Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2 nights
- Pets considered:Ask Owner
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Grand Isle house description
Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
Watch the dolphins, walk the 8 mile beach, watch the sunset and wildlife of the Bay on the porch, bring your horses (stables below) and ride the beach or use the kayak. Fish or crab right on the beach or off the pier or go out on the numerous fishing boats and be amazed with your catch. Trout, Flounder and Redfish are more than plentiful. Take yourself away from the bustle of city life and enjoy island living only 2 hours away from New Orleans. Ideal space to have retreats, Bring your students and teach art, yoga or meditation or just book it for a fun week or month with friends or family. Book summer months early June July August to avoid disapointment. Available all year round.
The Island is aprox. 8 miles long and 1 mile wide.
Fully furnished 2 Bedrooms, one with bunks and Queen bed, and master with Queen bed and fireplace. I bathroom and large spacious living/kitchen with panoramic windows all around. Enjoy the large deck to lounge or the covered balcony and watch the amazing birdlife, sunsets and Bay waters. Walk to the beach in 1 minute over the dune, and bring your fishing rods or deck chairs provided
- 900 sq. ft.
- 1 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Children Welcome
- Long-Term Renters Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 6
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Dishes & Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Pantry Items
- Towels Provided:
- Living Room seats 6:
- Washing Machine:
- Air Conditioning:
- DVD Player
- Lawn / Garden:
- Kayak / Canoe:
- Garden Chairs:
- Outdoor Grill
- Deck / Patio
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Water View
- Deepsea Fishing
- Freshwater Fishing
- Jet Skiing
- Medical Services
- Pier Fishing
- Water Skiing
- Sound/Bay Fishing
- Surf Fishing
- Botanical Garden
- Bird Watching
- Massage Therapist
- Scenic Drives
- Wildlife Viewing
- Watch the dolphins, walk the 8 mile beach, watch the sunset and wildlife of the Bay on the porch, bring your horses (stables below) and ride the beach or rent a kayak. Fish or crab right on the beach or off the pier or go out on the numerous fishing boats and be amazed with your catch. Trout, Flounder and Redfish are more than plentiful. Take yourself away from the bustle of city life and enjoy island living only 2 hours away from New Orleans. Ideal space to have retreats, Bring your students and teach art, yoga or meditation or just book it for a fun week or month with friends or family. Book summer months early June July August to avoid disappointment. Available all year round. The Island is approx. 8 miles long and 1 mile wide. ...moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
I can't say enough about our stay in Grand Isle or the accommodations. My boyfriend and I went with some friends and their two children and we had such a great time. The house itself was clean and well kept and cute as can be, not to mention the view from the deck over looking the bay was to die for. Brad and I took advantage of the short walk to the beach and enjoyed the sunrise while the dolphins swam right up to us. It was such an amazing site that we all woke up early the next morning to take the kids out so that they could see the dolphins and the men could get some fishing in. The children had so much fun playing on the beach (I believe they were a little rough on a pail and shovel) and the beaches are so pretty and so clean that I never wanted to leave! Usually when I come back from vacations I'm more stressed out than when I left, but there is something magical about Grand Isle because even the 5 hour trip back with the kids couldn't stress me out. I think I speak for us all when I say that this was by far the most relaxing vacation that we have ever been on. I can't thank Michele enough for allowing us into her home and giving us the chance to make such wonderful memories. We are already planning our return trip.
- Guest Samantha A.
- Date of stay 08/04/13
- Review Submitted 09/10/13
Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing, girls getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children, age 55+.
Owner response: Samantha, so thrilled you could see the magic of Grand Isle and our little camp and share it with others, thank you
We enjoyed our week in June at your place. Watching for dolphins, swimming, crabbing, walking on beach, fishing at pier, relaxing on the porch. The 'beach cart' was handy to bring everything as I rather walk over than drive the short distance. The place was very clean and household items already there was unexpected plus. Another plus is neighbor only on one side. The other side is open bay. Maybe 'coolaroo' sun shades would help afternoon glare/heat, but we'd rent it again.
- Guest Dee (Mississippi)
- Date of stay 06/22/13
- Review Submitted 07/27/13
Owner response: Thanks Denise for your review and it was a pleasure to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Seems like the other reviewers had their cranky pants on. This is a lovely rental and the owner was very accommodating and communicative. The kitchen was surprisingly well stocked with cooking gear and pantry staples - a rare treat. Very clean too - you could tell that the owner really took the care to maintain it. The sunset view from the deck was nothing short of spectacular, we appreciated the unique marsh-side view. Sandy beach was a short walk away, and Cisco's Cajun Cantina was too if you're looking for some local color. Wish we could have stayed longer!
- Guest annasofia (Tiburon, CA)
- Date of stay 05/25/13
- Review Submitted 06/21/13
Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing, girls getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, age 55+.
I enjoyed staying here. My children loved playing outside in the large fenced in yard. I tried to use the small BBQ grill under cabin and it fell apart. I bought one and left there so the next group can use it. I did not mind leaving the grill behind, the owner helped me out by going out her way to accommodate me and my family. All in all the camp was clean and comfortable for me and my family. I will consider renting this camp again. Thanks for everything Michele. Thanks Norah
- Guest Norah H.
- Date of stay 05/17/13
- Review Submitted 06/11/13
Owner response: Thanks Nora for your review and for the BBQ pit! Grand Isle eats metal in no time, so we are constantly replacing things, its the combination of salt water humidity and wind. It was a delight having your family, hope to see you next year :-) kindly Michele
Stay from May 28-May 31, 2013
Stay from May 28-May 31, 2013
We were a bit disappointed. While we were there, it was very warm, the air conditioner ran the whole time and did not get the heat below 82 degrees. I would have liked to be able to open windows in the evening as there was a brisk wind the whole time we were there. The house faces away from the ocean, so there is no breeze on the porch if the wind is blowing that way, and it was too hot during the day to sit in that heat. Also, nothing you can do about this but the ocean and beach were very dirty the whole time we were there and no thoughts of swimming were had by any of us. The boys had fun fishing but had to go to the pier down the street as there was not a passable path to the bay behind. Overall we had a good time, but wouldn't come for longer than the 3 days that we were here. House was clean and owner was very accommodating.
- Guest Wendy D.
- Date of stay 05/28/13
- Review Submitted 06/04/13
Owner response: Thank you for mentioning that the house was clean and we are accommodating, we really do try to be! If you had mentioned the AC problem while you were texting us about the fabulous view, we could have explained how to simply push a reset button as all ACs were working well when I came after you,except the bedroom where it simply needed a push of a Button - so sorry that you got hot unnecessarily. As for other comments I don't wish anyone to be disappointed so the path to the Bay (and we do face the Bay, not the. Beach) is not suitable for very young children but everyone uses it all the time - you will get wet ankles! We bought the camp because of the huge panoramic windows allowing a fantastic view everywhere and they do not open but there is such a short spell that you don't need either AC or heating that we felt its a small price to pay for such great views and when these times occur we open the bedroom window that faces direction of the beach and the front door (leaving the screen) and we get a hearty breeze through the camp. You can also walk out the front door to the lower deck at night and lay in the beach recliners to watch the stars with a cool breeze As for beach, it is not Blue/green water like Florida because of the silt from the big rivers - but it is the same water and the beaches do get cleaned every day but when it is rough it does need clearing more than once perhaps but most the time we have 8 Miles of amazing beach, again not pure white sand like Florida but still pretty. Grand Isle is a place you have to enjoy the simple pleasures of sun basking, fishing, ( there are a few poles for use now) swimming (there is a boogie board) crabbing, (there is a cage, pot and propane for use) boating and kayaking (have one) and just chilling out watching dolphins and sunsets and making your own entertainment. We have some firewood to cook some s'mores on a camp fire. We want want everyone to enjoy their holiday here in Grand Isle as it is a unique and special rustic place. We are truly sorry when someones stay is not satisfying. We want our guests to feel,' hey this was fun and we had a great time' no one likes to hear that guests left unhappy, so hope this honest reply helps others to choose if this is for them.Most of our past guests were truly satisfied and left wonderful letters in our camp guest book, it would have been nice if they would have wrote their thoughts in the V.R.B.O. reviews for everyone to read how happy they left.
Review of camp
Review of camp
Was not as pictured on listing. Poor conditions. Weather turned cold no heat except in back bedroom. No usable bar-b-cue pit. Not well maintained. Kitchen very poor. Would not recommend.
- Guest Phyllis M.
- Date of stay 04/18/13
- Review Submitted 05/27/13
Owner response: I am sorry that this guest was not a happy camper as everyone else who has stayed at the camp loves it for its cleanliness, fabulous unimpeded views of the bay, a full workable kitchen, its home away from home feel with everything from a kayak to beach chairs,umbrellas, serongs, boogie board for the surf, crab trap, boiling pot,small but workable bar-b-que (we supply the charcoal), fishing poles for anyone to use, and ALL photos are exactly AS IS and current. The only misfortune that happened was we put away the extra heaters as it was 80 degrees when we left and a day later we had the most unusual cold front in late April! We can only apologize sincerely for not leaving the extra heaters and sorry the fireplace was not enough. From now on we will always leave the heaters out. even in August. We are constantly upgrading and maintaining the camp on each visit we make to get it ready for our guests vacation as we wish our guests stay to be enjoyable and memorable. We will be encouraging all the happy vacationers to write a review online as they have in our guest book. Kind regards Michele and Mel
Grand Isle property great for the birds
Grand Isle property great for the birds
House size and location were great for us. The view -- spectacular, as was the bird-watching. You can sit on the porch and enjoy. The house was clean and comfortable. Restaurants and great grocery store nearby. Cons: Several windows leaked during a severe thunderstorm and we had to scramble to prevent soaked furniture and luggage. An odd lack of operable windows that opened prevented us from enjoying the Bay and ocean breezes during our spring visit. Suspect that isn't a problem in the summer when the air conditioning is on.
- Guest Tawna (Chesapeake Bay, Maryland)
- Date of stay 05/09/13
- Review Submitted 05/14/13
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, families with young children.
Owner response: Thank you for noting on the things you enjoyed we greatly appreciate it. We apologize that the windows leaked, we thought we had fixed them we are truly sorry. We have fixed the problem with the window leaks and we do thank you for letting us know. Windows not opening to get breezes I know where your coming from I feel that way too but we bought this camp as is and it's very expensive to change them out, we may do this in the future I definitely would like windows to open but you got to admit the big windows don't obscure in any views. We know we're not going to satisfy every person that vacations at our camp but we do try very hard to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one, you have a great view of the bay no obstructions, lots of privacy, we leave water and fresh eggs from our chickens, a deck to lounge and relax on, there is only one house by us and it's behind us and he's hardly ever there, we have places for horses to be stalled and a big yard for the horses to move around, walking distance to the beach less than 5 minutes. We look forward to seeing you again and many more vacationers, houses will have problems and I will fix them because I take pride and I want our vacationers to have a great time.
|Dates||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Jul 24 - Jul 27, 2014
4 night min stay
|My Standard Rate
2 night min stay
- Damage Insurance: $45
- cleaning: $75
- Taxes Not included
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: New Orleans International at 100 Miles
- Nearest Ferry: New Orleans Port at 100 Miles
- Nearest Train: New Orleans at 100 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: Highway 1 at 0.3 Miles
- Nearest Beach: 8 miles of it at Grand Isle
- Nearest Barpub: Ciscos at 0.1 Miles
- Nearest Golf: Golf and Country club at 24 Miles
- Nearest Restaurant: Starfish at 0.2 Miles
Sunset at camp overlooking the Bay
Kitchen/Dining area with stove, oven new microwave and lrg refrigerator/freezer
Master Bedroom fireplace and Cable TV
2nd Bedroom with queen bed and bunk beds and always great views!Linens provided
Stables below and a fenced coral all around the property, so bring your horses!
Unless you love to Kayak
Yes the horses swim in the water too!
Just a sample of what you can catch
Grand Isle supplies plenty of juicy yummy crabs
Livingroom with panaramic views over the bay
Master Bedroom with queen bed, great views, electric fireplace and cable TV
Bathroom, shower lrg sink and mirror and towels provided & toliet
On the porch steps leading down to the large deck overlooking the bay,Party Time
Nothings more fun than riding horses along the beach
8 miles of unspoilt beach, fishing, crabing, swimming, or just chilling out
More sunsets on your porch
Bay and marshes at camp, great for bird or dolphin watchers, or perhaps horses?
A gallop around the property, enclosed coral
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2012.
Date last modified - Tuesday, November 26, 2013
2 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Get a rental quote, then book it!
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.