Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Enjoy the view from the infinity edge pool!

Couples Hideaway,Best Beach View Possible! Within Wildlife Refuge [#400578] | View Property

Nosara
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 2-4)
$125 - $150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • Private, tranquil rental with an un-beatable ocean view

    Private, tranquil rental with an un-beatable ocean view

    • Guest Mike M.
    • Date of stay 02/23/14
    • Review Submitted 03/07/14
    As I sat down to write my review of this wonderful rental, I first read the other reviews that are posted here…..and I highly recommend that you do the same, as the former guests have done a great job of accurately describing this spacious, private, tranquil apartment. Reading these reviews took me right back there again! We have stayed at other places prior to this visit, but for ocean views and privacy, this place can’t be beat. You will not find a better ocean view at any other rental in Costa Rica. The pictures shown on this website are nice, but as you know, pictures never do the real thing justice! You’ve got to see this place with your own eyes. Once we arrived, we never wanted to leave. There is nothing like soaking in the infinity pool overlooking the ocean or relaxing in the hammock on the covered patio, while listening to the wonderful sounds of the ocean and the wildlife that inhabits the jungle. You will most likely see a few of the “locals” (pezotis, birds, monkeys, even Samantha the house cat, who patrols the place). The location is perfect, as it has close proximity to beaches, fishing, surfing, hiking, zip lining, horseback riding, quad rentals, turtle watching, shopping, dining, and so much more! The amenities that this rental offers give you all the comforts of home while still making you feel like you are in another world. It is perfect for 2 to 4 guests, with 1 bedroom/a double futon in the living room/2 bathrooms/full kitchen/washer and dryer/air conditioning (which you probably won’t need since the breeze is perfect most of the time.) Towels and linens are provided, as is free Wi-Fi. If you need ideas on what to do and how to get there, just ask your hosts…..Carl and Cathy are very knowledgeable and helpful, and their love for Costa Rica is quite evident! I should also mention that this place is in very close proximity to Playa Ostional, a gorgeous beach that is world famous for its mass arrivals of turtles nesting on the beach. We are planning to return to see one of the famous turtle arribadas, and we cannot wait to see this natural phenomenon with our own eyes. It goes without saying that we are also looking forward to renting from Carl and Cathy again! If it’s privacy and comfort with an ocean view that you want, then this is the place to be.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful views in a beautiful country.

    Beautiful views in a beautiful country.

    • Guest nancy k.
    • Date of stay 01/25/14
    • Review Submitted 02/06/14
    My husband and myself had the pleasure of staying for what seemed like the fastest week ever. Cathy and Carl are the perfect hosts. Very helpful with any questions you may have, while giving you your privacy. The home is very comfortable and well equiped and the views are stunning. Try Drifters Kayaks for a trip down the river and then finish you day with a great dinner at Rancho Ticos for dinner. Can't wait to come back !!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • spectacular views

    spectacular views

    • Guest telder (San Angelo, Tx USA)
    • Date of stay 10/21/13
    • Review Submitted 11/10/13
    Arriving late in the after noon during fairly heavy rain was a bit challenging. The potholes in the road were often more prominent than the road itself. A four wheel drive vehicle is a must. We had great driving instructions emailed to us by the owner prior to our arrival. When we arrived we were greeted by the caretaker Alex, who was very cordial and helpful. Although the kitchen was adequately stocked with basic seasonings and utensils, it could have been better stocked with utensils. The view of the rivers and ocean are stunning from the property. With a lovely infinity pool there was no need to use the A/C. Many nice beaches are a short drive away and one beach a short walk away. Window screens were appreciated as there were mosquitoes and no seeums present near sunset time of day. There was a helpful information sheet in the house along with helpful proprietors. Really a treat getting to stay at one of the best pacific ocean views in Costa Rica. Thank you Carl... pura vida

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • couples hideaway was our honeymoon dream

    couples hideaway was our honeymoon dream

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/12/13
    • Review Submitted 09/10/13
    unbelievable tranquility greets you. This was the perfect vacation, honeymoon location. The accomodations exceeded our expectations. The location is private but close enough to beaches and town to make it convenient for a walk or short drive. we will return no doubt.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect anniversary vacay for two

    Perfect anniversary vacay for two

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    A wonderful, peaceful getaway for a special anniversary trip. Perfect for a couple wanting some quiet, relaxing time with adventure activities and great restaurants nearby. Our place was clean, nicely decorated, all the amenities we needed (including an air conditioned bedroom) with amazing private patio looking onto the ocean and nature preserve. The infinity pool was a treat a couple of times every day. Good Wifi connection too, which we weren't expecting. Owners Carl and Cathy were superb - helpful and full of good ideas for restaurants and activities - we knew we were in good hands with them nearby, while they clearly respected our quiet space as well. Favourite activities: horseback riding with Playa Ponies, zip-lining with Miss Sky, the riverboat adventure with Leroy, boogie boarding in the incredible surf and visiting several nearby beaches, including the turtle beach at Ostional. Great restaurants: all of them - but Il Pepperoni, Rancho Tiko and Casa Romantica really stood out as exceptional. Sunsets at Olgas were divine. Got a kick out of watching (and listening to) the howler monkeys on site and the flora was lush and amazing. We rented a car in Liberia and would recommend the same to anyone. A perfect 10 day getaway. Would highly recommend.!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest mitch (Georgetown Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    We've been there two years in a row. Its probably the sweetest place in Nosara. It's a little bit of heaven and Cathy and Carl gems. I am planning my next trip out there ASAP.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful location with very accommodating owner

    Wonderful location with very accommodating owner

    • Guest CaroleFlorida (Fort Myers, Florida)
    • Date of stay 06/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    Nosara is less developed than many other destinations in Guanacaste so getting there and finding your way around is going to mean a GPS with Costa Rica Maps, AND a really important tool, the map of Nosara sponsored by Chiqui's. Fortunately the owner provided coordinates to find his house and also was prepared to give us the map! The guest house, originally the owner's abode, is now the lower floor of the owner's gorgeous home. The view is amazing but interested renters should be aware that the river mouth below creates a different environment than oceanfront properties with crystal clear blue water. This location is teeming with wildlife. Sitting outside on the porch, one WILL see coatis, monkeys, crabs, iguanas, geckos, many species of tropical birds, etc. The property is very well maintained and the contains everything one will need or want for a week or two. Cooking meals is quite easy and there is plenty of lighting to do so at night compared with some other comparable rentals in Costa Rica. The photos are mostly accurate although the maid could pay closer attention to detail. That said, we were comfortable and had a great time. The owner was very helpful in suggesting activities, and gave us contact information for Juan Mora, Captain of the Cowboy, a 25' Boston Whaler. Excellent fishing with Captain Mora! Also, he gave us recommendations for restaurants and the River Safari, another excellent activity, in close proximity to the house. All in all a superior experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • If you don't know by now, this house rocks

    If you don't know by now, this house rocks

    • Guest Laura (Groton, CT)
    • Date of stay 03/25/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    Cathy and Carl have a fantastic home, with an amazing view. I can't add much else to the other reviewers. It is sublime. We rented beach chairs and umbrellas in Playa Guiyones, which allowed us to enjoy the beach for longer periods. Carl hooked us up with the kayak rental fella, which is a must. Also, I highly recommend a 4WD car or truck, as the roads are all dirt and some are steep and in poor condition.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fun monkey business in Nosara

    Fun monkey business in Nosara

    • Guest Woody and Barb (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/21/13
    • Review Submitted 03/27/13
    We had a great time at Cathy and Carl's place - 'our' house was great - better than advertised! Photos can't do justice to this unique location. You have to hang out in pool and watch the waves lap up on the beach, or sit in comfortable deck chairs with the wine, cheese, and crackers and toast the colorful sunsets. Cathy and Carl are very gracious hosts who spend enough time to take for questions and advice and genuine assistance. Highly recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay in Nosara

    Wonderful stay in Nosara

    • Guest Jeffrey V.
    • Date of stay 03/13/13
    • Review Submitted 03/24/13
    Just got back from an incredible and unforgettable trip in Nosara, Costa Rica. Cathy was wonderful in answering all our pre-arrival questions and assisting us with transportation to and from the Liberia airport (seriously, don't try to drive in from San Jose, just don't!). The property itself is very clean and well maintained. The pictures really can't do justice to the view that you get with the rental. They come close, but I suggest going and experiencing it for yourself. We saw all sorts of wildlife while we were there, but the best was definitely seeing a pack of howler monkeys traveling through the trees right outside the house. A few recommendations for the would be traveler to Nosara: Rent a car! There are tons of things to do in and around Nosara, but you will be limited if you don't have a car. Be ready to be off the grid. This isn't the easiest place to get to, but it is incredibly beautiful and the locals are wonderful and helpful. There is WIFI in a lot of places, but that's about it for connectivity to your place of origin. If you are into kayaking on the adjacent river, there is a small company that operates very close to this VRBO that I highly suggest. MUCH cheaper than the big outfits! You can legally bring in up to 5L of spirits/wine. I suggest doing this - the wine selection is 'meh' in stores and spirits can get expensive since there are taxes on imported goods. There is a restaurant at the mouth of the Nosara river right below you. It's extremely local and you might need a smidge of Spanish to order food, but it is highly worth going there at sunset to get a meal! When we go back to Nosara, this will definitely be the place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Serenity

    Serenity

    • Guest sabby (thunder bay)
    • Date of stay 02/28/13
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    Amazing spot in the world, beautiful n authentic

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 5 Star Bliss!

    5 Star Bliss!

    • Guest Tamara (Randallstown, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 02/02/13
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    This was THEE best vacation we have ever had in Nosara, Costa Rica! Just look at the view and there should be no question. Add to that the best host, accomodations, location, with nearby restaurants and beaches, and you have it all. From the early morning sounds of the howler monkeys, ocean waves, and birds to the gorgeous sunsets overlooking the ocean and river below, you are in paradise. Mid day is spent floating in the infinity pool or having a siesta in the hammock ; ) Three beaches are steps away, as are activities of quad tours, paddle boarding, kayaking, and hiking. Restaurants of any flavor neighbor this rental. We felt safe, and at home with our friendly host/concierge always being so attentive to our comforts. Look no further. We will stay here year after year, guaranteed. Pura Vida!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The perfect getaway.

    The perfect getaway.

    • Guest Buzz (B.C. Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/13
    As beautiful as the photos- amazing view from a clean, well maintained property in a quiet location with an amazing pool which we enjoyed daily. Owners were kind and thoughtful and a pleasure to meet. The perfect place to relax and unwind away from it all. We chose not to rent a car, but were still able to walk to all immediate attractions- boat tour, zipline experience, horseback riding and guided nature tour.Everyone we met was friendly and helpful and seemed to love this little corner of paradise. The beaches were beautiful and the 2 weeks of fabulous sunsets unforgettable. The view from our suite as well as the pool was spellbinding- a rivermouth and beach with lots of birdlife and local activity changing with the tide and time of day. We plan to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a great Place

    What a great Place

    • Guest Tony & Stacy (North Palm Beach Florida)
    • Date of stay 01/10/13
    • Review Submitted 01/23/13
    This property has one of the most unique views you will ever find. The combination of the two rivers and the beach and ocean are beyond words. The river is always changing with the tide and the evening colors of the river are the best. I had great surf the whole time, surfed Guioness the most only about a 10 minute drive from the house. The pool is great with views in every direction. The house has two full sized bathrooms great for couples, the bed is very comfortable great for post surf naps! Carl and Cathy are very cool and great host. Thanks for everything had a blast, Tony and Stacy North Palm Beach Florida.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Spot in the World!

    Best Spot in the World!

    • Guest M&J (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 12/15/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    My fiancé and I were fortunate enough to find this gem after deciding, on a whim, to go to Cost Rica. The pictures are spot on. The only thing missing is sound of the birds and the waves. Carl is amazingly helpful and attentive to any questions that we could, and can think of. We are planning our wedding for later in the year back in Costa Rica and he is providing all sorts of great advise and recommendations with his local knowledge. And of course we are planning on staying with him again, only a few more weeks this time. The layout of the unit is perfect for a couple with the bedroom in between two spacious bathrooms. Taking Carl's advise, we hit the Super Nosara for a grocery run once we got into town, and prepared at least half of our meals in the well appointed kitchen. We really didn't want to leave the property. We did, of course, to hit a handful of the recommended restaurants and other adventures, but it was such a treat to come back to our little slice of paradise. 3 words - AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING Thanks a bunch Carl and Cathy! We can't wait to come visit again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing view

    Amazing view

    • Guest mitch (Georgetown Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    Carl and Cathy are very cool people. Very easy going. The house has a stunning view of the beach as it is situated on a cliff above the shore line. Sunsets are sublime. The pool is great and its all so quiet. This place is transcendent! For the money you wont find a better place and the view of the ocean is first class!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Pura Vida

    Pura Vida

    • Guest Shelly (United States)
    • Date of stay 06/21/12
    • Review Submitted 07/03/12
    Carl was a gracious host. He went out of his way to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. The place was perfect and it was just as described on the website. The location was amazing and the view especially from the beautiful pool area was the best. Loved it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WHAT A VIEW!!!!

    WHAT A VIEW!!!!

    • Guest LWH (Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/12/12
    • Review Submitted 04/20/12
    Carl and Cathy have made a haven and graciously shared it with me. I cannot rave enough about waking up to the sound of the ocean and the sunset views.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very affordable Million Dollar views!

    Very affordable Million Dollar views!

    • Guest BandL1999 (Austin,TX)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/03/12
    It is difficult to describe the views from this large one bedroom casa! There are views from every room and from the outdoor covered patio you have expansive views of not just the ocean but the entire coastline AND the mouth of the Nosara river feeding into the ocean. Although it is air conditioned we hardly used the AC due to the constant breezes being high up. We slept great with the sounds of the ocean waves and woke to the sounds of a wide variety of birds. The home had everything we needed for our stay. We had access to the pool which had an additional area to simply sit in the water and read your book! We felt very safe in this surreal environment. The owners were very helpful and accessible. Did we mention the views.....we will definitely return to this casa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • very good and accurate

    very good and accurate

    • Guest Mark and Celeste (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 03/29/12
    Our stay was way too short. I wish I had an extra month to enjoy the magic and beauty of this incredible residence. This property is located on a piece of heaven on earth. The pool and view are nothibg short of fantastic.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An unbeatable location, a magical place

    An unbeatable location, a magical place

    • Guest macbatmanuel (San José, Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 03/13/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    This house is located right near the mouth of the river Nosara. It just takes a 2 minute drive to be at an ecolodge getting on a kayak to paddle up the river. The apartment is a very cozy place, filled with very tasteful and naturelike decorations that lift your spirit from the minute you get there. There is a pool from which you can watch the most breathtaking sunset you can think of, and it is a salt water pool, which saves you all the problems of chlorine. You definitely need to go to this getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Totally awesome!!!!

    Totally awesome!!!!

    • Guest Catherine (Key West, Florida)
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    My husband and I had a wonderful stay here. The place is drop-dead gorgeous inside and out. The views were outstanding. Tons of wildlife. Lots of places you can walk to and enjoy the jungle. Near a lot of great restaurants that had a great supply of gourmet food. Would highly recommend this wonderfu rental to anyone coming to Nosara.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • You Can't Go Wrong With This Getaway Home!

    You Can't Go Wrong With This Getaway Home!

    • Guest AustinTraveler (Texas)
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 04/17/12
    I cannot say enough about the time my husband and I spent at this lovely home. Virtually EVERYTHING that is in the owner's description is absolutely what we found. And late February was such a great time to be in this gorgeous country, with moderate temps in the 80's and lots of sun, sun, sun. If you are looking for an impeccable property with privacy, a pool, amazing views, sunsets you'll never forget, yet gives you easy access to many sites and the culture of Costa Rica, this is your place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Can't wait to get back. Wish we could move in!

    Can't wait to get back. Wish we could move in!

    • Guest RP (Carlsbad, California)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    What a fantastic retreat in Costa Rica with the most incredible views of the Pacific Ocean you can imagine. This place has all the comforts of home, unbeatable privacy and your own private swimming pool overlooking the ocean which is just a short walk away. The home is well maintained, clean and tastefully decorated. We really enjoyed the area with it’s many fine restaurants and adventures. We plan to return and stay here again, maybe for a month or two.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]