Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
WOLF DEN Cabin (front view), with a swing on the front porch, too.

N.C. Blue Ridge Mountains Vacation Rental - Wolf Den Log Cabin [#438086] | View Property

Wilkesboro
Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 11)
From $125/nt - $650/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (54)

Sort by:
  • Home Sweet Home away from Home

    Home Sweet Home away from Home

    • Guest Mary C.
    • Date of stay 09/10/13
    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
    Had a wonderful time at wolf den cabin! Plenty of space for a family of seven, yet very compact. Everything was comfortable! Beds slept very well and the cabin was very clean. The amenities were perfect! Kitchen well supplied with pots/pans, bowls and utensils. Dearly loved the porch with the rocking chairs. Thanks for a peaceful place to escape the hassles of life! Appreciate the planning and work applied to make an oasis of peace!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wolf Den Review

    Wolf Den Review

    • Guest Michele and Johnnie (Wake Forest, NC)
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/21/13
    We love Buck Mountain and previously have stayed in other cabins in the area. We are so glad we discovered Wolf Den Log Cabin....because it certainly exceeded our expectations! The cabin is beautiful, comfortable, roomy, very clean and feels like "home away from home". The kitchen was well stocked in relation to the cooking utensils, dishes, silverware, etc. We especially loved the serene, quiet location and watched the deer strolling around the property in the evening. Wolf Den is a "little slice of heaven on earth" and you can feel the stress melt away as you rock on the porch. Many thanks to Brad and Stacey for sharing their mountain retreat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Awesome two family vacation cabin!!

    Awesome two family vacation cabin!!

    • Guest Vacation Lover (Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
    This cabin is an excellent vacation getaway we were two families of 4 and it accommodated us perfectly! Layout of cabin allowed for everyone to have their privacy. Located in a beautiful gated community with an amazing waterfall our kids loved! Owners were so nice and very accommodating. Cabin is well stocked with linens, towels, dishes, cookware and everything we needed. Would highly recommend this cabin it is beautiful and immaculately clean. Thanks for sharing your cabin with us we had a wonderful stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Vacation for all ages

    Family Vacation for all ages

    • Guest valeroo (Waxhaw, NC. USA)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/22/13
    The Wolf Den Log Cabin was just as listed. A lovely log home with great rooms and furniture. Well stocked kitchen and plenty of books and DVDs. The owners were extremely helpful about any questions and obviously want to help in any way they can. The view was wonderful and sitting on the back porch in rocking chairs was a great favorite. The front porch was a great place for five year olds to play and enjoy. Also nearby the fishing in the pond was fun and the waterfall beautiful. Boone has lots of attractions for those who wanted outings during the day.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Everything We needed

    Everything We needed

    • Guest Tilly12 (Cameron, NC)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 06/02/13
    The Cabin was a wonderful place for our family to spend time together in between wedding events. We enjoyed time together rocking on the back porch and enjoying the incredible view. Everything we needed was there to make it a special weekend for us.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Gorgeous Cabin

    Gorgeous Cabin

    • Guest Jackie (Miami, FL)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/06/13
    This is a beautiful cabin with spectacular view . We were so impressed with how clean and well stocked this house was. All you need to bring is your food and clothes. Everything else is there. The owners were very easy to work with and we would recommend this house to anyone. Anyone looking to remember a great vacation should definitely consider staying in this home. Thanks!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Just what we both needed

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Just what we both needed

    • Guest Carol and Scot
    • Date of stay 08/13/12
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. With my husband just returning from Iraq and with me in school, being able to come here and relax is just what we both needed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • A much needed girls weekend away

    Guest comment entered by manager

    A much needed girls weekend away

    • Guest Ann
    • Date of stay 07/30/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    What a wonderful place to retreat for a much needed girls weekend away! There were five of us celebrating a birthday and Wolf Den cabin was the perfect spot! We had all the amenities we could ask for. We so enjoyed sitting out on the deck and just catching up while overlooking the beautiful mountains. And, there was so much room for us to spread and be comfortable! It was the perfect location to get away, yet still convenient enough to tour a couple of the many wineries in the region. We left Wolf Den trying to figure out when we could get away again and come back! Thank you so much for opening up your home to us girls.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Miles she put on the cabin's rocking chairs

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Miles she put on the cabin's rocking chairs

    • Guest The Four Tough Sisters - Clearwater, FL
    • Date of stay 07/17/12
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    One of my sisters tried to estimate the miles she we put on the cabin's porch rocking chairs. She liked that the chairs didn't "walk" when they rock but stayed in one place. Our stay was pleasurable. It was great to be together again. Thank you for sharing your home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Those Margaritas tasted even better

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Those Margaritas tasted even better

    • Guest Todd, Samantha and friends
    • Date of stay 06/20/12
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    We stayed in the cabin during some glorious weather events and were thrilled that the back deck offered complete protection from the elements. It was great to be in the cabin in that forest during a storm. Then, as the sun was setting, it appeared in all its glory, the birds were fluttering about, we saw three deer and those Margaritas tasted even better. Thanks for being such great hosts to our family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wolf Den Cabin is outstanding

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Wolf Den Cabin is outstanding

    • Guest Bob and Jane
    • Date of stay 04/19/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Wolf Den Cabin is outstanding. Everything about it is very attractive and contains everything one should need or want. The only thing that would challenge the beauty of the cabin is the stunning beauty of the mountain scenery. Jane and I had a wonderful time. Thanks also for the guiding instructions that made things a lot easier.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Capped one of the most wonderful family vacations

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Capped one of the most wonderful family vacations

    • Guest The M & M families
    • Date of stay 02/29/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We had a wonderful weekend at Wolf Den Cabin recently and we wanted to thank you for your kind hospitality. The location provided a panoramic view of the mountains. When we weren't snow tubing at Sugar, we were enjoying the view from Grandfather Mountain. In the evenings, we took full advantage of your wonderful library of books, games, and videos. Both families had a wonderfully relaxing time and we wanted to express our gratitude to your gracious hospitality. On our way home, we stopped at Staghorn Falls and it capped one of the most wonderful family vacations we have experienced. Many thanks for your warm and wonderful hospitality. We hope to be back sometime this summer and would love to stay again at Wolf Den.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Girls weekend

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Girls weekend

    • Guest Cathy, Gwen, Nicole, Sonia, Mary
    • Date of stay 02/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Thank you so very much for allowing us to have a wonderful girls weekend. Your cabin has all the comforts of home. We have rented several cabins over the years and this is by far the best. The rockers, couches, linens, view, etc. . . . . were fabulous. We hope to return in the future. Thanks a bunch!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The cabin smelled like a crisp, clear pine forest

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The cabin smelled like a crisp, clear pine forest

    • Guest Sue Ann and Dennis
    • Date of stay 02/21/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Wow! I had a great visit to Wolf Den Cabin. It's a lovely cabin on a mountain ridge in the woods that provides all the modern conveniences of home. My husband and I could only stay for a short time so I hope we will have time to visit again. What I liked best was the peaceful feeling we got as soon as we arrived. The cabin is off the beaten track and I felt like I was faraway from the big, bad, cruel world. The cabin felt homey with its massive building logs. Everything is wood... no Sheetrock and the cabin smelled like a crisp, clear pine forest. The beds were soft and comfy and we used the gas log fireplace. It was quite chilly during our visit so we spent a lot of time inside. We watched no TV, just quiet time. We didn't bring our laptop but with the wireless connection in the cabin it would have been a breeze to surf the net. We did use the cabin's guest computer to check out some local attractions. I would highly recommend the cabin to anyone looking for some quality down time. We had a wonderful visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Watched the International Space Station fly by

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Watched the International Space Station fly by

    • Guest Dalton
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    I slept better than in ages! I usually wake up several times a night and have trouble getting back to sleep but I slept all the way through the night both nights. I was having a great time on the mountain and enjoying the cabin but I just couldn't wait to get into that bed the second night. Another thing I liked was the stars. It is impossible to see the starry sky in the city but up on the mountain I could see the winter Milky Way spread out across the whole sky. Earlier in the evening I relaxed in a rocker on the deck and watched the International Space Station fly by. Way too cool! We even had some brief snow flurries which was nice to enjoy and made the gas fireplace feel all the more cozy. My laptop computer worked just great through the Wolf Den wireless internet service and I ran my satellite predictions with no problem. It was great being away from the world, alone up there, but it was only a 20-minute drive to town for shopping and some fine restaurants. I can't wait to go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Looking forward to coming back

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Looking forward to coming back

    • Guest Bob and Ann
    • Date of stay 02/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Wolf Den is wonderful. Beautiful cabin, cozy & comfortable. Felt right at home. Looking forward to coming back with friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderfully outfitted (especially the kitchen)

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Wonderfully outfitted (especially the kitchen)

    • Guest Rick and family - Southern Florida
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    We wanted to take the time to thank you for the use of your beautiful cabin. Words and pictures can’t describe just how wonderful a place this is! It went way beyond our expectations. It is wonderfully outfitted (especially the kitchen) and designed. We had three different families there at once and everybody had their own private floors. It was like it was built for us! The views are spectacular from the back porch. We did it all while we were there. We cut down a tree from the local Christmas tree farm, which reopened on Christmas just for us (southern hospitality at it’s finest). We then went skiing and the cabin location allowed us to choose from all three local resorts. After that, off to the local snow tubing hill. We even got to see snow coming back from dinner! Shopping was a breeze with Boone and Wilkesboro so close we didn’t need to bring anything. We are planning on making this a Christmas tradition and adding a fall trip as well. (PS) Please don’t tell anyone else about the place because it is the best secret in the world!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lots of gorgeous scenery

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Lots of gorgeous scenery

    • Guest Elizabeth - Bristow, VA
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    We very much enjoyed staying at the Cabin. The Cabin is very nice and well-equipped. Lots of gorgeous scenery. We took tons of pictures of the sun coming up over the mountains, the foliage, the waterfall, etc. We will definitely try to reserve again on our next trip to NC. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The fall colors were just gorgeous

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The fall colors were just gorgeous

    • Guest Kim & David - The Colony, TX
    • Date of stay 11/16/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Wolf Den Cabin. We were there early November and the fall colors were just gorgeous from the deck view as well as the drive to and from the cabin. During our stay we hiked the trail up Staghorn Falls nearby as well as a few along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The cabin was very clean and the couch and bed were super comfy. We ate most of our meals there and the kitchen had everything we needed for preparation. It was only the two of us this time, but it was certainly suited for a future stay with our kids and grand kids. The owner was very helpful with directions and specifics regarding the cabin. If we are ever vacationing in the area again, we would certainly consider Wolf Den Cabin as it was like a home away from home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We spent a lot of time rocking on the back porch

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We spent a lot of time rocking on the back porch

    • Guest The whole family
    • Date of stay 10/25/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We had a great time visiting Buck Mountain and Wolf Den Cabin. The cabin is in the perfect location. There is a gorgeous view from the back porch and you're away from all the traffic. I think we only saw 2 cars go by the whole time we were there. We spent a lot of time rocking on the back porch, watching the movies provided while lounging on the super comfortable furniture (I really enjoyed the recliner), and swinging on the front porch. Everything was so user friendly and even child friendly. We lacked nothing. I also liked going down to the waterfall which was also beautiful. We saw a lady painting there one day. We visited Tweetsie Railroad (where my granddaughter had a great time) and West Jefferson. We can't wait to go back again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We look forward to our next trip.

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We look forward to our next trip.

    • Guest Skip
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    This is our third visit to Wolf Den. Each one has been unique, enjoyable and has left us to regret that there wasn't more time to spend in this little slice of paradise. It's the little details. Of all things, we wanted grated cheese in our breakfast meal. Yep, right there, in the bottom cabinet...a cheese grater! How cool is that? It's the big details too. Sitting in rocking chairs on the back porch, sharing a sunrise with my dad while the rest of the house slept. An impromptu event whose value just cannot be described. And then the normal stuff. Being able to share a family meal and conversation at the large dining table that's an important part of Wolf Den makes this a home away from home. This trip, the weather played nice but that was just a bonus...we knew we would be comfortable in Wolf Den no matter what. We look forward to our next trip.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great vacation with our family

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Great vacation with our family

    • Guest James and family - Mebane, NC
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Thank you for a beautiful cabin to spend a great vacation with our family! Such a comfortable setting for us all to gather.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • It was like they had their own little apartment

    Guest comment entered by manager

    It was like they had their own little apartment

    • Guest The Borah Family - Edmond, OK
    • Date of stay 08/18/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    The cabin was everything we expected and more. It was so fun just driving to the cabin. The setting is perfect and we saw lots of wildlife while we were there. Our many trips hiking down to the waterfall will bring back memories in years to come. The master bedroom downstairs was the perfect place for my son and daughter-in-law to stay with their newborn son. It was like they had their own little apartment. The cabin was equipped with everything we could have needed, including a beautiful cake stand to display my Dad's 80th birthday cake. We would definitely stay in the cabin again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • All you said it would be and more

    Guest comment entered by manager

    All you said it would be and more

    • Guest Jerry - Morehead City, NC
    • Date of stay 08/01/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    Thank you for the use of your cabin. We had a great time. The week went by so very quickly! Everything at the house was all you said it would be and more. You have done a great job in making things very comfortable. We enjoyed the stay very much. We are talking about staying again at some point in the future. I have told several friends about your place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We spent hours in the porch rockers

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We spent hours in the porch rockers

    • Guest Sandra and Frank
    • Date of stay 07/17/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We met family at the cabin for a long weekend. We couldn't have asked for a more at home, comfortable cabin. The cabin was nicely set up with all the amenities one could think of. Our visit was very relaxing - we spent hours in the porch rockers enjoying the views and the cool mornings and evenings we had.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The boys especially enjoyed the waterfall

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The boys especially enjoyed the waterfall

    • Guest Lisa - Titusville, FL
    • Date of stay 07/08/11
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    We really enjoyed the cabin. It had everything we needed. The boys especially enjoyed the waterfall.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The best I've ever experienced

    Guest comment entered by manager

    The best I've ever experienced

    • Guest Gaye
    • Date of stay 06/10/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your cabin. The view from the back porch was beautiful and perfect for morning coffee in one of the rocking chairs. The location is great for making day trips to other mountain attractions, and it's next to the Blue Ridge Parkway. The amenities were the best I've ever experienced at either a cabin or beach house rental. The kitchen was fully stocked with clean cookware, dishes, and everything needed to prepare a meal. The linens and towels were first class. Thanks for thinking of everything we needed to make it a great experience. We would definitely recommend Wolf Den Cabin to our friends, and hope to visit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • It was peaceful in the midst of wedding chaos

    Guest comment entered by manager

    It was peaceful in the midst of wedding chaos

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/12/10
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    The cabin was lovely and just what we needed since we were staying there during our son's rehearsal dinner and wedding. It was peaceful in the midst of wedding chaos. The view and the porch were great even if it was very cold that weekend. Thanks for providing us with such a lovely place to stay with our family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Great location

    • Guest Doug
    • Date of stay 09/17/10
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    i like the view great location. hope to do it again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We visited many of the local wineries

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We visited many of the local wineries

    • Guest Tom & Fran
    • Date of stay 06/24/10
    • Review Submitted 09/29/12
    We enjoyed a very restful stay. The cabin is completely supplied, it is certainly a home away from home. Very comfortable with all the comforts of home. Loved sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs. We visited many of the local wineries. We had an exceptional visit at the Sanders Ridge Winery. They have a wonderful restaurant there. We enjoyed two delicious meals there. We also had an exciting time doing the Back Woods zip line also at this winery. Each time we would go up and down Buck Mountain, we took a couple of minutes to enjoy the sound of the Staghorn waterfall. We had a very nice week at Wolf Den Cabin.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Cozy cabin

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Cozy cabin

    • Guest Liliya
    • Date of stay 01/11/10
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Wonderful, cozy cabin where you feel like at home. It has a great floor plan so everybody can have privacy. Fully stocked with all the necessities. We had a great time, lots of fun in the snow. We spent great New Year Eve that will bring back only good memories. We would recommend this cabin to all of our fiends and will definitely come back. Thank you for letting us stay in your cabin. The Bulgarian Group

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We truly felt at home

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We truly felt at home

    • Guest Christy
    • Date of stay 11/03/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We had a great time and made lots of fun memories! The cabin worked out perfect for the seven of us. We had everything we could have needed in the well equipped kitchen. The master suite downstairs was a nice get away. We truly felt at home. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful time

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Wonderful time

    • Guest Lisa - Rocky Mount, NC
    • Date of stay 11/03/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We had a wonderful time while staying at Wolf Den from 10/22-10/25,2009. The mountain scenery was absolutely beautiful! This cabin makes for a perfect vacation get away. We truly enjoyed the trails of Buck Mountain. Wolf Den Cabin had everything we could have possibly needed. We had an opportunity to meet a few residents of Buck Mountain, who were very friendly and pleasant. We highly recommend staying at Wolf Den, and have plans to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We loved the hammock

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We loved the hammock

    • Guest Diana - Greensboro
    • Date of stay 10/09/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We had a wonderful time at Wolf Den cabin. The cabin was warm and inviting, and the decor wonderfully appropriate for the setting. Clean and cozy, especially with the gas logs on. Great views of the mountains, and we loved the hammock outside looking over the mountain views. We went to several of the Swan Creek area wineries, only a short drive away, and had a fabulous time. A great place to visit, we are planning on returning for another getaway soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Incredibly well supplied

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Incredibly well supplied

    • Guest Gwen and George
    • Date of stay 09/28/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We had a group of 6 people and we had a wonderful time. We all thought the cabin was very clean and incredibly well supplied with kitchen goodies...we cooked "in" two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. We would recommend the drive to Boone, Blowing Rock and Banner Elk, including the Banner Elk winery...one of the highways to Banner Elk was a twisty road and would be truly beautiful in the fall colors. We hope to return soon and often to Wolf Den!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nice having the computer

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Nice having the computer

    • Guest Gladys
    • Date of stay 07/30/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Thanks for sharing your mountain vacation home with us; it was great. Myself and seven others thoroughly enjoyed nature for a short 2 days. The cabin was well furnished including the kitchen and it was extremely nice having the computer. We hope to get back to Buck Mountain!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wolf Den Cabin is beautiful!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Wolf Den Cabin is beautiful!

    • Guest Suzanne
    • Date of stay 06/29/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Wolf Den Cabin is beautiful! The view from the back deck is awesome in the mornings to watch the sunrise. All of the kids enjoyed seeing the deer, rabbits, wild turkey, and even the bats! The adults enjoyed the peace and serenity after a hectic day of dance competition.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • 4 wonderful nights

    Guest comment entered by manager

    4 wonderful nights

    • Guest Debbie and Family
    • Date of stay 05/29/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Thank you for allowing us to spend 4 wonderful nights in your beautiful cabin. We wanted for nothing. The cabin was more than I imagined, and the location was breath taking. We loved the back deck with all the rocking chairs, we spent our evenings on the back deck just rocking and relaxing. It was so peaceful. We saw a lot of deer and turkeys. The trails were great. We will be back..Thanks again for sharing your cabin with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Another great MerleFest

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Another great MerleFest

    • Guest Steve and Sherri
    • Date of stay 05/08/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Another great MerleFest and another great stay at Wolf Den! We tried to keep a list of birds mentioned in the music we heard, for our little birdwatching column we write for our local paper. The talley was, surprisingly, NONE this year --However, I can report that up on the mountain, the birds were singing and showing off to us! Hooded warblers were singing all around us every morning and evening, although they frustrated us by never showing themselves. A ruby-throated hummingbird visited the back deck every morning, checking to see if the owners had hung a feeder yet. A wild turkey pranced through the front yard. Eastern Phoebes darted out from the branches of the trees, catching insects. Chickadees, titmice, and cardinals fussed and fumed around the cabin. Pileated woodpeckers, two or three of them, competed in a calling and drumming contest. We had a few red-bellied woodpeckers, too. And there was one bird who sang out in the front yard in the morning and from somewhere in the valley below in the evening, that I never saw, and I didn’t recognize the song. One evening a Cooper’s hawk alighted on a branch right about eye level to us as we sat in the rocking chairs on the back deck. We had plenty of time to admire him before he decided that the warblers weren’t going to offer themselves as an entrée, and moved on. And of course, the wonderful whippoorwills called each night after the sun went down. We did enjoy our stay! I'd forgotten how incredible the stars are, too. And we spent an extra day after the festival exploring the falls, napping in the hammock, and just enjoying the peace and quiet. Thanks for sharing your wonderful home with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Skiing at Sugar & hiking near Grandfather Mountain

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Skiing at Sugar & hiking near Grandfather Mountain

    • Guest Kevin and Beve
    • Date of stay 02/07/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We have really enjoyed our mini vacation here at the cabin. We are here with our son, daughter-in-law, grandson, daughter & son-in-law. We just love the cabin and all of it's amenities. It is so comfortable and it is equipped to the hilt. We celebrated 2 birthdays while we were here and it will make for some great memories. There was some skiing at Sugar and hiking near Grandfather Mountain and lots and lots of relaxing and reading. It has been great!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Terrifically stocked kitchen

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Terrifically stocked kitchen

    • Guest Lisbeth
    • Date of stay 02/01/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We recently stayed at Wolf Den for a long weekend to take advantage of Winterfest in Blowing Rock. We had a great time; we found a great little restaurant in Boone, The Bistro, on a family recommendation. We enjoyed the wine tasting and the concert in Blowing Rock, and of course Grandfather Mountain. The cabin was very comfortable, with plenty of indoor activities should the weather be less than perfect, cozy fireplace. A terrifically stocked kitchen which you rarely find in a rental house, it's usually the dregs of the tag sale; so cooking was a pleasure. Would love to go back in any weather. Thank you for a terrific mountain escape.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • It truly is a home away from home!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    It truly is a home away from home!

    • Guest Kate
    • Date of stay 01/20/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Beautiful cabin! Wonderful time! There was nothing they haven't thought of! It truly is a home away from home! We will definitely go back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I wouldn't change a thing with your cabin

    Guest comment entered by manager

    I wouldn't change a thing with your cabin

    • Guest The Swartz family and the 4 Clicks
    • Date of stay 01/10/09
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We truly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cabin. It definitely has a gorgeous view. The kids really liked the hiking and exploring around the cabin area. I agree with other visitors about the well equipped kitchen. Usually I bring all my gadgets with me. I didn't this time after reading the reviews. The weather was not what we expected. Warm one day and cold the next. Unfortunately we never saw "real" snow. We went snow tubing at Hawks Nest where they make their own snow. Wow, that will wear you out. If you get a chance you have to go horseback riding. We found a nice place to go horseback riding through a Christmas tree farm. It is Burnt Hill Stables in Laurel Springs. The owner and guides were all very nice. That same day we visited a winery. My husband and best friends that stayed with us all came away from there a little tipsy from the tastings. Each also bought a bottle. I don't think any made it back to Florida. We were planning more adventures but our 6yr old daughter got pneumonia. The nurses and doctors at Wilkes Hospital ER were fantastic. I was a little scared to take her to a doctor/ER we did not know. But, they treated her like royalty. With her being sick were able to enjoy the comforts of the cabin instead of traveling around.We were visited by a deer one morning and by 3 more a couple of days later. Keep your s eyes open while traveling on the mountain to and from the cabin. There are deer all over. One night while coming back to the cabin we had approx 5-6 of them run across the road in front of us. Thank goodness we were obeying the speed limit. I wouldn't change a thing with your cabin. It is just like going to a second home. We are definitely thinking of additional visits. Thank you again for a wonderful visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Spend Thanksgiving at Wolf Den Cabin

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Spend Thanksgiving at Wolf Den Cabin

    • Guest Tracey
    • Date of stay 11/30/08
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We were lucky enough to be able to spend Thanksgiving at Wolf Den Cabin. What a wonderful place with a beautiful view. We had plenty of room for a family gathering of 10. The cabin had everything we needed for our Thanksgiving dinner. During our stay we drove to nearby West Jefferson to a "Choose and Cut" Christmas Tree Farm. What a fun family outing - walking up the mountain to find the perfect tree! Once we found it they cut it and wrap it up! We also traveled to into Boone to check out ASU and planned on doing some snow tubing, but time got away from us. We will be back to visit Wolf Den again for sure! Thank you for sharing it with our family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Can't say enough good things about Wolf Den Cabin

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Can't say enough good things about Wolf Den Cabin

    • Guest Jane
    • Date of stay 09/30/08
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    My friend and I were participating in a watercolor painting workshop in Boone and rather than stay at the near-by motel in town, we decided to stay at this cool cabin we found on-line. What a great decision that was!! I cannot say enough good things about Wolf Den Cabin. It was immaculately clean and woodsy fragrant, has comfy furnishings, great beds & linens, plenty of hot water and showers that work, a wonderfully supplied kitchen, quality appliances & laundry facilities, TV and computer, and the best ever rocking chairs on the porch! We loved having our coffee on the porch & watching the sunrise. The evening view is also spectacular. It was quiet and remote but we felt perfectly safe and secure in this lovely gated community. We learned to have our cameras ready on our trips up and down the mountain road, because we saw deer and even a large flock of wild turkeys – up close and personal! We are so grateful to you for all the thought and effort you have put into making this cabin such a delightful place to stay. We are pleased to have found this treasure and hope to return in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Having so many bathrooms and bedrooms was nice

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Having so many bathrooms and bedrooms was nice

    • Guest Karen
    • Date of stay 08/19/08
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We really enjoyed our stay in Wolf Den. Having so many bathrooms and bedrooms was nice. Plus the fully-furnished kitchen made preparations easy. Sitting out on the deck overlooking all those trees was really a calming and worshipful experience. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A short ride to many of the area’s attractions

    Guest comment entered by manager

    A short ride to many of the area’s attractions

    • Guest Gina
    • Date of stay 07/23/08
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    This cabin was a wonderful retreat for us. We really enjoyed the solitude of the mountain locale; yet were delighted to find that is just a short ride to many of the area’s attractions and activities. Our days there were packed with going and seeing all that we could and the evenings were spent with a good book or movie in the quiet of the cabin.The cabin itself is lovely furnished, roomy, and comfortable with all the amenities. The back porch’s (my favorite) beautiful vista is absolutely mesmerizing. While rocking in the chairs, all one can hear are the songbirds and the trees rustling in the breeze. We also thoroughly enjoyed the nearby jewels-- Boone, Banner Elk, Linville, Grandfather Mountain, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. There is no way to see it all in one week! Alas, we shall return!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I enjoyed searching for the Barn Quilts

    Guest comment entered by manager

    I enjoyed searching for the Barn Quilts

    • Guest Ed and Pam
    • Date of stay 04/20/08
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We had a great time at Wolf Den Cabin on Buck Mountain. My son enjoyed the trails and my husband and I enjoyed searching for the Barn Quilts through out the neighboring counties. You can get a map of the locations of the barns with the painted quilts on line under Google Barn Quilts. We drove throughout the countryside and saw some of the most beautiful scenery the high country has to offer off the beaten path, locating eleven of the seventeen or eighteen barns. We took photos and plan on making a display for our wall, which will bring back good memories. Wolf Den Cabin was comfortable and scenic and has everything needed. We hope to return sometime in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Even for a Floridian 'flat-lander' like myself

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Even for a Floridian 'flat-lander' like myself

    • Guest Aimee
    • Date of stay 03/07/08
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    This was my 2nd stress-free stay at this beautiful mountain cabin!! I arrived a day before my dad did and, as a single gal, felt very safe and secure in this lovely, gated community. Wolf Den is a spotless, cozy home that - dare I say - is even more comfortable than my own. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed and wanted....we just brought the food and drink. If you enjoy cooking, this is the kitchen to be in! The updated appliances and gadgets are sure to keep the cook in your party happy. The cabin is pleasantly decorated and the rocking chairs on the rear deck welcome you to sit and converse with your loved ones...or just sit and listen to Mother Nature. Plenty of linens, towels and blankets, a nice washer/dryer set, hiking sticks, and a gas fireplace are just a few examples of the comforts and conveniences Wolf Den offers. The owners are warm and welcoming - calling to ensure you have all that you need, while being sure not to intrude on your quiet time at their lovely cabin. The drive up to the cabin from the main road is beautiful and easy...even for a Floridian 'flat-lander' like myself. You must stop to see the waterfall - and bring your camera! Although this was a "working" trip and we didn't have any free time to play, Dad and I both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wolf Den. It afforded us plenty of room to spread out and get our work done, while giving us the comforts of home. We highly recommend staying here and look forward to our next trip!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Can she come clean my house next???

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Can she come clean my house next???

    • Guest Aimee
    • Date of stay 10/17/07
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    We just returned from a week at Wolf Den. What can I say? It was the absolute best vacation I have ever had. The cabin was spotless (can she come clean my house next???) and had everything we could possibly need. The appliances were like-new, the kitchen lacked for nothing (the blender makes a mean frozen margarita!), and the furniture was super-comfy. Thank goodness you don't allow dogs...otherwise, we would have had no reason to return to Florida and they'd be forcing an eviction this week :-). The directions in finding the property were perfect. The drive up the mountain road was a beautiful and easy drive - even with an enclosed trailer attached to the rear of our non-4-wheel drive mini-van. And the owner's thoughtful phone call the day of our arrival was much appreciated. As two single gals having a "girls only" vacation, we felt safe and secure at Wolf Den. We spent most mornings on the back deck with a hot cup of coffee, watching the sun come up and enjoying the deer that would venture by to welcome us to their land. The rocking chairs were a soothing way to slowly get our bodies moving and ready to start the new day. Our days were spent checking out the surrounding areas (West Jefferson, Boone....eat, eat, eat, shop, shop, shop), visiting a good friend in Asheville, and of course spending time on our Wilkesboro land, wishing we could pick up Wolf Den and plop it down on our future home site. And the evenings?? Well, once again our fannies were planted in the rockers on the rear deck, where we giggled like school girls (something we hadn't done in years!), talked about building our own little piece of paradise in the beautiful NC mountains, and yes, sipping margaritas. Planning our trip well in advance to coincide with our Property Owner Association meeting, we decided to have a Christmas in October. Unable to build on our land yet, we wanted to experience (as best we could) a North Carolina Christmas. So we brought along a Charlie Brown artificial Christmas tree, Christmas music CD's, gifts, mom's pecan pie (made from scratch), and even DVDs of the TV claymation movies that we watched as children (OK, as adults too). What fun we had creating our own Christmas in October! The only thing missing was the snow...and had the owners known about our Christmas in October, I believe they would have arranged for that as well! The only bad part of the trip was having to pack up and leave Sunday morning. Oh how we wished we could have stayed longer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next