Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Association pool from your second floor balcony.

Spring & Summer Big Discounts, Great Reviews, Perfect Key West Condo [#406936] | View Property

Truman Annex
Condo/Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 4-5).
$1,750 - $2,751/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Best in Key West

    Best in Key West

    • Guest Shelly B. (-)
    • Date of stay 04/05/14
    • Review Submitted 04/15/14
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful vacation home. Extremely clean and spacious with lots of fun details. The wall of attraction plaques was creative and informative. Perfect location. Walked everywhere. Friendly neighbors, too. This was our forth time on key west and it was the best. Thanks, Ward!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are grateful for another 5 Star Review. We keep Flip Flop festive with the wall decorations and keep it white glove clean. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect: Downtown with a pool!

    Perfect: Downtown with a pool!

    • Guest Kathy W.
    • Date of stay 01/25/14
    • Review Submitted 04/07/14
    This was our third trip to Key West and our first in a Truman Annex condo. No more hotels for us: We enjoyed having a kitchen, a grill, open areas of our own, two and a half baths, indoor or outdoor dining, adjacent pool, parking spot close by and it cost a lot less than our hotel with the surprise "extra expenses". It was just like home! We enjoyed sitting out on the back porch to have all of our meals. This is a perfect spot for peace and quiet, but close enough to walk to all restaurants and entertainment.

    Owner response: Thank you for this 5 Star Review! Our location is perfect for access to everything Key West has to offer as well as a quiet environment at the pool and patio. We have it all and our guests appreciate the care we take to maintain Flip Flop Retreat in mint condition.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Accomodations

    Excellent Accomodations

    • Guest Rick M. (Baldwinville, MA)
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/29/14
    This was our our second trip to Key West and our first stay at Flip Flop with our family of 4. The facility was excellent. The condo was with in a very short walk to Duval Street, close enough get there, yet far enough that you feel as if you were away from the mainstream. We were so thrilled with the Flip Flop that we have booked it again for this fall. Even though this will only be our second stay at Flip Flop, we feel we have found our home away from home and look forward to many more visits. The amenities were impeccable. from a homey interior feel to the private rear deck facility with immediate access to the swimming pool. We can't wait to return.

    Owner response: Our repeat guests say it all by re-booking. We frequently return to Flip Flop to keep it perfect and it is quite a pleasure to meet our guests. We feel like they are our extended family and we trust our future retirement home to them. We are most grateful that everyone takes care of our condo as if it was theirs. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Superior condo, we will book for next year!

    Superior condo, we will book for next year!

    • Guest Mary T.
    • Date of stay 10/11/13
    • Review Submitted 03/27/14
    Flip Flop Retreat was as good as the video shows: clean, neat, nicely decorated, excellent entertainment in all rooms as well as the perfect outdoor setting. From the second floor balcony we enjoyed the sun rising over the pool with our cup of coffee. Best yet, with the afternoon sun on the other side of the condo, we were pleasantly cool on the balcony and for back porch cocktails and dinner. Ward, the owner, did a great job preparing us for our trip- a super personal touch. Flip Flop deserves a 5 Star!

    Owner response: Thank you for this nice Review! The balcony is also our favorite spot in the morning for coffee and also after our afternoon swim. We are always interested in making our guests as comfortable as possible and have a comprehensive Welcome Book for guests that makes our condo distinctive.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • As Good As It Gets In Key West

    As Good As It Gets In Key West

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    We had a great weeks stay in Key West at Flip Flop. We were lucky to find this rental on short notice when the property we had booked was sold and the new owners didn't want to rent. The location is perfect in Truman Annex a short walk to all the best activities Key West has to offer. The town home has everything you need. The gas grill came in handy and the pool just outside the back gate was a big plus for us. (A lot of the units in Truman are not right next to the shared pool.) We really felt like this was a home away from home.

    Owner response: Thank you! Flip Flop Retreat will be our home as well as our current home away from home. We strive to make our guests feel at home during their stay. Our frequent working vacations to Key West make sure it is in mint condition.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Property

    Wonderful Property

    • Guest Mike B. (Northern Ohio)
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 08/18/13
    We stayed during a hot/humid week off season. And we loved it. The location is perfect..when we become uncomfortable we were only a few minutes from the condo and once at the condo only 30 seconds from the pool. This was one of the few places we have stayed where the photos underestimated the place. No photo tricks here. Instructions were very clear. No surprises here. Highly recommend and will definitely stay here again if in Key West.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are thrilled with another great review and are pleased we have a place that guests like to return to. It is true that the pictures and video show FlipFlop exactly the way they would see it when they open the front door. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • If you picture a classic Key West spot- this is it

    If you picture a classic Key West spot- this is it

    • Guest Jennie S.
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    If you close your eyes to envision a classic Key West spot, Flip Flop may be it. We stayed here with my husband, 7 year-old, toddler, and my mom for my brother's wedding. This was our first visit to Key West and Flip Flop could not have been more ideal. Ward helped make this an enjoyable an seamless process, beginning with our early communication, prompt emails, helpful pre-stay suggestions and coordination with the management company. Truman Annex is a calm little oasis that's extremely convenient to everything. The assigned parking spot was great, but our car didn't leave the spot all week! We had plenty of nearby restaurants, bars, shops, and places to explore. Although it was just two blocks from Duval Street it could seem like its own little world- especially with the fabulous pool just out the back gate of the home. Each courtyard area in Truman Annex had its own pool, so this one was never crowded. The home was extremely clean, well cared for, well provisioned and decorated with lots of Key West flair. Everything we needed was supplied- from all of the kitchen tools we could need to pool towels (and even a great selection of vacation reading). We loved the secluded and shaded lanai and the upper balcony was a nice spot for sunbathing. We also appreciated having two full baths upstairs and a half bath downstairs, which is apparently a rarity among the townhomes. A few restaurants/bars we liked included Michael's (formal spot but nice casual attire), Pier House (the site of the wedding, gorgeous sunset), Kelly's (lovely patio dinner), and the Green Parrot for drinks and live music (barely a block away!). I bought a great piece of pottery at Rubies and Clay, a gallery very nearby, and loved everything in there and appreciated being able to speak to the arist and see the studio and works in progress. We had a fabulous time and hope to get back to Key West again someday. If we do, we would feel fortunate to be able to stay at Flip Flop again.

    Owner response: Such a great Review, Thank you! Keeping in contact with our guests makes for a more enjoyable vacation and brings back our repeat friends. We go to FlipFlop often to keep it shipshape for us and our guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • A Wonderful Month at FlipFlop

    A Wonderful Month at FlipFlop

    • Guest Mary T.
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/05/13
    I have often vacationed in Truman Annex and last year met new friends at the pool who were staying at FlipFlop Retreat. After a tour we called the owner and quickly booked for February! It was a wonderful month and we have already re-booked for 2014. The condo is clean, well decorated, has all the entertainment we could need, and the pool is still the focal point. From our quiet neighborhood we were close enough to walk to all the fun on the dock and sunsets at Mallory Square. The extra half bath on the first floor is convenient when we return from the beach or pool. We enjoyed grilling and eating outside under the balcony and the reserved parking spot is close to the front door. The owner sent us guidance to help prepare for the trip and was available for any question we had during our stay. We are looking forward to 2014 for another great winter in Key West at FlipFlop. Mary T Newport News

    Owner response: We are most appreciative of these wonderful Five Star Reviews and welcome repeat bookings. We endeavor to make our guests welcome and enjoy FlipFlop whether it is for a week or a month. Thank You!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous Stay!

    Fabulous Stay!

    • Guest Sharon (Salisbury, MD)
    • Date of stay 01/04/13
    • Review Submitted 01/23/13
    Just got back from a fabulous stay at FlipFlop Retreat! We loved the house and location. Very centrally located to Duval Street and one our favorite restaurants, Blue Heaven. Everything was just perfect. Many thanks to the owner for sending an email prior to us leaving. All of your "hints" and directions were extremely helpful. (I don't think we would have found the switch among the plagues if he hadn't mentioned it!) I was especially pleased with how well the property was maintained and how clean it was. It was also a pleasure dealing with the management group at Truman Annex. They even let us use their computer and printer to print our boarding passes. I can not say enough good things about our experience, and will definitely inquire about using FlipFlop Retreat again, if it is available.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Truman Annex and President's Lane are the best Key West locations. And FlipFlop Retreat is perfectly situated to enjoy nearby sports and entertainment. Our guests send great reviews because we keep it in TipTop shape and listen to them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Repeat Visitor for a Great Escape!

    Repeat Visitor for a Great Escape!

    • Guest Happy Traveler (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 12/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    We returned to FlipFlop Retreat for another wonderful vacation. This time it was over Christmas and we enjoyed the festive Holiday atmosphere in Key West. All the neighbors at the pool are friendly and the pool is well maintained with lots of chaise lounges and chairs. FlipFlop is close enough to Duval Street for us to enjoy everything in Old Town with an easy walk. We found the condo in excellent condition and everything we needed we found in the house. We like to grill and all the utensils and platters are there to make a grand cookout. The nice deck and pavers on the patio make a nice setting for breakfasts and evenings, The comfortable beds and furnishings made us feel at home. We had plenty of room for two couples and especially liked the downstairs half bath. Definitely a 5 Star Vacation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you! Happy Traveler says all the reasons we enjoy spending time in Key West and will retire there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Very Pleased with Flip Flop Retreat

    Very Pleased with Flip Flop Retreat

    • Guest Sarah H.
    • Date of stay 10/28/12
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    We were a bit late in booking a rental for a busy weekend on the island and we were lucky to find the Flip Flop Retreat at that late date. Ward was more than helpful and informative, not to mention, he was very timely with his responses, making me that much more comfortable going into the process. The house is just as the posting describes it, bright, clean and well-stocked. I was most pleased with the outdoor patio and balcony off the master; you have a nice view of the pool but the fence and greenery provide privacy... it was the perfect island getaway. As far as location goes, Truman Annex is a nice quiet neighborhood but this unit is within easy walking distance of the hustle and bustle of Duval. I'd definitely stay at the Flip Flop Retreat again.

    Owner response: Thank you for this wonderful Review. I just returned from my monthly tune up to make sure FlipFlop is perfect for Guests. When I get an inquiry I respond as quickly as possible and maintain that throughout a guests visit. With my pre check in email, guests should have a smooth arrival and check in. I try to make FlipFlop good enough for anyone in my family- all the time. Ward

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • FLIP FLOP RETREAT WAS A REAL "TREAT" !

    FLIP FLOP RETREAT WAS A REAL "TREAT" !

    • Guest Bill & Maria (Annapolis, MD)
    • Date of stay 09/24/12
    • Review Submitted 10/16/12
    We've been to Key West before and wanted a quiet low key place to stay; but one that was within walking distance of downtown nightlife, good restaurants, and ploints of interest. Flip Flop Retreat filled the bill across the board. The unit we rented was spotless and had everything we needed. It was private with a well screened back yard which was just steps from the Pool; a nice deck off the master suite on the second floor; and an open floor plan on the first level with kitchen, dining area, and lounge area arranged neatly and comfortably. We would highly recommend this unit for one or two couples; or a family.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Another Five Star Review speaks volumes about the long or short stay of guests who have enjoyed FlipFlop Retreat. We are now re-booking friends for return vacations. Thank You!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Property!

    Fantastic Property!

    • Guest Bea (Charleston, WV / USA)
    • Date of stay 09/08/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    Four of us stayed at the Flip Flop for a week and we had a ball. The townhouse is excellent and looked just like the photos. It is very well appointed, very clean and comfortable with plenty of room for the four of us. We spent a lot of time on the back patio and since the pool is right out the back gate, it is really easy to take a quick swim. The location is so convenient that we mostly walked to dinner, excursions and shopping. The Little Truman White House is just down the street. Also, unlike a lot of places, there is an assigned parking space making it a whole lot easier to come and go when you want to drive, without having to look for parking. We loved it and highly recommend it. Thanks for a great week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. These comments reflect why we keep coming back so often during the year. Each seaon, really each week, has a unique flavor. The continuing good news is that there is substantial air service from most airline hubs and Air Tran/Southwest has made the cost of air travel competitive. Ward   Sent from my iPad

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • beautiful townhouse

    beautiful townhouse

    • Guest Kim (Knoxville, TN)
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 08/09/12
    we loved staying at flip flop retreat. was absolutely gorgeous. the unit was very convenient to duval street and malary square. we also enjoyed being so close to the pool -right outside the back door. we would definitely go again. the decor was bright and cheerful with several key west iconic locations.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you! Nearby Fort Zachary Taylor National Park and beach is a must visit for us and then we head for the pool to end a great day. We like staying in touch with our guests to learn their favorite restaurants. See you next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay at Flip Flop Retreat

    Great stay at Flip Flop Retreat

    • Guest Austin (Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    We had a very enjoyable family retreat at the Flip Flop. Found it to be very well-located and close to many attractions in the Old Town area. Toured the Southern White House, enjoyed drinks and fabulous dinners at several of the restaurants featured in the montage signs that decorate the townhouse walls. We enjoyed being able to cook out, hang out by the pool, when we were not out fishing, snorkeling or visiting the surrouding area. The property is well-maintained and was spotless.We especially enjoyed brunch at Little Palm Island, at Mile Marker 28.5.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It sounds as if you found all the things we enjoy in Key West. There is so much to do and it is all quite close to FlipFlop Retreat. Or if you want to chill out at 566 Porter Lane, relax and read a book or enjoy the entertainment system and then cook out on the grill- that is also a good plan. We hope to see you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Atlanta, Ga

    Atlanta, Ga

    • Guest Ann (Atlanta GA)
    • Date of stay 06/02/12
    • Review Submitted 06/18/12
    The pictures do not do this place justice. It was perfect, the location to everything especially Duvall st, Mallory square and the beach. The pool was right outside the back door which was awesome. We used the grill numerous times and the kitchen was very well stocked. When we go back to key west we would definitely check this place out again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. It sounds as if you enjoyed the same things we do when we’re in Key West. We’d love to have you return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Flip Flop is the place to stay when wanting to see Key West and not drive. Plan to Enjoy....

    The Flip Flop is the place to stay when wanting to see Key West and not drive. Plan to Enjoy....

    • Guest Tim (Palm Island FL)
    • Date of stay 04/13/12
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    We really enjoyed the Truman Annex. It was close to all of down town Key West. The place was everything we had hoped for. It was close to all of the craziness but once you left Whitehead St. it was like another world. We will be visiting this place again. The wall of the unit says it all. It has plaques of most of the places to see in Key West. The artwork is from the local artist's. The pool was directly behind the unit. Lou and I were speaking tonight and we said it seemed like we could live there. We will be back again.....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, and we will keep Flip Flop Retreat in tip top shape for your return. It is just right for a long weekend or the whole winter- after all we plan to retire there in a few years. The plaques on the wall reflect the unique character of Key West - the numerous photographs of local iconic spots were taken by the owner.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Outstanding

    Outstanding

    • Guest Gotta have fun (Annapolis, MD)
    • Date of stay 02/07/12
    • Review Submitted 03/26/12
    We stayed at Flip Flop Retreat in Truman Annex for five weeks and enjoyed every minute. The town home was clean, well appointed and maintained with everything we needed for our extended stay. Several of our children, now adults, joined us and the town home was comfortable for us all. Key West has great restaurants, within walking distance, but on several occasions we chose to eat in with excellent results. All the cooking gear we needed was available including the Weber grill for cookouts on the patio. We have vacationed in Key West many times and chose this Porter Lane location for the convenience to entertainment, festivities and the nearby beaches. The pool is close by and an important asset, to cool off with the friendly neighbors, and to share experiences and local information. It was a great stay and we plan to come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Happy you enjoyed your long stay on President's Lane. We have linens, towels, and all the kitchen necessities for any length visit. Good point about the pleasant neighbors who have the latest restaurant and entertainment information while lounging at the pool.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Flip Flop

    Flip Flop

    • Guest BB (Toledo, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 12/30/11
    • Review Submitted 03/30/12
    We have stayed in Flip-Flop Retreat multiple times. Everything about it is fantastatic! Location, proximity to the pool and Duval Street, Nearby grocery store, restaurants and bars. The unit itself is sensational. Downstairs kitchen and dining area, complete with cooking and dining necessities. Large flat screen tv downstairs on the built in bookshelves. Backyard is completely private and yet next to the pool. The two upstairs bedrooms are beautifully decorated and have bathrooms en suite. Large balcony off the master bedroom. Each bedroom has a flat screen tv. A perfect property with perfect location for a perfect key west vacation!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Return Guests are so important. This review says it all, thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]