Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
living room/ tv and fireplace

Harbour Penthouse with Secluded Rooftop Garden/Patio [#435191] | View Property

Victoria
Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
C$165 - C$180/nt Canadian Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Terrific location and condo

    Terrific location and condo

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/10/13
    • Review Submitted 10/16/13
    We stayed 3 nights this property. It's in a great location - close to restaurants, shopping, biking and hiking trails. The condo was clean, well equipped, comfortable, well maintained and had a great view. The roof top patio/garden and BBQ were a nice addition. Felt like "home away from home". The owner and the on-site greeter were friendly, helpful, and responsive. We would definitely book this unit again in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: When you describe the rooftop, I crave to be there. We are so happy that you enjoyed the condo and had a special Thanksgiving.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Victoria Penthouse

    Victoria Penthouse

    • Guest Lucinda (Batavia, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 10/02/13
    • Review Submitted 10/17/13
    We loved our stay in this penthouse condo! It's very comfortable, well appointed and exceptionally clean. It's just as beautiful in person as in the photos! The rooftop garden was lovely. It felt like climbing into a tree house! It's conveniently located near Chinatown and it's easy to walk anywhere downtown. The only negative is that the condo can get warm at night and the windows need to be opened. At times there can be traffic and people noise. I have to admit I live in the country, so I'm used to just hearing crickets and owls at night. Perhaps a fan would help. However, if I vacation in Victoria again, I would definitely consider staying here.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Yes, we agree, the location is great. We love the cool breeze so never think to use the fan but I'll get it out. It am pleased that you were able to enjoy this wonderful city for a couple of extra days.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location / Wonderful View!

    Great Location / Wonderful View!

    • Guest Peggy H.
    • Date of stay 09/17/13
    • Review Submitted 09/26/13
    Great place; beautiful; great location; wonderful people.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First visit to Victoria

    First visit to Victoria

    • Guest Polly (Ireland)
    • Date of stay 09/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/30/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this modern, clean condo with exceptional kitchen equipment and supplies provided. Our hosts were also extremely helpful responding quickly to any requests made and were great at suggesting restaurants all within walking distance, two of which we tried and would return to both.We would recommend this property to anyone visiting Victoria. A wonderful introduction for us and we hope to return next year to explore some more.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Visitors from Ottawa

    Visitors from Ottawa

    • Guest Macs (Ottawa ontario)
    • Date of stay 08/27/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    We enjoyed our 4 days in this beautiful condo tremendously. It was definitely the most well equipped unit and the cleanest we have ever rented,and we are frequent users of this site. The owner was a pleasure to deal with. We are looking forward to a return visit. The Macmillans Ottawa

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wish we never had to leave

    Wish we never had to leave

    • Guest Beverly (Spokane Valley, WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/21/13
    • Review Submitted 09/01/13
    As impressive as this condo looks on the VRBO site, it is even more so when you actually walk in the door. This unit is so up to date and clean, you feel like you are the first person to ever stay in it. Beautiful decor, modern, comfortable furniture and well-stocked kitchen coupled with great harbour views make it feel like a home you never want to leave. Loved the Kuerig coffee maker and variety of pods, the pantry with staples supplied, nice cookware (non-stick skillet for eggs would be a great addition), good quality dinnerware and glassware were provided for six. The sound system was complicated and we never could get it to play the CDs included, but after several attempts were able to figure out how to get sound and picture both on the large, flat screen TV. Minor inconveniences considering all the other plusses. The location of this unit couldn't be better. One block to Chinatown with it's fresh-fruit markets and restaurants (we ordered out twice so we could enjoy dinner on the roof). If you are craving something other then Chinese food, there has to be at least 30 other great choices within three blocks. Easy walking distance to the downtown area and waterfront. If mobility is an issue, the water taxis are stationed right outside the condo and can whisk you across the harbor for $5. This building has excellent security with special fobs needed to open all exterior entrances and operate the elevators. The personal parking space on the lower level was also secured with a locking entrance. We found the location to be quiet, aside from the ever-present and vocal seagulls that seem to overrun the city. Outside in Victoria you had to keep an "eye to the sky" to avoid being a target for their slimy white bombs that decorate railings, windows and furniture of the entire city. The rooftop patio was certainly a highlight during our warm summertime stay. We particularly loved having stairway access through a hatch in the kitchen. Not all people would be comfortable navigating these steep steps, we loved the convenience especially when seeing others having to schlep their breakfasts or wine up the elevator to reach their own terraces. We snipped fresh chives and parsley for our fresh grilled salmon, picked mint for our tea and munched on crisp apples right of the tree. Victoria is an amazing city in itself, but a stay at this condo just turns the whole trip into an "I can't wait to go back" experience. Thanks Carol for sharing and Susan for your help.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Harbour Getaway

    Harbour Getaway

    • Guest rxal (Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/20/13
    I had booked this condo to celebrate my 10 year wedding anniversary with my wife. The location, rental price, premium furnishings, private rooftop patio & underground parking were what sold me on this particular condo. The owners had this condo very well equipped from all major and minor appliances to a guest information binder which listed local attractions and dining options (nice touch!). They were quick to respond to an issue we had with the DVD player (no sound). Only other issue we had was with one of the window blinds in the living room which would not come down (limited privacy at night). This place is a real gem!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Victoria is a great place to celebrate your anniversary. It appears to be our theme this summer. 5 couples are celebrating their anniversaries when they are at our condo. How romantic! It was delightful to meet you and hope to see you again. *The blind is working. We had to tweak the pull string. All is well.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Can't wait to come back!

    Can't wait to come back!

    • Guest Nicole A.
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/16/13
    We truly loved our stay here. The location is great and is easily walkable to anywhere you want to go. We walked to/from the bus station, although the harbor ferry (which pulls up right in front of the building) would've been a great option as well. The apartment is well stocked with kitchen/bed/bath supplies and is extremely clean and modern. The views are great and the private rooftop patio can't be beat. We enjoyed all of our breakfasts and late evenings there. Carol was easy to work with and very responsive. It all made for a very relaxing getaway. We can't say enough good things!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We can't wait to have you back! We love late evenings on the rooftop as well. It is so peaceful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a great place!

    What a great place!

    • Guest Big E (Boston, MA, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    Large, modern, 1 bedroom in the heart of the city. Easy walking distance to everything. (Take a cab to the bus station though.) Clean, comfortable, nice view, especially from the roof deck. Keep in mind, it is a working harbor, so there are ships and floatplanes until early evening! Stacked washer/dryer is a a big help. Big, well appointed kitchen, although we ate out every night.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Eric and Andrea, Thanks for the review. How we love the area and glad that you did as well! We understand eating out. There are so many amazing restaurants to try. We hope to see you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Enjoyable long weekend in Victoria

    Enjoyable long weekend in Victoria

    • Guest wamomof3 (washington state)
    • Date of stay 07/17/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    My wife and I stayed at this condo for 4 nights while she attended a conference in Victoria. The condo was very beautiful and well equipped with needed kitchen items. We enjoyed the rooftop garden/ patio in the evenings. I would highly recommend this condo and would stay there again when next in Victoria. Roger

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Roger, We would be delighted to have you and Renee return. I love that you arrived on bicycles. An adventuresome couple.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ideal penthouse condo and location

    ideal penthouse condo and location

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 07/09/13
    I loved both my recent stays in this roomy condo. The building is perfectly located on the water and right by Chinatown and the McPherson Playhouse, and within walking distance to most everything in the city. An excellent base for the jazz and theatre festivals! This unit is ideal in terms of views, and very bright with huge windows. I particularly enjoyed the seagulls flying past. The condo is spotless and tastefully furnished with a huge dining table. I slept very well in the big king bed. The rooftop is its own private gardens. The owners are easy to deal with and very accommodating. The other occupants of the building are quite friendly. I certainly look forward to my next visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Alan, We appreciated you as a guest and look forward to having you back. Thanks so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Phyllis and friend

    Phyllis and friend

    • Guest Phyllis (Beaumont, Alberta)
    • Date of stay 06/19/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    Wow, what a beautiful condo.......really felt like we were living in the lap of luxury! We had such an amazing week, enjoying all the sights and the Jazzfest! One of our favourite things was relaxing on the rooftop garden with a coffee and a good book. Loved watching all the activity on the harbour! It became our evening ritual to go up on the rooftop each evening with a glass of wine and enjoy the lights of beautiful Victoria! The location couldn't be better....walking to Chinatown, shopping, access to the bay walkways and hopping on water taxis! We enjoyed buying fish at Fisherman's Wharf and bringing it home to cook in the beautiful, well equipped kitchen. Enjoyed eating in Chinatown and a lovely meal at Clay Pigeon.....all within walking distance! Can't wait to return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much and thanks for the return visit to the condo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent condo in great location

    Excellent condo in great location

    • Guest Lee J.
    • Date of stay 06/10/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    We really enjoyed our stay. The condo is well appointed and located close to everything in the harbour area. We were able to entertain our son and daughter-in-law and nephew (who live in Victoria) one evening. Everything we needed was provided. We were able to walk to everything and enjoyed a couple hours of kayaking (rentals just up the street). The brew pub across the street had great beer and food. Although the weather was a bit cold for a few days, we still enjoyed the views from the rooftop deck-a very nice feature. We would definitely recommend this condo!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Lee and Debby, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your kind words and we welcome you back for more visits.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stay for the month of February, 2013

    Stay for the month of February, 2013

    • Guest Calli (Winnipeg, Manitoba)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/07/13
    We enjoyed our stay at your condo. The location is excellent, close to China Town and close to downtown with plenty of restaurants and coffee bars. The view from the livingroom windows was lovely, not only the parliament buildings that are so nicely lit up but the rainbow colours of the city lights in the bay. The condo itself is exactly as shown and described online. The condo is nicely appointed and is well equiped with everything you could possibly need. The accomodations are much more than adequate. The condo is very clean and well looked after. It is a very quiet building but right in the midst of Victoria's action. We would rent this condo again or recommend it to friends and family. The terrace is a bonus if you are renting in the warmer months. Even in February we were able to have lunch on the terrace twice. What a lovely place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind words. It is great to hear that the condo was comfortable and that its' location was a bonus. We love it but it is nice to know others do as well. Carol and John

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Location, Comfortable and Clean

    Excellent Location, Comfortable and Clean

    • Guest Kelly (Cleveland, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 11/10/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    We spent three days at the Harbour Penthouse in November 2012 and were very pleased with the experience. The condo is well appointed and extremely clean, and the location is outstanding. We were more than satisfied and impressed with the condition of the unit. It was exactly as depicted in photographs. The living area is comfortable and spacious, with cable, stereo, wireless internet . We had one rainy day and were comfortable lounging around, watching tv, surfing web, etc. The kitchen is well appointed, with necessary pots, pans, dishes. Keurig coffee maker, while nice, only allows single cups so if you are big coffee drinkers then stock up! All appliances and gadgets were new and in perfect working order. We even used the in suite laundry...a real convenience for an extended stay. The bedroom was adequate size, bright and comfortable, with good closet space. The bathroom was spotless, with soft cushy towels, and great hot water and water pressure. We explored the rooftop which is amazing!!! Unfortunately weather wasn't really such that we could hang out up there. Carol has designed a spectacular oasis, with wonderful plants, both decorative and edible. We could identify several herbs and spices, fruit tries and more. The large gas grill is accessible and easy to use, there is a small refrigerator for beverages (so you don't have to make too many trips up and down the stairs) and even a patio heater. The view is truly breathtaking. What we most enjoyed about the condo is the location. The Mermaid Building is close to EVERYTHING. We did drive to a grocery and specialty market, and purchased delicious fresh Halibut from Finest at Sea market. Other than that we were on foot the entire weekend. We particularly enjoyed Swan's Brew Pub, Bard and Banker, Irish Times Pub (great local live music on Saturday night!!). Directly across the street is Canoe, another brew pub. Food and drinks were okay, and you can't beat the location. The condo is very secure, and includes underground parking. Because we were only provided one set of keys, it was a little challenging to organize coming and goings, so you might ask for a second set. The process to book and check in was easy and efficient. Carol returned calls and email quickly and provided all needed into. Judy and Harlan met us when we arrived, explained where everything was and how things worked. We would recommend this this condo to others....and hope that someday we can go back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home

    Home away from home

    • Guest Chyrelanne (Taipa, Macao)
    • Date of stay 08/02/12
    • Review Submitted 11/09/12
    Cosy, sophisticated, modern and well maintained. Staying here last summer was the highlight of my trip to Victoria! This condo is perfectly situated in the area, as it is within walking distance to everything. I loved discovering that the habour taxis brought me back to the pier right outside the condo's door. Although there are many great restaurants in the area, buying fresh fish over at the wharf, dinner ingredients in the local shops, and a bottle of wine along the way was all part of my experience staying in Victoria. The condo's supplies and equipment would rival that of most gourmet kitchens. The view of the mountains, harbour and city from either, the bedroom, living room or rooftop, are stunning. If there weren't so many things to see and do in Victoria, I could have easily spent all my time up on the roof top patio! I enjoyed the relaxing, retreat like atmosphere, created from all the lush planets, flowers and comfortable furniture. I wish I could have stayed longer. This condo was truly like a home away from home!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • DMH

    DMH

    • Guest Mary Ellen (Sundre)
    • Date of stay 07/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/11/12
    When we first walked into our accommodations,we were welcomed by an incredible view of the Harbour, backdropped by the beautiful Rocky Mountains. We were excited to explore the Rooftop Garden and Patio and were delighted that we could be outside to enjoy a birds eye view of the sites of the city, but also enjoy the privacy surrounded by beautiful fruit trees, a herb garden and a relaxing atmosphere. We knew immediately that our stay would be most enjoyable. The penthouse was very clean and included all the amenities that we needed for our stay. We especially liked that we did not have to drive anywhere as we could walk a short distance to the Harbour and catch a boat taxi over to the fish market. We walked a short distance to Chinatown, the Museum, the Empress Hotel and the Legislative Buildings. There are so many attractions within a short distance of walking! While strolling along the harbour, a must stop for delicious fish and chips is Red Fish, Blue Fish, in Chinatown there are many little restaurants that have delicious dishes to sit and enjoy while watching the sites and sounds. One of our favourite restaurants for a romantic supper was the Il Terrazzo, again within walking distance. This location would be a perfect get away for a couple. We definitely will be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful view from luxurious accommodations!

    Beautiful view from luxurious accommodations!

    • Guest Pjf (Alberta)
    • Date of stay 06/07/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    Staying in this beautiful condo was one of the highlights of our trip to the Island! It is beautifully set up, so comfortable and clean! Absolutely loved the views, whether sitting on the couch watching the harbour activity or enjoying the panorama from the rooftop! So wonderful sipping wine and watching the evening lights all over the city as a floater plane passes overhead! Loved being in such close proximity to so much that Victoria has to offer.....wonderful dining, a stroll through Chinatown, unique shopping. We could hop on a little harbour taxi, pick up fresh seafood at Fisherman's Wharf and bring it home to a well equipped kitchen to prepare! The bed was so cozy and I loved the soaker tub! I can't wait to go back and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]