Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Columbia Square Inn - Dogs OK.

One-Level Garden Apartment with Private Parking and Gated Courtyard [#393240] | View Property

Savannah
House, 2 Bedrooms + Great Room, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)
$165 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • In the Middle of it all!

    In the Middle of it all!

    • Guest Rae
    • Date of stay 03/15/14
    • Review Submitted 04/01/14
    This is a great place to stay if you are looking to walk every where. I didn't rent a car, everything you need is close by! The outside garden is very private, the views are beautiful on all sides of the house! The house was very clean and had everything from cooking equipment to umbrellas. Both Jackie and Barry were very accommodating. I asked Jackie for her suggestions for seafood and steak restaurants, not only did she provide a complete list, but her personal ratings of each! The restaurant next door 17hundred90 Inn is the BEST place to have cocktails and meet kind people, and they have the BEST food in town!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is true that this rental which has the most convenient parking situation in the entire Historic District is also a place where you can enjoy having no vehicle at all. This is truly walkable to anything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect location, friendly hosts, great stay

    Perfect location, friendly hosts, great stay

    • Guest shelly
    • Date of stay 05/21/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    The apartment is large and tasteful, newly remodeled and well appointed, with excellent beds (a must for us). Located right on the corner of Columbia Square in a beautiful historic building, the location couldn't be better, especially with parking included. You have the whole lower floor of the building. We made instant new friends at the local tavern near by and our hosts where very friendly, helpful and accommodating. This property is perfect for those who want a contemporary, private and spacious alternative to your usual bed and breakfast or typical apartment. The size and parking sealed the deal. We will definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm so glad you found the garden flat so agreeable, Shelline. It is quite truly one of the best spots in town. Park, then spend the rest of your time walking. You could spend an entire day just around Columbia Square with the Davenport House and Owens Thomas museums within a 2-minute walk! Thanks for your review - we hope to see you back in Savannah soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • TERRIBLE SEWER SMELL - HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

    TERRIBLE SEWER SMELL - HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

    • Guest jenna o.
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/16/13
    My family and I spent Mother's Day weekend in this unit. The apartment is in a decent location and is relatively clean - aside from the slow moving drains in the bathroom and kitchen. I also must note that the only bathroom is in the master bedroom - which was definitely an inconvenience during the night - and an overall awkward layout. I was willing to overlook these factors and not write a bad review until our last night at the apartment. From 10p to 8am there was a HORRIBLE sewer smell seeping into the master bedroom. I'm not sure if it was coming from outside or the bathroom - but the entire apartment wreaked. And needless to say we did not get any sleep. When I called Laurie at BUSY BEE she briefly apologized but was defensive about the situation. She said she would ask the owners if they were aware of any issues and get back to me. After 4 days of not hearing from her, I called her this morning. She was incredibly rude and said there was nothing they could do about the situation and then hung up on me. I have never encountered such HORRIBLE customer service. I understand that some factors like the sewer are out of the owners control at times and there was nothing to be done at that very moment. However, I expected more of a sincere apology for our discomfort and inconvenience. Needless to say, I will never stay here again or recommend this property to anyone.

    Owner response: This unit normally smells and looks as perfect as any home imaginable. This review was written last year when the home had a different manager. In any situation our goal is to be courteous and helpful to our guests. The plumbing is in perfect working order and the entire property is maintained immaculately. In Savannah we do have a paper plant upriver, and when the wind blows the wrong way we do get a slight odor which can surprise people who have never smelled it before. This is not long lasting thankfully and certainly isn't notable enough to bother the majority of the now 8+ million tourists who visit our city annually. When you visit this home I can assure you that the location and amenities are impeccable. The service is now matched to the caliber of the property. Thank you for your understanding. -Mary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Weekend in Savannah

    Weekend in Savannah

    • Guest Steve (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    The property was really nice. The only issue we had was that my wife left some shoes behind and when we contacted the rental agency they told us that the shoes were not there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Best vacation and most relaxing place I have ever had

    Best vacation and most relaxing place I have ever had

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/08/13
    • Review Submitted 05/18/13
    I was so impressed with the garden apartment I did not want to leave. You can’t beat the location overlooking Columbia Square. Me and my husband enjoyed our stay for five days and would have extended another five if our schedule allowed. It is within walking distance to all the great shops, restaurants and historical museums. The court yard was absolutely lovely, my two greyhounds would lounge and relax out there all afternoon.It was so romantic we would get take out and eat out in the picnic table surrounded by the lovely gardens and have our coffee in the mornings. We had wonderful time and the owners were extremely accommodating. I am planning on going back for my birthday celebration for at least a week.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for pointing out what a fantastic outdoor dining area this rental has to offer. Everything about this large gated courtyard is ideal because it provides privacy and ambience right in the heart of the downtown commercial area. Whether you order an entire meal from a local restaurant such as B Matthew's or just a happy hour drink from the 1790 (our city allows you to have a carryout cocktail!) it is a rare luxury to be able to enjoy it in your own gated historic courtyard.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Wonderful Stay in Savannah

    Wonderful Stay in Savannah

    • Guest Josie (New York)
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 04/09/13
    We recently stayed at this cottage with our 3 year old son and had a great time. First of all, it is very close or a short walk to most of the things you would like to see and do in Savannah. There was also lots of room and on the warm days we were able to sit out in the garden and enjoy the sun. Super comfortable bed and living room and a kitchen with everything you could want. And as parents of a toddler we were very happy to have the expanded cable options after our little guy was asleep. So much better than a hotel and the parking was included!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Wonderful Christmas in home away from home!

    Wonderful Christmas in home away from home!

    • Guest Tooch (Landenberg Pa)
    • Date of stay 12/24/12
    • Review Submitted 01/30/13
    My family spent 5 nights, including Christmas eve and Christmas night in your lovely property. We were looking for a home that my family would feel comfortable in for a Christmas stay and we were pleasantly surprised at how at home we felt. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a holiday meal, and there was plenty of room for us to relax and watch tv when we had down time. The beds were very comfortable and loved the space in the master bedroom. Location made it easy to walk to everything and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of downtown Savannah. We would recommend your property to anyone visiting Savannah.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Lisa, I'm so glad we could make this work for your family! The location here is SUPERB - glad you were able to take advantage of it! Best to you! Laurie d.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Cozy Cottage and Perfect Walking "Home Base"

    Cozy Cottage and Perfect Walking "Home Base"

    • Guest Southern Comfort (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 09/02/12
    • Review Submitted 10/01/12
    Fabulous Savannah location, particularly for those who want the walking experience from a conveniently placed, cozy cottage as the ideal home base. When we arrived a wedding was taking place in the nearby Washington Square to set the ambience of the green space beauty Savannah boasts. The location speaks for itself. Short walk to River Street area, which we saw multiple times. Fine stroll down to Forsyth Park area, and easy drive to Tybee. We thought parking would be a concern but it wasn't. Get to the Bryan St deck for visitor passes for reasonable cost, far better than playing the meter game. The cottage itself is also Savannah-esque. Historic so with its own charm but appointed well enough inside to feel clean. We found it intimate but the open layout gives it a little larger feel at the same time. A Walking Tour guidebook left there at the home is a plus in pointing to sights to seek out. Pet friendly was a must for our furry friend, and our family member pug felt plenty at home with the nice array of pet amenities (mats for the food bowl, treats in case you forgot yours, even a blanket in the front closet). Overall a successful stay. Food is always a bright spot on vacation in my book. Don't miss spots - Soho South Cafe (try a salmon BLT or crab cake sandwich!), Goose Feathers Cafe, Leoci's if the weather is nice enough to sit on the back true deck, and I'm sure also many of the provided recommended dining spots!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Great property and attentive service!

    Great property and attentive service!

    • Guest Kati (Milwaukee, WI)
    • Date of stay 04/27/12
    • Review Submitted 05/10/12
    We were very pleased with the property! It was clean, comfortable and attractively decorated. We also like the central location. We had a superb experience overall.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Getaway at the Cottage!

    Getaway at the Cottage!

    • Guest TravelingDog (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 04/19/12
    • Review Submitted 05/06/12
    What a wonderful retreat! The cottage is even cuter in person, and you have the feeling that you're staying at the house of a friend who has great taste and wants you to be comfortable and cozy. Among all the trees and other houses, you'll feel like you live in the neighborhood, and my little dog and I loved exploring the squares, parks, and nearby Firefly Cafe. It rained a bit while I was in town, which was just fine with me, because there was a comfy chaise just waiting for naptime (disguised as reading a book)! Have tea or wine on the bench or cute yard chairs and dream about how you too could have a cottage in Savannah! Already looking forward to my next trip.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: This review was written for a different property so please excuse the inconsistencies. This VRBO number now belongs to a Downtown Savannah garden apartment. If you have any questions contact Mary or visit SavannahLuxuryRentals.com

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Perfect for Baseball Parents

    Perfect for Baseball Parents

    • Guest Kathy (Johns Creek, GA)
    • Date of stay 04/06/12
    • Review Submitted 04/13/12
    We love the Sea Maiden and specifically requested it again for Easter weekend. It's ideal for two couples, with plenty of privacy, perfect location and lots of room for all. In fact, we had Easter dinner at the Sea Maiden for 15 and there was ample room for everyone. The men watched the Master's in the comfy TV room, the women had the lovely side porch to themselves and the 7 young adults lounged around on the beautiful deck in the spacious backyard. We can't wait to go again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Kathy, I'm tickled that you decided to stay with us again! You know our doors are always open to you and your family! Looking forward to next season. Best, Laurie d.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • JohnB

    JohnB

    • Guest JohnB (new york city)
    • Date of stay 03/30/12
    • Review Submitted 04/05/12
    Stayed for 2 nights with wife and friends. We loved the cottage! Great location in a beautiful neighborhood, walk to everything. Cottage is spacious, very clean and very charming. Fully equipped kitchen and a lovely backyard to sit and enjoy the fresh air. Much better than staying in a hotel and about the same price. Laurie D is really nice, full of information about sights, restaurants, etc and really wants you to enjoy your stay! Cant wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: John, I'm so happy you had a great time! I'll make sure to have some new "greasy spoons" for you to try out for next time you are in town! All the best to y'all!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Ottawa, Canada

    Ottawa, Canada

    • Guest Canada (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/08/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    We had a fantastic stay at the Sea Maiden cottage! The location was excellent - everything was within walking distance including the dog park. The cottage itself is very charming and comfortable. It was so convenient to have a little yard for our dogs and just wonderful to be able to bring them with us. I am very anxious to return to beautiful Savannah for a longer stay and would not hesitate to stay at the Sea Maiden cottage again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Teresa, I am so glad that you were able to come stay a spell with us at the Sea Maiden Cottage & bring your pups, too! The dog park is a great amenity and I'm happy you were able to take advantage of it as well as get out to Tybee! Hope to see you next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • A charming cottage in gorgeous Savannah

    A charming cottage in gorgeous Savannah

    • Guest Kate (Cape May, NJ)
    • Date of stay 02/06/12
    • Review Submitted 03/12/12
    I spent the month of February in the Sea Maiden cottage and was very happy with the location, the amenities, the charming decor and the helpful owners. Since I am an architecture lover, I spent a lot of time walking my dog around the historic district which has some of the most beautiful and diverse examples of historic houses that I've seen. While I was there, I took art classes at the Telfair Museum and also a cooking class at the Mansion on Forsyth Park. The location of the cottage is an easy 15-20 minute walk to the shopping area of Savannah and just a block away from Troup Square, one of Savannah's many charming little squares. The owners offer all the comforts of home as well as extra little touches like their special ground coffee and teas. The cottage has tiny rooms but that was part of its charm for me. I loved the decor, very casual furnishings consisting mostly of yard sale pieces but interspersed with beautiful lamps, super comfortable beds and bed linens, and bright and cheerful original art pieces. My only disappointment was the back yard area because, during the course of the month, the deck and furniture would often get covered with bird droppings due to flocks of birds congregating in the big trees overhead. That may just be a seasonal problem but some sort of an awning or umbrellas would be helpful. All in all it was a great place and I would highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • A special gem of a cottage in the Savannah historic area!

    A special gem of a cottage in the Savannah historic area!

    • Guest Luce (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 01/14/12
    • Review Submitted 01/31/12
    I was looking for a relaxing vacation spot for three weeks to get to know the Savannah area when I came across this gem of a cottage. It is very bright and sunny and has everything you would need for a very comfortable stay. I love the neighborhood and you can walk to all the beautiful parks- museums and restaurants very easily. I would highly recommend it to all and thank Laurie for a great time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We love having you at the Sea Maiden, Lucy. I am so glad it worked out and have enjoyed getting to see you about town. I hope you decide to make Savannah your new home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Great place to stay with family & dogs

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great place to stay with family & dogs

    • Guest Dorothy
    • Date of stay 12/25/11
    • Review Submitted 12/30/11
    Hi Laurie, We really enjoyed our stay in Savannah at the Sea Maiden. It was the perfect place to spend Christmas with our daughters (and dogs). The house is very charming and cozy, and was yet roomy enough for us all - and fenced in backyard and patio were perfect. The location is great, very quiet street - yet close to the squares, and short walk to midnight mass at the Cathedral, and to the Savannah theater. Would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to enjoy this charming city with their family!! Thanks for all, Dorothy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Perfect Place to Stay with Family

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Place to Stay with Family

    • Guest Dorothy
    • Date of stay 12/23/11
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    Hi Laurie, We really enjoyed our stay in Savannah at the Sea Maiden. It was the perfect place to spend Christmas with our daughters (and dogs). The house is very charming and cozy, and was yet roomy enough for us all - and fenced in backyard and patio were perfect. The location is great, very quiet street - yet close to the squares, and short walk to midnight mass at the Cathedral, and to the Savannah theater. Would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to enjoy this charming city with their family!! Thanks for all, Dorothy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Small but great cottage

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Small but great cottage

    • Guest Justin
    • Date of stay 11/12/11
    • Review Submitted 12/30/11
    This is a great little place in a very convenient part of the Historic District of Savannah. Having never been to the city and starting my search for a place to stay for the weekend much too late, I was lucky to find such a great place. It's situated on a quiet, one-way street, with parking in an alley in the back, and is minutes away from whatever you'd want to walk to as a tourist. There are two small living/sitting rooms, a kitchen, dining room, two bedrooms, and two baths (one good size and one small). We slept four comfortably but it's not recommended for a group unless it's couples or very close friends. There's a great shaded sitting area in the back and a larger fenced in yard beyond that. This is a great place if you don't need much space and if you don't want to stay in a hotel. The agency was a pleasure to deal with and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome, offering recommendations and to make reservations if we would like. Definitely recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Perfect Place to Stay with Friends

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Place to Stay with Friends

    • Guest Kathy
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 12/30/11
    Some friends and I were in town for the scad baseball parent weekend at the same time 23,000 marathon runners were also in town. That actually turned out to be a good thing as, with the hotels completely booked, I came across the Savannah Sea Maiden. It was perfect in every way - comfort, location, cleanliness, roominess. I hope to stay here every time I'm in Savannah now. Thanks, Laurie, for creating such a wonderful place to stay right in the heart of Savannah!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Wonderful Weekend Getaway.

    Wonderful Weekend Getaway.

    • Guest LaFleur (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 12/31/10
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    My last minute, impulsive desire to visit Savannah on New Years weekend could not have been more satisfying. The cottage was perfect....the decor, the location, the privacy. Perfect. You are within walking distance to everything you need. I was able to bring along my dogs and they loved the backyard and daily long walks. Laurie was gracious and so helpful in both the booking and during my stay. I can't wait for my next visit!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Leslie, I loved meeting you and your pups! Hope you will find another "sweet escape" in Savannah soon. Our door is always open to you! Best, Laurie d.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]