Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Built circa 1922, Casa de Los Feliz is a lovely Mediteranean/Spanish quadraplex.

Located in the Heart of Los Feliz Village, Near Hollywood/Griffith Prk [#418471] | View Property

Los Angeles
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
$225 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Los Feliz on our mind

    Los Feliz on our mind

    • Guest Edward S.
    • Date of stay 02/13/14
    • Review Submitted 03/27/14
    Ann and I could not have been more pleased with all aspects of our accommodations from the first encounter with Gary on the day we checked in to his perfect photo of us at the front door on the day we regrettably had to depart. He and Jill were helpful in many ways, such as Jill aiding us get tickets for a play at the Mark Taper Forum to Gary assisting Ann in unraveling some of the technical mysteries of the computer in order to e-mail a short report she was asked to edit. The apartment itself was fully equipped with all essentials and the space was certainly more than commodious and exceedingly comfortable for two people, probably even more if necessary. And from our standpoint, the location could not have been more convenient - easy walking distance to a movie theater, a bookstore, other shops, restaurants, a post office, and on Sundays a very busy, bustling farmer's market. There was on-street parking and access to public transportation, very important in LA. One of the greatest pleasures of the location was its proximity to and our ability to visit several times Griffith Park and its many treasures, especially its observatory. We also were able to take various overnight road trips and come back to N Vermont Av., as if we were returning home. All in all, we had a very productive and happy visit to LA and would recommend this Los Feliz location to anyone who wants to experience the cultural assets of a very big city, yet savor the pleasures of residing in a tightknit village. Ed and Ann

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Dear Ed and Ann, Such a generous, kind and articulate review. Thank you so much. Truly, the pleasure was all ours, having you here. We enjoyed our visits with you out back in the sun, and hope that you will return again when the snow returns to your part of the world. Warmest regards, Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just perfect!

    Just perfect!

    • Guest Steve (Witham, Essex, UK)
    • Date of stay 08/04/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    It would be easy to not bother with a review as the title says it all. But as Jill and Gary put so much effort into making our stay in LA so memorable its only fair we expend some effort as well. The apartment is exactly as described, in fact it exceeded our expectations. There was nothing we needed but didn't have. It really was a home away from home. Los Feliz is a great location from which to explore LA, But don't spend all your time travelling to the four corners of the city as the village itself is worth exploring. We enjoyed some of the restaurants and the cinema. What stood out were Jill, Gary and their family. They took the time to chat and ensure we were OK. Advice was on tap when we needed it. Not only did we visit LA, but the Tubbs family ensured we understood a little of what it was like to live in LA. Gary and Jill's daughter Stephanie deserves a special mention. One morning she gave up some of her time to guide us up the secret stairways of Los Feliz and into Griffith Park and the Observatory. It was a beautiful walk in great company. Many thanks to you all! Kirsty, Ellie and Steve

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Steve, Thank you so much for your very kind review. I must say I actually teared up! We all feel so fortunate to have such thoughtful, respectful, lovely guests staying with us! Stephanie SO enjoyed taking you on the "secret stairs," only wishing she could have gone all the way to the Observatory with you that day. She, well, we ALL enjoyed our visits with you. Hope to see you again on your next visit, or when we finally make it across the pond to your neck of the woods. Warmest regards to you and your family, Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stylish home in a beautiful, safe part of Los Angeles

    Stylish home in a beautiful, safe part of Los Angeles

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/30/13
    • Review Submitted 08/18/13
    This house really was home from home and you literally had everything you needed from two comfortable (and one very large) beds to a selection of good DVD's to a well appointed kitchen and all important washer/drier to a delightful back yard area complete with twinkling lights and wind chimes.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and was perfect after a long flight from the UK. Albertsons supermarket is around the corner and there are some great restaurants only a 5 minute walk from the house. Gary, the owner, was so helpful and nothing too much trouble. His wife Jill was away but her e mails were helpful and friendly too.We felt safe the entire time and the properties in the area look expensive with gorgeous front lawns and flowers. A real gem of a place in a big city.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house and location!!

    Great house and location!!

    • Guest steliana c.
    • Date of stay 07/04/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    Very nice property, it looks even better then the pictures. Very spacious and clean, it has everything that you need so you feel at home. We were 2 adults and 2 teenagers and did not feel crowded at all. Jill and Gary were in vacation at the time of our arrival but their daughter Stepanie and son-in-law Michael were very helpful with any question or minor request that we had. There are plenty of restaurants at walking distance, a grocery shop nearby and the metro station is at 7 min walk, very convenient. We are warmly recommending this property and we will definitely repeat the experience when will visit LA in the future. Thank you, Jill and Gary.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Dear Steliana and Family, Thanks so much for the kind review. Gary and I regret we didn't meet you, but hope we have the opportunity the next time you're in Los Angeles. Warmest regards, Jill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place! Great People!

    Great Place! Great People!

    • Guest FL Traveller (CA)
    • Date of stay 05/16/13
    • Review Submitted 05/21/13
    Our group of 5 loved this apartment...homey, comfortable, clean, spacious (bigger than it looks in the pictures), nicely decorated and furnished, and with great beds. We did a lot of cooking and found the kitchen to be well supplied. And then there are the owners, Gary and Jill, who took our experience from good to great. They were gracious, warm, and generous, even lending us some of their own kitchen equipment. Other reviewers have called the apartment a home away from home, and that is so true! If I ever need a place to stay in LA again, this will be it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Mary, we loved having you all here. You were so much fun, not to mention helpful. Thanks to Rick, our tree is beautifully pruned. It's still amazing to look out and see it all tidy and neat. It looks ten years younger (what I always say after I get a hair cut)! Hope to see you all again. Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Great Place For A Family Gathering

    A Great Place For A Family Gathering

    • Guest Donna (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 05/10/13
    • Review Submitted 05/24/13
    We chose this home because of its proximity to my sons' apartments and because of the appearance and amenities described. It exceeded our expectations. The home was very clean and well maintained. We prepared several family meals and also enjoyed eating at nearby restaurants on Vermont. I can't say enough about the location. The owners and their family were very friendly and were available to answer any questions or address any concerns. We hope to return for the holiday this winter!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome stay, great owner!

    Awesome stay, great owner!

    • Guest Yinan (Edmonton, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    Me and three friends (two couples) stayed at this lovely home for the past weekend, it is a great experience. The home has lots of character and the backyard is great, also the neiboughood is nice and safe, we had a great brunch at a nearby cafe. The owners were really welcoming and were very helpful in pointing out best way to get around town and even help me send out our postcards. I would stay here in a heartbeat next time I am in LA.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Yinan, Thank you so much for you sweet review. We are so glad you had a good stay and very much look forward to hosting you again. It was our pleasure to have you and your friends with us. Stay warm up there in Canada and come again soon to thaw out! Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A perfect stay

    A perfect stay

    • Guest Juan (Buenos aires, Argentina)
    • Date of stay 02/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/06/13
    We traveled to L.A. for the graduation of our daughter and found an extremely cozy house, bright and in an excellent location. All was very clean, with all the necessary amenities, great beds in both rooms, TV sets in living and master bedroom with cable, PC & printer with internet, etc. After of the graduation Jill prepares us the garden to receive some friends and we spent a great evening, karaoke included ! There is a shopping center at walking distance, and a number of the most varied restaurants also nearby. Jill and Gary, our hosts, have solved any issues or concerns and have always been very helpful, in short, an excellent stay in sunny LA. we strongly recommend the experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers.

    Owner response: Thank you so much, Juan, for the LOVELY review. We were so pleased to have you and your family here and just wanted it to be a wonderful experience, especially on such a special occasion. Sending greetings to all of you. Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best home away from home!!

    Best home away from home!!

    • Guest C J L (Switzerland)
    • Date of stay 01/15/13
    • Review Submitted 03/14/13
    Our family of three vacationed here early in the year and we were so happy that we found this rental, bearing in mind that it was the first we had ever rented. The apartment was huge! Much bigger than appears in the photos and the photos really do not dk this place justice. We really felt quite at home on our vacation. The place is stocked and furnished with everything you need. They even did us a courtesy by setting out toys for our lil 1.5 year old, which was absolutely not expected. As to cleanniness, no worries there. Location was perfect, walking distance to restaurants, bars, coffee shops, supermarket, everything you need. Oh, and the bed is the master bedroom is a dream. Better than most hotels we have stayed at. There was also plenty of channels to watch. It may sound too good to be true, but it really is!! We left with a feeling of wanting to be permanent renters! But, all vacations must end - and we swear, it wasn't the vacation goggles, the place is truly beautiful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Dear Jenny, I was JUST thinking of you today! It's a warm and sunny day here in LA. I was outside doing yard work and little Chloe popped into my mind, the sandbox, you know. I intended to email you this evening to see how everyone is. So it was delightful to sit down and find this sweet review waiting! We just loved having you here. Elijah (now 5&3/4!!!) loves to help set up his toys for little ones coming in, and then to get to meet and hang out with Chloe was a bonus. We hope you come back for a visit next winter, too. We will see what appropriate toys we have for a then 21/2 year old. India will no doubt have an opinion by then so it will probably be something quite girly with a Hot Wheel or two added in from Elijah. Thanks again for the lovely review. Jill and Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A delightful property in Los Feliz

    A delightful property in Los Feliz

    • Guest Happy Camper (Chevy Chase, Maryland USA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/12
    • Review Submitted 01/18/13
    We very much enjoyed our stay at Gary and Jill's house in Los Feliz. It was beautifully designed and clean, to be sure, but the owners had thought of everything to make a visit comfortable, down to the rack for drying clothes in the laundry room, the reading chair and footstool with a good lamp in the master bedroom, and the gas-fueled fireplace in the living room, to name three features that come to mind, among many. Probably most important, the owners are friendly, responsive and helpful, padding out to greet us in socked feet late on Christmas Eve, upon our arrival, and delivering to our apartment the makings of breakfast for the next morning . The house is well-located in an attractive neighborhood, several blocks from the subway and a short walk to grocery stores, a good bookstore, restaurants and coffee bars. Staying there made our visit to Los Angeles as enjoyable as it was. We felt that for the nine days of our visit, we were part of a welcoming community. If we were to return to Los Angeles for a visit, we would look forward to staying in the very same house, so positive was our experience there.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Well, Marjorie, you would be most welcome back. We enjoyed having you and your lovely family with us. As I told you, after you left I could feel the echoes of your presence in the rooms. And as with all of our guests, you left the home in beautiful shape! Thanks so much for the generous review. We will see look forward to seeing you on the next trip. Jill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything we expected and much much more!

    Everything we expected and much much more!

    • Guest Good Vibes (Maryville, TN)
    • Date of stay 10/17/12
    • Review Submitted 10/29/12
    We spent 6 nights here and our expectations were high because of all the wonderful reviews. The house is even better than the photos, the owners are even better than all the previous reviews lead you to believe, the location is perfect and I am certain we will return. Our daughter lives in the Los Feliz area so we will probably travel to LA at least once a year and hopefully we will plan far enough in advance to stay here. Thank you Gary & Jill for all your hospitality and the extras.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Home, Gracious Host and Hostess

    Wonderful Home, Gracious Host and Hostess

    • Guest Sharla (Mesa, AZ)
    • Date of stay 10/06/12
    • Review Submitted 10/09/12
    I have to rave about every aspect of this rental experience. From the ease of making the arrangements, to the responsiveness of Gary and Jill who graciously received us, as well as about the comfort we immediately felt upon arriving at our "weekend home" after a long drive. The pictures accurately reflect the rental's appearance and amenities but cannot convey the relaxing atmosphere of the interior, exterior and backyard of the property. We enjoyed it so much, we chose to stay "home" and cook or order carry-out from the many (fabulous) restaurants in the area so we could dine and visit in the comfort of the home! Gary and Jill have given thoughtful attention to details that truly show they care, not only about the property, but also those that stay as guests; things like having a self-selected key code for unlocking the deadbolt on the front door, to having local menus and restaurant reviews compiled in a binder along with area maps, and attractions. Books, magazines, DVDs, cable tv and a computer are there for browsing at leisure. The beds and linens were top notch and the furniture was cozy-comfortable! Gary and Jill encouraged us to ask if there was anything or anyway that they could be of assistance, and although there was nothing that we lacked during our stay, I sensed that they were sincere and would have obliged a request without hesitation. I would definitely return and would recommend this property to a friend or relative.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sharla, your post was so lovely, that I actually teared up! We feel so fortunate to have had lovely guests like you and your daughters. Thank you for your kind words and YOUR gracious presence in our home. We hope to see you all again. Warmest regards, Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love Los Feliz!!

    Love Los Feliz!!

    • Guest Laurie and George (Ottawa, Ontario, Canda)
    • Date of stay 08/07/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    This is our fourth experience using VRBO for a rental in the Los Angeles area and this was by far our favourite. The location was awesome, lots to do withing walking distance plus close to the subway and easy access to freeways. Lots of great restaurants in the neighborhood as well as a couple of small charming movie theaters.We really enjoyed nearby Griffith park, the Greek theater and the many walking trails. This is truly a home away from home, it has everything you could need. The owners, Jill and Gary, were fantastic and went above and beyond as our hosts. We would highly recommend this beautiful home for anyone visiting Los Angeles and we hope to stay there again sometime in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Laurie and George, We loved having you and your family here. You were our first Canadians! When we first concieved of renting our fourth unit here at the quadraplex, we had no idea how much fun it would be to meet people from all over the world. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Stay in touch, Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome getaway

    Awesome getaway

    • Guest Pete & Jane (Spring, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/14/12
    This was our first venture using VRBO and we didn't know what to expect. We were drawn to this area because we wanted to be in close proximity to our son. The house was easy to find and we were greeted by Gary and Jill upon arrival. The place far exceeded our expectations. The photos are accurate. Fresh flowers and immaculate rooms made us begin relaxing immediately. We enjoyed having coffee in the backyard everyday. We hiked on Griffith park, walked to shops and had dinner at a beautiful italian restaurant the first night. Sundays they have a farmers market on the Post Office parking lot. Awesome produce, flowers, and breads. Gary and Jill are terrific hosts. They made our stay even more enjoyable. If you're looking to recharge and have things slow down in your busy life, this is the place. We would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Pete and Jane, Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you here and to get to know you, our fellow Texans. We hope to see you again, you and your boys. All the best, Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Perfect Homes Away from Home!

    The Perfect Homes Away from Home!

    • Guest ww (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 01/15/13
    The moment we arrived at the lovely Mediterranean home on Vermont we knew we had made the perfect choice. Jill and Gary and their delightful family made us feel at home the instant we arrived...as if we had known them for years. Their generous nature and easy way of living was felt throughout our stay. The landscaping is lush and the home is spacious, warm and lovingly styled by Jill. It has everything you need and if by chance you need something special, Jill and Gary will deliver it to your door. The courtyard is both aesthetically welcoming and wonderfully functional....we spent many afternoons and evenings lounging in the hammocks and enjoying the cool covering of the grape vines. Jill and Gary regularly slipped notes under the door to make us aware of fun and often unusual events and hidden treasures in the immediate neighborhood and beyond. They shared their favorite restaurants and shopping venues and were always available to assist with last minute planning. The house is located in a walkable urban neighborhood with restaurants representing a variety of cuisines as well as unique shops and boutiques. Our favorite spots include breakfast at Figaro Bistrot, dinner at Il Capriccio, Ling Ling Clothing for Children and Coop 28 with its endless treasures...all within 5 minutes of “home”. We also recommend the Alcove on Hillhurst...al fresco dining with ambiance and tasty food. The house is ideally located near Hollywood and Griffith Park where we spent many a nights gazing into the starlit skies and admiring the infamous city lights from the Planetarium...an absolute must! It is also adjacent to several interesting neighborhoods including Silverlake, which offers endless dining options, unique shops and relaxing coffee shops. There are beautiful neighborhoods and architecturally significant homes to tour and we highly recommend the Warner Brothers studio tour. Activities for children are endless including the incredibly creative and educational exhibits at LACMA, the Getty Museum Campus, the remarkable Le Brea Tar Pits and the Santa Monica Pier. But even more compelling were the surf programs at Perfect Day Surf School, beach volleyball at Smith and Stoklos and fashion design at Cheryl Fudge Fashions. Our summer in LA began happily with Jill, Gary and their lovely family and ended 3 months later with a difficult but sweet "so long". We will return often to the generous hospitality of this Mediterranean Oasis!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Whitney, You were our first "unknown" guests and the minute we met YOU, you were unknown no longer. We, too, felt like we'd known you forever. I remember when you left and I went over to clean up, I had the saddest feeling. Nothing of you was left there. Not a crumb! When I found one of Sana's little earrings, I was so oddly glad, like you all HAD been there after all. I had no idea how the whole VRBO thing would work out, and after your family, we knew it would be alright. Thanks so much for your lovely and generous review. Can't wait to see you all again. Jill, Gary, Stephanie, Michael, Elijah, India, John and Vivian!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Immaculate, great hosts, perfect location

    Immaculate, great hosts, perfect location

    • Guest Easily Amused (Temecula California)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/07/12
    My husband and I stayed in this lovely home for three nights, and now this will be our go-to place for our LA trips. The location is perfect, and the home is immaculate, charming, comfortable. But the real draws are the gentle hosts, Jill and Gary. They are warm and funny, and we loved when they shared coffee time with us under the grape arbor. Los Feliz is a great neighborhood - walkable, arty, interesting folks on the street - and of course, Griffith Park is right there. Jill and Gary know every pie palace, cafe, and farmer's market, and were happy to suggest their favorite haunts. Easy to see why they love living there. The house had everything we needed - computer, wi-fi and washer/dryer were very useful - and it was tempting to hang out there rather than enjoy the city. The owners put a lot of thought into details (good coffee maker, good sheets, beautiful decorating) so for us this place is a lot more fun, affordable and comfortable than a hotel.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Noree and Jeff, We loved having you two here. I sometimes think the reviews say more about the guests than about the hosts! Your gentle kind spirits left an impression on our home and you are welcome here any time. Hopefully sooner than later. There's some really good theater coming up this fall. Let's go! Jill and Gary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]