Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living/dining room

In the Historic Centre of Porto - Fabulous Views Over the River Douro [#454637ha] | View Property

Porto
Apartment, 3 Bedrooms, 0.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
€100 - €130 per night (EUR)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • Porto Apartment - Amazing location

    Porto Apartment - Amazing location

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/03/13
    • Review Submitted 12/17/13
    Our stay in Porto was so much more than we had anticipated, and this was due to the apartment and its sensational location. I would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to explore the Ribeira and get a feel for this area in the city of Porto. Our stay was only for 3 nights which allowed us to explore the River area, but much more time would be needed to see more of this charming city. Firstly the apartment was exactly as it was depicted on the website and it was clean and beautifully presented. It was comfortably furnished and had absolutely everything a traveller might need - except for a washing machine. This apartment is very good value for money (we only had 3 adults, but it was still a very economical stay for the location)....in an historic building. Secondly, from the very outset the arrangements for securing, paying for and arriving / departing were straight forward and secure. Claudia's communication and directions were faultless and she met us at the station on our arrival, walked us to the accommodation and also booked a cab for our departure ( and waved us off). She is a sweetheart and a wonderful hostess. Thirdly, this apartment's outlook is unbeatable - the view of the bridge / riverside from the pillow in the main bedroom and also from each window in the property makes this a special place to stay. Fourthly, the surrounding area has everything a traveller might need in close proximity and easy walking distance - restaurants (highly recommend Vinhas D'Alho); minimart for local produce, wine and food to self cater in the apartment, access to the riverboat and other tours, the bridge walk, Port tours across the river...enough to more than fill a few days. The only matter which is absolutely vital to consider before you book is that there are many steps - even though there is a lift that works on weekdays. If you are not able to manage yourself and luggage on a significant number of steps, then this apartment is definitely not for you. Good lungs and sound knees are a must. Thank you Claudia and Pedro - we wish it wasn't so far from Australia!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Buena localización para conocer Oporto

    Buena localización para conocer Oporto

    • Guest Jose T.
    • Date of stay 09/17/13
    • Review Submitted 09/25/13
    En primer lugar agradecer a Claudia la amabilidad y la absoluta disposición en todo momento para que tuviésemos una estancia agradable, El apartamento es tal y como se ve en las fotos, las vistas al puente Luis I y al río son fantásticas y además esta en una situación muy buena para conocer la ciudad cerca del centro y más cerca aun de Ribeira. Si tuviese que poner un pero sería que para acceder al apartamento hay unas cuantas escaleras, unas 99 desde la Rua de Don Hugo y unas 150 desde Ribeira ( desde Ribeira hay un elevador gratuito de lunes a viernes con el que evitas unas cuantas) . Oporto es como es y las escaleras sobre todo en la zona del río y sus cuestas forman parte de su encanto. Una ciudad muy bonita y sus gentes encantadoras. Gracias Claudia una vez más, nos vemos.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Location in all of Porto

    Best Location in all of Porto

    • Guest Norman (Bellingham)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    What an amazing apartment in an amazing city! First off, let me fully endorse Porto as a "do not miss" vacation spot. You have so many options of things to do and places to see; from the beach, to historical buildings, to shopping, to the waterfront, to the port houses, etc; it can keep you busy for days. This apartment location allows you to take advantage of it all. On one side you have the city, on the other the waterfront and port house, and it is very close to the metro to get out to the beach. The apartment is clean and has all the appliances you need. Don't worry about picking up any of the tourist information or brochures, because Claudia already has them in the apartment for you. There is the issue of the stairs, but any one just semi fit could manage them. Also, Porto is a town on a hill, not much you can do to avoid the stairs:) Claudia is a great host and booking was a very smooth process. There is a reason this place has so many five star reviews-book it now! Additional hit: If someone has not taken it out of the apartment yet: there is a magazine in with tourist packets which has restaurant reviews. In there is a section on eating like a local. We took their recommendation for places under $15 Euros and were not disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Location

    Wonderful Location

    • Guest Ken F.
    • Date of stay 05/11/13
    • Review Submitted 05/21/13
    Claudia was so easy to arrange everything with and so friendly, welcoming and helpful when we arrived. The apartment is fantastic, ideal for friends sharing, as we were, or for a family. It had everything that we needed for our stay. The location is perfect but you need to be fully aware that the steps are plentiful and steep in both directions. There are super views to the river, Pont Luis and the port houses of Gaia. Ramos Pinto was our favourite. Ora Viva is our favourite restaurant where we always receive a warm welcome from Miguel.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Porto view of River and excellent location

    Porto view of River and excellent location

    • Guest george c.
    • Date of stay 08/30/12
    • Review Submitted 09/24/12
    We five adults stayed for 6 nights at this apartment and had a fantastic stay. The apartment is well furnished, clean, comfortable, and perfect size. The view is very good. It has wifi and a dishwasher. The location is very good also; we found several local markets on the river below the apartment, the metro (very clean) and train station were 10 minutes up the hill, restaurants were 5 minutes down on the river or 10 minutes up hill into the city, river boat tours were 5 minutes down on the river, Port "caves" were a 15 minute walk across the bridge. We took a 3 hour walking tour with a local tour company our first full day and it was excellent and helped us decide where to go back to. We rented a car on day 3 and the owner recommended a "pay" park or park on the narrow road behind the cathedral for free which we did...very tight and not many spot, but na 5 minute walk to the apartment. The owner met us at the metro, which we took from the airport, as we never would have found the apartment without her. She carried one of bags for us! It is clear that she listens to her renters as she has implemented many of the suggestions in the comment book. She answered all of our questions and provided many recommendations in person and also via email before we arrived. Please heed the warning about stairs. Her apartment is on the midway on the hill overlooking the river; you are climbing stairs up to the city or down to the river via walkways and historical alleys (not dangerous or dirty...just not for cars) . It is excellent exercise and many beautiful views that others won't find, but not for small children or folks who are not in good shape. We absolutely would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great apartment in Porto!

    Great apartment in Porto!

    • Guest Mary F.
    • Date of stay 08/03/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    My family had a wonderful holiday in Porto. We stayed in this beautiful apartment which was just perfect for our trip. The view is stunning and great to wake up to each morning. There are three generous bedrooms. The apartment is thoroughly modern and clean with all mod cons. (Even light rain jackets provided!). Our very helpful host, Claudia, met us when we arrived to orientate us. The apartment is ideally central for exploring Porto, there are some steps to the apartment but there is a street lift. My children 7 and 12 really enjoyed the apartment. The kitchen is great if you wish to cook, and well stocked with condiments and modern appliances. A great place to enjoy your stay in Porto. Highly recommended. four stars

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect accommodation/ideal location to see Porto

    Perfect accommodation/ideal location to see Porto

    • Guest Brian M.
    • Date of stay 07/31/12
    • Review Submitted 08/16/12
    Wonderful apartment in ideal location to see Porto. Apartment was perfect for our needs - a couple with a 17 and 14 year old. Clean, fresh, comfortable with all the extras available. Walking distance to all day time site seeing and night time eating. It would be difficult to get a better view of the river and city. Highly recommended - it's a 5 out of 5 - thanks Claudia for all your advice and assistance.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful

    Wonderful

    • Guest Luca F.
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/05/12
    We had a good time in Porto both in the center and by the seaside. The apartment was very clean and comfortable and is located on a hillside in the old part of town. There are stairs either up or down but as compensation we had a view over the river and were in the center of town while sheltered from traffic noise. The apartment is newly renovated even if the building is not new. Having a good Internet connection was a plus. We enjoyed it very much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great location

    Great location

    • Guest Christian B. (Montreal, Qc)
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    We had a 4 night stay in this apartment. It suited our needs. Claudia should be appointed ambassador of Oporto: She was great help and made our arrival in Portugal very enjoyable. The 3 bedroom apartement is located in the middle of a set of stairs. 5 minutes up and you are at the Cathedral. 5 minutes down (that can be accelerated by a public elevator) and you are at the dock (Ribeira) where many restaurants are located. From the Cathedral (Subway station San Bento-yellow line) you can walk to the famous train station and explore the rest of the city. From the dock, your 15 minutes away from the port houses in Gaia and 5 minutes away from the tram. Great view of the bridge and Gaia. The rooms are fair size, the beds were comfortable and the bed sheets and towells were clean. Everything in the kitchen worked well. It was almost perfect. Note to travellers: from the airport take a cab (20E) or the transit system. The subway is very modern and safe. This city can be explored on foot, tram, subway. No need for a car. Note to Claudia. Thanks again for everything. We noted in your book that a washing machine (clothing) would be a great add on. Also, a screen in the kitchen window could avoid having flies/mosquitos in the apartment. There was 2 nights when the seagulls decided to have a party on the top of the apartment roof and they were quite noisy, not sure if you can install pigeon spikes to avoid that. But the 2 other nights ... no seagulls. Finally, painting the walls would refresh the apartment and a wash of the canvas of the beige chair in the living room would not be a luxury. Aside that ... It would have been perfect. I will recommend this apartment to friends travelling to Oporto. And thanks again for all your help. Christian (Montreal) - Couple travelling with 2 young ladies (16 and 23) without a car

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Situation idéale - accueil parfait

    Situation idéale - accueil parfait

    • Guest D'HYEVRE C.
    • Date of stay 04/14/12
    • Review Submitted 04/22/12
    L'appartement est idéalement situé dans le vieux Porto, et offre des vues magnifiques sur le pont Dom Luis Ier. Claudia a eu de charmantes attentions pour rendre notre séjour agréable et est vraiment à l'écoute. Il ne manquait rien, tout était parfait. Nous sommes une famille avec 3 enfants. Tout le monde a adoré. Attention toutefois aux escaliers de la vieille ville, dont le charme est limité pour les personnes ayant du mal à se déplacer. Sinon, je recommande cette location sans réserve.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Apartment with Fabulous Views in Porto

    Apartment with Fabulous Views in Porto

    • Guest Lakshmy R.
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 01/06/12
    We had a great time in Porto. Apartment was comfortable and the view was great from the windows. Most of all Claudia was very caring and helpful---could not have asked for a better hostess!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place in central Porto

    Great place in central Porto

    • Guest Richard B. (-)
    • Date of stay 12/08/11
    • Review Submitted 12/12/11
    I just loved this place, very clean, complete & comfortable & many thanks to Claudia for taking time to explain everything & even show us some of the city & to some great restaurants. I strongly reccomend "A Tasquinha" Ruo do Carmo. The view from the apartment of the fascinating "Ponte Luis 1" bridge is spectacular.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Apartment in Porto.

    Great Apartment in Porto.

    • Guest christian s.
    • Date of stay 08/17/11
    • Review Submitted 10/03/11
    I spent 3 days with my friends in this great Apartment in the city center of Porto, Ribeira area. A must place to visit. The apartment had everything you need for a holiday, clean, comfortable, well-maintained and with all utilities you will need to cook. A pleasure to find a place like this. Claudia the owner was really helpful in everything, from the first email I sent to her, always ready to help. If I come back, definitely I will contact her. Thank you very much Claudia.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect central location

    perfect central location

    • Guest Romy B.
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 09/19/11
    The flat is very spacious, clean and equipped with everything you need. The two main advantages are: 1. the perfect location of the flat near the cathedral Sé do Porto and 2. this overwhelming view over the Douro, Pont Luis I. to Gaia. Wow! Especially, thanks to Cláudia for her kindness and help! We will come back one day!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The pictures don't do this apartment justice!

    The pictures don't do this apartment justice!

    • Guest Cynthia (London)
    • Date of stay 06/30/11
    • Review Submitted 07/06/11
    The apartment is in a great location, nicely decorated and is very spacious. The views from the apartment were amazing. We were lucky enough to have a concert on the river, with fireworks afterwards while we were there..and we were in the perfect location to watch the show. Unfortunately our rental car was broken into while we were in Porto and Claudia stayed with us the whole morning, helping to report the incident, get a replacement car and then getting us out onto the motorway to drive to Lisbon. Without Claudia the incident would have marred the trip but her selflessness made it just a blip. We are very grateful and can't thank you enough Claudia!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly perfect accomodation

    Truly perfect accomodation

    • Guest 6Girls (London)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/02/11
    Look no further - this apartment is incredible. Beautiful, clean and comfortable.... everything is really modern and the views of the river and bridge are breath taking. We were so happy when we arrived with our choice of accommodation! Claudia was so helpful and organised, and kindly meet us to show us the way. Location wise, probably the best location in Porto! Everything is nearby. We loved it so much and hope to make it back someday. Stay here, you won't regret it.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent stay in the heart of Porto

    Excellent stay in the heart of Porto

    • Guest H (London)
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 05/09/11
    We had a wonderful holiday in Porto thanks to this great apartment and its central location (not to mention the extremely helpful owner). The photos don't do it justice - we were a party of six adults and still there was plenty of space. The apartment was clean and tidy with all the conveniences you could need. And, it's right in the heart of the city with the river, cafes and port tours a stone throw away. We'll be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Holidays in Porto

    Holidays in Porto

    • Guest Lydie (Lille, France)
    • Date of stay 02/26/11
    • Review Submitted 03/06/11
    Holidays in Porto were great The apartment is big and Claudia is very kind. There's a lot of things to see near the flat and the sight is marvellous. We think we will return in Portugal, because people are nice, it's very clean and the architecture is pitoresque.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Oh Wondrous Porto.

    Oh Wondrous Porto.

    • Guest BSJ (London)
    • Date of stay 12/06/10
    • Review Submitted 01/13/11
    We had a lovely time in Porto, the appartment was perfect - It was clean, v.spacious and in the centre of everything. However, there are lots of steep, winding steps therefore not so practical for families with pushchairs or disabled people. Claudia is lovely - thank you for heaving our super large suitcase up and down those steps + thanks for the complimentary hamper on our first night. The activities we recommend are; A river cruise on the Douro, taking a bus/tram to the beach (Matosinhos), walking across the very top of the Dom Luis I bridge and of course you have to taste the delicous Port. With regards to restaurants; the more traditional and expensive restaurants are on the same side of the river as the appartment, a short walk down the cliff. Whereas, the more international restaurants are on the other side of the river. I have already recommended the appartment to our friends and we will definitely be returning some time soon but this time with all the family!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great location, wonderful view, very helpful owner

    Great location, wonderful view, very helpful owner

    • Guest sazzamaz (Warwickshire, England)
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 10/29/10
    We had a fantastic week in Porto and the apartment is great. As other people have said, the view is the best and the location is perfect. Claudia was the most friendly and helpful owner of a holiday rental that we have ever dealt with. She collected us from the cathedral on our arrival, and even helped us all the way onto the metro when we left. The apartment was clean and spacious and Claudia was even thoughtful enough to leave us lots of tourist information and a map, and milk, cereals, bread, tea, coffee, cheese, biscuits, fruit and even some port! We would recommend the apartment and Claudia very highly.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Very good location in Porto

    Very good location in Porto

    • Guest Georgiana (Bucharest/Romania)
    • Date of stay 09/22/10
    • Review Submitted 09/27/10
    The apartment is really nice, spacious, clean and with a wonderful view over the Douro river, the whine cellars and Luis Bridge. The location is really close to the Ribiera, the cathedral and the historic center of Porto so we didn't have to use public transportation because all the main objectives are within walking distance. The only downside to the location is that no matter where you want to go you have to climb stairs,up or down. The owner (Claudia) is very kind and helpful. We arrived in Porto by car and she gave us all the indications on how to drive to the cathedral, where to park and what to visit. She even helped us to carry our heavy luggage, up the stairs to the car when we left, which was very nice of her. We all enjoyed our stay in the apartament and fel sorry that we couldn't stay more.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best location in Porto!

    Best location in Porto!

    • Guest ACG (Auckland NZ)
    • Date of stay 09/07/10
    • Review Submitted 09/14/10
    Spacious, new, clean, well-furnished 3-bedroom aparment with great view of the famous Douro River. Lovely hostess who is very helpful, including carrying luggage up and down the steps! Perfect location for going to pretty much anywhere in Porto, including restaurants, bus and tram stops, and within walking distance to the city centre. The only slight problem would be if you're not too mobile (eg elderly/very young children/joint problems) or carrying lots of heavy luggage, staying there would be difficult as there are a lot of steps to cover (the apartment is on the cliff pretty much). Other than that, it was a great place to stay and we hope to be back one day!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Perfect apartment in the center of Porto

    Perfect apartment in the center of Porto

    • Guest Jan W. (Arnhem/ Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 08/12/10
    We were catched by Cláudia at the metrostation at midnight. She brought us along the cathedral and through steep and narrow streets of the neighbourhood Ribeira to the appartment. Its is a nice and big apartment. A well equipped kitchen and good beds. The most wonderfull is the view out of the window, when you see the bridge over de river Duoro. Restaurants and shops are nearby at the bank of the Duoro.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful start to a wonderful holiday

    A wonderful start to a wonderful holiday

    • Guest The Cook Family (Scotland)
    • Date of stay 07/01/10
    • Review Submitted 08/13/10
    We stayed in Claudia's apartment for 2 nights at the start of our holiday in Northern Portugal. We loved it. The apartment couldn't have been in a more perfect location - fantastic views and right in the centre of this historic city. We have 2 young children who were very happy here - there was plenty of space for them to play and watch tv in the apartment they enjoyed going in the lift down to the river and climbing up and down the steps. Claudia was very kind and helpful. She met us at the station and helped us carry our bags back to the station at the end of our stay. I would highly recommend this apartment. We hope to visit again soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Middle aged couple

    Middle aged couple

    • Guest Alistair Grocock (Chelmsford)
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 07/19/10
    "The appartment itself is excellent - spacious, well equipped, clean and the views from the windows are fantastic both during the day and at night time. It is really well placed for the station and the town and not far from all the cafes and restaurants by the river which are excellent. All the port houses are also within easy walking distance. The one downside is you need to be failrly fit to stay here, The fabulous view comes at a price as the appartment is situated on the hillside and there are a number of steps involved. We are a couple in our fifties and we managed it easily and thoroughly enjoyed being in the heart of things but if you have health problems this is probably not the appartment for you which is a shame because the view is so amazing. Claudia (with whom we made all the arrangements and who met us at the appartment) could not have been more helpful or obliging. Not least in giving the taxi driver at the airport the directions as to how to find the appartment! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were really impressed by the friendliness of the people, the lovely places to vist, the quality and price of the food and the wines."

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Really good flat

    Really good flat

    • Guest Daniela S. (Italy)
    • Date of stay 05/14/10
    • Review Submitted 05/17/10
    Beautiful house, beautiful location, beautiful view from the window. Neighborhood really nice and the owner did everything to make us absolutely comfortable, she's really kind. The flat is situated in the old part of Porto, on Rio Douro. The apartment is completely new inside (furniture, kitchen, bathroom, beds), totally clean and really quiet. You can have all you need and rate is very good. The only thing is you cannot reach it by car, but only walking (lots of stair-steps :D, suggest to be a bit trained ) but it really worth! It's very near to metro station or taxi to get back to the airport.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]