Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Mesmerizing view of Samara Beach by day.  Gorgeous lights at night.

Ocean Views, 5 Bdrms & Pool on Private 60 Acres, Walk to Beach [#395744] | View Property

Samara
House, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 12)
$275 - $425/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (12)

Sort by:
  • Amazing Location!

    Amazing Location!

    • Guest Ron (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/02/14
    • Review Submitted 02/17/14
    Hacienda Punta Indio has a gorgeous location with an ideal view of Samara beach and bay. The expansive property with numerous paths also offers views of Carillo beach. The house is reached up a long winding drive and is very private. Not far from the base of the drive is a road leading to Samara Beach and we all found it pleasant to walk from the house to the village (about one hour) along the beach. It helped that we could leave one of our two rental cars in town for the trip home. For nature lovers, the property is ideal. There are numerous birds, a variety of vegetation, frequent views of howler monkeys making their way through the jungle and the opportunity to hike through the woods on the paths provided. There is even a hike to a private beach which at low tide has ample tidal pools and beachcombing. We really adored the property! The house is spacious and a great setup for a large group with all the bedrooms a similiar size and setup (king bed, ensuite bath) so that no one was getting a "better" room. All rooms overlook the pool area and view of the beach. The pool is one of the nicest setups we have seen--the last stop on the edge of a ravine overlooking the beach and way. While sitting in the pool you can cozy up to the edge and gaze for a long time at the views. There is ample seating around the pool and a very, very comfortable hammock. I would say that the photos do not do the house proper justice: based on some other reviews we were prepared for a fairly basic setup, but were pleased to discover everything was tasteful and very comfortable. This may not be the house for individuals accustomed to 5 star resorts with spa like amenities, but it is completely clean, functional and comfortable. The air conditioned cold cellar was awesome for a large group keeping everything cool and the ants out of the kitchen. Jorge and Flory take good care of everything, come promptly when asked and are not intrusive. We had regular garbage pickup, attentive assistance when our baggage had to be delivered by the airline the day following our arrival and housekeeping along the way. The area of Samara is a paradise for beachlovers. There are lots of possible daytrips either way up or down the coast and numerous activities for adventure seekers. We found lots of places to dine, although enjoyed dinners at home more. Costa Rica has the best fruits and vegetables and shopping for supplies is not at all difficult. We definitely plan to come back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sad to leave

    Sad to leave

    • Guest Kimi (Los Osos, CA )
    • Date of stay 01/03/14
    • Review Submitted 01/17/14
    This was my second time staying in the town of Samara and this time we needed a house that fit 7 adults and a toddler. This house was perfect for our family. Those who woke up early could sit on the pool deck and bird watch or make breakfast in the kitchen and look out over the beach. We explored the 60 acres of land each day, always finding something new. The family that took care of the house was amazing. They helped us get rides into town, picked us up fresh lobster, and helped us practice our Spanish. The pool is an added bonus, after hiking back up the long driveway, it was always a treat to jump in. We enjoyed walking to Playa Carrillo and swimming in the clear water. It was sad to leave such a beautiful house and town. I would highly recommend this house, it has something for everyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely amazing view

    Absolutely amazing view

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/26/13
    • Review Submitted 09/13/13
    We all were very pleased with all aspects of our time at Punta Indio. The house was clean, well equipped and more than comfortable. Everyone associated with the house was helpful, friendly and a pleasure to know. And last but certainly not least, the view was mesmerizing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 2 great weeks spent at the Hacienda

    2 great weeks spent at the Hacienda

    • Guest Rae (Hamilton, ON, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/09/13
    • Review Submitted 02/24/13
    My husband and I and another couple enjoyed 2 awsome weeks at Hacienda Punta Indio. We spent many wonderful hours in the awsome pool. We really liked the house and the property but the pool made our vacation great. The view from the pool is beautiful and the palm tree for shade was appreciated. After reading the listing and seeing the pictures we got exactly what we expected. The caretakers are great, very kind and nice. The owner was exceptional with answering questions and providing information. She went above and beyond any other VRBO house that we have rented. Overall for the price of the accomodations we were very satisfied with this house and would consider renting it again if we ever came back to this part of Costa Rica. We found some great restaraunts in Carillo and Samara and we were thrilled to find a 9 hole golf course at Punta Islita, approximatly 1/2 hour away. Calis the pro there treated us very well.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful and serene stay at Punta Indio

    Peaceful and serene stay at Punta Indio

    • Guest Mary (Missouri)
    • Date of stay 02/07/13
    • Review Submitted 02/24/13
    We enjoyed a wonderful few nights at Punta Indio in Samara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica. I owned my own travel company which focuses on Costa Rica, so I have stayed many, many places throughout Costa Rica. I loved the Samara area. Both beaches within walking distance of the villa, Playa Samara and Playa Carrillo, were very pretty and very few people on the beaches. Punta Indio is very private and secluded, and so very relaxing. The pool is wonderful and the views are exquisite. We could spend hours just staring out over the beach and ocean. Punta Indio is wonderfully rustic in a northwoods cabin style, but that is what we wanted. I would rate the villa at a 3 star for furniture, but that is partially not fair as the architecture is also very rustic, which offers great charm. We loved having everything wide open during the day, and the vast open air feeling. Yes, there are ants which do not sting. But if you leave food out, they will quickly find the food. If you do not leave food out, they will not be a bother. I have lodged in five star plus resorts in Costa Rica with the same ant problems. That is the nature of Costa Rica and being near the woods and enjoying the amazing wildlife including howler monkeys very nearby. We did not rent a car and walked everywhere. But we are runners and the distances might be far for some. Traveling around Samara by rental car would be amazingly easy. But also calling a taxi is very cheap to go to and from town. The kitchen was well equipped and we very much enjoyed cooking and grilling, and not leaving the villa at night since it was so relaxing and peaceful. The local grocery stores in Samara were just fine for what we needed. We used a local company, Samara Adventures, for our transfers to and from airport. They are excellent. They also have a full menu of activities such as zip line, and they will pick you up at the villa. Lastly, the caretakers are excellent and quickly come if a problem. We locked ourselves out of our bedroom once, and another day I goofed up the safe. The caretakers were there within 30 minutes both times, they could be sooner if serious emergency. And they are wonderfully warm and friendly. They make you feel right at home.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What an incredible place....

    What an incredible place....

    • Guest Tenn Pack (Knoxville, TN USA)
    • Date of stay 01/30/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Hacienda Punta Indio. The hilltop with it's wonderful breezes and great view made relaxing by the pool, reading books, swimming and star gazing high on our list. We were visited daily by geckos, iguanas and several birds. Great fun watching the social flycatchers swoop down to drink from the swimming pool and the howler monkeys with babes in arms swinging from the trees were awesome. We explored trails around the house and went down to Half Moon Bay. Playa Samara was nice and our favorite restaurant was definitely Casa Esmeralda. Playa Carillo was great for snorkeling and such a beautiful beach! We easily made day trips up and down the coast and had a great time exploring. The house was well equipped and the beds very comfortable. The information sent to us before our trip allowed us to better plan our activities. Jorge and Flory were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. The house was perfect for our group. We definitely hope to visit again in the near future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great views!

    Great views!

    • Guest Bob and Barb (Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 11/02/12
    • Review Submitted 11/15/12
    WE really enjoyed our stay. The house sits high about the beach at Samara and the views are breathtaking. In the early morning we were able to see lots of birds fly by and one evening had a sky full of stars. We were looking for a time to relax, read and enjoy the pool and that we did! The owners emailed us a list or recommended restaurants and we loved the new Thai restaurant. We hope to make it back sometime this coming year!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Secluded Setting with Amazing Views

    Secluded Setting with Amazing Views

    • Guest Shari & Rob (Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/28/12
    • Review Submitted 12/20/12
    My husband wrote the previous review without my input so I felt the need to add my opinion. He enjoyed his stay here much more than I. There were many things I did enjoy such as the views from the pool and the absolute privacy, and the grill was superb. We also really enjoyed walking the 60 acre property. There were some things though that I was not as happy with. The review does say it is not 5 star and that is definitely true. I would say it is maybe a 3 star. The pictures of this rental definitely look nicer in the photos than in person. The furniture is all very old and uncomfortable, not one chair that we sat in was comfortable to curl up and read a book, so we used the hammocks for that. The bedrooms are minimal at best and the bathrooms are in definite need of upgrading. There are no items for entertainment. No ipod dock, an old TV with 3 stations all in spanish, no dvd player, and no board games. We were glad to have our ipad etc to keep us occupied in the evenings. The distance to Samara beach is minimum 5 minutes by car. There is a beach you can walk to through the woods and it takes 10 minutes but it is not a nice beach and it's not somewhere that you would want to hang out at as it is all rocks, beach and all. People should also be aware that with seclusion comes a LOT of bugs etc. I was a little freaked out at times... cockroaches, bats and ants galore, luckily all were outside, none inside. I realize this is the jungle but we were in Costa Rica for a month and saw more than our fair share here. This was mentioned just to let other people that might be uneasy about bugs know that they will see many. You definitely need a car to rent here, there is a lot that small children could get into in the woods. I think this rental is much more economical and practical for a group. You have others for entertainment and it helps to keep the cost down. That all being said, the caretakers were lovely and the owners were very gracious as well, bringing us a wireless modem the next day when we arrived and the previous modem was broken.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A private paradise

    A private paradise

    • Guest Creekside (Ontario Canada )
    • Date of stay 10/28/12
    • Review Submitted 12/14/12
    We are rural people, so this location and surrounding 60+acres were an outstanding find for us. We spent a month in Costa Rica and having a week here, where we could explore and watch the wildlife was one of the highlights. We can't think of one other place where you will have your own private, natural waterfall. The owners are very accomodating and will assist you with any of your needs, and their property manager Gorge and his wife Flory are such happy and pleasant people to deal with. The other reviews are accurate, as is the description by the owners. It isn't 5 star, but It had everything we needed, and I'm very happy the owners have not made it luxurious. With the outstanding location and amazing seclusion and private paths through the jungle it would be priced out of the avg persons reach if they added too many luxuries.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Unique property provided memorable vacation

    Unique property provided memorable vacation

    • Guest Adopted Costa Rican (Connecticut, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/07/12
    As our daughter lived in nearby Nicoya for two years we were well aware of the beauty of Playa Carrillo and looked for a rental nearby. Punta Indio was perfect for our family (husband, wife, daughter and 2 grandchildren ages 4 and 2) along with our extended Costa Rican "family". The clean, cool and spacious bedrooms provided us with plenty of comfortable beds and room to spread out. The common living areas were wonderful for feeling like no one was excluded while in the kitchen. The kitchen was basic but we managed to cook 3 meals a day for the week for ourselves and any Costa Rican family that visited for the day. The pool and the view could not have been more perfect. The view to the northwest overlooking Playa Samara provided an unending display of Costa Rican beauty throughout the day and night. The monkeys living around Punta Indio were such a bonus. Our 4 yr old grandson was glad to see they weren't as big as the noise they make! Great fun for all. The photos and description for this listing are accurate. This property is perfect for anyone looking for a true Costa Rican experience with all it's beauty and richness of nature. The walking paths with all the local wildlife (lots of land crabs) provided us with hours of entertainment. I would not recommend this to someone who requires a "5 star" accommodation or is uncomfortable around sharing the space with local wildlife . But if you want a quiet, nature filled, clean and spacious place, with a "5 star" view and location, this is it. Our entire family is looking forward to going back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic deal !

    Fantastic deal !

    • Guest CEGG (Redmond Wa)
    • Date of stay 02/09/08
    • Review Submitted 02/04/12
    I have stayed here many times and it really can't be beat. We split the cost by four (per room) for the week and had 9 people stay very comfortably. There is a huge shared area (and covered parking for 4 cars) but each room is private. There is a bathroom attached to each bedroom and, in hotel style, they each have their own lock and key so other guests can't get into each others rooms unless you want them to. This house has it's own pool that is nice and warm that makes up for the fact that it is a bit of a walk to the beach. We drove to town rather than walk. Samara has great restaurants, Casa Ezmerelda is my favorite, and shops including a couple of grocery stores. My friends and I went deep sea fishing one day and we cooked the Tuna we caught that night at this house. Remember, this is Costa Rica so don't expect carpets and do expect wild life. We had a pride of monkeys in the trees near the house, pretty Costa Rican birds and a huge toad that hung out by the pool at night. Expect rustic but everything you need is either there or available nearby and Samara is only about an hour and a half drive to the Liberia Airport. Stuff to note: Flights to Liberia are pretty cheap but be wary of the rental car companies! They want an original signed letter from your credit card issuer to get you out of paying their hefty insurance rates! My credit card had this coverage but the rental car company would not accept the paperwork from my Visa. It needed to be a signed letter and they showed me a sample from a Canadian Bank credit card. Make sure you clear this with your car rental company before you go because they all do it!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful empty beaches, warm sunny days

    Beautiful empty beaches, warm sunny days

    • Guest Becky (Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/17/97
    • Review Submitted 02/02/12
    We spent a wonderful week up in Playa Carillo on this property. Some of our friends rented out a fishing boat for the day, so we got to enjoy fresh fish on the BBQ while watching the sunset. The restaurants in the area were fabulous, but it would also really nice to have the self-catering option available. In the morning we would walk down to the beach - it felt like we had the beach all to ourselves! Playa Samara (the other beach) has a resort, so you could go visit and get the feel for that, and still escape to your personal paradise at this beach house. We loved it!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you, Rebecca. The idea of this property being a "personal paradise" sums it up exactly. For anyone who wishes to have their own personal chef, this option IS now available. Samara has a highly-recommended personal chef as well as a personal masseuse. Please ask and we would be happy to arrange for this. Pura Vida!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]