Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front door looking from the open space

Black Canyon Get Away [#423388] | View Property

Estes Park
Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$150 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • Magical

    Magical

    • Guest Lisa C.
    • Date of stay 12/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/29/13
    Magical is how he kept describing our Christmas stay. While the Christmas Eve snow and huge herd of Elk walking right past the back door were not in the owners control, the home in which we could enjoy them was. It was clean, cozy, updated and had all of the amenities to stay and enjoy a magical Christmas. The owners have been incredible! Down to mailing me some electronic cables we forgot. We will definitely go back, maybe make a tradition.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you had a great Christmas in Estes. We would love to have you stay again when you are back in the Estes. Happy travels! Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay at a Great price

    Great place to stay at a Great price

    • Guest Frank (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 12/06/13
    • Review Submitted 12/27/13
    My rating really is 4 1/2 stars. This condo is very well maintained and nicely furnished. It's really nice having the 2 car garage to park in. All the appliances worked fine. We had a small problem with one of the toilets while there but the owners answered our call right away and had someone there to fix it the very next day (it was not an emergency type situation). The condo was easy to find and certainly within walking distance of the town. We'd highly suggest you eat at least one meal at Mama Rosa's and Poppy's Pizza & Grill. Dan & Pam were very friendly and easy to work with in renting the condo and allowing tweaks to arrival or checkout times. We'd definitely rent this condo again. If there were more towel racks, mirrors in the bedrooms and a dishcloth for washing dishes I'd have given a 5 star rating. It'd also be nice to have a push broom in the garage during winter to sweep out all the cinders and junk that cars drag in to avoid dragging them into the condo on your shoes.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your feedback and review. We already took care a few of your concerns. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Estes and look forward to hearing from you the next time you are in the area. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very Nice Rental & Convenient to Town

    Very Nice Rental & Convenient to Town

    • Guest Fawn S. (Laramie, WY)
    • Date of stay 12/06/13
    • Review Submitted 12/18/13
    Thank you very much for the lovely vacation rental. It suited our needs very well and had all the amenities expected and then some. The condo was clean and very tastefully decorated. The owners were VERY helpful and acted immediately when a plumbing issue arose during our stay. Thanks again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy you enjoyed our place. Please contact us if you are ever back in Estes! Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Mountain Get-away!!

    Perfect Mountain Get-away!!

    • Guest Joy M. (Blairstown, Iowa)
    • Date of stay 11/23/13
    • Review Submitted 12/26/13
    This was the perfect spot to spend Thanksgiving week. Beautiful views, close to the grocery store and gas station, close to downtown Estes and RMNP. Plenty of room for my family of four and brother/sister-in-law. All the comforts of home! The best part was watching the elk right outside the door while sitting in front of the fire place. Will be returning here in the future!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad that you enjoyed our condo and welcome you back in the near future. You are right - the wildlife viewing from the living room is amazing. Happy New Year, Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ron

    ron

    • Guest ronald s. (holderness nh)
    • Date of stay 10/13/13
    • Review Submitted 10/28/13
    great stay! clean & quite. owner very helpful. great value. good location

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and look forward to hearing from you the next time you are in Estes. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Girls Fall Getaway

    Girls Fall Getaway

    • Guest Dee (Elk Grove Village, IL)
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/11/13
    We had a great time in Estes Park, the condo was warm and cozy and couldn't have asked for a better location. There was plenty of room for the 6 of us, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The views are spectacular! Wish we could have stayed longer, maybe next time. Thank you Pam and Dan for letting us use your condo!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are glad that you were able to enjoy Estes Park area even with the limited access and RMNP closure due to the Federal Gov shut down. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to hearing from you the next time you are in Estes. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Accomondations

    Amazing Accomondations

    • Guest Couple from Mississippi (Lake Cormorant, MS)
    • Date of stay 09/22/13
    • Review Submitted 10/04/13
    Accommodations are perfect in all ways. This was our second stay (Sept. 2012 and Sept. 2013) at this property and we continue to be very, very happy. The major flooding flooding in Estes was a week before we planned to arrive, and Dan and Pam were so kind to have communication with us about the conditions, and were very accommodating on any change of dates we needed to make. We feel so fortunate and blessed that we were able to make our trip. Estes is definitely "Mountain Strong". Last year we had a family of 6 (two small children), and this year it was just my husband and I. I would recommend and highly suggest this property for either size of guests. This year my husband and I especially enjoyed the serenity, lovely master bedroom, closeness to town, and all the amenities the property has to offer. We loved watching the elk and deer out the back patio, and I loved waking up each morning looking out the master bedroom balcony and seeing the mountain landscape. We haven't been home from our trip for a week yet, and have already received our damage deposit. How impressive! Until next year Dan and Pam; be safe. We will be booking again next year. :-)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy Estes Park area even with the limited access and trail closures from the recent flooding. Estes is “Mountain Strong” but still needs great visitors like yourselves to help with the recovery… so we thank you again for keeping the reservation and coming to area so soon after the natural disaster. We would love to have you stay again when you are back in the area. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our stay during the Scottish Festival

    Our stay during the Scottish Festival

    • Guest Leigh M.
    • Date of stay 09/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/19/13
    The view was beautiful and so close to town!! The beds were sooooo comfortable!! Never missed my own bed once! Got to see an Elk real close. Would like to visit again. Hopefully the flood did not effect this property!! Thank you for letting us stay!!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your feedback and concern. Our property had no major problems with the flooding being tucked away on a ridge with designated green space above. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our vacation home and look forward to hearing from you the next time you are in Estes. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for families

    Perfect for families

    • Guest TheBlacks (Midwest)
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/08/13
    Perfect practical location for families in need of 3 bedrooms. Location is perfect, just a little back from the main downtown area so quiet and secluded with a little greenspace but right around the corner from all the main routes thru Estes Park and to the parks. Clean - looks like new paint - good taste in furnishings - functional kitchen and living space right on first floor, double garage nice for storing bikes and the daily loading for the hikes and activities. Reservations and logistics were straightforward and timely with responses and deposit refund. This was exactly what we wanted for our vacation and are considering making this an annual family trip since we know the perfect place to stay now.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and look forward to hearing from you the next time you are in Estes. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location

    Great location

    • Guest cherish h.
    • Date of stay 08/18/13
    • Review Submitted 08/27/13
    We loved our stay! Great location close to town, and short drive to RMNP. We loved it! Thankfully the other condos appeared to be unoccupied during our stay, so we felt isolated. Nothing had been built on the empty lot adjacent (although there were surveyors there during our stay) so the kids enjoyed playing, rock climbing and exploring there. This was the perfect place for our busy family of 5 looking to get away together!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that the city work on utilities was not a problem and you experienced the quiet-secluded feel of our Thunder Canyon Condo property that is tucked away on ridge with designated green space above property. We would love to have you stay again when you are back in the Estes. Happy travels! Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Vacation in Estes Park

    Family Vacation in Estes Park

    • Guest JenS (Madison, WI)
    • Date of stay 08/15/13
    • Review Submitted 09/26/13
    Perfect place for our family to stay while visiting Estes Park. The condo was clean and comfortable. Cozy living room with fireplace. View of the mountains was beautiful!! We got to see lots of wildlife close by, including elk and deer. The location felt secluded and private, yet just minutes from downtown Estes Park and only a short drive from RMNP! The kids especially enjoyed the media room for playing games and watching movies at night. We would definitely stay again. Was so glad to see a previous review that the condo had no major problems related to the flooding!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We really appreciate your feedback. Please let us know if you are ever back in Estes. We would love to have you stay again. Safe travels, Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spectacular Cozy Location Location Location with Fabulous Views! Great Retreat in the Mountains!

    Spectacular Cozy Location Location Location with Fabulous Views! Great Retreat in the Mountains!

    • Guest Big Cedar Wilderness Traveler (Cassville Missouri)
    • Date of stay 07/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/31/13
    What a fabulous location and accommodations! The location is the Best in Estes. Close to everything with simple walk for groceries, coffee, or night on the town. Lake Estes is a wonderful playground as well with Lumpy Ridge a great secret trail system of RMNP. We did not want to leave! Felt like home. Great communication with the owners! Fast High Speed Internet was A+++++ with no problems! Thank you for sharing your house with our family!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: We are glad that you enjoyed our place and can't wait to have you back again next year. Estes is the best! Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family wedding/Vacation

    Family wedding/Vacation

    • Guest Katie (Wolfforth, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    The description of the interior was accurate. Three bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, washer/dryer and media area were on the second floor. Living area, kitchen, half bath and garage on the first floor. It was small yet spacious. French doors opened from the living area to the back yard and open space. During our stay, we saw from these doors, elk, moose, a bobcat and a coyote, all just outside the low wood back fence. The exterior photos made me believe that this was an isolated, small condo unit. Although the view from the master balcony was beautiful, you also saw several rooftops. The parking outside the garage was awkward and driving area between the condo units was compact. Yet, there was so much to do that we were not at the condo very much. Town was within walking distance and the tourist shops were reasonably priced. Be sure to check out the 'Mountain Blown Glass' shop. You can watch them blow glass, get step by step explanation of why and how they do this, then turn around and buy hand blown glass. The river runs through town with a walking path beside it. Coming from dry, flat farm land, the river sounded like heaven. There is a lake in the middle of town with a dog park. The are also includes two miniature golf courses, and a tram ride. Be sure to take this and hike to the summit. Many kodak moments. There are also several restaurants for varying tastes. If you like to hike, there is plenty of it and for all levels. My boys enjoyed the hiking trails off of Devil's Gulch road, just north of the condo. Multiple trails with varied distances. They hiked Gem Lake Trail (approx. 1.6 miles). Yes, the trail ran into a mountain lake. All in all, we enjoyed the condo, even though the exterior was not as pictured. We loved the town, the fresh clean air, the mountains and all that they offered. Don't forget to get pictures of the Stanley Hotel, seen in the movie "The Shining".

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay in Estes. Although we do not fully agree on your opinion about the "exterior was not as pictured", we are glad that you enjoyed our condo and all that Estes Park has to offer. Look us up again if you are back in the area. Happy traveling, Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Westernaires Weekend

    Westernaires Weekend

    • Guest Tom (Littleton, CO)
    • Date of stay 06/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/04/13
    We had a wonderful time in Estes Park, we were there for a horse show. The property was very quiet, clean, comfortable, and in a great location. We definately would stay here again. Already thinking about next year.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review. We look forward to hearing from you the next time your in Estes. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Time In the Mountains

    Wonderful Time In the Mountains

    • Guest B (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    We had a wonderful time. The condo is close to everything, and very well maintained. We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable stay. The view from the bedroom deck was amazing, The next time we go to Estes, this is the first place I'll check when looking for a place to stay. Thank you so much!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you had a great time in Estes and at our Black Canyon Getaway. We would love to have you stay again when you are back in the Estes. Happy travels! Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Place

    Excellent Place

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/12/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    The listing accurately reflected the property location, appearance and amenities. This condo was very clean and well maintained. The owner was helpful and responded to questions and needs in a timely manner. We would highly recommend this property to anyone staying in Estes Park.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy you enjoyed our place. Please contact us if you are ever back in Estes! Happy and safe traveling, Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Snow Sensation

    Spring Snow Sensation

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/01/13
    • Review Submitted 05/06/13
    We were blessed with 14" of new snow on our arrival date. Streets were clean as was the driveway to the property. It was an amazing winter wonderland in May with warm weather and melting snow. Throughout the stay, we saw plenty of deer, elk, rabbits, squirrels, and birds in the open spaces behind the property. We watched with amazement on our last evening as our 5-year old wondered outside and walked among the mule deer. We caught the moment on video and still can't believe it! The home was very warm, clean, and inviting. The beds are quite comfortable, too. The kitchen is well equipped and the grill was clean. All necessities are within walking distance, yet the property provides a feeling of privacy and seclusion. We loved everything about it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review. We are glad that your stay was so enjoyable. Make sure you let us know if you are back in Estes. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Condo, Gracious and Flexible Hosts

    Wonderful Condo, Gracious and Flexible Hosts

    • Guest Kevin M.
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/30/13
    The Black Canyon condo was a wonderful place to stay, close to Estes and my in-laws, who we were visiting. The furnishings and condition of the property were excellent. Dan and Pam were kind enough to let us occupy a day early as an approaching snowstorm would have made travel impossible on the day we were scheduled to arrive. We are happy to recommend it, and will definitely try to stay there when we return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We are glad that you enjoyed our place and were able to avoid hazardous driving conditions. Please come again! Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great pre Thanksgiving break!

    Great pre Thanksgiving break!

    • Guest Lance1 (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 11/17/12
    • Review Submitted 11/25/12
    The condo was wonderful - especially the upstairs - fit the four of us perfect. I highly recommend it - we will definetly be back - hopefully the price will stay the same. Thanks.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are glad you enjoyed our place. We would love to have you back. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Happy traveling, Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 20th anniversary

    20th anniversary

    • Guest Creation lover (Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 10/15/12
    • Review Submitted 10/31/12
    Everything was just perfect. We will come again. Great views, great weather and lots of wildlife.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the review and we are glad that you enjoyed our place. Please come again! Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • New, clean, and quiet. What else could you want?

    New, clean, and quiet. What else could you want?

    • Guest Trev (Shoreview, MN)
    • Date of stay 09/26/12
    • Review Submitted 10/01/12
    I would like to state that if I were to return to Estes Park I would definitely look this place up first. There were only two of us, so there was more than enough room. Everything was new and clean. There is a great view of Longs Peak from the master bedroom's balcony. For a little extra money you get a lot more than a hotel room. Satelite TV, gas fireplace, king size bed, and a balcony with a view. I would absolutely recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Black Canyon Getaway. We would love to have you stay again when you are back in the Estes. Happy travels! Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very comfortable place

    Very comfortable place

    • Guest Anna (Centennial, CO)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/06/12
    We stayed at this condo with three kids over the Labor Day weekend. The house is very nicely decorated, with comfortable furniture, well stocked kitchen, and a good collection of movies and books. There was enough room for everybody. Our kids loved the tree house and boulders in the open space accessible through the first floor walk out. We were close to the Gem Lake and Twin Owls trailheads as well as the visitor Center and Safeway. All restaurants and other touristy places are a short drive away.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Black Canyon Getaway. Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Location and Great for Kids!

    Wonderful Location and Great for Kids!

    • Guest Couple from Mississippi (Lake Cormorant, MS)
    • Date of stay 08/29/12
    • Review Submitted 09/10/12
    I would like to thank the owners of the property for being very accomodating on our last minute reserveration. The management company had very good communication. We arrived late in the day and they made it easy for us to get the keys to the property. We had four adults and two small children (5 and 2) to stay at this property, and we couldnt have been happier. The location is great to town, but we decided to drive. The property is uphill from the main road and would not have been easy with two small children. We loved not being directly in town to eliminate some of the noise and traffic. It is very peaceful at this condo. The view from the master bedroom is spectacular, and the kids loved the green area off the back patio to climb on the rocks and run around. The condo is decorated with high end furniture and is very comfortable (especially the master bed). The kids loved the bunk bed! It was very nice that the owners have children DVDs and games for them to play. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We loved Estes Park and plan to return soon. We will rent this property again when we do. We loved everything about it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Black Canyon Getaway. We would love to have you stay again! Happy traveling, Pam and Dan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]