Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front Porch Overlooks 17th Green

Elegant Home with Private Community Pool in Perfect Location [#39934] | View Property

Village at Turtle Beach
4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, spectacular kitchen, sleeps 8
$250 - $707/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • Spring break 2013

    Spring break 2013

    • Guest amy c.
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    This is the perfect home for the family on the go. Large kitchen with bar for feeding kids on the run. Right next to the home is the pool where we spent hours sunbathing and playing. The beach is really close and convenient as is the market for anything you might need. We had a gray day and the kids played basketball in the driveway for hours thanks to a well placed basketball hoop. The owner is easy to work with and the location is perfect.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful home, great location

    Wonderful home, great location

    • Guest Louise M.
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 12/10/12
    We enjoyed our stay over Thanksgiving very much. Wonderful home with large kitchen and lovely sun porch. Ample living space and bedrooms, with TV's in every BR - major plus for teenagers. We have visited Kiawah for nearly 20 years and this location is convenient to everything - beach, golf, tennis, etc. We would rent this home again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Home at a Great Value

    Great Home at a Great Value

    • Guest JR
    • Date of stay 09/15/11
    • Review Submitted 10/11/11
    This is was my first experience renting a house sight-unseen through homeaway, and I was a little nervous about the experience. I'm happy to say it turned out well, and I think that others would be very pleased with this home. I'll rate it on a few different factors: The House itself - 4.5/5 This house, if I had to guess, is probably about 20 years old. The layout is great - two bedrooms up and two down. The stairs are a little steep, but put the young kids downstairs and it's fine. The kitchen/den/living room/dining room are basically one big open space, which is wonderful for a big family trip. The kitchen has very nice appliances - built in fridge and gas stove - and the tv/entertainment system is very nice. I particularly enjoyed the sun porch in the back. Super comfortable couch and a nice view of the lagoon. As others have noted, we saw several alligators, which was exciting for my son. The only thing I would note, and this is not a complaint, is that the house does show its age a little bit. The counters are older, and there is definitely a little bit of wear and tear. Some of the fixtures are slightly dated. Sometimes I think that people have unreasonable expectations about things like this. The bottom line is that, if someone in your family or a friend owned this house and invited you to stay there, you'd think it was great. I'm still giving it a 4.5 out of 5 - overall a great house. Location - 5/5 You're not going to find a better location on Kiawah for the price. Most rentals are actually fairly far from the beach, and given that there are strict rules about parking, that typically means a long walk or bike ride. That wasn't an option since I have young kids and would be going back and forth a lot. This house is VERY close to the beach - just cross the lagoon bridge, and the beach access path is there. You're not going to get much closer without paying for oceanfront. Owner - 5/5 As I said, this was my first homeaway experience, and I couldn't have found a better owner. Alan was SO responsive to my questions from the get go, and he was very nice. The transaction was very smooth and my damage deposit was returned promptly. A+. Value - 5/5 My nightly rate, all in, for the entire house was cheaper than one nice room at the Sanctuary. Enough said! Overall - a great house with a great price and great owner in a great location. You would do well to rent it for your next trip to Kiawah!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Beach House

    Wonderful Beach House

    • Guest Jill K.
    • Date of stay 09/15/11
    • Review Submitted 09/27/11
    A wonderful family beach house. Close to the beach and pool. We will stay here again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful house

    Wonderful house

    • Guest David p. (Hingham, MA)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 08/20/11
    We have been visiting Kiawah for 5 years now and this house has been our favorite place we have stayed Great location just a short walk to the beach. Right next to the pool. Close to bike trails, golf courses and The Sanctuary. The house was perfect with large bedrooms and plenty of space for the whole family. It was very clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend this house to families with kids (young or teenagers).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Week at a wonderful location

    Wonderful Week at a wonderful location

    • Guest PC (Wayne, PA, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 06/19/11
    We rented many villas in the past 20 years in Kiawah for our family vacations and this year decided to try a home. We decided that the home experience outweighed the villas so we will be back. Thanks so much for making our stay so enjoyable with all the amenities and loved having the pool right next door.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ideal Location on Kiawah Island

    Ideal Location on Kiawah Island

    • Guest JP (Westerville, OH)
    • Date of stay 05/14/11
    • Review Submitted 06/27/11
    We have stayed on Kiawah many times and this home is in an ideal location - short walk to the beach, next to the community pool, close to the Sanctuary and market. The home is very comfortable and spacious. The master bedroom suite is huge. We enjoyed looking for alligators in the lagoon as we ate breakfast in the sunroom. Would recommend dinners at Tomasso Grille at Turtle Point Golf Course and Rosebank Farms at Bohicket Marina. This vacation we booked a kayak tour through the Night Heron Park Nature Center. It was an easy trip and our 5 year old really enjoyed it. The guides were very knowledgeable and fun.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Super vacation

    Super vacation

    • Guest Betty (Redwood, VA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/10
    • Review Submitted 01/09/11
    This is an excellent home. Large and spacious, there are plenty of nooks to escape to if one wants privacy, yet there is a large gathering place around the island in the kitchen to be together as a group. The sunroom provides a beautiful spot overlooking the lagoon where wildlife can be observed. The home is just a short walk to the beach and the numerous bike trails are easily accessible. The owner is exceptional - personable and very easy to work with. We would definitely consider staying here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location and plenty of space!

    Great location and plenty of space!

    • Guest Ansley (Nashville, TN)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    The owners were wonderful to work with planning our vacation. The home exceeded our expectations. There were six adults and two children during our stay and we never once felt "on top of one another." The kitchen island was something I hope to model in my next home. The location right next to the pool and a block from the beach was super convenient. We will definitely be returning!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home review

    Home review

    • Guest Meghan (Navarrre)
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 08/06/10
    We would have loved to have had beach cruiser bikes available to have avoided the hassle of renting. Otherwise, it was a great vacation home!

    Recommended for: Pet owners

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great vacation home!!

    A great vacation home!!

    • Guest Chris213 (Greenville)
    • Date of stay 05/28/08
    • Review Submitted 06/11/08
    The house is spacious, well maintained, ideal location, and impressive all-around. Alan and Angela do a great job in making you feel welcome! We had a perfect vacation. Alan was a pleasure to work with regarding the rental agreement and details. I highly recommend this vacation home. I we come back next year for the meeting, we'll be staying here!! Regards, Chris

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • An unbelievable location & home!

    An unbelievable location & home!

    • Guest West Coast Family (Lake Oswego, OR)
    • Date of stay 05/13/08
    • Review Submitted 05/25/08
    This home was perfect, it had plenty of room for our big family, the living space & kitchen were huge! We loved the home, the location couldn't have been better, literally right next door to the pool, an easy walk to the beach. The views of the golf course from the porch (on rocking chairs) and the swamp from the sunporch were awesome. We had a lot of fun watching alligators (from inside), as that was a novelty for us on the west coast. We will definitely try and return. The owners were a pleasure to work with, and you could tell this house is a home, not just another rental.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Wonderful home at a terrific location.

    Wonderful home at a terrific location.

    • Guest Spike (Upstate New York)
    • Date of stay 04/01/07
    • Review Submitted 04/23/07
    This home is open and bright, with charming decor and comfortable beds, ample space for a large family, and many different gathering spots. It's close to tennis, very close to the beach, and only a few feet from the neighborhood pool. The owners were very easy to deal with. We will go back, no question.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]