Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Sugar Hollow - Sleeps 8-14 [#418759] | View Property

Asheville
House, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 14)
$395 - $495 per night (USD)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • Thanksgiving Gathering in a Wonderful Home

    Thanksgiving Gathering in a Wonderful Home

    • Guest Grandmama (Huntsville, Al. USA)
    • Date of stay 11/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/10/13
    Our multi-generation family of 13 gathered at this beautiful, upscale home for Thanksgiving and loved it! We had comfortable beds for everyone including the boys who shared a four-man bunk room and bath. The well equipped kitchen was large enough for several people to work on the Thanksgiving dinner at the same time. Thanksgiving decorations and an extra table were added to the big dining room so that we could all enjoy the fest together. The house furnishings are upscale in all respects, but were not too fancy to accommodate our 6 children. Each morning we drank our coffee and watched the sun come over the mountains bringing the valley below to life under its light blanket of snow. Beautiful views all around! The house offers a variety of places, so we were not all crowded together. We worked on a big puzzle in one corner, watched heart breaking football games in another room, roasted marshmallows over the fire, talked and visited for our annual time together. The beautiful garden was lovely even under a little snow! The kids especially loved the spa bathroom and the wonderful showers! We found the house as listed and photographed and would recommend it to any friend or relative. The rental company responded immediately to a problem and were very professional. We had lots of fun at the Asheville Treetops Adventure, the Western North Carolina Nature Center, and Biltmore Gardens. A highlight was dinner at Cedric's Tavern on the Estate climaxed by the Christmas Candlelight Tour of the Biltmore House!! All in all, we enjoyed a most memorable Thanksgiving holiday with our large family in a beautiful home and location. Would love to go back when the gardens are in bloom!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful mountain home suitable for small group

    Beautiful mountain home suitable for small group

    • Guest Roadwarrioress (Orlando, FL)
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 02/03/13
    My stay at this home with a group of women friends was superb! Elegant, perfectly appointed, and comfortable beds made our gathering a relaxing refuge from our hectic lives. The view is gorgeous and melts away stress. I look forward to staying there again.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Girls' Mountain Getaway

    Girls' Mountain Getaway

    • Guest Donna (Virginia Beach, VA)
    • Date of stay 01/25/13
    • Review Submitted 01/28/13
    The Sugar Hollow home is a lovely home with every convenience addressed to make a vacation stay wonderful. The home is very clean and the property wonderfully maintained. I stayed for a "girls weekend", so we were not out exploring the area or Asheville attractions, but the property is only 15 minutes from Asheville making it easy to get in and out of town. Beth was wonderful to work with, taking great care up front. Her husband Ron, went above and beyond to make sure our rental situation was safe and perfect. It made for a wonderful mountain weekend!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful home in Asheville!!

    Beautiful home in Asheville!!

    • Guest Tricia (Atlanta, Ga.)
    • Date of stay 12/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    We had a great time in Asheville and loved the home we stayed in. It was everything the description said it was and the pictures were right on. We will definitely be back!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Stay!

    Wonderful Stay!

    • Guest Tim (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 12/31/12
    We were very impressed with the spacious house and beautiful views. Sitting by the fire and enjoying the view from the living room was a highlight of our stay. The house was very modern and well appointed. We are looking forward to our next trip to Asheville! I also highly recommend the Biltmore Estate tour during your stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Even better than expected!

    Even better than expected!

    • Guest Stephanie W.
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    When we arrived at Sugar Hollow, my granddaughter rightly said "I feel like we're in Fairyland." What an amazing place! The lansdscaping was stunning, with more areas to explore than we had time for. Those who love gardens should not miss Sugar Hollow. It was more like an arboretum than a private home. The house itself was more like a private home than a rental home. The furnishings and appliances were of the highest quality. I have stayed in many properties over the years, but none have had such love and personality lavished upon them. The layout of the home is perfect for large groups, as there is plenty of room for everybody to be together, as well as places to spread out into smaller groups. There is not a bad view in the house. Most rooms look out over a stunning mountain view. We spent hours on the comfortable front porch, watching the colors change as clouds and storms passed over. Waking up to that vista will lower your blood pressure by many points - pure serenity! Sugar Hollow's location is excellent, close enough to Asheville and other points of interest, but far enough that it feels private. It never took more than about 20 minutes to get anywhere we set out for. Beth and others at Yonder were very helpful in finding the right home for us, and were great about communicating when I had any questions. They made us feel like friends, not just "another group of renters." Some of our favorite places nearby were the Tupelo Honey Cafe, Jerusalem Middle Eastern Cafe, Chimney Rock park, Suwana's Thai Orchid, and the not-to-be-missed French Broad Chocolates. Shopping in and around Asheville is great, especially the farmers' markets. We will surely stay at a Yonder property, including Sugar Hollow, again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • When can I go back?

    When can I go back?

    • Guest hardwood (Columbus, OH)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    This place is truly amazing! We were all blown away by the decor and the beauty of this home. We are trying to figure out when we can go back and stay for an entire week. I recommend grabbing a cup of hot coffee and sitting out on the covered deck early in the morning. You will be blown away by the amazing views, the peace and quiet, and the natural beauty that this place has to offer. Do yourself and your group a favor and reserve this house, you won't be sorry!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Gorgeous Home!!

    Gorgeous Home!!

    • Guest jc (Lancaster, OH)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    This house is absolutely gorgeous and very spacious!! You can tell the Yonder group put a lot of thought in the décor, layout of the house, kitchen/bath amenities and little special touches such as the bath linens (luxury Frontgate towels, ahhh!). My husband and I escaped here for the weekend with a few other couples and loved every minute of our stay. Mornings were spent drinking coffee while enjoying the spectacular view of the mountains and in the evenings lounging on the deck with a nice glass of wine and good conversation. If you want to cook during your stay this kitchen has it all plus a very large dining space for all to enjoy. If cooking is not your thing, then head to downtown Asheville for some amazingly great food and good people watching! All in all, this house has everything and more for a quick getaway weekend or a full week stay. I will definitely stay here again and recommend to all my family & friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Beautiful Vacation Rental

    Beautiful Vacation Rental

    • Guest Brynne (South Carolina)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 05/31/12
    What a thrill is was to stay at Sugar Hollow - I came with my family and couldn't believe the gorgeous mountain views as well as how close it was to downtown Asheville! The house is tucked away in the most perfect spot, to ensure a peaceful stay... Decor was impeccable and accommodations were superb! I would recommend this house again and again! Thanks for a wonderful get-away!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • This place is awesome!

    This place is awesome!

    • Guest JD (Columbus, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 05/29/12
    This property was recommended by a friend and I checked it out with my wife. We needed a place to get away with some friends to have a good time and take a break from work. We were very happy with the quality of this estate. The location was perfect because it was close to Asheville, yet far enough away to feel part of the countryside and fine peace. The rooms are large, it's well maintained, beautifully furnished, and downright fun to stay at. Every convenience you need or want is at your fingertips. We're definitely going to return to take full advantage of the property another time. Now that we know how perfect it is, we'll better plan on our end and spend more time on the property. There's really no reason to leave. I've already told my coworkers about it. They were impressed with the photos and experiences I shared. It was great to have everything we read and were told about the estate to be true. This is a MUST in terms of a place to stay with kids, family, friends, you name it. It's everything they say, and more.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • A slice of heaven.

    A slice of heaven.

    • Guest Keri (Columbus, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 05/29/12
    The minute you arrive you will wave goodbye to corporate America or any other stress in your life. This estate is beyond description. With a stunning view (especially in the evening on the deck) and absolutely private surroundings, the only thing you'll hear is the water calmly serenading you from the nearby pond. The peace and quiet brings you together with nature and helps you realize that yes, you needed this break from the realities of life. Unwind, kick back, take a book or play some music — whatever you do, take full advantage of this meticulously clean property, fully loaded with comfortable, quality furnishings that instantly make you feel welcomed... and pampered. For you fitness fanatics, forget the gym. You'll get one heck of a workout simply walking up the hill to the driveway. It's the perfect way to get fully energized after a restful night's sleep. And when you're done, be sure to check out the shower on the lower level (one of many), the jets hit you with water from so many angles you won't want to get out. A short distance from downtown Asheville, you can see the sites of this terrific city but fair warning, you'll soon realize that grabbing some groceries and hanging out at the estate is the way to go. This city gal enjoyed every amenity the property had to offer and I was pleasantly surprised that every promise regarding the property was accurate. The biggest disappointment was when we had to leave.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • My favorite mountain rental in Asheville

    My favorite mountain rental in Asheville

    • Guest Matt (Fort Mill, SC)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 05/29/12
    Wow! This property was amazing. From the outside it looks like a modest cedar ranch with a spectacular deck that runs the full length of the house. But, once you enter the house you are treated to a very luxurious and upscale rustic decor. There was hardwood and tile throughout, cowskin rugs, and bathrooms with all the latest amenities and multiple shower heads. No decorating detail was left untouched. Every room on the back of the house provided a view of the mountains that I will not soon forget. Outside the plant life was abundant and very tastefully done. A hillside garden contained flagstone walks and a two-tier coy pond that was fully stocked. Expect to arrive here and not want to leave. I would plan on making a trip to the grocery before arriving so you do not have to venture back out. The location is very quiet and serene. What a place to relax and unwind. I highly recommend a glass of your favorite wine and a good cigar on the deck at sunset. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • BEST VACATION HOME YET!!!

    BEST VACATION HOME YET!!!

    • Guest Adria (Fort Mill, SC)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 05/28/12
    I have been to several Yonder properties over the past year (www.yondernc.com). This vacation home is the best one yet! I didn't think it could be better than the previous Yonder vacation homes, but honestly, this one was so impressive - from the beautiful decor, AMAZING mountain views, outstanding gardening and top notch amenities - it was the perfect Asheville stay. I will be booking this location again, hopefully in the fall - and would recommend it to everyone I know! Thanks for a wonderful holiday weekend, Yonder group!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • The Sugar Hollow Mountain Estate is in a league of it's own! Everything we expected and more!

    The Sugar Hollow Mountain Estate is in a league of it's own! Everything we expected and more!

    • Guest Tim and Eve (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 06/22/12
    The Sugar Hollow Mountain Estate was truly amazing! We were looking for a relaxing location near downtown Asheville - and we found it. This luxurious estate was everything we expected and more. It is one of the most comfortable, scenic, and peaceful places we have ever visited. The home was very private and quiet but close to many fun activities, shopping, and great restaurants. The beautiful gardens and the breathtaking views are a sight to be seen! The comfort of the deck and its scenic views of the Smokey Mountains were one of the most alluring aspects of the home. The attention to detail in the home was also truly impressive - everything to make us feel right at home (or maybe even a little nicer)! The appliances and furnishings were state-of-the-art and the furniture comfortable with enough seating for all. We would highly recommend this property to relatives and friends and for groups of all sizes. We enjoyed downtown Asheville with its shops and restaurants, a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway, a fun-filled day at the Biltmore Estate, and to top it off an adventurous day white water rafting on the French Broad River! The area and home offers everything you could want for a memorable vacation in the great outdoors! When we visit the Smoky Mountains again, we hope this home is available! We can't wait to go back again - we are already making our list of things to do around Asheville next time we go! Thanks again! Eve & Tim :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]