Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living room and kitchen areas

Max & Irma's Guest Suite, Upstairs 1 Bedroom Apartment [#433788] | View Property

Nelson
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
C$94 - C$104/nt Canadian Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • Great Place

    Great Place

    • Guest Naroo
    • Date of stay 03/29/14
    • Review Submitted 04/13/14
    Very convenient. Very comfortable. Food downstairs is AMAZING! Very friendly people. Great coffee shops close by. Outstanding grocery store right next door. Best place!!! Thanks Dave and Max and Irma's staff for making us feel so welcome.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the great review , we try to be helpful and Nelson is a great place to visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • For the vacationer who wants to feel like a local

    For the vacationer who wants to feel like a local

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/02/14
    • Review Submitted 03/21/14
    My husband and I stayed here for 10 days and we were so impressed with everything from the renters to the parking spot to the inside of the apartment. We felt so at home here and felt like we were one of the locals. We had everything from snowboard storage, to plenty of space to relax, a large kitchen, and a bathroom with laundry facilities. We were walking distance to the local co-op where we bought our organic groceries and a quick walk to a hot yoga studio. Everything was at arms reach.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Lindsay, we are glad your stay was enjoyable. We'd love to have you come again. Dave and Sandy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic accommodation in the heart of Nelson!

    Fantastic accommodation in the heart of Nelson!

    • Guest sschriever
    • Date of stay 02/20/14
    • Review Submitted 03/04/14
    Dudes weekend at Whitewater Ski Resort started by pulling into our own Private parking spot in Downtown Nelson. We picked up our apartment keys from the Max & Irma’s Restaurant on the main level. This was the most convenient key pick up in my VRBO experience. If you are feeling a bit hungry don’t miss out on the sandwiches from the restaurant. This was some of the best food we had in Nelson. Please note that you will be staying above a working kitchen and expect some thumps in the early morning. The apartment is clean, warm, and has a real nice hip appearance. Some real nice touches like freshly ground coffee and tea were waiting for us the next morning. The pull out sofa bed in the living area was comfortable as was the main bedroom. If I come back to Nelson to ski Whitewater I will look to see if this accommodation is available first. If you have a bread addiction such as mine do not miss Au Soleil Levant just down the alley way across from the apartment. This was some of the best bread and baked goods I have had in ages. The sad thing is I only noticed the sign just as we were leaving and stocked up for the road.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Dudes for the great review, we appreciate it and hope to see you come and rip some powder next year. Dave and Sandy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great spot

    Great spot

    • Guest Paul H.
    • Date of stay 02/03/14
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    My son and I stayed here on a Powder Highway trip through BC. Very comfortable and cozy. A queen bed in bedroom, and pull out couch worked for us. The apartment is above a restaurant, but it was very quiet. The restaurant itself was excellent (and very convenient!). Nelson is pretty quiet in the winter, but we had some fun skiing nearby. The owner was very friendly, responsive and helpful, though we never met in person.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+.

    Owner response: We'd like to thank Paul for taking the time to submit this review, looking forward to your next stay with us Paul.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great suite in a fantastic location

    Great suite in a fantastic location

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/15/14
    • Review Submitted 01/29/14
    This is a beautiful, modern, comfortable suite perfect for a couple. The location can't be beat as it is walking distance from many restaurants and shops, including a grocery store. Nice kitchen and full size fridge for those wishing to cook. There is some noise from the restaurant downstairs in the mornings and during the day, but it did not interfere with our sleep. The suite was quiet at night. The owner was helpful with our questions. I have already recommended the property to friends!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Kinga for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to write and that you will recommend our apartment to your friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Ryan (Vancouver, bc)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/13/13
    My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The neighbourhood is excellent with many restaurants and shops nearby that are an easy walk to. There is a restaurant below, but I think that it would be difficult to make it completely sound proof. While there was noise during business hours, after 1030 pm, it was quiet. The air conditioning made it comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked. The suite was spotless and it was an easy check-in by picking up the key in the restaurant below. The owners were readily available by phone and we even saw them a few times while we stayed. Thanks for a great stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks Ryan for your vote of confidence , we try to do a super job of cleaning and glad you noticed. It was nice to have you stay and hope you come and stay with us again. Dave and Sandy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Apartment in the Heart of Nelson!

    Lovely Apartment in the Heart of Nelson!

    • Guest Mark (Calgary, AB)
    • Date of stay 08/02/13
    • Review Submitted 08/10/13
    We had a great time at Max and Irma's! The unit was well-appointed, clean and very comfortable. Location was amazing - right above a wonderful restaurant featuring brick-oven pizzas, amazing salads and so much more! The even had delicious fresh-baked cheese buns we took away for snacking! Parking and easy access to all the shops of downtown Nelson make this a must-stay!! We were delighted with our stay and will definitely come back for another visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location for a family vacation

    Great location for a family vacation

    • Guest PL (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/08/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    We spent 10 days in Nelson this summer. Staying at Max and Irma's suite was the best decision ever! The apartment was spotlessly clean, well decorated and well equipped for all our needs. We have 2 young kids, so we ate in most of the time and spent quite a bit of time lounging around. I was very grateful that we didn't have to drag the kids out to breakfast.lunch and dinner. I really enjoyed cooking in the well appointed kitchen. Dave even provided us with a pack and play for our baby which was very helpful and we loved the free wi-fi. The location of the suite is excellent with quick access to downtown Nelson, restaurants, shopping etc. Everything about our experience here was pleasant and easy-going. We'll definitely be renting this space again for our future visits to Nelson.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy Nest

    Cozy Nest

    • Guest Deb and Bill (Anchorage)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 06/21/13
    My husband and I come to Nelson in the summer. This year we choose to stay downtown for part of our trip and loved this spot. It is so close to everything, good food, shopping, cookies and coffee. It was so clean and well appointed. It rained all but one day during our week long stay. We hiked anyway and rented videos from Reno's. We also went to the Thursday night art movie at the Civic. Loved that too. This is a sweet spot, loved the natural themed decor. You get a thumbs up from us. Thank you.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home in Nelson, BC

    Home away from home in Nelson, BC

    • Guest Kate (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 02/28/13
    A pleasant and civilized "basecamp" in down town Nelson, the guest suite is newly and thoughtfully furnished for spacious comfort for 2+. We enjoyed the simple luxuries and practicalities from the moment we entered--plenty of space for outdoor gear, indoor lounging, cooking real meals, even laundry and a large bathtub. The decor, with aspen and bird themes, lent to the airy rooftop aesthetic, a lofted haven for city dwelling, from which we could enjoy many pedestrian ready eateries, shops, food co-op, etc. Spotless & immaculately clean all around, with a well stocked basic kitchen, good local coffee and creamers! Our only concern was the wide range of noises from the working restaurant below. We were disturbed by reasonably loud thudding, slamming and vibrating noises, mostly during the hours of 1030am-1030pm, diffuse and generally infrequent until intensified after-hours during clean-up (8pm-1030pm,) We were awoken by night-visitors at 1:30am one night, and 530am/600am most mornings. While the high pitched noises like diner's voices and servingware were successfully muffled out by soundproofing, noises and vibrations from the kitchen, back door, cooler, tubs, chair or table-moving and vacuum cleaning were perceptible and hard to ignore. The management would do well to install a door-stop in these locations, as they are below the sleeping areas, and to consider preventing unnecessary noise during sleeping hours. That said, the stay was pleasant, and the accommodations a great value considering the tasteful balance of efficiency and luxury, the location, and amenities. For many visitors, this may be a great match.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Location! Location! Location!

    Location! Location! Location!

    • Guest J + B (Grand Forks, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/30/13
    • Review Submitted 02/01/13
    We have spent a winter weekend in Nelson for many years. We have stayed in B+Bs and hotels. In the future, we will stay at this excellent property! The VRBO photos accurately show details of the suite. The newly finished one bedroom suite is spotlessly clean and very well decorated. The kitchen is well equipped, all appliances are new, and there is an in-suite washer and dryer. The location is excellent: Max and Irma's great restaurant is downstairs; around the corner is Baker Street; and there is an off-street parking space (a real bonus as parking can be difficult to find in Nelson). We already plan to return on our next visit to Nelson and we will recommend this property without hesitation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy home away from home!

    Cozy home away from home!

    • Guest Kari (Corvallis, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 09/27/12
    • Review Submitted 11/20/12
    We will definitely return to Max and Irma's guest suite. The owners were so amazing and accommodating. My husband, year old daughter, brother and myself had a great time. We had the bedroom (comfortable bed and room for a pack-n-play) and my brother was on the pull out sofa (also comfortable). The suite had all the comforts of home, kitchen, bath and washer & dryer. There was a definite bonus to the location. We were above Max and Irma's, which had great food in a warm environment. Downtown was a block away, full of locally owned shops and art. It was so nice to wake up to the views of the mountains. It was such a nice and relaxing getaway. One of the days we went to Ainsworth Hotsprings and ended up back at Max and Irma's for good eats and tasty treats. To sum it up, we will be returning to Max and Iram's guest suite.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming!

    Charming!

    • Guest Cheryl K.
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 09/24/12
    Beautiful little suite just a block from Baker Street, a delicious restaurant downstairs, and a lovely french bakery across the street. What more could you ask for? The owners are friendly and I would highly recommend this location to anyone visiting Nelson.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A lovely little suite right downtown, close to everything.

    A lovely little suite right downtown, close to everything.

    • Guest Dave C. (Penticton, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/13/12
    • Review Submitted 09/15/12
    We found this suite perfect for two people. It was spotless and well outfitted. When you walk out the door you are right downtown close to all the restaurants and walking tours and near the lakefront walking trails, yet it was quiet at night. An added bonus was the restaurant downstairs where the food was excellent and the staff friendly - even had live music. We would go back if we are in the beautiful city of Nelson again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]