Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Beautiful Apartment Extremely Well Located Downtown Reykjavik [#414527] | View Property

Reykjavik
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 5)
$250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (28)

Sort by:
  • Great apartment and location!

    Great apartment and location!

    • Guest larry b.
    • Date of stay 03/31/14
    • Review Submitted 04/12/14
    We enjoyed our trip to Iceland and this apartment. It was conveniently located to the downtown area. We rented a car and there was free parking right outside the apartment. The beds were very comfortable. The owner was extremely helpful with questions about the area. It was a great visit!

    Recommended for: Sightseeing

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean and quiet apartment - walking distance to sites and restaurants

    Clean and quiet apartment - walking distance to sites and restaurants

    • Guest Dan J. (Scandia MN - USA)
    • Date of stay 08/22/13
    • Review Submitted 09/23/13
    Very nice apartment located close to many restaurants and shops. Reykjavik is not a large city so it's easy to see a lot in a short distance. The apartment was close (a mile) to the Sports Center (Laugardalshöll) and a grocery store is located a few blocks away. No traffic noise and no late night parties.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Apartment downtown Reykavic Main City Center

    Great Apartment downtown Reykavic Main City Center

    • Guest N/A (Washington Dc)
    • Date of stay 08/14/13
    • Review Submitted 09/23/13
    The property is on a second level of a duplex located on a side street two blocks from the main bus termina, main shopping street in reykavic and two very well stocked grocery stores. There is also a major hotel within one block (hotel Klettur) where many major tours pick up and discharge the tourists. The apartment is very well stocked (plenty of sheets, towells, pillows, etc) Enjoy the hot water and the long showers. The property's point of contact is very helpful and provided responses and follow up immediately. We really enjoyed iceland on our second visit and have full intention of returning. Enjoy the property/highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our Reykjavik stay

    Our Reykjavik stay

    • Guest Lena N. (Uppsala)
    • Date of stay 07/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/18/13
    Great location. Silent and quiet Place that was so close to the city center. Nice flat. Everything you need for selfhousekeeping was there. Exellent parking possibilitys. Smoothly check in/out Easy verbal Communication with landlord. A great stay. Strongly recomanded.!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Apartment for a week in Reykjavik

    Perfect Apartment for a week in Reykjavik

    • Guest Andreas (Germany)
    • Date of stay 07/18/13
    • Review Submitted 08/09/13
    We stayed for a week in Reykjavin with our 2 kids. The apartment was clean and in perfect reach to all major points in the city. If we will come back to iceland I am shure that we will stay in this apartement again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect City Apartment

    Perfect City Apartment

    • Guest Tricia (Costa Mesa, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 08/12/13
    What a great apartment! It’s located close to the center of town so you can walk to things very easily, but it is also very simple to get in and out of town when visiting sights outside of Reykjavik. We had no problems finding parking for our rental car on the street right outside. The apartment was clean and Olafur was so easy to communicate with. He was very flexible with our arrival and always answered my emails quickly. Would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • property 414527

    property 414527

    • Guest Lera (usa)
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/11/13
    Beautiful apartment.We had a great time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great apartment in the center

    Great apartment in the center

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    Beatiful, very clean apartment, great center location, helpful and responsive owner. Really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very nice and close to everything!

    Very nice and close to everything!

    • Guest Emilie G. (Sherbrooke, Quebec)
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/25/13
    We stayed at this apartment for 3 nights. The place was very clean when we arrived. The 2 bedrooms are beautiful with very confortable beds! Walking distance to everything, including restaurants, shops, supermarket. You don't really need a car, except if you plan on visiting around/outside the city. If ever I come back to Iceland, I would definitely rent this place again while in Reykjavik!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tidy and Convenient

    Tidy and Convenient

    • Guest Elizabeth F. (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/17/13
    • Review Submitted 11/03/13
    This place hits just the right chord for a stopover in Reykjavik. It is reasonably well located, being a 1/2 mile walk to the main portion of downtown. Parking was easy enough and the windows had adequate black out shades. There is no laundry available, and the apartment is a bit smaller than the photos represent it, but overall, it was a good value for the stay. We have two small children, and the sleeping quarters were just right for us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Apartment for my family vacation in Reykjavik

    Wonderful Apartment for my family vacation in Reykjavik

    • Guest Eric (Bountiful, Utah)
    • Date of stay 06/11/13
    • Review Submitted 06/23/13
    This apartment suited our needs perfectly. The main shopping street, Laugavegur, was only a 1 minute walk away. We took the Fly Bus directly from the airport to a hotel around the corner (as recommended by the owner) then walked to the apartment (at midnight, yet it was still light outside). We experienced the city by foot for a few days. Perfect. Then we rented a car and ventured into the country. I was worried about a place to park so asked the owner and he said that there would be on street parking, which there was right out our window. We arrived home at 10:00 pm one night hungry, so we walked to the nearby grocery store, bought some cod ($4 USD) and brought it back to fry in some butter, along with some sides and some Icelandic ice-cream (a must). The kitchen had everything we needed. Nothing is better than home-cooked Icelandic cod (except maybe home-cooked Icelandic halibut). The beds were very comfortable. One of my daughters commented that she loves the Icelandic showers because she can take a very long shower and it never runs out of hot water (because they are geothermally heated). We would recommend this apartment to anyone who wants a clean, comfortable, well-situated apartment with a very helpful owner.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely, well-appointed apartment in Reykjavik

    Lovely, well-appointed apartment in Reykjavik

    • Guest Molly M. (Minneapolis, MN, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    We were very fortunate to find this beautiful apartment in Reykjavik, as it was perfect for our needs during our 3 night layover on our way on to Paris. I traveled with my husband, our 1 year-old daughter, and my parents. Both bedrooms had comfortable beds and adequate space for 4 adults and a baby. Olafur kindly provided us with a travel crib for the baby so we didn't have to bring one with us on our travels. The kitchen had everything we needed for making meals (with a really nice coffee maker), but the local cuisine is so good you'll want to eat out as much as you can! There are grocery stores and a liquor store just a few blocks away. It's only a short walk to where a main pedestrian street is situated, and about a 20 minute walk down to the harbor where you can find good seafood restaurants, whale watching and a great bike tour. We had no trouble parking our rental car on the street right out front of the apartment. Everything was clean and very well-maintained, there was wireless internet access and a big tv (if you find yourself wanting to stay in and avoid the rain). On top of that, Olafur was extremely helpful with the reservation process and meeting us to get into the apartment. He made everything so easy and we really would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a comfortable home base in Reykjavik! We can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic

    Fantastic

    • Guest Nicole R.
    • Date of stay 05/26/13
    • Review Submitted 06/01/13
    This was a fantastic place to stay in Reykjavik. It's right off of Laugavegur, and you only have to walk two blocks before you start getting into the area where there are lots of shops. The ATM is only a block away, and there's a pizza place within one block. It's safe, too! We did not feel uncomfortable walking back at 2am. Would definitely consider staying here again. Also, Olafur is very easy to work with!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our stay in Iceland

    Our stay in Iceland

    • Guest Don (Belper, Derbyshire UK)
    • Date of stay 03/03/13
    • Review Submitted 03/24/13
    We found the accomodation easily and it was very clean and well maintained.....but the light didn't work on the stairway to the apartment entrance. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in on holiday and that bit is worth 5 stars ! It was very convenient for the city centre, yet quiet and private at night. We would certainly stay again if ever we re-visit Reykavik and would recommend it to our friends & family. We would recommend a visit to the Organic Fish Bistro near the harbour.....the fish was really excellent. We were lucky to see the Northern Lights during our stay and will always remember that.....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nice Stay!

    Nice Stay!

    • Guest Jay S.
    • Date of stay 02/24/13
    • Review Submitted 03/06/13
    This was a nice apartment that was very close (about a 10 minute walk) from the heart of downtown Reykjavik. It was clean and had very nice amenities (flat screen tv with cable, wifi, a full kitchen that's fully stocked with glasses, plates, etc.). Can't recommend getting an apartment instead of a hotel enough--makes the experience so much more authentic and genuine.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • beautiful apartment and very accommodating renter

    beautiful apartment and very accommodating renter

    • Guest christopher (alaska)
    • Date of stay 12/12/12
    • Review Submitted 04/28/13
    my friend and i rented this flat for one week in december and enjoyed every minute of it. Olafur was very helpful through the booking process, and met us when our flight arrived EARLY to give us the keys. excellent location, easy walking distance to the main strip, and drop off/pick up point for the airport shuttle. apartment was clean, well furnished, lots of extra towels and linens. couldn't be happier with our stay, highly recommended!!!! thanks again from your friends in Alaska!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great apartment

    great apartment

    • Guest Boek (Littleton Colorado USA)
    • Date of stay 11/15/12
    • Review Submitted 12/12/12
    We had a three night stop over in Reykjavik in November. This was a perfect place to stay, it was warm and cozy even though it was quite cold outside, and very clean. It is also close to the supermarket and restaurants. The beds are very comfortable and a tv with english channels was appreciated by the kids. We rented a car for these three days and had no problem finding a parking spot. We were busy sightseeing so weren't in the apartment much, but would love to come back here on a next visit. Hopefully we will get to see the northern lights then ...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Reykjavik Apt

    Reykjavik Apt

    • Guest tm (philadelphia, pa)
    • Date of stay 10/29/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    I had a lovely stay at this beautiful apartment! It is a well kept, spotless apartment with super comfy beds & linens. Always a deal breaker for me! The apartment is on a quiet street so I appreciated the restful nights of sleep I got. No noisy neighbors or bars near by. The kitchen has all the necessities to cook meals & the grocery store is just a hop, skip & a jump away. Olafur was so kind & accommodating to my needs. He quickly responded to my communication & even hand delivered more closet hangers at my requests. I stayed in this apartment for a total of 12 days and in Iceland for 36 days & I would definitely stay in this apartment again. If you have any question about the apartment or Iceland, in general, please dont hesitate to ask.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Cozy Refuge in a Wonderful City

    A Cozy Refuge in a Wonderful City

    • Guest Rollie (Calgary, Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/15/12
    • Review Submitted 10/25/12
    My wife and I recently travelled from Calgary, Canada to spend a week in Reykjavic for a family wedding. Our daughter joined us from England and the 3 of us had a great week together exploring the city and the surrounding countryside. We travel abroad quite often and regularly use VRBO locations. This apartmet was another great experince. Having read the very positive reviews by other guests, we can confirm that all of their complimentary descriptions were right on the money. This is a terrific apartment, very well located and within easy walking distance of all that central Reykjavic has to offer. The property owner Olafur, could not have been more helpful and accomodating from our first contact by email to our final telephone chat upon our departure. Meticulously tidy, nicely furnished, and lots of natural light, made it a fine place to have a good nights rest, a visit with friends and an afternoon snooze. You will not be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Downtown Location. Walking distance to everything.

    Great Downtown Location. Walking distance to everything.

    • Guest Steve (Toronto, CANADA)
    • Date of stay 09/20/12
    • Review Submitted 10/04/12
    Great apartment. Great location. Clean, very large beds with very comfortable and new bedding, pillows, duvets, etc. We stayed in Reykjavik for 5 days. Olafur was very helpful and accommodating. We had no problems at all and had a wonderful stay in Iceland!. Parking was no problem as there was always a spot available on the street. Probably a 6 minute walk to the downtown area. TV and wireless internet worked well. Would definitely stay here again!. Highly recommended for 2 to 5 people. FIVE STARS. Steve, Kelly and Emma.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Location, Comfortable Surroundings and Wonderful Value!

    Great Location, Comfortable Surroundings and Wonderful Value!

    • Guest KKTraveler (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/06/12
    • Review Submitted 09/12/12
    Not knowing the lay of the land in a foreign country can be a scary thing. My three friends and I went out on a limb and chose this apartment for the amenities that it stated, the location and the value based on other apartments we had researched. We couldn't have been happier. Upon entering the apartment, it was spotless, organized and was perfectly furnished, with additional furniture available in a central location in the building. The furniture, especially the beds, were comfortable and provided for excellent sleeping. The location, just off the main shopping street, Lagavagur, provided for a quick walking trip to hundreds of shops and restaurants, while providing for a quiet home base to sleep and relax. Even the supplies in the kitchen and bathroom were top quality and provided us with ease to cook meals, relax in the living room or just plan our next excursion. Although the bedrooms were on the small side, the comfort of the beds and closet space more than made up for that one small detail. Overall, we were extremely please and happy to call this home for the few days we stayed here, and would definitely rent this location again on future trips. Thank you for enhancing our stay in Reykjavik and helping to make our stay unforgetable.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place to stay

    Great place to stay

    • Guest jonathan b.
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/24/12
    Never been to Iceland before and went with a friend for a few days. the place is in a great location easy to walk to everything you need. apartment was plenty of space with all you need. Defiantly would stay here next time i come to reykiavich. Thanks, Jon

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place to stay in Reykjavik!

    Great place to stay in Reykjavik!

    • Guest Tracy (Louisville, KY, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    Great apartment in a great location. Nicely furnished.Impeccably clean. Quiet. Olafur was most gracious with information and even furnished a power converter (as I had forgotten to bring mine). Parking was right outside the door and was free. If you are not renting a car, this apartment is one block from a bus terminal. Wifi was a Godsend. I haghly recommend this apartment.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location

    Great location

    • Guest Family Traveller (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/16/12
    • Review Submitted 08/28/12
    Very convenient to the main bus terminal, which is very important in a city with no subway and very expensive cabs. Nice apartment--2nd floor walk-up. We could walk to the main shopping/dining district even with 2 kids (8 and 4). With kids, one probably doesn't want to stay any closer to the main shopping/dining area over the weekend, as Reykjavik is wild on Saturday nights. Owner was quite helpful with info about the city. Would readily stay here again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfectly clean and comfortable!

    Perfectly clean and comfortable!

    • Guest Melissa N. (Seattle, WA USA)
    • Date of stay 08/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    We recently stayed a few nights with our two kids at this clean and comfortable apartment. The owners are very accomodating and even provided a play yard for our 9 month old baby to sleep in. The apartment is nicely furnished and had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the shower is great! The location is good, just steps from the main shopping street and close to restaurants and groceries. We would love to stay here again on our next trip to Reykjavik!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Apartment

    Lovely Apartment

    • Guest Dale (Tulsa, Oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 07/02/12
    • Review Submitted 08/04/12
    This lovely apartment was just as pictured. It was very clean and more than adequately equipped. The owners made it easy to communicate via email before arriving in Iceland. We arrived at 1:00am and were met by the owner, given a tour of the apartment, and provided with food for the next morning's breakfast. The apartment is only a few minutes walk to the center of Reykjavic . My husband and I would definitely stay at this apartment again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Great Escape

    The Great Escape

    • Guest The International me (United States)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/07/12
    My friend and I were fortunate enough to stay at this centrally located and very well equipped location. every thing you need is at a 5-10 minute walking distance. From food to clubs and bars and tours. The apartment was spacious, clean and equipped with important amenities. An affordable place to lay your head makes the getaway so simple. I strongly recommend this location.... its cheaper than a hotel with the comfort of being home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Extremely happy with my stay

    Extremely happy with my stay

    • Guest Nick (USA)
    • Date of stay 05/10/12
    • Review Submitted 05/15/12
    I normally don't do reviews but since the owner asked and they responded to my booking so fast and thoroughly and were extremely helpful through out my stay I decided to add some quick words whilst waiting at the airport. So first the place is just as the picture show and the description says. It was very well centrally located and short distances to everywhere I needed to go. I was on a business trip so I had a lot of places to visit and it was great location in that sense. The neighborhood was quiet and relaxed. The property was very clean and neat. The owners offered new change of towels often as well as change of linens. The amenities very modern and top notch. I had a couple of questions and concerns which were addressed quickly and very satisfactory and the owners offered assistance on every matter. Extremely helpful. If I come back to Iceland (and I suspect I will) this apartment will be at the top of my list and I will recommend to any travelers I know visiting here. In the neighborhood there are a lot of restaurants, shops, convenience stores and pubs. All you need is in the nearby area. Again very happy with my stay and happy with everything

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind words, You were an appreciated guest. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]