Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of The Pelican Grand, a 4 Diamond Boutique Hotel located right on the sand!

Pelican Grand Beach Resort & Breathtaking Ocean Views! 2 King Beds [#399489] | View Property

Pelican Grand Beach Resort
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Den/Living Room, 1 Bath (Sleeps 5)
From $99/nt to $375/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (48)

Sort by:
  • Great location and room

    Great location and room

    • Guest Cindy B.
    • Date of stay 04/06/14
    • Review Submitted 04/11/14
    Overall a great stay for 4 days on the beach. Beach clean. Ocean great place to swim - shallow for quite a while. Nice pool and lazy river and towels are provided for all outdoor activities. Room slept 5 - was nice to have the extra room with one pullout single bed for late sleepers. Beds were comfortable. Great balcony view. No soap provided (or shampoo) so remember to bring hand soap and shower soap! Nice facility, friendly staff. Overall a nice place to stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Girls Weekend

    Great Girls Weekend

    • Guest Alicush
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/13/14
    We had a great time at the Pelican Grand Resort. The resort has an "old time feel" with the wrap around porch and rocking chairs. It's smaller than other resorts but sits right on the beach. Ocean is fabulous to swim in and the staff is very efficient getting your chairs and towels or umbrella's. All the staff were very helpful and personable. As for our room it was very comfortable, clean with an incredible view. It has a mini fridge, we were able to store our wine and cheese for evening time cocktail hour out on the deck. (We wish it had more outdoor seating) The only complaint we had was it really does have nothing in the room but 2 rolls of toilet paper. No hand soap, or any other amenities. Not a big deal as we headed to the store about a mile away to get some. However, you might want to let people know on your website. I recommend this hotel for an older crowd or family with young children. It's not around all the "hot spots" but is an easy taxi ride to them but the resort is nice, quiet and a great place to relax. Will hopefully be back someday soon.

    Owner response: Hi Alison I"m glad your "girls weekend" was as enjoyable as you said, and you liked our apartment. Regarding the soap, etc, unfortunately that is a new policy the hotel just started and I neglected to inform you as your reservation was made prior to the change. I have added the info into my rental contract for future guests to be advised. Thanks for the tip. Hope you return again anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Good, Bad and Ugly

    Good, Bad and Ugly

    • Guest Bill J.
    • Date of stay 02/16/14
    • Review Submitted 02/20/14
    Unit has phenomenal views from the balcony and the beds are very comfortable. The room furnishings are dated and the room needs a thorough cleaning behind beds and furniture. Nobs are falling off and bedroom lamp is difficult to turn on and off. Living room TV is old and operates poorly. The hotel staff did not stock enough toilet paper for our stay. I called the owner who lives in LA, who said he couldn't assist from 3,000 miles away! He said the hotel would charge me an unreasonable amount if I called housekeeping. He actually suggested I go to the store and buy my own toilet paper. That is beyond reasonable and not meeting your customer expectations. Valet parking is now $30 and the hotel no longer supplies shampoo etc in owner units.

    Owner response: Bill Upon your arrival for your 3 day stay, you immediately called me to complain that the lamps didn't work. I immediately contacted maintenance to have it looked at. Then you called back to say that you didn't realize you actually have to use the wall switch to turn it on, and actually nothing was broken. Duh! As you are a guest of a private owner, certain amenities are no longer stocked or supplied for free by the hotel. However the huge amount of savings you achieved by booking direct and not through the hotel usually amounts to approx. $200/night, and so I'm sure that would enable you to purchase your own toiletries, and extra toilet paper for a 3 night stay. I was unaware that they have recently raised the Valet rates, but I'll look into it and change the amount on the website. Sorry that you decided to look behind the furniture for dust bunnies, instead of out the balcony at the miracle that Mother Nature provided for your entertainment.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Great Hotel, not so great room...

    Great Hotel, not so great room...

    • Guest Amy S.
    • Date of stay 01/25/14
    • Review Submitted 02/10/14
    This is our 2nd time at the Pelican Grand and we love the hotel! The room we stayed in was the last available on short notice with our requirements. The beds were very comfortable and the views were amazing. The problems we had were not earth shattering, just annoying. Upon arrival the bellhop noticed the lamp between the beds was not working and said he would tell maintenance...no one showed up. I knew the TVs we're not updated, but when we tried to use the one in the Living area, it did not work at all. The last problem was the toilet. After flushing one morning, it began to pour water out of the tank. We alerted the front desk and the 'fixed' it while we were out. The next morning the same thing happened and my husband decided to take a look. It was just the hose that fills the tank and was an easy fix, however, the maintenance crew did not fix it...we did. Annoying. I feel the owner should upgrade the Televisions and pay more attention to the maintenance items in the unit. I will say that this unit was a little bigger than the others and had a very nice balcony.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Amy I'm sorry for the small maintenance issues that you encountered. I will contact engineering and let them know that they dropped the ball and make sure that everything is in working order. I'm glad that you were able to oversee these tiny issues and enjoy the spacious room, the balcony and the views from our apartment.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • amazing family retreat

    amazing family retreat

    • Guest Yekaterina P. (Plymouth MN)
    • Date of stay 12/31/13
    • Review Submitted 01/12/14
    We loved it . The owner was very responsive and accommodating. We had earlier flight and got earlier check in. The view is great. You see the city skyline and ocean. Service in the hotel is perfect. You can walk everywhere or take a city bus. We will return again some day.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Kate I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our apartment in Fort Lauderdale, FL Thanks for your kind comments, hope to have you as a return guest sometime soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Christmas Break

    Christmas Break

    • Guest Beth S.
    • Date of stay 12/26/13
    • Review Submitted 01/03/14
    This was our second time at the Pelican Grand and we enjoy the resort. The condo was very spacious with 2 kings beds and the owner was very responsive when I e-mailed him prior to our trip. My only complaint is the outdated televisions and the fact that the lamp between the beds didn't work. These are very minor things! I would rent it again!!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Elizabeth- I'm glad that you enjoyed your time in our unit. I'm not sure why the lamp didn't work, I'll contact housekeeping to take care of that. We are in the process of procuring new Flatscreen TV's, but not sure of the installation date yet. Hopefully your next visit will have the new TV's for your enjoyment

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • A beautiful location for R & R

    A beautiful location for R & R

    • Guest Carol D. (near Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 11/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/05/13
    My daughter and I wanted to go to Ft. Lauderdale for a long Thanksgiving weekend, and my brother had stayed at the Pelican Grand Beach Resort, and recommended it highly. I spent hours on VRBO, and wrote to five owners of properties that looked great, to ask how much it would cost to stay five nights. It was just over $200 per night, and my daughter and I split the cost, so it wasn't beyond my budget. We were very happy with the spacious room, and the three meals we ate at the restaurant were all delicious. I would certainly consider staying there again, if the opportunity presents itself.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Carol- Thanks for the nice comments. I'm glad that your quick weekend away worked out for you, and you enjoyed your time at our apartment at The Pelican Grand.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great place!

    Great place!

    • Guest cristy w.
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 12/04/13
    This was a great place for a weekend getaway. It is one of the few places located directly on the beach and it was just a quick cab ride from the airport. The unit was just as shown in the photos with lots of space, comfy beds and a nice balcony with incredible views. Also, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an amazing time and will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Cristy- So glad that you experienced all the pleasures of The Pelican Grand. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay, and I'm glad to have been of service. Wishing you a speedy return! Happy Holidays!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Would not stay there again

    Would not stay there again

    • Guest Heather M.
    • Date of stay 11/13/13
    • Review Submitted 11/28/13
    The hotel is very nice with very good service. This unit has great beach views, but needs serious updating. Both TV's are small, old and have squiggly lines running through them, should really have new flat screens. The balcony furniture is old greyed plastic. My 200lb husband could not sit on them for fear of breaking it, not enjoyable when you want to enjoy the views on the balcony. The living room furniture, sofa and love seat are dirty. The door handle leading to the living room area came off in my hand when I turned it. The cleaning is just passalbe but not excellent. Although dated, the beds are very comfortable. For parking, yes they charge $29 per day but you can park at the meters right across the street as long as you get up at 8am to put money in. This hotel does not have a hot tub, but pool very nice. Bar had great food at decent prices.

    Owner response: I'm sorry you had difficulty with the door handle and didn't care for the decor in the unit. However, as you can see by all the other 5 star reviews, you were the only guest who was unhappy. I'm sorry your husband was too large to enjoy the chairs on the balcony. I will contact maintenance to make sure the handle has been fixed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Beautiful!

    Beautiful!

    • Guest Lisa H.
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 10/31/13
    Amazing views. Hotel staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. Unit was spacious and comfortable. Valet service was speedy!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Owner response: Hello Lisa Glad you enjoyed your weekend away at our condo, and it met or exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to a return visit from you anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great beach getaway

    Great beach getaway

    • Guest Tami L.
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/14/13
    The room was very nice with an incredible view. Will definitely come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Tami Lynne- Glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back at anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Wonderful and relaxing weekend !

    Wonderful and relaxing weekend !

    • Guest JSG (Fort Lauderdale)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/16/13
    The Room and the view was perfect. I plan on staying here again in the near future. Because I live in Fort Lauderdale and this was a last minute get away for my husbands birthday I was surprised at the owners quick response to my request, everything went very smooth. :) sharon G

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Owner response: Hi Sharon- Glad things worked out for your husband's birthday getaway! Hope to have you back for more future visits since you live locally!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceptional Property!

    Exceptional Property!

    • Guest Pat (Pittsburgh, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/25/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    This is an outstanding unit; we highly recommend it! It includes a large entrance hallway, bathroom (with sink and mirror separate from toilet and shower area), large bedroom with two king-sized beds (very rare in this building according to the bellman), comfortable living area with sofa and twin-sized pull-out sofa bed and mini-fridge and microwave, two flat screen TVs, and a beautiful oceanfront balcony. The unit is on the sixth floor with breathtaking views. The Pelican Grand Resort was built to look like a grand old hotel, but is actually only 7 years old. We took advantage of the oceanfront restaurant, drinks with local friends in the rockers on the first floor oceanfront veranda, room service, first floor ice cream parlor, swimming pool, lazy river, and food from the poolside bar/restaurant. The food was on the pricey side ($120 for lunch for four plus alcohol for three, including a tip) delivered to us poolside. It was however all delicious! Our ONLY issues, albeit small ones, are that the freezer is tiny and hadn't been defrosted in some time, further reducing the useable space. The two plastic chairs and side table on the balcony definitely need to be replaced. The little tabletop is broken and the chairs have mildew on them. Finally, we had a few communication difficulties. We were unable to reach the local manager by phone when trying to book, and we e-mailed the owner twice requesting info on a lease agreement, which went unanswered until one week prior to our arrival. However, despite these issues, the place is magnificent, everything was exactly as described, and we will absolutely stay there again if we return to the area. Be aware of additional costs. This includes $28 per day in valet parking. We also tipped the valets a couple of dollars each time they delivered us our car. (They were very quick!) In addition, there is no housekeeping as this is a privately owned unit, unless you elect to spend $35 / day. (We did not. We purchased trash bags, dish soap, paper towels, coffee filter packs, and made our own beds each day.) This is a lovely unit for a very reasonable price. We highly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Patricia Thank you for the wonderful and extensive review of our apartment. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will take up with housekeeping the few items that need attention. I hope to have you back again some time in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just OK

    Just OK

    • Guest Eastside Gang (St. Louis MO)
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    I liked the location, the view from our room, the staff at the resort, and the beach. The pool was small and pool deck area too crowded with chairs. You are literally on top of each other, chairs touching, etc. The valet parking is $29 per day which is fine, however, I had to wait 5 -10 minutes for my car even after calling first from my room. The room was very big and brightly decorated, beds were super comfortable. My biggest regret is the shape the room was in; the handle for the shower was loose from the wall (gross) and the furniture was just dirty. The wall above my bed had a black hazy looking stain on the wall, the entertainment center in the sitting area had food and soda stains on the front of it, the door between the beds and the sitting room was broken. I realize this is an owner unit and boy did the resort like to tell you that when you asked about anything. If I owned this unit I would be on the phone right now with the property manager, they should be taking better care of your investment.

    Owner response: Hi Barbara After reading your review, I did take up these items with housekeeping and management, and I am assured they were addressed. I'm glad that you otherwise enjoyed your stay at our unit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Sarah

    Sarah

    • Guest Happy (NJ)
    • Date of stay 06/24/13
    • Review Submitted 07/06/13
    My family of four stayed at this hotel and we had a great experience. The room is very clean and spacious, and the view of the ocean is just amazing. Larry was very accommodating and easy to get in touch in case we had any questions. The staff, especially the pool guys, go above and beyond to make sure the guests are taken care of. I will definitely be back and I do recommend it to everyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome View!

    Awesome View!

    • Guest Beach girl (Columbus, OH)
    • Date of stay 06/17/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    The condo was very nice and had plenty of room for the two of us. The beds were very comfortable! The only bit of negative I can give on the condo is that the bathroom needs a little TLC - especially the tub. Our favorite part was the balcony - such a perfect view! The resort itself was very nice and they do take very good care of you while on the beach - plenty of chairs and towells were always available. Loved having drinks outside on the deck. The pool looked very nice but we never got in - we are beach people!!! The main steps to the beach seemed to be broken so had to get down to the beach back by the pool, but that didn't bother us too much. Overall everything was really great! We would definately go back to this resort. It was one of the only that are directly on the beach!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Resort, Very Spacious Rooms, Great Views, Beautiful Clear Water

    Wonderful Resort, Very Spacious Rooms, Great Views, Beautiful Clear Water

    • Guest dandanaturals (Tampa, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/14/13
    • Review Submitted 06/26/13
    My husband and three kids (2 teenagers and a toddler) spent 3 wonderful nights here. We live on the Gulf coast of Florida and have travelled to an all inclusive resort in Mexico and have visited the pristine beaches of the British Virgin Islands. The room was bigger than the pictures implied, the view from balcony was great. Favorite things about the resort were the ice cream shop whose ice cream was as good as Ben & Jerry's, the poolside and beach service of food and drinks (Josh was the best, very quick & attentive), the complimentary chaises, towels and umbrellas provided and set up for us on the beach, and the overall helpfulness of the hotel staff who stored our three surfboards for us daily. The beach itself was beautiful! The water so clear and turquoise in color. Sand was darker and more coarse than the powdery light sand that we are used to from the gulf side of the state but hey, it didn't take away from our overall enjoyment! We spent most of our time on the beach then moved to the pool. The lazy river was warmer than the pool but fun with the inner tubes. It wasn't as big as I thought it would be. Same could be said of the size of the pool but again, it was still great lounging, swimming and being right on the beach without having to cross a road or parking lot was very convenient and enjoyable. The room was huge! At first I was a little disappointed that the bedroom wasn't right by the balcony but we realized it was great having that sitting room with TV by the balcony as it was separated from the bedroom by a door and a windowed wall with blinds. So the kids could watch TV, text or sleep while the adults sat in the evening for cocktails in that room with the door open or sit on the balcony. We ate at the restaurant the first night and it was extremely expensive. Almost $300 for 2 adults, 2 kids and a baby. The food was good but it wasn't worth $300. The next 2 nights we ordered pizza delivery from Pizza Rustica. They were quick and it was a crowd pleaser! It was nice to have a mini fridge in the room because we brought milk, deli meat, drinks etc. The microwave came in handy as well. When we were in the room we barely heard any of the other guests which was great! The King beds were EXTREMELY comfortable. We slept very well! The sleeper sofa was twin sized, wish it were full sized and TVs were old. It was the weekend of a major golf tournament, NBA and NHL finals so anything but HD TVs wasn't good enough. Other than that, GREAT PLACE!!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi- Wow! That's the most complete review I've received so far. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your time in our condo at The Pelican Grand. I'm sure the staff will be glad to hear your compliments, as I appreciate what you've said as well. It sounds as if you really took advantage of all the amenities the resort had to offer. I look forward to a return visit from you anytime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful

    Wonderful

    • Guest voyageur (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/22/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    The room was wonderful, VERY spacious. Lovely balcony that looked over the long stretch of ocean and beach. Beds were very comfortable and sitting room was a bonus! The hotel was charming and the service was excellent. We had a beautiful lunch on the big veranda and a few evening drinks. We didn't rent a car, just cabbed around - very easy. The beach is lovely and we would have liked to have spent more time there. There was a problem with the fridge when we arrived but it was solved within 5 minutes. Again, excellent service.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Paula I'm so glad that you really enjoyed your time in our condo at The Pelican Grand. It truly is a great place, and it sounds as if you took advantage of all the good things it has to offer. Sorry about the fridge mishap, not sure what happened but glad they took care of it promptly. We welcome you back anytime in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Weekend stay

    Weekend stay

    • Guest Jeff H.
    • Date of stay 05/11/13
    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
    This is a great place to get away from it all and still be in walking/short driving distance from everything you might need--but you won't need to go out at all! The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The amenities such as pool and restaurant were convenient and accessible. The restaurant was delicious with a breath taking view. The pool boy on the weekends was very friendly and took the time to help each and every guest no matter the ridiculous request and nomatter how busy he was.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Pelican Grand Experience

    Pelican Grand Experience

    • Guest Victoria J. (Frederick, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 04/24/13
    • Review Submitted 05/02/13
    Loved the Pelican Grand resort! Accurate pictures of condo, clean and well-maintained. Owner was prompt in answering all questions pre and post booking. Would definitely stay again. We didn't rent a vehicle during our stay since we had been warned by owner of the daily parking fees. We used cabs when going farther than a couple miles (which is where the closest stores are located). There's a lovely restaurant on premises, but you can also order food while on the beach, at the pool, in the bar, so it doesn't have to be a big expense at every meal. There's a small store where you can purchase breakfast items inexpensively. We visited the Bonnet House off of Sunrise Blvd., also went to Los Olas shopping/dining area, and would recommend both.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Pelican Grand. I appreciate your wonderful comments, and would welcome you back anytime for another visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic Hotel & Room

    Fantastic Hotel & Room

    • Guest Vicki (Oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 04/16/13
    • Review Submitted 04/24/13
    The room was just as described. Two very nice king beds comfortable, sheets nice and clean as well as white quilt. This room has a cool sitting area with a great view off the balcony. Nice bathroom. We had 5 ladies and it fit us comfortably with the pull out sofa chair. My only complaint would be the towels, wash clothes, blanket and toliet paper policy. There were 5 towels, 2 wash clothes, No blanket and no extra toliet paper. There is a policy for individual owned units to have a $15 charge for any additional linens or toliet paper. I would recommend at least providing a blanket for the pull out in the closet there was a pillow so that was a plus. Since the unit can sleep 6, have at least 6 towels and wash clothes, 1 new roll of toliet paper and anything above that it's the renter responsibility. Would I stay in this room again, Yes but will probably bring towels from home and toliet paper on the plane with me rather than go buying. The outside of the property is fantastic as well.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Vicki Thanks for your 5 star rating. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo. The hotel housekeeping only supplies a starter set of paper goods, and they do charge high prices to re-supply. It's best to just run to the local market to buy extra toilet paper if needed. When you rent direct from an owner, you are a guest of the owner, not of the hotel so they don't feel obligated to refresh the supplies unless you pay for an interim housekeeping. The flip side is that you probably saved quite a bit more renting direct from the owner instead of the front desk. We'd love to have you back again anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest Erika (Tampa, FL)
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    The room is absolutely gorgeous, and don't even get me started on the view!! The beds were so comfortable, everything was clean and well-kept, and the resort itself is fantastic. Great pool, great beach, restaurant service on the beach, the outdoor porch- we loved it all! All of the girls kept commenting on what a beautiful, picturesque location it was, and we couldn't get enough of our corner view. We can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Erika - Wow, so glad that you really enjoyed our condo. You said so many nice things, I don't know where to start. I look forward to a return visit from you anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great experience

    Great experience

    • Guest Brandi D.
    • Date of stay 02/08/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    Loved the beautiful room and lovely resort. Lots of room and a gorgeous view. If I'm back in the area, I'd return!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Minnesota

    Minnesota

    • Guest Suzanne (Heron Lake Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 12/06/12
    • Review Submitted 12/12/12
    Property was as beautiful as the pictures, clean and well maintained. If you would like to vacation on the beach this is the perfect spot, I would highly recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Suzanne, I'm so glad you enjoyed our condo on the beach! Thanks for your kind recommendation. I hope you will return sometime in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/12

  • WOW - Fantastic View - Beautiful Unit

    WOW - Fantastic View - Beautiful Unit

    • Guest Jeri (Lakewood, NJ)
    • Date of stay 12/01/12
    • Review Submitted 12/09/12
    Beautiful unit, great view...love it! I will certainly be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Jeri, thank you for the great review. We look forward to having you back in the near future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • The owner is amazing and worked with us on our odd time of arrival - He went out of his way !!

    The owner is amazing and worked with us on our odd time of arrival - He went out of his way !!

    • Guest Girls Trip (Boston MA )
    • Date of stay 11/12/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    The room is beautiful with an amazing view !! The hotel is gorgeous and they could not have been any more hospitable!! Very clean and exactly as described - I went on a girl's trip for this stay but am dying to take my family back to play on the beach and float around in the lazy river !! Thanks again for going out of your way to accommodate us

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Michele I'm glad that you enjoyed your day on the beach, and that everything worked out for you. Looking forward to you bringing your family back anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • Fun Sisters Getaway

    Fun Sisters Getaway

    • Guest Robin B.
    • Date of stay 11/10/12
    • Review Submitted 11/19/12
    Me and my 3 sisters stayed here for one night before our cruise. The Condo was beautiful and perfect for us. There weren't many places that had 2 king beds, and we all slept comfortably. The view from the balcony is gorgous, and all the staff on the property were great to deal with. I would definately recommend this property!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Robin I'm glad that you and your sisters had a nice time at our condo. Thanks for the kind words that you posted!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

  • Great View & Great Service

    Great View & Great Service

    • Guest Indiana Girls (United States)
    • Date of stay 10/25/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    The hotel is beautiful and has very personal service by everyone that you will encounter. The suite is very roomy with a view of the ocean that will take your breath away. We enjoyed the pool and the restaurants throughout our stay and especially loved setting on the veranda in the rocking chairs. It is a great place to stay if you are looking for a quiet getaway or just a few miles away, you can find unlimited activities to keep you busy. We loved it! Can't wait to visit again. Thanks for allowing us to share such an amazing relaxing place to stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Sheryl, thanks so much for the glowing review of our apartment at The Pelican Grand. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to your return visit anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

  • clp

    clp

    • Guest tripper (United States)
    • Date of stay 10/20/12
    • Review Submitted 10/28/12
    loved the room. the view was awesome. The onsite food was very high in price.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Cindy, thanks for the 5 stars! Glad you enjoyed the room and view. The food is a bit expensive, but very tasty and convenient! Hope to have you back as a guest anytime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • GREAT VACATION !!!

    GREAT VACATION !!!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/16/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    Will visit again. super nice unit , super nice place, very clean , great customer service , clean beach & pool. Bottom line , we had very nice vacation while stay at the beach, pool and the room.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your vacation. I look forward to hosting you again at some time in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Very Relaxing!!

    Very Relaxing!!

    • Guest Michele (Carmel, IN)
    • Date of stay 09/02/12
    • Review Submitted 09/11/12
    I want to say we really enjoyed this hotel and the room was just as it is pictured, BEAUTIFUL!! The staff was very nice and although the drinks seemed a little pricey they were REALLY REALLY good. The food was amazing too! The only suggestion I would make it that seeing this resort is NOT within walking distance to ANYTHING, that they give out numbers to the taxi service, and give out the information for the public bus service and the trolly. The hotel does have a shuttle but it is run by a different company and is very very expensive. Taxis are kind of exensive too, if you are using them 2 times a day it can add up. So the best is the public bus transportation which is only $1.75 one way. It took us 3 days to figure all this out seeing it was our first time visiting and we were paying any where from $30-$40/day buy using taxis and the hotel offered shuttle so incredible savings buy using public transit. Other then that this place was just what the doctor order. THANK YOU!!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Sorry you had a bit of trouble figuring out the transportation, but other than that it sounds as if you had a great time. I look forward to having you as a guest at sometime in the future, now that you've got it all figured out!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Pelican Grand Beach Resort

    Pelican Grand Beach Resort

    • Guest A B & J (NY)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    Perfect - Wonderful - could not have been better!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Bonnie- Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope you can return sometime in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Pelican grand ft lauderdale

    Pelican grand ft lauderdale

    • Guest K (NY)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/06/12
    Our family loves to stay at The Pelican. It's a great place for families. This hotel sits right on Fort Lauderdale Beach unlike other hotels in the area where you must cross A1A for beach access. We saved a bundle by renting this hotel room thru VRBO instead of thru the hotel and because we visit Fort Lauderdale to see family, we will definately use them again when return. This Particular unit had two king beds a livingrm area which included a small sofa and chair, microwave, fridge, and table to dine on. There are two TVs in the room one in the sleeping area and another in the livingrm. There is also an ocean view balcony and the view is breathtaking. The photos of the hotel are accurate and the property is clean and is well maintained.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Katherine- I am so glad that you enjoyed our condo on the beach, and trust that you had a nice vacation. I look forward to having you back as a return guest in the future. Thank you for the very nice compliments in your review!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • excelent suite

    excelent suite

    • Guest kevin (oakland tenn)
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/08/12
    this suite was exactly how everyone described it. the king size beds were so comfortable. the suite was in great condition. and the staff was very friendly and helpfull. we will definitely stay in this same suite again .also the view from fhe balcony was awesome.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • this suite was awesome.

    this suite was awesome.

    • Guest kevin (oakland tenn)
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/08/12
    the suite was in perfect condition. also the king size beds were so very comfortable. i would highly recommend this suite for someone looking for comforts of home.the resort was fabulos and staff was very friendly. we will stay again in this room .

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Kevin Thanks for your kind words regarding our unit at The Pelican Grand. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to having you back as a guest at anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Sister's Vacation

    Sister's Vacation

    • Guest Jean Jean (Ville Platte, LA)
    • Date of stay 06/14/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    The hotel was beautiful & so was the beach, lots of activities to do & watch. Food was excellent! My only issue was that I was told the name & number of the contact person in case we needed anything, and he never called back, I left him a voice message that we needed more towels, and never was seen about; we had to use the same towels over and over again. Other than that, place was wonderful!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Jeanie- I checked with our local representative, and he never received your message. I should have better communicated to you about the towel situation. Since you're a guest of the owner and not the hotel, they don't provide clean linens unless you pay for an interim cleaning at $35/each visit. The only way around this would be to either make use of the laundry facilities on the 3rd floor, or to use the beach towels provided free of charge at the pool. I'm sorry that I didn't explain that to you earlier. I hope other than that, your stay was enjoyable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • 1/2 Work & 1/2 Pleasure Trip was AMAZING

    1/2 Work & 1/2 Pleasure Trip was AMAZING

    • Guest CCM (Indianapolis, IN)
    • Date of stay 05/01/12
    • Review Submitted 05/08/12
    The hotel & unit located on the north end of the beach are absolutely picture perfect ! The owner made booking the trip very easy and the entire hotel staff (front desk, bellman, valet, bartenders, pool attendants, gift shop, etc) were all wonderful to us ! The food & drinks were great and the prices were not out of line for a resort hotel. Spending time on the beach and at the pool / lazy river were definitely highlights….having someone come by and offer us grapes & watermelon definitely showed us that they take the extra step in pampering their guests. The only negative I can see would be the additional charge for cleaning, towels & toiletries during the stay. If you’re travelling with several people, you will most likely need additional services. While the room does have a hard line for free internet service, an upgrade to Wi-Fi would be nice in today’s unplugged world. That just meant less time on the computer in the room and more time to enjoy the beautiful view from the balcony. I can’t wait to come back again soon. Thanks to all for the outstanding service.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Air Show Vistor

    Air Show Vistor

    • Guest Air Show Vistor (Deerfield Beach, FL)
    • Date of stay 04/27/12
    • Review Submitted 04/30/12
    The property description was very accurate. The location is perfect, it is out of the way, yet it is still right in the thick of things. The room is very "Key West" like and the amenities are nice. The entire hotel is quaint. I look forward to returning and asking for this particular room because it was a corner unit it had very nice views of both oceanfront and a great view of the beach line. SO MUCH FUN!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Elise- I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay at our condo, and that you left such nice comments. I look forward to your next visit here at The Pelican Grand, or one of our other vacation rentals.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Simply the best!

    Simply the best!

    • Guest Sports mom (Fairport NY)
    • Date of stay 04/10/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    Bermuda-like with an upscale Key West/old Florida feel! Very quaint Our room was better than expected! It suited our family of four with two teenage sons to a tee. Staff is superb! We are treated like royalty. We frequented all areas and have no complaints. Get to know the rest of the guests at happy hour from 5-7 pm! Beware that you will be charged for any towels, tissue,etc because you are in an owners suite and not a regular hotel guest. We made it work, plus used laundry room on 3rd floor. Valet service is excellent. So close to all our favorite spots. Wish we owned this unit!!!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Julie- I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed our suite at The Pelican Grand. I appreciate your comments, and hope to have you back again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Great Place!!!

    Great Place!!!

    • Guest valstyne (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 04/06/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    As described....we wil rent again. One of the nicest properties we have stayed at. North end of the beach-very removed and quiet, yet close enough to the "action". Staff was very customer orientated...just after three hours everyone knew our name and room number. Service was number one! Only negative was the price of the facility extras. The view was spectacular. Already planning next year. Thanks for a great time. Top notch resort! Take advantage of the happy hour...

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Paul- Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice compliment, we look forward to having you stay with us next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Nice Weekend

    Nice Weekend

    • Guest Tota (orlando)
    • Date of stay 03/30/12
    • Review Submitted 04/12/12
    Beautiful location! The ocean view is fantastic from this unit and the room was a very nice size. I can say that the room was very much like the pictures online; clean and comfortable. The only negative thing during our stay was the cleaning. The glasses in the cabinet were filthy dirty, someone used them and they were never washed, the ice box was dirty. This was not a good start to our 3-day stay. Cleaning needs to improve. The owner was very helpful during our booking process and the staff at the resort were very kind ,always ready to help, which made our stay here a lot more pleasant. Definitely, I recommend this unit and I hope we have an opportunity to come back again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Norma- Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our unit. I have noted your comments regarding cleaning, and I will take it up immediately with housekeeping to see that it doesn't happen again. I hope to have you back again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • seeking water

    seeking water

    • Guest lynn (illinois)
    • Date of stay 03/25/12
    • Review Submitted 04/13/12
    amenities were exactly as represented. very pleasant. friendly staff. great play to stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Nice size room and good food

    Nice size room and good food

    • Guest candy (philadelphia, pa)
    • Date of stay 03/14/12
    • Review Submitted 03/21/12
    The room was a nice size for 3 to 4 people. The food was very good. The balcony could have been a little bigger and a sliding door would have been better so we could keep the ocean breeze coming into the room. We ran out of toilet paper and the hotel wanted to charge us $15 for a new roll so we got our own. Overall the hotel is very nice and has a nice set up at the pool. The beach had some erosion so there isn't a lot of room to sit out there but it's nice that the hotel provides chairs and umbrella.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Our unit is privately owned, which is how we keep the prices lower than rack rates. Unfortunately, they do not supply us with refill amenities. It's always best to purchase your own refill supplies and save money rather than paying the hotels rates for extra housekeeping services. Hope to see you back again at this or one of my other vacation rentals.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Easy-going Luxury in Ft. Lauderdale

    Easy-going Luxury in Ft. Lauderdale

    • Guest Kathy L. (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/22/12
    • Review Submitted 03/05/12
    Once again, I am very pleased with the accommodations I've booked through VRBO. This condo is part of an excellent hotel - the Pelican Grand Beach Resort. Although this room was a 1 bedroom, 3 adults fit comfortably and the two king beds provided ample sleeping space. There is a small sitting area off of the bedroom that was a great place to relax and watch TV while enjoying the spectacular ocean views. The balcony was a real treat - right on the corner of the hotel and with unobstructed views of the beach. The hotel itself was fantastic. The restaurant was not bad (but about as expensive as you'd expect) but featured the only oceanside brunch in Ft. Lauderdale. The private beach was clean and full of amenities - they'll serve you drinks and provide / set up lounge chairs and towels. The pool even has a lazy river! Rock on. However, since this is part of a hotel, don't expect a ton of cable channels (basic cable as well as "hotel" TV was provided). The bathroom was a bit small, but that was fine with me. The shower always had hot water, which is all I really need. The internet is also somewhat-speedy and there is no Wi-Fi in the room itself (only an ethernet hookup); Wi-Fi is only available downstairs on the Verdanda / patio area. Juan was great. He responded to my request quickly made sure the hotel knew of my late arrival. He also responded quickly when I told him the deadbolt broke on the door. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Katherine, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice compliment, we look forward to having you stay with us in the near future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Perfection

    Perfection

    • Guest Visitor (Dallas)
    • Date of stay 02/13/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/12
    Everything was perfect! The staff Demetrius, Angel, Eva and Bado were exceptional. Fresh fruit water everyday! The Pool and Lazy river at 90 degrees were awesome. Bar menu service right on the beach and poolside. Microwave and mini fridge in room. All stores are a mile either way walking distance. You have to go to the Pan'e Dolci panedolci.net Italian Bakery on Oakland Park Blvd open from 0730am-1030pm next to Walgreens. Call Lady Pamela II for Sportfishing trip I caught an 88" 250lb shark Capt David Ide and his crew rocks! Buy your perfect swimsuit at splish splash bikini inexpensive on Sunrise blvd next to 7-Eleven! The only downfall was the hotel wasn't pet friendly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Tiffany, thanks for the compliments about the staff and amenities. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Nice of you to share your favorite places to enjoy nearby the hotel. Hope to have you return anytime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Pelican Grand Beach Resort is perfect

    Pelican Grand Beach Resort is perfect

    • Guest mark (boston)
    • Date of stay 02/09/12
    • Review Submitted 02/17/12
    Our room was wonderfull corner unit with great views of the ocean and fort laud skyline, it was very clean and the staff was so helpfull and friendy! I would def rent again from this owner.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Mark- Thanks for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our unit, hope to have you return someday soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/8

  • What a hot spot!!

    What a hot spot!!

    • Guest The Bavarians (Munich, Bavaria)
    • Date of stay 01/29/12
    • Review Submitted 02/03/12
    We had the best time ever, completely satisfied with this lovely two kingsize bed - room. this suite has the most spectacular view. had great service and the most friendly and helpful staff. booking with the owner Larry and Juan was easy and fast, with a lot of usefull infos. real nice guys:) we are defenitly coming back and rent this apartment again. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Giovanni- Thanks for the compliments. Juan and I try to give the best customer service to our guests to ensure a seamless vacation. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to your next visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Very Fortunate!!!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Very Fortunate!!!

    • Guest Larry L.
    • Date of stay 10/13/11
    • Review Submitted 02/04/12
    When I saw this property online, I couldn't believe it. I had to fly down and check it out in person. It exceeded my expectations in every way! The first impression when you walk into the beautiful lobby with marble floors, and find a friendly staff, a restaurant, bar & grill, pool, the coolest Lazy River tube ride pool, and the veranda that goes the length of the hotel in front of the beach sold me immediately. Our room has a view to die for, and is so clean and comfortable. I feel very lucky!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]