Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet

You sent a message to this owner.

Winter view of Mount Washington from living room at sunrise

Winter view of Mount Washington from living room at sunrise Relax in comfort in the living room Summer views Clear winter day- from living room Gourmet kitchen- fully equipped for all your cooking needs Dining Area Wood stove Master bedroom Master bedroom Queen bedroom Street view Our home in summer Storm over Mt. Washington View of Mt. Washington in fall foliage season Fall foliage views Field of lupin in June Winter views from living room Relaxing winter afternoons Living room and deck Winter sunrise- from living room Winter sunrise- from living room

Calendar

Last updated: 04/17/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:2-7 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Jackson chalet description

Enjoy spectacular panoramic views of Mount Washington from our custom built, Smoke-Free chalet on scenic Jackson Highlands. Share a casual dinner with family or entertain guests for formal dining from the gourmet kitchen, all surrounded by views of the Presidential Range. Or just relax and enjoy the constantly changing views of Mt. Washington and the Presidential range during the day and evening hours.

The great room has a charming wood stove and vaulted ceilings with expansive glass and twin sliders that open onto the expansive deck with chairs and dining table. Hi-speed wireless internet and HD television for evening entertainment. Enjoy a relaxing jet tub after a full day of hiking, alpine or nordic skiing, or shopping and sightseeing. Relax and enjoy our vacation home in the heart of the White Mountains.

Enter to a terracotta tile foyer with vaulted ceilings and an open view of the living room and dining area. Upstairs enjoy two relaxing seating areas for entertaining or quietly reading a book or watching a movie on the HD flat screen cable TV and DVD/VCR player. Full gourmet kitchen with butcher block island for casual dining and a dining room table for family and guests.


Additional Information: Lower level master bedroom with Mt. Washington views has king size bed, TV/ DVD player, sitting chair and bureaus. Guest room with mountain views has comfortable queen bed and bureau. Bunk room has two bunks and a twin, with two bureaus and a TV/VCR for the children. Sleeping loft off the great room with queen and twin for private getaway.

Full bathroom with jet tub and shower downstairs and full bathroom with shower and large washer and dryer off the foyer. Storage/workroom for skis, bikes and sporting equipment.

Maximum occupancy is 10 guests. Come and enjoy the view!

Other Activities: Summer attractions - five minutes to Storyland/Heritage New Hampshire, Shopping and restaurants in scenic Jackson Village, Hiking and mountain biking - five minutes to Black Mountain or Jackson Ski Touring trails, 10-15 minutes to Attitash Waterslide and Alpine slide or Wildcat Mountain Gondola in Pinkham Notch, Mt, Washington Auto Road and Appalachian Trail along Presidential Range in the heart of the White Mountains, Rock Climbing - guides available, Extensive Outlet Shopping, Gourmet and Casual Restaurants

Property Type

  • 2 story
  • Chalet
  • 1300 sq. ft.

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Suitable For Elderly Or Infirm
          • Children Welcome:

            Bunk room with 5 beds and TV for children, and sleeping loft with queen and twin mattresses...moreless

          • Pets Not Allowed
          • Non Smoking Only

          Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 10

          Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

          Other Amenities

              • Full Gourmet Kitchen with Butcher Block Island, Jet Tub in Bath, Charcoal Grill (BBQ) and Deck Furniture...moreless

              Entertainment

              • Television:

                HD flat screen TV with HDMI inputs...moreless

              • Satellite / Cable:

                Cable TV service with access to on demand movies and sports...moreless

              • Books:

                Collection of books about the White Mountains, skiing and hiking....moreless

              • VCR
              • Stereo
              • CD Player
              • DVD Player
              • Radio
              • Video Library:

                classic movies for children...moreless

              Theme

              • Away From It All
              • Family
              • Adventure

              Attractions

              • Churches
              • Library
              • Waterfalls
              • Water Parks
              • Forests
              • Cinemas
              • Museums
              • Autumn Foliage
              • Restaurants
              • Live Theater
              • Theme Parks

              Leisure Activities

              • Outlet Shopping
              • Horseback Riding
              • Walking
              • Photography
              • Bird Watching
              • Eco Tourism
              • Miniature Golf
              • Sight Seeing
              • Wildlife Viewing
              • Sledding
              • Scenic Drives
              • Shopping

              local services and businesses

              • ATM/Bank
              • Hospital
              • Groceries
              • Medical Services
              • Massage Therapist

              Location Type

              • Mountain
              • Mountain View

              sports and adventure activities

              • Hunting Small Game
              • Rock Climbing
              • Cross Country Skiing
              • Snowmobiling
              • Golf
              • Snowboarding
              • Fishing
              • Whitewater Rafting
              • Mountain Climbing
              • Hunting
              • Hiking
              • Rafting
              • Fly Fishing
              • Ice Skating
              • Mountaineering
              • Skiing
              • Cycling
              • Kayaking
              • Mountain Biking
              • Swimming
              • Tennis

              catering options

                  • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

                  Dining

                  • Dining:

                    Large dining that can easily accommodate 8 friends and family ...moreless

                  • Dining Area

                  General

                  • Broadband Access
                  • Internet:

                    Hi-speed wireless broadband internet service...moreless

                  • Living Room
                  • Heating
                  • Activities Guide
                  • Alarm Clock
                  • Ceiling Fans
                  • Firewood
                  • Laundry Soap
                  • Local Activities Guide
                  • Local Maps
                  • Local Restaurant Guide
                  • Shampoo
                  • Basic Soaps
                  • Toilet Paper
                  • Linens Provided
                  • Washing Machine
                  • Clothes Dryer
                  • Towels Provided
                  • Wireless Internet
                  • Wood Stove

                  Kitchen

                  • Stove
                  • Dishes & Utensils
                  • Kitchen:

                    Fully equipped kitchen w/ everything needed for large family gatherings...moreless

                  • Coffee Maker
                  • Toaster
                  • Cooking Utensils
                  • Ice Maker
                  • Dishwasher
                  • Refrigerator
                  • Microwave
                  • Blender
                  • Coffee Grinder
                  • Pantry Items
                  • Stove
                  • Oven

                  Outside

                  • Outdoor Grill
                  • Wood Deck
                  • Deck / Patio:

                    access by two sliders in living room area, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views of Mt. Washington...moreless

                  Pool / Spa

                  • Jacuzzi
                  • Jetted Tub
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Perfect mountain getaway

                    Perfect mountain getaway

                    • Guest OP (Boston, MA, USA)
                    • Date of stay 10/25/13
                    • Review Submitted 10/28/13
                    We rented this chalet for a weekend away for 5 friends, and it was great! The chalet is just a few miles from the town of Jackson, which has a couple of nice pubs and restaurants (we ate at the Wildcat Inn and Tavern). It's also only 20 minutes from North Conway, which has all the amenities that one might need. Also within a few minutes are several trailheads that lead to Mount Washington - we didn't go all the way to the top, but enjoyed hiking up to some great vistas. In winter, there seems to be a lot of skiing resorts nearby - we went in the low season after leaf peeping but before the snow, so we can't really comment on the skiing. The chalet itself is very accurately described in the listing. There is one huge common area with a well-equipped kitchen, a comfortable living room area, and magnificent views of Mount Washington. The two double bedrooms are great; the loft would be a bit claustrophobic as one can't stand in there, but probably fine for a kid. The room with the bunk beds is tight if you were 4-5 people there, but it does the job. The bathrooms were great - you don't feel like you're missing out on any amenities even though you're "away from it all". We would definitely recommend this property to anyone - and in fact, we're already thinking that it would be great to go back later in the winter to try the nearby skiing!

                    Recommended for: Families with young children, sightseeing, romantic getaway, girls getaway, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • amazing view and chalet has everything you need

                    amazing view and chalet has everything you need

                    • Guest vincent b. (Montreal, Canada)
                    • Date of stay 08/30/13
                    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
                    what a week end, we rent the chalet randomly but we were quite impressed. first, the view is amazing and in a very quiet place. kitchen is full equiped and the chalet was very practical. open kitchen and large living room. nothing to complain and we loved our stay at this chalet. we decided to clean the chalet ourselves and Brad sent us back the deposit without any delay. would recommend it for a week end or longer.

                    Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, sightseeing, romantic getaway, girls getaway, families with teenagers, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • A delightful home away from home!

                    A delightful home away from home!

                    • Guest Jacob K.
                    • Date of stay 09/09/13
                    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
                    Our family of eight greatly enjoyed our week in Brad and Ann's property. The property is as advertised and is truly a treasure. Our two oldest boys loved the kitchen loft as it became their cozy hideaway. We found the house to be reasonably stocked with dishes, linens, cleaning supplies etc. The dehumidifier in the downstairs quickly cleared an initial dampness in the air when we arrived. The driveway, while steep, is typical for the area and was more than manageable in our 15 passenger van in both wet and dry weather. We very much appreciated the option to be refunded the cleaning fee if we chose to clean up at our departure, particularly as we are quite used to cleaning up ;) Having lived in Berlin and worked for the MWO nearly a score of years ago, it was nice to visit with old friends and introduce my family to the beauty and attractions of the region that stole my heart so many years ago. A few recommendations for future visitors: - Yesterday's for breakfast just down the road in Jackson - Old Village Bakery in North Conway - J Town Deli for lunch - Thorn Hill Maple for the best local maple syrup - enjoy the Milky Way from the porch on a clear moonless night - watch for the Fox Fire (Will -O- The Wisps) under the porch at night (with night adjusted eyes) We would (and will) heartily recommend this very kid-friendly property to others.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Couldn't ask for any more!!!

                    Couldn't ask for any more!!!

                    • Guest Noah O.
                    • Date of stay 07/04/13
                    • Review Submitted 09/07/13
                    I cannot express enough thanks to Brand and his family!!! My girlfriend and I were looking to get away over the long holiday weekend and do some hiking. I came across Brads Chalet and I can honestly say the views were as good as they come. The Chalet is located perfectly for anyone who is looking to hike, ski and or just relax! We had planed 3 full days of hiking so most of our time was out of the chalet however we cooked dinner every night and sat on the deck relaxing while in amaze at the sights and sounds. During the evening we watched a little television while putting together a skiing puzzle that we purchased on our first day exploring in the town of Jackson. The town was fun as it had many mom and pop shops which we enjoyed as well all the festivities that were going on being that it was the 4th of july. The accommodations are exactly as listed and hope to rent again in the future for skiing and or another hiking adventure. Thank you again Brad for everything!

                    Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, people with disabilities, sightseeing, romantic getaway, pet owners, girls getaway, families with teenagers, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Great accommodations for a wonderful week in March

                    Great accommodations for a wonderful week in March

                    • Guest Woody B. (Virginia)
                    • Date of stay 03/11/12
                    • Review Submitted 03/24/12
                    Our group of five adults -- two couples, one single -- spent a wonderful week here in March 2012. Three of us skied while the other two visited nearby towns or else sat in the comfortable living room reading and enjoying the ever-changing views of Mount Washington and the surrounding mountains, valley and forest. We used the three bedrooms, which met our needs well, although it took us a while to find the right combination of blankets and thermostat settings for everyone. The furnishings, dishes, cookware, utensils, appliances, internet access, lighting and so forth were all clean, functional and/or of very good quality. We made most of our meals in the kitchen and went out to Red Fox and the Wildcat Tavern (both recommended) for two dinners. The access is steep (all-wheel drive helps), but the incredible views were well worth the drive to us (if you want to see mountains, you have to go uphill). The loft bedroom off the kitchen would make a fun hideaway for many children and teens; it has lighting and a thermostat but the roof is too low for adults to stand. This is a great rental home in a great location. We'd like to return every season of the year! The owner, Ann, was very easy to work with, answering our many questions promptly and fully. Highly recommended.

                    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing, girls getaway, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

                  • Great location & Views for any White Mountain Visit

                    Great location & Views for any White Mountain Visit

                    • Guest Cheryl & Russ (Sterling, MA.)
                    • Date of stay 02/11/12
                    • Review Submitted 02/19/12
                    Ann & Brad, we had a great time at your Chalet. I think I need a vacation from my vacation. We skied everyday (downhill and cross country). What a great location you have and of course the view is awesome. We loved the Switzerland posters. My friend and I visited there back in 2000 and we went to some of the places on your posters. Brought back lots of memories. We'll definitely keep your place in mind for other trips to the Whites. We go up that way a few times a year.

                    Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, sightseeing, romantic getaway.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

                  • A Great House with a Spectacular View!

                    A Great House with a Spectacular View!

                    • Guest xcskiier (Westborough, MA, USA)
                    • Date of stay 02/14/09
                    • Review Submitted 01/19/12
                    We have rented this wonderful chalet for several years during February vacation time. The house is comfortable, clean, and well maintained with an everchanging, and spectacularl view of Mount Washington. The upstairs has an open floor plan (kitchen,dining area, living room) that is both expansive and cozy. One could easily spend the day watching the changing light and views of the majestic mountain! The bedrooms downstairs are quiet even when activities are going on in the living room. Our kids love the sleeping loft off the kitchen which is their special hideaway. There is ample room to store your ski/sports gear. Excellent xc and downhill skiing (Jackson Nordic Ski Center, Bear Notch xc ski, Black Mtn., Wildcat Mtn.) are closeby, as well as, skating, winter hiking the White Mtns., and outlet shopping in North Conway. Our times here have always been filled with superb skiing, books, family games and great food! A place for both exhilirating outdoor activities and quiet relaxation. Highly recommeded!

                    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing, romantic getaway, girls getaway, families with teenagers, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

                  • RENTERS BEWARE! PROPERTY DESCRIPTION VERY MISLEADING!

                    RENTERS BEWARE! PROPERTY DESCRIPTION VERY MISLEADING!

                    • Guest Doc (Rapid City, SD USA)
                    • Date of stay 09/30/11
                    • Review Submitted 01/16/12
                    This was our second VRBO rental and we were very disappointed with it. First, I would recommend that any potential renters ask the owners to see additional photos of the property before committing to rent it. The limited photos on the website do not give an accurate picture of this property. The driveway to the property is very steep and hard to get up with your average car (our tires really spun out trying to get up it). I would strongly recommend a four-wheel drive vehicle. The bedrooms are located in the basement and they were all very damp and musty smelling. Cleanliness was at a bare minimum. The carpet and furniture were very dirty. The main bedroom had a very low platform bed (two twins put together) and was very uncomfortable. The sleeping loft off the kitchen was advertised as having a queen bed and a single bed. To access it you have to crawl through a small opening and it contained a mattress (with no box spring) on the floor. It had no window and you had to crawl on your hands and knees. They also advertised a large washer & dryer, when in reality it was a small stacked apartment sized washer & dryer. When we opened up the dishwasher to use it, it was full of stagnant water and emitted an extreme odor. We called the caretaker for the property and she said the dishwasher had been broken for awhile and did not know when it would be fixed. She also said that we could use some dehumidifiers to eliminate the dampness in the basement. I called the owners directly advising them of the situation and they told use we could have a full refund for the remaining days of our stay should we seek lodging elsewhere. We ended up only staying one night of the original three planned. When we returned home I contacted the owners about the refund. After more than a month I received a partial refund check for our stay. I contacted the owner again about the balance of the refund and was told they had no further obligation to us. We were extremely disappointed that they did not honor what they originally told us. It was quite obvious to us that they were more concerned about the income generated from our stay than honoring their previous word. Before renting this property I would suggest that any potential renters thoroughly research it & know fully what they are getting in to. We felt that their website was not a true representation of the actual property. For the above reasons, we caution all future renters to beware!

                    Owner response: Brian and his companion rented our chalet for a 3 day weekend during prime foliage season last October. Unfortunately, they arrived during a period of heavy rains with more forecast for the weekend. After the first night Brian called to request a refund as they wanted to change plans. We informed them that we had had numerous rental requests for that weekend, and our policy is to not give refunds based on disappointing weather conditions. They began to raise other “complaints” about the property, and renewed requests for a refund. They then informed us that they would be moving out that day (Saturday), and requested a refund for 2 of the 3 nights of their stay. He subsequently called in the early evening to inform us that they had finished moving out. We had no opportunity to obtain another renter for either the second or third night of their stay, but did provide a refund for the third night. We received a demand for refund of rent for the second evening, suggesting legal action if we did not agree, followed by this review. We have rented this property on VRBO for more than 6 years without encountering these kinds of difficulties. This is our second home, where we spend as much time as we can. We then make it available for rent through VRBO during those times when we are not able use it. Two guest books are filled with the wonderful experiences shared by many of our renters over the years. A professional cleaning service cleans the home before each rental. We stand by the description of our home, and are more than happy to share our home with people looking for the unique location and amenities it provides in the mountains of New Hampshire. More pictures are available on request. We encourage prospective renters to call with questions, and often answer detailed questions from renters who call ahead of time. We do ask that our renters carefully consider whether our home is the type of rental they are looking for before making a decision.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/9

                  • So Beautiful

                    So Beautiful

                    • Guest Jeannie R. (San Diego, CA)
                    • Date of stay 10/11/08
                    • Review Submitted 10/10/11
                    We stayed at this beautiful house several years ago. It was in the Fall. I was just looking at the many photos I took on that trip. It was a photographer's dream! We have many great memories from when we stayed here. The house was very comfortable, had everything we needed, and is ideally located for sightseeing in the area.

                    Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, sightseeing, romantic getaway, families with teenagers, age 55+.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

                   
                  Rental basis: Per property
                  Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                  Spring
                  Apr 1 - Jun 28, 2014
                  2 night min stay
                  $250
                  $750
                  Summer
                  Jun 29 - Sep 6, 2014
                  7 night min stay

                  $1,200
                  Fall foliage
                  Sep 7 - Oct 31, 2014
                  2 night min stay
                  $300
                  $900

                  Additional information about rental rates

                  Fees:

                  • Cleaning $50/ hour $50
                  • Refundable Damage Deposit $150
                  • Tax Rate 9%

                  Notes:

                  $750-$1500/wk US Dollars

                  Rates will vary for holiday periods, and low demand periods, please check with us about the dates you wish to rent.

                  Confirmation will include details about security deposit and cleaning fees.

                  Dates Available: Summer, Fall, Winter and Spring


                  This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
                  Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 04/17/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                   

                  Location

                   

                  Owner info

                  Year Purchased: 2004

                  About the owner: Our family roots in the Mt. Washington Valley go back to when my wife's father was one of the founders of the Wildcat ski area. We raised our sons skiing racing and hiking in the White Mountains, and built this house when a family home next door was sold.

                  Why the Owner Chose Jackson:
                  We were very fortunate to be able to build our house on a unique site, to take advantage of the spectacular views of Mt. Washington and the Presidential range. We also designed it to work for two couples with kids, so we could have other families visit.


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english, french
                   

                  Photos

                  • Winter view of Mount Washington from living room at sunrise

                    Winter view of Mount Washington from living room at sunrise

                  • Summer views

                    Summer views

                  • Gourmet kitchen- fully equipped for all your cooking needs

                    Gourmet kitchen- fully equipped for all your cooking needs

                  • Wood stove

                    Wood stove

                  • Master bedroom

                    Master bedroom

                  • Street view

                    Street view

                  • Storm over Mt. Washington

                    Storm over Mt. Washington

                  • Fall foliage views

                    Fall foliage views

                  • Winter views from living room

                    Winter views from living room

                  • Living room and deck

                    Living room and deck

                  • Winter sunrise- from living room

                    Winter sunrise- from living room

                  • Relax in comfort in the living room

                    Relax in comfort in the living room

                  • Clear winter day- from living room

                    Clear winter day- from living room

                  • Dining Area

                    Dining Area

                  • Master bedroom

                    Master bedroom

                  • Queen bedroom

                    Queen bedroom

                  • Our home in summer

                    Our home in summer

                  • View of Mt. Washington in fall foliage season

                    View of Mt. Washington in fall foliage season

                  • Field of lupin in June

                    Field of lupin in June

                  • Relaxing winter afternoons

                    Relaxing winter afternoons

                  • Winter sunrise- from living room

                    Winter sunrise- from living room

                  $171 - $300 per night (USD)
                  9

                  4 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 10

                  View calendar: Updated 04/17/14
                  Minimum stay: 2-7 nights
                  Dates are unavailable
                  Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                  This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                  Get an instant quote
                  Owner
                  Email owner
                  Speaks: english, french
                  This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now

                  advertisement