Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
A little bit of Montana heaven.

The Montana Dream...Huge, Log Lodge on Gorgeous Private Pond! [#422190] | View Property

Private Homes
Lodge, 5 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 14)
$450. per nite
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • Log Home and Cat Skiing/boarding adventure!!

    Log Home and Cat Skiing/boarding adventure!!

    • Guest Ray (Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/06/14
    • Review Submitted 03/08/14
    Just got back from an unforgettable time with a bunch of close friends celebrating a few 40th birthdays at the ultimate Cat Ski/board and lodging combination in Montana! Thanks Ky and Jay for being such great hosts! We spent 3 nights at the exclusive lodge, booked a private cat for day 1, and skied/boarded Whitefish on day 2...perfect way to experience NW Montana and the amazing ski/boarding terrain it has to offer. The lodge was immaculate when we showed up, the setting was second to none, and it easily accommodated our group of 14, with room to spare. The Cat Skiing/boarding was phenomenal with an outstanding staff (thanks again Clay and the Lisa's!), and for a bunch of first-timer's, we are all sold on this amazing experience! Will most definitely spread the word, and look forward to a repeat!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Family Vacation

    Great Family Vacation

    • Guest Family (Texas)
    • Date of stay 12/21/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    Wow! The Lodge was more than we could have hoped for; outstanding hosts, the perfect place for Christmas (beautifully decorated), and exactly what a family needs for a great holiday. This is an amazing place to entertain or kick back and relax with nature. Ky and her family will make sure you have a great holiday - they sure did for us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • GLORIOUS!!!

    GLORIOUS!!!

    • Guest Pam V. (Covington,LA)
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    My husband and I spent 18 days in this heavenly place and we hated to leave. We entertained family and friends and it was wonderful to share this special place with them. Ky and Jay have provided every amenity,the well stocked kitchen,the comfy beds,music system,hammock,rocking chairs and hot tub for night time star-gazing to name a few of my favorites. We spent lots of time exploring Whitefish,Glacier National Park,Kallispell and Bigfork but were happy to get back" home" in time for the sunsets from the front porch. Thanks Ky and Jay for sharing your piece of heaven with us! Hope to get back soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Most Beautiful spot in Montana

    Most Beautiful spot in Montana

    • Guest Jeremy (Calgary)
    • Date of stay 08/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/27/13
    I stayed 4 nights in this amazing place in late August and couldn't have had a better time. Tons of beds if you have a rather large party (We had 12 and everyone got their own bed). The pond out front is absolutely stunning and the temperature is perfect for some swimming. The 12 of us were a little hesitant at first being it was a little far from town but once we were here no one wanted to leave. I will definately be booking at this property again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise in Montana!

    Paradise in Montana!

    • Guest Lisa M. (New York)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/15/13
    We recently spent a week at this wonderful lodge - 6 adults and 7 kids and had the vacation of a lifetime! The house was big and welcoming and had everything you needed. The kids loved the bunk beds, game room and being able to walk down to the lake, swim and visit with Ky, the dogs, horses and the bobcat. The views off the deck were amazing, and resting in the hammock listening to the birds was just heavenly. Ky and Jay were wonderful. It was an incredibly wonderful place to experience Montana and the lasting memories are priceless.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and Majestic Montana Vacation Home for large three family gathering.

    Beautiful and Majestic Montana Vacation Home for large three family gathering.

    • Guest Carolyn (Westport, CT)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/12/13
    This was a beautiful house and we all enjoyed it immensely. We were a large group of 13(6 adults and 7 children) and had plenty of room. The accommodations were superb. House was very clean, beds extremely comfortable and rooms were beautifully decorated This wonderful house had all the amenities we could ever need. Fully stocked kitchen with plenty of plates, glasses, pots, etc. So nice since we often cooked large meals. We had plenty of bath and lake towels. We all loved the game room with pool table and arcade games, lots of family pool matches occurred here. The most wonderful part of staying at Ky and Jay's place was how our children interacted here. They loved to go to the barn and visit Ky, her horses, the dogs and Sway the Bobcat. Ky took the time to talk to our children and teach them about all her wonderful animals. None of us wanted to leave and some wanted to move here. The activities we enjoyed while staying here were swimming, hiking, boating, horseback riding, rafting and sightseeing at Glacier National Park.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ideal Spot for Large Family Group

    Ideal Spot for Large Family Group

    • Guest Colorado (Denver, CO United States)
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    We have just returned from a fun filled five days at this beautiful log lodge. Accommodations were beautifully appointed, very clean with a well equipped kitchen, barbecue, plenty of eating space and gorgeous views of the private pond with boat. Owner was on property and available to attend any needs. Enjoyed the wildlife, especially the horses, pet bobcat, dogs and resident squirrel on upper deck that kept us entertained for hours!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wow! What a place to stay.

    Wow! What a place to stay.

    • Guest Big Family Holiday (Denver, Colorado, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 08/01/13
    14 of us have just spent 5 nights here and had a fantastic time! The kids were very happy in the bunk beds and especially loved the pool table. The adults loved hanging out on the deck where the views were incredible! I thoroughly recommend this property to you. Thank you Ky for looking after us so well. I have already recommended your place to a friend of mine that visits the area each year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Natural Horsemanship Lessons - An Awesome Experience

    Natural Horsemanship Lessons - An Awesome Experience

    • Guest Diana (Hohenfels, Germany)
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 07/18/13
    I agree wholeheartedly with all the previous reviews, including my husband’s - just wanted to comment on how much I enjoyed my natural horsemanship lessons with Ky and her wonderful horses. Learning about horse behavior and how to communicate with horses gently through intent and body language was a very moving and inspirational experience. Ky is everything you could want in an instructor; she’s passionate, knowledgeable, experienced, patient, and loads of fun! Her horses are magnificent, spirited creatures, each with his own wonderful personality. Considering that some of them were rescues with reason to distrust and avoid people, it is a testament to natural horsemanship in general and Ky’s skill and compassion in particular to see how openly and eagerly her horses seek out interactions with humans and even ask to join in during a lesson. I can’t wait to come back and visit my new friends again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 10 Days in Paradise

    10 Days in Paradise

    • Guest Steve & Deb (Atlanta, Ga)
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    Beautiful home with every amenity. The front deck with the table & chairs, swing & rocking chairs that overlooked the lake was beautiful to watch the ducks & deer, as well as gorgeous sunsets. The side deck with the hammock to take a nap in while the birds sang me to sleep ...no words can really do it justice. The hot tub on the back deck was nice during the cool evenings. My personal favorite was the inside of the house.... lots of room to roam in, clean, spacious, and a very well-appointed kitchen. My husbands favorite....the game room..billiards, games, big screen t.v,wi-fi, bar, fridge, large leather seating

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exceeds 5 Stars.

    Exceeds 5 Stars.

    • Guest Jade (U.S. Military, Europe)
    • Date of stay 06/16/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    Definitely exceeds the available 5 star rating. I agree with previous reviewers that no photos can capture the true beauty of this lodge and property. Breath taking views, easy access to town and all of the main attractions. Another huge plus is the absolute privacy, no other home in sight. The game room is fantastic and whether enjoying the view/sunset from the full main deck, reading in the hammock on the side deck or relaxing in the hot tub on the back deck, this place has it all. The owners set the standard for hospitality and provided a personable and relaxing atmosphere during our visit and we thank them very much for sharing this wonderful location. We'll be back again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Place, Amazing Stay!

    Amazing Place, Amazing Stay!

    • Guest Amanda (Lethbridge)
    • Date of stay 05/18/13
    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
    The pictures definitely do not do this place justice! It is a beautiful home with soo much space and the location is amazing. Ky was very helpful and we couldnt have asked for a better stay. The whole weekend we were there, it poured, but they have numerous covered decks so we were still able to spend all our time outside, which was just what we wanted. We will definitely go back and want to make this location a yearly place to go and stay. It will be recommeded to all our family and friends. Everything about this property was above and beyond our expectations!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A most excellent getaway!

    A most excellent getaway!

    • Guest Vince (Phila PA)
    • Date of stay 03/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/21/13
    My family of four rented out the house for a week as we were in MT for a ski and get away vacation. We skied out west many times in CO and UT, but also have been to Whitefish a few times because we love the more laidback and grounded feel that northern MT delivers. Living in the Phila area, we enjoy vacations that offer us a time to "decompress". Kylanne and Jay's place provided us a wonderful opportunity to do so. They so easily make it feel like a home away from home. The house was very clean and well maintained. The home is beautiful and spacious offering wonderful views. My son the engineering student was very impressed that Jay built the house himself about 15 years ago. Ky and Jay's home is nearby so they are readily accessible for anything you need. Whitefish is a great little town with wonderful shopping (which my wife and daughter loved and my son and I endured), and a number of great restaurants (this from a person who appreciates the great restaurant city of Phila). Whitefish mountain is an easy 20 min drive away- a nice mountain for both expert and beginner skiers. The real treat was taking a day with Northern Mtn Powder guides, which is Jay and Ky's backcountry ski operation. It was skiing in powder heaven! BTW, Ky also mentioned that their busiest rental season is SPring-Fall thanks to Galcier National Park and golfing. As an advid golfer and buddies golf trip fan, I am thinking of bring the guys here for a golf trip. You cant go wrong with this wonderful, serene location with terrific hosts

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Komunity Film Crew Absolutley LOVED this cabin

    Komunity Film Crew Absolutley LOVED this cabin

    • Guest rob (kelowna bc can)
    • Date of stay 01/22/13
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    We came to go skiing with Great Northern Powder Guides on Jan 22 and stayed in this Cabin for 2 nights during our stay. We didn't know a lot about our accommodation but we were completely blown away by the construction, setting, layout and amenities of the accommodation. The house is set up in 2 separate areas which allowed some of the group to go to bed early and others to stay up shooting pool, watching movies on the big screen while enjoying a few frosty beverages while overlooking the pond and the big Montana sky. Jay and Ky are very nice people and they went over the top in providing us with the best possible experience while we were there. We give 5 stars to this accommodation as well as the cat skiing at Great Northern Powder Guides. We are already looking forward to coming back next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Accommodations

    Awesome Accommodations

    • Guest Mark (Red Deer)
    • Date of stay 01/21/13
    • Review Submitted 01/31/13
    Perfect accommodations everything you could want and more. Comfy beds, clean, beautiful absolutely perfect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Belated Family Christmas in Winter Wonderland !

    A Belated Family Christmas in Winter Wonderland !

    • Guest Kathy (Saskatchewan Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/04/13
    • Review Submitted 01/09/13
    Wow ! What a wonderful holiday we had in this magestic lodge [home] ! Ky is a perfect owner to deal with ! The pictures don't do this property justice ! Our scattered family of 14 meet every odd year in Jan. for a belated Christmas vacation. We always rent vacation homes and this was the prettiest property we have been in. Ky left up the beautiful Christmas decorations as we requested. We enjoyed the 10ft plus tree on the deck outside the livingroom ! Our 3 grandchildren had plenty of room for running around and they loved watching the chickadees and squirrel eating seeds in the Christmas tree ! The house is fully stocked, the beds were great and the views are out of this world ! The winding drive was cleared even before it stopped snowing ! Dont hesitate to rent this property !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • OUTSTANDING!!

    OUTSTANDING!!

    • Guest El (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 12/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/21/13
    This Montana Dream Lodge is truly wonderful! We couldn't have asked for more - everything was clean, spacious, very comfortable and beautifully decorated for the Christmas holiday. Our large group of 12 had a remarkable time and would love to return. Ky was a wonderful host. We HIGHLY recommend this Montana Dream Lodge place for large groups.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Cabin & Hosts!

    Amazing Cabin & Hosts!

    • Guest Chrystie (United States)
    • Date of stay 12/20/12
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    This cabin was an amazing experience. It felt like home while we were there. Ky & Jay did not overlook any detail! Exceptionally clean, well furnished, and stocked with EVERYTHING you need. It truly felt like home for the Holidays. All of our needs were well taken care of while respecting our privacy. We had our two dogs there, and there were beds and water bowls set out for them. There are beautiful horses on the property that Ky showed to our children. We also went on a snowcat excursion with Jay one day...AMAZING MUST DO experience! You will not regret booking your next vacation at this beautifully, well maintained, cabin.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy, private, fully equipped and spacious cabin in serene surroundings

    Cozy, private, fully equipped and spacious cabin in serene surroundings

    • Guest Marius (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    We were a group of 12 staying at the cabin seven days. And had the most wonderful time there. The pictures do not tell the whole story for this cabin. In reality it is much more beautiful and the surrounding landscape is amazing. The pond is great for fishing and swim in. They have a fire pit right by the pond where we spend a few evenings. Inside the cabin we had all the comfort we could ask for with a modern kitchen, large living room with fire pit, large game room with a big TV, and pool table. The bedrooms were very comfy, with 2 king size bedrooms and 2 queen size. One of the kings is a “loft” style room with its own bathroom (I got that one:). Would we go there again? You betcha!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Time

    Amazing Time

    • Guest Afra H. (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/11/12
    We were a party of 13 that rented this cabin for a week to do some hiking at the Glacier National Park. Initially our thought was just to really spend time just sleeping there but upon arrival we noticed how secluded and nice the cabin was. The owner was very accommodating and friendly, she had 2 bottles of wine along with some trail mix and a hiking book ready for us upon our arrival. The cabin was clean and very cozy. The view from the porch every morning was breathtaking as we had breakfast overlooking the pond across from us. We were also able to have a bonfire at night and all enjoy each other’s company along the fire. There were plenty of bathrooms and rooms for everyone to have a place to sleep and to feel comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to others as I truly enjoyed my time at the cabin and my only regret was not spending more time at the cabin. I’m looking forward to coming back soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Week-long getaway

    Week-long getaway

    • Guest Peter (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/11/12
    I can not believe that there are still such wonderful hosts as this one. I have taken trips before to private residences, and everywhere you go, owners try to hammer you with rules, boundaries and threats. This time was sooo different. There could have not been better hosts, they did EVERYTHING they could to keep us comfortable, way beyond any material rewards, but rather out of pure human courtesy. As an example, one of us broke an ax one day cutting some firewood. The next day, a new one, bought by the owners, was sitting on the porch. Not to mention the natural beauty, and the spacious place, the jacuzzi, the kayak, sound system inside the house, pool table, huge screen and everything else. All my other experiences paled in comparison. Thank you so much!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A little piece of heaven

    A little piece of heaven

    • Guest a_muntro (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/11/12
    We just returned home from a seven day trip in Montana where we stayed in the most beautiful place in the world. Our cabin overlooking the pond was beautiful beyond words and the owners we most accommodating. Everything was in perfect condition and it was better stocked with kitchenware than my own home. It looked even better in person than in the pics. Fell in love and I hope to return next year. Thank you very much for creating such a little piece of heaven!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing Ranch Experience&Amazing Hosts!

    Relaxing Ranch Experience&Amazing Hosts!

    • Guest Francine (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/20/12
    Our family with two kids (12 &9) had such a great stay here. The house is beautiful, comfortable and has all the amenities--great cooking/baking kitchen, wifi, cable, lots of spaces for relaxing and living--and the property is beautiful. We were outside hiking around the property & adjoining state forests; kayaking and fishing in the pond; and my daughter and I went most mornings to the barn to play with the horses and learn horsemanship from Ky. She is a great teacher-conscientious about the students' comfort and anxiety as well as the horses! Anything we needed, any advice, Ky and Jay and their staff were there to assist and they were very conscious of giving us privacy. We have rented many homes throughout the past ten years and this was our best experience. The kitchen is stocked with cooking utensils & a pantry which is good for me who likes to cook on vacation! The bedrooms are comfy; our daugher loved the horse themed room and our son loved the bear themed room. The family's favorite space to lounge indoors was the game room with pool table, atari machine and big screen tv. Our favorite outdoor space to lounge, watch the sunset and eat our meals was the deck off the kitchen level. The property is secluded and we had great time as a family indoors and outside enjoying the beauty of Montana. We love Glacier Park and it is an easy drive to the park for an awe-inspiring hike then back home for the night! Whitefish is filled with great restaurants, a farmers market every Tuesday and great shops and galleries. We are planning to return and highly recommend the property!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]