Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Backyard porch for enjoying bird watching and wildlife

Charming Southwest-Style Vacation Home with Mountain Views [#387923] | View Property

Private Homes
3 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 5 comfortably
$83 - $160/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • Perfect Vacation Rental and Owner!

    Perfect Vacation Rental and Owner!

    • Guest Rob H.
    • Date of stay 02/01/14
    • Review Submitted 02/28/14
    We've been renting this lovely Casita for a month or two the last 3 years and are coming back in 2015. The backyard is like a Desert Museum with all kinds of cactus and many Saguaro's. We've seen coyote's, bobcat, Quail, hummingbirds galore and javalina. Such a wonderful peaceful paradise and just 5 minutes from the Marana shopping area for all of your needs. The owner's home is on the 3 1/2 acre lot. She gives you complete privacy and is also available anytime for any needs or questions. She keeps the Casita spotless and well equipped with all cooking utensils you might need. Even a coffee grinder! When we are in Tucson, we love to visit the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum (multiple times,buy an annual membership) great food there too, Tour the Asarco Copper Mine, Walk the U of AZ campus, the Pima County Air & Space Museum, trips to the Nogales border, walks in Sabino Canyon, ride to the top of Mt Lemmon for lunch, walks in Catalina State Park, classic car shows & farmers markets, Tucson Museum of Art has a great restaurant, Cafe a la C'art, real tasty Mexican food on Grant St a couple of blocks east of I10, Taqueria Juanito's, Tohono Chul Park is a beautiful place to walk with a wonderful restaurant for in or outside eating, we also like Chuy's Mexican just east of I10 on Ina Rd (cheap,good,daily specials.) More hiking & biking opportunity's than you will be able to enjoy. 1 1/2 hours to Phoenix for a doss of big city traffic. :) We just love this place and the owner! Don't tell anybody. :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceptional

    Exceptional

    • Guest Aubrey R.
    • Date of stay 12/17/13
    • Review Submitted 02/23/14
    The location was everything one would want -- sweeping views of the surrounding mountain ranges; abundant wildlife in the open areas around the house (which was nestled in a neighborhood while seeming remote); lovely landscaping, featuring a variety of cacti, plants & trees native to the Southwest; and private places to sit outside for meals or sunning. The house itself was tasteful & uncluttered, with furnishings & artwork reminiscent of the Southwest, including turquoise & dark red accents & portraits & artifacts derived from Native American culture. The kitchen was conveniently arranged & well-equipped, with an island & seating adjoining a dining area. Everything was comfortable & spotless!, evidence of extreme care & maintenance on the part of the owner. The owner was endlessly helpful & well-informed; considerate & accommodating (including taking us on a tour of the landscaping & trying to broaden our knowledge of native flora & fauna); and available & responsive to our every need. As well, the location is within 1.5 miles of every necessity -- post office, library, groceries, coffee, gas, big box stores, banks, exercise facilities & restaurants. A park situated along the Santa Cruz River has a paved trail for walking or biking & of course, for hiking, the Saguaro National Park is in the immediate vicinity. We enjoyed our stay very, very much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful !

    Wonderful !

    • Guest beth r.
    • Date of stay 12/17/13
    • Review Submitted 02/16/14
    The listing description and photographs do not do justice to the wonderful casita we stayed in for six weeks. The location is sensational: near the Saguaro National Park West: a peaceful setting, a great layout with all the requisite modern amenities, a most gracious owner, and all the required services - grocery store, coffee, shop, bank, big box retail, service stations, library, etc. - within a couple of miles... and Tucson downtown 12 miles away on easily accessible I-10. Could not recommend this vacation home more highly. Not only was the casita exceptionally clean & well maintained but it was also fitted out with tasteful southwestern decor & artwork.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We found the tranquility we needed!

    We found the tranquility we needed!

    • Guest Cynthia B.
    • Date of stay 11/10/13
    • Review Submitted 11/18/13
    This was our first rental home. We are so happy we chose this over 6 nights in a hotel. At this wonderful casita we experienced the tranquility we were looking for. Located west of Tucson in the Marana area, minutes from shopping and restaurants. It is very clean, comfortable, relaxing and quiet. It is ideal for those who are seeking the desert atmosphere with its nature and wonderful vegetation. We were able to have friends stay with us a couple of nights and we all loved it. It is well decorated and is amazingly equipped with anything you would ever need for your stay (coolers, maps, movies, music, library, kitchen staples, etc.) The master bedroom with bath is separate from the other bedrooms. The beds were wonderful! The kitchen has everything you need and more. The yard is wonderfully landscaped and is delightful. Wonderful memories were made during our stay; beautiful sunrises and enjoying coffee on the patio, the wonderful hummingbirds, quail and other birds who come to visit, catching up with wonderful friends and the many day trips available around the area. Photos on the internet do not do it justice and does not show the gracious hospitality Carella provides. She is very friendly and helpful. Thank you Carella for making this getaway a memorable one, we hope to be back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect, private and cozy

    Perfect, private and cozy

    • Guest Scott B. (Kansas City MO.)
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/05/13
    Property is quiet and quaint. The home has everything you'd need while living somewhere other than your own home. Patio was perfect for morning coffee and watching the birds. Beds are extremely comfy, very high end comfort. Coming and going was easy, plenty of room for a couple or family for short or long term stays. Property was also close to walking trails and plenty of restaurants and shops. Great area to also access short drive into downtown Tucson and also scenic day trip drives to Tombstone and Bisbee. We loved our stay, weather was great and this place was PERFECT. Just the right setup for a casita, hope to return again someday.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Could Not Have Asked For More

    Could Not Have Asked For More

    • Guest Connie M.
    • Date of stay 10/18/13
    • Review Submitted 10/27/13
    Carella is truly the HOSTESS WITH MOSTEST!!! My husband and I rented her casita for a 4 day weekend in October. Our daughter attends U of A and we came to Tucson for Parent's Weekend. Our best friends from home came with us this particular year so the 6 of us stayed in the casita very comfortably. Carella made special arrangements for our daughter. Carella is wonderful to work with. She responds to every email or phone call promptly and is happy to accommodate in anyway she can. She even had a bowl of fresh fruit waiting for us when we arrived. The casita was very welcoming and super clean. I am very particular about where we stay and this casita was by far the best one we have ever stayed in. It had everything you could imagine and then some. The beds were so comfortable we did not want to get out of them. Which as far as rentals go is unusual. Not only is the inside well kept and tastefully decorated but the outside is unbelievable. We spent a lot of time outside on the patio just enjoying the scenery and the mountain views. Not to mention all the wildlife. We also used to spotless gas grill one night. We were able to cook our daughter's favorite meal while we were there. The only thing we would do differently is stay much longer. What a gem in the desert!! We can't wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing and beautiful home for a family

    Relaxing and beautiful home for a family

    • Guest Julia A.
    • Date of stay 10/10/13
    • Review Submitted 10/16/13
    This was truly a beautiful rental home. We were visiting Tucson for a family wedding and the five of us (all adults) felt comfortable and right at home. Carella, the host, was very nice and accommodating. She even checked in during our stay via email to make sure everything was going okay. As other reviewers have mentioned, the place is tastefully decorated, clean and includes many nice amenities (books, games, sun hats, beach towels, pool floaties, etc). The outside grounds were beautifully landscaped and, in my opinion, was a true representation of Tucsons natural beauty. The well-kept and clean pool was a bit cold but to be expected this time of year (mid-October). All in all, my family had a wonderful and relaxing time and we hope to come back soon! Thank you, Carella!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best house ever!

    Best house ever!

    • Guest Ineke (Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 07/28/13
    • Review Submitted 08/07/13
    This was the nicest house we have ever rented. Beautifully decorated, very well equiped, super clean, and the situation is fabulous! You don't have to go to the Sonora Desert Parks, this is a park itself with all the different flora and fauna. A

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Desert honeymoon

    Desert honeymoon

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/18/13
    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
    A beautiful well supplied & very comfortable casita. The natural surroundings leave you breathless. Views in all directions including the ones in the backyard of a bobcat & all the varieties of birds, jack rabbits, horned toad are incredible. The house is well supplied with every amenity you might need from kitchen items to pool supplies, hiking equipment, bird watching and literature regarding the area. Even fresh fruit greets you upon arrival. Carella goes above and beyond to answer every question before arrival, during and even after departure. We definitely recommend this property to anyone and will be back ourselves.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Extraordinary place

    Extraordinary place

    • Guest Leo W.
    • Date of stay 07/11/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    This is the nicest house we ever stayed at. Amazing views from the porch and the swimming pool. Very nice welcome. Enjoyed the fruit. The house is spic and span and has everything you need. All utensils look/ are brandnew. We liked the area a lot. We ll be back but first we ll tell everybody in Belgium how nice this place is. Thanks a lot!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Summer Oasis!

    Perfect Summer Oasis!

    • Guest Nancy v.
    • Date of stay 06/11/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    We spent a week in June at this lovely rental -- truly a home away from home in a great location! Don't let the higher temps deter you from enjoying Tucson and the desert at this time of year. The house was always very comfortable with the central air, and the pool was wonderful. The owner was super to work with in making our reservation and during our stay. The property was just as advertised, and more. Everything worked, it was very clean, there are high quality linens and cookware, and many thoughtful touches to make guests comfortable. Really enjoyed watching the desert birds and wildlife off the back patio in the cooler mornings and evenings, especially the hummingbirds and families of quail. We've rented several other properties around Tucson, and this was by far the best.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place

    Great Place

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/11/13
    Very enjoyable 3 day get-a-way. Some may call it a casita, but it felt like a house. Owner pays a lot of attention to the details – comfortable beds, exceptionally clean, kitchen has everything you would need, information on how to use equipment to hikes in the area. Pool is shared with the owner’s house, but felt like we had it all to ourselves. The air mattresses you had to blow up, so the owner went out and bought a machine to make it easier. We have been to other VBROs and this is definitely one of the best we have experienced.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Desert Gem

    A Desert Gem

    • Guest Elizabeth W. (Weybridge)
    • Date of stay 05/11/13
    • Review Submitted 05/28/13
    Lovely house in the middle of the Tucson desert with all the amenities, well equipped kitchen and everything one desires to make a terrfic holiday. We enjoyed having meals on the porch whilst watching the wildlife: rabbits, doves, quail plus families, wrens, hummingbirds and other little four-legged critters. The property was well kept by the friendly owner living next door, who was very helpful with information on the locality etc. Nothing was too much trouble. The house was well positiioned to major roads, handy for parks, and other attractions.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great house

    Great house

    • Guest David M.
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/23/13
    Great place to stay, spotlessly clean on arrival, well stocked larder for essentials, nice touch of a bowl of fruit waiting for us on arrival.As birders the garden feeders being kept well stocked which added to our enjoyment, cant beat watching hummingbirds on the patio over breakfast.Owner couldnt have been more helpful, even let us use her mobile phone. Would recommend the property to anyone

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Authentic Desert Experience

    Authentic Desert Experience

    • Guest Marin Sojourner (Marin County, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/04/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    This was our first VRBO stay as well as our first time in Tucson, and the casita suited us well. The house was neat, clean, well appointed and represented accurately in the description and photos. Its size was ample for two people, and the open back deck/ porch area provided an excellent up-close desert experience. The owners’ careful attention to landscaping and birdfeeder maintenance enhanced our enjoyment of the local flora and fauna, including visiting javelinas and a variety of bird species. We particularly appreciated the collection of reading material in the house that covered places to visit as well as information about local plants and animals. The owners’ love of their property is obvious. Though the casita is on the owners’ property, we felt we had privacy. The owners were very respectful; they want their privacy, too. It seemed to us that we had a real desert experience, including heat (lasting later this year, than usual), lots of sun, beautiful sunsets, coyotes barking at night and other desert-y sounds. There are distant trains sounds, and, while not disruptive, they are a reminder that we still move a lot of freight by train in this country.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Review taken from Guestbook

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Review taken from Guestbook

    • Guest UC Berkeley – Jumping Spider Laboratory
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    We needed a comfortable place to stay after long days in the field. The house is amazing with respect to the detail. Everything is perfect. It is well stocked with everything you need for an extended stay and Carella will assist you if there is anything you need. The comfortable beds! Brilliant after a long days work in the desert. We also enjoyed the backyard where we saw families of quail, javelina (marking their territory on the bird feeder), jackrabbits, scorpions, and families of cactus wrens! In summary Carella makes this an easy place to have a vacation, or in our case, a research trip. The best field “Station” ever!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Casita

    Casita

    • Guest TLP (Flagsatt, AZ)
    • Date of stay 05/10/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    The house was just as described only better than the photos could show, because there was an amazing attention to decorative detail. The property was immaculate and the house was conveniently well stocked with everything to make you feel at home. The beds and bedding were especially comfortable for a good nights sleep. The acreage around the house made you feel like you were out of town, but only a 5 minute drive to shopping and restaurants. We enjoyed coffee on the patio watching the birds in the am and barbequing in the evening. The owner was helpful in answering all questions ahead of time by email, as well as in person during our stay. I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a quiet desert retreat with lots of Tucson activities nearby.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Taken from Guestbook in casita

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Taken from Guestbook in casita

    • Guest Alex and Candeese, England UK
    • Date of stay 04/11/12
    • Review Submitted 06/18/12
    We had the holiday of a lifetime at the casita and hope to come back. We appreciated all the books, maps and information on the local area. We found everything we were looking for and more. We had to keep our eyes open as there was always some entertainment from the wildlife. Thank you so much for all your tips and keeping us informed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Excellent Tucson Vacation Home

    Excellent Tucson Vacation Home

    • Guest St.Louisan (St. Louis, MO)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/23/12
    I was completely satisfied with the property. My family stayed 8 nights, and it met all our expectations, and exceeded them. The property was within 2 miles of I10, and 2 miles of the Saguaro National Park Western Unit. The property was as described in the VRBO information. The owner had a lot of "extras" included - hiking supplies, plush bedding, books and information on local attractions, wood for an outdoor contained "firepit", a fresh fruit bowl, spices in the cabinet, etc. There were bird feeders with seeds to attract birds about 20 feet from the patio. There were Saguaro cactus and other desert plants in the beautifully landscaped outside. The owner followed up promptly when I made reservations, and checked back to make sure I had received the information before my trip to Tucson. She called during the week we were there to make sure everything was satisfactory.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Comfortable Modern Living in the Desert

    Comfortable Modern Living in the Desert

    • Guest Charles H.
    • Date of stay 03/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    We enjoyed our stay immensely! Everything was clean and ready to use as we walked in. Views were outstanding! Owner provided huge assortment of written materials to review and find places to go, etc. Quiet and great location.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Beautiful, Comfortable Vacation Home

    Beautiful, Comfortable Vacation Home

    • Guest Robert H.
    • Date of stay 12/31/11
    • Review Submitted 03/05/12
    I found this rental on the internet and was afraid it might not be as beautiful as it appeared. It was everything and more then we expected. The home is on about 3 acres with the owner living next door. The home sits in a "desert museum." We saw javelina, coyote, gambels quail and many species of birds in the neighborhood. I did not count the number of Saguaro's but there are plenty and more cactus on the acreage. You can see beautiful sunrises from the back porch and just walk out the front door to beautiful sunsets. The home is in the NW foothills about 20 minutes from downtown Tucson. Everything you need is within 20 minutes including shopping within 5 minutes. The home is so comfortable that we didn't want to leave after staying Jan & Feb 2012. The owner decorated with beautiful SW decor. If you have any problems or questions, she is right next door and just a phone call away. I highly recommend this vacation home! I have more photos on my Tucson Vacation Home Rental facebook page. We just loved it! Rob & Carol

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]