Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front porch has sitting area for relaxing.

Spacious Intown Home W/Large Office Area Too. Near Ocean. [#398320] | View Property

Bar Harbor
Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 10)
$257 - $357/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • Large house, great location

    Large house, great location

    • Guest Doug (Charlotte)
    • Date of stay 09/24/13
    • Review Submitted 10/02/13
    This home is located down a quiet street right off of Cottage which makes it an easy stroll to the shops and restaurants on both Cottage and Main. The home is quaint had definitely has Maine charm. It is an ideal place to stay with a family (plenty of room to spread out). They make you feel quite welcome and explain well where everything is! Would definitely stay here again!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A terrific week in Bar Harbor

    A terrific week in Bar Harbor

    • Guest Tina Z. (Churchville)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/16/13
    What a perfect place to stay when vising Bar Harbor, Acadia, and the surrounding area. Sherri met us at the house and after orienting us to the house, she spent time orienting us to the area. She was so helpful and friendly. My husband and I were there with our daughter, son-in-law, and 3 grandchildren. The house was the perfect size for all of us. The house is very kid friendly; a gate at the top of the stairs, DVDs for the little ones, and toys and books to keep them busy. The outdoor area is great to sit and relax and we loved sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine in the evening. The house is very well equipped. Loved the 3rd floor! It was great being able to walk into town whenever we wanted and not worry about parking. We were there for the 4th of July and had a blast at the parade and the awesome fireworks. We made some beautiful memories during our week and we thank you, Sherri, very much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A delightful week

    A delightful week

    • Guest Tina Z. (Churchville)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/13/13
    What a perfect place to stay when vising Bar Harbor, Acadia, and the surrounding area. Sherri met us at the house and after orienting us to the house, she spent time orienting us to the area. She was so helpful and friendly. My husband and I were there with our daughter, son-in-law, and 3 grandchildren. The house was the perfect size for all of us. The house is very kid friendly; a gate at the top of the stairs, DVDs for the little ones, and toys and books to keep them busy. The outdoor area is great to sit and relax and we loved sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine in the evening. The house is very well equipped. Loved the 3rd floor! It was great being able to walk into town whenever we wanted and not worry about parking. We were there for the 4th of July and had a blast at the parade and the awesome fireworks. We made some beautiful memories during our week and we thank you, Sherri, very much.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A WONDERFUL Vacation

    A WONDERFUL Vacation

    • Guest Harlene E.
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    I feel that all previous reviews were spot on. So I have just a few things to add. First, I can't believe how much time and care Sherri has put into making certain that every possible need is met. This house is stocked with pretty much any and every item one might need during a "home stay" - from linens and towels to kitchen items to paper goods. It was nice to find everything I needed. Additionally, the location could not be more perfect. Bar Harbor is tiny and the house was literally a few minutes walk from anything we wanted to do "intown." And just a hop, skip and a jump from Acadia - and the supermarket!! Sherri was so professional and easy to deal with and super responsive. Just a great communicator. I really, really wished we lived closer, as I would love to make Spindrift and Bar Harbor a yearly destination!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great location to enjoy all things Bar Harbor!

    A great location to enjoy all things Bar Harbor!

    • Guest With metta (Hallettsville, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    Spendrift Cottage was the perfect house for our adult grandkids during a wonderful family reunion in Bar Harbor. Sherri made sure that they felt welcome and well-informed of the amenities and features of the house upon their arrival. The location couldn't have been better: walking distance to the major grocery store, the Acadia park free shuttle, the town square and all the best of Bar Harbor (restaurants, shops, shoreline path, harbor, etc.). While truly in the heart of Bar Harbor, the cottage is tucked inside a quiet neighborhood. Sherri has beautifully updated the cottage with designer colors and well-chosen appointments. (We were especially impressed with the state-of-the-art washer/dryer!) A nice private patio complete with a new grill and seating offered a great place for star gazing, visiting and enjoying the beautiful Maine weather we had that week. All in all, Spendrift Cottage is a great find and one we will definitely return to for future visits to Bar Harbor.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceeded our expectations!

    Exceeded our expectations!

    • Guest David T.
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/25/12
    My family and I were very pleased with our choice to rent this house. Sherrie did a great job on the renovation and just wait until you see the third floor. My two adult boys loved staying up there. It was like having their own apartment. My wife and my mom loved sitting out on the porch in the morning. The house is very spacious and is truly on a quiet street, yet only a 5-6 minute walk to both Jordan's for breakfast and Hannaford Supermarket (take the shortcut by the back of Hannaford). Walk a couple of more minutes and you'll find yourself at Cottage Street Bakery where my wife and I were able to get our cappuccinos. Everything else in downtown Bar Harbor was well within walking distance. I highly recommend this house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Ideal Place to Stay!

    Ideal Place to Stay!

    • Guest Tina and Gary Virshup (Cupertino, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    Spindrift Cottage was the perfect place to stay in Bar Harbor - it's quiet but so close to town and the local amazing grocery store is right around the corner. We walked everywhere! Also appreciated the 2 dedicated parking spaces so we could be off the street. We were 2 couples who enjoyed having comfortable space to share and be together but also enough room to have that much needed privacy. The decor and paint colors are fresh and relaxing; kitchen, baths and laundry are convenient and well appointed. Everything looks newly done, sparkling clean and well thought out - especially the details in the kitchen. We loved cooking several meals at "home" and relaxing on the porch in the evening with a glass of wine. There is no shortage of activities to participate in and you are so fortunate to have the beautiful Acadia Park in your back yard. We biked, hiked, kayaked, toured the bay - and the Atlantic Brewery - gotta love that blueberry beer! Beer! Lobster! Blueberry Everything - but especially the pie! It's heaven!! I have to put in a plug for Gentle Yoga at Cattitude on Main Street. Do it when you first arrive and it will set the tone perfectly for relaxation! It erases the stress of a long flight or drive and they are very welcoming. I highly recommend Spindrift Cottage - Thank you for providing us with a home away from home and a beautiful, relaxing week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Ideal Place to Stay!

    Ideal Place to Stay!

    • Guest Tina and Gary Virshup (Cupertino, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    Spindrift Cottage was the perfect place to stay in Bar Harbor - it's quiet but so close to town and the local amazing grocery store is right around the corner. We walked everywhere! Also appreciated the 2 dedicated parking spaces so we could be off the street. We were 2 couples who enjoyed having comfortable space to share and be together but also enough room to have that much needed privacy. The decor and paint colors are fresh and relaxing; kitchen, baths and laundry are convenient and well appointed. Everything looks newly done, sparkling clean and well thought out - especially the details in the kitchen. We loved cooking several meals at "home" and relaxing on the porch in the evening with a glass of wine. There is no shortage of activities to participate in and you are so fortunate to have the beautiful Acadia Park in your back yard. We biked, hiked, kayaked, toured the bay - and the Atlantic Brewery - gotta love that blueberry beer! Beer! Lobster! Blueberry Everything - but especially the pie! It's heaven!! I have to put in a plug for Gentle Yoga at Cattitude on Main Street. Do it when you first arrive and it will set the tone perfectly for relaxation! It erases the stress of a long flight or drive and they are very welcoming. I highly recommend Spindrift Cottage - Thank you for providing us with a home away from home and a beautiful, relaxing week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Great Home Away from Home.

    A Great Home Away from Home.

    • Guest David R.
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    The house was nice, clean and neat. We felt very welcome by the Owner and the house had everything we needed - felt like home. The location was great, right in Town. Everything worked properly, the grill, AC's, TV, washer/dryer, etc. The third floor rooms are beautiful, the family loved their space. We had trouble with the internet one day and the Owner had it fixed right away. so overall it was a great stay. Hopefully we can stay here again, maybe next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 5 stars! We had a fantastic time.

    5 stars! We had a fantastic time.

    • Guest Terrie D.
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/24/12
    FANTASTIC!!!! We love Bar Harbor and Sherri our host couldn' t have been nicer. The house was beautiful, comfortable and close to everything. We had three children with us and they especially loved the upstairs room. We all appreciated the AC. Thanks for welcoming us to Bar Harbor.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great home in a great location

    Great home in a great location

    • Guest Kayla S.
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/17/12
    This home provided many conveniences and comforts for our family vacation to Bar Harbor and Acadia. Two couples and five children (ages 1-5) found the home to be spacious and appreciated the kid-friendly amenities for young children (jogging stroller, table and chairs, gated front porch). The toys and books were great to have, and we were so fortunate to have found a home with so much space for the little ones to move around. There was plenty of space in the living room for dance parties when we played the kids' music through the speaker system, and the floor space in the office room provided a great area for the kids to play while the adults worked in the kitchen. The bedrooms were comfortable, and everyone slept well all week. The location is fantastic. It was very quiet, but so convenient. The kids enjoyed riding their bikes on the side street each day. The grocery store was steps away, and the heart of town was only a short walk, too. The Fourth of July parade passed very close to the house, which was great on our cool and rainy morning. We were able to walk to and from the fireworks without having to worry about parking or traffic! Strolls for ice cream in the evening or breakfast in the morning (at Jeannie's Great Maine Breakfast, yum!) were short. Of course, the location was great for getting in and out of Acadia as well. We were able to leave in the morning, return to the house for lunch, and then explore more in the afternoon without feeling like we were spending our vacation in a car. The homeowner, Sherri, was great. As my sister's family arrived first, we did not get to meet in person, but I owe her many thanks. She provided valuable insight that helped us plan our trip, and she was available to answer questions while we were there. She was able to tell us what the locals would do. We would certainly recommend this home to friends or relatives planning a trip to Bar Harbor.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great for us!

    Great for us!

    • Guest Danielle G.
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    This spacious in town home was a great place for my family and my sister's family to rest during our adventurous Bar Harbor and Acadia vacation. The home is great for kids and is pretty baby proof which was very helpful. It was so nice and convenient to be able to just walk into town. The homeowner was great with communicating with us before and during our stay. The house is decorated nicely. The beds and linens were comfortable and quality towels were a plus! It was also great to have air conditioning in the bedrooms. This made for comfy sleeping. We love Bar Harbor and Acadia, and we were very fortunate to have found this house!

    Owner response: Thank you! It was nice to get to know you and your family, and I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the features of the home during your stay. I appreciate your specific review. My mom does, too, as she is now quite smug due to the role she played in the towel selection. I hope our paths will cross again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house for a family on a Bar Harbor vacation!

    Great house for a family on a Bar Harbor vacation!

    • Guest Megan H.
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    We spent a wonderful family vacation in Bar Harbor staying at SpinDrift Cottage! There were as many as 9 of us (8 adults and 1 child) and the house more than accommodated our whole family. It was great to have all the creature comforts of home at our finger tips throughout the week (a kitchen to cook in, laundry room, and plenty of living space for all). We enjoyed dinners out at the many fabulous Bar Harbor restaurants but also took advantage of the new grill and outdoor fenced in patio when we didn't want to eat out. It was centrally located, making it easy to walk into down town Bar Harbor or to the grocery store next door as well as being a short drive or bike ride away from all that the Acadia Parks have to offer. We liked that despite its central location, it was on a very quiet side street away from traffic. The house was clean, well-maintained and had plenty of extra amenities... including movies, games, and a jogging stroller and a sand box our 2 year old used. Sherri was wonderful. She welcomed us on our arrival and had great suggestions for things to do during our time there. She really made us feel like the house was ours for the week. She was easy to reach by phone or email when we had questions and quickly solved an Internet connection problem one day. We were very happy with our choice to stay here and would recommend it to others!

    Owner response: Dear M and family, So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Bar Harbor and that Spindrift provided a pleasant home base for your vacation. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review, and also for your considerate attention while here, keeping the home clean and in beautiful condition. We would love to welcome you back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]