Chestnut Mountain Lodge Renovated Tobacco Barn Pool House Bar
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Cosby lodge description
Newly Listed on VRBO!
You will not BELIEVE what awaits you just 20 minutes from Gatlinburg, Tennessee high on top of Chestnut Mountain in small town Cosby, Tennessee!
The amenities and things to do on and near this 28 acre mountain top retreat are just about endless! The Main Lodge is actually an old Tobacco Barn that was renovated into a home in the 1970’s. My husband and I purchased the property in 2007 and began the process of turning our piece of Chestnut Mountain into an Eden Retreat! Next to the main lodge sits a cozy, one bedroom cabin. Down the hill is a wonderful Pool House complete with Commercial Kitchen and a Large Bar and BBQ area, and of course, a majestic in-ground swimming pool. Behind the Pool House sits a cute His & Hers Bathroom Barn. Wander down the rock path to the outdoors shower and bathtub! A babbling creek with beautiful vegetation and waterfalls runs the entirety of the property. Fall asleep at night to the sound of water rushing through the creek and you’ll never-ever want to fall asleep any other way! Wake up to the smell of clean, fresh, mountain air! Down the hill from the Pool House is a Chicken House and a Fully Stocked Pond! Stop by and say hello to our pig, Porkchop. She loves company! Hike up to the very top of the mountain and get a clear view of beautiful Mt. Cammerer. While you are up there, pitch a couple of tents for the kids. Take a short walk to a really old children's graveyard and the location of a very old house where the stone fireplace still stands. On your way back down, wander down the creek about 50 feet to see an old 1940's automobile (not sure how it got there). Be sure to look around for old moonshine paraphernalia as well as old bottles.
Inside the Main Lodge you will find an Elvis Bar, complete with a Beer Cooler and a Keg Cooler and plenty of Elvis Memorabilia. Also in the bar is a sitting area with a flat screen TV and a beautiful floor to ceiling rock fireplace! Step down a level and you will find the Movie and Gaming Room which includes a 73 inch 3D TV, gaming equipment and games, gaming chairs and movie seating! On the same level is a Sun Room Master Bedroom with beautiful views of the property, a walk out to the screened in Sun Porch and Organic Garden Area, a wood-burning stove, the Master Bathroom with a heart shaped jet tub, a 2nd wood-burning stove, a bedroom with 2 twin beds (each bed has its own headset), a Zen Room with chalk board walls, the main entry-way and access to an inside firewood storage area. Walk up the stairs to the top level and you will find a massive library (lots of old books), another bedroom with wondrous views of the property and a walk-in closet, 1.5 baths, an open kitchen with sliding glass doors out to the deck, a buffet area and dining room. The bedrooms, sleeping porch and love sacks will accommodate 12 sleepers but there is plenty of room on the property to pitch tents.
Off the back deck you will find a secluded 8 person Hot Tub with a built-in Stereo System and a breathtaking view of the trees and wide open, star filled skies!
If you do decide you’d like to venture out, you are only 20 minutes from Gatlinburg! You are 5 minutes from Hartford, TN - home of the best White Water Rafting offered in East Tennessee! While in Hartford, park and take a swim in the creek or hike (about a mile) to the infamous Midnight Hole. Walk a little further to witness a beautiful waterfall.
If you get tired of cooking in Pool Bar Kitchen, there are plenty of amazing spots to eat. In Cosby you will find the “Front Porch” - Authentic and Delicious Mexican Food -- and they have Live Blue Grass Music and allow you to bring your own cooler of alcoholic beverages! Also in Cosby is Carver’s Apple House, situated on a glorious apple farm with views of apple trees and horses, and a garden shop that sells vegetables, honey, sauces and so much more! There are also many small mom & pop cafes and diners in the area - offering up some of the best in southern cooking!
What about Night Life? Hartford, TN is home of “The Bean Tree” - a Tavern & Eatery that sits right above the river and offers a variety of beers and live entertainment. Or if you really want live, spontaneous entertainment, walk across the street to the gas station, buy yourself and beer and sit out on the picnic tables. You just never know who will show up with what musical instrument! If you like to play Pool and eat Home Made Beans, Taters and Corn Bread, be sure to visit Buddy’s Bar. And if you like live country entertainment and excellent food, be sure to visit a Trout House very nearby. There are just way too many restaurants and taverns to mention!
So.. forget the cabin rentals that all look alike and provide similar experiences in the city and , instead, make the most of your East Tennessee vacation by experiencing 28 Acres of Mountain Living at It’s finest
Make sure you watch our video as it is impossible to include all the photo’s we would like for you to see. Also - if you are interested in a Wedding Package, or require special attention for your Family Reunion, Business Retreat, Anniversary -- or any other type of gathering, give us a call. We offer a wide variety of custom packages and services!
Be sure to scroll down and click on 'Click Here to See All My Rental Listings.' We have another property approximately 45 minutes away near Asheville, NC.
Keywords: Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, East Tennessee, Mountain Vacation, Lodge, Tobacco Barn, Pool House, White Water Rafting, Wedding, Family Reunions, Business Retreat, Cabin, Hiking, Appalachian Trail
- Vacation Rental
- Smoking Allowed
- Pets Considered
- Children Welcome
- Clothing Optional/Nude Sunbathing Nearby
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30, Beds for 9-30
- King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Bathrooms: 3.5 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Catering Available
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Clothes Dryer
- Parking Off Street
- Air Conditioning
- Wood Stove
- Wood Fireplace
- Washing Machine
- Linens Provided
- Video Library
- Video Games
- DVD Player
- Video Game Console
- Satellite / Cable
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Hot Tub
- Private Pool
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Lanai / Gazebo
Location & View
- Water View
- Mountain Biking
- Miniature Golf
- Wildlife Viewing
- Theme Parks
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
- Appalachian Trail, Camping
ReviewsWrite a review
Cabin is not safe for kids
Cabin is not safe for kids
We stayed at the cabin for the week of July 4, 2012. I have to agree with the other renters that wrote a review. The cabin had poor a/c in it. It is not a safe cabin for kids. We seen covers missing off the wall outlets. The bathroom in the upstairs bedroom is very small and has no door. Lighting is poor. The stairs leading down to the house really could use some handrails the are dangerous. Getting to the pool area is a steep incline and as she said it is mud when it rains. The pool area is very nice. But we did not stay at the cabin much because there were centipeds all over in the cabin. The kitchen was not clean. One of the bedrooms is open to all with no privacy. That is were the enterance door to the cabin. During our stay at the cabin some of our family members were there and someone just walked into the cabin because they new the code. That really freaked out the kids. Sleeping at night was impossible because of the heat and there was a window in the elvis room that did not have a window in it it was covered by contractors paper and that made it very uneasy sleeping. We did not stay at the cabin much during our stay due to the conditions of the cabin. We only ate at the cabin a couple of times due to the condition. In the kitchen there is sliding glass doors but you can not go out of it due to the unfinished deck. I did mention centipeds in the cabin I know that we were in the mountains and you should expect some bugs but everywhere you turned there were centipeds. They were getting into our suitcases and on our clothes. I will never rent this cabin again. Also in there ad they said that it was seculed with no one around but they lived about 500 feet from the cabin. They can see everything that you do. We had to put up sheets to cover the window so no one could see into the bedroom.
- Guest megtim (Virginia)
- Date of stay 07/01/12
- Review Submitted 02/15/13
Property with Potential but Far from Ready
Property with Potential but Far from Ready
Lodge is listed as sleeping up to 30, with 4 bedrooms plus sleeping porch. The lodge actually had beds for six in 3 bedrooms with the fourth bedroom being in the one bedroom cottage. So sleeping for our party of 17 was difficult at best. Blow up mattresses were provided but could not be used as they all were either moldy or full of holes. When we inquired about this we were told that the "30" included pitching tents on the hill. Tried several times to contact owner by phone and email, but never got an answer and voice mailbox was full so could not even leave a message. We did get assistance in the evenings from other family members. The house was not cleaned thoroughly, and the oven and microwave were so dirty that we used very little. There was left over food in all refrigerators, which was in the way for our week's worth of groceries.Several trash containers still had trash in them. It appears that renovations are not finished with many electrical outlets that were not finished or covered; paint cans sitting around and box of trash left in master bedroom area.. Promise of beautiful views were so clouded by dirty windows or with left over painter's tape. Lighting situation was equally poor. No light in large walk-in closet or bath of second lodge bedroom or porch-light for cabin; and lighting around house was spotty making walkway steps treacherous at night. A couple of us took bad falls. Cabin was nice, but neither tv in cabin worked. We had planned to use for a honeymoon cottage for our niece who got married, but we needed the extra sleeping space for family. The only saving grace to our week was the beautiful pool area. We lived and ate at the pool. However, the only way to the pool was down a mud hill and it rained each day we were there. We took some concrete pavers and built a couple of steps to use. The ice machine did not work. There were no lounge chairs by pool as shown in photos. No one came to clean the pool as promised; had to clean ourselves.Pond was stocked with fish, but way too young to catch.This property should really be pulled off of the rental market until it is complete and safe for rental. Overall, not what we expected and way over-priced for what we got.
- Guest Jim and Nelda (San Angelo, TX, USA)
- Date of stay 07/16/12
- Review Submitted 07/27/12
Owner response: Unfortunately this group is the type of renters who fail to properly research the details of a vacation rental and then complain when things don't go right. Our listing clearly states how many beds we have and how many people our rental will sleep. If renters bring tents, sleeping bags and blow up mattresses then we can accommodate many more sleepers because we have 28 acres of land. When this group let us know that they did not realize that they would have needed to bring tents/sleeping bags/mattresses, we did our best to accommodate them by finding as many blow up beds as we could -- and yes, some of them were old - but we were simply trying to help. When I discovered the ice maker quit working I went and bought plenty of ice trays so there would be ice. There was an additional ice maker in the main lodge so ice could have easily been taken from the lodge to the pool house. I do agree that this group shouldn't have paid as much for this type of vacation rental because they would leave early in the morning and return late at night. This is the type of rental where there is always something to do and so much to see. Everyone else who has rented with us stays here and enjoys the property. This group would have been better off staying at a cheap motel because they were rarely here. We live on the property so getting in touch with any of us is just a matter of walking up a hill and knocking on a door. It is true that we did not clean the pool everyday but this is because it was barely used and it didn't require cleaning everyday. I have no idea what electrical outlets do not have covers. I've yet to find them. In order to get to the pool house you must walk the yard. Yes, there is an incline but there is no "mud hill." There are 2 other ways to get to the pool house and both of these are rocky roads. One of the roads allows you to drive all the way to the pool house. Everyone else who has stayed here has absolutely adored the property. I just need to take the time to include their testimonials as they are written in a book. I'll do that soon. It is truly unfortunate when a group such as this, who cannot appreciate such a property, and who did not do their due diligence while researching the property, decides to write a review.
Mon-Thurs: $645/night Fri-Sun: $745/night NO MINIMUM STAY! SAVE! SPECIAL 1 WEEK RATE (6 Nights): $3465 Call or Email for Holiday Rates. Wedding Packages, Family Reunions, Business Retreat, etc - Call for Pricing. Cleaning Fee: $25 per night stay.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.
Year Purchased: 2007
About the owner: Ernest retired after 20 years in the Navy in 2007. Tammy has owned various businesses over the years. Between the two of us we have 6 kids and 5 grandchildren.
Why the Owner Chose Cosby:
We loved coming down to East Tennessee - but we wanted a TRUE MOUNTAIN EXPERIENCE, complete with bears, snakes, creeks and old graveyards! We found that most cabin rentals were very much the same and didn't offer a true mountain experience.
The Unique Benefits at this Lodge:
Falling asleep to the sound of a babbling creek, waking up to beautiful views and clean mountain air, hot tubbing under the expansive star-filled skies, late night skinny dipping in seclusion under the moon and stars, picking organic vegetables and herbs for lunch or dinner, laying out at the pool while enjoying drinks and food with family and friends, hiking up to the top of the mountain and pitching tents, driving down the mountain to enjoy dinner or live entertainment at a local getaway spot, white water rafting minutes down the road, hiking up to Mt. Cammerer, having coffee on the sun porch - way too many things to list!
- Primary: + 865-323-5062
- Secondary: +
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Closer look at the Pool Area
Pool and Cabana Bar with Commercial Kitchen, Beer Cooler, Ice Maker, BBQ Area
Organic Garden off the Screened in Sun Porch
Massive Stone Fireplace in the Lodge Bar
Looking down at the Lodge Bar Sitting Area from Upstairs Dining
Stairs to Library and Second Level
Closer look at the Pool Area
Heart Bath Tub
Serving Area Between Upstairs Kitchen & Dining in Lodge.
Outdoor "Ma & Pa" Bathrooms near Pool Cabana
Chickens & Porkchop the Pig live here
The Main Lodge (Converted Tobacco Barn)
Fully Stocked Pond & Chicken House
The Elvis Bar with Beer & Keg Coolers
Closer look at the Pool Area
Inside the Pool Bar/Cabana
Master Bedroom. The doorway you see is to the Baby Room with 2 Baby Beds.
Looking down into Bar Room inside Lodge.
Queen Bedroom. Beautiful Views!
Outdoor Hillbilly Shower & Bath Tub. Yes, it has hot water.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2012.
Date last modified - Friday, March 29, 2013
4 Bedroom / 3.5 Bathroom
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.