Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
VP Private Resort

8-Bedroom Private Resort, 5 Acres, Huge Pool, Chef Included! [#457318] | View Property

Manuel Antonio
Bedrooms 8, Bathrooms 8, Sleeps 22
$915 - $1,058 per night (USD)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (12)

Sort by:
  • Best vacation Ever

    Best vacation Ever

    • Guest Marty V.
    • Date of stay 09/07/13
    • Review Submitted 03/10/14
    My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at this property and can't wait to return. The absolute stunning beauty of this property will never be forgotten. We awoke each morning to the sweet smell of local flowers blooming and fresh local fruit prepared by our housekeeper. This place is a true paradise! The location could not have better for the best in sampling the local restaurants (walking distance or less than 10 min cab ride) and the food was fantastic with service to match. Your own gardener and housekeeper are available if you have any request--both as friendly as one could hope. The house was exceptionally clean and the property very well maintained. Security gave us peace of mind that we could enjoy ourselves and our privacy. Our concierge checked in with us daily to answer any questions we had and made all the arrangements for the week's activities including transportation and recommendations as to the sites we were interested in. (Thank you Kent!) I would recommend this property to anyone that would like to stay in an exceptional place (Private Resort) and create a life long memory.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Sunset and location

    Amazing Sunset and location

    • Guest RioRey (California )
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/12/13
    This home is awesome. Every room is spacious and the living area huge with an incredible view! Loved spending time in the pool and watching the sun set while the chef made sure our drinks were never empty and we were fed well. I felt like I was living a dream.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Excellent Weekend

    Excellent Weekend

    • Guest Matt (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 05/31/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    The house was stunning with great air conditioned rooms and an incredible view of the ocean. The pool was great as well as the kitchen. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made things even better. The house was so great that it was difficult to leave. It was tempting to spend the whole weekend there instead of checking out the sights of Manuel Antonio.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Not a safe place. Owners must change safety policy.

    Not a safe place. Owners must change safety policy.

    • Guest Gvba (San jose)
    • Date of stay 01/21/13
    • Review Submitted 02/02/13
    Even though the Villa and the view is really nice. It doesn't really matter if there is no safety. No one tells you until you get to the Villa that you cannot lock any of the doors except your bedroom doors. The main doors and the doors that lead to the terrace remain unlock at ALL times! We wouldn't have stayed here if we knew that. We stayed here 2 nights and on the second night the Villa was robbed. They broke in while we were sleeping. We were vey lucky that the burglars didn't try to break in into our room. Needless to say this left a really bad taste in our mouths and just the time that was spent with the Villa Manager trying to sort things out was just a waste of our time. The Management team were nice but you would expect more from them to try to make the stay more pleasant. Or at least some kind of refund. Would not recommend this villa at all. It is too unsafe.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/11

  • A week to Remember!

    A week to Remember!

    • Guest Shelli (Orlando, Florida)
    • Date of stay 01/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    Our stay at the Pelicano was definitely a week to remember! We were at the house with 4 couples and had a week that surpassed our expectations! The view, the meals prepared by the chef, the huge swimming pool, the spacious bedrooms all made for a most relaxing week. The house is positioned the perfect distance from restaurants as well as a grocery store not far across the street. Calling for a taxi was easy when we wanted to venture a little further into the town of Quepos. I HIGHLY recommend the Pelicano! It was an awesome place and we WILL be going back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fantastic gorgeous mansion!

    Fantastic gorgeous mansion!

    • Guest Linnea R. (Arlington, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    I can’t say enough wonderful things about Villa Pelicano! 19 of us from southern California (5 families) stayed in this wonderful dream mansion for a week, which wasn’t nearly long enough! The six bedrooms were perfectly suited for us and the kids’ room was such a bonus! 1 king and 2 queen beds plus lounge chairs and bongos made for a perfect room that the kids really enjoyed. The 4 master bedrooms on the main floor were each beautifully decorated and were a luxurious treat with their own private baths and air conditioning. But our favorite part was the big open living room opening out onto the incredible balcony with more couches and chairs and a big long dining table that was perfect! It overlooks the pool and the ocean and the beautiful sunset! With a cold coco loco at the end of the day, it was heaven! The staff is amazing and so friendly. Our rooms were cleaned to perfection every day and they even did our laundry! Having a personal chef there was a mothers’ dream with 10 kids with us! And make sure to ask Kenneth to take you around the grounds. He’s the wonderful gardener and loved to point out the monkeys, toucans and sloths and even hacked open coconuts for us! Thank you, Villa Pelicano, for the most memorable vacation we’ve ever had!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wedding week bliss

    Wedding week bliss

    • Guest Bridget (Mooresville, NC USA)
    • Date of stay 04/17/12
    • Review Submitted 04/30/12
    Villa Pelicano was absolutely wonderful....the setting & view was unbelievable & made for a perfect wedding reception site. The staff was so friendly & helpful all week long. It began to feel like home & was hard to leave at the end of the week! I would definitely recommend it or stay here again, if ever given the chance to return to the beautiful country of Cost Rica!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Private Resort

    Great Private Resort

    • Guest Julie (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 03/03/12
    • Review Submitted 02/17/13
    What a great retreat ! Villa Pelicano was our private resort for three families ( 3 couples and 8 kids ) during winter break. After a busy day at the beach, on the zip line, on bikes, or hiking, it was an amazing feeling to come back to our own private setting for a swim, a message, a sunset toast, and finally an amazing dinner prepared by our very own chef. It was also wonderful to just relax by the pool, or enjoy a good book in a garden setting. The home is large enough that everyone could find their own space when needed. We will be back !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • The BEST VACATION ever!!!

    The BEST VACATION ever!!!

    • Guest Ace of Spades (Asheville, NC)
    • Date of stay 02/04/11
    • Review Submitted 02/22/11
    We spent a week at Villa Pelicano with five families. The layout of the home was perfect with four masters on the main level and a large kids room and nanny quarters on the lower level by the pool. The open air villa had such an amazing view at sunset, and the staff took care of our every need from cooking to cleaning, and even doing our laundry. The gardener cut us fresh coconuts off of the trees so we could drink the milk right on the spot. The villa is gated and guarded and we felt completely safe and comfortable the entire week! This was truly one of the best vacations we have been on and it was largely due in part to the coordination of our excellent concierge, Christi. Hands down this is the best house to rent in Manuel Antonio, and we hope to make it back someday. Our only regret is a week was just not long enough!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our Hidden Gem of Manual Antonio

    Our Hidden Gem of Manual Antonio

    • Guest Angela&Blake (Houston,TX)
    • Date of stay 11/26/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/10
    My fiance and I traveled to Costa Rica for the first time to find ourselves "at home"...Upon meeting our personal concierge/hostess at Villa Pelicano, we knew that this was going to be a memorable experience! From the elegant gates opening down to the entrance of our tropical hideaway, to the tranquil breathtaking views from the pool area and individual patios, and the immaculate landscape of the gardens surrounding this home, we truly felt at peace. The rooms are SO spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. With our own security guard, gardener, maid and hostess, we didn't need much more! Our hostess made us feel right at home, taking time to answer all of our questions, recommending us where to go, where to eat, how to make the most of our time in Manuel Antonio---all SO close to the Villa...we were exactly centrally located! We could have the most delicious breakfast with the locals in Quepos and go relax on the beautiful beach of Manual Antonio all within <10 minutes drive. We can't decide if we enjoyed our daytime activities more or if we savored our evenings at the Villa, relaxing, swimming and being totally secluded in our quaint estate. The open layout of the home is perfect- we can't wait to return with our family and friends to share this experience with them soon! For the quality, space, and location, Villa Pelicano is truly the hidden gem of Manuel Antonio! It really made it an amazing trip.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Breathtaking !!

    Breathtaking !!

    • Guest Courtney (Texas, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/29/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    The best part of our 10 day trip to Costa Rica was our time at Villa Pelicano! The grounds, view, and house literally took our breath away after our long drive from Monteverde. The pictures on the internet are nice, but you cannot imagine how beautiful (and huge!) it is until you walk down the steps into the living room and out to the expansive patio, which runs the full length of the house. The floor plan is open to the pool, grounds, and sea, while being protected from the elements by a cathedral ceiling. Beautiful! We loved that the house had a true “Costa Rica” feel with its terracotta roof and tile, whitewashed walls, and royal blue trim. We went white water rafting, zip lining, surfing, and sailing, but our most enjoyable and relaxing time was spent swimming and reading at the villa while watching the iguanas scamper around the patio. The location was ideal – On a huge piece of property at the top of the hill in Manuel Antonio with great restaurants right outside and the best ocean view that we saw from anywhere in town. What made this trip truly luxurious was the staff – Someone was on the grounds 24 hours a day to help with whatever we needed. We added breakfasts prepared by the housekeeper, Ms. Eli, and they were the most delicious meals of our trip! She even taught my sister and me how to make homemade tortillas. Christi was fabulous – We felt like we had a personal concierge with her ‘local’ advice, help setting up tours, and focus on making sure that we felt at home. I spent a lot of time looking at houses before our trip and couldn’t have been more pleased with our choice – This was our best family vacation yet and we left planning our next visit to Villa Pelicano! Tips: Make sure to go to the beach IN the park one day – the walk from the entrance is a bit long (~20 min), but the wildlife is not to be missed (watch your bags for monkey and raccoon thieves)! We loved the food at Bamboo Jam and didn't like the food at Cantina (BBQ sign with huge grill outside).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Maravilloso

    Maravilloso

    • Guest Bill (South Florida, Bahamas)
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 08/09/10
    Our stay Villa Pelicano was outstanding, from the moment we met Cristy our gracious Concierge and local expert to our departure day was an over the top experience. The Villa is beautifully and ideally situated in Manuel antonio, close to all the restaurants and beaches, yet private and secure to feel as you where the only folks in the area. a great place to share, reflect and have lots of fun with family and friends. The Villa is large and affords all levels of comfort, from a casual game of cards with kids to a quiet area for relax reading. Please ask Eli to prepare you the local breakfast fare, it is as good or better than the local restaurants in an incredible setting. Cant wait to be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]