Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
FUN HOUSE: Dining area featuring a custom designed handmade table.

Real Seattle Living - Live with the Locals and Walk Downtown [#422200] | View Property

Capitol Hill
Rent one or Both Units Sleeps 12-14 people. upto 5 bedrooms, and up to 3.5 baths
$415 - $560/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (28)

Sort by:
  • Fun House for Business!

    Fun House for Business!

    • Guest Jayer (El Paso)
    • Date of stay 09/08/13
    • Review Submitted 09/26/13
    Myself and two other business associates stayed at the Fun House while we were in town for a conference. We had a great time. The Fun House was spacious enough for a few guys and our luggage, and there was plenty of room for us to spread out and really soak up the place. The furniture is really hip and modern and fit the place nicely. The place came with wireless Internet, which was able to handle three laptops without any interference or slow connections. Definitely recommend, whether you are traveling on business or visiting with family. ~Ross K., and business associates

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love the location, Love the Hot Tub!

    Love the location, Love the Hot Tub!

    • Guest Kristinah G.
    • Date of stay 09/02/13
    • Review Submitted 09/27/13
    We really had a great time at the property. We specifically love the hot tub.It makes our stay more enjoyable. Love the location, everything is just a walk away from the house. Volunteer Park is about two blocks. We don't have to go far to dine or stroll. We look forward to our next stay :-) Kristinah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Location, Love the hot tub!

    Great Location, Love the hot tub!

    • Guest Kristinah G.
    • Date of stay 09/02/13
    • Review Submitted 09/27/13
    We really had a great time at the property. We specifically love the hot tub.It makes our stay more enjoyable. Love the location, everything is just a walk away from the house. Volunteer Park is about two blocks. We don't have to go far to dine or stroll. We look forward to our next stay :-) Kristinah

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful, Comfortable, Affordable!

    Beautiful, Comfortable, Affordable!

    • Guest Jayer (El Paso)
    • Date of stay 08/16/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    A great stay! The Fun House was really way too big for the four of us, but it was so much nicer than tripping over one another in a cramped, cheap hotel room. Definitely a step up! Recommend to anyone for any purpose! Beautiful, comfortable, affordable!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Seattle Vacation

    Seattle Vacation

    • Guest Jayer (El Paso)
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 08/03/13
    This was an awesome vacation. The "Pure Space" property was in a great area. We could walk to just about everywhere we wanted to go. It was a convenient walk to breakfast and even some of the tourist areas we visited. Everything was clean, well cared for, and the service was top notch.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy Nest!

    Cozy Nest!

    • Guest Jayer (El Paso)
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/18/13
    My best friend and I spent a long weekend in Seattle several weeks ago and we really had a great time. We stayed at the Nest and it was really great! It wasn't too large, but wasn't too small either. There was plenty of space for the two of us, but it was a total upgrade from any hotel we would have found in the area. Will definitely visit again! Highly recommended! Five stars!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly Recommend the Nest

    Highly Recommend the Nest

    • Guest Jayer (El Paso)
    • Date of stay 06/10/13
    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
    My girlfriend and I stayed at the Nest when visiting her parents for a week this past June. We loved it! Her parents' house is a little small, but we didn't want to stay in a hotel. The Nest was a perfect blend! It was cozy, modern, with a super eclectic style like no other!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Stay in Seattle

    Great Stay in Seattle

    • Guest NM and TN travellers (Gallup, NM)
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/05/13
    Our 12 member two family group had a great stay at the Fun House. We had plenty of room and enjoyed the hot tub. We loved the location with great restaurants and coffee houses within a short walk. We used rapid transit to get around town easily. Having a grocery store and drug store within a few blocks was very convenient. We'd recommend to anyone looking for a great city stay in Seattle!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice house in Capitol hill

    Nice house in Capitol hill

    • Guest sv (Germany)
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/15/13
    + House was clean + nice and vivid neighborhood + full equiped kitchen + jacuzzi + washing maschiene etc available + stayed with maximum amount of people and was still OK - the media room is small, very little space for luggage in that room Will stay again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A fun time was had by all@

    A fun time was had by all@

    • Guest Christy D.
    • Date of stay 03/28/13
    • Review Submitted 04/05/13
    We rented this fun house for a weekend full of wedding prep and activities. It was easy to find, perfectly clean and easy to access upon arrival. We had three couples in the individual bedrooms as well as the bridal party of four staying in the media room (my daughter said was the perfect sleep over room) the night before the wedding. We were all very comfortable, there was plenty of space for all the girls to get ready (the two bathrooms w/showers plus the 1/2 bath were fully utilized :) and the proximity to stores and restaurants made this the perfect spot for us to enjoy all that is Capital Hill. Having the hot tub on the very private back deck was great but one thing to keep in mind is the access to the back deck is through the bedroom on the main floor which also has a 1/2 bathroom, direct access to the front yard, and a very comfortable queen size bed. We had out of town guests who stayed in the upstairs master with the king size memory foam bed and as other reviewers stated, was the most comfortable bed they've slept in. The third bedroom upstairs was rather small and the bed in there didn't get quite as good reviews as the other three, however it was still comfortable. The pictures in the listing are accurate keeping in mind this is an old home that has been well maintained. We had plenty of driveway parking as well as street parking for our friends and family who came in and out to visit. The kitchen was well stocked and we all enjoyed the fun glassware in the provided. My husband enjoyed the front yard with all the guys and we ladies were in and out and all about the entire four days we were there. The use of the washer and dryer included in the basement was a great added benefit. All in all we had an excellent experience and a very fun time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun time was had by all!

    Fun time was had by all!

    • Guest Christy D.
    • Date of stay 03/28/13
    • Review Submitted 04/05/13
    We rented this fun house for a weekend full of wedding prep and activities. It was easy to find, perfectly clean and easy to access upon arrival. We had three couples in the individual bedrooms as well as the bridal party of four staying in the media room (my daughter said was the perfect sleep over room) the night before the wedding. We were all very comfortable, there was plenty of space for all the girls to get ready (the two bathrooms w/showers plus the 1/2 bath were fully utilized :) and the proximity to stores and restaurants made this the perfect spot for us to enjoy all that is Capital Hill. Having the hot tub on the very private back deck was great but one thing to keep in mind is the access to the back deck is through the bedroom on the main floor which also has a 1/2 bathroom, direct access to the front yard, and a very comfortable queen size bed. We had out of town guests who stayed in the upstairs master with the king size memory foam bed and as other reviewers stated, was the most comfortable bed they've slept in. The third bedroom upstairs was rather small and the bed in there didn't get quite as good reviews as the other three, however it was still comfortable. The pictures in the listing are accurate keeping in mind this is an old home that has been well maintained. We had plenty of driveway parking as well as street parking for our friends and family who came in and out to visit. The kitchen was well stocked and we all enjoyed the fun glassware in the provided. My husband enjoyed the front yard with all the guys and we ladies were in and out and all about the entire four days we were there. The use of the washer and dryer included in the basement was a great added benefit. All in all we had an excellent experience and a very fun time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad to have you stay in our home. Believe it or not its as fun for us as it is for you :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Better Than Any Hotel!

    Better Than Any Hotel!

    • Guest Brenna M.
    • Date of stay 02/07/13
    • Review Submitted 06/30/13
    I’ve visited Seattle several times in my life but always stayed in a hotel. I got really sick of the same old amenities and the same service. This was the first time staying at the Nest and I really enjoyed it! Although it is more expensive than a standard Seattle hotel, you get A LOT more for your money. It’s quiet, comfortable, and personable. It’s like staying in someone’s guest house...only you have the place to yourself!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Accomodations!

    Awesome Accomodations!

    • Guest Dj sulli (United States)
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/15/12
    My gal and I spent two night at "the Nest" in Seattle and it made our trip! From the contemporary decor to the well thought out use of space; we couldn't of found a more fitting spot to call home during our stay in the great NW. One morning we had an amazing breakfast a block away at the Coastal kitchen, followed by a cup of that signature Seattle java next door at Cafe Ladro. Everything we needed was right there, it was quite literally perfect for us. I doubt I will ever get another hotel in Seattle again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Location and Awesome backyard

    Great Location and Awesome backyard

    • Guest Alex Goldfarb (Minneapolis, MN USA)
    • Date of stay 10/04/12
    • Review Submitted 10/10/12
    We had 8 friends that stayed at the house for a local wedding. The king size memory foam bed was one of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time. The hot tub was a sweet bonus on a chilly Seattle night. Location was prime and walkable to great food spots, coffee shops and the like. Owner was responsive to needs and the weekend worked out well!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome time, we will be back!

    Awesome time, we will be back!

    • Guest James (Washington)
    • Date of stay 09/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    Several groups of friends and I booked the Fun House in Seattle for a week to go on vacation. None of us had ever been to Seattle, so we thought it would be pretty cool to try. There were 9 of us total, and there was even room for more! The accommodations were spacious and we got such a better deal than we would have if we booked a hotel suite. We all had an awesome time and we’ll definitely be back the next time we are on a group vacation! ~James Allen M. and 8 other friends…

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Stay!

    Great Stay!

    • Guest Brenna M.
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    A great stay! The Fun House was really way too big for the four of us, but it was so much nicer than tripping over one another in a cramped, cheap hotel room. Definitely a step up! Recommend to anyone for any purpose! Beautiful, comfortable, affordable! ~Anonymous

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Super Love it!

    Super Love it!

    • Guest Jack (Idaho)
    • Date of stay 08/26/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    Love it, love it, love it!! The Fun House was amazing. Even though we were a large group (10 people), the Fun House was able to accommodate each one of us, and with a little room to spare! We didn’t feel cramped at all. We were able to all hang out together but have rooms to ourselves when we wanted privacy or peace and quiet. The great thing is we definitely got more for our money. Booking a few suites to accommodate all of us in downtown Seattle would have cost a little more than for all of us to chip in at the Fun House, and we got WAY more than we would have staying at a hotel…including housekeeping service! GREAT stay, great time! Jack N., Sophie K., and fam and friends

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Real Treat!

    A Real Treat!

    • Guest Wendy (Iowa)
    • Date of stay 08/24/12
    • Review Submitted 09/21/12
    Staying at the Fun House was a real treat! We just came back from a long Labor Day weekend and we were all thoroughly amazed! My mom couldn’t get over the kitchen…it was huge and had all the best appliances you can find. Even though we were on vacation, she still wanted to cook. We had some awesome times out bar hopping and trying the local cuisine, but we also enjoyed an awesome dinner in. The Fun House is really a great treat whether you decide to stay in or go out! Highly recommended to groups of any size or age group. There is something for everyone! -Haley L. and fam

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a Great time

    What a Great time

    • Guest chris D.
    • Date of stay 08/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/12/12
    My family and I stayed in the home for gathering in Seattle. WOW. what a location.. You can't get better than this. The house was clean, kept up, and we loved soaking the hot tub. It was surrounded and private. It seemed the the guests before us had a great time as well. The recycle canisters outside were a bit overfilled. but, that was about all we could find wrong with this property. I liked that it was a 4 bedroom and with the pull out in the living room the door closed and it was almost like we have 5 bedrooms. We took the option to rent "the nest" as well. It gave us another bathroom, loft bed, and kitchen. Plenty of room for 14 of us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome family vacation

    Awesome family vacation

    • Guest ~The Kirkpatricks and the O’Connells (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/02/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    Our family stayed at the Fun House last month for our yearly family vacation. We had never been to Seattle before, so it was such a great experience! The Fun House is in a great area! I felt like we were in the heart of Seattle and only minutes away from all the great sights and sounds! We were near tons of art and culture, tourist attractions, not to mention all the great restaurants and bars for the adults. The kids also had a blast. They had their own room and had a great time playing games and having the space to themselves. We’ll definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Location, Beautiful Home!

    Excellent Location, Beautiful Home!

    • Guest Ken T (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 09/23/12
    Stayed at the Fun House on business for a few days. Although traveling on business isn’t my favorite thing to do, this stay was quite enjoyable…thanks to the Fun House! It was way more personal than the standard hotel room, and much more comfortable! Although I wasn’t in town long enough to take advantage of all the bells and whistles (the immense kitchen, or immaculate dining area…), I’ll definitely take my girlfriend here in the future. I would recommend the Fun House to anyone!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home

    Home away from home

    • Guest Jason L. and Cindy P. and friends (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/04/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    My girlfriend and I and our two friends stayed at the Fun House over the 4th of July this summer. We had an amazing time! The amenities, entertainment, and comfort were endless. It was like being home away from home! There was plenty of room for the four of us and the best part is we still each had our own space without tripping over one another. Traveling to Seattle was amazing…and we attribute that to staying at the Fun House!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay for families

    Great place to stay for families

    • Guest Bill DeDomenico and fam (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/07/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    Our two families stayed at the Fun House while we were in Seattle for a wedding. While the wedding was absolutely beautiful and enjoyable in itself, we had a great time on our own in the Fun House. It was modern yet unique and homey yet spacious. We were thoroughly impressed not only with the décor and the quality of our quarters but also the rates for such nice accommodations, which we thought were more than reasonable. The Fun House is a great place to stay for families, business associates, or even couples’ romantic getaways.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • It was everything this family wanted and needed to spend time together

    It was everything this family wanted and needed to spend time together

    • Guest J (houston, tx)
    • Date of stay 05/01/12
    • Review Submitted 09/19/12
    My wife and I took the kids as well as our friends and their kids and we all stayed at the Fun House this summer for about two weeks. We all had the best time. The kids never wanted to leave the media room. It was big for everyone to enjoy, and we even stayed in a night or two and all watched a few movies and cooked up some popcorn. It was everything this family wanted and needed to spend time together. We were absolutely grateful for stumbling upon the Fun House and will definitely be back again some day. Highly recommended! Five stars! ~Joe S. and fam

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Seattle Wedding Event

    Seattle Wedding Event

    • Guest Ron P. (Anchorage, Alaska)
    • Date of stay 01/06/12
    • Review Submitted 01/10/12
    I have stayed in several VRBO units around the USA. I give this unit a good rating, but the "sleeps 13" is a bit of a stretch. It could sleep 13 only if some of the people are small (ie kids) or are VERY familiar with each other. It was very clean, good working kitchen, and fully equipped. Great location on Capital Hill in Seattle with good access to downtown and many restaurants a short walk from the front door. It worked well for our group but since it was event driven (nephews wedding) and a fairly short stay. Having only 2 bathing areas was a bit tight for the 10 people in our group, but it worked. I would recommend it for a large family gathering

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Owner response: Ron, Glad you had a great wedding. We try our best to make it clear that 13 is a cozy fit for 13 adults. For the record 10 is about the perfect fit for the house the one room with 4 beds is reasonably sized and works for 2 adults or 4 kids is what we like to say. Homeaway.com recently made some changes that makes that less obvious. That said we have often been told its a great house and you can't really get a better location (other than my other house the Oasis). It is possible to add on the 2nd unit "the Nest" which has a another full bath, full studio kitchen, queen bed, and single pull out (recommended for people 30 and under) . If there are more than 11 people in the house we encourage you to pick up the extra unit. Thanks for staying with us :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • November 17-28 2011

    November 17-28 2011

    • Guest Dianna (Detroit Mi)
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/28/11
    Really clean and well appointed. Close to stores and an easy walk to anywhere. Bus line right outside the door for downtown area. I wanted for nothing. My only complaint is one room was really cold but the extra blankets made it bearable. Hot tub a very nice plus. I highly recommend this rental and would rent it again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Diana, Glad to have you :-) The "cold room" now has a small heater in it to keep you warm at night. Sometimes these 100 year old houses need a little more touch and love. Thanks for the feedback.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • rcrosenau@gmail.com

    rcrosenau@gmail.com

    • Guest Randy (Portland)
    • Date of stay 11/02/11
    • Review Submitted 11/08/11
    Excellent, I want it next year, plus the house in front.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fantastic

    Fantastic

    • Guest Jesse (Vancouver, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/28/11
    • Review Submitted 02/22/11
    I recently rented The Fun House for a special event for a friend. There were 12 of us all told and the house accommodated us beautifully. The custom made hexagonal dining/picnic table in particular was a hit as we found ourselves naturally convening around the table all the time for dinners, games, stories... In addition, the neighbourhood, Capitol Hill, is awesome. Literally just outside your door are a handful of restaurants and coffee shops that are quintessential Seattle. By staying in the heart of a real Seattle neighbourhood you're experience of the city is that much richer and more authentic. Plus you can walk to downtown if you're wanting to visit the more touristy sites. I'd definately recommend The Fun House and look forward to visiting again in the future.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]