Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Home Sweet Home

Charming Cottage Near Creation Museum [#384587] | View Property

Petersburg
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft + front room, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 7-10)
$130/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (51)

Sort by:
  • YES.

    YES.

    • Guest sarahjayne (Ann Arbor, MI)
    • Date of stay 04/07/14
    • Review Submitted 04/13/14
    Stayed two nights on a trip down to the Creation Museum with our four kids: ages 8,6,4, and baby. What a wonderful cottage! The kids adored the little upstairs area with small beds and a loft. Mom and dad liked the sunroom. Kitchen has everything you need. Clean and neat as a pin. Cute house, would stay again. Next time we will bring more groceries and stay another night!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Visit to the Creation Museum

    Visit to the Creation Museum

    • Guest Nora T.
    • Date of stay 03/12/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    We came down from Va. to Petersburg to visit the Creation Museum. The cottage was everything we had seen in the description video. The cottage was absolutely wonderful! The place was neat and clean and charming! We would definately recommend this place to anyone! Great memories were had by all.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Place - would recommend to EVERYONE!!!

    Wonderful Place - would recommend to EVERYONE!!!

    • Guest Johnson Family
    • Date of stay 03/02/14
    • Review Submitted 03/20/14
    This cottage is even more charming in person! We found the beds comfortable, the space more than adequate for sleeping all 9 of us - plus plenty of room for us to put up a pack 'n play in the loft for the baby. I had an issue figuring out how to play a video, but after a phone call, I was shocked at how quickly - maybe 10 minutes later at the most??? - someone was at the door to help me!!! Loved the cottage, loved the service, loved our visit entirely!!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house for a youth group for the weekend

    Great house for a youth group for the weekend

    • Guest Amanda L
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 01/23/14
    Booked the house a week or so before our stay and the process was very smooth! Deborah was very helpful before, during, and after our stay! House was perfect for what we needed it for and it was in a super cute small town! Snowed throughout the weekend and the sidewalk was shoveled before we even woke up!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Home-away-from-Home!!!!

    Wonderful Home-away-from-Home!!!!

    • Guest Jeffrey L.
    • Date of stay 12/12/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    We were a family of 7 staying while we went to the creation museum. We absolutely loved our stay! Deborah's places have spoiled us to never stay at a hotel again. When we needed assistance it was very quick! We fixed all our dinners and breakfasts there and made our lunches to go. It was so great to come "home" in the evening! Deborah has some really lovely touches in the home! Kroger's grocery store is wonderful and very close! We highly recommend staying here when in the area!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • musuemtrip

    musuemtrip

    • Guest Theresa A.
    • Date of stay 09/16/13
    • Review Submitted 09/21/13
    This is a great cottage for multi families or large ones. Comfy and cozy!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • musuemtrip

    musuemtrip

    • Guest Theresa A.
    • Date of stay 09/16/13
    • Review Submitted 09/21/13
    This is a great cottage for multi families or large ones. Comfy and cozy!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay!

    Great stay!

    • Guest Elizabeth F.
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/16/13
    This was a great place to stay instead of a motel. Our family loved this quaint house in a quiet place. There was plenty of room to move and breathe and it was clean. The Creation Museum was quite close. The beds were somewhat hard and the pillows were feather so you might want to bring your own as they can stick you. Overall I would choose this place again in a heartbeat. Deborah was very prompt and helpful when needed. Thank you for such a great place and God's blessings to you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Excellent for Family Stay

    Excellent for Family Stay

    • Guest Mary C.
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 08/03/13
    A great place for a family to stay. It had lots of space, room to move around, and something for everyone. My 10 and 15 yr. old boys both loved the place! I would definitely recommend this to anyone. It is located close to the Creation Museum and is walking distance from the Ohio River.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fun Cottage

    Fun Cottage

    • Guest susan N.
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/25/13
    We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. There was plenty of room and there were 7 of us. The surrounding neighborhood was pleasant and fun to explore. The river bank a few blocks away was a favorite with the kids. The cottage was clean and well maintained. I have recommended this property to friends already. We enjoyed the Creation Museum, Kentucky Horse Park, the old German village at Covington, Rabbit Hash and the Kentucky scenery in general. Wonderful Time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • good

    good

    • Guest Martha D.
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    It was a great place to stay for families going to the Creation Museum. The kids loved the way the house was laid out and especially the two small door in the hall way (if you have ever seen the movie Coraline you would understand) We had a good time .

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great for families!

    Great for families!

    • Guest Kc (Missouri)
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    We enjoyed our stay at Deborah's cottage. It is a neat place full of character. I loved the natural light coming in and that all 14 of us could comfortably stay there for several nights. It was fun to read in the guestbook about other's experiences and tips. The cottage is very close to the Creation Museum, which was such a blessing to visit. My only feedback would be that the bed in the sunroom could be propped up somehow so that it would be level and not slanting with the floor. I think the mattresses were a little hard for our taste but overall I think this was an excellent choice for us and much more fun than a hotel (and more budget friendly a well!). We had one little issue that was quickly taken care of by Deborah's maintenance man, who was very kind and friendly. If you are contemplating this as a place to stay, I would say go for it!! Thanks, Deborah! :)

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Creation Museum Clan

    Creation Museum Clan

    • Guest AMC (Hallsville, MO)
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    We had a nice stay. We appreciate the affordability and flexibility of staying at the cottage, and the attentiveness of the owner and her site manager. Our large group being able to stay all together, and being able to stay so close to the Creation Museum was a great blessing!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful home!

    Wonderful home!

    • Guest Central NC Family (Troy,NC)
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 06/28/13
    This is a wonderful place to stay. We have 4 kids and my parents came as well and we had plenty of space. Dad said it was perfect and he is picky about where he stays. We all loved the river, the creation museum, and the local library. We hope to return for another visit in the not too distant future and we are telling all our friends and family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cottage In Petersburg KY

    Cottage In Petersburg KY

    • Guest Pamela M.
    • Date of stay 05/26/13
    • Review Submitted 06/01/13
    We greatly enjoyed our stay. Cottage was very clean and well kept up, especially for an older house. The pictures and information we received beforehand was very accurate. Have already recommended the cottage to friends who will be visiting the Creation Museum in August. Will probably be back again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A GREAT SPOT!

    A GREAT SPOT!

    • Guest Tom R.
    • Date of stay 05/23/13
    • Review Submitted 05/29/13
    Deborah's cottage is the greatest place I have ever found. It was squeaky clean and the owner and her assistants were absolutely great, and fast! Our party consissted of 8 family members and we visited the Creation Musesum for two days. Deb's Cottage and the Creation Museum go together like love and marriage. We will be back for another visit!I would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved our stay!

    Loved our stay!

    • Guest Shelly B.
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/21/13
    We had a great time in this house. The space was plenty for us and I loved being able to have home-cooked meals while on vacation. The town is quiet and nice to walk around and there is a playground for the kids just around the corner. We were close to the Creation Museum (our main purpose for coming), but also close to lots of other places to see and explore. We would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • wonderful!!!

    wonderful!!!

    • Guest Deana M.
    • Date of stay 05/02/13
    • Review Submitted 05/09/13
    A great house. A lot bigger than it looks in the pictures. There was a group of 8 ladies had plenty of room for all. Great little town everybody was extremely nice. Hope to be back next year. MANY THANKS!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun time for all!

    Fun time for all!

    • Guest Jason R.
    • Date of stay 04/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    Great time! Very cute and cuddly home, not a house, it was a home while we were there. Good location for what we did, creation museum and checked out scenery. 7 of us stayed, 3 older kids, wife and I and my parents. Lots of sleeping places.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Victorian Vacation on the river

    Victorian Vacation on the river

    • Guest Jean G.
    • Date of stay 04/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/30/13
    My husband and I wanted a relaxing getaway that was beautiful and charming. We were not disappointed at the Victorian home. Plenty of charm, roomy, beautiful views of the river, and large rooms. Prior to making reservations we had lots of questions and the owner was friendly, accommodating, and very helpful. Within minutes we traveled to Indiana, Ohio, and of course points of interest in Kentucky. The Creation Museum was a day and a half adventure. I wanted to ride the camel but chickened out. We came from Maryland and was not disappointed in any way. The curvy wrap around porch on the Victorian home and the deck overlooking the river were an added bonus. There are 2 pianos in the home, antiques, and lots of reading material (if you find the time) to enjoy also. We would definitely return again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a find!! We loved the cottage!

    What a find!! We loved the cottage!

    • Guest Melissa S.
    • Date of stay 03/28/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    The cottage could not have been more perfect for our needs! My parents drove from Upper Michigan and we drove over from W. Ky and all met at the cottage. I cannot tell you how wonderful it was to all be able to stay in the same house and not have to be split between 2 hotel rooms! My three young kiddos loved the place and all the nooks for hiding and stairs for climbing! The pictures online I honestly didn't think were going to be quite the same in real life but when got there we were amazed at just how spacious the place was!! It was clean and well kept and had enough utensils and cookware for us to make all our meals! We left behind a 9x13 seeing that was the only thing lacking. ;) During our stay we visited the Creation Museum, the Newport Aquarium, and of course IKEA was just too close to pass up! Everything was nice and close with the exception on IKEA which is 45 mins. away but we visited it on the same day as the aquarium and it was only a few miles down the road. I would so love to come back and stay here again or at any of her other properties for that matter! We had such a good time and loved how close the cottage was to all sorts of things to do. We also were able to meet Candy and thought she was a very sweet lady! Thank you so much for making these amazing places open for rent at such a great price! If it wasn't for us moving overseas I would definitely be back! I will be telling ALL my friends about this place!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Enjoyed our stay at this house

    Enjoyed our stay at this house

    • Guest Holly T.
    • Date of stay 03/25/13
    • Review Submitted 03/29/13
    Communication with the owner was very good. She was quick to reply. The house was nicely decorated and spacious. I found it to be very clean and well furnished. It is an easy drive to the Creation Museum. The house is a "one of a kind" with its crooked chimney and beautiful wood floor. I would be interested in finding out the history of the house. Staying in this house, sure beat staying in a hotel. I would rent the house again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Will never stay at a hotel again!

    Will never stay at a hotel again!

    • Guest Angie T.
    • Date of stay 03/19/13
    • Review Submitted 03/27/13
    Deborah's Cottage was beyond our expectations! This was our first time renting a house instead of staying in a motel. It was perfect for our family. We have three children ages 13, 10 and 9. After arriving we wished we had invited friends to come and stay with us since there were so many sleeping areas left. We cooked 2 suppers while we stayed at the cottage and cooked breakfast every morning. The kitchen is well stocked with just what you need to cook just about anything. The Kroger store down the road was the best grocery store EVER!!! Deborah has a gas grill available to use. We planned to grill out, but never got around to it. Our main reason for visiting the area was to see the Creation Museum and The Underground Railroad Museum at the Freedom Center. Both places are must sees! My husband and I took a stroll around Petersburg and walked down near the Ohio River. Had we remembered our baseball gloves, we would have been able to play baseball across the street with the kids. There is a playground just around the corner. Deborah has a nice collection of family friendly videos as well as some "chic-flicks". The washer and dryer was wonderful as we didn't travel home with a van full of stinky laundry. We can't wait to return some day with friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Cottage was one of the hightlights of the trip.

    Cottage was one of the hightlights of the trip.

    • Guest family vacationer (Alliance, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 03/14/13
    • Review Submitted 03/24/13
    Our family of four and our guest college student so enjoyed staying at the cottage. The decorating was delightful. It was homey and with interesting accents. We looked foward to getting back to the cottage after our days at the Creation Museum and Newport Aquarium. The owner was very helpful in answering questions prior to our trip. I was surprised to get such individual and welcoming input from her. Communication with the owner was easy and friendly. I was quite pleased to find such a great place for such a reasonable cost friendly family price. What a blessing! I have already shared with friends and family about how nice this rental is.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Home Away From Home

    Amazing Home Away From Home

    • Guest Christen S.
    • Date of stay 02/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/17/13
    We had a wonderful stay, the house was beautiful and very clean. And even though it was a little more expensive than a hotel room that would allow a family of five, we were able to prepare all our meals there instead of going out to eat all the time. We also had plenty of room to move around, rather than being cooped up in a hotel room. It was definitely worth it!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Wonderful!

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    • Guest Linda (Detroit, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/14/13
    This house was so well-maintained and clean, and CUTE! It had an abundance of sleeping space, and was so much fun to stay in! The owner, Deborah, is so helpful and sweet. She was a joy to work with! The house was very near the Creation Museum, and not far from a big Kroger for grocery shopping. We loved this house, and can't wait till we can come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 12/9/12

    12/9/12

    • Guest CM (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 12/09/12
    • Review Submitted 01/09/13
    What a lovely time we had at this charming cottage! The home was clean and very well equipped. While we were in Petersburg, we visited the Creation Museum and were able to go back and forth to the cottage to prepare our meals. In the evenings we spent enjoyable family time in this comfortable home. We would definately recommend this place and look foward to returning in the future. In addition, the owner was a delight to work with - a definate bonus!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very Happy to Have Stayed Here

    Very Happy to Have Stayed Here

    • Guest Sunshine (North Tonawanda, NY)
    • Date of stay 10/06/12
    • Review Submitted 10/13/12
    There were four adults that stayed at this rental. We came to see the Creation Museum and this cottage was 10 minutes away. All of our needs were met here - what a lovely place and it felt like home. There are a lot of rooms and beds so this is perfect for two or more. The house was very clean and all of the photos are accurately portrayed. There is one photo in the sunroom that should be updated - it used to have a futon in it and now there is a queen size bed. The owner was so kind and trusting - a wonderful Christian woman.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great!

    Great!

    • Guest Amy (Clarksville, TN)
    • Date of stay 10/04/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    Property was very clean and well maintained. Beds and pillows comfortable. Large kitchen great as meeting area. Certainly would recommend this property and very close to the Creation Museum which is a must see for families.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Cottage

    Wonderful Cottage

    • Guest PAP (Gloucester, VA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/12
    • Review Submitted 12/02/12
    Excellent, well-maintained - highly recommended, particularly for a large family. We had a wonderful experience. Great location near the Creation Museum.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family of 9

    Family of 9

    • Guest D/J (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 10/12/12
    We so enjoyed the charming cottage! Everyone had a bed to sleep in. No one had to sleep in a sleeping bag on the floor--unusual for a family of 9. Everything was so clean and neat. The kids had fun exploring the house. It was such a great place to stay! There was even a washer/dryer and laundry detergent! It was only about 5 miles or less to the Creation Museum. We enjoyed the beautiful countryside and the twisting, turning drive back and forth. It was great to meet the owner; she is so friendly, welcoming, and helpful!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Comments on our recent visit

    Comments on our recent visit

    • Guest Barb (Morganville, NJ)
    • Date of stay 09/11/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    Five of us stayed in this charming cottage which is very clean and well-maintained. It has everything anyone could possibly want in the way of convenience. The sunroom now has a queen-size bed instead of the futon which is pictured, which would be more comfortable. We met Deborah the owner who lives nearby and is very friendly. Creation Museum (which is well worth seeing) was our primary reason for coming to Petersburg and we would defintely recommend this cottage for anyone looking for a lovely place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Hidden Treasure

    A Hidden Treasure

    • Guest Laurie (Staten Island, New York)
    • Date of stay 09/10/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    This quaint little cottage in the quiet town of Petersburg far exceeded our expectations. We were pleasantly surprised with the amount of room and beds available as well as the attention to detail given. It was conveniently located a short distance from the Creation Museum which was our primary destination. Everything was spotlessly clean and all the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed strolling around the town and enjoyed a spectacular sunset over the Ohio River. So glad we stumbled upon this little "hidden treasure."

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay in Petersburg!

    Wonderful stay in Petersburg!

    • Guest bugletti (Illinois)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    We had such a great time! We fell in love with Petersburg as soon as we arrive. We live hectic lives in a busy, residential area, our time in quiet and quaint Petersburg was such a blessing. My 15 year old son, who has just got his learner's permit, loved driving around the quiet, traffic-free streets, my daughter loved the roof-top deck, and my dog even made friends with the neighborhood dogs! The house is beautiful, full of character, with wonderful decor and amazing hardwood floors. The only fault would be that the mattress in the master bedroom was very soft, but maybe that's just a personal preference. Thank you, Deborah for a wonderful Labor Day weekend. We came to visit the Creation Museum, and had a great time there, but loved the house just as much. We would love to return soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Large Family on Vacation

    Large Family on Vacation

    • Guest Gabby (Navarre, Florida, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/15/12
    • Review Submitted 08/22/12
    This cottage was wonderful and fit our needs perfectly. My husband and I have 7 children and we all managed to have a bed to sleep in. We were visiting the Kentucky area specifically to go to the Creation Museum and this cottage was a treasure -- very close in proximity to the Museum -- and was in a quaint little village. We could come back for lunch every day and let the littles run and play and/or nap for a while and then head back to the museum until closing. We were able to make dinners "at home" instead of spending more money eating out. Deborah is great and extremely helpful. This was a dream to this large family. We could all stay together in one place instead of having to get 2 hotel room. We would definitely stay in this lovely home again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Getaway!

    Great Getaway!

    • Guest 57Smiley (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 08/13/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Deborah's Cottage and regret only that we couldn't stay longer and explore more of the area. The accommodations were perfect for our family of six, including three teenagers. You will not find a better place to stay if you are visiting the Creation Museum. It is minutes from the museum and is a great getaway location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • charming, clean, comfortable!

    charming, clean, comfortable!

    • Guest Kookamunga (Detroit area, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    The house was absolutely charming, and clean! The beds were comforable too. The place was a perfect rental! Quiet neighborhood, bright and sunny inside, a somewhat small but EXCELLENT selection of movies to watch if you choose (many current classics), modern appliances, interesting layout too! Deborah, the owner, was a total delight to work with. Incredibly helpful! If I knew of anyone who was wanting to visit the area, I would URGE them to consider this property. Almost every year I go on vacation, I rent a house from an individual. More often than not, the information online is overstated in some way and I leave feeling some degree of disappointed. I suppose the only thing I might say is "overstated" with this property is to call the sunroom a bedroom. It is absolutely private enough to be a bedroom (even has it's own sink area too), but it is one SUNNY room! So, my point is, there is nothing negative of any significance to note. I just loved the place, and will positively rent this place again, when I come back to the area!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Place in Petersburg

    Perfect Place in Petersburg

    • Guest Liana (Gainesville, Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/01/12
    • Review Submitted 08/09/12
    We were very excited to find a place to stay so close to the Creation Museum. That was the primary mission for this part of our trip. Once we arrive at the cottage and the town of Petersburg, we wished we planned for more time to explore the quaint little town and hang out at the cottage. We arrived late at night and it was easy to find and the light had even been left on for us. The cottage itself was clean and comfortable and full of beautiful details. My boys quickly made themselves at home in the loft. We walked to the Ohio River a few blocks away where the boys were thrilled to be able to throw all the rocks they wanted and see whose rock would skip the farthest. There was a beautiful old church built in 1840 directly across the street. A big grassy field was right down the street and a perfect place to run around. Deborah was very easy to work and friendly. She responded promptly to all communication. I would be pleased to stay here again and will plan a longer visit next time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family with teenagers

    Family with teenagers

    • Guest Kimberly H. (Rio Rancho)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/12
    This house was the perfect place for our family with 6 to spread out and feel at home. We loved the small town and the personal view of the river just down the street. If you are a runner like I am, this is a great place to run. You feel that you are going back in time and imagine the horses in this historic town. Our kids remarked that the television show that collects old items should come here. They would find incredible things. The Creation Museum is literally down the street- well up the street I should say. You couldn't walk/run there because the town is down by the river. We got to go see the Reds play and printed the tickets across the street at the library which is attached to the fire station. This really makes one feel safe. Thank you for a great stay and a great value!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming, Comfortable, Excellent Place to Stay

    Charming, Comfortable, Excellent Place to Stay

    • Guest PCLH (Gurnee, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/17/12
    • Review Submitted 07/23/12
    This is the place to stay if you are going to Cincinnati. It is not far from the interstate and allows you to get around quite easily. The Creation Museum is only minutes away and it is within a fair distance to the Aquarium, Ball Parks, Museums and Jungle Jim's. In addition there are a number of historical sites within driving distance. The home is comfortable, newly renovated and is just a nice place to stay. Anytime we go this direction it will be our destination. Deborah is easy to work with. I give this home my highest recommendation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Darling Decor!

    Darling Decor!

    • Guest Denae (Watauga, TN)
    • Date of stay 07/08/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    We had a great experience staying in this spacious, clean, charming, cottage. There was plenty of room and we were all very comfortable. The owner couldn't have been any nicer or more attentive. The location was very close to Creation Museum, which was our primary destination. We can definitely recommend this property and would stay there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • nice, quiet and clean place to stay

    nice, quiet and clean place to stay

    • Guest Let (Thorndale, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    place is clean and located in a quiet small town in Petersburg,Kentucky. Owner (Deborah) is very nice and lived blocks away from the cottage. We went to Creation Museum (10 min drive), Kings Island in Mason, Ohio (50 min drive) and "ride the ducks" in Newport, Kentucky ((35 min drive). We enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Bob (Florida)

    Bob (Florida)

    • Guest Bob (Fernandina Beach, Fl 32034)
    • Date of stay 06/24/12
    • Review Submitted 07/07/12
    What a blessing to find this cottage for a gathering of three generations of our family. It provided a great location to visit The Creation Museum and the ablility in the large room to fellowship with meals, playing games and just talking. The cottage was better than advertised and the owner (Deborah) was friendly, profesional and helpful. For us Petersburg was like stepping back into a time when walking the streets in the evening and being greeted by folks sitting on their porches was the normal way of life.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very nice house and easy for elderly mom to get around

    Very nice house and easy for elderly mom to get around

    • Guest Travelling Man (KY)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    We really enjoyed this charming house in quiet Petersburg. We had 3 generations and the house was well suited for all. My elderly mother was able to use the bedroom and bath on first floor - only a half step to get into the house. The kids loved the loft and the parents used the sun room and twin out in living room. Deborah (owner) is very friendly and helpful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family

    Family

    • Guest ElRu (Columbia, KY)
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 05/27/12
    Everything was perfect. The house was tastefully done, clean, and very homey. We found it had everything we needed. We came to visit with friends and see the Creation Musuem. We had a wonderful day at the musuem and afterward a great visit with friends at the cottage. We walked to the Ohio 3 blocks away and skipped rocks at the boat dock. Visited the small library across the street with the little ones while the others grilled hamburgers on the gas grill the cottage provided. After supper the children played volleyball and frizbee also across the street. The whole stay was one we will remember fondly and I will tell others about this home. The owner was very nice to deal with also. .

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Over and above: Delightful!

    Over and above: Delightful!

    • Guest Humble Hands (Birmingham, AL)
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/16/12
    Our family was thrilled to stay in quiet downtown Pertersburg. We spent a week in Deborah's cottage and felt right at home. With plenty of space to spread out, beds to sleep in and a full kitchen, our family of eight was delighted to have such comfortable and cozy accommodations. And Deborah treated us like family. She went out of her way to check on us and printed a page of fun activities to do while in KY. She even invited us to pick fresh strawberries and greens out of her garden! Yum! Sight seeing was fun: The Creation Museum, Horseback Riding at First Farm Inn, Cincinnati, partaking local eateries, etc. But after each long day it was relaxing to come back to the beloved cottage, sit on the balcony/deck and watch the kids ride their bikes; then prepare a home cooked meal and snuggle in a comfortable bed for the night. What a wonderful vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place to stay

    Great place to stay

    • Guest Andrew (Birmingham, Alabama)
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/16/12
    Great place to take the family. Petersburg is a small (very small) town near Cincinnati, the Creation Museum, and the tri-state area.... We took our 6 young kids to visit the Creation Museum- and had plenty of room. The baby girl slept in a small reading room in the back, the two older girls loved sleeping in beds that had curtains to pull for privacy... our three boys took over the attic. With a family of 8, we had a great amount of space... Because there is no traffic in Petersburg (they don't even have traffic signs at all the intersections), our kids were able to ride their bikes freely... The youngest boy (3) went training wheel free, in fact. The house is great. It's cozy- but big enough. There's a laundry room, in addition to the basics... even has a full two car garage. We used it for parking bikes and other things. But, with the garage door opener, you can pull right in. The owner lives just a few blocks away- and was very accessible to us during our stay. She was helpful about places to go, things to see... and was extremely friendly and gracious.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Home away from home!

    Home away from home!

    • Guest LovetheCreationMuseum (NC)
    • Date of stay 04/03/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    Deborah's cottage was wonderful! She was very good at communicating and giving us info. Her cottage was very clean and my children adored their beds. They even switched rooms the second night. We walked a block to the playground which was very nice and safe. We visited the Creation Museum, only a few minutes up the scenic, windy road. My children wanted to stay another day!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Better than a hotel!

    Better than a hotel!

    • Guest Vacationer family (St. Louis, MO)
    • Date of stay 03/19/12
    • Review Submitted 12/13/12
    Great home, great location. Beautiful scenery. Stayed 3 nights. Everything was in the house we needed. So much better than a hotel!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent place to stay - beats a hotel anyday!

    Excellent place to stay - beats a hotel anyday!

    • Guest Vacationer family (St. Louis, MO)
    • Date of stay 03/18/12
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    Arrived to a quaint, beautiful cottage. Neatly decorated and clean. LOVED this place! Went to Creation Museum, just about 10 minutes away. Beautiful countryside, quiet town. Owner communicates superbly! Highly recommend!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next