Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
ENJOY A SWIM WHATEVER THE WEATHER

Large Luxury Country House with a Real Wow Factor [#437444ha] | View Property

Costa del Sol - Malaga
Large Country house with Indoor Spa comprising heated pool, jacuzzi and sauna
€2,750 - €4,500/wk Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Fantastic villa

    Fantastic villa

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/23/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    We had a fantastic time at Finca de Palmero. Lovely villa itself and amazing views. Nice to have such luxuries like the wine cellar and indoor pool and jacuzzi. We had fun exploring the area ( even though Mummy Humphries not keen on cliff roads and steep drops). Gaucin has a nice climb up to the castle and Ronda has an original bull ring and lovely photo opportunities. Enjoyed many raucous games of table tennis and had a fantastic tapas/paella meal cooked in the villa by Sara, beautiful seafood and stuffed peppers! Ian Wiltshire 31st August to 7th September 2013

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A holiday of a lifetime

    A holiday of a lifetime

    • Guest emily b.
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    This was the best holiday we have ever had because the villa is just perfect. It is beautifully presented with superb facilities and lots of space. The outside terrace is wonderful and the 'mirador' is a heavenly place to sit and relax on hot evenings and look out across the valley to the sea. It is in the heart of the countryside and is incredibly peaceful and relaxing and yet not far from beautiful Ronda or the coast. The villa has a stunning outside pool and bar and an amazing indoor lap pool, sauna and spa pool. All the bedrooms/bathrooms are top class and the beds themselves so comfortable. We were looked after so well. This was a real find and we highly recommend it - you will not be disappointed. We will definitely return as soon as we can.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Another amazing week !!!!

    Another amazing week !!!!

    • Guest FABIENNE B. (Londres, Royaume-uni)
    • Date of stay 04/13/13
    • Review Submitted 05/29/13
    This was our second time at la Finca and as last year we spent a wonderful and so relaxing week ; we have been able to enjoy the house and the outdoor facilities thanks to a perfect weather and had all our dinners outside. The house is still delight to live in and we enjoyed so much Sarah's cooking and new ice cream recipes ! All family was so happy to see you and Ian again . Many thanks Jane and John for your warm welcome ; we hope we will be able to come for a third time next year !!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Finca de Palmero! Awesome!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Finca de Palmero! Awesome!

    • Guest Tod Chmar
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    Finca de Palmero! Awesome! A luxury, private well appointed estate- we are so glad we stayed in this lovely home in this beautiful setting. Thank you! With four college students and one high schooler we really appreciated the privacy of all the bedrooms. And the pool, sauna, hot tub, outdoor pool combo was over the top relaxing and fun. Thanks to Sara and Ian we knew where to visit, what routes to take, and what restuarants to frequent. Sara was especially helpful arranging our tour of Tangier, Morrocco and the visit to the Equestrian Horse Show in Jerez. The beautiful gardens, well appointed interiors and all the extra creature comforts really made out stay incredibly comfortable. Congratulations on owning and running such a “ 5 Star” property we are grateful for our experience here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We have spent a fantastic week here at the Finca.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We have spent a fantastic week here at the Finca.

    • Guest Judy Phillpots
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    We have spent a fantastic week here at the Finca,celebrating our Ruby wedding anniversary and friends birthday. The weather was kind to us and the sun shone throughout, so we were able to sample the outdoor pool as well as the indoor both of which were a great hit with our 2 and a half year old granddaughter. The facilities are amazing, but it was the warm welcome from Sara and Ian as well as John and Jane ( who so kindly invited us to meet the alpacas at their beautiful new house) that made the holiday so special. Nothing was too much trouble for Sara! From recommendations for walks and where to buy fish to booking us a table at a lovely restaurant outside Ronda for our celebratory meal and cooking us two delicious meals herself. We are sad to be leaving but have wonderful memories to take home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanks for everything!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks for everything!

    • Guest Albert Dugdale
    • Date of stay 04/28/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    Thanks for everything! We spent an amazing week in the Finca. Despite variable weather we could enjoy the indoor swimming pool every day which was the children’s favorite. Pingpong was another key attraction as well as exploring the grounds and the surroundings. The house is perfect throughout and a delight to live in. Every single detail is perfect or very close to. Sarah and Ian have been present, caring, efficient and discreet throughout. We will keep very fond memories of Sarah’s meals which have been a real delight. Great recipes with local quality products and lots of love. It has been magnificent.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Everything lived up to our expectations – and more

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Everything lived up to our expectations – and more

    • Guest Stuart Millin
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    Everything lived up to our expectations – and more! It’s a joy to be back in Andalucia. We have been looked after in everyway, and the meals cooked by Sarah were superb.Much needed rain has refreshed the coutryside, and the villa and surroundings have refreshed us! Everyone who comes here must want to return, and so do we!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • In a word…astounding.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    In a word…astounding.

    • Guest Anand Tharmaratnam - Singapore
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 09/01/11
    In a word…astounding. Fantastic location, fabulous views, family friendly finca. This has been a truly memorable week, in a lovely Andalucian home…a home away from home..thanks to Sue and Terry, for their gracious, genuine and generous hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanks so much for everything!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks so much for everything!

    • Guest Enis Konuk - USA
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 09/01/11
    Thanks so much for everything! We had a wonderful stay at Finca de Palmero – and hate to have to leave so soon. We had a great time visiting the sites in Seville, Ronda and Granada and relaxing by the pool here at the finca. Thank you to Sue and Terry for your hospitality  - your fabulous cooking, warm welcome + great advice. We hope to return some day!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a fabulous home!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What a fabulous home!

    • Guest Tore Gillbrand
    • Date of stay 06/25/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    What a fabulous home! We loved every minute of our stay. Thank you John and Jane for showing us the alpacas and your house. Terry and Susan made us feel so welcome and cooked amazing meals for us and helped us celebrate Jay's 73rd birthday. It was a lovely reunion of 3 generations of our family and we appreciated the helpful suggestion for a beach day at Sabinillas. The 'farm house' has every amenity. We used the pools, the ping pong table, the gazebo and the outside views were magnificent. kudos for creating a beautiful retreat, Bonnie and Jay, Bjorn and Eta, and Tore, Beth, James and Tucker - California USA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We hope to return to this special place very soon.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We hope to return to this special place very soon.

    • Guest Tim Clark - NY USA
    • Date of stay 06/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/01/11
    Our deepest thanks to John and Jane for opening  your absolutely stunning home to our family. Equally heartfelt thanks to Sue + Terry who looked after us so warmly and thoroughly over the course of our week. We have had a fantastic stay here over the past week, thoroughly enjoying the comforts of this home, the pools, the view and the surrounding campo. We only wish we could stay longer. All our needs were met and our senses sated. We hope to return to this special place very soon! with appreciation….

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Finca with the WOW factor

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Finca with the WOW factor

    • Guest Nicole McGrath
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 06/24/10
    We were greeted by our fantastic hosts Catherine and Craig on arrival,who throughout our stay looked after our every need. The finca is incredibly well appointed and very child friendly-we had a five week old baby, a one year old and a two and a half year old. The provision of high chairs, baby baths etc made life really easy. Craig cooked for us on quite a few occasions and the food was fab. We all really relaxed,thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are very sad too be leaving! A great place to chill out. Nicole 19th June 2010 Reigate Surrey UK

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The house & region exceeded our expectations

    The house & region exceeded our expectations

    • Guest Tracy (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 06/29/10
    Wow – It’s been a while since a vacation really exceeded my expectations. My extended family met at Finca de Palmero for 2 weeks in early June. The house was set-up well for us with the bedrooms separate providing quiet, private space yet plenty of shared space for all of us, especially the kids, to enjoy together. The whole property is fenced-in which was a huge bonus with the kids. It allowed us to relax while the kids were out exploring b/c we knew they couldn’t leave the property. And there was plenty for the kids to explore with goats and alpacas behind the house and lizards running around everywhere. The children loved the outdoor pool and the adults loved the fact that we could enjoy a leisurely lunch or dinner at the outdoor table and still see the kids in the pool. The indoor pool served us well on the one day that it rained and my husband did use it several evenings for swimming laps. But let me cut to the chase, the reason we were really able to relax (with 4 kids under 5 years of age) was because of Craig & Catherine. The breakfast and house-keeping included with the house rental was a great bonus. We loved the meal option as well. This was a great luxury that I think we opted to have 7 of our 14 nights. The food was delicious with lots of fresh herbs from the garden and saved us several trips to the supermarket. In previous villa rentals (Italy) I thought the option to use a cook was cost prohibitive, but here it was fairly priced. Our adventures away from the house included Granada (overnight), Seville, Mijas, the beach at San Luis de Sabinilla and the white washed mountain towns of Gaucin, Ronda and Casares. We enjoyed it all. Additionally the owners, Jane & John had us over for dinner at their home which was such great fun. It was difficult to return home after being spoiled for 2 weeks. I hope to see the Finca again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • WOW what an amazing holiday

    Guest comment entered by owner

    WOW what an amazing holiday

    • Guest Tracy Collins
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 06/24/10
    WOW! What an amazing holiday. Our family decided to meet in Spain for a family gathering as part of us reside in London UK. We could not have picked a better region and property for our reunion. Finca de Palmero exceeded our expectations. The property itself allowed our children to explore nature in a perfect contained environment and boy were the swimming pools a big hit!!. The house is a perfect set up for more than one family and was inviting and relaxing. My sister in law´s favorite place was the herb garden, which we used for meals. Craig and Catherine took great care of our needs and the dinners they prepared were nothing short of fabulous! We were spoiled and enjoyed every minute of it! Catherine introduced us to tinto de verano. We couldn´t get enough of it. What a perfect drink to have while relaxing by the pool looking at the stunning views! John and Jane gave us a warm welcome and we enjoyed a great dinner at their house into the early hours of the morning! All in all a perfect holiday! Tracy Collins P.S. We also took in trips to Granada, Seville, Gaucín, Mijas, Ronda and Casares. If time allows explore some of the small white washed towns. You will not be sorry. June 2010 Tracy USA/London

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We strongly recommend Finca de Palmero

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We strongly recommend Finca de Palmero

    • Guest Carlos Simas
    • Date of stay 04/22/10
    • Review Submitted 06/09/10
    From the 22nd to the 29th April, my family (3 couples with 2 babies) stayed at the Finca de Palmero, near Gaucin, Southern Spain. Our experience there was so good, that I would like to share it with you all. We were all impressed with the taste, quality and luxury of this place. Even though we had seen the photos in their site, the live impression was fantastic !! The place was spotless and very well equipped for all aspects of family life (including cots, high chairs and bottle sterilizing equipment). This Country House was surrounded by trees and vegetation, giving it a sense of privacy and peace. The view towards the Coast was magnificent and it was even more stunning in the afternoon, when the sun set in the horizon. The proprietor, Mr. Powell, attended promptly to the few needs we had (access to football matches on the telly !!!). Mrs. Powell showed us her herd of alpacas, which are cute but funny looking animals. But, the creme de la creme was the last night's dinner, prepared by the site manager, Craig, with the help of his partner Catherine. It cost 25.00 Euros p/head including wine and it was well worth it !! The meal was sophisticated and delicious. The best meal I have had in Spain for many years. I never thought I could get a meal like that in the middle of nowhere. We invited a couple of Expats who live in Puerto Banus, to share this meal with us, and they were just as impressed. We strongly recommend this place and we are planning to go back next year (but this time without the babies...)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Indeed a place with the WOW factor

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Indeed a place with the WOW factor

    • Guest carlos simas
    • Date of stay 04/22/10
    • Review Submitted 05/11/10
    “ Finca de Palmero, indeed a place with the WOW factor !! ” May 11, 2010, 4:47 AM From the 22nd to the 29th April, my family (3 couples with 2 babies) stayed at the Finca de Palmero, near Gaucin, Southern Spain. Our experience there was so good, that I would like to share it with you all. We were all impressed with the taste, quality and luxury of this place. Even though we had seen the photos in their site, the live impression was fantastic !! The place was spotless and very well equipped for all aspects of family life (including cots, high chairs and bottle sterilizing equipment). This Country House was surrounded by trees and vegetation, giving it a sense of privacy and peace. The view towards the Coast was magnificent and it was even more stunning in the afternoon, when the sun set in the horizon. The proprietor, Mr. Powell, attended promptly to the few needs we had (access to football matches on the telly !!!). Mrs. Powell showed us her herd of alpacas, which are cute but funny looking animals. But, the creme de la creme was the last night's dinner, prepared by the site manager, Craig, with the help of his partner Catherine. It cost 25.00 Euros p/head including wine and it was well worth it !! The meal was sophisticated and delicious. The best meal I have had in Spain for many years. I never thought I could get a meal like that in the middle of nowhere. We invited a couple of Expats who live in Puerto Banus, to share this meal with us, and they were just as impressed. We strongly recommend this place and we are planning to go back next year (but this time without the babies...)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]