Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Upper level full kitchen with partial ocean view

Experience Maui's Natural Wonders at the Paia Surf [#428769] | View Property

Paia
3 to 5 Bedrooms, 4 Full Bathrooms (sleeps from 4 to 9), Permit STPH 2012/0001
$175 - $600/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • Great location and beautiful home!

    Great location and beautiful home!

    • Guest Stephanie N.
    • Date of stay 02/17/14
    • Review Submitted 03/22/14
    We had a great time staying at Paia Surf. The home was spacious, modern and clean. We rented out the entire house and would re-rent the home in a heart beat. Chris and Annie are professionals and catered to our needs. They showed us what to do around town and what beach to bring the kids to. I highly recommend anyone to book this place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The best place ever!!

    The best place ever!!

    • Guest Linda S.
    • Date of stay 01/16/14
    • Review Submitted 02/06/14
    My family and I LOVED this place...we have three young kids and it was perfect for us. Totally clean, beautifully decorated, and so well-stocked--the owners have thought of everything one might need. The location was also perfect, close to everything, and it was very quiet. The owners took wonderful care of us. We will definitely be back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect in every way + location cannot be beat!

    Perfect in every way + location cannot be beat!

    • Guest Linda S.
    • Date of stay 01/13/14
    • Review Submitted 01/31/14
    I own and manage three vrbo properties so to say that I am particular is putting it mildly. Quiet, clean, well equipped, beautifully decorated doesn't do Paia Surf justice. Annie could not have been more accommodating and helpful in every way. You can see and hear the ocean from the kitchen and lanai. My husband and I were there alone for three days and then five family members joined us for another week including our three grandchildren ages 2-8. Annie supplied beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, lots of children's toys, and when we arrived there was a bottle of wine and a lovely bowl of fruit. Loved the outdoor showers. It is a five minute walk to the beach and literally a two minute walk to town. I cannot say enough about this home.....just book it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Maui Gem!

    Maui Gem!

    • Guest brad l.
    • Date of stay 01/06/14
    • Review Submitted 01/16/14
    We booked the entire house from Annie & Chris and have to say this little Gem tucked away on the north side of Maui made our stay! Ultra modern this place is amazing. Located in the middle of the small town of Paia surrounded by great local places to eat. Annie & Chris are awesome and will make you feel like this place is your home. 10 minute drive from the airport! We can't speak high enough of Annie, Chris and The Paia Surf House. Book it! You won't regret it!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very comfortable and spotless clean!

    Very comfortable and spotless clean!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/21/13
    • Review Submitted 01/26/14
    I visit the North Shore of Maui every year up to four times to visit family. I am always happy to pay extra for nice sheets and stainless steel appliances since there are a lot of moldy places in that side of the island. Paia Surf is the neatest place I ever stayed... Annie, the owner received us with fresh flowers, fruits and a welcoming aloha. She checked on us often to see if we need it anything. The property is right in the heart of Paia town so we saved a lot of driving and headaches about parking when going to a nice restaurant or shopping at Mana, the best health food store in the island. Surprisingly the place was fairly quiet and we never had a problem with the town noises. I was there with my two teen sons who loved the independence of walking to all the action including gorgeous Baldwin beach. Though the beach is so close you do not have a great view of it, just a glimpse from a nice terrace. There was air conditioning in every room...The best one I ever seen because it was so quiet that you could almost not hear it. I do recommend this place to anyone that does not need that ample view of the ocean. I am very grateful for my time there!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The best place to experience Maui

    The best place to experience Maui

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/19/13
    • Review Submitted 10/13/13
    We stayed at Paia Surf for 2 weeks on our honeymoon and we are still patting ourselves on the back for making the perfect choice! Chris and Annie were the most gracious and accommodating hosts, greeting us and showing us where we could access the beach through their close friends property, giving us tips of places to explore and things to do, they even supplied us with snorkel gear! Annie also checked in via text every now and then to make sure we were happy - we felt incredibly looked after, like we were a part of the family that had come to stay. Annie even organised for us to get special treatment at the beautiful Mama's Fish House, and had the most wonderful experience. The accommodation interior design was beautiful, it had everything we could need and much more than we expected including; spices, green tea, guide books and a funky beach bag! All the little details were thought of. The king size bed was like sleeping on a cloud, and the outdoor courtyard area had a couch which was was perfect for lounging with a book after a long walk on the beach and a swim. We particularly loved the hot outdoor shower, perfect for a sunset shower after a day in the ocean. The accommodation was private and secluded even though we were only metres away from all the boutique shops and restaurants. For us, Paia was the perfect place to stay because it was close to a windsurf beach and was away from the super tacky touristy side vibe of Lahaina. It also has a lovely relaxed boho village feel which appeals to us. The supermarket Mana Foods is also the best supermarket I have ever been to, filled with delicious and healthy food at reasonable prices! Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome Annie and Chris, we were so impressed with the entire experience, we will definitely be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • It's amazing, and I want to go back!!

    It's amazing, and I want to go back!!

    • Guest Sheila P.
    • Date of stay 07/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/14/13
    Paia Surf is a lovely place to enjoy your vacation on Maui! The location, in the town of Paia, provides easy access to several coffee shops, a selection of good restaurants, eclectic shops and a wonderful grocery/bakery/deli called Mana Foods. The stunning beach is a very short walk away, and we loved seeing sea turtles there. While there, we visited Haleakala National Park, the Road to Hana, and West Maui. The Paia Surf is beautifully appointed, and has everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. (Consider going to Mana Foods to shop for super fresh ingredients for dinner.). Everything was spotless. I loved the outdoor shower! It's very convenient to have a washer and dryer right on site. It is evident that the owners take good care of this property!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A breath of fresh air...

    A breath of fresh air...

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/07/13
    After spending time on the mainland of Hawaii in a beautiful resort, it was hard to believe that our vacation could improve. Little did we know what we had in store at Paia Surf. Prior to our arrival, our family felt cared for due to the kindness and hospitality of our hosts. Annie went above and beyond to make sure that Paia Surf was tailored to fit our family’s individual needs. Chris & Annie care for Paia Surf as if it was their own house, - the pictures online do not give it justice. We loved the small details – fresh fruit, handcrafted soaps, and local beer – placed for us to enjoy on our stay. In addition, the housekeepers are fantastic, and every surface was immaculate upon our arrival. Paia Surf is located in the heart of the bustling town of Paia and allowed us to transform from tourists to members of the community. Each day we were able to buy fresh fruit, veggies, and fish from a local market and make delicious meals. Chris and Annie offered great recommendations to authentic restaurants and local activities. Best of all, Paia Surf was located only a few blocks from the beach! While it was the most beautiful beach we encountered on our trip, it wasn’t crowded. Residents greeted us warmly in town and on the beach – truly teaching us the meaning of the “Aloha Spirit!” We are so thankful to Chris & Annie for making our stay memorable, and we look forward to retuning someday! I promise you, once you visit this house you will never want to leave!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • AMAZING

    AMAZING

    • Guest Bre B.
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    I didn't want to leave!! The house is absolutely beautiful, the pictures don't do it justice at all. My family and I stayed here for ten days and we all had a blast. There were 8 of us here and we all had plenty of room and didnt feel cramped at all. We all loved how it was right in town, we could walk to any of the wonderful restaurants or shops or my favorite the beach! The house was amazing and the owners were wonderful, very accommodating and easy to get in touch with for anything! They were awesome to work with and I'm sure we will be back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a great place to stay

    What a great place to stay

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    By far the best vacation home we stayed at in Hawaii. REALLY NICE!!!! The best. everything you want and needed is right here. Annie oes out her way to make sure you stay is nice.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome place to stay in Paia

    Awesome place to stay in Paia

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
    Paia Surf was a great place-great location right in town but remarkably quiet, very nicely decorated and stocked with everything you would need for your stay. I will stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The town of Paia is worth the visit

    The town of Paia is worth the visit

    • Guest akgail (North Pole, AK 99705)
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    We have thoroughly enjoyed our visits to the town of Paia with its boutiques and restaurants, and strongly encourage tourists to take time to explore this charming part of Maui. This past visit in June, our party which included extended family rented the entire vacation rental for a wedding celebration. The house is newly renovated with nice touches from Pier 1 and very comfortable. The housekeeping staff keeps this place exceptionally clean. The location is just one building back from the main road, but relatively quiet. Basic cookware and dinnerware are present in the kitchen, and should meet the needs of occupants in the upstairs three bedroom unit. Since our party rented the whole house, we ate upstairs due to the kitchen facilities and had to wash a load of dishes after each family meal, so would recommend investing in paper plates for some of the meals. The street access is very narrow, and though there are 4 spaces for parking, backing out can be tight if cars have parked across the road, which is alley size. We rented mid-size SUVs, so this is something to consider when renting an automobile if booking this rental. The upstairs master bathroom has a very deep tub with a high side about 2 feet tall that may be difficult for some people to step into, particularly senior citizens. The TVs are internet TVs and could not get one of them to work at all. The parking, tub, and TVs mentioned are really not that important. What is important is to primarily communicate with the woman owner and document communication as follows: 1.It is important that you keep a paper trail, so set up a file on your computer/filing cabinet to save the contracts, communications, etc. 2.For any other issues particularly by phone or face to face conversation, you should follow up with written communication by email or phone messaging that can be captured by screen shots, thus documented. We had a major issue based on inconsistent multi-party verbal communications that resulted in a very negative final day on Maui. If you rent the vacation house and follow the above guidelines, you should be covered if a discrepancy occurs.

    Owner response: I could not accommodate this guest's request to extend her stay an additional day. I am not a property manager; this is my only house and it was already booked.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/4

  • Great family spot -- excellent location

    Great family spot -- excellent location

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    My husband, 2 year-old son and I went to Maui for 10 days to spend our anniversary -- and were joined part of the trip by a couple of friends. We initially booked the upper 3 bedrooms (there are an additional 2 separate bedrooms on the lower floor), but after the 3 of us spent the night, it became clear we'd need more space for the additional couple. The upper part of the house would be perfect for a family with a couple of kids (2-4), or extra family members who are really close. The house is in Paia -- an excellent location. The little town is about 10 minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Haiku (where some of the biking tours down the volcano start -- and I totally recommend), and about 45 minutes from Lahaina. We arrived and the place was equipped with most of the things we needed: A high chair and a booster seat, a stroller, a potty, a pack 'n play (which was too small for our 2 year-old, but would be great for a younger child) and loads of beach toys. For the rest of us: Beach towels, every essential kitchen gadget and some amazing fruits and snacks. The place was really clean and nicely decorated. The outdoor patio was fantastic.The A/C units worked really well. The outdoor showers and foot baths were really convenient. The house is literally in the heart of Paia -- right behind a gift shop and gas station near Hana Highway and Baldwin Ave. -- which made it a little loud some evenings. But more often than not, we were happy to be in the middle of everything and have Paia Fish Market and Ono Gelato literally a minute walk away. Manna grocery store was about a 4 minute walk and had everything we needed. Annie and Chris were exceedingly helpful. They responded to every email quickly and helpfully (Our son got sick our first day and they recommended a doctor on the island). Their recommendations on the island were great. My only suggestion would be to have a mid-trip cleaning option. I would absolutely recommend Paia Surf!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • FABULOUS!!!!

    FABULOUS!!!!

    • Guest User (aspen, colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/28/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    WHat a great place to stay--Annie is terrific to work with--place is immaculately clean--super convenient to walk to all in Paia --we recommend it HIGHLY!!! You will love your stay here--everything about it is PERFECT!!! Two Seniors

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome!

    Awesome!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/13/13
    • Review Submitted 04/04/13
    Our group had an amazing stay in this beautiful home right in the heart of Paia, Maui. The interior of the house was absolutely beautiful - so tastefully done and of superior quality. Our group was able to enjoy our dinners prepared from a very well stocked kitchen and relax on the comfortable lounge sofa and chairs on the upper lanai. We really appreciated the fact that the kitchen was stocked with basic spices. The owners, Annie and Chris were great -- gave us a lot of tips on local attractions and responded quickly to any questions we had. It is very obvious that they are very proud of their home and the community in which they've raised their family. Everything was perfect in this home -- made our perfect vacation even better. We'll be back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fabulous stay at the Paia Surf

    Fabulous stay at the Paia Surf

    • Guest Jennifer K.
    • Date of stay 03/13/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    We had an amazing time staying at the Paia Surf! Annie and Chris were very welcoming. The house is immaculate, modern, well-organized and well-located. The kitchen was stocked with all kinds of equipment and spices, making cooking a pleasure. We loved the outdoor showers with warm water! We also appreciated all the little extras ---beach towels, beach chairs and boogie boards. Highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • a wonderful place in a wonderful town

    a wonderful place in a wonderful town

    • Guest Paul B.
    • Date of stay 02/12/13
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    My partner and I recently came to Hawaii to celebrate our ten year anniversary. We found the Pa'ia Surf to be in the perfect location for our home-base as we explored Maui for the first time. We stayed in the Pa'ia Surf Makai which is the unit on the ground level with the king bed. Even though the rental house comprises three separate units, we were hardly aware of the other guests' presence as our room was very peaceful and quiet. The kitchenette was well equipped with everything we needed to prepare our own meals which we enjoyed out on the lanai. And, when the mood for exploring Paia struck, many of the restaurants, and shops were literally a sixty second walk from our doorstep. The beach, a less than five minute walk. The entire presentation, from the beautifully landscaped private yard, to the elegant newly remodeled room, was first class. The proprietors, Annie and Chris obviously put a lot of time and effort into creating such a wonderful place. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a very welcoming, comfortable, and relaxing place to call home while visiting Maui.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Incredible home, absolutely gorgeous!!

    Incredible home, absolutely gorgeous!!

    • Guest Kim S. (-)
    • Date of stay 02/11/13
    • Review Submitted 02/21/13
    This home was such a treat to stay in! The decor was beautiful, with adorable beach themed accents. It was immaculate, and very comfortable with lots of space in the living room/kitchen area and also the huge deck leading off the kitchen. The owners provided more than you could have ever asked for in the house -- tons of matching beach towels, lots of brand new toys for my young son, a pack and play with organic sheets, two high chairs, and a lovely table and chairs just for children out on the deck. We were in heaven!! The kitchen is better equipped than my home kitchen- they even have a huge pot for cooking, which we used for crab legs one night. She supplied a bottle of wine and a beautiful fruit basket - very very thoughtful. It truly was an amazing vacation, and the location couldn't be better. We walked right out our door to everything Paia has to offer, and also to the beach. I highly recommend this fabulous rental!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A wonderful vacation home for a family

    A wonderful vacation home for a family

    • Guest Kathryn J.
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    Paia Surf house is a beautiful home away from home in a wonderfully funky and unique town. We spent a week here as a family and had the time of our lives. The location is wonderful--within walking distance of the beach and many small shops, restaurants, and a great organic grocery store. The home itself is a stunner--clean, modern, and stocked with everything you need to feel at home. Annie, the owner, was available when we needed her and a joy to work with, I would recommend this home to anyone visiting Maui and am already looking forward to booking another trip next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • New, Well Located, We'll Be Back

    New, Well Located, We'll Be Back

    • Guest Greg M. (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 11/07/12
    • Review Submitted 11/18/12
    Wow! - What a pleasure. I've stayed all over the North Shore of Maui. Lots of places are spread out through Haiku, Sprecks, Paia, etc. But, Paia Surf is new, has a/c, and once you're there, you can just walk to everything in town. For us, that meant that after kiting, we weren't driving. And, different members of the group could do their own thing in town, or at the beach, before dinner. On the deck, we all fit for to eat breakfast and dinner together. We could watch the colors as the sun went down and tell tall tales about our exploits of the day. Recommended - A good find.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful place

    Wonderful place

    • Guest Christian H.
    • Date of stay 10/25/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    The house is new and really beautiful. They paid a lot of attention to all the details. The owners are just awesome people. The place is in the center of Paia and a walking distance to anything you need. I have rented vacation places all over the world but i have never found a place like this. Thank you Chris and Annie PS. The day i left i shed a tear

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We'll Be Back

    We'll Be Back

    • Guest Paul H.
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 09/01/12
    We really enjoyed our family vacation at Paia Surf. The house has been recently remodeled and it is both beautiful and comfortable. We especially loved the big kitchen and chilling on the lanai in the evening. Staying in Paia was a lot of fun; it is a cool little town with shops and restaurants within walking distance, and a very laidback island vibe. The house is in a nice hub location, with easy access up-island, Hana-way, or the “tourist-dense” west side of Maui if you are inclined to go that route (even though we are tourist, it was nice not to have to step over all of the other tourists!). And, of course, it is a great spot for easy access to water, wind, and waves. I can’t recommend Paia Surf more highly – we will definitely be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • perfect location

    perfect location

    • Guest lana m.
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/23/12
    This is hands down the easiest vacation spot I have ever stayed in. The home is clean and bright, newly renovated, and located in the center of everything but still private! We stayed in the 3 bedroom upstair unit with a full kitchen that we stocked from the local grocery store, Mana Foods, a 5 minute walk from the house. This popular town has so many good restaurants to try and you can walk to all of them although I would recommend taking the short drive to Mama's Fish House where we had an incredible dinner! On the short walk to the beach you can pick up anything you may have forgotten at any number of shops. The house has great parking, very important in this busy little town, so on beach days we never drove and on sight seeing days the house is a convenient starting point for the drive to Hana and the volcano. We slept great in the comfortable bed with the sound of the surf coming through the open door to the lanai. We would definitely come back and we highly recommend it to our friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • perfect location

    perfect location

    • Guest lana m.
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/23/12
    This is hands down the easiest vacation spot I have ever stayed in. The home is clean and bright, newly renovated, and located in the center of everything but still private! We stayed in the 3 bedroom upstair unit with a full kitchen that we stocked from the local grocery store, Mana Foods, a 5 minute walk from the house. This popular town has so many good restaurants to try and you can walk to all of them although I would recommend taking the short drive to Mama's Fish House where we had an incredible dinner! On the short walk to the beach you can pick up anything you may have forgotten at any number of shops. The house has great parking, very important in this busy little town, so on beach days we never drove and on sight seeing days the house is a convenient starting point for the drive to Hana and the volcano. We slept great in the comfortable bed with the sound of the surf coming through the open door to the lanai. We would definitely come back and we highly recommend it to our friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]