Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front of house

4 BR Pioneer Home-Pet Friendly, Near Zions Nat. Park, Mt Bike and Atv [#444715] | View Property

Hurricane
Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8-15)
$109/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Mountain Biking Base of Operations

    Mountain Biking Base of Operations

    • Guest Geoffrey L.
    • Date of stay 11/15/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    This was the perfect place to stay for a weekend mountain bike getaway. The house is conveniently located near downtown Hurricane, within walking distance of a coffee shop, restaurants, and a bike shop. It is right near highways 9 and 59 which allows easy access to many of the best bike/hike trails around Hurricane and the Virgin River. The house was clean, larger than expected, and well stocked with the essentials. The walled in back yard offered plenty of secure parking for cars and trailers. The pictures don't do this house justice as there is an additional living room with fireplace on the first floor that is not mentioned, a welcome surprise. Tim was a pleasure to work with and was very quick to resolve the one small issue that came up (the key box code didn't work when we first arrived). Thanks for the great weekend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your kind review but even more, we are grateful that you had a good stay and that our home served you well. We are very grateful that you were understanding about a "foul up" with the key box and would be happy to have you all back again. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing family getaway

    Amazing family getaway

    • Guest Julie G.
    • Date of stay 11/08/13
    • Review Submitted 12/16/13
    This is our second visit to the Hurricane house. First visit was a larger group of cousins. This visit was just our family of 6. So grateful to find a reasonable place to stay that allows us to have an enjoyable stay. Plenty of parking even for large groups. Would love if the backyard wasn't just gravel, but then again also like the budget price. Inside is clean and cute and all the convenience of home to entertain one or multiple families. The owners are spectacular to deal with and we will be back!!!

    Owner response: We were very happy to have you as return guests and even more happy to know that you had and great stay. This is our first year with this home and have been toying with some Ideas about the back yard. Thank you for your suggestion and maybe this will be the time to make some changes. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Value in the area.

    Best Value in the area.

    • Guest Kyler R.
    • Date of stay 11/01/13
    • Review Submitted 11/15/13
    We had a wonderful time during our stay in Hurricane. The house was perfect for two families. Lots of room and all the amenities you need. Secure off street parking was a bonus. The Bike shop in town is just a 1/2 block away. The only caution I would give to people is that the bathrooms are both accessed off bedrooms so if you had 4 parties staying in the house you would have to go through someones bedroom to get to the bathroom. Other than that the house was perfect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • excellent vacation home around the Zion NP area

    excellent vacation home around the Zion NP area

    • Guest cau p.
    • Date of stay 10/14/13
    • Review Submitted 10/26/13
    Eventhough it's about half an hour to get to Zion NP, it's worth the effort to stay in a well stocked home with almost all the amenities to a big group of 10 people. Besides Zion, this house is centered to many other interesting places like St George, Snow Valley State Park........close by. The owner Tim is wonderful and very helpful. Will consider it again for our next visit of this superb area of Southern Utah

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very cozy, great location

    Very cozy, great location

    • Guest Lori S.
    • Date of stay 09/24/13
    • Review Submitted 10/08/13
    My husband and I recently spent a week in southwestern Utah visiting Zion and Bryce National Parks. We stayed at Hurricane House for most of our trip. The house is on a quiet street at the eastern edge of Hurricane, UT. It’s about a 30 minute drive to the southern entrance of Zion National Park. We drove to and from the park every day and it was spectacular. The drive from Hurricane to Zion is just breathtaking and it added to the overall experience of our trip. Hurricane House is a wonderful vacation home. It felt warm and welcoming, so much better than a hotel. The home is very clean and well-appointed with a large kitchen and wonderful sitting area on the main floor as well as the second floor. The couch upstairs in the T.V. room is so comfortable. It felt great to lounge on after a day of hiking and sight-seeing. The washer/dryer unit worked very well, which has rarely been the case in our past experiences with vacation homes. I was impressed. The home also has the added convenience of being located in a town with a supermarket, Lin’s (which is a great market), as well as a Walmart a few miles west. It’s the best of both worlds, in my opinion – close to the wilderness and natural beauty of Zion and surrounding areas, but minutes away from modern conveniences if you need them. We loved our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic Centrally Located Rental for Zion

    Fantastic Centrally Located Rental for Zion

    • Guest Edla W. (Rogers, Texas)
    • Date of stay 09/14/13
    • Review Submitted 09/21/13
    This is a great place to stay while visiting Zion/Bryce/North Rim Grand Canyon. The house has everything you need. Plenty of pots and pans, dishes, silverware and all those things you need when preparing meals. It was nice that the basics -- salt, pepper, paper towels, dish soap, bath soap -- were provided. Also having a hair dryer in each bathroom was a plus. The owners, Tim and Linda, are very helpful and their attention to detail is evident in the house. Having a washer and dryer is such a nice bonus when on vacation -- especially when hiking. The beds are comfortable and there were extra pillows. Everything was sparkly clean. There are plenty of towels. The location -- just a block off the road to Zion National Park -- makes it a perfect location. If you are planning a trip to Zion, this is an ideal rental. There were four of us and it was nice that there was a bedroom for each of our grown children upstairs and we were downstairs. The area is quiet. We all highly recommend this rental if you are visiting the area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the wonderful review. It is wonderful to have such nice guests. Please come again soon. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • St. George Vacation

    St. George Vacation

    • Guest j (AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/17/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    Everything was exactly as described. The home was very comfortable and fit our needs perfectly. The property was clean and they were quick to answer our questions. We were so close to Zions and St. George attractions as well.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is always a pleasure to have such nice people stay at our home. We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable in our home while visiting and partaking of the local wonderful sights at Zions and things to do in St. George. We would be glad to have you back again. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We loved this house!!

    We loved this house!!

    • Guest Julie V.
    • Date of stay 06/10/13
    • Review Submitted 06/16/13
    We loved this house. It was comfortable, and fit our family perfectly. It was such a nice place to come home to after a long day at Zions. It was clean, and stocked with everything we needed. We have already planned another trip, and will be using this house again. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay at a beautiful home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Owner response: We were very glad to have you as guests and were even more happy to hear that you liked the house and that you were able to have a great time while using it. Please come again. We would be glad to have you. I believe that there is more to see and do in this area that can be experienced in a few days. Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Tim and Linda.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great home for family reunions

    Great home for family reunions

    • Guest Jenny W.
    • Date of stay 05/22/13
    • Review Submitted 05/28/13
    We like to thank Tim & Linda for renting out their lovely home to us for 3 nights. We are 6 siblings and spouses having a reunion, visiting the Grand Canyon, Zion National Park, and Bryce Canyon. Although the home would be comfortable and spacious enough for all 12 of us, two couples decided to stay in a nearby motel. They joined us in the house for our wonderful dinners and quality time in the evening. We appreciate the fact that the house is very conveniently situated (less than 5 minutes from Highway 9 entrance which leads to Zion National Park). Being close to a supermarket is also a plus. Tim & Linda did a great job in providing a complete kitchenware and dinnerware, plenty of fresh towels, and comfortable furniture. The house has ample parking with a secured gated entrance. We will definitely love to go back and highly recommend Tim & Linda’s wonderful home to everyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review and we are very glad you had a wonderful time. The near by National Parks are such wonderful places to visit and see. Thank for choosing our home for your reunion. We are also very glad that you could all get together at the house for some meals. Please come and visit again. We would be glad to have you. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great stay

    great stay

    • Guest jeff n.
    • Date of stay 04/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    Very nice and clean, We really liked being able to lock the gates for total concealment,and did not have to worry about a thing. There was everything we needed to stay for three great nights. The owner, Tim is very accommodating and all trans actions went smooth. Cant Waite to visit this great home again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your kind review, but mostly we are pleased that you had a good time. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and look forward to having you come again. Sincerely, Tim and Linda.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great home away from home

    A great home away from home

    • Guest Deena L.
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 05/23/13
    We really enjoyed this property. It had enough bedrooms to spread out into. The bathroom situation is a little different, because both bathrooms are accessible only through bedrooms, so keep that in mind when assigning sleeping spaces if you have a larger group. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there with a larger group, though. The entrance to the bathrooms are just inside the bedroom doors, so it's not like you have to actually walk all the way through a room where someone is sleeping. It's just one of those quirky features of an older home. The thick stone walls on the ground level kept it cool,without the a/c on, even on some pretty warm days, and the hvac system worked really well to keep the upper level cool on warm afternoons. The home is well stocked with extra towels and bedding. There was even a pac 'n play and some games and toys. We really enjoyed watching movies together on the comfy leather sectional after a day of exploring and hiking. It was clean, comfortable and homey, and the perfect base for exploring the area. We plan on staying there again. It was just our family of four this time, but it would work well with our extended family, so next time we'll come down with a larger group for even more family fun. Thanks to the owners for providing such a good experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is very pleasing to hear that you had a good time and that everything went well. Because the house was built in 1906, the plumbing was a addition after the house was built. thank you for the fine review and we would love to have you come again. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation spot in between St. George and Zion National Park!

    Perfect Vacation spot in between St. George and Zion National Park!

    • Guest Carol K.
    • Date of stay 03/16/13
    • Review Submitted 03/27/13
    We totally loved this place! It was the perfect location for us to go between St. George and our trips to Zion National Park. Everything worked and there was plenty of space for my husband and I and our 6 kids to make our own meals, and relax with a movie in the upstairs loft after a long day at Zion. The kitchen was stocked with everything needed to make your own meals, plenty of towels, the beds were comfortable, and on top of it all, it was cute! My kids loved the little closets and unique style of this remodeled pioneer home. I LOVED having the washing machine and dryer to have clean clothes when we got home! That was awesome! We would come back here in a heart beat!! A definite win/win place to stay! Thank you so much for providing a wonderful place for us to make great Spring Break memories! We have no suggestions for improvement! Just keep doing what you're doing!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We were pleased to have you has our guests and happy that you had a wonderful time. Thank you very much for considering our property as part of your vacation plans and also for taking the time and expending the effort to provide such a nice review. You are very kind. We hope to be able to be of service to you, your family and friends again. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent place to stay

    Excellent place to stay

    • Guest Martina R.
    • Date of stay 03/08/13
    • Review Submitted 03/13/13
    The cottage was beautiful. It was clean and comfortable. We had plenty of room and it was great for small children and we had our dog. The house is nicely decorated and you really have everything you need there. It is close to Zion NP and other hiking and mountain biking. My husband was able to mountain bike from the cottage. The owner was helpful and contacted us immediately letting us know how to access the property and where to go. We had a great time at Zion and Oscar's in Springdale had great food. We hope to visit the area again and stay in the cottage. We definitely would recommend it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back soon. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Fun

    Family Fun

    • Guest Chris (Ogden, UT)
    • Date of stay 02/14/13
    • Review Submitted 02/21/13
    The house was very clean and easy to find. We spent the weekend with another family of six and it was easy to share and still feel like you aren't on top of each other. Needless to say, the kids had a ball! Definitely look forward to staying here again as our travels bring us to Southern Utah again. Tim and Linda are great to communicate with and always responded in a timely manner. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We were pleased to have you as guests. Thank you for such a wonderful review and please hurry back to enjoy the cottage and the area. We would be glad to have you as guests again. Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Texas Visitors

    Texas Visitors

    • Guest Family G (Spring, Texas)
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    We had a great experience renting the above property. The house was clean and well kept and the owners were very helpful. We were in town for a wedding celebration and it was nice to be able to be together as a family and have plenty of sleeping areas for everyone. The house was charming and was equipped with everything that we needed. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to the area. Thanks for making our stay so great!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the kind words and positive review. Thank you also for being such wonderful guests. We look forward to being of service to you again soon. Sincerely, Tim and Linda Childs

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Clean and Comfy!

    Clean and Comfy!

    • Guest Lots of Kids (Roseville, California)
    • Date of stay 12/26/12
    • Review Submitted 01/11/13
    Very nicely remodeled vintage home with great character. Beds were great, everything worked, spick and span clean and easy to find. My family (all 11 of us) loved it. The hardest part was picking out which room the kids got and who got to sleep all over the upstairs family room. Hide and seek for the little ones was a hoot. Nearby parks, museums and great jogging neighbor hood. Right near the old highway to the Grand Canyon and Canab (yes...everyone needs to say they have been to Canab)!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are very happy that you had a good time and that the stay was comfortable. Thank you also for the added night lights upstairs, downstairs and on the stairway. Wonderful addition. We wish we would have thought of it ourselves. We hope that we can be of service again some time. Sincerely, Tim and Linda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]