Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Upon entry your eyes will be drawn to the amazing water/mountain view and patio.

Relax at the Water's Edge in This Amazing, Spacious,Deluxe Beach House [#404382] | View Property

Coupeville
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$260 - $450/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (59)

Sort by:
  • It's All Here!

    It's All Here!

    • Guest Dick & Carole C.
    • Date of stay 04/06/14
    • Review Submitted 04/17/14
    The Ranvik Beach House is in a beautiful location and the tastefully-designed house lets in bountiful light from the beautiful waters and pastoral setting. The three ample bedrooms with king-sized beds, along with the high end appliances and electronics, made it a luxurious getaway. We enjoyed taking the ferry to Port Townsend to shop, sightsee, and eat; we explored the trails in Ft. Ebey State Park; we biked around small lakes and through the countryside; and we enjoyed the fresh and local Penn Cove Mussels in Coupeville. We have rented vacation properties from owners in many states and countries. The Ranvik Beach House was the best we've experienced.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dick and Carol, We are so humbled that someone with your extensive travel experience would say that Ranvik is the best vacation property you have experienced. Actually several other parties have made similar statement, so we must be doing a most things right. Thank you very much for selecting us for your weeklong family vacation and for your wonderful compliment. Best, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful view, beautifully appointed vacation rental

    Beautiful view, beautifully appointed vacation rental

    • Guest Satisfied Reviewer (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/07/14
    • Review Submitted 03/14/14
    Our group of 3 couples and 1 baby just loved our stay and the Ranvik House! The location is ideal -- (rocky) beach front with entirely unobstructed views along a private cove, about ten minutes from Coupeville center, 15 minutes from Langley and just a little further to the Mukilteo/Clinton ferry. The house set up is great for multiple couples. The house is very well appointed with everything we needed to cook meals and relax. The beds are quite comfortable. The decor is very nice. We sald bald eagles on our walk along the beach. We would not hesitate to book this rental again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Marla, we appreciate you kind comments. Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Magical Memories

    Magical Memories

    • Guest Still glowing
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 02/27/14
    Imagine that your best friend--the one with great taste--lent you her beach house for the weekend. Staying at Ranvik felt like that. From the moment my 99 year old grandmother walked in the door, she was transported with delight, and the rest of us came right along. The house itself is beautifully sited on a smallish lot, but the layout, landscaping and attention to detail make you feel like you are alone overlooking the bay. The furnishings are simple, but inviting and extremely comfortable. The kitchen and baths are incredibly well stocked and the whole place was immaculate. Three generations spent a three day weekend there and there was ample space for total privacy and yet room to be together in the common areas. (Use of a walker was not a problem anywhere inside this spacious house.) The views were spectacular--from the wild wind & rain one night to the Olympics the next morning, ship traffic made more interesting by the thoughtful provision of a spotting scope (we saw a submarine escorted out to sea), wildlife, and of course the water. Due to the thoughtful layout you have a many different views out of oversized windows that lit up even a gloomy Northwest February. The whole place was so inviting--and so cozy--we could have stayed in the entire visit. We did get out to Coupeville for a lovely lunch at Knead & Feed and shopping, and to Freeland for groceries and dinner at Gordons. The Halls were wonderful hosts, responsive to our many questions, and thoughtful stewards of this very special property. If we hadn't come out from Washington, DC for this small family reunion we would be back several times a year. This was our first VRBO experience, and they have set a very high bar!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Karen: Thank you for sharing the highlights of your celebration with Grandma. We're pleased that your extended family had such a great time. You join the many who have celebrated special events at Ranvik and left with fond, lasting memories. That gives us much joy. Best regards, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best birthday ever, Feburary Rainshadow sunshine!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Best birthday ever, Feburary Rainshadow sunshine!

    • Guest Shannon
    • Date of stay 02/03/14
    • Review Submitted 03/14/14
    We had a wonderful weekend and the weather was incredible. In fact I think I got sunburned on Saturday! But most importantly my mom said this was her best birthday ever. Thanks again for sharing your beautiful beach and rental with us. We hope to be back many more times in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Family Vacation

    Wonderful Family Vacation

    • Guest Rich E.
    • Date of stay 12/30/13
    • Review Submitted 01/18/14
    Believe the hype. My family had an outstanding time at the Ranvik Beach House. Upon arrival, my first thoughts were that it's more spacious and beautiful than the pictures suggested. The kitchen was large and had everything necessary to prepare and serve a variety of meals. It was great to step out the door and on the beach. It's a short walk to the playground at the end of the street. At night you can hear the calming sounds of the water rolling on the shore; no need for a wave machine. Without leaving the property we made s'mores in the fire pit, flew kites, and enjoyed the ocean sights and the comfort of the fireplace. Our kids (3 and 6) enjoyed the provided toys. The local grocery store had everything we needed. The house is conveniently located near many Whidbey destinations. We ventured out a few times, but would have been just as happy spending our entire stay at the house. The media room is cozy and has a wide range of choices for all ages and tastes. The cable channels and internet speed were more than enough for us. The owners were very accommodating and made things very easy before, during, and after our visit. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Ranvik Beach House.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Rich & Cindy: Gracias for such a sharing such a nice, comprehensive snapshot of your winter family weekend. We're so glad you and your two little ones had a great time at Ranvik. We'd love to have you return. Best, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Correction to my previous review

    Correction to my previous review

    • Guest Larry (Kirkland Wa USA)
    • Date of stay 10/10/13
    • Review Submitted 10/29/13
    Ooops! I incorrectly stated the State Ferry from Coupville (Keystone) destination as Port Angeles! The Ferry from nearby the Beach House actually goes to Port Townsend, a quaint, little tourist destination with a eclectic selection of shopping and restaurants to enjoy. It makes for a great day trip by car, or park the car and walk on, or by biking! Either way, it's a great trip.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The beach House on Whidbey Island

    The beach House on Whidbey Island

    • Guest Larry (Kirkland Wa USA)
    • Date of stay 10/10/13
    • Review Submitted 10/17/13
    We stayed for a 3 day weekend with two other couples and had an absolutely delightful time. The house is very large, immaculate, and smartly decorated in a New England/Cape Cod beach home motif, with a nod to a Nordic ancestry. The kitchen is fully complete for cooking and all of the accoutrements necessary for preparing any meal. There is an array of complimentary coffee/tea setups too. The kitchen/dining/living room area is really more like a great room together, perfect for meal preparation and socializing with friends and family. The bedrooms are beautiful with warm, comfortable beds, two of the rooms look out onto the beach and water. There is a laundry room with full size washer/dryer. The back deck is very spacious with a good size dining table and plenty of comfy chairs for relaxing on. The fire pit is in the middle of the patio area it is fantastic and you look right out onto the water while standing next to a warming fire. Smores tools provided! A complimentary set of wood is provided for your first fire, wood is available in Coupville 6 miles away. Beach walking is literally steps away and we beach combed with two other couples and had a fantastic time, you'll walk on loose pebbles and small rocks and later sand. Bald Eagles were abundant! Our first morning there I sat in the living room, drinking my coffee and watched salmon jumping up out of the water right in front of the beach/back yard! There is a den with a television if you are so inclined, with several DVD movies selections in a drawer. We are all biking enthusiasts and brought our own rides, but the owner does have two bikes with helmets available in an attached garage. Biking from the beach house around Whidbey is fabulous. The ferry boat dock to Port Angeles is two miles away, a bike ride to the ferry for a day excursion to P.A. is perfect. You will not be disappointed in a stay here. We rode over to Fort Casey State Park, walked out to the bluffs edge and watched about 20 enormous Sea Lions frolicking back and forth for over an hour, it was incredible. This place just puts you in that perfect, relaxed, "I am on vacation" frame of mind. We are already planning a return visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Larry & Lindy - We're glad you had fun staying at our beach house & exploring the area. ONE CORRECTION FOR OTHER TRAVELERS: The Coupeville Ferry goes to Port Townsend, not Port Angeles. Port Angeles is about 30 miles from Port Townsend. Best, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peace and Beauty

    Peace and Beauty

    • Guest Foodie (Davis, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/23/13
    • Review Submitted 09/26/13
    Ranvik House exceeded our expectations. The house is as pictured but the pictures cannot fully capture the site and the care that the owners have given their home. During our stay we had both cloudy rainy weather and beautiful sunshine and enjoyed it all. I loved cooking in the beautiful and well-equipped kitchen. The information provided addressed all of our questions and gave of clear guidance for gaining access and properly closing up the house. We hope to visit again and will recommend it to others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind words affirming our efforts to make Ranvik Beach House a wonderful place to stay rain or shine. We're so glad you two enjoyed your romantic get-way. Best, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family time & memory maker

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great family time & memory maker

    • Guest Richard & Joan
    • Date of stay 09/19/13
    • Review Submitted 09/27/13
    Hi Lisa and Dan, We truly enjoyed our stay with Richard's brother and parents as we celebrated their 65th Anniversary. The anniversary dinner was grilled salmon cooked on your fabulous grill accompanied by fresh wild blackberries gathered from the roadside, and we enjoyed fresh produce every day. Our parents had no trouble getting around in your obstacle free interior and Richard's dad appreciated the tall shower in the master bath. The daily views through the wrap around windows were breathtaking in all weather and times of day. The views inspired Richard's father to tell stories from his childhood about staying at Vashon Island, and he took photos of the big ships and the birds. We captured some of their mutual storytelling on video. We had wonderful sunsets; the weather was warmer than we anticipated and there was little rain while during our 4 day stay. We didn't get to enjoy your fire pit, perhaps another time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Perfect Amazing Relaxing Homey

    Fabulous Perfect Amazing Relaxing Homey

    • Guest jj (Vancouver BC)
    • Date of stay 09/03/13
    • Review Submitted 09/20/13
    We had a wonderful stay at the Ranvik Beach House. This was our third time renting from VRBO these owners by far the nicest and most thoughtful! Really made us feel welcome, from the lists of things to do in the area to the local jam as a welcome gift. Perfect quiet get away in a beautiful lovingly decorated home!! So charming and Beachy!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful, Private, Romantic

    Peaceful, Private, Romantic

    • Guest Scott Ware (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 08/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/25/13
    Yes, all just as advertised and better! Beautifully maintained, prompt, helpful owners. Fully equipped kitchen and home. Bikes provided easy exploration of ocean, mountain and rural viewpoints. Five star recommendation to others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Brian & Deanne: We're glad to hear that you took advantage of our bikes. Seems like riding the quite roads helps one to slow down plus your senses take in so much more of the wonders and beauty of the area that way. Thanks for sharing! Blessings, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Ellen (Norwich, CT, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/15/13
    • Review Submitted 08/29/13
    It was a very happy occasion that brought our family to Coupevill, Washington. With two grown children heralding from Boston and Seattle, we all converged on Whidbey Island where our son was to be married at his soon to be inlaw's beach dwelling. We quickly settled into Ranvik House which readily embraced us with its warm welcome and attention to detail (who does't love hot chocolate and mini marshmallows). We soon discovered it to be the very best beach house we have ever rented. Lisa and Dan have tbought off EVERTHING! It possesses the rare quality of making you feel instantly at home while at the same time giving you the sense of being someplace uniquely special. The exceptional setting immediately draws you in with outstanding views of water, mountains, sunsets and dancing salmon. All these are visible from the surround deck, pebbled patio, fire pit benches and relaxing lounge chairs. Abundant windows also afforded these same views from the coziness of the house. Window treatments were perfect allowing for spectacular views and complete privacy when needed. The crisp blue and white interior with red accents was beautifully done. The layout with the master bedroom in one wing and the two other bedrooms in the other accommodated my husband and I as well as our two children and their spouses. The kitchen, living and dining area was designed to bring all occupants together whether cooking, visiting, reading or grabbing a snooze before the fire. We found the kitchen to be very well equipped as was the rest of the house. It is difficult to put your finger on just one thing that makes Ranvik House the ideal Whidbey Island location but last night while viewing our vacation pictures we were reminded of just what an exceptional time was had by all. Know that our stay in Ranvik House was an integral part of this.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your eloquent review; one of you must be a writer. We're so glad that our beach house meet your needs during your sons wedding. Best regards, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had a wonderful time at Ranvik Beach!

    We had a wonderful time at Ranvik Beach!

    • Guest Nina G.
    • Date of stay 07/28/13
    • Review Submitted 08/07/13
    Ranvik Beach house was delightful and truly lovely. My husband and I relaxed, walked the beach, sat on the deck and watched the jumping salmon and sat by the gas fireplace when it was chilly. The house is beautiful and just as the description and photos described in the listing. We can't wait to return next summer. Thank you LIsa and Dan for sharing your wonderful home with us! Nina and Steve

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Nina & Steve, we have you penciled in for next year. Those jumping salmon are sometimes caught right from our beach. Considering bringing a fishing rod and you may be able to enjoy a fresh salmon dinner! Best regards, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Outstanding!

    Outstanding!

    • Guest Vee (Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    Unbelievable does not even begin to describe this place! The house is so beautiful, there are amazing views from every room, deck, patio - even out front. The Halls have thought of everything for your ideal vacation stay - our only complaint was having to leave! The pictures do not do this place justice. We were two couples and really enjoyed having our own wing of the house, great for privacy. The large kitchen allowed all four of us to cook gourmet dinners.We will be back to enjoy more of the ocean, the waves and the sunsets. Not to mention the sunrises! Thanks for the great stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Chris. You are absolutely right, it is hard to leave Ranvik Beach House! But you can always come back. In fact several folks come more than once a year. Best regards, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ranvik Beach Cottage

    Ranvik Beach Cottage

    • Guest Family Get-Together (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    Ranvik (by Coupeville, WA, on the western shores of Whidbey Island) is a delightfully comfortable Pacific Northwest beach retreat with astounding views of Puget Sound and the Olympic Peninsula. Recently renovated, it balances original 1965 construction with modern upgrades for all the amenities you would want for a PNW escape. Comfortable, big beds in three bedrooms sleep six. Bedroom and bathroom fixtures are thoughtfully labeled so guests acclimate easily to surroundings. Main common space of kitchen, dining and living area offers breathtaking views through huge windows. Large fire pit is perfect for s'mores or just watching evening ease into night. Convenient access from Seattle via Mukilteo Ferry. Enjoyed watching a cloud bank roll like a glacier past the distant point at Fort Casey and spill across the Olympic scene across the Sound. I came from Scottsdale, AZ, for a three-generation family get-together. Loved being here and hope to return. I highly recommend experiencing it for yourself.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the good words Brian. This is such a great place for small family gatherings and we would welcome your crew back any time. Best, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sister's Reunion 2013

    Sister's Reunion 2013

    • Guest Bonnie (Lynnwood, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/16/13
    Wow - that was all we could say upon arrival at this beautiful, peaceful, beach-side home! This house is bright, clean, warm and welcoming - we felt at home. Everything was perfect - just as promised in the listing. Amenities abound - even exceeded our expectations. The beach/water was perfect for our new favorite sport - Stand Up Paddle Boarding! Exhausted at night we had peaceful sleep on fabulously comfortable king-size beds. This was truly a special retreat for my sisters and me - can't wait to book next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hi Bonnie: Wow is all we can say in regards to your complimentary review! We are so glad you and your sisters had good paddleboarding weather and enjoyed our comfy beds. Seems like everyone enjoy exceptionally good sleeps at Ranvik Beach House. Best, Dan & Lisa PS for readers: Our beach is great for water activities such as paddle-boarding & kayaking, as long as it is a calm day. You do need to keep you eye on the wind which pick up pretty fast in Admiralty Bay. Also paddle boarders should have a wet suit as the water temp runs 50-55 degrees F. The lake across the street can also be used for small craft, even with moderate winds.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfection!

    Perfection!

    • Guest Sarah B. (Louisville, Ky)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    I hope I can find a portion of the right words to describe how great this house is! Ranvik is the best house on the street, with the best view and great comfort. My husband and I plan to move to the Seattle area in the near future, until we stayed at Ranvik we thought we'd be closer to the city. Nope, not now! We made a full commitment to move to Whidbey. The Ranvik house was so inspirational, peaceful, comfortable and felt full of positive energy. We were able to run from the house every night and came home for Pilates. We are Vegan, therefore we love cooking at home. The kitchen was fully stocked and I felt right at home. A less than 20 min ferry ride to Port Townsend takes you to an organic Co-Op or you can hit up the Whole Foods in Lynnwood on your way out. We even asked Lisa if we could stay and extra day and she was more than willing to allow us. We took a day trip to Orcas and that was some of the most amazing sights I've ever seen. Lavender Wind Farm is close to the house, we spent some time there and bought some lovely gifts. You can also see dolphin and bald eagle daily right from Ranvik! Hello! That's crazy cool! If we haven't already moved, next year we will rent Ranvik again. Thank you for sharing such an amazing home and making it feel so comfortable. We both said we haven't slept that good in a long time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Sarah & Bryan, thanks for telling the world that Ranvik Beach House is the best place in the Keystone area. That's what we thought when we bought it! We are pleased that you found all you were looking for plus a relaxation & good ZZZs while you were here. Whidbey and the Coupeville area as so easy to fall in love with. We wish you well as you consider you move. You are always welcome back. Best wishes in as you consider moving to Whidbey

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing house

    Amazing house

    • Guest Margarita W.
    • Date of stay 06/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/04/13
    The owner, Lisa , really went out of her way to help us stay here with a very last minute request and very thoughtfully let us check out late on our last day. As for the house, it is exceptional. It is a recently renovated mid-century house, but decorated in a clean, modern beach style. The views from almost anywhere in the house are really stunning! Add to this a well stocked kitchen, crisp linens and beautiful furnishings and you really start to feel spoiled. In fact my children (7 and 4) would have been very happy to stay longer! They were delighted with the cupboard full of toys and spent hours outside pretending to be pirates on the driftwood. For parents of younger children, the beach is probably not ideal with little to no sand and inside the house you'll spend your time trying to stop them from touching everything. Two of the bedrooms are also located on the other side of the house, which makes it challenging at night time. Overall we loved our stay and look forward to coming back in the future. Many thanks for letting us enjoy your beautiful home Lisa and Dan!

    Owner response: Sarah, thank you for staying at Ranvik and for the helpful review. You did a great job telling it straight regarding having children there. We look forward to hosting your family again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Incredible Anniversary Celebration

    Incredible Anniversary Celebration

    • Guest Johnny (Bellingham)
    • Date of stay 06/09/13
    • Review Submitted 06/13/13
    What an incredible few days we spent celebrating our 36th anniversary at the Ranvik Beach House! We walked the beaches; read books out on the deck; talked for hours; watched a fun movie and soaked up the serenity and sounds of the ocean! We were refreshed in our very souls!! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: John Georgie: Congratulations on 36 years. You two have the Art of Relaxation mastered! Thanks for choosing our place for your special time. Blessings, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Elegant beach house

    Elegant beach house

    • Guest RedSonja (Washington)
    • Date of stay 06/06/13
    • Review Submitted 06/10/13
    The beach house we rented was elegant, luxurious, and incredibly peaceful. We stayed at the beach house with our adult children and their significant others and could not have asked for a better place to do so. The house was even more spacious than the photos and we were each able to get a little privacy. The bedrooms are far enough apart that there is no fear of being bothered by the others. The kitchen was better equipped than we were expecting (we brought our own French press and grinder, but one was provided) and was large enough we were all able to help in meal prep without getting in each others way. Everything we could have needed was provided (including hot cocoa and marshmallows!) and it was a quick trip to town for all our grocery needs, etc. We enjoyed the fire pit late into the evening with the water at our backs. The view was amazing! We saw many ships, bald eagles, seals, etc. It was an ideal vacation for our family and if we return to Whidbey Island, we will rent this house again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Christian: We are so pleased that your extended family enjoyed your get together at our place. Thanks so much for renting from us and the complimentary review. Best to you and yours, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Spot - Second Visit in Two Months

    Amazing Spot - Second Visit in Two Months

    • Guest Greg & Amy (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 05/31/13
    • Review Submitted 06/07/13
    We have stayed at the Ranvik Beach House twice in the past 45 days for long weekends. We found the gem on VRBO by combing through vacation properties. We love the place! I hate to write a review and give away this gem of a spot. But, because the owner's are so friendly I feel I need to share. The house is located in a beautiful location on a fantastic Whidbey beach. It has a PERFECT 24/7 view of the water and the Olympic Mountains. It is excellent for viewing wildlife and traveling ships. The beach is unique in that you can walk for miles and feel extremely secluded...like you have the whole World to yourself. If you have a kayak, you could launch it from the beach easily. Our 4 and 5 year old's played non-stop building forts, throwing rocks into the water, walking on the huge logs and roasting marsh mellows. It was a perfect place for them to feel free and for us to easily watch them. The house is great for people of all ages as it is one story and easily accessible. It has two wings and a main living area located in the middle. Each wing has two rooms and a bathroom (one with a master and den and the other wing with two bedrooms. The views are amazing from all the main rooms in the house and two of the bedrooms. The house is positioned to enjoy natural light all day long...a must in the PNW. The house is stocked with everything one needs including a coffee bar, a gas barbeque and wood for an outdoor fire in the fire pit. We found the house amazingly cared for and extremely clean. We look forward to our next trip.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Greg - neat to hear how much fun the kiddos had on the beach. Doesn't seem to matter how old the kids are, throwing rocks in the water, walking the logs, and roasting marshmallows are hit with almost all of them. We look forward to your return. Best, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I feel that this beautiful, warm exceptionally clean home was very well represented.

    I feel that this beautiful, warm exceptionally clean home was very well represented.

    • Guest Beth (Coupeville Whidbey Island)
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    I booked this weekend"away" for my aging mother, sister and myself to relax and spent time together as we live right here in Coupeville, all 3 of us were so pleastantly surprised at every turn, We could not believe the attention to details that the Ranvik beach house offered, the lay out of the home made each of us feel very separate when needed and so cozy in the common area as we gather near fireplace (gas) or in the kitchen preparing meals. I am a contractor and I am fortunate to see many homes in my 30 year career but this was one of my favorites. We are Hoping to book next time for a longer stay to recharge our batteries. Thank you so much Dan and Lisa for the great memories!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sweet Beth! Proof positive that you don't need to go far to have a great get-away! Sometimes a great vacation can be very close to home. Glad you gals enjoyed our place. We appreciate your observations as an experienced contractor on how wonderfully this home works, that say a lot. Thank you and come on back any time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful Getaway!

    Peaceful Getaway!

    • Guest cjs44 (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/25/13
    A group of 5 ventured to this delightful home for a work retreat. We were welcomed by a beautiful view, super spacious living room and comfortable bedrooms. We enjoyed the outdoors area with the ocean extending before us and were in awe with the memorable sunset. A fireplace kept us warm as we enjoyed comfort on the couches. In the morning, we woke up to the incredible view of the ocean. We could not have asked for a better view as soon as our eyes opened! We took a serene walk along the shore and enjoyed the sounds of the ocean as we inhaled the fresh air. The home is fully furnished and everything you need is at your disposal. After departing from this amazing beach house we all felt invigorated and energized! I would definitely return and recommend this gem!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Erin: Sounds like you have mastered the art of mixing business with pleasure! We pleased you found the accommodations at Ranvik Beach House worked well for your group and that you returned back to the office with a sense of being invigorated and energized. That is something we hope all our guests can leave with. Best Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Undoubtedly Epic!

    Undoubtedly Epic!

    • Guest Coriberto (United States)
    • Date of stay 04/06/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    What a relaxing and amazing getaway! The house is large, clean, and filled with all the amenities necessary to have a great escape. Fully stocked with all living supplies and set up to have a nice little party. We used the gas grill for a barbecue, walked the gorgeous rocky beach, had a polar plunge, played games (from the supplied mountain of games), had a dance party, sat back and relaxed...this weekend was full of goodness. And the view! What an amazing view! There's also a telescope to see across the water, a large deck to sit and sightsee (with some areas covered in case it's raining) , and DIRECT beach access. The listing was totally accurate, except that pictures cannot do justice to the true paradise that this place really is. The house was cleaner than a hotel, and way more cozy. It warmed up super quick with a cute little (but powerful) gas fireplace (and the help of individual room heaters) that was fun to snuggle up near. I would undoubtedly recommend this property to friends and relatives, unless they want to go when I book to go back; in that case we'd have to fight for it. This place was great. Note: This place is a little bit isolated. No supermarket too close, but that just adds to the getaway experience. I would recommend bringing enough food for your stay and having multiple feast meals like we did. They have all the kitchen supplies there, plus a grill with tools. Everything has foolproof operating instructions as well. You must go here if you are considering a trip to the island. IT WAS UNDOUBTEDLY EPIC!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Corey, Kristen et all: We are so pleased that our place worked well as retreat for your small group. My hat is off to you for doing the Polar Plunge! Do you think we should highlight that list that as activity? Thanks for the great review, we would welcome your return. FYI for dear review readers who are considering staying at Ranvik Beach House. There a great grocery store relatively close on the south end of Coupeville if you need any goodies. It is 7 miles or about 10 minutes away. Not too far if you forgot something crucial - like the dessert! Regarding the beach, the surface varies depending on the time and recent storm activity. At high tides the beach is covered with rounded pebbles 1/2 - 2" in diameter which are usually 2-4" deep & squooshy under foot. At low tide the beach is a combo of stretches of fine sand and smaller 1/4' to 1" pebbles. Most people find walking on these substrates relatively comfortable Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful,Beautiful,Beautiful

    Beautiful,Beautiful,Beautiful

    • Guest Dorothea H.
    • Date of stay 03/31/13
    • Review Submitted 05/04/13
    Simply Beautiful, Enjoyed Every Minute In This Lovely Home. it Was Well Equipped With Everything You Could Possibly Need.We Loved The Little Towns All Around, Even The Sound Of Freedom In The Evenings. God Willing We Will Get To Come Back Someday. Kim And Thea, From Paradise, The Florida Keys

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Kim & Thea: Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. We especially appreciate it coming from true islanders who live in "Paradise, the Florida Keys"! Ya'll come back anytime. Best regards, Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing beach stay

    Amazing beach stay

    • Guest Brian (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 01/01/13
    • Review Submitted 08/18/13
    This was a perfect beach house on beautiful Whidbey Island! The house was designed by the architect who lived in it and it is classy and has a lot of style. Every room faces the beach. Our family had a great stay sitting in front of the fire, sipping espresso, walking on the beach. Lots of details stand out, the Nordic themes, color scheme, and extra pillows all around. A true find. I highly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Winter Waterfront Wonderful

    Winter Waterfront Wonderful

    • Guest Ilene R.
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 02/18/13
    We rented the Ranvik guesthouse as a place for my husband and I to get some relaxing family time with our three grown daughters and to celebrate some milestone birthdays. Since we've only been married for a year and a half this was the first time we were going away together as a 'complete family.' We couldn't have asked for a better place to hold our family gathering. In a stunning location right on the water the house is very well appointed, private, clean, recently renovated and obviously lovingly cared for by the owners. We walked the beach, took a ferry over the Port Townsend and played at Fort Ebey. Perhaps the highest praise is that we wouldn't hesitate to return. Better get started on planning our summer getaway here before it gets all booked up!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Were honored that that you chose our place for your celebrations and found it met you needs so well. We look forward to your return. Best regards, Dan and Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Elegant beach retreat

    Elegant beach retreat

    • Guest M and J (Bellingham, Washington)
    • Date of stay 12/07/12
    • Review Submitted 12/14/12
    The house has a great common space. Nothing like having the kitchen, cozy chairs, fireplace and dining room table all under the same high ceiling while gazing at the waves and the ferries out the window. We enjoyed our walk on the beach and our jaunt on the ferry. It was very nice to have Pt. Townsend so close. Great shopping. Also highly recommend Christopher’s in Coupeville. (Seafood stew was delish.) The bedrooms felt private but cozy, the kitchen well provisioned and the T.V. room separate enough for our night owls. Best of all was the fire pit out back by the beach. Plenty of bench seating to sip our hot cocoa from while warming our hands by the fire. A great beach get-away.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Michael & Jessica, we're so happy to hear that you two, along with your teenager & her grandmother, enjoyed a great December mini-vacation escape at our beach house. Best regards, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Beach House Getaway!

    Beautiful Beach House Getaway!

    • Guest Bambi (Scottsdale, Arizina)
    • Date of stay 11/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    My husband, teenage daughter and I spent our Thanksgiving holiday at this lovely Whidbey Island beach house. The house has recently been renovated and the owners attended to every detail in creating a warm and welcoming, yet fully equipped home. We had everything we needed to cook our Thanksgiving dinner, then afterwards enjoyed walking it off along the beach! Our stay at our 'home away from home' was quiet and restful. We enjoyed the incredible view of the water and mountains when we weren't reading by the fire or watching a DVD in the movie room. We visited the quaint towns of Coupeville and Langley, hiked along the bluff overlooking Admiral Bay and explored Fort Casey. Now we can't wait to go back! We have stayed at other VRBO homes and enjoyed our vacations in those as well, but I must say that the emails I received from the owners prior to this trip were by far more helpful in providing us information that would make our stay even more enjoyable. These included ideas for restaurants and activities to do nearby, as well as what we could do while relaxing at the beach house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're thankful that your family had a wonderful Thankgivings at Ranvik, that you choose our place for your special time, and for such a complimentary review. Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Getaway perfection

    Getaway perfection

    • Guest jcadcars (Bellingham)
    • Date of stay 11/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/19/12
    This is our 3rd visit and it was just as good as the others. I have been once with just my wife, once with extended family and this time with my wife and two teenagers. Very clean and comfortable. Plenty of room to move about and crazy comfortable beds. The big kitchen area is great for cooking, playing card games and most important enough room for food for my teenagers. Watched the storms come in as well as a bald eagle eat his breakfast 30ft away...you don't see that everyday. We drove a few minutes to town and had an early dinner. Came home and played some card games with the kids. Was able to catch some Sunday NFL football on the big screen as well. Did some beach walking but really just relaxed indoors and watched the weather pass. Much need rest and relax. I can't think of a better place to do this.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks John; glad to hear you and your family had a relaxing time. The gales are lots of fun, especially from the the inside looking out. Warm regards and happy Holidays; Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful anniversary memories

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wonderful anniversary memories

    • Guest Kim from IL
    • Date of stay 11/10/12
    • Review Submitted 01/31/13
    Thanks for allowing us to stay at your beautiful beach house....what a glorious sunset on Saturday! I would recommend your beach house to everyone...our memories of our 40th anniversay will always include Ranvick Beach House. I especially loved the photos of Ranvick, Norway. My maiden name is Peterson and I come from a long line of Norwegians and Swedes!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Fabulous Weekend at the Seashore

    A Fabulous Weekend at the Seashore

    • Guest Betheen (Bellingham)
    • Date of stay 11/02/12
    • Review Submitted 01/29/13
    My family and I stayed at the Ranvik Beach House over a weekend and had the most awesome time!! Cooking in the well-appointed kitchen and using all of the beautiful dishes was a delight and with the ocean view straight ahead of you----it was heaven---in fact, no matter where you are in the house the view of the water is always present from every window. I would wake up in the morning and from my bed I could watch the water--it doesn't get any better than that. The weather was stormy, but that never ruined our time--in fact, it made it more cozy sitting in front of the gas fireplace and spending quiet time reading with the waves crashing just outside. One room had been turned into a media room with a large TV and a well stocked movie selection. Everything has been well thought through, right down to the wonderful soft linens on all the beds and the decor that fits in with being on the water. The house has great class and I could move right in as is, with very little added and I don't find that very often--I love it!!! There are wonderful places to explore that are near the beach house--the quaint towns of Coupeville and Langley are great shopping spots--the antique stores are such fun. The grocery store in Freeland called Payless Food Store had everything you needed and more. We also found that the fish and chips at the Keystone Cafe by the ferry terminal were really good and it's just down the road. As you can tell, I can't say enough about this wonderful place--the view across the water to the Olympic Mountains over the ships and ferries that pass in front of you-- is so peaceful. The owners--Dan and Lisa --are very warm and welcoming and we will definitely be going back again and again--next time with kayak and fishing pole.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Wow, you folks discovered an amazing amount of the great stuff at Ranvik Beach House during your stay! The late fall & winter months can be just as much fun as the summer ones and the rates are so much lower. Thanks for sharing that with us and those who want to know about our place. We would love to have you back anytime. Warm regards, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful home

    Beautiful home

    • Guest Jessica (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/10/12
    • Review Submitted 08/16/12
    Our stay at Ranvik House was phenomenal. The house was sun filled, light and airy. Eating our breakfast outside every morning was a delight. We even got to see a porpoise in front of the house swimming. Lisa and Dan did a spectacular job making the place nice and comfy; we felt like it was our home away from home. Look forward to going back again next year – it was a wonderful experience and we loved every minute of it.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad to hear that you share our opinion about how phenomenal a place this is. We look forward to having you back next year. Our 1st year of renting has been phenomenal also. We encourage you to book early next year. Best wishes, Dan Hall

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fabulous

    • Guest Jane, Utah
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    One word----FABULOUS!!!!!!! Thank you so much for all the amenities and the wonderful nice touches. We are enjoying the view with margaritas and looking forward to every minute. We would love to know what the place looked like before you did such a fabulous job remodeling if you have any pictures. Thank you, thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Summer on Whidbey Island 2012

    Summer on Whidbey Island 2012

    • Guest J&T (Mukilteo, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/22/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    "What a Great House! So beautiful and relaxing!! We loved it!!! Coupeville offered wonderful eating and atmosphere at Front Street Grill, Christopher's, Oystercatcher, etc. Did exertions to Whidbey Island Winery, Deception Pass for hiking, Fort Casey, ferried over for lunch to Port Townsend, and loved our relaxation at the Ranvik Beach House every day. We had nice beach front/backyard fire pit evenings. Beautiful sunsets and moon skyscapes. Even experienced a naval fighter pilot flyover exercise in Admiralty Bay during our stay! "

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jon; sounds like you managed to hit all the highlights of our little piece of paradise during your week here. We're glad you had a great time and were able to relax. Thanks for renting, we hope to see you next time you need a get-a-way from your demanding job. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Warm regards, Dan and Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had fun!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had fun!

    • Guest Carol, Phoenix
    • Date of stay 07/17/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    Hi Lisa, We had fun! Nice, relaxing. Saw jellyfish, two bald eagles, deer......in fact I was walking the beach one morning and was surprised to be walking right next to a deer going the same way.......she was surprised too....lol! There were seals, fish jumping out of the water (not sure what kind.) We visited Ft. Casey and the lighthouse, Coupeville, Oak Harbor and the Museum of Flight. Saw the jets practicing....a couple of days. Once during the day and once in the evening. Landing gear down practicing take off and landings. Like my son said, that's the sound of freedom. The beach house was beautiful....everything we needed. I washed some towels and left them on the dryer folded. There was a spill in in the oven and cleaned it the best we could before we left. We left at 5:00am because our flight was an early one.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautifully situated and detailed beach home on Whidbey!

    Beautifully situated and detailed beach home on Whidbey!

    • Guest Pickering (Shelton, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/10/12
    • Review Submitted 07/12/12
    Our cousins invited us to stay with them for two nights in your vacation home July 10 & 11. We were so impressed with the details, the welcoming touches, the clean lines and comfortable furniture. Loved the fire pit design although we didn't have time to have a fire. The colors and art work are outstanding. We found it very comfortable and it felt like 'home'. My husband and I recently build a retirement home and also build a loft house above the garage in the South Sound. We are about ready to advertise the Loft House as a VRBO or rental by word of mouth. Your home gave me so many ideas to finish the decorating I've already done! I'd love to ask you specifics about many features like where you got your sheets (oh my, the bed was SO comfortable) and how you handle cleaning and how you advertise. I may have to have my cousin put me in touch with you! Thank-you - I will recommend your home to others definitely!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Goodness Gracious, what wonderful feedback. Imitation is said the be the sincerest form of flattery & we consider it the best compliment; thank you so much! We are glad you felt at home in our home. Lisa will be happy to answer your questions & will contact you through your cousin. Best wishes, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Eau Claire childhood fishing buddy

    Eau Claire childhood fishing buddy

    • Guest EauClairefishingbuddy (Richland, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/06/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    We felt like we were living in a magazine article as this property is so wonderful. The home is immaculate, including the house itself and all of its furnishings. It is beautifully decorated and includes easy access to a coffee machine, lotions, etc. The view of Puget Sound is spectacular and can be enjoyed from the the dining table on the deck, the firepit, the lounge chairs, or from the living room and dining room. There is fishing right in front of the house which my husband enjoyed. I don't remember feeling so close to heaven as I did on this property. We enjoyed bike riding and there is a fairly flat 7-mile route leaving from the house. We enjoyed lunch and shopping in Coupeville, an easy distance away. We brought food with us and enjoyed cooking and eating on the property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Pat & Rich: What wonderful complements. We are so glad that you found your stay to be heavenly. Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • World Class! Perfect in every way!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    World Class! Perfect in every way!

    • Guest Donna; Illinois
    • Date of stay 07/05/12
    • Review Submitted 10/30/12
    Hi Lisa, We just wanted to tell you what a absolutely wonderful home you have! We have stayed in may resorts and homes around the world and this was just perfect in every way. I have been told that I am a little like the "Princess and the Pea"...very fussy. Everything was perfect. All the attention to detail did not go unnoticed: the view,the colors,the decor, the linens, the utensils all were high end. My husband is a hard one to crack and even he was blown away. Our nephew had so much fun watching the Air force fly by training. The walks along the beach and the cooler weather was just what we all needed to come back refreshed and ready for life again. So again thank you for sharing your home with us. We will be back in two years and hopefully you will allow us the pleasure again.!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfection

    Perfection

    • Guest Shakey (Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 06/30/12
    This beach house was perfect for our family of grandparents a single son and another son and his three small children. We spent lots of time on the beach, had a wiener roast in the firepit and a BBQ another night. The rooms are spacious, especially the great room so when it rains the children have enough space to play and the kitchen is very well equipped. Groceries are not too far away and we had a lunch in Coupeville one day.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: We are pleased that you and your extended family found that all your needs perfectly met at our beach house. It is a wonderful place for multi generation families. Thanks for your review. Best wishes, Dan & Lisa Hall

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful, Restful, Wonderful!

    Delightful, Restful, Wonderful!

    • Guest Ruth (Lynden, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 06/18/12
    Our weekend at Ranvik Beach House on Whidbey Island was everything we could have hoped for and more. The owners are prompt and careful in their explanations. The property is absolutely incredible - its view; its serenity; its peaceful atmosphere; its decor... is just fabulous. The house is immaculate. The bedding and sheets are the most comfortable I've slept in outside my own bed! We would recommend this property to friends, relatives, ANYONE!! It was an exquisite weekend. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Ruth: We are so glad our beach house met & exceeded your hopes. Thank you for permission to share what you told us in your private email to us regarding your stay: You said: "We had a fabulous time!!! Absolutely fabulous. Thank you ever so much for the gift of your home. It was so restful and so so beautiful. Everything about the home was more than we could have hoped for or expected. Like the finest luxury hotel but nicer!! Our sister cried when we arrived. The Lord gave her such a quiet, peaceful sleep and filled her heart with renewed hope. The lady who has been living with us was also refreshed by the beauty and vastness of beauty. We have been running hard and fast with work so it was a deeply needed rejuvenation for us as well. The kids (our two nieces and son) ran on the beach and laughed and enjoyed a fire in the firepit. They roasted marshmallows and ate tons of food while Brent and I barbqued for them and cooked lavish meals in your well appointed kitchen. I LOVED every speck of your home! Thank you for your kind kind gift to our family. Bless you!! " Ruth: Your words bring joy to our hearts as that is precisely how we hope our home will refresh all who stay there. Thanks for sharing that with us. Sincere best wishes, Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Whidbey Island Gem

    Whidbey Island Gem

    • Guest Kim Cover (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    Having been invited by friends for a weekend get-away, our trip began with a beautiful scenic drive and ferry ride. To arrive and be greeted with a space washed in sunlight and warm cozy furnishings was a perfert start to a perfect weekend get-away. Enjoying the sunsets around the fire pit all the while watching boats travel through the bay, left us with not a care in the world but one...a weekend is far too short of a stay for this gem.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We understand. A weekend get-away is great, but it often feels just a bit too short. But it sure beats staying in the city! Thanks for the such a nice review. Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beyond our expectations!

    Beyond our expectations!

    • Guest Youth Group Gals (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/08/12
    This house is perfect! Beautifully furnished. Clean and WELL STOCKED! Instructions are clear and allow for access to every amenity you could want. Location is stunning! Walk out the back door and look in either direction at miles of peaceful beach front. Great for walking and good for the soul! When can we go back?

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Sherry, were pleased to hear that our place worked well for you and the middle school gradutates. Thanks for leaving the place spotless, you're welcome back anytime! Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beyond Wonderful!

    Beyond Wonderful!

    • Guest Danielle (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    Our stay at Ranvik house was amazing! We came for relaxation and fun with friends and got everything we wanted and more! The home is first class with a beautiful view and all the ammenities a guest could want including a well-stocked cofffee bar. We walked for miles on the beach right outside the back door and watch the ferry and sunset from the deck and fire ring. I highly recommend this home to anyone looking for a get-away on a perfect peice of land in Washington state.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Pacific Northwest Beach House

    Perfect Pacific Northwest Beach House

    • Guest Heidi (East Lansing, MI)
    • Date of stay 05/24/12
    • Review Submitted 06/29/12
    We spent a wonderful Memorial Day weekend at the Ranvik Beach House with two other couples. We chose the house after an extensive search in the Pacific Northwest for a place that was spacious, unique, and in a peaceful natural setting. Ranvik exceeded our expectations. Outside, the water and mountain views are stunning - the beach, deck, and firepit make the outdoor space a very enjoyable place to spend afternoons and evenings. The house is situated at the end of a residential area, so in one direction, the beach goes along a very beautiful natural area that provides for great long walks. Inside, the house is not only comfortable, but also nicely decorated and outfitted with all of the amenities you'd need. All three bedrooms are a good-size, which make it very for three couples to stay together at this house. Lisa and Dan are incredibly nice people who do everything they can to make sure their guests are happy. We so enjoyed our time at the Ranvik Beach House and hope to return sometime in the near future.

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind words and are glad to know that our attention to guest's needs are noticed and appreciated. Come back soon to escape the weather extremes of the Midwest states. Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First visit to Whidbey and this welcoming beach house.

    First visit to Whidbey and this welcoming beach house.

    • Guest Diane (United States)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/09/12
    The weather was crisp and clear but the large outdoor fire pit allowed us to be outside and enjoy ourselves. This house sits on a beach that offer views, ship watching, wildlife watching as well as beach-combing. We loved looking for beach glass. The inside was warm, light, and beautiful. THANK YOU so much for creating such a wonderful retreat. We enjoyed our time there and hope to return when time allows.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Diane. As you discovered, that big firepit with its wide open view of Admiralty Inlet & the mountains is special It is such a great place to relax in the evening and enjoy the every changing twilight scenery. Were glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back any time. Dan and Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing, restorative, reflective, remarkable.

    Relaxing, restorative, reflective, remarkable.

    • Guest Leona (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 05/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/04/12
    This "beach house" is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The view is incredible, and one's soul can only be restored by spending time looking out over the water, watching the gulls dive and eagles soar, observing the ship traffic, and experiencing the sunset. The home is perfectly decorated in coastal cottage themes. It has just the right amount of elegance to make you feel pampered, and just the right amount of coziness to make you feel comfortable. The location is ideal, the home is spacious, the view is remarkable and the owners go above and beyond to make one's stay exceed expectations. I heartily recommend this Scandinavian themed getaway to anyone wanting to relax, restore and reflect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your sharing your asute observations & kind compliments. We are so glad that you found your stay restorative. We pray that all continues to go well with you even as your soul is getting along well! Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stressbuster

    Stressbuster

    • Guest Tony (Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/23/12
    • Review Submitted 05/22/12
    If you need a break from life and want to sit on a beach (pebble) or the patio overlooking the ocean and just relax, this place is absolutely perfect. It's a wonderful house; clean and beautifully designed/furnished, and in a beautiful spot with views across Puget Sound to the Olympic Peninsula. This is a great find, and one of those places you'll probably want to come back to again and again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Five Stars - I didn't want to go home!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Five Stars - I didn't want to go home!

    • Guest C Artman - Tacoma WA
    • Date of stay 03/23/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    This place made me not want to go home... the house is wonderful, everything well thought out & provided; the views are magical. We'll be staying again later in the year & have discussed making this annual holiday in Mar. Lisa was easy to work with & kept in contact before & after our stay making sure all went well. My long standing policy is to not write reviews of a gem as I don't want to let the secret out. I ask renters to respect this place & its owner so we all can enjoy it in the future

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing time

    Amazing time

    • Guest Shag (Bellingham)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/20/12
    We had a most amaing time. We relaxed like we never had before. The house is absolutly beautifull. What a treat to enjoy the beauty of the bay and the Olympic mountains. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you so much from the both of us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Philip: It is wonderful you two relaxed as never before. We're glad to hear that, afterall isn't that what vacations are for? Thanks for the great report Dan & Lisa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next