Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Lounging is Good

Romantic Designer Suite in Trendy Main Street [#401704] | View Property

Downtown
1 bedroom, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 2, 2 fireplaces, Garden, Hip Main Street
C$110 - C$135 per night (CAD)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Awesome place, Awesome hosts and close to everything

    Awesome place, Awesome hosts and close to everything

    • Guest David N.
    • Date of stay 10/01/13
    • Review Submitted 10/28/13
    We stayed for our Honeymoon and could not have been happier with our choice to stay with Wayne and Diane. From my first phone call with Diane, I knew they were going to be incredible hosts. When we arrived, Diane showed us around the apartment, (which we called 'home' the entire time we were in Vancouver) and she gave us plenty of tips for places to eat that we would have otherwise missed. She showed us all the little extras the apartment has to offer, like having reusable shopping bags for grocery trips. Solly's hot dog-bagels, cinnamon rolls (with the icing!) and Hawkers are GREAT FOOD, do not miss them. There are grocery stores and a butcher shop within 5 minutes walking distance if you want to cook your own food. The buses can get you to downtown or to the light rail station very quick for sightseeing, we did not once regret not having a car or regret not renting a place downtown. DO NOT stay in an impersonal, overpriced hotel room when for a lot less you can have an incredible apartment stocked with movies, a comfy memory foam top bed, a huge couch to sprawl out on and a kitchen with everything you need to cook your own food, or to just have take-out on real plates instead of eating out of boxes every night. We loved staying there and appreciated the tips on what to do, the hospitality and great place to call home and enjoy the Vancouver portion of our honeymoon. My only "complaint".... My wife now wants heated tile floors thanks to this apartment.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation Home!

    Perfect Vacation Home!

    • Guest Kyle (Grand Rapids, MI USA)
    • Date of stay 08/05/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    My wife and I recently stayed here for our honeymoon, and we couldn't be happier with our choice! From the very first minutes of our arrival, when Wayne and Diane welcomed us with local blueberries and freshly-baked zucchini bread, we knew we were going to feel right at home. The suite is nestled in a sleepy little cul-du-sac, but only a minute's walk away from the very hip and lively Main Street scene, and only a 10 minute bus ride from downtown. We took public transportation everywhere we went and had no problems at all. Everything was perfect, and was set-up in such a way as to make us feel as if we were in our very own home. The suite was spotless, the furniture cozy and well-appointed, the kitchen accessible and functional, the bathroom luxurious, and the bedroom private and comfortable. Wayne and Diane were very friendly, yet professional and discrete as to give us our privacy. They also went above and beyond in their hosting duties--offering us directions, rides, and beach accessories without even being asked. We have quickly come to refer to this little gem as our "West Coast Home", and we hope dearly that we will be able to return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ideal place and location!

    Ideal place and location!

    • Guest Tess and Archy (Boston, MA USA)
    • Date of stay 07/05/13
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    Before choosing a place in Vancouver for a month, we read and reread all the previous comments, which were almost too perfect to believe, but they turned out to be TRUE! We loved the apt. as it was aesthetically really lovely, but also very practical and comfortable. We had a car and never had an issue finding parking on the street. The location got better and better as we discovered some wonderful restaurants and cafes all within an easy walk. There were quite a few "perks" with Wayne and Diane's supply of great music of all genres and lots of DVD/Blu-ray movies to enjoy. We also really appreciated their recommendations. The weather during our stay was glorious and we loved eating outside in the garden and grilling. WIthout a doubt this was one of our favorite VRBO places and we would recommend it highly to anyone looking to visit the area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gorgeous & cozy, excellent location, fab owners!

    Gorgeous & cozy, excellent location, fab owners!

    • Guest Debbie H. (Dallas, Texas)
    • Date of stay 05/05/13
    • Review Submitted 06/14/13
    Enjoyed our 5 day stay immensely in May and cannot comment enough on the lovely touches and details in this "suite". The owners are simply wonderful and very quick to respond and ensure your comfort. Excellent restaurants, grocery store, bars all within a short walking distance of the property. All the comforts of home and even beyond that! Rented a car and were in downtown Vancouver in 15 minutes and airport is 15 minutes away so very convenient. Can't imagine staying in a highrise and dealing with traffic in downtown, that's not a vacation! After our sightseeing and excursions during the day, was wonderful to return to this quiet and beautiful retreat! Really hope we can return next spring!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Stay - Perfect for US!

    Great Stay - Perfect for US!

    • Guest J B.
    • Date of stay 08/23/12
    • Review Submitted 12/05/12
    Everything about our choice was a good one, from the initial enquiry through www.homeaway.co.uk through to the post departure follow up. We arrived “fresh” from a 9 hour flight to be dropped off in the middle of a lovely leafy cul de sac where our home for the next few days was to be. Upon entering the accommodation we were very pleased. The lights were on to welcome us, as well as some fruit, and home made cake. The property is very spacious with excellent fixtures and fittings. The pictures posted do not do it justice - it’s better! - we really felt like we were in a home rather than a nondescript room. It’s clear Wayne and Diane have put a lot of thought into this venture and were lovely to chat to. As with most things its the little touches that make all the difference, in this case..... a small selection of spices are available for your use, there’s foil, food bags, washing liquid, dishwasher tablets, and laundry facilities so you feel your being actively encouraged to use all the facilities on offer. The location was perfect for us, a short ride into town (down main street) brings you to the sky train and terminals for wider trips. We chose not to have a car for 5 days and had no problems getting to main visit spots and attractions. At the top of the road was a lovely community with food stores, restaurants, bars etc - we shopped and dined out here when not cooking in our “home”! - We would not hesitate to recommend this property and will stay here again when we return to Vancouver if only to sample more cake and some of the freshest fish we’ve eaten in a long while! Thank-you Wayne and Diane, Bill and Jan.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A True Gem

    A True Gem

    • Guest Melinda M.
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 08/08/12
    If you plan on visiting Vancouver at any time, I would highly recommend that you stay in this lovely apartment. From the moment we arrived we felt very much at home not only because the apartment is beautiful and elegant in its simplicity and comfort, but also because the host/owners Wayne and Diane are so very gracious and welcoming. In addition to providing a spotless, very comfortable dwelling they have gone "above and beyond" by supplying such extras as exceptional jazz CDs and a number of interesting DVDs. We were very busy with friends and relatives, so were not able to settle in and enjoy all that was available, but would love to do so in the future. Diane set out a lovely plate of berries accompanied by freshly baked date nut bread. Little details like this make it so enjoyable. Now for the best part...the bed is as comfortable as any we have ever slept in, and the sheets.....incredible! It is details like these that add up to as pleasant a stay as one could possibly wish for. I will definitely recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Vancouver Thank you, Wayne and Diane.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Wonderful! 5-Star All the Way!

    Absolutely Wonderful! 5-Star All the Way!

    • Guest Mary B. (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 05/22/12
    This was our first visit to Vancouver and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! The suite is fantastic - even better than the pictures show. We started every day with breakfast in the private garden surrounded by beautiful flowers and lots of wildlife. Everything was luxurious, clean, and beautiful. The bed was fantastic - haven't slept so well in years. Diane and Earl were great hosts and we loved the banana/chocolate chip bread and the strawberries that were waiting for us when we arrived. The location is ideal - just a quick walk up to Main St. which has tons of cool little restaurants, Solly's bagels (yummy cinnamion rolls), and grocery stores. We had rented a car, so the suite's central location made it easy to get anywhere in the city. But you could certainly stay here and use the excellent public transit system. The nearest bus stop is less than a 5 minute walk away from the suite. We hated to give Diane and Earl the keys back when we were leaving - we just wanted to move right in and stay forever. I just can't say enough about how wonderful this suite is. If we ever make it back to Vancouver again, we will only come if we can stay here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Texas visiting Vancouver - Fantastic stay!

    Texas visiting Vancouver - Fantastic stay!

    • Guest Greg L. (Brownsville, Texas)
    • Date of stay 09/15/11
    • Review Submitted 09/19/11
    Wayne and Diane were amazing. We came away from the airport one bag short and had a super easy time with our hosts helping us out not only signing for the bag as it arrived, but having an incredibly friendly and welcoming feeling in the room. Arriving late? Arriving early? Got delayed, no problem. I am an international traveler visiting from Texas and had no issues with the ease of access to email and telephone. The room is very conveniently located near restaurants and a few local bars. We enjoyed a night out on the town impromptu and found ourselves in a very friendly neighborhood well past "decent" hours to be walking around. I cannot say enough about this place. I will come back to this location the next time I am in Vancouver. It is centrally located, has convenient FREE parking and the best hosts. Thanks again and see you next time!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Luxury on Main is FANTASTIC

    Luxury on Main is FANTASTIC

    • Guest krowe (Hillsboro, Oregon USA)
    • Date of stay 06/12/11
    • Review Submitted 06/21/11
    My husband and I stayed in this wonderful suite June 12-16, 2011. We were greeted by Wayne and Diane upon our arrival and they personally showed us around the suite. Diane was kind enough to have fresh fruit and fresh zucchini(?) bread for us. How sweet! My first impressions: Clean, comfortable, spacious, new 'everything', PERFECT! It is central to the city bus and train depots. MANY restaurants to choose from and an eclectic blend of shops, groceries, etc. My husband and I would refer to the suite as 'home' during our stay. It is very lovely, and Diane & Wayne are very kind and great people! We have recommended Luxury on Main to our friends and family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Luxury on Main is FANTASTIC

    Luxury on Main is FANTASTIC

    • Guest krowe (Hillsboro, Oregon USA)
    • Date of stay 06/12/11
    • Review Submitted 06/21/11
    My husband and I stayed in this wonderful suite June 12-16, 2011. We were greeted by Wayne and Diane upon our arrival and they personally showed us around the suite. Diane was kind enough to have fresh fruit and fresh zucchini(?) bread for us. How sweet! My first impressions: Clean, comfortable, spacious, new 'everything', PERFECT! It is central to the city bus and train depots. MANY restaurants to choose from and an eclectic blend of shops, groceries, etc. My husband and I would refer to the suite as 'home' during our stay. It is very lovely, and Diane & Wayne are very kind and great people! We have recommended Luxury on Main to our friends and family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 10 out of 5

    10 out of 5

    • Guest Mariano (OHIO)
    • Date of stay 09/12/10
    • Review Submitted 10/03/10
    Wow, what a great time in Vancouver. The suite is extremely well designed for your stay. The location is superb. Will be returning. Basically, you are close to everywhere and in a quite neighborhood. The facilities are perfect, the stereo, kitchen, TV, movie and CDs collection, and brand appliances are just perfect. You walk two blocks and have anything you need. It took me always minutes to be anywhere in Vancouver. The location is very safe. Your hosts are fantastic people and available should you need them. As soon as I find out on my returning dates to Vancouver, I will make a reservation. My partner would not stop making compliments during our driving back to the US. Loved every second of it. Mariano

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Mariano for your kind words. It was our pleasure to host such energetic and worldly folks as you guys. Thank you for bringing the spirit of Brazil to Vancouver and being such fabulous guests. Looking forward to being your hosts again! Wayne & Diane Luxury off Main

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay!

    Great place to stay!

    • Guest Happy Traveler (Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/17/10
    Great 1 bedroom apartment, very nicely furnished. Owners are very hospitable and willing to help but stay out of the way, very nice people. The location is great, nice neighborhood, just a block and half from Main street with shops and coffee and very accessible to a great public transportation system. Skytrain is only a couple minute bus ride away. This place was the perfect location for our honeymoon!

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A week to remember!

    A week to remember!

    • Guest Austin folks (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/15/10
    • Review Submitted 12/18/10
    My husband and I stayed here for a week to celebrate our 5th year anniversary in June 2010. We could not have been more happy to have chosen such a perfect 'home away from home' for our first visit to Vancouver. Wayne and Diane were extremely generous hosts and went above and beyond to assure we were comfortable and had all that we needed. The suite is the perfect amount of space for a couple and it feels like a luxury hotel with wonderful linens, lighting, flat screen televisions and beautiful kitchen space. I personally really loved the spa-like bathroom and the spacious shower. The neighborhood is so charming with lots of bars/restaurant and shops and nearby to buses. We also enjoyed the backyard garden and grill. And, Wayne and Diane were so kind to lend us their bikes for a day. The price is very good for all the amenities and the hospitality! We hope to return to this place and Vancouver in the future!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderfully relaxing!

    Wonderfully relaxing!

    • Guest Rachel (Cedar Rapids, IA, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/24/10
    • Review Submitted 02/24/11
    This beautiful basement apartment is exactly as described and pictured! It is warm, inviting, and relaxing! It's exceptionally clean and safe! The owners are available to answer any questions you have or give you advice about places to visit and eat. Main St is very close and fun to walk around. Solly's Bagels have the BEST cinnamon rolls and it's only a short stroll from the apartment!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic rental property!!

    Fantastic rental property!!

    • Guest Samantha&Dan (Calgary, AB/Kelowna, BC)
    • Date of stay 02/27/10
    • Review Submitted 03/02/10
    This was a beautiful suite! We booked it last minute for the end of the Olympics and it was better than anything we could have hoped for. As soon as we got there the owners greeted us with enthusiasm and exceptional hospitality (a cold beer and a ride to where we wanted to go!) The suite was immaculate and beautifully furnished, including an incredibly comfortable bed! Would recommend to everyone, much better than a hotel in every way! And the owners were definitely the 'cherry on top'!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Olympic Stay was Amazing!

    Olympic Stay was Amazing!

    • Guest Wendelina (Wells, Maine, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/20/10
    • Review Submitted 04/14/10
    We had the best time staying in this beautifully-appointed, one-bedroom apartment for a week during the Olympics. Everything was high quality and brand new! This apt. is immaculate and the owners are so helpful and accommodating. The owners did so many special things to make our stay so pleasant and were ready with directions printed out and suggestions for restaurants, etc. The area has several little markets plus a number of great restaurants. Transportation to various areas of Vancouver is readily available and we had no trouble getting around to the various events. We had a marvelous stay and hope to return some time soon to see the owners, to enjoy the apt. once again, and to see their beautiful city.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home

    Home away from home

    • Guest RudyH (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/18/10
    • Review Submitted 03/13/10
    The description of this "home away from home suite" did not capture the amazing overall experience accurately-it was beyond our expectations in all ways. After a long flight we arrived to an impeccably clean, spacious and beautifully decorated suite. The owners thought of everything, since we got in late in the evening they had a home made gourmet pizza in the fridge that we just had to pop in the oven and fresh ground coffee ready to brew for our breakfast. The suite overall was lovely, a fireplace in the bedroom, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the bathroom was luxurious-a shower big enough for two ;>) - like staying in a 5* hotel. Location wise you couldn't ask for better. The area was filled with quaint coffee shops, antique stores, fresh produce and grocery stores, and restaurants for all budgets. The quiet street was within walking distance to beautiful parks and a quick bus ride or $10 cab ride to downtown shopping, Granville Island, or Gastown. We were amazed how easy it was to get around and see everything from this central location. The price point was excellent value for this terrific place and the owners were the kind of people that make you want to come back and wish that you had stayed longer. I have and will continue to recommend this place to friends and family. We honestly can not wait to go back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Fantastic Place to Stay With Wonderful Hosts!

    A Fantastic Place to Stay With Wonderful Hosts!

    • Guest ChrisEDM (Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/13/10
    • Review Submitted 02/22/10
    I stayed here recently for 4 nights and was exteremely happy with my stay. It was very nicely decorated, very clean and had everything you could possibly hope for. Just some of the great features included a wonderful shower, heated tile flooring, a fireplace, a nice backyard, two flatscreen TVs, a soft 10 foot leather couch and stainless steel appliances. Exceeding the place itself, were the hosts! Very friendly...they did everything possible to make sure we had a great stay. The location is also ideal as it was only a $20 cab ride from the airport, an even cheaper cab ride to downtown...or an enjoyable walk if it's nice out. It's also just a couple blocks away from many bus routes and the skytrain. There are also many great restuarants on Main Street just a block away. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and will definitely go back if I'm ever in the Vancouver area. Thanks for the wonderful stay!!! I had a great time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Better Than A Hotel In Every Way!

    Better Than A Hotel In Every Way!

    • Guest Kevin_K (Edmonton, AB, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/13/10
    • Review Submitted 02/22/10
    This suite was absolutely incredible and greatly contributed to the amazing time that my friend and I had in Vancouver. We were blown away from the moment we walked in the door as the suite is every bit as luxurious as it is pictured and described on the website. In addition to being beautifully decorated, the furnishings are also very comfortable which made it a great place to kick back and relax while we weren’t out seeing the city. The quality selection of movies, cds, and books (as well as a few beers in the fridge) are small details that were very much appreciated. Lastly, the owners of this suite were not only helpful, giving us great tips about what to see and where to eat, but they are two of the most friendly and polite people a person could ever meet. I would definitely stay here again, thank you very much!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]