Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Main Level Living Room and Master Bedroom Entry. Indentations are fossils

Southern Comfort - Upscale Mountain Cabin in Helen [#420783] | View Property

Helen
Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
From $200/night or $1000 - $1600/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • Very Relaxing - Southern Mountain Comfort!

    Very Relaxing - Southern Mountain Comfort!

    • Guest Teresa T.
    • Date of stay 04/05/14
    • Review Submitted 04/16/14
    Well, what can I say about Southern Comfort? The cabin is appropriately described by the owner with one HUGE exception...it is the most well stocked home we have EVER rented! The main kitchen has an abundance of pots and pans that are not warped and plenty of utensils, serving pieces, plates and cups for the 10 people advertised! They even provided small bottles of shampoo in case you forgot yours...which of course 4 of the 5 teenage boys did! Either of the two family rooms were spacious enough for the entire group to play board games or sprawl out to watch a movie during those rainy days. The outdoor hot tub was also enjoyed on several occasions during our stay. A nice treat after zip lining on a brisk afternoon! If you get the opportunity to rent this home, it is within walking distance to the town of Helen. The walk from the house is a bit steep at times, but very doable. If you came to Helen for some hiking it is easier than some of trails in the area! We would highly recommend the Bodensee (a german restaurant) for dinner...our favorite! My husband travels to Germany several times a year and felt that it is the most authentic Bavarian food that you will find in America. Hofer's has some amazing desserts and a small deli that you can purchase bratwurst and wieners to bring home! If you want a little more southern flare (if you stay in the area for more than a few days you need a change of pace), Cowboys and Angels has some great food and a very nice wait staff. Our boys also enjoyed the Chicago Style hot dog shop just behind the Visitor Center. Their only disappointed was that it was only open on the weekends in April! All in all, our trip to Helen was very relaxing. The house was clean, well stocked, and the owner was very responsive and pleasant to work with when we had issues and questions! Our family has already discussed coming back in the summer to do the numerous tubing and summer time activities....hopefully Southern Comfort will be available!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Break

    Spring Break

    • Guest Lis
    • Date of stay 04/01/14
    • Review Submitted 04/13/14
    My sister, our children, and I had a wonderful week at Southern Comfort. The cabin had everything we needed and was a short walk into downtown Helen; we walked there several evenings and watched our children catch frogs-lots of giggles and a few screams! We enjoyed eating dinner on a the upper deck of the cabin and enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. We had beautiful weather. This cabin is minutes from Unicoi State Park, Yonah Mountain, and Sunburst Stables where we zip lined. The people there were awesome and so family friendly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic

    Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic

    • Guest missinthehills (Punta Gorda)
    • Date of stay 12/01/13
    • Review Submitted 12/13/13
    Home is beautiful beyond compare, huge, exceeded my expectations, fully equipped with everything you could need, excellent location. Close to downtown, walkable distance. Many nice places to visit, Cowboys and Angels restaurant was awesome. Betty's Grocery was great. Hofer's restaurant was also great. Mount Yonah Book Store was really nice, met the owners, Connie & Ellen, great people! Such nice, honest, down-home folks in Helen. Keith, the owner of Southern Comfort, is always available and a joy to work with! I hope to be fortunate enough to stay again. It was one of the best vacations I have ever had, I highly recommend Southern Comfort. Thanks Keith.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Trip

    Awesome Trip

    • Guest MIchelle W.
    • Date of stay 11/15/13
    • Review Submitted 11/20/13
    Great house and location. Very big and plenty of room for everyone!! Had my daughters.Sweet 16 weekend with a few of her friends with us they had the entire downstairs and I had the upstairs. Rained and was terribly foggy all weekend but I'm sure the view would have been great. Wish the hot tub was under a covered area so you could enjoy anytime. Thr road was steep but paved half way up but the switchback was kind of scary in the rain and fog...would be nice if the turn was paved. Will definately be back!!! Owner very responsive!!! Thanks for a great weekend!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sorry about the rain, we'll have to get you back on a sunny day to appreciate the view and hot tub under the stars. We paved the lower section this summer and paved the switchback this winter, so we now have our smoothest imitation of a runway winding up the mountain :). Look forward to having you back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • College Visits

    College Visits

    • Guest Richard Y.
    • Date of stay 10/02/13
    • Review Submitted 10/05/13
    We recently enjoyed this cabin while on fall break. The purpose of our getaway was to visit colleges. This North Georgia area has many! We visited North Georgia College and Truett-McConell. We may come back to the area to visit Toccoa Falls College and Young Harris. I recommend paying attention to the owners written directions as this location was not on our GPS. But his directions were on target. The cabin was comfy and pretty private. There were 12 of us total and there was plenty of space for us to relax and also plenty of sleeping options. Kids enjoyed the play room and cartoons! We plan to visit again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome place!

    Awesome place!

    • Guest Melissa (Macon, GA 31204)
    • Date of stay 08/31/13
    • Review Submitted 09/12/13
    I can not say enough good things about this place! It's close enough to everything yet far enough so you feel that you are up in the mountains. The house is amazing. Plenty of room and very comfy. Keith was awesome and thought of every detail. I forgot to pack shampoo. Low and behold he supplied some. And it was treseme! My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer! We will most certainly stay again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: Thanks for your awesome review! With comments like that, I'll provide an even bigger bottle next time...:)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Hard to Beat.

    Hard to Beat.

    • Guest H.D.Rider (Northwest Ga.)
    • Date of stay 08/16/13
    • Review Submitted 08/27/13
    Great location and value. The owners are quick to respond and very easy to work with. No matter what the weather is- you will be comfortable in this home away from home. Drive looks a bit risky going up when you first attempt it; but never a problem once you do it the first time. House is well maintained and great for friends, group, family reunion and such Drop off of the hill and right into downtown Helen. Best option is to drive to foot of the drive- park- walk the entire town with ease. Paul's as always- best band and food. Will be back more than once. Thanks Keith. Very right for Helen Ga. Several smiling faces on this end.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We greatly enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Fun

    Family Fun

    • Guest Ricky (Dublin, Ga.)
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
    My wife, myself and our daughter and 4 grand-boys had a wonderful time at Southern Comfort. The house was great and was located so close to Helen you could walk, but was secluded as well.All the activities were so close by you didn't spend your time driving. Also, a few steps away from the house was a fantastic view of downtown Helen and Mt.Yonah.The home was very well maintained and the layout was relaxing. The owner Kieth was just great to work with as he promptly answered any emails or text. I thought that was very unique in itself being able to access the owner if you had any questions. Overall we had a fantastic time and would recommend if you are going to be visiting Helen to consider this home. I know we will be going back as well. Thanks Kieth!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wedding Party

    Wedding Party

    • Guest Wisconsin Travelers (Prairie DU Sac, WI)
    • Date of stay 07/01/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    The house was awesome. There was plenty of room for our party of 10 and 2 dogs. The pool table was used extensively. The hot tub was not used as much as we would have liked. The children were the only ones brave enough to venture out the window in the rain to use the hot tub. It rained all day, everyday that we were there, so we were glad we had plenty of room for the whole wedding party to visit the night before the wedding. We were disappointed that we did not get to take advantage of the beautiful decks as they were not covered and were rain soaked. The photos of the property were a bit misleading in the fact that I do not think it accurately portrays the size of the house. The house is much bigger than it appears in the pictures and I reiterate it was "Awesome!!". The house was clean and well maintained. The owner promptly responded to all of my e-mails and was very pleasant. We would recommend this property to friends and relatives that do not have mobility issues. The driveway is quite steep and scary to walk on when it was wet. The property stairs are steep and tricky to descend. Several in our party took an unexpected ride down the steps on our backsides. We went inner tubing with the Helen Inner Tube Company. The river was quite flooded. A trip that usually takes about 3 hours took us less than 1 hour. We had a great adventure and I am sure the kids will never forget the ride. Part of our party went to the Bear Museum which was fairly inexpensive and they enjoyed feeding the bears. We loved the Mexican restaurant, the German Bakery and the Troll Tavern. Our son was married at the Helen Alpine Wedding Chapel. I would not recommend this chapel. The ceremony itself took less than 15 minutes. However the guests were a captive audience to the chapel owner's 30 minute brag session about how great he was, how he couldn't hire any employees because no one could remotely live up to his greatness and how he worked hard all of his life to get to where he was and how if we all worked as hard as he did we too would be great people. It took a lot of will power for our family not to get up and leave. This is the first time we rented a house instead of staying in hotels and we were quite pleased. We are already planning on renting another home in 2015. A big thank you to the owners for exceeding our expectations.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the positive words, in spite of the deluge of rain your week! I would have loved watching the 3 hour planned tubing ride, taking only an hour in the rain, as it whipped past the Troll tavern. I installed stair treads to avoid future slides. While we have not had a slip reported before, we'll keep our future guests safe. Loved your register comments and hope to host you and your wedding party in nicer climates on the anniversary! Keith

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great, Great mountain cabin

    Great, Great mountain cabin

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    This is a very nice cabin that has everything anyone would want in a vacation mountain cabin..Plenty of room for everyone in my family, which was a total of 12 people. Had relatives come over from Gainesville for a cook-out, still no problem for space. Grandchildren really enjoyed walking to and from river tubing & water park. They also enjoyed the game room. Spent most of their spare time playing pool. We have visited Helen several times, this is the best location we have rented. Everything so near/// My wife's grandparents are buried in a little church cemetery in Unicoi State Park, she enjoyed visiting with them. Thanks to the Buck family for sharing their mountain cabin..We will be making a return trip///

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your visit and welcome words. We look forward to your return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome location! Perfect for good sized group looking for privacy but close to the Action in Helen

    Awesome location! Perfect for good sized group looking for privacy but close to the Action in Helen

    • Guest chris h.
    • Date of stay 06/14/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    We have been to Helen before and love the action in downtown but prefer the more secluded cabins. During our last stay we were over 15 minutes from downtown with nothing in between (very private). Southern Comport offers the tucked away private feel but is literally just up the hill from Downtown Helen. Loved the location! The cabin is big enough for two families maybe three. This is not the Ritz, it is a Cabin so if you are afraid of spiders and birds and crickets chirping or need 400 thread count sheets and 5-star furnishings, go someplace else (like NYC). If you want the cabin feel this is the place for you. We loved cooking on the deck and making S'mores on the fire pit then kicking back in the hot tub. If you are new to Helen, the cabin is about 1 minute to the best Tubing place. The kids loved riding down the Chattahoochee River and then hitting the water slide. The Alpine Putt Putt Golf is one of the nicest I have ever seen. We made the short trip to the Waterfall and then up to the top of Brasstown Bald (tallest spot in GA) where you can see 3 states and 2 bears. Then it was down to the Consolidated Gold Mine where we panned for gold and went underground into the abandoned mine shaft (Kids say that was the best part of the trip) Don't be fooled by any of the other mine and gem places, the Consolidated Mine is the real deal. Too much fun stuff in Downtown Helen to mention (that is what the internet is for) but don't miss the indoor go carts, model RR place and all the toy stores and candy shops. Relax and have fun. Oh I almost forgot, Keith, the owner is awesome. Quick responses, helpful but out of the way. We did it all by text and email and had a great stay. Southern Comfort has my highest possible personal recommendation. (that and $2.75 will get you a cup of coffee but I had to say it) Thank you Keith! Chris - Tampa, FL

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: This is one of my favorite reviews. Not only does Chris mention the benefits of the property, but also the variety of attractions in town. We encourage our guests to list these in the register for our next visitors and Chris found a couple new ones we, as owners, will be trying on our own next visit. We are fortunate to have such wonderful guests at the Southern Comfort. Many thanks and we'll compare notes on your next visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Time had by All

    Awesome Time had by All

    • Guest Angela M.
    • Date of stay 05/05/13
    • Review Submitted 05/21/13
    We had a wonderful time at "Southern Comfort". We had folks of all ages that enjoyed the stay. The house is everything described and then some. Not to mention the fishing in Helen was awesome. I will say Keith was a pleasure to work with as well. If you're looking for close and I mean really close (downtown) that has great views and multiple options for all ages this is your place. You can't hear anyone upstairs downstairs and vice versa. Happy Travels.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We have had wonderful guests this spring and Angela's group was one of my favorites. We built on this section of the Chattahoochee because it was rated the top trout section in the state and saved me a 1200 mile trip to the Flaming Gorge in Utah for trophy fish. I am thrilled her group had skills to capitalize on our location and welcome their return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comments from our Guests

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from our Guests

    • Guest Southern Comfort Guests
    • Date of stay 04/22/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    Guest Comments from our fall and winter season: 4/20 - Thanks for your wonderful place. It has been a pleasure to reset my compass to true north on your beautiful property. B .... 4/4 - We had a wonderful midweek in the beautiful GA Mountains. The house was so roomy to our 2 families. Really enjoyed the great view, hottub, firepit and bbq. We would love to come back another time. Thank you for the memories! A, A,E & E Belgium ... 3/31 - Thank you for the wonderful place and access to the N. Georgia Riding trails! A - Canada Cycling Team ... 1/13 - We had a blast at the Southern Comfort. The house was so comfortable for 9 adults, 2 small children and small dog. Everything we needed was here - dishes, towels, even Christmas decorations to celebrate our belated family Christmas. Thansk for the flexibility with schedule as well. Betty's store was awesome! We had some wonderful sirloin steak on the grill. Really enjoyed the deck, fireplace, pool table and hot tub. Thanks for helping us make wonderful family memories. Walt, Angie & the entire family ... 12/31 - Thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful cabin during our Christmas Holiday. We met our family here and had such a great time catching up and making sweet memories. The cabin is beautiful and we loved the view. Have a Wonderful New Year. Blessings, the C's ... 12/26 - Lovely House, very comfortable. Xmas decorations were appreciated, enhanced our Helen Holliday. Very roomy for our family of 8! That was wonderful. Thanks for all the attention to small details. Would definitely recommend. Happy New Year! S, A and R families ... 12/14 - We enjoyed our stay here at Southern Comfort. We loved the Christmas decorations, we felt "festive"! We all slept well, loved the vistas, the charm and the Christmas in Helen. Merry Christmas. The A's ... 12/9 - Had a great weekend in your wonderful home celebrating friends 60th birthday. Fabulous house, enjoyed the hot tub, views, and decks. Thank you, the B's ... 11/13 - Wonderful relaxing stay in your beautiful home. 3 brothers and families. So close to everything, yet so far away! Thank you, the W's ... 10/28 - We had such a great time. Our annual stay in Helen was improved by the comfort and convenience of your beautiful home. Thank you so much! S, K, R, N, S, Z, M, C, E & AJ ... 10/19 - Libby was here for my awesome friend's 30th birthday!! ... 10/12 - Wonderful place! B, H, G, & T families.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely, Spacious Home and Beautiful Setting

    Lovely, Spacious Home and Beautiful Setting

    • Guest BJA (Overland Park, Kansas)
    • Date of stay 04/05/13
    • Review Submitted 08/19/13
    "Southern Comfort" is well named, because of it's lovely, relaxing setting. It was a joy to welcome spring up there, above Helen, GA, but I imagine any time of year, at Southern Comfort, would be beautiful. The home is very comfortable, and is also well-equipped. Although it's secluded, up in the mountains, finding good shops and stores for supplies is quite convenient. The owner always made sure the property was well maintained, and that our needs were met. We are very grateful for a very pleasant, and memorable, experience. We hope to return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Huge place, plenty of space.

    Huge place, plenty of space.

    • Guest Samba K.
    • Date of stay 03/28/13
    • Review Submitted 04/13/13
    Lovely place. It was huge, Nicely stocked kitchens on both floors. Loved the tall ceilings, walls of glass and big fireplace upstairs. The downstairs living room, game room and bedrooms worked great for the kids to have their own space. Hot Tub rocked! Very interesting to get to through a walk out window in the master bath but worked so no complaints. Nice and clean and fresh. Spectacular location overlooking Helen and minutes from town. Only a few minutes from Sunburst Stables, best zip lining ever. Be sure to check them out when you stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Cabin Rental Ever

    Best Cabin Rental Ever

    • Guest Dean R. (Buford, GA)
    • Date of stay 02/22/13
    • Review Submitted 02/28/13
    I have stayed at several cabins over the past 15 years in the mountains and none compare to this. Keith was very accommodating with our last minute reservation and responded very quickly to our request to find a peaceful location to spend our wedding anniversary. The cabin was very roomy and very well maintained there was wood by the fireplace inside to enhance the atmosphere. The veiw was fantastic with belconies on both levels. This place is great for a couple just wanting a great place to relax but big enought to handle a large group. We will defiantly be returning and recommending to all of our friends

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Spacious, convenient property

    Spacious, convenient property

    • Guest Kay W.
    • Date of stay 02/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    This spacious house is very convenient to all the attractions around Helen but is also secluded with mountain views. We had six adults and four small children in our party. Each family had private space, and the babies were able to take naps undisturbed. This property was clean and well furnished. All the beds were very comfortable. The owner was very accommodating. We recommend this property and would rent again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the kind words, so glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to hosting you again at the Southern Comfort!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mountain Christmas

    Mountain Christmas

    • Guest sabalchase2002 (Gainesville, Fla)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 12/27/12
    An amazing 2 level mountain hideaway! We had 7 adults (3 families!) and a 3 yr old for a mountain Christmas getaway. This home was perfect as we all had space.....It was even equipped with a Christmas tree and decorations. Wonderful fireplaces and 2 complete kitchens were constantly in use. The mountain road up to the home was a little challenging for Florida folks but the view was amazing. A few small maintenance issues which we made the owner aware of in our on site comments. Property was very clean and well maintained. Would definately come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Marvelous crew! Maintenance items included replacement light bulb location instructions, a circuit breaker tripped and need to swap out the second coffee maker pot, which are much appreciated and corrected. Look forward to our Florida family's return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exceeded Expectations!

    Exceeded Expectations!

    • Guest Wookie (Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/07/12
    • Review Submitted 12/13/12
    Everything was perfect! I always rent homes rather than stay in hotels and and am often leery of the photos not reflecting the actual home. As soon as we walked into the front door we were thrilled! This home was well equipped for 8 woman celebrating a milestone birthday. With two levels, each with own bedrooms, kitchen, living room with fire place and great outside decks it is a perfect getaway to share with two families. Plenty of room to gather as a group or get some private time away form group. Would highly recommend this house. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful weekend getaway

    Wonderful weekend getaway

    • Guest Emptynesters59 (United States)
    • Date of stay 11/10/12
    • Review Submitted 11/16/12
    We recently stayed at the Southern Comfort for a small family reunion weekend -- 6 adults and one child. This house is huge! Easily accommodated our group, and we could have comfortably had 2-4 more adults join us. This house is actually 2 in one -- each floor contains a full kitchen, a spacious living area, a huge deck, and 2 bedrooms on each floor. The nicest thing about the house is that it's so quiet and secluded, yet a mere 3 minute drive down the mountain right into the middle of Helen. Helen itself, we found to be delightfully tacky yet quaint! A fun place to spend a weekend. My only slight negative comment is that the hot tub was not easily accessible during our stay. The house description indicates that you can access it through the master bath; however, when we arrived, the instructions indicated that the bathroom access was not yet ready. So you had to walk through the front door, around the house, and in through a somewhat difficult to use gate. It was just too cold to spend that much time outside in order to use the hot tub, so sadly, we missed out on that. OK, one more comment -- the bed in the master bedroom was pretty uncomfortable and had a headboard that squeaked and grumbled with every slight movement -- changing positions in bed would wake you up sometimes! Can't speak for other beds; our guests said they slept well. Otherwise, you will find that everything you need is in this spacious, beautiful cabin. The owners have gone to great lengths to make their guests feel welcome. The owner also corresponded with me several times to give us tips about dining, shopping etc. Extremely helpful and accommodating "hosts"! Helen tip: Check out the meat counter at Betty's market. Gorgeous steaks to cook on the cabin's grill! We will definitely consider a return to this cabin. If the owners buy a new mattress/bed for the MBR, the house would be perfect! :)

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure hosting Susanne and her guests, she was a wonderful renter! Sorry, about the master bedroom access sign. The access works fine, but I forgot to take down the sign after I added the ramp railing. I'll also change the master bed (we have an extra). Great feedback!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Southern Comfort In Unicoi park

    Southern Comfort In Unicoi park

    • Guest Jill (Douglasville, Georgia )
    • Date of stay 09/28/12
    • Review Submitted 10/10/12
    We loved our stay at the Southern Comfort on the mountain above Helen. The drive up the hill ended in a framed picture of Mt Yonah next to the property. The decks looked outnout towards Mt. Alto. We hiked the nearby Unicoi mountain and waved to our riders as they passed. We also used the cabin as our base camp to ride Hogen and Unicoi, two of the largest peaks in the 6 gap ride out of Dahlonega. The cabin has a sparkling outdoor hot tub in its own deck, which was enjoyed by parents and kids. It has an entertainment room and little children's library, which we chose books from to read to the kids by the fireplace at night. The place is huge, with two large decks, where the parents had cocktail hour in the afternoon. We also recommend the pizza from nearby Nacoochee pizzeria out on the deck, which the owner had recommended to us. Putt putt in Helen was also a big hit. Great place for an active weekend with the family. Next time we will stay longer to see more of Helen.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comments from our guests

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from our guests

    • Guest Keith Buck
    • Date of stay 09/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/05/12
    I thought it would be helpful to share all our summer season guest book comments on the Southern Comfort. Stay tuned for fall season postings. .... Labor Day weekend Thanks so much, we had a wonderful time! Lauren & Raven, Erin, Sonia & David. .... 8/18 our two families had a great time staying at the 'Southern Comfort'! Next time we will have to stay longer! Thank you! Micheal, Melissa, Michaela, Mason, Mandelyn, Merridy, Marlyssa & Scott, Joy, Sydney, Ashlyn & Grant. .... 8/15 had a blast with our group of 10 here. Great view, fantastically spacious house, and phenomenal location. Can't wait to come back, we has a blast! Thank you ! Josh, Richard, Maggie, alli, Carissa, Noah, Arielle, Joe, Josh N., Karen. .... 7/29 we had a wonderful time, thank you for letting us rent your home! My parents had a wonderful 40th wedding anniversary weekend. S & L families. .... 7/6 thank you for our visit to your lovely home. Leslie L. .... 7/1 enjoyed the weekend in Helen! Went to a waterfall, tubing (which gets out just below the cabin), and Unicoi state beach. Great way to cool off during this heat wave. The R's. .... 6/15 awesome stay. Walked up from the waterpark today! Beautiful place here in the mountains. Arielle & Brad. .... 5/27 Wonderful place with gorgeous views! Thank you for having us for the weekend. K & A M. ... Hope you get a chance to peruse and add to our register. Southern Comfort Owner

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Perfect Place

    The Perfect Place

    • Guest Maggie (Douglasville)
    • Date of stay 08/12/12
    • Review Submitted 09/05/12
    We rented this house for 3 days to spend time with a friend who has deployed to Guam for four years. The second we arrived we were amazed by the size of the cabin and how beautiful it was. The two massive back decks are perfect if you are going for a relaxing time and enjoy sitting on a porch enjoying the scenery. The hot tub was FABULOUS. The location couldn't be more convenient to the city and the price is WELL worth every penny not to mention I do not think you could find a better deal in Helen. TRUST ME. Affordable Luxury. The only complaint I have is that I did not stay longer! I will for sure be renting this place again and I recommend you do the same.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Mid-week Escape!

    Wonderful Mid-week Escape!

    • Guest georgia girl (Douglasville, GA)
    • Date of stay 06/27/12
    • Review Submitted 06/30/12
    This home is huge! There was plenty of space for my group of 9 to spread out and provide room for kids and space for the adults. The location is absolutely fabulous - so close to town with complete peace and quiet. The outdoor hot tub was a favorite for all of us! The owner is very accommodating and provided information about favorite places and restaurants to try in the area. I really felt we found a 'hidden gem' and we'll definitely go back soon!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]