Grown-up Bachelor Pad - Modern Architectural - 1 Block from the Beach!
You sent a message to this manager.
- Minimum stay:7 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Venice Beach house description
ATTENTION: WE DO NOT MARKET THIS HOME ON CRAIGSLIST. ANY LISTING ON CRAIGSLIST IS A SCAM.
Stay in this unique modern architectural only one block from the beach and Venice Beach Boardwalk. It is the grown-up version of a bachelor pad.
The house is a staple of the Venice area, a great home to entertain in and famous for its beauty and unique design. It has been a cover story in the New York Times and Dwell Magazine, and featured in many other publications including the L.A. Times.
It is NOT baby or toddler-friendly.
The 2400 sq ft. home has three levels plus roof-top deck. Natural colored wood flooring throughout. Spacious, open rooms with custom furniture. Guest room #3 is on the first level. It has a unique European bathroom (sink, toilet and shower head with water draining into floor). The second level has the master bedroom with en suite bath (sink, toilet, shower and bath), and a 2nd guest bedroom with European bathroom. The third level is made up of the living space with two facing daybed sofas and entertainment center, and a separate kitchen/dining area. There is a powder room on this level as well.
At the top of the stairway to the roof deck is an indoor lounging nook encased in glass windows (please see photos). The deck is bisected by the nook, one side facing the water (very slight ocean view, but great sunsets), the other for sunning.
The home is built to utilize the flow of light and air throughout. Sound also carries.
The location is fabulous. A 20-second walk to the beach and Venice Boardwalk. Behind the home is Main Street, where you can walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and more. Ask and we can provide more details on the weekly Farmer's Market, Gourmet Food Truck Night, live music, surf camps and many other exciting activities. We are also only a few blocks from Abbot Kinney deemed 'the coolest shopping street in America' by GQ Magazine 2012.
The home has gated, covered parking for two small-to-midsize cars. Basic cable and wireless internet.
5 minutes to the Santa Monica Pier & Amusement Park
10 minutes to Malibu Beach
15 minutes to LAX (airport)
25 minutes to Beverly Hills
35 minutes to Hollywood
50 minutes to Disneyland
Keywords: house, home, beach house, santa monica, venice beach, boardwalk, modern
- Vacation Rental
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Pets Considered
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 6
- King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
Bathrooms: 3.25 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Catering Available
- Cooking Utensils
- Air Conditioning
- Linens Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- Covered Parking
- Washing Machine
- Satellite / Cable
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Jet Skiing
- Basketball Court
- Sight Seeing
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Fitness Center
ReviewsWrite a review
60 year old male traveling with another couple
60 year old male traveling with another couple
My only problem with the Verticle House in Venice Beach is that the Master Bathroom did not have a shower, but a hand held "wand" that was inconvenient to use w/o a shower curtain., Other than that all was great, wonderful location and very clean!
- Guest Bob (Kansas city, Mo.)
- Date of stay 07/17/13
- Review Submitted 07/26/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing, tourists without a car.
Manager response: Thank you, Bob. We enjoyed having you. I will make sure to reiterate to guests that the Master bath is a great tub with handheld, but not a shower. This is how the European owners like it though we realize it is not the norm in American homes! Hope to see you again soon.
Overpriced for what it is.It is almost 20yrs old. Floors need to be redone. Best location, tho. If you are staying a short time, do not need comfort, and do not care about actually living there, with no cooking, it is fine. We stayed for a month. The first night I slept in cashmere sweater, pants, socks. The management supplied space heaters. No task lighting; no comfortable seating- actually, no chairs.. There were multiple small inconveniences-as though no one had checked the property before we arrived. The auto gate was frequently broken. We constantly had to call to have it fixed. It has a great location which is the real positive of it. The management did try to fix things...but we had to point out the obvious things that needed to be fixed. We have rented places 2 other times in the last year...We had no problem with those properties.
- Guest concerned renter (Chicago, Il)
- Date of stay 01/15/13
- Review Submitted 04/20/13
Recommended for: Tourists without a car.
Manager response: Thank you for your feedback! This was a difficult month as the electronic gate broke down over the tenant's stay. Absolutely frustrating for the renters. We had the gate fixed each time and three different companies promised it was in perfect condition. Then they would leave and the gate would break after a few uses. After this happening a number of times (the last thing we want is an unhappy tenant!) we ignored the technicians and replaced the entire system for over $5,000. It is now a brand-new, top of the line, glitch-free gate. I only wish we had it sooner for these renters. The home and furniture are exactly as pictured - a beautiful minimal environment. There are two full couches in the living room for seating. However, chairs can be taken down from the rooftop (which the renter did) if a guest prefers to sit alone. Cooking has not been a problem for any other tenants or the owner who lived there. We really did try to satisfy the renters as much as possible and wish we could have made their stay a positive one. As for the price, the regular rate at this time was $450/night and was heavily discounted for them to around $209/night. The price is comparable to a low-to-mid-level standard hotel room by the Los Angeles International Airport (see Best Western), and we offered it for a three-bedroom home with roof-deck one block from the beach. We are not allowed to give those rates again. We truly wish we could have made the guests happy but were able to rectify their other concerns for future tenants.
Holiday to Remember
Holiday to Remember
Fantastic home Fantastic Location Fantastic Management Team Cannot speak highly enough about this property, and Jennifer and James our hosts. Had the most fabulous holiday, shame it had to end.
- Guest Fiona (UK)
- Date of stay 09/11/12
- Review Submitted 09/21/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, tourists without a car.
Vertical Beach House Rental
Vertical Beach House Rental
The property was clean and in a great location. The rooftop was a great extra. Sunsets are beautiful from there and if thats not high enough you can go up one more level to a smaller rooftop. Great people run this property. Very helpful and friendly. Biking, parasailing, and outdoor cafes are available nearby. Liquor store a half a block away too. This property was just like the photos and more. Thank you and I would rent this Vertical Beach House again!
- Guest Blondie (Salvaggio)
- Date of stay 08/25/12
- Review Submitted 09/13/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with teenagers, sightseeing, romantic getaway, adventure seekers, tourists without a car.
Manager response: We loved having you! Please visit again.
Great Location!Guest comment entered by manager
I recently rented this beautiful Venice Beach home for my partner's family while they came to visit us. Being from the L.A. area, I was able to do extensive research though VRBO and Flipkey and eventually found this place. The location is half a block to the beach and Abbott Kinney is just up the street. From start to finish, the experience with On the Coast Rentals was great. Keys we're waiting for us and Jennifer made the "check-in" experience very welcoming.
- Guest Sean P.
- Date of stay 05/24/12
- Review Submitted 06/11/12
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
7 night min stay
Discounts: 10 nights or more: $500 Nightly
Additional information about rental rates
50% of rent, clean and tax due upon booking.
The remainder and security deposit due 30 days prior to check in date.
Additional Fees and Taxes:
Exit Clean: $250
Monthly Renter Exit Clean: $350
12% L.A. City Tax on stays under 28 days
There is a fully refundable $1,000 security (damage) deposit.
Long-term tenant pricing available.
This manager accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
About: The owners are a family of four residing in Los Angeles.
- Primary: (310)596-0221
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Featured on the cover and inside June issue of DWELL MAGAZINE 2004
Dining table, view to street.
Enclosed roof-top nook
Kitchen/dining looking towards living space. Stairs to roof are in the middle.
Dining with vertical windows.
Beautiful sunsets only a block away at the beach.
Venice "Art" - the 6 foot sad clown
Santa Monica Pier and Amusement Park
The Vertical House (view from street)
Guest room #2 with European bathroom.
Nook from roofdeck
The Venice Beach Boardwalk, one block away!
Venice Beach Canals
Santa Monica Pier Sign
Our local Farmer's Market - walking distance!
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2012.
Date last modified - Thursday, November 14, 2013