was absolutely great even the amazing thunderstorms. Eating breakfast (and other meals) outside on the picnic table was a real delight. Our children enjoyed playing out in the safe environment and feeding Ginger. There are several vineyards worth visiting where you can sample the wine beforehand. We enjoyed Blair Vineyards and Cloverhill (the others will have to be done next time!). The Farmers Markets were interesting with much local produce to choose from. We enjoyed a visit to Lancaster County to find more about the Amish Culture. This can be very "touristy" but the Bird in the Hand Bakery sells delightful cakes etc. Apple dumpling and ice cream was a real treat but there are many others. Will is very knowledgeable about all this! The children enjoyed the visit to Dorney Amusement Park close by. We only spent a day there which wasn't really enough. Discounts can be obtained from local supermarkets (or Dunkin Donuts!).Quite expensive but worth a visit. Crystal caves were worth a visit definitely when the weather is hot! Plenty of Mini Golf courses around too!Shopping is great in the US. Lehigh Valley Mall in Allentown, Philadelphia Outlet Village, King of Prussia Mall are worth visiting if you need some retail therapy! Lots of choices of supermarkets too. Wi-Fi was useful to research days out etc.A very comfortable living room and well equipped kitchen. The fresh eggs provided by Will made terrific omelettes. Would we recommend the farmhouse? Definitely! Your vacation is what YOU make it. Something for everyone, whether you are a couple on a romantic getaway or family with children. John and Will are great owners. John answered every e-mail I sent (before we visited)promptly and offered some good advice about places to visit and local amenities. There is always someone around if you need anything and they ensure you have a pleasurable stay. We had a wonderful vacation. Thanks John and Will!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We have learned so much about the proximity of the farm to various points of interest. Arriving at Newark Airport in Newark, New Jersey from the UK and Europe makes getting to the farm short and sweet. It takes approximately one hour along I-78 to Hemphill Farm from Newark in comparison with arriving at JFK which can take up to three hours of driving. Also there are direct flights from several European cities to Newark. There is ABE Airport in the Lehigh Valley (relatively small)which is approximately 20 minutes from the farm. We hope that Newark, ABE and Philly airports allow for affordable and convenient flights getting to the farmhouse. All the local vineyards are relatively young but the warm and sunny summer climate seems to be making our area a haven for them and thrive with different types of wines. The bargains for clothes (etc)shopping is definately the Philadelphia Outlets located in Limerick, PA. Ironically NOT in Philadelphia and only a 35-40 minute drive from the farm. Traditional shopping malls do include the Lehigh Valley mall, King of Prussia mall and The Promenade Shops at Saucon Valley. Will is definately the expert on Berks County whether it is local farms, the Amish or the Mennonites. Absolutely fascinating to have these cultures preserving our surrounding farmlands. Will has learned some Pennsylvania Dutch too. Going to the local farms and buying produce from the Amish and Mennonites is a great experience too. When arriving back at the farm from outings, the peaceful and tranquilizing front porch and farmhouse sets everything in perspective, together time with family could never be more precious and memorable. The farmhouse and farm awaits the return for your future vacations!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Special retreat!

    Special retreat!

    • Guest ROFO (Western, MA)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    We stayed here for four nights to be close to my wife's family who are based in Allentown and also visit friends in the area. The property was a seductive alternative to our usual cramming into their places or staying at generic hotels. What a life saver the property was for us! In addition to being just 10-15 minutes from Allentown we were able to explore so many other towns and spots from the secluded and peaceful location. While the living room is comfy and kitchen great, it is indeed the front porch that one is continually pulled to with it's views of the nearly 50+ acres, bleating sheep and lovely breezes. The owners are engaged, available and helpful and a pleasure to talk to as well.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We always wonder what it would have been like to reach the farm by horse and or buggy, situated at the top of a hill tucked away on a no outlet street. Did Thomas Edison travel past the farm on his way to the iron ore mines at Rittenhouse Gap?... back then an unusual location and now a special retreat with the timeless front porch. The farmhouse faces south with breezes coming out of the west giving the front porch continual air movement. The mature shade trees keep the summer sun at bay. On hot summer days, the window blinds on the east side of the farmhouse are drawn to keep out the morning sun/heat. With breezes coming from the west, opening the old windows and having the ceiling fans run is reminiscent of times before air conditioning existed. Although you could close all the windows and turn on the airconditioning, but then you would miss what it would be like to live in an old farmhouse. For a comfortable sleep, there is a door that can be closed at the top of the stairs...turn on the window units and get a good nights rest. The farmhouse is such a great alternative to hotels for visiting nearby relatives. Looking forward to your return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Inviting and Warm

    Inviting and Warm

    • Guest Melanie (Sulphur Springs, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/24/12
    • Review Submitted 07/02/12
    Such a wonderful experience staying at the farm. John and Will were wonderful hosts full of history and knowledge of the farm along with local sites and shopping and great tips for going into New York. Although we did not spend much time at the actual farm (we spent the majority of our time in New York) we still felt as though it was a place to relax and feel at home after the hustle and bustle of the city. A return trip is already in the making but we will definitely be staying closer to the farm so we can enjoy all the activities it provides. The kids loved the goats and picking raspberries. They are still talking about it today. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a home like stay but still be close enough to enjoy New York City. Although I would recommend staying close to the farm as much as possible. It has so much history and so many things for you to enjoy close by. Thank you John and Will for a second home experience.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Two great tidbits we received from Melananie, the first being CityPASS and the second CitySights NY which can be found on facebook as well. CityPASS is available for both New York as well as Philly. The pass saves time and money. You can buy the pass at the first attraction you visit, for example the Empire State building observatory and the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. CitySights NY is basically a tour bus company, double decker buses with the second level without the roof, open air and great for sightseeing. A complete tour package to see all of the places of interest and important neighborhoods on the Downtown Tour, Uptown treasures, and Harlem tour, night tour, Brooklyn tour, city sightseeing Midtown cruise all at an amazing low price. A good night's rest is welcomed back at the farm after the hustle and bustle of NY. Farm fresh eggs being available make for a perfect old fashioned farm breakfast. That was quite the road trip adventure with the kids sure to have lasting memories visiting a farm feeding Ginger the goat and looking over New York from the Empire State Building observatory. A perfect summer vacation. Looking forward to your return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Wonderful Weekend Away

    A Wonderful Weekend Away

    • Guest michelle j.
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/20/12
    My boyfriend and I decided to get away for the weekend for his birthday and I found this charming farmhouse on HomeAway. It was everything we could have imagined. The owners were warm and gracious, and made us feel welcome from the start. The house was perfect, and I really enjoyed cooking in the kitchen, which has everything you could ever need. We really enjoyed starting our day with coffee and breakfast on the porch, and ending our day with drinks and snacks on the porch ... just relaxing and watching the sheep graze. Will was nice enough to give us a tour of all the exotic chickens on the property and we really enjoyed the fresh eggs left for us in the fridge. Not only is the farmhouse a wonderful place to stay, but the location is amazing. We took our motorcycles us here and were able to explore all the beauty that rural PA has to offer, farmlands, parks, etc ... We are looking forward to possibly coming back in the Fall. Michelle

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Adventure seekers is right arriving on two motorcyles. The front porch is the signature of the farmhouse. It's southern exposure has amazing sunrises and sunsets. A short stroll away from the front porch awaits the pygmy goats Ginger and her boyfriend Buddywhitepants. We have a small container of grain ready to them to be fed. Each stay the goats become accustomed to their handfed treats. Although watching the sheep graze is a relaxing pass time. Venturing off to the picturesque surrounding area by motorcyles must be an amazing experience. Parking in front of the garage is perfect for the motorcyles and cars. We look forward to their return. I said to Michelle, wouldn't it be amazing to see a hot air balloon arrive or depart in the pasture. Who knows what means of transportation will come to the farm. Thanks for finding the farmhouse on HomeAway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Couldn't be better

    Couldn't be better

    • Guest joe g.
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/04/12
    The only thing better than this property are the hosts. The home is comfortable and welcoming. The hosts will accommodate your needs with a smile and good advice if you are inclined to leave the premise. It is quiet and welcoming. Feels like home. My grand children loved the place and keep asking if it was where we lived. Would return without a second thought. Don't pass this up if you want to get away from the city life and experience the charm, hospitality , space and ambiance of quiet country living. Our family group consisted of 4 adults and 2 small children. It was simply perfect. No need to worry about the kids and plenty of room for all. We are frequent travelers and not easily impressed. This property as perfect!!!!

    Owner response: It was great to have several generations be able to enjoy incredible weather at the front porch and picnic table. The farm's late owners George and Mildred Hemphill would have been smiling to see grandparents sharing time with their family at the farmhouse. The farmhouse seems to naturally attract families and friends for gatherings and we understand why the grand kids kept asking if it was where you lived! We welcome you all back anytime:)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Stay

    Perfect Stay

    • Guest Roger H. (San Francisco Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 05/24/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    We stayed at the Lehigh Valley Farmhouse over Memorial Day Weekend. The house is located in a beautiful setting and was clean and well kept. Our daughters (ages 2 and 4) loved watching the sheep, goats and chickens. John and Will are great hosts and answered all of our questions. They were always very responsive. They gave us farm fresh eggs and fresh strawberries from their garden. They also gave us food for the children to feed the sheep (my kids are still talking about it!). It was a great location to see the various sights in the area as well as visit family and friends. We will definetly stay again when we return. It felt like a home away from home! Thank you John and Will for a perfect stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: "Ginger and Buddy," the pygmy goats must have been pleased to be at eye level while being fed by the girls. Ginger and Buddy are anything but shy and await a handful of grain, while the other sheep cautiously get closer and closer. As we did the walk through the house upon arrival, the girls continued to strain their heads to look through the windows at the sheep and goats out in the pastures.Fortunately we had a toddler gate for the stairs available. Fresh eggs and seasonal strawberries certainly added to the girls experience at the farmhouse. We look forward to future returns:)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A fabulous home base for a biking adventure

    A fabulous home base for a biking adventure

    • Guest The Famous Five biking adventurers (NC, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/28/12
    • Review Submitted 05/13/12
    Our group of five adventurers and gourmands from Canada and the southern US made Hemphill Farm our home for 5 days in early May and enjoyed every minute. The farmhouse itself was clean and cozy, with a well-appointed kitchen (essential for our group), a welcoming woodburning stove, and beautiful outdoor space. We ate several meals outside, watching the lambs cavort and enjoying the beautiful scenery, and also spent plenty of time on the front lawn planning or recovering from our biking adventurers in the valley. (Note to other biking enthusiasts: getting from one lovely valley to another requires conquering some respectable, but not undoable, hills!) Will and John couldn't have been more hospitable and accommodating; they cheerfully answered all our questions about the area's culture and history, and about the sheep and exotic chickens, and gave us lots of very helpful insights, recommendations for local restaurants, bike routes (including the covered-bridge tour), etc. We left feeling refreshed and relaxed, and with lots of happy memories of this gem of the Lehigh Valley. And maybe a little sore from the time in the saddle.... Thanks, Will and John. Hope to see y'all (and Killer and the gang) again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Our first biking enthusiasts successfully traversed the hills between the Lehigh and Oley Valleys. The valleys farmlands and picturesque hills are sure to attract future cyclists from this group’s experience and review. These gourmands were gracious enough to test the kitchen and its amenities while working with the electric oven. So far we have a consistent response of everyone staying who use gas for cooking. We hope in the not too distant future to install a gas oven/ cook top for all of our gourmands staying at the farmhouse. It was good to know that the wi-fi worked well outside the farmhouse to use ipads and skype family and friends. We hope to see these five adventurers make Hemphill Farm their home again as they meet half way between Canada and the southern US. PS. Charlotte’s homemade chocolate cake made with farm fresh eggs was delightfully delicious!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Rural Relaxation

    Rural Relaxation

    • Guest Victoria T. (Hampshire, UK)
    • Date of stay 03/12/12
    • Review Submitted 06/04/12
    As a regular visitor to PHL, I was really pleased to find this great farmhouse vocational rental just a comfortable car journey from the city - perfect for a "girls getaway" with my sister and mum. Close to great shopping as well as several good options for dining out, the farmhouse is in a charming semi rural setting, with pretty views of the surrounding fields from most windows. The farmhouse is very comfortable but we spent most of our time on the porch enjoying some early spring sunshine and the peace and quiet! Will and John are great hosts - respectful of their guests' privacy but on hand whenever needed and genuinely interested in ensuring that your stay will be as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

    Owner response: While having the impression of being far far away from everything, the farmhouse has close proximity to the Lehigh Valley Mall, Philadelphia Premium Outlets and The Promenade Shops at Saucon Valley. Whether eating breakfast, lunch or dinner at the farmhouse the options for dining out are endless. Retreating back to the farm from the surrounding cities and being on the front porch seems to be the perfect way to quickly unwind and relax. Our first guests from the UK... what a wonderful place for sisters to share with their mum!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Rosemarie M

    Rosemarie M

    • Guest Roe (Brooklyn, New York)
    • Date of stay 02/17/12
    • Review Submitted 02/21/12
    My partner and myself and a five of our very close friends spent a wonderful President's Day Weekend at John Armich's and his partner, Will's, farmhouse get away. We were welcomed immediately by John who gave us a tour of the house, a card to greet us and a bottle of wine to enjoy our stay. The house is surrounded by light, which filters in through all the windows, and from every window, we could see the sheep grazing, the new baby lambs that had just been born a couple of weeks prior to our stay, and each day we were entertained by their antics. Since we are all cooks, we truly enjoyed the kitchen which had new appliances and was fully stocked with everything we needed. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and spacious and it was very easy to have a restful sleep. The house is beautifully decorated with artwork from Japan in different type of mediums with some country influence. The dining room was private and conducive to conversation and enjoyment of our meals and instilled with the spirit and enthusiam of its owners. What was most impressive about our stay is that John and his partner Will were very genuine and warm and were willing to accommodate us in any way that would make our stay a pleasant one. We truly felt that the passions and love of nature of John and his partner, Will, were reflected in the house which made our stay that much more enjoyable. The house was exceptionally clean and we personally felt the photos of the house and its interior did not do it justice. The area was fun to explore, Covered Bridge Tour and the Lost Cavern in Hellertown, were highlights in the area and the Bear Creek Resort for those who ski would be a great attraction. Our only regret is that we had to leave this lovely house but we are planning to return again and again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It was such a pleasure to have you all stay Presidents Day Weekend and experience the farmhouse and it's ever changing entertainment in the pastures with the new born lambs. We look forward to your return and inspires us to continue upgrading the farmhouse and its surroundings for your visits. We hope you will be able to come and enjoy the front porch with it's furniture and picnic table. I will continue to post photos of the lambs and all the flowers and trees as spring approaches on our facebook page "Hemphill Farm." Thankyou for leaving the house spotless! We still are talking about the homemade lasagna and chili.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]