Gracious Private Hillside Retreat
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:1 night
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:Yes
Berkeley house description
This is a large 2600 sq. foot 2 bed home with a King in the Master and a queen sized in the 2nd bed and a separate nursery area with a bunk bed for kids or adults! Large front and backyard areas. Very lovely mature garden. Long driveway takes you well off the street when you enter the gracious vaulted ceiling living room. It is priced below market per night. We are 2 blocks to a bus stop which will take you to UC Berkeley and the BART train. We are 3 blocks to restaurants, shops and Grocery store. We are 1 mile to the entrance of Tilden Park which is full of trails and rivers and lakes a petting zoo and much much more. You can find amusement parks within 20 minutes and Hang Gliding within 60 minutes. Sailing fishing on the bay. Its a 20 minute drive to San Francisco.
- Vacation Rental
- Wheelchair Accessible:
- Limited Accessibility:
- Pets Considered
- Alternative Lifestyle
Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 6-8
Bathrooms: 1.5 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Parking Off Street:
- Washing Machine
- Clothes Dryer
- Wood Fireplace
- Linens Provided
- Music Library:
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Video Library
- Deck / Patio:
- Not Necessary
- Basketball Court
- Medical Services
- Freshwater Fishing
- Deepsea Fishing
- Massage Therapist
- Fitness Center
- Wildlife Viewing
- Surf Fishing
- Roller Blading
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Rock Climbing
- Pier Fishing
- Recreation Center
- Theme Parks
- Botanical Garden
- Live Theater
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Scenic Drives
- Outlet Shopping
- Whale Watching
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
- Gambling Casinos
- Bird Watching
ReviewsWrite a review
Berkeley house for USC/Cal game
Berkeley house for USC/Cal game
We rented this house with a group of friends when we came in town for the USC vs. Cal game. It was the perfect place for us. We had two couples, two single guys and two small dogs and had plenty of space. The house was so much more affordable than a hotel and allowed us all to stay together. We had a great time. The owner was very responsive both by phone and email, and we had no issues with payment or access to the house. If I had to find downsides: the decor is quirky, and we had to go buy shampoo and extra soap (but the store is close and we really didn't mind). The place was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed for cooking a few meals at home. This house was by far the best option we found in the area, and we'd certainly return if we made the trip again.
- Guest Katie K.
- Date of stay 11/09/13
- Review Submitted 11/26/13
Nice place badly maintained
Nice place badly maintained
The house is a fantastic place, very large rooms, beautiful gardens, really quiet and superb views. It could be a really awesome place for a holiday. However, there are a few things that I believe would highly improve the experience. The worst thing is that we found bed linen to be stained and badly kept. We had to look for replacements and even those were stained too, and kept almost in budles (definitelly not ironed). All towels were clean. In general, we found the whole place was quite dirty, with dust and spiders all over, and things that are totally unacceptable like a pair of old shoes (sandals) in the master bedroom main wardrobe, 3 used soaps in the shower, 2 used shaving razors in the bathroom, dirty trash bins, ... I know the rent is a good deal, but I think that is no excuse to keep it badly maintained, with electric plugs without covers, knobs missing in drawers, a cabinet door missing in the kitchen, some drawers just about to fall apart, extremelly old pots and pans in not very clean condition, budles of cables for the TV and internet that prevented cabinets in the second room and kitchen to close, etc... Most things are not major issues to resolve nor it takes a large sum to fix them, and the house would feel a lot better.
- Guest XXX (Fort Worth, Texas)
- Date of stay 10/24/13
- Review Submitted 11/15/13
This was our first experience using on-line service to rent a home. This home was selected because it looked gorgeous and priced cheap. It met our need for location, size and price. We stayed in the "Main House" unit. We loved the house. The day-light is wonderful, the space is easy to live in, a quiet area, easy driving access to BART station, restaurants, and stores. Also, when learning your way around you can find wonderful views of the bay. There were some challenges renting; no detailed instructions in the house regarding recycling and trash, TV set-up, heating/air conditioning unit and using a gas cooktop. Other amenities that were lacking, no window treatments/blinds for nighttime or low lights for evening such as table stand lights in bedrooms or family room. There were instances where we needed to contact the owner/manager and response to us was immediate. The rental unit needs a lot of TLC (tender loving care).
- Guest Gena (Pennsylvania)
- Date of stay 09/18/13
- Review Submitted 10/24/13
If you are looking for a party house, this is your place. If you are looking for a family rental, I might look elsewhere. Upon entering the house, at the check in time, the woman cleaning was still finishing up from the last renters (who had apparently been there for a significant amount of time given the amount of trash and empty "containers"). The pine-sol fumes were so pungent that we could feel the burn on the inside of our noses - I wouldn't let my baby inside until the house was aired out - and when those dissipated much later, the place smelled like an ashtray. The cleaner stayed an extra hour trying to get everything done but still ran out of time. I don't want to know what she didn't get to. The owner didn't seem to care when he was contacted. The house/floors were so dingy that I wouldn't let my baby on the ground. A lot was broken and no dishwasher in the kitchen. No dish soap so we bought some. Kitchen cabinets broken/in disrepair. Not enough dishware for 8 people, when occupancy is 8. Not enough blankets for all the beds. Shower curtain so moldy we washed it before using. Ew.
- Guest Guest (Oregon)
- Date of stay 07/05/13
- Review Submitted 09/25/13
Owner response: Due to the fact that you showed up early the cleaner was not done. That was exacerbated by a tardy departure of the last quests. The home is supposed to be a non smoking home and the last guests didn't respect that and that is why the heavy cleaning and pin-sol smell to correct for that. I only wish you had alerted me if the cleaner left something undone. As she and you both told me she felt pressured to leave before the place was 100% cleaned. However, had you told me there was mold on the shower curtain we would have washed and bleached it. Had I realized that so many dishes were broken I would have brought extra replacements as we have to do that several times a year. Know that if there is a problem we are but a phone call away and are always response. We do feel that for 199.00 a night it is the best value in the city.
Lovely secluded home
Lovely secluded home
We really enjoyed this vacation home. It gave us a great place to stay while going into San Francisco. The "bunk room" is just off the master bedroom (through sliding glass door or curtains). So we decided to have our kids in the master bedroom and bunkroom, and we took the 2nd bedroom (queen bed) downstairs. We also did this because we were worried that they would be too loud and bother the renters in the smaller unit (adjacent to this unit). No problem for the kids (the master & bunkroom are upstairs), but we were surprised one night to discover that the hall light next to the 2nd bedroom must share a light-switch with the other unit (we woke up to see that it was on - my wife got up and turned it off, and then it was on again 20 minutes later). A small annoyance in an otherwise wonderful rental. We also really enjoyed the small, fenced front yard. The playset in the driveway isn't new, but the kids loved it anyway.
- Guest Myles C. (Orem, Utah)
- Date of stay 07/24/13
- Review Submitted 08/05/13
Recommended for: Families with young children.
Interesting but misleading rental
Interesting but misleading rental
This is a large property with ample rooms and a nice patio behind the main structure. However, the property is not properly equipped for a stay of more than one or two nights. There are no curtains on any of the rooms, so if one doesn't want to wake up with the sun one shouldn't rent it. More importantly, the kitchen is badly equipped: almost no pots and pans and what is there seems to be left-over from a move; only one burner in the gas stove works automatically- the rest have to be lit with a match; few utensils are available. We had to improvise as went along, not what we expected. Other than making coffee and tea, we did not make any meals that required cooking. The TV service was not functioning even though it is indicated in the listing. The owner appears to run a peculiar system for renting the house: he doesn't commit to a rental until he's received payment but allows himself the right to take on another renter during the time that it takes to get payment to him. So if you live abroad, it might be difficult to count on getting the rental.
- Guest Manuel (Toronto, Canada)
- Date of stay 07/14/13
- Review Submitted 07/24/13
Owner response: Its a 1.5 million dollar home for $199 a night. It really is a super duper good value. There are multiple pots and pans to cook with so I am not really sure why he was unhappy. The views out the windows of of Gardens and forrest so most windows do not have blinds that is true enough but after years of renting it that is the first negative comment we have gotten about that as the views are so beautiful.
|Dates||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
|My Standard Rate
1 night min stay
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Oakland at 15 Miles
- Nearest Ferry: Berkeley at 3 Miles
- Nearest Train: Bart at 1 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: 80 at 2 Miles
- Nearest Beach: Albany at 2 Miles
- Nearest Barpub: Circus Pub at 1.5 Miles
- Nearest Ski: Tahoe at 100 Miles
- Nearest Golf: Tilden at 1.5 Miles
- Nearest Restaurant: The Arlington at 0.5 Miles
Year Purchased: 2005
About the owner: We bought this home almost 8 years ago and have loved every minute in i! We are now slowly moving to the Russian River area our other favorite area so while we are in transition we are making our lovely home available to you!
Why the Owner Chose Berkeley:
This is a super deal per night. Its a large space on a private lot with a mature garden and lots of trees. Yet lots of sunny outdoor space. Beautiful inside and out.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
Close to everything. 2.5 miles to UC Berkeley and 20 minutes to SF.
- Primary: + (510) 390-2571
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2012.
Date last modified - Sunday, September 29, 2013
2 Bedroom / 1.5 Bathroom
Get an instant quote
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.