Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
A brand-new fully-outfitted kitchen

On a Deep Water Canal with Open Water Views! - a Gift from the Sea [#407393ha] | View Property

Big Pine Key
A Charming 2/2 on a canal with Open Water Views - Calming and Comfortable
$1,300 - $1,500/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (41)

Sort by:
  • Nancy & Dave - Pensacola

    Nancy & Dave - Pensacola

    • Guest dave (pensacola fl)
    • Date of stay 11/05/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    This is our third visit, and we plan to return as many times as possible. The location is perfect for us. Beautiful views from from the breakfast table and the kitchen, gorgeous sunsets, bright bougainvillea in front of well maintained homes on Independence Ave. WiFi is receivable in the entire house, and flat screen TV with multiple channels in living room and bedroom. The residence provides all the essentials for a homelike place to return to after a day of enjoyment in the lower keys.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hey Nancy and Dave, Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. Safe travels home and we do hope to have you share A Gift from the Sea - Big Pine Key many times in the future. All the Best, Lynne and Alan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely loved it!

    Absolutely loved it!

    • Guest Judy P.
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    Absolutely loved everything about it! The house was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The overall location was perfect for everything we wanted to do. Fishing, lobstering and boating. The location was close and convenient for shopping, dining , lots of dive shops, grocery stores and anything else you might need. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone who wants a nice and relaxing vacation. All the conveniences of home. And the owners was always so helpful and nice. Thanks! Alan and Lynne! You will definitely be hearing from us again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just perfect

    Just perfect

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    Beautiful setting, second lot in from the bay. House was absolutely spotless and every comfort was fulfilled. These owners have done it up right, providing all the essentials and details to make for a cushy stay. We live close to the Keys and stay there often. This was by far a top rating!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean, Comfortable - Wonderful!

    Clean, Comfortable - Wonderful!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    The 'Gift from the Sea' home is so clean, and we had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. I felt like we were staying with friends, but my husband felt like he was at home. You can't ask for more than that! It was quiet and peaceful, and so convenient to snorkeling and shops and we loved having a swim right in the back canal. We would recommend this house to our friends, and of course to ourselves for our next stay in the Keys. The only down side to mention is that there is very little shade in the yard, but that didn't stop us from hanging out under the palm tree and reading a book, and taking a nap.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful, Clean Home!

    Wonderful, Clean Home!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/06/13
    This home was perfect for our vacation! We wanted to relax and enjoy the warmth and sunshine after a long New England winter. The home is off the main road so it is quiet, and there is a canal in the back which is perfect for swimming. If you want a relaxing vacation, I highly recommend Big Pine Key. But, if you want a little more action, Key West is only 30mins south. So, you get the best of both. There is also a lot of outdoor activities to do - we went on a snorkeling tour and swam with dolphins - both are highly recommended! At dusk, the key deer come out. They are endangered, so if you travel here, watch out for these guys. The pictures on the website are true to what is actually there - the home was very clean, well equip, and well maintained. It was very spacious for 2 people. Although, I believe that if we were 6, we still would have been comfortable. The owners, Alan and Lynne, were wonderful to work with. Any questions or concerns we had were answered right away. There were also "directions" posted in the home for various things such as which switch went to which light or to remind guests when to take out garbage - this is a small detail that is very helpful when you are in someone else's home. I would highly recommend staying a week in the Gift from the Sea!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We'd love to come back!

    We'd love to come back!

    • Guest Norbert V.
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    We are a family from Germany (parents and two boys aged 17 and 15) and rented the vacation home for a week in April 2012. The Gift from the Sea lived up to what was promised in the ad. The canal is great. While we were sitting and having a late breakfast the one or other boat passed by and friendly neighbors waved to greet. We could watch the sunsets right from the backyard. The house is spacious and it is equipped with everything you can think of, we didn't miss anything at all. We could sit on the screened porch reading books and having cool drinks. Big Pine Key and The Gift from the sea were just the right place to slow down and relax after we had spent one week in busy and noisy NYC (which is a phantastic city nevertheless). On Big Pine Key we didn't use an alarm clock (except for the day of our departure) ... I think this says it all. In the house there is a ring-binder holding lots of information on where to go and what to do. We liked going to Bahia Honda State Park and the Dolphin Research Center (on Grassy Key). Key West is only 30 miles away and Strike Zone Charters (viewing and snorkeling tours) is just down the road. Lynne and Alan have been very helpful and caring. They gave us a call the day after our arrival to make sure everything is fine. Well, it was. The financial matters were handled in an absolute correct way. “Five stars“ for our hosts and the place itself!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place, Great time, Great owners

    Great place, Great time, Great owners

    • Guest Conrad C.
    • Date of stay 10/31/11
    • Review Submitted 11/24/11
    Occasionally in life you get more than you bargain for. And on rare occasion, that happens in a good way. That’s the case with A Gift From The Sea. From the very beginning I had a good feeling about dealing with Alan and Lynne, the owners. With their advice, guidance, and inside information, we got much more than short term landlords. The entire time was like dealing with old friends. They are very organized and easy to please. And, someone had lots of fun decorating the house. The house is fully equipped. Linens are very plush. The kitchen has more utensils to work with than I expected. The couch is too comfortable. It didn’t want to let me go. We really cannot think of anything that was missing from this wonderful home. We absolutely loved sitting out back on the porch and by the canal both day and night stargazing, or just taking in the cool breezes. A Gift From The Sea is located directly across the channel from Little Torch Key. That puts it close enough to everything we wanted to do but far enough from the tourist centers to be quiet and relaxing. It is 5 minutes from Bahia Honda and about 40 minutes from Key West. While there, we visited several area restaurants. Of special note were Square Grouper on Cudjoe Key. The food was excellent if a bit pricey. Also, Shirley’s about a mile away, a few doors down from the Winn Dixie, has great frozen pudding and friendly folks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Sad to Leave

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Sad to Leave

    • Guest Conrad Clark
    • Date of stay 10/30/11
    • Review Submitted 11/18/11
    A thank you to Lynne and Alan for a magnificent and eventful week. Nice job on the home – all that we needed, except more time. I’m sad to leave. Sitting and eating at the little table on the porch was a definite favorite.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Cozy and Filled with Everything we Neede

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Cozy and Filled with Everything we Neede

    • Guest Bernie Wurtzbacher
    • Date of stay 10/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/18/11
    Favorite Moments - Watching Bernie catch a sailfish. Meeting and feeding a visiting egret we named “Artie.” He visited everyday. We had a wonderful vacation at A Gift from the Sea was everything and more. So cozy and filled with everything we might need. Quiet neighborhood. Beautiful sunsets. Spending quiet loving time together was the best part of our vacaton. Our everyday life can be so stressed. This is exactly what we needed!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Loved our Stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Loved our Stay

    • Guest Katie Hanson
    • Date of stay 10/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/18/11
    Loved our stay in your home. It is conveniently located for shopping and site seeing. We just returned from a trip to the Dry Tortugas – Fabulous trip and a great way to end our vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Bombing into Crystal Clear Waters

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Bombing into Crystal Clear Waters

    • Guest Sheena and Ian Barnes
    • Date of stay 08/14/11
    • Review Submitted 11/18/11
    I really enjoyed our stay at A Gift from the Sea on Big Pine Key. The home is perfect with everything you could possibly want. It is also a great location. The sofa is a great place to chill and watch football (the correct way of saying soccer!!) Thank you for providing a great place for us to stay. Had a fantastic time here in Big Pine Key. A great place to relax and catch some rays! Lovely and hot everyday and some spectacular lightening shows at night. The ribs at Big Pine Rastaurant were incredible. We also had some lovely meals in the new grill like burgers and sausages. No fish though. My favorite was bombing into the crystal clear canal! Great place to unwind and lots of books in this great little house. Wish I could transport it to the UK along with the weather.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Twenty Years of Lobster Season

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Twenty Years of Lobster Season

    • Guest Hugh and Betty Winn
    • Date of stay 07/12/11
    • Review Submitted 11/18/11
    It (A Gift from the Sea) is a delightful place to stay. One of the nicest accomodations in over 20 years of coming to the Florida Keys for lobster season.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mid-July visit

    Mid-July visit

    • Guest Gary W.
    • Date of stay 07/12/11
    • Review Submitted 07/26/11
    My family and I stayed at A Gift From the Sea in mid July and had a wonderful time. The home was "as advertised", which is always a relief when renting sight unseen. The home was clean and well appointed for a vacationing family. We rented a boat for the week. The home is perfectly located for boating with easy access from the protected canal to great fishing and snorkeling in the ocean. Joe of Keysboats.com spent several hours with us, showing us some great fishing/snorkeling spots as well as local hazards to beware of while boating in the area. We spent the majority of our day fishing, snorkeling, exploring the keys, and just anchoring in the shallows and cooling off in the clear Keys water. Key West is close enough that we went there on two evenings for dinner and shopping. We also saw lots of Key deer roaming the neighborhood in the evenings. Overall it was great home in a wonderful location!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • An absolutely amazing house!

    An absolutely amazing house!

    • Guest Beth (Jacksonville, FLorida)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/14/11
    My husband, 9 year old and 8 month old stayed here, as well as two other adult friends. We found the house to be extremely clean, fully furnished and well stocked with any and everything. The has made us feel at home and very comfortable. We loved staying there so much that we stayed an extra night. We had no problem getting in touch with the owners, they were very attentive to our needs. The location of the house is close to a grocery store, bank, a few restuarants, not far from some of the big attractions. Having the canal in the backyard was a great conveinence. It gave access to both the Atlantic Ocean and Gulf of Mexico. We had an absolute blast and we will definitely be staying there every year. I have no complaints about this house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • GIFT FROM THE SEA

    GIFT FROM THE SEA

    • Guest FASCIA (MIAMI, FLA. USA)
    • Date of stay 05/22/11
    • Review Submitted 06/23/11
    MY FAMILY AND I HAD A GREAT/TERRIFIC TIME AT A GIFT FROM THE SEA. EVERYTHING WAS IN ITS RIGHTFUL PLACE AND THE BUSH'S SEEMED TO THOUGHT OF EVERYTHING TO MAKE OUR VACATION A WONDERFUL OCCASION. WE HAVE RENTED MANY A TIME IN THE KEYS, BUT NEVER AS GOOD AS THIS. THE BUSH'S REALLY CARE ABOUT EVERYONE HAVING A GREAT TIME ON VACATION. THE LOCATION OF THIS HOME IS IDEAL. ACROSS FROM WHERE THE LAUNCHING RAMP IS LOCATED, AND THE CANAL IS SITUATED AT THE MAIN CHANNEL INTO THIS AREA. NOT DIFFICULT TO FIND THIS HOME AS INSTRUCTIONS GIVEN WERE PERFECT. AND THE "BIG DOGS" A.K.A. KEY DEER, CAME RIGHT UP INTO THE FRONT AND REAR YARDS, WHAT AN EXPERIENCE! WE WOULD GLADLY AGAIN RENT THIS VACATION PROPERTY WITH ALL IT'S FINE AMENITIES, WE HAD A GREAT TIME.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • OUR GREAT GETAWAY VACATION

    OUR GREAT GETAWAY VACATION

    • Guest gator (keystone Heights Fl. USA.)
    • Date of stay 04/22/11
    • Review Submitted 05/11/11
    We had a great vacation , we felt very ,very much at home there. I can speak for all of us in saying this it was a priviledge for us all to be able to relax and enjoy Alan and Lynnes vacation home . It was every thing we were looking for and more. Alan an Lynne were very helpful in every aspect , from begining to the end and I have already mentioned this vacation home to many of my closest friends and family . We went to Key West a few times and had a blast, the noname bar is very cool and should be visited by all great food too ! .Bahaia Honda State Park was very nice, also great for snorkeling we enjoyed everything. We hope to enjoy future vacations there can't wait. Best Regards, David Adams and Family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • a gift from the sea

    a gift from the sea

    • Guest karen (summerfield, fl/erie, pa)
    • Date of stay 03/31/11
    • Review Submitted 07/07/11
    great property that was comfortable, clean with great location.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We very much enjoyed our stay all was well

    We very much enjoyed our stay all was well

    • Guest Ken (Indianapolis IN)
    • Date of stay 02/02/11
    • Review Submitted 03/03/11
    Cooking utensils were adequate but we did need to purchase a large and small teflon skillet in addition to a set of tongs for the grill. We did not use the air conditioning as we like the fresh air. It would be nice to have a ceiling fan in the living room area as we found it a bit uncomfortable in the evening. Hooking up the ice maker would be great also as filling the ice cube trays was kind of a pain. Must be getting lazy in my old age. Thanks for the use use of your home we really enjoyed our stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • They thought of everything!

    They thought of everything!

    • Guest happy camper (London, UK)
    • Date of stay 01/15/11
    • Review Submitted 03/30/11
    My husband and I greatly appreciated Lynne and Alan's attention to detail. They could not have been more responsive, and they have really thought of everything you could need to have a great vacation in their home. They make you feel like part of the family, and have terrific local connections and recommendations, having lived in the Keys for many years themselves. The house is a cool oasis from the Florida heat, with a sun porch that's ideal for lounging after a day at the beach or by the canal that runs past the house. The swimming is excellent, the surrounding neighborhood is very nice and friendly, and we could not have felt more at home. Perfect place for a family (we took our baby) or one or two couples. Book this house--you will not be disappointed!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanksgiving In Paradise

    Thanksgiving In Paradise

    • Guest KC (Buford, GA USA)
    • Date of stay 11/21/10
    • Review Submitted 11/29/10
    Our second trip back to this wonderful spot in Paradise. The house is great, the location is great, and I think they even had the weather just for us. A great Thanksgiving for our family

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Maggie's Birthday In The Keys

    Maggie's Birthday In The Keys

    • Guest Butch (Edgewater Florida)
    • Date of stay 09/19/10
    • Review Submitted 09/30/10
    This was a very entertaining 8 days. The weather cooperatied most of the time but the wind was not helping the fishing. We did catch some respectable snapper but the grouper were too small but still fun to fight on the light rigs. The sharks were biting and I lost a permit but landed a four foot barracuda. The location was excellent with Winn Dixie close by for food and supplies. We met friends at the No Name Saloon and really enjoyed the pizza and atmosphere. Looe Key tiki bar was a great diversion in the evenings along with Boondocks for light eating and drinks. For the larger meals, I thought the Parrotdise Bar And Grill was excellent. Our final meal was the twin tails special (lobster) and was the best I've had in the Keys. Naturally we journeyed to Key West for shopping etc, but this was not my cup of tea. Of course with so much to do and great company, the time flew by much too quickly but we are already discussing a return trip. This has been my best trip to the keys!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place to Stay

    Great Place to Stay

    • Guest paubre (Lake Wales FL)
    • Date of stay 07/08/10
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Our family felt right at home. I am familiar with Big Pine Key and the house is located in an excellent area and convenient to everything. This house is perfect because you don't have to go up and down stairs and it has a carport. We brought more stuff than we needed because Lynne and Alan have done a great job stocking the house. The house was clean and maintained well. If you are looking for a great place to relax but close enough to Key West then this is the perfect location. We hope to return soon for more great sunsets.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • My Stay at A Gift From The Sea

    My Stay at A Gift From The Sea

    • Guest Tatianne (Miami)
    • Date of stay 05/28/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    My Stay at A Gift from the Sea was amazing. My husband, kids and I went to the Keys for Memorial weekend. It was an experience I will never forget. In most parts thanks to the excellent service given to us by the owners, they also provided us with all the information they could think of. The property had it all, anything you can think of the property had. I did not have to spend anything on house hold items. It was much more than I expected. We also had a boat in which there was a near by place to launch it for free. We caught many fish from the canal of property, the kids loved it. There is nothing I could think of negative from my stay at A Gift from the Sea. The owners where always available to any questions we had. I would definitely recommend it to my friend's relative or anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A PERFECT GIFT FROM THE SEA!

    A PERFECT GIFT FROM THE SEA!

    • Guest Ian and Glen (Nottinghamshire, England)
    • Date of stay 04/14/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    We spent four glorious weeks at A Gift From The Sea, which is without a doubt the most comfortable holiday property we have ever stayed in. The bungalow is spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped, and in such tranquil surroundings. Lynne and Alan have done a tremendous job setting up the property - a lot of thought has obviously gone into making it a real home-from-home, with every convenience to make for an enjoyable holiday. From the very first contact, Lynne was so friendly and approachable. The only things we required on arrival were groceries, and the supermarket is just a hop, skip and jump away. We experienced many wonderful sunsets, and the star-gazing was magical! The closest beach - Bahia Honda - is lovely, and of course the delights of Key West are within easy reach. We had some great lunches at Boon Docks, and Ian loved the breakfast at Big Pine Restaurant, just a short walk away. Most of all, however, we enjoyed the meals we prepared "at home" in that super kitchen. It was also lovely being able to take a cooling dip in the canal, and the fishing, both in the canal and in the ocean, was great. We recommend A Gift From The Sea without reservation, and we can't wait to return!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Gift From The Sea

    A Gift From The Sea

    • Guest Eric Adventure (Shelby, NC)
    • Date of stay 04/03/10
    • Review Submitted 04/18/10
    Wonderful place to stay with wonderful owners. Close to everything, including great fishing. Channel worked out well with boat. Looking forward to the next trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Review of A Gift from the Sea

    Review of A Gift from the Sea

    • Guest paul s. (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/10
    We've been renting homes from Home Away for about 3 years now and the Gift from the Sea is the best so far. Great vacation home.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review of A Gift from the Sea

    Review of A Gift from the Sea

    • Guest paul s. (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/10
    We've been renting homes from Home Away for about 3 years now and the Gift from the Sea is the best so far. Great vacation home.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Full score

    Full score

    • Guest Panil (Stockholm, Sweden)
    • Date of stay 01/03/10
    • Review Submitted 01/17/10
    Our expectations were high, following the exceptionally friendly and helpful exchanges that we had had with Lynne and Alan from the first enquiry. The were reached on all counts! After a week of travelling through Florida and going to a new hotel almost every night, it was a bliss to land in such a well situated, nicely decorated and extremely comfortable house. It was perfect for the four of us (family with two teenagers). It was easy to do the shopping in the nearby Winn Dixie. There were many restaurants close by, although we were reluctant to go out when we had such a nice kitchen to cook in. The weather was colder than usual so there was no swimming and we only walked on the beach of Bahia Honda, but on the other hand Key West was only 30 miles away. One day of higher temperatures allowed us to go snorkeling. Travelling on water added an extra dimension to our stay, not to mention seeing the underwater life in the coral reefs. We warmly recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • GREAT LOCATION

    GREAT LOCATION

    • Guest Birgbird55 (Shabbona, IL 60550)
    • Date of stay 12/24/09
    • Review Submitted 01/12/10
    This was a beautiful place to stay and ideally located. Not too far from Key West and the Northern Keys. My family sat out on the back yard playing cards and sunning themselves. We had fun watching the fish in the channel and the wonderful sunsets!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Blissful week in Florida Keys

    Blissful week in Florida Keys

    • Guest Charlie Girl (Cornwall, UK)
    • Date of stay 11/09/09
    • Review Submitted 11/19/09
    Everything about the property and location was as described and even better! It was exceptionally well-appointed and very clean. The owners were very attentive and prompt in dealing with email correspondence and payment arrangements. The location was truly superb with the peaceful canal only a few steps from your back door and the Gulf only yards away with great sunset opportunities! We would definitely recommend this Florida home to our friends and family. We particularly enjoyed seeing the Key Deer at many unexpected places and the advice to drive slowly is sensible. At the entrance to Ships Way is Strike Zone Charters which operate some very good trips to familiarise yourself with the local islands, snorkelling, fishing etc. We even found that we could travel into Key West for $3 each - the service was on time, efficient and excellent service from the friendly driver. We particularly enjoyed the home cooking at Big Pine Key Restaurant and our trip to the No Name Pub! Please note that some restaurants are closed Sunday evenings & Mondays. A very special place to stay which we hope to return to.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Gift From The Sea was great!

    A Gift From The Sea was great!

    • Guest BBrew (Reno, NV USA)
    • Date of stay 10/07/09
    • Review Submitted 10/19/09
    I will keep this short. This property was just as advertised. Very clean, well maintained, great location for relaxation. The owners have done a great job making this feel like a home away from home. We would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quiet, peaceful location

    Quiet, peaceful location

    • Guest Charlene C. (US)
    • Date of stay 09/17/09
    • Review Submitted 09/27/09
    We just spent a week in Big Pine Key at "A Gift from the Sea". House has everything you need. Very, very comfortable King bed in master bedroom and sofa in living room. We hired a boat and having it available at our own canal was heaven. Internet access spot on no issues worked when needed and fast connection. 30 minute drive to Key West but we only went one night. Out in the boat all day and grilling at the house was very relaxing. Dinner at Little Palm Resort was a perfect evening and worth every penny. Grocery store close by. Will definitely try to go again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Getaway!

    Great Getaway!

    • Guest Marron W. (Crystal River, Fl)
    • Date of stay 09/05/09
    • Review Submitted 09/16/09
    Location was great just 30 miles to key west. Enjoyed the water alot. Loe Key Reef is close by. Well worth the trip to see that! The house was excellent, spacious and very comfortable. We had a boat which makes it even better to get out and explore.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • abolut zu empfehlen

    abolut zu empfehlen

    • Guest dani_reinhold (weiz, österreich)
    • Date of stay 08/30/09
    • Review Submitted 12/18/09
    wir waren eine woche im september 09 in diesem wunderbaren haus. wir können diese unterkunft absolut zu 100% empfehlen! das beste, was wir in den 3 wochen florida urlaub bekommen haben! und die wunderbarsten vermieter, die wir kennen! thanks a lot to LYNNE and ALAN! daniela,reinhold,eric

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Wonderful Place

    Absolutely Wonderful Place

    • Guest BettyAnne & Greg (Tamarac Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/13/09
    • Review Submitted 08/18/09
    My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful time during our stay at A Gift From The Sea. The house is very clean, well maintained and above all...very warm and welcoming. Almost everything you could need while on vacation is supplied by the gracious owners, Alan & Lynne. I would highly recommend A Gift From The Sea for anyone who just needs to kick back and relax or for those who want some adventure. It's all there! We are already planning our trip for next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Wave of Keys Paradise

    A Wave of Keys Paradise

    • Guest Jennipea (LITTLETON, CO 80128)
    • Date of stay 08/06/09
    • Review Submitted 08/30/09
    A gift from the sea is truly a piece of paradise. From the beautifully kept house to the adorable iguana pet in the back yard! TV's in every room for kids, absolutely memorable dining table from a piece of a huge ship. Almost everything in this house will help to create special memories. This is the one of 3 properties we have rented through Homeaway in the keys. It is the ONLY one with a colorfull brick walkway to your boat dock.It was so nice to be able to walk to the water barefoot!! The central air runs great and a covered carport to keep car from becoming an oven as it sits. Lynne and Alan are the host with the most!! They are TRULY interested in giving you the best vacation to remember. Not to mention a wonderful neighbor across the street who will take you out fishing or just boat riding....he knows the keys and is a very nice person. How convienant is across the street??!!!!! We will definately be back and search no more for where to stay in the keys. You are only 30 miles from Key West and 20 to Marathon Key. Should you have a boat ....across the canal is PAROTDISE restaurant. A five minute ride to dock and eat!! I can never find the exact words to describe how relieved I was to see this house. A joyful experience and a week full of wonderful memories. Thank you Lynne and Alan....XXX-OOO

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Gift From the Sea - Big Pine Key

    A Gift From the Sea - Big Pine Key

    • Guest C&F (Italy)
    • Date of stay 07/14/09
    • Review Submitted 07/26/09
    A very beauty house with all facilities and outfitters and everything does work, High grade cleaning. The best comment is to confrm the property details that you find here.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Paradise on the water

    Paradise on the water

    • Guest Kim, Malinda and Liam (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 07/08/09
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    Our family has a long history of visiting The Keys, having stayed at the same rental for over 10 years. The place we had previously stayed had been sold, so we found ourselves looking for another vacation rental. Because the previous place we had stayed was like staying with family, we had high expectations. We found A Gift from the Sea, to not only meet all our housing needs, but the owners went above and beyond the call of duty supplying us with information for our future move to Big Pine Key. Our biggest concern was bringing our two year old son to a home on the water. When I shared this with Lynn she explained that she had raised her children next door. We had no problem with our son escaping and getting to the water, because of the way the doors locked. We had plenty of space for ourselves, another single adult, and our son (who chose to sleep in the walk-in closet). One of the best features of the house is that it is ground level. One member of our group is recovering from a recent knee surgery and the single step into the home was easily doable. I didn't fear for my son falling from a balcony or down stairs, which would be common with many stilt homes on The Key. Renting kayaks was wonderful. The provider dropped the kayaks off and picked them up after we left. We could put the kayak in the canal and paddle up into the mangroves, seeing many beautiful sights along the way. The canal was perfect for swimming, the water warm, clear and free of sea weed. A Gift from the Sea was a fabulous house for us to rent and we look forward to returning "home" in the near future.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Relaxing atmosphere at

    Relaxing atmosphere at

    • Guest Robert & Shelly (Decatur Illinois)
    • Date of stay 06/19/09
    • Review Submitted 06/28/09
    My wife and I booked a week vacation stay at "A Gift From the Sea" vacation rental. We had a wonderful time. Everything you could possibly need was supplied at the rental. The only thing you'll need are groceries which you can get about a mile up the street. The owners have done a great job setting up the home to be your home away from home. Located in the lower Keys your a short drive to Key West (approximately 1/2 hour) snorkling, diving, fishing, historical museums, the aquarium, sand beaches at Bahai Honda State Park, whatever you choose. Directly across the street from the home is Capt. Bill Rabito who's been guide fishing the Keys for nearly 45 years I highly recommend booking a charter with him. Forget the giant commercialized fishing charters, Bill's a simple guy with a simple boat who knows where and how to catch fish in the surrounding waters, yellow fin, giant grouper, tarpon etc. He'll even clean them and hand deliver the catch so you can cook them that evening. In Big Pine you'll find everything you need, eating, shopping, groceries and so on. After spending time in Key West among other places it was nice to return to the home of an evening and relax, the furnishings are new, you'll have nearly 100 channels of TV, to choose from. Washer and dryer are supplied, all the pots, pans, dishes,cooking, and eating utensils are supplied. The only thing you'll need to bring is yourselves and clothing. Located directly behind the home, 20 feet outside the back door is the a canal, quite relaxing in the mornings to sit on the steps that lead down to the canal and have your morning coffee. There's a pool ladder attached so you can get in and out of the water in the canal, tap a couple times on the ladder with you fingernail or finger and three little fish will show up at the ladder, they love Oreo cookies, sounds funny but they do, break the cookie up a bit put it in the water once it gets a little water logged tap it with your finger it will sink the three fish will eat it all, if you have kid's they'll get a kick out of it. The three fish won't show up untill you tap on the ladder though, sometime it takes them a few minutes to get there but they'll come. All we gave them was a cookie from time to time, they locals prefer you don't through things in the canal such as food waste and fish scraps as this invites unwanted preditor fish and jelly fish they tell me. Don't hesitate to book a stay, it was great we had a wonderful time!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A Diamond in the gems of the Keys

    A Diamond in the gems of the Keys

    • Guest Kevin M. (Buford, Georgia, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/05/09
    • Review Submitted 04/14/09
    We could not have wished for a better place to spend our vacation and better folks to work with. The house was absolutely perfect, the location, the sunsets are wonderful. We are already planning our return visit

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • A Gift From the Sea - Absolutely Perfect!

    A Gift From the Sea - Absolutely Perfect!

    • Guest A Florida Keys Wantabe (Groveport, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 12/28/08
    • Review Submitted 01/12/09
    An absolutley perfect get-a-way base for exploring the lower Keys. Plenty of space inside and out - quiet neighborhood and lovely sunsets. Household amenities were more than adequate. I would recommend this place to anyone and I plan to be back. Many Thanks to the Owners!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]