Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Acadia Sunset Exterior view

Seaside Cottage, Oceanfront, Private Beach, @ Acadia National Park [#395061] | View Property

Tremont
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$240 - $330/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Marvelous Time

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Marvelous Time

    • Guest Clarice
    • Date of stay 08/31/13
    • Review Submitted 09/21/13
    We had an absolutely marvelous time. The cottage was perfect for us. It was a place we could have stayed longer and just sat on the porch and vegetated. The sunsets were beautiful and were enjoyed from the porch. We saw many sights but was always glad to return to the cottage. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • Best Vacation Ever! Five Glowing Stars

    Best Vacation Ever! Five Glowing Stars

    • Guest Darlene V.
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    My husband & I are celebrating our 40th anniversary this month and decided to take our 2 daughters & their husbands & our grandchildren (all under 5) to Acadia for a week. After looking at dozens of homes , I came across this one that sounded perfect for our family. The pictures do not do this place justice. We were surprised at how spacious, open, and airy it was inside. The house was lovely, clean & comfortable. It was evident that the owners put a lot of thought in to special details. We mostly ate in, rather that take the littles out to dinner, and the kitchen was well equipped with plenty of room to work. We also grilled several evenings. We left the cottage before 9 each morning, and drove to our daily destination: Beach day at Echo Lake. Bike Riding around Witch Hole Pond and Eagle Lake. Picking Blueberries. Driving Park Loop Road & up Cadillac Mt. Bar Harbor with a walk to Bar Island at low tide. Walked the Shore Walk as well. Spent an AM in Northeast Harbor & then Thuya Gardens. AM in Southwest Harbor & had fresh blueberry pie at the Quietside Cafe. We would then come back mid afternoon to put the littles in for naps. This was the time we adults could rest, read on the screened in porch, walk along the beach, or ride bike locally. The Cove is beautiful, and ever changing. Beachcombing was a big hit with all of us! After dinner in the evening, we went to places close by: Wonderland Trail, Twice to the Bass Harbor Lighthouse. And even one evening to the local school playground for the kids. We had the privilige of meeting the owners who were staying near by. One day Peter installed a DVD which we used in the evenings. Another time a screen blew off & he immediately replaced it. Coming from hot, muggy PA in August, we weren't sure about not having AC. We never needed it. There is always a wonderful breeze coming off the cove, the house was always cool & some nights actually got cold. We had to close windows several evenings. From the quiet, peaceful mornings, to the dazzling sunsets....and everything in between, Acadia & this cottage are truly magical! We would recommend this property to anyone & we hope to come back again some day.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are very happy that the cottage worked out so well for you and your family for your anniversary celebration. And what a great week of fun activities! Best wishes for year 41 and beyond!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • Our whole family loved it.

    Our whole family loved it.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    This was our family's first trip to Maine.The cottage was great. We enjoyed peaceful mornings/evenings watching the tide go in and out on the Cove and the kids loved the ping pong table. It was nice to be away from the busy, touristy areas, but close enough to visit them whenever we wanted and to hike in Acadia every day. Echo lake is also close by for swimming on those hot days. We loved it!

    Owner response: We're so glad it suited your whole family well. Thanks for sharing your experience!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • Charming, Cozy yet Spacious

    Charming, Cozy yet Spacious

    • Guest Brian B.
    • Date of stay 10/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    My wife and I came to Maine for a long weekend in October to see the fall foliage and hike Acadia with our four (1 teen, 3 pre-teen) boys. The cottage was beautiful, nicely decorated, and very clean, with all the amenities. What surprised me most was how comfortably we all fit. It was cozy, yet we still managed to get our own space. The ping-pong table was a big plus for the boys. The owners, Joy and Peter, were very responsive, though our contact with them was minimal because the cottage provided everything we needed. My only regret is that I didn't book the entire week... but we'll be back.

    Owner response: We're very happy the cottage suited you and your boys. You're welcome back any time. Best Regards from Joy & Peter

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • A perfect setting for any Acadia getaway

    A perfect setting for any Acadia getaway

    • Guest Joanne D.
    • Date of stay 09/28/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    This was our third year renting on Mount Desert Island from the Cutrones, and our first year staying in Acadia Sunset. The photos of the cottage don't quite give justice to the setting on Duck Cove on the "quiet side" of MDI. The rolling green lawn down to the rocky cove coastline is magical, and sunsets truly are amazing from the porch. The amenities in the cottage are perfect for a few days or week-long stay. Everything is always clean and neat upon arrival, all furniture and rugs in very good condition. The bed in the master bedroom is delightfully comfortable, and the two upstairs bedrooms are charming. The kitchen layout is spacious and the downstairs ping pong table remains a hit with the kids every year. All of this combined with the excellent communication and helpfulness of the Cutrones guarantees that we will be back!

    Owner response: Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We appreciate it, and are so glad you continue to enjoy your vacations here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • Gorgeous sunsets

    Gorgeous sunsets

    • Guest Traveling Family (Bethesda MD)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/29/12
    We loved our week at Acadia Sunset cottage. The cottage's location is lovely, overlooking a tidal cove and perfectly situated to watch the sunset from the side porch. After a full day of hiking, biking or exloring the island, we raced back so that we could relax and enjoy that view. The location is close to Southwest Harbor and Bass Harbor so it was easy to get to stores or restaurants. And the cottage was clean and well set up for our traveling family (2 adults, 2 teens). I'd highly recommend the property for a nice summer vacation getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for sharing your experience, Daphne. It helps others envision what it's really like to stay. And we're very glad you enjoyed your stay! We just stayed ourselves, to make sure we soaked up enough sunsets to last a while! Best Regards - Joy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Lovely cottage-peaceful, lovely water views

    Lovely cottage-peaceful, lovely water views

    • Guest Beth G.
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/12
    A true Maine experience! The cottage is more than promised. The pictures don't do justice to the water views. We were so pleasantly surprised when we entered the house-clean, open, and comfy. The stairs down to the private rocky beach added to the experience. My teens loved the ping pong room which provided hours of entertainment. They were also impressed with the WiFi...no need to completely "unplug". The sign of a good vacation is when you don't want to leave. That was the case after spending the week at the cottage.

    Owner response: Super! We're so glad that the cottage worked well for both you and your teens. We want it to be "your" special place when you come. We've succeeded when you wish it didn't end! Hope to see you again next year - Joy & Peter.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Very nice place

    Very nice place

    • Guest Beth H. (Ostrander, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 06/28/12
    When we arrived we were happy to see that the house was exactly like the desciption on the internet. The pictures were right on the money. Very nice house that was very roomy and very homey. Beds were sooo comfortable. I usually do not sleep well away from home but slept very good here. Everything you could possibly need was provided for us. Everything was very clean and all ready for us when we got here. I would definatly recommend staying here. Its great.

    Owner response: That's terrific that you had a comfortable and restful stay - perhaps the fresh sea air had a hand in that, too! Thank you for sharing your experience; we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Want to relax? Hike? Eat? This is the place.

    Want to relax? Hike? Eat? This is the place.

    • Guest Richard .
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    This was our 2nd time staying at this great place and it was just as great this time as last Sept. First, you can't beat being right on the water--exploring the beach, watching the wildlife and, of course, the sunsets. We have been hiking Acadia for years and the location of the cottage is perfect. We can go out for a quick hike on the quiet side or spend the day out hiking, eat dinner in Bar Harbor or Southwest Harbor and be home ready to recharge for the next day. Great restaurants are close by or you can buy live lobsters and steam theme at home! It's a great place for families--plenty of room for our 6-yr old's stuff, his love of exploring and a nice yard for a catch. And the owners are teriffic to work with--the process is simple. We highly recommend it and hope to be back agan next year.

    Owner response: We are so glad you enjoy the cottage and Acadia so much. We love to share it with people who love it like we do. We look forward to having you back again next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Awesome experience that no one wants to miss

    Awesome experience that no one wants to miss

    • Guest Amar G.
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/08/12
    I was little skeptic while booking it but when we arrived there, we found it to be exactly as described in the listing. The house was well maintained, clean and arranged for our welcome. Owners were very helpful and welcoming. We felt like being in our own vacation home. The kitchen was fully functional and we loved during barbecue in the backyard while the sun was setting across the waterfront. It was an amazing experience. This was our first homeaway experience and it was worthy. We called up the owners a few times to seek help and we were always able to reach them. They were also prompt on emails. I would highly recommend this rental property. In fact, we told the owners that we are coming back next year. :) The property is very conveniently located to food mart, gas stations, boat rentals, and all Acadia attractions. There is a small beach very close to the house. So overall experience in terms of activities and sight seeing was fabulous.

    Owner response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the property lived up to your expectations. We look forward to having you back for another great experience at Acadia!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • A most enjoyable week

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A most enjoyable week

    • Guest Party of 4 from Southern Illinois
    • Date of stay 10/08/11
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    This has been a most enjoyable week of our Maine vacation. We couldn't have been more pleased with your outstanding accommodations! We toured the island daily and enjoyed the 'booty' left by the tidal cycle. And we surely put that lobster cooking pot to good -- and frequent -- use. As many of the previous guests stated, we hope to return some day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/3

  • We hope to return

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We hope to return

    • Guest Family from Blooming Glen, Pa
    • Date of stay 09/23/11
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    This is our first stay at Acadia Sunset. It's a beautiful spot and worked out really well for our family. We loved being on the cove and exploring the beach. We spent alot of time hiking in Acadia National Park. This year we were blessed by seeing an abundance of wildlife. The kitchen worked well and we cooked many meals there, including two nights of lobsters. The ping pong table is a great idea and we had lots of fun with that. Thank you for opening up this beautiful place to us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/3

  • A great experience

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A great experience

    • Guest Family reunion party of 5
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    1) Our party of five had a great experience here. We enjoyed the Park, Bar Harbor, and all of the "touristy" things, but then reveled in the peace and quiet of this home. We all agreed we would recommend this place and return ourselves if possible! 2) We came for a "sister" reunion - from CA, NV, and MN. We were enchanted with the fog, quiet, and awesome views. Each day we went on an "outing" in the area. The hiking was awesome! This cottage was perfect for us - we hope we can return. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • Very Peaceful and Beautiful Views

    Very Peaceful and Beautiful Views

    • Guest Paul F. (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 01/13/12
    This is an amazing place. Plenty of room for kids to play downstairs, stairs down to the water, where you can launch a canoe, and not too far from anywhere. Especially close to good lobster!!! I would definitely return!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Lisa & Paul, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our cottage. We always want our guest to feel it is their home away from home. Come on back anytime. The lobsters get bigger every year!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/2

  • Wonderful place

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderful place

    • Guest Family of 5 from Audubon, PA
    • Date of stay 08/03/11
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    Just love getting up in the early morning before everyone else (which isn't hard with three teens), making coffee, enjoying the early cove light. I also love the layout of this house, the "walking" road, quiet serenity of the tides. We kayaked in Seal Cove Pond, got lobsters from Beals and were able to utilize most of your cooking wear -- I made clam chowder and blueberry muffins. Wonderful place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/3

  • You never want to leave, part 2

    Guest comment entered by owner

    You never want to leave, part 2

    • Guest Child of OH party, written in crayon, no spell ck!
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    [cont'd from "You never want to leave" review] And I'll never forget swimming at Echo Lake, listening to the Loons and above all looking out on Duck Cove [the cottage location]. This IS paradise. If you get to be on [Mount] Desert Island, you are the luckiest person on earth! P.S. You never want to leave!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/3

  • You never want to leave

    Guest comment entered by owner

    You never want to leave

    • Guest Child of OH party, written in crayon, as written
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    This is the best vacation spot in my opinion. So many adventures, sites. It's paradise! I remember mostly, mini golfing at Pirates Cove, getting front row seats at Improv Acadia (so hilarious!) Solo kayaking at Long Pond and while rocking back and forth, on the kayak, watching the gracefull Loons swim. Also hiking up Cadillac Mountain and getting up to the summit feeling so accomplished, and what a beautiful view! Also I remember picking all the blueberries that were on then trail. And [more...]

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]